View Full Version : preview Season Preview/ Fremantle Preview (including final teams)
Ok guys, I have been a bit slack, still getting use to this whole Moderator gig, but BtG has asked meto write a bit of a preview of the season as well as for the Fremantle game. Small and short, but right to the point. Hopefully it gets the juices flowing again for this weeks game.
**was only an hours long done, so apologies for the not so in depth reporting (bit more heads up next time BtG ;))
ok enjoy:
Another year, another pre season, every team 'having as good a pre season as ever' Essendon is better placed than it has been in years with only small forward cum midfielder Leroy Jetta sidelined for the round one clash. A few players have had injury interrupted pre seasons, but lets hope that it does not effect Scott Gumbleton, Michael Hurley, Jason Laycock, Mark Mcveigh, Kyle Reimers, Tyson Slattery. Barring Michael Hurley's club imposed suspension, the Bombers have had a fairly good off season. Naming Jobe Watson as captain, signing youngsters Jake Melksham, Jake Carlisle, Anthony Long, Travis Colyer, Taite Silverlock, whilst also adding mature aged bodies Kyle Hardingham from the west, VFL stars Marcus Marigliani from Frankston Dolphins and the ever reliable Stewart Crameri from Essendon affiliate Bendigo Bombers, Ben Howlett has been one to impress over the pre season and has been elevated as out nominated rookie for season 2010, which led to a solid round 1 debut against the premiers, Geelong.
BACKS:
One area I think we are set in is our backs. Tayte Pears is going to be one to watch, well duh! I hope he can continue growing and turn into an elite back, Brian Lake perhaps? And with Cale Hooker holding down centre half back, the Bombers have something to work with in the back half, with hope that these two can play alot of football together. The much maligned Henry Slattery will continue to grow. People need to remember he finished in the top 10 in the Chricton medal last year, so he must be doing something right. Dustin Fletcher will keep his position as the general down there and keep the kids in check. Dempsey, Hardingham, Lovett Murray, Myers even will provide the run and carry from the back and set up our attacks from the back 50. Am hopeful that Atkinson can come on and show us that his late season form from 09 was no fluek, howver, that being said, I feel he will be a solid depth player without having enough tricks to carry us forward.
Speaking of depth, I feel we need to gather some more in this department. With the addition of mature aged recruits Kyle Hardingham and Stewart Crameri, we only have the talented yet untested Tyson Slattery as a pure defender option. We do need to find somemore options down back when things go pear shaped. Kyle Reimers is one who I think has a good future down there. Attack, hunger for the ball, defence, tough in the clinches, everything you need from a small defender, with pace to burn he could be our ideal small backmen. I strictly remember one game V Adelaide when we sent him back there, he did a real job for us and got us back into the game before tiring and running out of legs. Could he be the answer? Alot has been made of Mark Mcveigh's 2008 midfield form before injury curtailed his year. Before this he was a backmen and a solid one at that, he has the experience and with our young midfield coming through he may very well be required to go back in defence and show that towelling up Jason Porplyzia was no fluke.
MIDFIELD:
Alot has been made of our midfield, with only our newly appointed captain Jobe Watson the real standout, it has required a team effort for us to upset more highly fancied midfields such as Carlton (twice in 2009), Collingwood (Anzac day), Hawthorn (Twice) and premier runners up St.Kilda (Round 20). Jason Winderlich is one player who I hope continues to improve and take his game to another level. He was superb last year gathering 387 disposals, kicking 17 goals along with the 122 marks on the way to polling 10 brownlow medal votes, I think he could become that consistant x factor player if he were to play all 22 games this year. David Zaharakis is another who brings so much to the table. A player who kicks 7 goals upon his seniors debut (admittedly in the VFL) is going to be a star. He has poise, polish and knows where the goals are. With another pre season under his belt, he will only get better, watch for him to take leaps and bounds this year. With these three, and a solid, yet not outstanding midfield core group that includes Brent Stanton, Brent Prismall, Sam Lonergan, Heath Hocking, Andrew Welsh and Ricky Dyson should hopefully see us through to finals action for the second successive seaon in2010.
RUCKS:
I think it was fair to say that when David Hille went down on Anzac day last year, we all held our breath? Paddy Ryder did not see this as a hindrance, more an opportunity, one in which he grabbed with both hands and took control of our ruck situations. Now with Hille (arguably 3rd best ruckmen in 2008) back, and a fit Laycock back and running around again, and now the emergence of Ryder in the ruck, spots are being hotly contested with one of these three to miss out each week you would think. Add to the mix the up and coming of young 20 year old Tom Bellchambers and you have got a good group of rucks going on, with young 208cm bean pole Christian Bock in the wings, that is some seriously competitive ruck spots now.
