View Full Version : Hawthorn Board B+F 'The Rusty Shield' - The Winner is crowned!
The BIG X
27 Mar 2010, 17:00
Just got home from the G and without Stats or any Media influence I give the following players votes:
5 Hodge
4 Gibson
3 Murphy
2 Mitchell
1 Brown
If Roughy had have kicked straight he would have been very high on the list
Hawker08
27 Mar 2010, 17:06
Brownlow Round 1 Hawks V Dees
Hodge 3
Brown 2
Mitchell 1
Hodge is still over 50-1.....I'm on
Pessimistic
27 Mar 2010, 17:08
laddo and ossiehad a hand in alot of our goals.
Petersen looks the 'superstar' but dint play like that - some good handballs inside the contest and nice finishing outside
BlackHawk23
27 Mar 2010, 17:14
just got home aswell, hodgey looked great, i like the way peterson played he did 1 or to bad things, but i have to say i never liked hooperr but he played unbeliviable, cyril and hooper pwoah cant wait.
grizzlym
27 Mar 2010, 17:16
laddo and ossiehad a hand in alot of our goals.
Petersen looks the 'superstar' but dint play like that - some good handballs inside the contest and nice finishing outside
He had 8 contested possessions to half time. Pretty impressive first half for me.
Thought early on Browny was ferocious and set the tone in that forward line.....Lewis was sensational with some real hard work throughout (bit quieter in the last, but most were like that)...Gibbo across the backline, gave us heaps of confidence and reckon the others down there, murph, suckling etc were enjoying it, knowing he was around...
But after a quiet start, the main man got going and dominated the midfield....pretty damn tough...
5 votes Hodge
4 votes Lewis
3 votes Gibson
2 votes Brown
1 vote Mitchell
apologies to big Carl!
SodaPop
27 Mar 2010, 17:27
5. Hodge
4. Lewis
3. Brown
2. Gibson
1. Hooper
mattyfeck
27 Mar 2010, 17:29
Agree with the general idea that Hodge, Lewis, Brown, Gibbo and Mitch wre our best 5. Also loved Ellis', Hooper and Laddo's work today. All those guys were outstanding IMO. Looking forward to next week with the addition of Bateman, Rioli and Buddy. To be honest i will feel for whoever misses out.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
27 Mar 2010, 17:31
I thought Hodge's disposal was terriible, by his normal standards. Missed goals and targets.
For mine, having not looked at any stats, I would have said:
05. Lewis
04. Brown
03. Schoey
02. Gibson
01. Hooper
mattyfeck
27 Mar 2010, 17:31
Agree with the general idea that Hodge, Lewis, Brown, Gibbo and Mitch wre our best 5. Also loved Ellis', Hooper and Laddo's work today. All those guys were outstanding IMO. Looking forward to next week with the addition of Bateman, Rioli and Buddy. To be honest i will feel for whoever misses out.
Murphy also played a ripper game, best game from him in Hawks colours i reckon. If he can play like that each week he will def hold his spot in a back pocket for the rest of the year.
Pessimistic
27 Mar 2010, 17:34
He had 8 contested possessions to half time. Pretty impressive first half for me.
I meant he worked hard.
Also I liked our defence - which is supposed to be a weakness. melbournes goals could be attributed mostly to our midfield pressure fading.
Also I liked our use of small forwards. If geelong struggle its small forwards which do it (2008 GF)
Gives you optimism for next week. A few cats should be suspended too for basically smashing the bombers illegally
Time Machine
27 Mar 2010, 17:40
cyril and hooper pwoah cant wait.this :thumbsu:
noosa hawk mad
27 Mar 2010, 17:42
5 votes Hodge
4 votes Brown
3 votes Gibson
2 votes Lewis
1 vote Mitchell
Birchall Suckers Ellis Ladson F1 Murphy all had over 20 posseions great game by so many hard to pick the top 5
Perterson & JKT showed they will be players what a bloody great day :thumbsu:
Hooper showed why we chased him his froward pressure was fantastic
Cosmo Kramer
27 Mar 2010, 17:48
5. Hodge
4. Mitchell
3. Gibson
2. Hooper
1. Lewis
FisherHawk
27 Mar 2010, 17:52
We had a lot of good players out there today but the premiership boys led the way. Brownie kicked 3, layed 8 tackles in the forward 50 and help opponents to create space for team mates.
1. Brown
2. Hodge
3. Mitchell
4. Lewis
5. Gibson
Special mention to Renouf and Moss.
