View Full Version : preview Geelong v Essendon, MCG, Friday March 26 @ 7.40 pm
Ben the Gooner
23 Mar 2010, 21:35
This post was written almost entirely by OldMav, who sends his apologies as he is offline for personal reasons at the moment. I've added the pictures, prediction, expected 22 and some of the formatting, but the content and opinions are Mav's, and it's his hard work which has gone into creating this thread. - BtG
Offseason Changes
There has been a lot of movement in the off-season down at Windy Hill. Retirements of the twin forwards Matty Lloyd and Scott Lucas, trading of Andrew Lovett (St Kilda) and Adam McPhee (Fremantle, surprised much???). To the outside this is a massive loss but internally the bombers have an up and coming list with lots of potential and plenty of capable players to fill the void. One such player will be Mark Williams
A player with plenty of potential that with a change of scenery we have offered him could turn back the clock and easily kick 60+ goals like he once did for the hawks. With a change of venue and lifestyle Mark should flourish and he will be keen to bury the past few years full of controversy and wasted potential.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_13.jpg
The New Captain
It was only a matter of time before the Watson name was once again in lights as leader of our great club. Coming off his career best season where he was awarded the W.S Crichton medal, Jobe Watson aged 25 and flourishing was given the highest honour by the club. The captaincy. He has been criticised by many in the past but the way he overcome those faults and flaws has seen him grow into the player he is now and really there was only one person for the job.
Now comes the questions. Will the burden be too much? Will he continue to flourish or will he revert back to his old ways? Or will be become bigger, better and more influential on and off the field? Time will tell but it was a great decision by the Essendon FC and Matty Knights.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/10/2010nab-vs-richmond05.jpg
History
The great two clubs have played each other 206 times. With Essendon being victorious 112 of those times (5 draws) But in the past 10 encounters we have only managed to win twice. This is something that we need to rectify sooner rather than later but it will be tough with the midfield that the Cats possess against our “baby” Bombers.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_07.jpg
Strengths
Essendon has one of the biggest and brightest talents in the game now. Who doesn’t get oh so excited and drooling over the prospect of seeing a spine with the likes of Tate Pears, Michael Hurley, Dustin Fletcher, David Hille and Paddy Ryder all occupying some sort of spot on the ground. Then you throw in the fact that Pears and Hurley are both under 21 years of age and the thought just gets orgasmic. We also have some of the quickest players in the league that can move the ball with pace and precision from one end to the other. Davey, Dyson, Winderlich and Dempsey some of the quickest around.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_11.jpg
Weakness
We have a lot of quick lead up type forwards but no key forward, the likes of Buddy and Hawks, Brown/Fev and Lions and big bad bustling barry. With the retirements of Lloyd and Lucas it has put a massive dint in a player that will be a focal point down forward. Williams needs to be the man he was when playing at full forward for the Hawks and Gumby/Neagle need to have an injury free year but also take it to the level that we know they are capable of. With mention of the two great players bowing out we don’t have a very experienced list. Quoting from sportal “of the teams to make finals last year only Carlton has a younger list”.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_01.jpg
The Key Match-Up: (well one I am most looking forward too)
Watson Vs Ling
The battle of the new captains. The one I and many others are looking forward too. I see them personally as very similar players; hard at it, in and under type player and wear their heart on the sleeve. Both play out of the guts and both will play a major part for their side. They might not be the match winners like Ablett is or maybe a Hille could be on his day but this contest will be the best on the ground.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/10/2010nab-vs-demons02.jpg
Where it will be won and lost for both Sides:
Essendon:
Won with our big men firing from all cylinders from the get go, our young midfield taking it up to the guns of geelong and our experienced men (Fletch, Watson, McVeigh) standing up when needed.
Lost if our midfield is too over awed by the quality of Geelong’s stars. Our forwards don’t put enough pressure on their defenders as they bring the ball out of our forward line.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/r2-gsp-8.jpg
Geelong:
Won for them obviously if their big guns fire. Ablett, Selwood, Bartel and co could all put us to the sword on their own. If their defenders have free reign and Mooney up forward kicks a bag.
