View Full Version : How Dare He!
roostersgal4eva
18 May 2003, 17:11
Nick Xenophon is the biggest W@NKER i've ever known
this is he l8test load of sĥite that came out of his mouth
'I hope people were at the rally to save the club and not for the free wine and beer and poker machine points'
HOW DARE HE!
I DO NOT play pokies and I DO NOT drink and I WAS @ THE RALLY FOR NO OTHER REASON THAN TO SAVE MY CLUB!
that is an insult to those who marched :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
i apologise for my lannguage and my shouting but I am so damm angry!
dreamkillers
18 May 2003, 17:20
What you want to do now is get everyone to post that comment and your reply (keeping calm) back to Nick and every politician and media outlet in the state. With the papers hit the letters to the editor as well as the general email address to express your outrage with the 'contempt' of his pathetic comment.
I'd also continue to hit the SANFL as their silence on this issue is as bad as the idiots statements in that they do not appear to support the clubs that make up their competition by remaining so silient.
Good to hear the rally went well yesterday but remember the battle has only really just begun. Now you need to ensure that the publicity for the club's future remains in the headlines and in people's minds.
Good luck and keep fighting...........don't let the greedy corporates win.........
DoggyBase
18 May 2003, 19:45
I think there's now enough dirt on Xenophon to make it hard for him to be re-elected. He has made a career out of opposing Pokies/gambling, bla bla bla. And yet he has been completely ineffectual in stemming the industry. And the one time he does get success it is to line the pockets of a Pokie baron and sink a local footy club.
Xenophon is a fraud and a complete failure.
RoosterWedgie
18 May 2003, 20:52
Agreed people, I was ropable this morning when I read that, see the other post I made about it.
No use in sending letters to the Advertiser about him, they love him and wont print anything bad about him, we've already sent them dozens of letters previously of which they publish none, only the one that puts us down.
raboyle
18 May 2003, 21:14
What a f**kwit.
timelord
18 May 2003, 23:38
I assume therefore than the Advertiser doesn't give a brass razoo about the Roosters - if this guy is their "golden boy"!!!
Note of protest, guys and girls! Hit the Addy where it hurts. DON'T BUY IT TOMMORROW! (Except for SAFooty - I still need those country footy scores! :) )
And I agree with DK's idea as well. At least the electronic media might pay attention to it given the coverage the rally got - and no prizes for guessing who would have egg on their face at the end of it all!
Docker_Brat
19 May 2003, 02:09
That is a disgrace.
What is happening to Adelaide? Morons like Xenophon are elected on the pretence of no pokies but is quite happy to see rich pubs continue on their way, while sporting clubs are feeling the pinch. It saddens me when I go back to my home town to see mini casinos where pubs used to be.
I'm glad we don't have that scourge here in the west.
Grogette
19 May 2003, 09:34
As I said on The Roost, Some people have way to much time on their hands and have nothing better to do then talk 100% gutter trash!
They are certainly a waste of space and my oxygen!
:mad: :mad: :mad:
I really don' t have time for scum like Mr X, they pollute my planet!!!
Karma - it's call and it's a beautiful thing - he will certainly get some of this!
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr Gee Whiz, I hate some people! Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Grogette
19 May 2003, 09:39
Originally posted by roostersgal4eva
I DO NOT play pokies and I DO NOT drink and I WAS @ THE RALLY FOR NO OTHER REASON THAN TO SAVE MY CLUB!
Agreed with 100% RG4E
Geezus, I spent my time blowing up RED & WHITE Balloons and handing out streamers!
I was at the Rally to save the club ie helping in the clean up of the trash and the pollution he cause in the frellin' first place!!!
Get of my planet Mr X stop polluting it!!! :mad:
Phil Doyle
19 May 2003, 15:31
Originally posted by timelord
Note of protest, guys and girls! Hit the Addy where it hurts. DON'T BUY IT TOMMORROW!
With all due respect Phil I dont think a drop in circulation of a couple of hundred is going to stress the appropriately named News Limited.
What would be more effective would be an A4 handbill featuring a photo of Nick the Greek alongside a picture of some model with WHERE'S THE $500 000! or WHATS THE REAL STORY NICK? printed beneath in the biggest Verdana Bold font that will fit. :D
Run off about 5-10 000 and post them up all through the CBD.
timelord
19 May 2003, 16:35
A couple of hundred, Phil.D? You're joking right? I'm willing to put money on it - every person who marched at the rally would do it if they all knew, and word of mouth can get around. A drop of over 1,000 at minimum for their most bought weekday edition (I assume) will make the Addy and News Limited sit up and pay a bit of attention. That's more than a grand's worth of Adelaide circulation they'll lose - and then there's the consequences!
Phil Doyle
19 May 2003, 17:34
Yer dreamin' Phil. Its a one paper town.
Remember South Sydney tried the same tactic (with a few multiples of 1000) and News Limited didn't give a rats. Newspaper sales/circulation are academic to its viability. They'd have to lose upwards of 25 000 before they even scratched their arses. Papers make their money through asdvertising. You'd be better off trying to get a major advertiser to threaten to pull their ads (but then where does the advertiser go?) than stop buying the paper. Its a monopoly Phil, threy don't need the NAFC. You're also assuming that all those that marched would be keen to forgo their paper, which sure aint a given.
Nick the Greek is a grub and he knows he's got no future in the upper house. I still think a good smear campaign is the way to go.
But then I run the risk of being accused of Xenophobia.
timelord
19 May 2003, 22:53
You'd be surprised just how far some people WOULD go, Phil.D! I can definitely see 25,000 dropping the paper for one day in a city of 1 million - if so encouraged. The South Sydney example isn't a good one for the very reasons you added - being a two paper town AND being four times the population size. Well, actually it's sort of a three paper town because the Australian might as well be a Sydney paper as well.
But the smear campaign would be easier. I'll admit that. News Limited would fight any attempt - no matter how small - to reduce it's circulation, even in a "one horse" town. You can see the headline the morning after the tv news bakes them. "X, X and X have got it wrong" (referring to the commercial newsreaders). But then that could prove to be counter productive if the tv news calls on the people to boycott the paper - because that sort of headline would actually encourage the boycott!
Sure they make money through advertising, but I don't think they'll be very happy at losing $25,000 (the Addy is $1 isn't it?) no matter what.
BTW, I agree that pulling the adds WOULD be more hurtful. I should have thought of that! But as you rightly said - who would in a one paper town? The only way around that is go to Messenger newspapers - and that's also owned by News Limited!! (I think!)
Phil Doyle
20 May 2003, 07:34
Yeah Phil, right mate. Sure.
It was interesting to see Rann Da Man is more interested in stopping people eating dogs and cats at home (which would explain the absence of stray animals at Largs) than helping the NAFC.
Roosterwedgie old chum, for what its worth (and its probably worth pocket lint) I raised this issue with a honcho at the national office of the Liqour Trades Union and they may be an additional source of at least moral support.
timelord
20 May 2003, 10:29
Great idea, Phil.D! Definitely worth more than "pocket lint"! That's the start of getting the union movement behind saving the club! And that is a HUGE amount of backing!
Jars458
20 May 2003, 11:59
What a pathetic comment by Mr X
I have lost any respect I had for him.