Lurkalot
27 Mar 2010, 18:05
5. S.Mitchell
4. J.Gibson
3. C.Brown
2. L.Hodge
1. G.Birchall
Credits to the often maligned Morton, Ellis & Murphy
Gary Shadforth
27 Mar 2010, 18:10
Agree with most of the voting in here but we should find one for Mossy.
His go, footy nouse and vision played a big part in us getting off to a big start. In my opinion.
Pharaoh
27 Mar 2010, 18:12
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Mitchell
2. Gibson
1. Lewis
Honourable mentions to Hooper (outstanding), Renouf (really improving), Ladson (great first half) and Peterson (fabulous debut).
Agree with most of the voting in here but we should find one for Mossy.
His go, footy nouse and vision played a big part in us getting off to a big start. In my opinion.
Jason Dunstall, whilst commentating on Fox, was full of praise for Mossy. He said that although he might not be the quickest player around, and his kicking might lack penetration, he had an excellent football brain, and that well and truly made up for any other supposed deficiencies. That was certainly shown today. He was certainly worth of a vote today.
5. Brown
4. Hodge
3. Lewis
2. Mitchell
1. Moss
I'm still not sure whether Lewis deserves the top spot, but he was consistently in there throughout the game. So in no particular order, Lewis, Hooper, Ladson, Hodge, Brown, Mitchell and Peterson (super debut match).
arupist
27 Mar 2010, 18:22
No love for Cobbler with 20+ possessions at CHB?
Hawker08
27 Mar 2010, 18:38
No love for Cobbler with 20+ possessions at CHB?
Very impressed with the Shoe but you'd probably expect 20+ possies against the worst CHF in the league(Miller). Hope he repeats it against the Cats.
Chubs Peterson
27 Mar 2010, 19:34
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Lewis
2. Mitchell
1. Hooper
Great work by Chubs Peterson. Love the way he played. New favourite player, I hope that Chubs keeps his spot for a long time to come!
marklar
27 Mar 2010, 19:56
5. Lewis (for a traditionally slow starter to the season, he played a gem)
4. Gibson (great first 'real' game, particularly pressing forward)
3. Hooper (classy work in attack and defence)
2. Brown (back to his best)
1. Peterson (great vision, looks comfortable under pressure)
Hodgepodge
27 Mar 2010, 20:02
5. Hodge
4. Lewis
3. Mitchell
2. Schoenmakers
1. Moss
lethal03
27 Mar 2010, 20:04
5. Lewis (for a traditionally slow starter to the season, he played a gem)
4. Gibson (great first 'real' game, particularly pressing forward)
3. Hooper (classy work in attack and defence)
2. Brown (back to his best)
1. Peterson (great vision, looks comfortable under pressure)
:eek::eek:Hodgey was driving this bus brother:cool:
Number 24
27 Mar 2010, 20:06
Now where is that ******** that bags Murphy
Chubs Peterson
27 Mar 2010, 20:06
:eek::eek:Hodgey was driving this bus brother:cool:
Spot on Lethal.
grizzlym
27 Mar 2010, 20:11
Now where is that ******** that bags Murphy
He copped a very red card a week or so back. Doubt you'll see him postinh on this board for quite some time.
The BIG X
27 Mar 2010, 20:26
He copped a very red card a week or so back. Doubt you'll see him posting on this board for quite some time.
Good stuff:thumbsu:
Chubs Peterson
27 Mar 2010, 20:33
He copped a very red card a week or so back. Doubt you'll see him postinh on this board for quite some time.
Loved Murph's game today. Great to have footy back and some positive talk in the forums!
Collins-Langford-Ayres
27 Mar 2010, 20:40
Yeah, I thought Murphy was good too. Seems to understand and plays within his limitations. Imagine his disposal efficiency is very high.
Mervyn Beasley
27 Mar 2010, 22:40
Hodge
Lewis
Brown
No one lowered their colors today.
Be nice if we can say the same next week:thumbsu:
Mitchell Madness
27 Mar 2010, 23:04
5 Votes - All 22 players
5. Brown
4. Hodge
3. Ladson
2. Moss
1. Lewis
Brown Blood
27 Mar 2010, 23:39
votes
5 Hodge
4 Mitch
3 Lewis
2 Gibbo
1 Hooper
5 Brown
4 Hodge
3 Hooper
2 Gibson
1 Lewis
5: Brown
4:Hodge
3:Gibson
2:Ellis
1:Ladson
MinerBoy
28 Mar 2010, 07:48
5. Lewis - ran hard, provided options, used it well. BOG when the game was alive.
4. Hodge - set for a big season.
3. Browny - forward pressure by all was great. He also got the goals to go with.
2. Gibson - Welcome aboard. Composed and smooth.
1. Ladson - classy.
MinerBoy
28 Mar 2010, 07:50
Just an observation - surprised Mitch is getting so many, especially by people not voting Lewis. Mitchell played a solid game - no problem there. Had nowhere near the impact Lewis did though.