FORWARDS:
This, I feel, is one area of concern. With us all holding high hopes for Jay Neagle and Scott Gumbletonto come on this year after years of nurturing them through their baby yearsm it is time to turn the development into frutition. With Michael Hurley tipped to play forward, one of these two is surely going to miss out, so the battle is on in the early rounds with Hurly missing the first four rounds through the club imposed suspension for his much publicised taxi incident. With the recruitment of Mark Williams to the club, this allows another avenue to goal. With small forwards Alwyn Davey and Leroy Jetta battling to keep their spots in the team in fear of being overtaken by other young team members Sam Lonergan, Travis Colyer and Taite Silverlock, battle for spots can only be a good thing at Essendon FC.
This brings us to this weeks match
A fitter, bigger Dockers side will spring a few surprises on sides this year. However, with there poor interstate record in recent years, the Bombers should take this one with ease and show that running the reigning premiers in round one was no fluke.
The midfield will be where it is won and lost with the Hille/Sandilands match up being s good indicator as to who wins this contest. Sandilands may win the tap outs, but what Hille can do is drift forward and be another option up forward, with Ryder also an option on the big Saddle, we need to work him over as much as possible in order to wear him down and try and draw a level contest at ground level.
Both midfields are pretty evenly matched, the battle should be decided on who gets first hands on the ball. With Watson being one of the best in the game, the dockers may be up against it, however with a young up and coming midfield that includes rising stars in Stephen Hill ,Greg Broughton, Clayton Hinkly, Rhys Palmer, Michael Barlow and Matt DeBoer who did a superb job of playhing 17 senior games last year after being elevated from the rookie list.
With first ball use from Sandilands ruck taps, the stoppages will be crucial.
Tayte Pears will go to Pavlich you would expect and will be an enthralling matchup for the third placed rising star last year. If Pears can hold the Pav, this will be another big way to seeing the bombers win. Howver, Pavlich looms as the only really dominant forward on the ground.
Both teams are coming off hard fought matches last week, and if they were to go by, we are in for an outstanding match.
Essendon to win by 3 goals.
Ben the Gooner
1 Apr 2010, 20:05
To be edited.
Frothies Mcveigh
1 Apr 2010, 21:30
Nice job HFF :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
1 Apr 2010, 22:15
Brilliant HFF:thumbsu:
Great work mate, agree with most of it.
Good post. Agree with keeping superman-cape Pav quiet important, but their other emerging forwards is more of a worry (Ballantyne, Mayne).
And also down the other end is where the battle will be won, our work-in-progress forward line vs their improved backline (hayden, mcpharlin, tarrant).. o yer and how could I forget? their star pickup McFumbles.. :P
Good post. Agree with keeping superman-cape Pav quiet important, but their other emerging forwards is more of a worry (Ballantyne, Mayne).
And also down the other end is where the battle will be won, our work-in-progress forward line vs their improved backline (hayden, mcpharlin, tarrant).. o yer and how could I forget? their star pickup McFumbles.. :P
I would like to think that we would have there forwards covered. H.Slattery would go to Ballantyne I imagine, whilst Pears will have first crack at Pavlich leaving Hooker to go to young Mayne.
This last match up may potentiall be a worry, Fletcher may possibly go to Mayne whilst Hooker would then go to Johnson playing on the flank.
You would feel that this game will be a battle of the midfields. I would like to think that our more experienced stronger bodied midfielders would be able to handle 'the kids'.
The Night Shift
2 Apr 2010, 14:04
Nice review HHF_07. I'm hoping it will be a ripper match but with a different outcome.;)
It's a shame we have to wait to Sunday for this match.:cool:
fishguts
2 Apr 2010, 15:54
B: Heath Hocking, Cale Hooker, Henry Slattery
HB: Tayte Pears, Dustin Fletcher, Ricky Dyson
C: Courtenay Dempsey, Jobe Watson, Brent Stanton
HF: Jason Winderlich, Scott Gumbleton, Brent Prismall
F: Alwyn Davey, Patrick Ryder, Angus Monfries
Foll: David Hille, Mark McVeigh, Andrew Welsh
I/C: David Zaharakis, Mark Williams, David Myers, Ben Howlett
Emg: Jay Neagle, Jason Laycock, Kyle Reimers
In: McVeigh, Myers
Out: Jay Neagle, Kyle Reimers
fishguts
2 Apr 2010, 15:55
inb4kelvin
Reimers out.... oh dear.
What the **** Knights?