Guns don’t fire, they underestimate the talent that us boys at bomberland have and they are unable to contain our awesome spine.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_08.jpg
Predicted 22:
Based on the side which played in Morwell, the 22 which lines up should look pretty similar to:
B: H. Slattery - T. Pears - D. Fletcher
HB: C. Dempsey - C. Hooker - R. Dyson
C: J. Winderlich - J. Watson - B. Stanton
HF: A. Monfries - S. Gumbleton - A. Davey
F: M. Williams - J. Neagle - D. Zaharakis
R: P. Ryder - B. Prismall - A. Welsh
I: D. Hille - K. Reimers - H. Hocking - B. Howlett
E: J. Laycock - K. Hardingham - S. Lonergan
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_03.jpg
Prediction: Geelong by 22 points.
Ben the Gooner
23 Mar 2010, 21:39
Reflection by name, 'reflection' by nature
(This is taken from a post of mine a few weeks ago, however slightly edited)
Eight years ago, Geelong also opened their season with a home game against Essendon at night at the MCG. Geelong were a team of kids, with a coach entering his third year at the helm and in the midst of a complete list renewal.
Debuting that night were a couple of local lads. One, a 17-year-old, beared football's most famous name and had the entire footy world watching on. The other was a skinny kid from Bell Park, who wore a helmet for the majority of his junior career until told it wouldn't help his draft prospects, and was flattened by Dustin Fletcher at almost his first contest at senior level. Other now-familiar names playing that night included Chapman, Corey, Enright, Ling, Mooney and Scarlett - each with an average of 25 games of experience.
Essendon were playing their first match since losing the 2001 Grand Final, however they had champions on every line, with Hird, Johnson (J) and Lloyd sharing the umpires' votes.
Eight years on, and again Geelong open their account with a home game against Essendon, in a night game at the 'G. Geelong have champions on every line, and will take to the field for the first match since prevailing in the 2009 Grand Final.
Essendon have a coach entering his third season, leading a youthful side which fell into the finals last year but learnt how far away they were in the first week.
Oh, and those two local lads now have four AFL premiership medals, two Brownlow medals and five All-Australian guernseys between them.
Recent history
Past five matches:
Geelong 4 Essendon 1
Year Round Team Score Versus Score Ground Result
2009 10 Geelong 20.14 (134) Essendon 11.4 (70) Etihad Stadium Geelong by 64
2008 2 Geelong 22.18 (150) Essendon 6.15 (51) Etihad Stadium Geelong by 99
2007 14 Geelong 19.19 (133) Essendon 12.11 (83) Etihad Stadium Geelong by 50
2006 11 Geelong 20.10 (130) Essendon 13.10 (88) Etihad Stadium Geelong by 42
2005 18 Geelong 13.16 (94) Essendon 16.11 (107) Etihad Stadium Essendon by 13
Last time:
Going into the match, the speed of Essendon was expected to test an undefeated Geelong. However the game was shot to bits early in the second quarter, and Geelong led by 82 points at three-quarter time. The foot was taken off the pedal in the last, however a message was sent to the rest of the competition that Geelong still had the top gear if needed. Johnson was mesmerising with 6 goals and some were claiming he was the best in the competition at that point in time. However he was beaten to the three votes by Selwood (37 possessions), with Ablett having to settle with one (30 touches and two goals).
Preseason problems
Where to start? Ottens almost loses an arm on a boat propellor. Stokes arrested and suspended for drug trafficking - may never play again. The Ablett issue building momentum. No Skilled Stadium to train on. A cancelled practice match. It has not been smooth sailing for the Cats in the 2010 preseason. Geelong is used to participating into the deep end of the NAB Cup, playing on Etihad Stadium and getting miles into both youngsters and older players. This year we were scrappy and gone in the first week, sent the kindergarten to Yea, got flushed away in Carlton before pleasingly kicking eight goals to blot in the third against Fremantle in the west. This has created some uncertainty in the minds of fans and followers, however I believe the final match was the shot in the arm Geelong needed. The Bulldogs and St Kilda have all the pressure this year. This might be the last shot they each have at a flag for another generation. The pressure is off Geelong, and yet the Cats may still be the greatest in the land.