Gaborone
28 Mar 2010, 08:01
My best were ( in order)
5. Brown - his fanaticism in the forward fifty set the tone for the rest of the team
4. Gibson - great debut
3. Hodge - as usual
2. Schoenmakers - really strating to come on
1. Moss - creates openings where there are seemingly none
Brown Blood
28 Mar 2010, 08:10
Just an observation - surprised Mitch is getting so many, especially by people not voting Lewis. Mitchell played a solid game - no problem there. Had nowhere near the impact Lewis did though.
IYO - I thought lewis made a few more mistakes than mitch (ie got caught when he had time to get rid of the ball) and he had less contested possessions and tackles, mitch also kicked a great goal and was good over 4 qtrs.
Not much in it though - both played great games.
I did think hodge was BOG by a fair margin though.
Langford4FBOTC
28 Mar 2010, 08:12
5 - Hodge
4 - Gibson
3 - Lewis
2 - Brown
1 - Birchall
MinerBoy
28 Mar 2010, 08:15
IYO - I thought lewis made a few more mistakes than mitch (ie got caught when he had time to get rid of the ball) and he had less contested possessions and tackles, mitch also kicked a great goal and was good over 4 qtrs.
Not much in it though - both played great games.
I did think hodge was BOG by a fair margin though.
Yeah, it's all opinion I know. I highlighted the part that is Mitch's forte though. That happens to Lewis when he gets the quick release handball from a pack. Mitch does it when he is running free and just doesn't choose the first option - holding, baulking and finally getting tackled.
I respect your opinion - but that observation doesn't enhance your 'more mistakes' argument...in my opinion. :p
TAZZIE HAWK
28 Mar 2010, 08:55
1. Brown
2. Hodge
3. Lewis
4. Hooper
5. Moss
Special mentions to Ossie for his first half and a great first game from Carl Peterson.
hawks_time
28 Mar 2010, 10:01
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Lewis
2. Birchall
1. Moss
Hawkinspired
28 Mar 2010, 10:32
5. C Brown
4. J Gibson
3. X Ellis
2. G Birchall
1. L Hodge
5 C Brown
4 L Hodge
3 J Gibson
2 B Renouf
1 G Moss
Unlucky: Mitch; Ossie; Hooper; F1 & Ellis.
Franko Armani
28 Mar 2010, 10:57
5 Hodge
4 Brown
3 Gibson
2 Peterson
1 Roughead
MuzzHawk
28 Mar 2010, 11:22
5 Hodge
4 Gibson
3 Brown
2 Lewis
1 Peterson
5. Lewis
4. Hooper
3. Brown
2. Hodge
1. Renouf
HolyRioli
28 Mar 2010, 11:35
5. Brown
4. Hodge
3. Schoenmakers
2. Hooper
1. Ellis
Dunstall_Jr
28 Mar 2010, 12:03
5 - Hodge
4 - Brown
3 - Lewis
2 - Mitchell
1 - Gibson
HeavyDew
28 Mar 2010, 13:56
5 - Brown
4 - Hodge
3 - Gibson
2 - Peterson
1 - Hooper
Great to see the new boys fighting hard to keep their spots once the stars come back. Hope they keep it up.
Mervyn Beasley
28 Mar 2010, 14:17
5 Hodge
4. Lewis
3. Brown
2. Birch
1. Murphy
CouchPotato
28 Mar 2010, 14:29
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Birchell
2. Lewis
1. Renouf
HawksonFire
28 Mar 2010, 16:07
Good intiative this ....
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Lewis
2. Ellis
1. Gibson
But honestly, so many could stake claim for votes. Special mention to Ossie- he is very important to us- doesn't show up on many stat sheets, but he has a hand in a lot of our goals....