Reimers out a big suprise. Needing to work in second efforts more?? Apart from his apparent lack of fitness he was good last weekend, interesting call. Really looking forward to seeing Myers play, predicting him to stick it to a lot of people this year.
kelvin_sheedy
2 Apr 2010, 16:05
Absolutely perplexing selections. Neagle and Reimers can't be injured because they are named as emergencies.
It's the slowest team we've put out in a long team.
ESSENDON v FREMANTLE
yodellinhank
2 Apr 2010, 16:06
I'm thinking Williams will go to Full Forward when Ryder goes to the ruck with Hille to spell on the bench? What would Freo's defensive matchups for us be?
kelvin_sheedy
2 Apr 2010, 16:07
beat me to it. delete other thread please mods.
Absolutely perplexing selections. If they are named as emergencies then they can't be injured.
Slowest team we've put out for a long time and we might belt up Fremantle which will give us false hope for the future.
Beerfish
2 Apr 2010, 16:09
The DT/SC gods smile upon me.
I give thanks.
xMichaelx
2 Apr 2010, 16:09
Reimers out? Surprised, even thought I would agree in giving Myers a run but our match against Carlton is a must win to show us we are a top 8 team and I would of thought keeping Reimers in with his current form would of helped us to a comfortable win. Even with Myers in and Reimers out we should still beat Carlton but I would of rather seen Knights play Reimers, dropping him after a good performance could take a blow to his confidence and we all know Reimers is a confidence player.
Edit: I read somewhere he was injured? Nvm this post if Reimers is injured XD
I'm concerned about our forward line. We have an unproven Gumbleton (who did nothing last week) and our resting ruckmen as our key forwards.
George Washington
2 Apr 2010, 16:12
Absolutely perplexing selections. Neagle and Reimers can't be injured because they are named as emergencies.
It's the slowest team we've put out in a long team.
How could it be any slower than last week when we just got rid of the slowest and most unfit player?
Boucks09
2 Apr 2010, 16:16
I'm very to surprised to see both of Reimers and Neagle dropped. It can't be good for Neagle's confidence to see him dropped after a solid effort and the 'incident' yet Gumby gets a free ride because of his injury history.
Obviously the coaching staff are really concerned about Fremantle's small forwards and have brought in Myers as more a lock-down back as opposed to Reimers who is more counter-attacking. With Hocking, Slattery and Myers we hae three blokes who will lock down in defense first and rebound second. I guess that means they are covering from Dempsey in that regard.
I also think we will see Hille play much more time in the ruck this week and Ryder more time up forward.
Lance Uppercut
2 Apr 2010, 16:27
I don't mind the team. Very strong. You wouldn't play this team over there, but here it should be ok. I'm excited to see Myers actually. Apparently at the Bendigo game he and the doc were very happy that he'd finally appeared to "turn the corner" on his injuries.
I think we'll see a different Myers this year. I just hope he gets some time in the guts.
Surprising about Reimers, are we sure he's not injured?
Gumby has a bit of pressure on him now. Is that a Knights tactic to get the best out of him?
Wahooti Fandango
2 Apr 2010, 16:28
McVeigh in. :thumbsd: (prepares for assault from Skeeta).
footycool
2 Apr 2010, 16:30
Obviously Knights has changed around the forward line, probably becuase last week it was non- functional. I agree with Boucks09 that Knights is probably thinking to use Ryder as a target up forward, while Hille will follow the ball.
IMO Neagle didnt fit into our structure this week and this is why he got dropped.
Also suprised to see Remiers get dropped, but looking forward to seeing what this kid Myers can do this week :thmbsu:
Go the Bombers
Rocky_Star_Pro
2 Apr 2010, 16:41
I was hoping Neagle would play and perform well to answer his critics, not to be. Atleast Myers has a chance to prove himself, can't wait, I'm excited for this game
yodellinhank
2 Apr 2010, 16:44
I'm concerned about our forward line. We have an unproven Gumbleton (who did nothing last week) and our resting ruckmen as our key forwards.
It will be the interesting thing. Last week towards the end of the game i genuinely felt Gumbleton was too scared to lead up at the ball. The weakness of our forward line is when our tall options aren't presenting, and we end up kicking it to Davey (173cm) or Zaka (182cm) etc in contested situations.
Perhaps this will be a game which we try to give Willo plenty of space in the 50 and he plays as a lead out forward?
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 16:52
I have high hopes for Myers, especially since I've been going in to bat for Houli.
Dempsey on the wing! *rubs hands together*
Beerfish
2 Apr 2010, 16:53
Your dislike for McVeigh irks me.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 16:56
...but Neagle also did nothing, so what else can we do?
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 17:01
Excited to see Dempsey on the wing.
Wondering if we might see Myers get time in the middle? ...and who gets Barlow? ...and Haze?