Costly casualties
Missing from a possible best 22 this week for various reasons will be Varcoe, Stokes, Gamble, Hogan and Rooke. Interestingly, the five of them generally compete for a couple of spots between them, namely the small-to-medium-sized-forward-flanker-cum-midfielder. Hard to believe that if any one of them was fit that he wouldn't play. This leads to Mitch Duncan possibly debuting on the big stage. The kid looks a likely type, impressing all and sundry in the preseason.
Prismall
He's finally back. I was hoping we'd get to have a look at him last year, but it wasn't the case. Unlike a lot of others, I was pretty dirty with how he handled the situation when he left. I thought his attitude was poor - not just in late 2008, but in body language I had noticed over the 18 months prior. He played 13 of the last 15 possible games before rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament in the Qualifying Final, however apparently left due to a lack of opportunities. He did have some bad luck with the club, and I felt bad for the kid. But stating his intentions to the footy public meant we were forced to take a pick far under the odds for the trade. I'll be in full voice when he first gets the footy.
Predicted line-up
Full-back: Milburn Scarlett Hunt
Half-back: Mackie Taylor Enright
Centre: Bartel Ling Selwood
Half-forward: Kelly Mooney Johnson
Full-forward: Chapman Hawkins Byrnes
Ruck: Ottens Corey Ablett
Interchange: Blake Wojcinski Gillies Duncan
Emergencies: Drum Motlop Podsiadly
Missing:
Stokes (club suspension)
Varcoe (broken thumb)
Hogan (back)
Gamble
Rooke
Summary
The above is the best team we have available, in my opinion.
The back six looks great. On paper, the Geelong defence should have the Essendon forward-line covered, even with its new look. Expect Scarlett to take Neagle and Taylor, Mackie and Milburn to rotate between Ryder, Hille and Gumbleton (depending on who drifts forward). Hurley will miss due to a club-imposed suspension for some taxi-related handiwork. The mid-sized forwards are the more significant worry for me, with however the inclusion of Hunt (for his first game since the 2008 Grand Final) is a great boost, both defensively and on the rebound. With Enright and Wojcinski bolstered his inclusion, the Williams-Monfries-Davey trio will have to watch they don't get hurt going the other way.
Kelly also showed last year that he is handy in a back pocket, particulary with a strong performance in the Grand Final. I expect he may play a lead-up role off a flank however (unless required to bolster the defence), due to the casualties described earlier. Duncan may make a well-deserved debut, and Mooney and Hawkins will provide the offensive structure. They will not get everything their own way on a couple of Pears, Hooker and Fletcher. Calls for Podsiadly are unfounded. Our big wins against Essendon have come from a spread of goalkickers rather than tall targets dominating, and Podsiadly has hardly fired a shot in the preseason. He is an insurance policy, and a good one to have in the hip pocket. Johnson and Chapman have a good history against the Bombers and will need to play a role in order to win. Complemented by a a spread of goal kickers from the midfield, this is where a large advantage lies.
Ottens and Blake head into another season as the ruck tag-team. Blake is a 'good' number two ruck - but I am hoping he can improve ten or so percent in 2010. The ruck division won't have it all their own way against Ryder and a returning Hille (indeed, some quality there) who will try to give the up-and-coming Essendon midfield first use of the footy - a must, if the Dons are to win.
However, they won't. Because they won't get first use of the footy. On Thursday evening, Geelong will again name one of the great midfield divisions of all time. Ablett, Bartel, Corey (if fit), Selwood and Ling provide the core of a match-hardened, experienced, champion on-ball brigade who are both stronger and more skillful than their opposition in Stanton, Watson, Prismall, Welsh and Winderlich. The McVeigh suspension hurts the Dons here.