(in no particular order)
Hodge
Moss
Brown
Peterson
Lewis
HAWKS HEROES
28 Mar 2010, 18:31
5 Campbell
4 Hodge
3 hooper
2 Gibbo
1 Moss
HAWKS HEROES
28 Mar 2010, 18:36
wanted to vote roughead and lewis too but you guys say 5 votes
Skyfire15
28 Mar 2010, 18:54
5. Hodge
4. Ellis
3. Brown
2. Birchall
1. Peterson
Dinsdale
28 Mar 2010, 20:30
5. Brown
4. Hodge
3. Mitchell
2. Lewis
1. Hooper
5. Hodge
4. Campbell
3. Ellis
2. Gibson
1. Renouf
Edit: That's Campbell Brown of course, not big bob. Although his assistant ruck coaching may have helped!
Buddy Guy
28 Mar 2010, 22:34
5. Hodge
4. Ellis
3. Brown
2. Gibson
1. Lewis
moginie
28 Mar 2010, 22:53
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Lewis
2. Gibson
1. Murphy
The BIG X
29 Mar 2010, 06:51
Re voting - we have a real challenge here.
The BF members who are at the ground see the game totally different for the guys who view it via TV or listen on the radio.
If you are at the ground and elevated you get a greater vision of the entire ground ie seeing off the ball blocks, great running to position (Changer/Ladson/Mitchell etc). Murphy running off his opponent for team play (and then left stranded if things go wrong).
Mitchell was criticised in this thread that he was not in the best players - OK that is the persons opinion but you have to consider what his particular job was and most times we (BF members) have no idea what the instructions are.
Do we expect Mitch to have 40+ posessions before even consider him to have a good game?
Ellis to me had specific duties and carried them out very well - I could not fit him in my top 5 yet I am sure the coaching panel liked his game.
This will be very hard to administer however I really like the idea of a BF Best & Fairest award.
JESTERHAWK
29 Mar 2010, 07:17
5.Lewis - is this his break out year to elite mid
4.Brown - I may have misjudged his place in the 18 before, but will not again.
3.Ellis - was the link up man all day and had a hand in so much
2.Hooper - his second efforts and chase we sublime. Must continue to do this.
1.Gibbo - was a calming influence and a creative outlet from the back half.
Mitch & Hodge were great, but i expect that level of play from them both. especially against the dees.
Hungry Hawk
29 Mar 2010, 07:36
5. Lewis
4. Hooper
3. Hodge
2. Brown
1. Gibson
Hard to even do a special metnion, you could argue votes for numerous players on the day. Hope it is this difficult to cast votes for every round.
hawker39
29 Mar 2010, 07:59
5 - Hodge
4 - Gibson
3 - Lewis
2 - Brown
1 - Murphy
MinerBoy
29 Mar 2010, 08:08
The BF members who are at the ground see the game totally different for the guys who view it via TV or listen on the radio.
If you are at the ground and elevated you get a greater vision of the entire ground ie seeing off the ball blocks, great running to position (Changer/Ladson/Mitchell etc). Murphy running off his opponent for team play (and then left stranded if things go wrong).
Mitchell was criticised in this thread that he was not in the best players - OK that is the persons opinion but you have to consider what his particular job was and most times we (BF members) have no idea what the instructions are.
Do we expect Mitch to have 40+ posessions before even consider him to have a good game?
Ellis to me had specific duties and carried them out very well - I could not fit him in my top 5 yet I am sure the coaching panel liked his game.
This will be very hard to administer however I really like the idea of a BF Best & Fairest award.
I guess this is directed at me - in which case it is misdirected. I didn't criticise Mitch at all - I said he played a solid game. I was just surprised he was considered so highly in the votes amongst some people.
For the record, I WAS at the game and WAS sitting in an elevated position. It was for that very reason that I thought Lewis was BOG. Did those things you attributed to Mitch - namely running to position. He was clearly our hardest worker on the ground to run hard to provide the backs with an option and then get on his bike and still get up the other end and pump the ball inside 50.
Either way, it's all opinion. I don't think the fact that some people disagree with you causes any problems. There will be enough voters every week to get a balanced view and ensure the fairest votes are given overall.
Hawk Since Birth
29 Mar 2010, 08:36
5. Hodge
4. Brown
3. Lewis
2. Gibson
1. Mitchell
Honourable mentions to Peterson, Murphy, Renouf and Hooper.
I know what you are saying here TBX, and even when casting my votes wondered from what perspective people were voting but ultimately it seems to be about 10 players in the mix with the top 3 or 4 standing out from all others. It seems to be working okay.
I couldn't find a spot for Mitch either, only because I thought Suzie's challenge, and therefore contribution was greater than Sammy's. Mind you, there was at least 6 other players I would have been comfortable in putting in that spot.
