View Full Version : Roast A tale of two nights

Grey Smith Bar
26 Mar 2010, 23:00
Thursday night - the arch filth ******** enemy lines up with out their key forward from years past and finds an avenue to goal with all the players they were hoping they might. However the opposition was LOLmond.

Fast forward to tonight - we get a square-up goal from Neagle, with Williams and Gumbleton having done nothing. However the opposition was the reigning premiers, and we led at 3/4 time.

Panic stations or give it time?????

Knight Ryders
26 Mar 2010, 23:07
In my opinion, we were more impressive than Carlton. Brock McLean wouldn't get a kick against Geelong and smashed Richmond last night - says it all for me.

Our backline would have smashed Carlton and our forwards will be a lot better against other backlines. Scarlett just dominanted down back as always

Jonesy1987
26 Mar 2010, 23:07
We played really well tonight, 3/4's of hard football took our run away from us. We will beat many teams if we can replicate that football.

bipolarbeaR
26 Mar 2010, 23:10
Even with no forward line, the sort of footy we played tonight would have beaten 75% of the other teams in the AFL.

MARC_
26 Mar 2010, 23:12
We will win the next 2.

jade_00
26 Mar 2010, 23:14
Panic stations? Geez mate we looked pretty bloody good tonight - and we haven't even reached full strength yet.

neagle1451
26 Mar 2010, 23:23
New look forward line will take time. We looked good tonight was very impressed. Hate the Jay Neagle bashers. He ****ed up one goal and dropped a sitter but he is still the best kick in our team. Gumbleton did not impress me one bit. I'm afraid we have another Johns clone. Williams had a shocker expected when playing on Scarlett though. Loving the new look Jobe Watson though.

Frothies Mcveigh
26 Mar 2010, 23:31
Give it time, first 3 quarters were pretty impressive.

rhysman
26 Mar 2010, 23:37
forward line will be much better when Hurley comes back obviously. Neagle could be in for a stretch in the twos. Gumby will be better for the run and we should be thankful he got through the game.

Lance Uppercut
26 Mar 2010, 23:41
Thursday night - the arch filth ******** enemy lines up with out their key forward from years past and finds an avenue to goal with all the players they were hoping they might. However the opposition was LOLmond.

Fast forward to tonight - we get a square-up goal from Neagle, with Williams and Gumbleton having done nothing. However the opposition was the reigning premiers, and we led at 3/4 time.

Panic stations or give it time?????

wtf? A very shallow & reactionary view on two very different scenarios.

Carlton played what could be the worst team in the last 10 years, personnel wise. There was no midfield or defensive pressure.

Geelongs defence was very well coached. They played 5 metres behind our boys, & were very effective as a result

bipolarbeaR
27 Mar 2010, 00:02
Hate the Jay Neagle bashers. He ****ed up one goal and dropped a sitter but he is still the best kick in our team.

Hi Jay.
You should really learn to mark, because that's the step before the kick.

Kickett Punches Read
27 Mar 2010, 00:06
i thought you guys looked pretty reasonable tonight. i must say though the game reminded me of our practice match against geelong two weeks ago. we dominated for 3 quarters, but geelong decided to play for one quarter and kicked 11 of the next 12 goals.

i reckon the call on gumby is a bit ordinary. the guy has been on the sidelines for a couple of years, he will be a gun, just give him a chance

and if you really want a silver lining, you play us next week :o im flying over for the game, so hopefully we will be competitive, but id expect you guys to rebound

Smokin
27 Mar 2010, 07:03
what a retarded thread.

Carlton were lucky to be in front, with less scoring shots (and Richmond kicking a stack on the full) half way through the third against arguably the worst side in the comp.

Absolute fools gold performance no doubt.

But, what has that got to do with us?

Donakebab
27 Mar 2010, 07:10
Spending too much time in the Grey Smith Bar imo...

Bombers36
27 Mar 2010, 08:06
Neagle far better than Gumby & would drop Gumby back to Bendigo before Neagle any day of the week. Like someone else on this thread said - there are similarities between Gumby & Johns, both promise a lot but fail to deliver. How long must we keep waiting? Id drop Gumby back to the twos until he consistantly shows some form, and with Willow, Neagle, Hille, Ryder & Hurley to come back we will be fine up forward.