Geelong by 26 points.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J's opinion, from the Geelong board.
Ben the Gooner
23 Mar 2010, 21:41
Each week we'll be doing one of these threads with a different poster previewing and reviewing. Stay tuned for next week's installment from HFF_07.
Wahooti Fandango
23 Mar 2010, 21:51
Quality. :thumbsu: Great work. :thumbsu:
Haduken
23 Mar 2010, 22:00
I like this idea a lot, quality work :thumbsu:
Frothies Mcveigh
23 Mar 2010, 22:32
Top job Mav and BtG. :thumbsu:
Both fairly good write ups I thought. Balanced opinions with facts reinforcing points. Great effort guys! :thumbsu:
Admiral Afterworld
24 Mar 2010, 00:04
There can be no spinning it: the worst possible opponent to have in the season opener is the premiers.
Thus, I expect us to lose. Possibly quite badly.
coup de grace
24 Mar 2010, 00:23
great write up mate fair effort! CARN THE DONS!!!!
Great effort ... if too many pictures.
SJ's post off the Geelong board is brilliant and I ended up reading more of that than Mav's. Sorry but those pics are like giant paragraph spacing.
Having said that, some photoshop this picture of Ryder on a basketball court.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/rd10_2009_07.jpg
Great write ups.
I wonder if many Geelong supporters have the same view of Prismall as SJ. If this is the case then I think we all should be ripping into McPhee next week. At least Geelong got a trade out of Prismall!
On the game it will be interesting to see how we compete in the middle with Geelong. We all know that their seasoned hard bodies in the midfield is their strength. We really need a player to stand up at the clearances and help out Jobe with the hard ball gets.
This is going to be a very tough game but it will give us some indictation of where we are at. Don't forget to be the best you have to beat the best. We have one of the toughest draws this year playing each of the top 4 sides from last year twice. These games we cannot put down as automatic defeats if we are to finish in the top 8.
Great write ups.
I wonder if many Geelong supporters have the same view of Prismall as SJ. If this is the case then I think we all should be ripping into McPhee next week. At least Geelong got a trade out of Prismall!
On the game it will be interesting to see how we compete in the middle with Geelong. We all know that their seasoned hard bodies in the midfield is their strength. We really need a player to stand up at the clearances and help out Jobe with the hard ball gets.
This is going to be a very tough game but it will give us some indictation of where we are at. Don't forget to be the best you have to beat the best. We have one of the toughest draws this year playing each of the top 4 sides from last year twice. These games we cannot put down as automatic defeats if we are to finish in the top 8.
I'm sorry but that's a very poor attitude to have. SJ cites his attitude in the 18 months prior to being traded was a concern as well. He only played a handful of games for the club as opposed to a player who was with us for 6-7 years and earnt himself an AA in the process.
Anyone booing McPhee is a tool imho. I'll laugh if he fumbles but to boo him if he marks or kicks a goal is just ridiculous and reflects poorly upon this football club's fans.
Love the post :thumbsu:
Am really getting geared up to see the Bombers play this year. I'm excited to see what another pre-season into our team can produce.
And if we get close to Geelong, what effect a little belief in ourselves can have.
stay true
24 Mar 2010, 11:56
There can be no spinning it: the worst possible opponent to have in the season opener is the premiers.
I tend to disagree. There's no one I'd rather play in round 1 than the reigning premier. You're the underdog and there's no better motivation for the players to come out and knock off the reigning premier. We'd be desperate to prove we're good enough to mix it with the big boys and I reckon we'll win.;)
Lance Uppercut
24 Mar 2010, 12:00
disagree. There's no better time to play the reigning premier than Round 1, as they are a month behind us.
If we are ever going to win, it's Friday night.
Gee, that's a massive effort and a great read. I've tipped the Bombers to win by around five goals. I feel as though Geelong are underdone, it's the perfect time to play them.