Knight Ryders
2 Apr 2010, 17:13
Excited to see Dempsey on the wing.
Wondering if we might see Myers get time in the middle? ...and who gets Barlow? ...and Haze?
Welsh to Barlow, Watson to Haze.
Could go with a more mobile forward line at some stages. If we can get some quick ball forward, Williams and Ryder could really provide some trouble for the Freo backs. To go with that, they are both very accurate kicks and won't need many opportunities.
Please, oh please let Myers loose on ball at some stage (although I think this is very unlikely). Good move with Dempsey - let him loose to carve up thru the centre of the ground.
Wahooti Fandango
2 Apr 2010, 17:19
Your dislike for McVeigh irks me.
Your like for McVeigh irks me (the gloves are off).
Beerfish
2 Apr 2010, 17:23
Your like for McVeigh irks me (the gloves are off).
Why I oughta...
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 17:26
I think Myers might get a job on Pavlich if he plays centre.
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 17:34
I posted it in a previous thread, but Myers may get a lock down role on Pavlich is he plays midfield. I honestly can't see another player being able to go with Pav the whole game.
I hope he plays midfield, but I'd give him 10% chance of doing so considering where he has been played during the preseason games + Bendigo practice matches.
- Leadership
- Seasoned body
Attitude is questionable but I think he may have turned a corner. :thumbsu:
Will be interesting to see where Myers plays. I'm hoping it will be in the midfield but I have a feeling Knights will use him in defence.
I don't mind the dropping of Reimers. Sends a clear statement on two levels.
1. You need to be 110% fit to get a game in this side. It is quite clear that Reimers fitness levels are not at an AFL standard.
2. You need to be prepared to run both ways, offensively and defensively.
Also good to see Myers in. As I said in Kelvin's thread it will be really interesting to see where Knights plays him. I'm hoping he will get a midfield role but I'm almost certain he will getting a role in defence like in the pre-season. Hopefully he can stay injury free and start producing some of the form he showed in his first season and in the reserves last season.
loopy_cam
2 Apr 2010, 17:42
Spike's attitude isn't questionable on gameday. Bleeds for the club more than any other player.
yodellinhank
2 Apr 2010, 17:46
I posted it in a previous thread, but Myers may get a lock down role on Pavlich is he plays midfield. I honestly can't see another player being able to go with Pav the whole game.
I hope he plays midfield, but I'd give him 10% chance of doing so considering where he has been played during the preseason games + Bendigo practice matches.
- Leadership
- Seasoned body
Attitude is questionable but I think he may have turned a corner. :thumbsu:
Yet somehow I've got a feeling that if McPhee plays, then McVeigh is highly likely to do something stupid and give away a free kick, a fifty, or get suspended...
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 17:50
Best thing to do to McPhee is ignore him. Pretend he is just any Fremantle player, have a lol then play football.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 17:55
Hille to welcome McPhee back with a square hip and shoulder :thumbsu:
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 18:00
Welsh to Barlow, Watson to Haze.
Could go with a more mobile forward line at some stages. If we can get some quick ball forward, Williams and Ryder could really provide some trouble for the Freo backs. To go with that, they are both very accurate kicks and won't need many opportunities.
Please, oh please let Myers loose on ball at some stage (although I think this is very unlikely). Good move with Dempsey - let him loose to carve up thru the centre of the ground.
Sometimes I reckon Welsh gives his opponent too much space. If he does go to Barlow I hope it's not the case that he doesn't pay him any mind simply because he's a young guy. Welsh needs to tighten up. I thought his game against Geelong was good because he was checking more tightly (though I admit I can't recall who his opponent was). It also saw Welsh get more opportunity at the ball I thought. In any case I'm looking forward to seeing Barlow play as well... to satisfy my curiosity as to what we've missed out on.
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 18:09
Welsh was on Ablett
HighettBomber
2 Apr 2010, 18:11
Unless he is injured, dropping Neagle is stupid. He wasn't too bad last week up until "that incident". Also our forwardline structure worked well. Very few teams have kicked such a high score against the cats the last few seasons.
I don't like the idea of both Hocking and Slattery playing in the backline, it makes us slow against a quick forwardline. Reimers obviously needs to man up more, but i would have rathered play him forward and drop Davey who has been hopeless all pre season and was useless last week.
Booyah! Apparently Myers had a huge game in the 2's which was obviously the reason he is in the side this week.
As for Riemers. A lot of people mentioned that his defensive pressure was nonexistent. While the ball was being rebounded and everyone running back, his fitness kept him to a stroll.
Things like that cost you goals.
Plus I think Myers has greater potential to be a real star of the game.
kelvin_sheedy
2 Apr 2010, 18:38
If Reimers fitness in Round 1 was a concern why was he selected in front of Lonergan and Houli?