Ben the Gooner
27 Mar 2010, 08:28
I'd just like to remind everyone that we played the best team in the competition, and Carlton played the worst.

shefx
27 Mar 2010, 09:25
If carlton had not of won by anything more than 40 then it would of been a richmond win imo.
Geelong simply believed that they would win last night and when it counted the goals went in ...

Faz 2000
27 Mar 2010, 09:50
You guys did well last night, really just got arm-wrestled down by one of the toughest, most skillful and all-round best sides seen in recent years. No disgrace at all.

Why you're talking about Carlton is beyond me. WTF do we have to do with your first game? We played a crappy team and spanked them. As we should have. We have our own problems to sort out, but Thursday showed glimmers of hope in that regard... again, what that's got to do with your game against the Cats is too hard for me to figure out.

If you're going to quibble that Carlton should have won by more than 9 goals and try talking that up as a failure well that's... just... stupid. A 9 goal win is a win is a win.

SDR223
27 Mar 2010, 10:07
Neagle far better than Gumby & would drop Gumby back to Bendigo before Neagle any day of the week. Like someone else on this thread said - there are similarities between Gumby & Johns, both promise a lot but fail to deliver. How long must we keep waiting? Id drop Gumby back to the twos until he consistantly shows some form, and with Willow, Neagle, Hille, Ryder & Hurley to come back we will be fine up forward.

What a load of s**t. Gumbelton played his first game in nearly two years. What did you expect him to do against the best backline in the league?

We must get games into him. With more match experience and improved match fitness he will prove to be a very good - great player.

To compare Gumby to John's is idiotic.

Kong
27 Mar 2010, 10:55
Even with no forward line, the sort of footy we played tonight would have beaten 75% of the other teams in the AFL.

This.

JuDDysthacaptain
30 Mar 2010, 18:12
Sorry to interrupt but didn't Essendon lose to Richmond last year?

Trav0
30 Mar 2010, 18:25
Sorry to interrupt but didn't Essendon lose to Richmond last year?

Is there a point to that comment that I missed???

last I checked we'd beaten you 5 times on a row???

dickie26
30 Mar 2010, 18:36

You are a fool! How many games has Neagle been handed without showing the consistancy that you require Gumby to show after 1 Game? Neagle gets gametime regardless of output because he was seen to be the future.
I think things may change with a fit Gumby and a very hungry Hurley back in the side!

blueboots
30 Mar 2010, 18:42
You guys did well last night, really just got arm-wrestled down by one of the toughest, most skillful and all-round best sides seen in recent years. No disgrace at all.

Why you're talking about Carlton is beyond me. WTF do we have to do with your first game? We played a crappy team and spanked them. As we should have. We have our own problems to sort out, but Thursday showed glimmers of hope in that regard... again, what that's got to do with your game against the Cats is too hard for me to figure out.

If you're going to quibble that Carlton should have won by more than 9 goals and try talking that up as a failure well that's... just... stupid. A 9 goal win is a win is a win.

Speaking of 9 goals that figure should be of more concern to Ess than Calton's result ,allowing 9 unanswered is an issue no matter what the strength the opposition .

Skeeta Olly
30 Mar 2010, 18:47
Can you not wait 1 more week to troll?

Lance Uppercut
30 Mar 2010, 19:27
You are a fool! How many games has Neagle been handed without showing the consistancy that you require Gumby to show after 1 Game? Neagle gets gametime regardless of output because he was seen to be the future.
I think things may change with a fit Gumby and a very hungry Hurley back in the side!

is that a new burger or something?

Ben the Gooner
31 Mar 2010, 07:30
As long as it's not the Angry Hurley.

NAUGHT5
31 Mar 2010, 10:54
But, what has that got to do with us?

? ?

I love our rivalry but the aim of the Essendon Footy Club isnt solely to be better than Carlton.

Odd thread.

Slattery_20
31 Mar 2010, 11:28
? ?

I love our rivalry but the aim of the Essendon Footy Club isnt solely to be better than Carlton.

Odd thread.
Very.

Not our aim, just a pleasing side-effect of domination. ;)

Kaiser Powser
31 Mar 2010, 13:29
? ?

Odd thread.

What's odd is how many Carlton flogs have come on here and taken offence where there was none intended.

The OP was actually putting Carlton in a favourable comparison to our non-funtioning forward line and asking whether we are concerned.

Harden up people, at least you are allowed on our board.