BomberTime
24 Mar 2010, 12:35
Some very good work analysis there, love your work.
Hes right when he says not having mcveigh will hurt in the middle another hard body to stand up to the awesome geelong midfield, watson has to break free from ling and have a stand out game to lift the team. Hopefully howlett doesnt get intimadated and throws himself in there which im sure he will, welsh to hopefully do a great job on ablett (impossible??) Hooker to carry over his great pre season form and shut mooney out of the game.
The forward line for me will be where we win it, because no one has seen how it will work especially geelong, gumbleton to announce him self and work tirelessly up and down the ground buring taylor..we have to test that ageing defence and a few of them are coming back from injury.
Im glad we get them round 1, we are a chance but we need 22 contributors and cant waste that ball and dont play slattery on stevie J.
dabombers
24 Mar 2010, 13:29
Did anyone watch the game on fox last night. To me there are some comparisons with the team we now have. With many baby bombers then having an awesome game.
Mercuri (great around half fwd), Misiti (awsome game in the centre with heaps of clearences) (sorry cant remember how to spell if incorrect) Fletcher (Kept their CHF quiet with multiple spoils) and Hird ( got moved to Ablett in the third where he had already kicked 9, yet kept him quiet in the last minutes where we won the game).
I believe we are a chance this week to beat geelong, as that team had just as many great players as the current one does. Couch (brownlow), Hocking, Ablett( Albeit at FF but isn't 14 goals worth 40+ touches), and many others who had been in many Grand Finals.
If only we could clone another Wanganeen who was possibly BOG in the crucial parts of the game.
Now apart from the obvious, No Hird and Wanganeed replacement. Our current squad looks to have that one covered.
3 possible rucks playing big, ala Salmon, Alesio and Somerville.
Great mix of young guns plus experience in the running roles. Does anyone remember or see how good Grenvold, Hills, Ezard and Symmonds were.
Hopefully our boys bring their A game and that the game is as exciting as the baby bomers were back in '93... (By the way this is my first post here so take it easy veterans.)
AndyLesPaul
24 Mar 2010, 16:09
Good read.
I'll be going on friday to see the first Essendon Win of the Season
Darealrath
24 Mar 2010, 17:30
I'm sort of expecting an honourable loss, mainly because their midfield is so damn good. But if we can somehow break even there we are a real chance.
dave_27
24 Mar 2010, 19:13
Im just pumped to see how our forward line performs, hope Willo kicks a bag.
Bombers42
24 Mar 2010, 19:34
ahhh its great to be back, i'm going to the G and i cant wait, Go the Dons!!!
Bombers36
24 Mar 2010, 19:35
yes - tend to agree with some other peeps here - great time to be getting the Cats - Ablett on his way to G Coast, Stevie J under injury cloud, premiership hangover (Im trying to think of more reasons they can lose!)
Seriously though best to get this one out the way - if we can get within 5 - 6 goals of them we have done well, if Watson, Winders, & Willow go of their heads maybe we can make a game of it. Time will tell. Cant wait !
RedFeather
24 Mar 2010, 21:08
The teams
B: Slattery Fletcher Lonergan
HB: Dyson Pears Prismall
C: Reimers Watson Welsh
HF: Williams Gumbleton Davey
F: Monfries Neagle Ryder
R: Hille Stanton Winderlich
Int: Dempsey Zaharakis Melksham
Hooker Houli Laycock
Hocking Hardingham Howlett
B: Wojcinski Scarlett Milburn
HB: Mackie Taylor Corey
C: Ling Selwood Enright
HF: Kelly Hawkins S. Johnson
F: Chapman Mooney Byrnes
R: Ottens Bartel Ablett
Int: Lonergan Gamble Podsiadly
Blake J. Hunt Duncan Djekkura
Motlop Laidler T. Hunt
Those aren't the teams.
Teams are announced 5pm tomorrow.
RedFeather
24 Mar 2010, 21:24
Those aren't the teams.