If his fitness is still a concern why is he being replaced by a guy who's just come of a hammy? The same guy that has struggled for over a year now with injury comes straight in after a game and a half at practice match level.
Gumbleton could get nowhere near it and got outmarked by much smaller blokes yet keeps his spot over Neagle who at least was providing a good contest.
So we select Myers to play in the back half with Hocking and Slattery? The nippy Freo guys are going to run amok.
If Reimers fitness in Round 1 was a concern why was he selected in front of Lonergan and Houli?
If his fitness is still a concern why is he being replaced by a guy who's just come of a hammy? The same guy that has struggled for over a year now with injury comes straight in after a game and a half at practice match level.
Gumbleton could get nowhere near it and got outmarked by much smaller blokes yet keeps his spot over Neagle who at least was providing a good contest.
So we select Myers to play in the back half with Hocking and Slattery? The nippy Freo guys are going to run amok.
Both Neagle and Riemers were left out due to injury, not form.
Incorrect. You can not be an emergency and be injured, these 2 blokes are the back up for knights should something go
astray on gameday!
For what it's worth I have no
idea WTF knights is doing, reimers has some real
xfactor about him and whether or not he mans up doesn't matter he is still a much better selection than myers. I don't think
there would be many times where a guy scoring 90 odd supercoach points gets dropped, he was clearly one of your better players last week, I'm just spewing we aren't playing you blokes because I know clarko would have to find a march up for him! Very dangerous player.
...but Neagle also did nothing, so what else can we do?
Well that's all part of the concern. When Hurley comes in I'll be more confident (hopefully).
Incorrect. You can not be an emergency and be injured, these 2 blokes are the back up for knights should something go
astray on gameday!
For what it's worth I have no
idea WTF knights is doing, reimers has some real
xfactor about him and whether or not he mans up doesn't matter he is still a much better selection than myers. I don't think
there would be many times where a guy scoring 90 odd supercoach points gets dropped, he was clearly one of your better players last week, I'm just spewing we aren't playing you blokes because I know clarko would have to find a march up for him! Very dangerous player.
You cant play Reimers and Dempsey together in defence because of their loose checking.
Reimers needs to get fitter and play another role.
Ohh and my venting has some relevance, now reimers is out ******* gimbleton is a scoring player in supercoach grrrr...
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 19:18
Unless he is injured, dropping Neagle is stupid. He wasn't too bad last week up until "that incident". Also our forwardline structure worked well. Very few teams have kicked such a high score against the cats the last few seasons.
I don't like the idea of both Hocking and Slattery playing in the backline, it makes us slow against a quick forwardline. Reimers obviously needs to man up more, but i would have rathered play him forward and drop Davey who has been hopeless all pre season and was useless last week.
If we're exposed for pace I think it would then be a matter of switching Hocking and Dempsey.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 19:21
Welsh was on Ablett
It's been a long day:o
The DT/SC gods smile upon me.
I give thanks.
if i had of known myers would play round 2 i might have slotted him in!!
he wont lose his spot now!!
It's been a long day:o
This is why Welsh will struggle to reatin his place in the team.
Be an effective tagger or perish.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 19:26
Well that's all part of the concern. When Hurley comes in I'll be more confident (hopefully).
Agreed. Hurley's inclusion will cause some real headaches, particularly if Gumby finds the confidence to really start throwing himself around. He needs to take a leaf out of Hilley's book and play like tomorrow's not promised.
I hope that Essendon doesn't go too defensive against Fremantle.
I would play McVeigh baCK - Fremantle has an assortment of talented small forwards.
Release Dyson and Myers to play midfield.
Need a big game from Williams in the forward line.
neagle should be dropped before gumbleton because.................
Neagle has had chances
Gumbleton has had no chances
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 19:30
Yeah that's my fear. He plays a tight tag against players like Ablett and Judd, and doesn't seem to against other opponents. If he plays on Barlow... you know.
Agreed. Hurley's inclusion will cause some real headaches, particularly if Gumby finds the confidence to really start throwing himself around. He needs to take a leaf out of Hilley's book and play like tomorrow's not promised.
i would have thought gumby knows tomorrow isnt promised,,,considering he missed 2 whole seasons....i think we should allow the fella atleast 5games before he starts throwing himself around,,,,we already allowed alwyn a whole season....
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 19:37
i would have thought gumby knows tomorrow isnt promised,,,considering he missed 2 whole seasons....i think we should allow the fella atleast 5games before he starts throwing himself around,,,,we already allowed alwyn a whole season....