Maybe we could tweak it a bit by rather than just giving the 5,4,3... adding your reasoning and justification for the votes.
Ram-Man
29 Mar 2010, 08:48
5. Lewis
4. Hodge
3. Gibson
2. Guerra
1. Brown
The BIG X
29 Mar 2010, 09:01
I know what you are saying here TBX, and even when casting my votes wondered from what perspective people were voting but ultimately it seems to be about 10 players in the mix with the top 3 or 4 standing out from all others. It seems to be working okay.
I couldn't find a spot for Mitch either, only because I thought Suzie's challenge, and therefore contribution was greater than Sammy's. Mind you, there was at least 6 other players I would have been comfortable in putting in that spot.
Maybe we could tweak it a bit by rather than just giving the 5,4,3... adding your reasoning and justification for the votes.
Great:thumbsu:
I didn't give Lewis a vote and applaud everyone who did.
Suzie's endeavour was great - again did not give him a vote.
Brown Blood
29 Mar 2010, 09:17
I do think that X makes a very good point about attending the game as you do see things quite differently than simply seeing the game on the tv and this can influence your votes as can a single event or missed opportunity.
Above all I think we should just accept it is a subjective decision - one poster will put more weight on goals - another on clearances or stopping a star on the other side from scoring.
The thing about saturdays game is 10 players probably could justify a vote as it was a very even team performance.
Hawker_Ant
29 Mar 2010, 09:34
Hard to pick out 5. A few unlucky to miss out.
5. Hodge
4. Lewis
3. Mitchell
2. Brown
1. Ellis
5. Brown - no one had the same level of impact on the game for mine.
4. Hodge - the best performed of our midfielders.
3. Lewis - almost as good as Hodgy
2. Gibson - terrific in defense
1. Ellis - classy, even if perhaps trying to do a little much at times
Special mentions go to Murph who performed his role well, Hooper whose forward pressure was fantastic and Renouf who battled well solo.
And on that note, voting for Round 1 is closed.
Thanks to all who voted, results will be up in a few minutes.
After two rounds, we have joint leaders for 'The Rusty Shield' B+F.
Both Mitchell and Hodge lead with 5 votes apiece,
After 2 Rounds:
Mitchell - 5
Hodge - 5
Roughead - 4
Renouf - 4
Shiels - 3
Gibson - 3
Lewis - 2
Guerra - 2
Peterson - 1
Ellis - 1
Shiels - 1 (After tying with Ellis for last week)
Please put your votes, 5-4-3-2-1 in this thread.
Cheers
Lord Mud of Glenferrie
11 Apr 2010, 17:15
Rioli
Mitchell
Roughead
Guerra
Renouf
CouchPotato
11 Apr 2010, 17:18
Renouf
Rioli
Mitchell
Guerra
Lewis ** Courage vote and the fact he was leading possession getter at the time of the hit
Rudi Gilham
11 Apr 2010, 17:19
1 Rioli
2 Hodge
3 Roughead
4 Guerra
5 Peterson
I wasn't all that impressed by Mitchell's 34 possessions to be honest.
HawkintheTuarts
11 Apr 2010, 17:27
5 votes: Hodge
4 votes: Rioli
3 votes: Guerra
2 votes: Mitchell
1 votes: Roughead
Hawkinspired
11 Apr 2010, 17:40
Rioli
Renouf
Guerra
Peterson
Hodge
Willie_Rioli
11 Apr 2010, 17:42
5 Rioli
4 Hodge
3 Renouf
2 Mitchell
1 Stratton
Carn Hawkas
11 Apr 2010, 17:48
5. Rioli
4. Hodge
3. Roughead
2. Renouf
1. Peterson
Hawkas1988
11 Apr 2010, 19:21
5. Rioli
4. Hodge
3. Mitchell
2. Roughead
1. Peterson
HawksonFire
11 Apr 2010, 19:46
5. Rioli
4. Hodge
3. Guerra
2. Roughead
1. Mitchell
buddy23
11 Apr 2010, 19:48
5. Rioli
4. Peterson
3. Roughead
2. Hodge
1. Renouf
marklar
11 Apr 2010, 20:05
5. Rioli (simply delicious)
4. Renouf (gave it his all, again)
3. Peterson (cool under pressure, great skills)
2. Guerra (hard at it all day)
1. Stratton (great game for a newbie)
Goody1971
11 Apr 2010, 20:09
5. Rioli
4. Peterson
3. Hodge
2.Guerra
1. Roughead
Changa10
11 Apr 2010, 20:14
5. Rioli