Teams are announced 5pm tomorrow.
According to the Footy Show they're the teams. :confused:
Ben the Gooner
24 Mar 2010, 21:28
The teams
Hooker Houli Laycock
B: Wojcinski Scarlett Milburn
HB: Mackie Taylor Corey
C: Ling Selwood Enright
HF: Kelly Hawkins S. Johnson
F: Chapman Mooney Byrnes
R: Ottens Bartel Ablett
Int: Lonergan Gamble Podsiadly
Blake J. Hunt Duncan Djekkura
Motlop Laidler T. Hunt
I call bullshit. Lonergan in the back pocket?
They've picked 30 names out of a hat and made a team out of it
I call bullshit. Lonergan in the back pocket?
As well as Dyson and Prismall on the HBFs. Total bullshit.
RedFeather
24 Mar 2010, 21:36
Well they're announcing all the teams on the Footy Show, so I thought I'd just write down the Essendon and Geelong teams and post them here.
Ben the Gooner
24 Mar 2010, 21:38
Well they're announcing all the teams on the Footy Show, so I thought I'd just write down the Essendon and Geelong teams and post them here.
Not disagreeing with you, just TFS.
Valve Bounce
24 Mar 2010, 21:58
Great read. But where the hell is efc? I always want to hear his views.
essendon2008
24 Mar 2010, 23:01
The teams
Hooker Houli Laycock
Bolded players either in wrong position or not likely to play IMO. Will be interesting to see the teams announced tomorrow night
Bombers36
25 Mar 2010, 01:10
Id say its more likely going to be something like this:
Slattery Pears Welsh
Fletcher Hooker Dempsey
Dyson Prismall Winders
Monfries Ryder Zaharakis
Neagle M.Williams Davey
Hille Watson Stanton
Reimers Gumby Howlett Laycock
that team looks soo wrong compared to what all of us have talked about and what teams they've had in pre-season....
how is fletch all of a sudden playing FB and pears at HB?
im not taking any notice...
Slattery_20
25 Mar 2010, 09:38
FFS check back all of your e-mails announcing teams from last year... they release the squad (25 or whatever) on Thursday (weds this week), but they clearly spend no time at all in putting them in position. MASSIVE over-reaction. The on-field squad will be right (barring injury), they'll just drop 3 off the bench. (Guessing Hardingham, Laycock, Houli, could be wrong)
Great Post, really enjoyed the read, Thanks.
Best to meet the Cats round 1, still getting into stride gives us a chance with pace, and maybe a forward line that may surprise.
I think the cats may do the job, but still think we are a decent chance.
Tigers to beat the Blues.
Fantastic...footy again whoeee Go Bombers
Got my tix today.
Soooooooooooooooooo excited!
Been starving for some footy for so long. Will be fanbloodytastic :D
Why we can win!
2006 round 1 Essendon 17.6.108 v Sydney (reigning premiers) 12.9.81
2007 round 1 Adelaide (preliminary finalists) 10.14.74 v Essendon 16.9.105
2008 round 1 North Melbourne (preliminary finalists) 9.13.67 v Essendon 19.8.122
2009 round 1 Port Adelaide (finished 13th) 15.17.107 v Essendon 9.12.66
we probably have more chance of beating the cats than we do of beating north or freo!!! on the otherside the only time we made finals in those years was when we lost round 1...
windyhill
26 Mar 2010, 09:09
28pt start for $1.90
$4.50 head to head, you must have a nibble people.
Tbh Essendon by 25pts or more $8.70 looks very tasty. Like I said, I believe Geelong will win but round 1 can throw up more surprises than any other round and knowing Geelong are underdone and if we turn it up then we could be the surprise packet of the round.
Gee, if Essendon do win it'll most likely be by above 25pts. They are some great odds.
eth-dog
26 Mar 2010, 12:17
FUUUUUUUUUUUUU! hate being 17 and the only bets I can have are on cup day.