I'm sure he does too, I'm just wondering if that was why he played so conservatively last week. I just want to see him give it all he's got the same way Hille does/did. I agree though that he deserves some latitude given his time out.
I hope that Essendon doesn't go too defensive against Fremantle.
I would play McVeigh baCK - Fremantle has an assortment of talented small forwards.
Release Dyson and Myers to play midfield.
Need a big game from Williams in the forward line.
our resting rucks should have a field day on freos defence,,,,dont worry about williams!!
I'm sure he does too, I'm just wondering if that was why he played so conservatively last week. I just want to see him give it all he's got the same way Hille does/did. I agree though that he deserves some latitude given his time out.
100% it was, with the slight mishap in pre-season,,,, all of us were stressing for the bloke,,,,imagine how much he was stressing,,,and im sure he still is!! until\l he gets 4-5games under his belt im sure all fans and himself just want to make sure he gets through each one! hille is a totally different story, it was a knee reco, while its probably confidence with both injuries a knee reco is pretty standard these days, but if its your back and isnt just a matter of stitching a ligament back together, theres reason to be more worried about it!!
our resting rucks should have a field day on freos defence,,,,dont worry about williams!!
Tarrant should cope OK with the resting rucks.
Then again a poster on BB said that Ryder should comfortable beat Tarrant:confused:
Personally I thought Reimers was quite good but I am sure the coaching panel want to work on a part of his game.
Happy to have McVeigh in the team and reasonably happy to see Myers too. I think Myers will go alright this year as he seems to be moving pretty well.
Tarrant should cope OK with the resting rucks.
Then again a poster on BB said that Ryder should comfortable beat Tarrant:confused:
Tarrant....lol...i dont think he'll have a chance against ryder...might have a chance against hille on the lead,,,but i dont think hille will be leading...
Gumbleton's form is no surprise - The Coaching staff had the opportunity to play Gumbleton for the last 3 games in 2008 and 2009 but chose to wrap him in cotton wool.
I criticised the decision at the time because you need to get games into young players.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2010, 20:05
Perhaps I'm just impatient then :D I just want to see him go out there and smash it. The contested mark he took against the Dogs in last year's NAB Cup was appetising. I want more! Now!
Darealrath
2 Apr 2010, 20:20
Reimers out??? Don't like that at all.
Darealrath
2 Apr 2010, 20:23
Tarrant....lol...i dont think he'll have a chance against ryder...might have a chance against hille on the lead,,,but i dont think hille will be leading...
Tarrant is a better defender than Ryder is a forward. Ryder has looked promising at times but I can't remember him ever doing anything close to dominating a game up there. I'm not sure why everyone talks like he's a gun when forward, he's yet to prove it.
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 20:43
I'm not sure what to do with Welsh. Used to be my favourite player at Essendon, watching him run around for Bendigo and finally Essendon. I think now is the time for him to reinvent himself, as what, I am unsure. He had a good period during the Geelong match where he won the contested ball and got it forward. What got away from him was Ablett.
In fairness to him, we should probably hold our judgment back for a few weeks to see how he goes. He's had an uninterrupted preseason so should perform considerably better than last season. It should be interesting to see how he performs in the next few weeks, possibly getting a tagging job on Gibbs/Murphy, Kerr and Swan (not sure about Fremantle).
He did once play a good match against the pies in the forward line, slotting 3 goals in a quarter. That poses the question, how about playing him deep forward? The problem with that is if he is asked to deliver the ball onto the chest of a team mate, it might not go there. As for a defender, I can't really recall previous efforts. He seems to have done reasonable well as a tagger in a few matches, so I'd keep him there for a while.
Gumbleton's form is no surprise - The Coaching staff had the opportunity to play Gumbleton for the last 3 games in 2008 and 2009 but chose to wrap him in cotton wool.
I criticised the decision at the time because you need to get games into young players.
The problem now is we have to carry this dead wood! Put him in the 2's and bring in Daniher. At least he can kick a few goals.
Yet somehow I've got a feeling that if McPhee plays, then McVeigh is highly likely to do something stupid and give away a free kick, a fifty, or get suspended...
McPhee still not a definite to play.
kelvin_sheedy
2 Apr 2010, 21:18
Both omitted... perplexing. :confused:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7325
Both omitted... perplexing. :confused:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7325
Very perplexing...I'd understand if they had injury clouds but Neagle was our most dangerous key forward (vs Geelong) and Reimers had a good game against the Cats.
I think Reimers might be gone because the MC wanted a more defensive approach vs Freo's small forwards.
It seems as though Neagle has been dropped due to the fact that we're going to go with a more mobile forward line (Paddy)
lemon chicken
2 Apr 2010, 21:30
The problem now is we have to carry this dead wood! Put him in the 2's and bring in Daniher. At least he can kick a few goals.
Played 6 games and he's dead wood? U ****ing idiot.
RyderIsGod
2 Apr 2010, 21:32
Tarrant would have towelled up Neagle anyway.
Perhaps I'm just impatient then :D I just want to see him go out there and smash it. The contested mark he took against the Dogs in last year's NAB Cup was appetising. I want more! Now!
I'm with ya. Waiting sucks!
Tarrant would have towelled up Neagle anyway.
Welcome back RIG? :confused::p
lemon chicken
2 Apr 2010, 21:36
Myers to get Mayne. Cant believe we're gifting games again already.
Tarrant is a better defender than Ryder is a forward. Ryder has looked promising at times but I can't remember him ever doing anything close to dominating a game up there. I'm not sure why everyone talks like he's a gun when forward, he's yet to prove it.
Spot on.
Looking forward to Myers' return. I hope Knigts gives him a run through the mid and sees how he goes.
I'm not sure what to do with Welsh. Used to be my favourite player at Essendon, watching him run around for Bendigo and finally Essendon. I think now is the time for him to reinvent himself, as what, I am unsure. He had a good period during the Geelong match where he won the contested ball and got it forward. What got away from him was Ablett.
In fairness to him, we should probably hold our judgment back for a few weeks to see how he goes. He's had an uninterrupted preseason so should perform considerably better than last season. It should be interesting to see how he performs in the next few weeks, possibly getting a tagging job on Gibbs/Murphy, Kerr and Swan (not sure about Fremantle).
He did once play a good match against the pies in the forward line, slotting 3 goals in a quarter. That poses the question, how about playing him deep forward? The problem with that is if he is asked to deliver the ball onto the chest of a team mate, it might not go there. As for a defender, I can't really recall previous efforts. He seems to have done reasonable well as a tagger in a few matches, so I'd keep him there for a while.
Welsh couldnt cut it as a small defender and as a defensive forward.
Reimers ( albeit younger ) is in a similar situation - too loose for defence playing alongside Dempsey, not fit enough for the midfield.
Both players need to find a niche in the team.
Frothies Mcveigh
2 Apr 2010, 23:02
Reimers out? Dempsey on the wing? Fletch at CHB? Hocking at BP? Very intriguing i must admit.
The Great Barry Besanko
2 Apr 2010, 23:31
Can't believe Reimers has been omitted. Played ok last week. Must be a late change. Did Pears go ok at training this week? Pulled up sore from Cats game.
Reimers is a streaky player who will get form from his confidence. This, I feel, will have eliminated any confidence he may've taken out of the Geelong game where he did a few good things.
Have to question the selections here. Bringing in two defensively minded midfielders at the expense of a full forward and a forward/attacking midfielder?? Neagle, like Reimers, needs game after game after game in order to get much needed experience and improve his decision making.
Places a lot more responsiblity on Gumbleton. Even though Neagle made two bad **** ups against the Cats resulting in 12 point plays against us, I still think he contributed more than Gumby.
keepzitreal
3 Apr 2010, 02:54
The two that worry me are ballyntine and mayne.. both have impressed me with their workrate.. need to limit their output
Knight Ryders
3 Apr 2010, 07:07
The two that worry me are ballyntine and mayne.. both have impressed me with their workrate.. need to limit their output
I think that Fletcher can destroy Mayne and give Slattery first crack at Ballantyne.
Bombers36
3 Apr 2010, 07:18
Shocked and amazed with the final team.
How do Dyson, Hocking, Myers, Davy, Howlett, Gumby get in ahead of Neagle, Reimers & Laycock????
Neagle out most dangerous forward against the Cats, Reimers had an impact, and Laycock would be a great addition to assist combating Sandilands.
Knights is beginning to worry me.
TheDon35
3 Apr 2010, 07:39
I'd say Reimers has been dropped because he's being playing like a pig. Fitness or no fitness.
Gumbleton and Neagle were both ordinary in terms of their output though I still think they were playing the right way. It is clear that Gumby will be given time and I have no problem with that. I don't agree with Neagle being dropped. He also needs time on the park and is the primary reason Lloyd isn't playing this year. Go figure.
I'm happy enough to see Myers get a gig though I would have preffered it be for Dyson or Slattery, not Neagle (the reason our greatest ever goal scorer isn't playing).
SirJimi05
3 Apr 2010, 08:18
I think that Fletcher can destroy Mayne and give Slattery first crack at Ballantyne.
Giving my SC team a nice little boost. :cool::thumbsu:
* Comment made in jest
smcateer
3 Apr 2010, 08:26
As much as I hate to say it, and as little as I saw it coming - if there are questions over Riemsie's fitness, then good call. There was that moment in the game when he looked like he had done a hammy and it ended up looking more like cramping. If that's the case, then he has work to do on his fitness.
Neagle, well I reckon a run in the 2s will do him just as good as in the 1s. Although I reckon this would have to be the case with Gumby too. Why not let them earn their spots rather than building them up by playing them and then dissappointing them?
I would have played Laycock forward. Just MHO.
The House
3 Apr 2010, 08:33
After seeing the squad i must admit, i didn't see this 22 coming.
To me i thought it would be a straight swap between Spike and an unlucky Howlett (would have been Slatts out if i was selecting after giving SJ 18 uncontested possessions as a lock down back pocket, but obviously knew Knights would pick him).
Not overly dissapointed in the side mind you, good to see some good players miss out, but having said that, i would have had Reimers and Jay in the side.
Thought Jay deserved one more week, with a trip to Bendigo if he didn't fire against Freo, and i thought Riemers was one of the better young guys against the Cats.
Hope they get back soon.
Good to see Courtney up the ground....i was at the game last week and it took me a while to figure out who was even on Burns (he'd been given so much space it was hard to tell), therefore he shouldn't be in our backline if he can't be tighter than that.
Should be interesting to see how he goes, so fingers crossed.
To me most of Knights unexpected decisions seem to look good in hindsight, so i'll trust him on this one and let's hope we ruin "warfie time" for Dickfingers McPhee and his mates.
SirJimi05
3 Apr 2010, 08:39
Good to see Courtney up the ground....i was at the game last week and it took me a while to figure out who was even on Burns (he'd been given so much space it was hard to tell), therefore he shouldn't be in our backline if he can't be tighter than that.
Should be interesting to see how he goes, so fingers crossed.
Wow someone else actually noticed it besides me. This isn't a one off. It happens week in week out. It is the reason why Dempey's opponents always figure in the best players. The wing will be a better position for him for sure. He does have great run and carry abilities. I'd rather see Houli playing his role accross half back. He is a far better kick then Dempsey anyway.
citizen-erased
3 Apr 2010, 09:27
This may be a low scoring game with the bulk of goals coming from the midfields.
Our backline will work well shutting down the dockers. But theirs will rebound ours with just as much ease.
Tarrant to gumby, McPharlin to resting ruck, and Hayden, Broughton and Ibbotson will rack up a lot of stats. Not sure why we dropped Neagle. The kid is a big presence and didnt play that badly for Rd 1 against the cats backline. Would have stretched them at the very least.
Drop Slatts, include either Neagle or Laycock to sit in the goalsquare.
BomberTime
3 Apr 2010, 09:34
I dont mind this team, mcveigh was a given to slot back into the midfield and if necessary can go back and on their small forwards. I like myers coming back in from all reports injury free and had a great game last weekend in the vfl coming of half back and through the midfield (i really hope they play him through the midfield), we need to get games through him as he is talented and with no injuries could be really something. Dempsey on the wing will be interesting if he plays there but i worry with hockings lack of pace down back against their quick forwards. Very happy to see gumby given another game hopefully takes a few marks and kicks a couple and watch his confidence soar. The forward line will be ok this week with gumby ryder/hille williams monfries davey zaka and a resting winderlich are capable of kicking a winning score.
Neagle being dropped early should be a concern for himself as hurley will walk straight into the team in rd 4, he and reimers will want to work hard on their fitness and play well for bendigo. The pressure for spots is fantastic, lovett-murray back next week and hurley the following week. I dream of a gumby/hurley forward line!:thumbsu:
The House
3 Apr 2010, 10:15
Wow someone else actually noticed it besides me. This isn't a one off. It happens week in week out. It is the reason why Dempey's opponents always figure in the best players. The wing will be a better position for him for sure. He does have great run and carry abilities. I'd rather see Houli playing his role accross half back. He is a far better kick then Dempsey anyway.
It certainly does happen eveery week.
Same for Slatts.
Dempsey has a lot on the plus side so i do hope we can find a role for him to fit into, but yeah is way too loose to play defence in a good side.
Agree 100% SirJim that Houli is a better kick and is ideally suited to HBF physically, so i too would love to see him nail it down asap.
Loving the options and set up for our KP backs, and am watching with great interest how we set up with our smaller defenders as the year goes on.
A lot of improvement required in that area. Have a few different ways we can go, so hopefully Knights can mix things up and use some imagination to see what we can come up with.
This is just wrong...on so many levels :D
Yeah, Tarrant is a quality defender. Unlucky not to be AA last year.
He's also has the 'Collingwood stigma' Fremantled out of him. :p