YouveBeenReimered
26 Mar 2010, 12:25
Win, lose or draw, it's great to be able to see the mgihty Dons run out onto the 'G again and play some Footy!!
Bring it on.
Oh, and we will win. Why? Because. We Are Essendon.
FUUUUUUUUUUUUU! hate being 17 and the only bets I can have are on cup day.sportsbet.com.au is your friend.
eth-dog
26 Mar 2010, 12:32
sportsbet.com.au is your friend.
danke.
Tbh Essendon by 25pts or more $8.70 looks very tasty. Like I said, I believe Geelong will win but round 1 can throw up more surprises than any other round and knowing Geelong are underdone and if we turn it up then we could be the surprise packet of the round.
centrebet has bombers -21.5 @ 8.80
$10 for over 25
although i guess the odds might have changed since you posted..
i try my best to stay away from betting on bombers games, my view is always too clouded(although its not as clouded as my mate who always bet on his team last season[which is north]), and i already have enough interest in the game to not need money on it!!
Ben the Gooner
26 Mar 2010, 13:50
Use the machines at the TAB and get out before they can ask you.
couldnt ya just get one of those pre-paid visa cards and sign up for an account online??
Gambling is bad.
voluntary tax my old man calls it,,,, but as long as its entertainment its alright!!
Mad Bomber Sean
26 Mar 2010, 15:23
Gee, if Essendon do win it'll most likely be by above 25pts. They are some great odds.
and why would that be ?
Cause we're just. that. good.
Charliebrow 16
26 Mar 2010, 15:43
Tipping us. Loyalty is a wonderful thing.
Mad Bomber Sean
26 Mar 2010, 15:43
Cause we're just. that. good.
I hope your right. I wont be putting money on that one though/
Ben the Gooner
26 Mar 2010, 15:58
Gambling is bad.
Only when you lose.;)
BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
26 Mar 2010, 16:01
hate to say this but i think we will get belted tonight by those pricks just to make a statement to the rest of the compition.**** i hate those pricks hope we beat them tonight
Mad Bomber Sean
26 Mar 2010, 16:40
At the ground now. Light rain has been falling now for around 20 minutes.
Howlett, Hocking doing some pregame kicking, Reimers & Hickmont having a chat.
Reimers up close looks noticeably bigger almost uncomfortably so, can't tell if it's muscle or the other stuff though...
Monfries bouncing the ball with Prizza & Hooker
my own pregame nerves have left me unable to drink the beer infront of me
haha, don't worry B4L, we'll win.
footycool
26 Mar 2010, 16:46
At the ground now. Light rain has been falling now for around 20 minutes.
Howlett, Hocking doing some pregame kicking, Reimers & Hickmont having a chat.
Reimers up close looks noticeably bigger almost uncomfortably so, can't tell if it's muscle or the other stuff though...
Monfries bouncing the ball with Prizza & Hooker
my own pregame nerves have left me unable to drink the beer infront of me
How is the ground and is there a lot of people there MAD Bomber Sean
Only when you lose.;)
:thumbsu:
Only when you lose.;)
Which is all the time for you. M I RITE?!?
Mad Bomber Sean
26 Mar 2010, 16:56
How is the ground and is there a lot of people there MAD Bomber Sean
Ground looks great. Slight discolouring round the pitch area (expected) but otherwise appears to be in excellent nick.
The crowd is pouring into the MCC at (gates open at 5pm) - the MCC gets rammed for these two sides. The general admin & Afl areas look fairly empty.
Very early days though. I expect 60 - 70k tonight. Rain will keep a few at home though.
Ben the Gooner
26 Mar 2010, 16:58
Which is all the time for you. M I RITE?!?
Man City won me some nice money last weekend. $2.30 multied up to $4.60.:thumbsu:
Don't lie; no sane man bets on Man City.
Ben the Gooner
26 Mar 2010, 17:05
Don't lie; no sane man bets on Man City.
Man City into Valencia into Barcelona.
Excellent bet.:thumbsu: