View Full Version : The positives

Pages : [1] 2

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:06
there's plenty of other places to vent your frustrations on a very ordinary effort today.

But this thread is for the positives. Kelvin, you are not invited champ.

Firstly, the big one, Gumby. Great effort in the first half today. Really showed what he could be with some big marks & some reasonable kicking. He can only get better, & will be a fearsome combo with Hurley.

Secondly, the rise & rise of Zaharakis. This kid is going to be a star. A genuine goal-kicking mid, as rare as hens teeth. He kept presenting all day, and was a dangerous option up forward.

Thirdly, Ben Howlett. Didn't get a heap of it, but from Row C on the bottom deck you could see the hard work he does. He was leading for contested possessions early in the day, & did a lot of grunt work.

Fouth, Monfries continues to improve. A serious A-Grade small forward with a lethal boot. Good on you Monfries.

I also thought Hooker was ok.

Finally, I'd like to point out that, despite the gnashing of teeth & wailing going on by many on here, it needs to be remembered it is just Round 2. We lost to Geelong, fair enough. Freo are better than everyone thinks. Next week, Carlton. ****ing bring it on.

It's a long season & I have no time for pea-hearted chicken littles who think it's armageddon because we didn't win a game.

KaaN10
4 Apr 2010, 18:10
I was impressed with Howlett, needed to do a bit more after half time though.

Wahooti Fandango
4 Apr 2010, 18:11
Gumby and Hooker. Hooker is so calm under pressure and reads the play so well. Today he was solid again. Gumby kicked a few and did not injure himself. :thumbsu:

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:14
Gumby and Hooker. Hooker is so calm under pressure and reads the play so well. Today he was solid again. Gumby kicked a few and did not injure himself. :thumbsu:

Gumby absolutely threw himself into a few contests down my end of the ground. ****ing awesome to watch when he crashes into a pack like a steam train.

Believe me peoples, we have a really special one here in Gumby. Pure class

canteencritic
4 Apr 2010, 18:15
gumbeton needs space to roam, with his pace will do any defender on the lead! howlett, pears great down back.

Wahooti Fandango
4 Apr 2010, 18:16
Gumby absolutely threw himself into a few contests down my end of the ground. ****ing awesome to watch when he crashes into a pack like a steam train.

Believe me peoples, we have a really special one here in Gumby. Pure class

There was one contest where he flew into the pack and all I cared about was that he got up uninjured.

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 18:19
Lance - I don't disagree with you and Gumby in the second quarter looked very good and Monfries has stepped his game up.

I guess the positive is we know that for three quarters we matched Geelong.

This year our best will be outstanding but when we are off it will be a train wreck.

Ben the Gooner
4 Apr 2010, 18:19
I love you Lance.

No homo (maybe a little)

I thought Pears, Hooker and Howlett were our best, and Gumby and Zaharakis were impressive.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:20
There was one contest where he flew into the pack and all I cared about was that he got up uninjured.

I counted at least 3 times where I held my breath until he got up! :p

For an injury prone guy, he didn't show it mentally. He looked SOOO much more confident this week, as proved by the reckless disabandon with which he threw himself around today.

Major respect from moi

Rocky_Star_Pro
4 Apr 2010, 18:20
Gumby will become a star with more confidence and game time. Took a few nice marks and also chipped in with a few goals.

Zaharakis also looks like a gem, I really like him, as with Howlett, a good find.

I say bring on the tankers this week!

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 18:23
for a guy with hamstring issues that chase he cave in the second term where he ran a good thirty metres to nearly run the fero player down was good to see

HyperAgressiveDonk
4 Apr 2010, 18:24
I know you all know me as a poster who hates your football club and rubbishes them every chance I get but it's not my intention with this post.

It's not as bad as some of you think. Lance has got a point or two.

Gumbleton did show some promise and with a season proper under his belt he can be a very good player in coming years. He will continue to develop and looks like he can take a mark

Howlett and Hooker looked very good as well. I really, really like the look of Hooker. I think he will be an absolute gun.

Monfries looks like a decent small forward as well and when you blokes get Gumby, Hurley and Neagle up and going a lot of pressure will be taken off Angus and he will flourish at the feet of those bigger guys.

Williams will get better as well, his best is very, very good and if Knights can get the best out of him you will have a decent player there

Just remember even the top 4 sides have bad weeks and abberations. It's only one game, chin up and come out breathing fire against Carlton next week

Wahooti Fandango
4 Apr 2010, 18:24
for a guy with hamstring issues that chase he cave in the second term where he ran a good thirty metres to nearly run the fero player down was good to see

Yeah, that was Ballantyne. Great chase for no reward.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:26
I know you know me as a poster who hates your football club and rubbishes them every chance I get but it's not my intention with this post.

It's not as bad as some of you think. Lance has got a point or two.

Gumbleton did show some promise and with a season proper under his belt he can be a very good player in coming years. He will continue to develop

Howlett and Hooker looked very good as well. I really, really like the look of Hooker. I think he will be an absolute gun.

Monfries looks like a decent small forward as well and when you blokes get Gumby, Hurley and Neagle up and going a lot of pressure will be taken off Angus and he will flourish at the feet of those bigger guys

Just remember even the top 4 sides have bad weeks and abberations. It's only one game, chin up and come out breathing fire against Carlton next week

as good a post as it is surprising!

Well done HAD, thanks for the kind words :thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
4 Apr 2010, 18:26
don't get me started on Frodo Ballantyne
Ess always finds a secret gear V Carlton. Has to be a +ve

TeamHurley
4 Apr 2010, 18:27
Pretty much summed it up lance.
Great game from gumby. One other positive is the fact that nanny mcphee is not on our list for three years.

ningnangnong
4 Apr 2010, 18:28
Gumbleton had a great second quarter and I also liked Hookers game today. He had some great handballs under pressure and showed a bit in defense.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:33
Great game from gumby. One other positive is the fact that nanny mcphee is not on our list for three years.

good get! Probably the biggest positive of all today is that Nanny McPhee doesn't wear the colours.

That guy is a ****ing spud, & I've rarely laughed so hard as when he put it 6 rows back on the wing.

The amount of fumbles was incredible. The guy is a liability. An embarrassment.

I can't help but feel, even though Freo got him for free, that they got the rough end of the deal. Maybe we should send them a slab of Woodies and a meat tray as compensation :o

kelvin_sheedy
4 Apr 2010, 18:34
Not even Ned Flanders could find any positives out of today's debacle.

The only positive to come out of it is the whole world knows we need to make huge cuts again starting with the coach.

stay true
4 Apr 2010, 18:35
Great post Lance. I too can't stand the short sighted knee jerk bullshit that gets posted on here after a loss.

I thought Gumby looked great in the first half today. That contested mark when he kicked his first goal was great to see and great for the boys confidence. Howlett impressed once again and won a good amount of contested footy.

Which leads me to my next point. Once again we won the contested ball but unfortunately couldn't make good use of it. The fact that we clearly won the contested footy and broke even with the clearences yet lost by 8 goals is some sort of positive. Poor disposal and finishing was the story of the day but we know that we can perform a lot better than that. We've all seen it.

Sure 0-2 doesn't look good but it's a long season and things can change quickly if we can get a few wins under our belt. Makes the game against the Blues massive and the boys will be pumped to make up for their performance against Freo.

Again, kudos Lance.:thumbsu:

HyperAgressiveDonk
4 Apr 2010, 18:36

The only positive to come out of it is the whole world knows we need to make huge cuts again starting with the coach.

No not at all!! Stability is what a building club needs

People were calling for Al Claksons head when he first came to Hawthorn and then 3 years later we won a flag.

Patience

stay true
4 Apr 2010, 18:41
No not at all!! Stability is what a building club needs

People were calling for Al Claksons head when he first came to Hawthorn and then 3 years later we won a flag.

Patience
This is exactly what I keep telling my chicken little Essendon mates. Rome wasn't built in a day etc etc...

Ben the Gooner
4 Apr 2010, 18:43
I felt sorry for McPhee. He ****ed us over, but he was a good (not great)
player for a few years.

Having said that, we contributed to his poor game with our booing, so well done guys. :thumbsu:

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 18:44
Great post Lance. I too can't stand the short sighted knee jerk bullshit that gets posted on here after a loss.

I thought Gumby looked great in the first half today. That contested mark when he kicked his first goal was great to see and great for the boys confidence. Howlett impressed once again and won a good amount of contested footy.

Which leads me to my next point. Once again we won the contested ball but unfortunately couldn't make good use of it. The fact that we clearly won the contested footy and broke even with the clearences yet lost by 8 goals is some sort of positive. Poor disposal and finishing was the story of the day but we know that we can perform a lot better than that. We've all seen it.

Sure 0-2 doesn't look good but it's a long season and things can change quickly if we can get a few wins under our belt. Makes the game against the Blues massive and the boys will be pumped to make up for their performance against Freo.

Again, kudos Lance.:thumbsu:

It is one thing to lose to Geelong but to lose like that to Fremantle.

This is Essendon this club has a long and proud history including 16 flags and what i saw today was not a true Essendon performance.

As a club we have never accepted just trying, we expect the guys on the park to give 100% to back themslves and to back one another and what i saw today was disgraceful and you know what makes it disgraceful.

This group are talented, they have the skills and pace and the ability to beat nearly anybody yet today surrended into old habits of over handballing, no one took the game by the neck and showed a steady hand when it was needed.

That performance was unacceptable and it should never be considered good enough for the Essendon Football Club to dish that crap up.

They were brave for three terms against Geelong, today they were woeful.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 18:45

read the OP. You're a goose, & you're not welcome in this thread.

I can't believe you. Less than a month ago you made a thread proclaiming Top 4 was in reach. Now, you can't even see any positives out of a game against what are going to turn out to be top-notch opposition.

Either you're completely stupid, or you're a myopic, short-sighted fool. Take your pick. Either way, it ain't pretty.

You're a light-weight. You're a flip-flopping, hysterical chicken-little.

As I said, take your bi-polar, reactionary histrionics elsewhere. You have no credibility, & without being over the top, I think you're a cancer on this board :thumbsu:

Frothies Mcveigh
4 Apr 2010, 18:51
Really happy with Gumby's first half. Howlett looks good aswell and Zaharakis just keeps on playing well.

Charliebrow 16
4 Apr 2010, 18:53
Gumbleton, Howlett, and the fact that that's another week served of Hurley's suspension.

mxett
4 Apr 2010, 18:56
I agree with Lance and appreciate him starting this thread.

Very poor form on the main board Kelvin!

Even the best sides have poor performances and todays was ours in spades. But that doesnt mean we throw in the towel!

Given the experience and leadership we have lost over the summer it is a given we will have poor performances this year. There was no Lloyd ot Lucas to fire up the troops with a big mark and goal, or a stern word of wisdom.

We need to give the new list time to show what they can do.

spitlizard
4 Apr 2010, 18:57
It is one thing to lose to Geelong but to lose like that to Fremantle.
I don't think you are being entirely fair on us, we are definately playing a better style of footy, one of which I haven't seen them play...like ever hehe (so far anyway)..

In defence of you guys, you were right there in it untill 3Q time then faded in the last, and that happened last week against Geelong as well..

I think it's just a bit of a lack of fitness that may be the issue which usually can be resolved after a few hard weeks at the training track.

There was one particular moment when David Mundy pretty much leisurely strolled down the wing and I was a bit astounded how the Bomber players were almost watching him looking a bit knackered as if he was running down to deliver an olympic flame to the cauldren, it seemed that easy....

So yeah to get back to my earlier point, it could be just a fitness thing..

Haduken
4 Apr 2010, 18:58
Really this is pretty much the Scott Gumbleton "How we've waited" thread. Competed, marked, goaled, didn't get injured. Perfect.

Angus, Zaka and Hooker all showed some nice things, Fletch is still amazing (how about the spoil vs Sandilands in the dash to the line), and I thought Dempsey broke the lines nicely a few times. (And then turned it over but its a nice start)

Oh and Howlett is looking pretty nifty

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 19:02
I don't think you are being entirely fair on us, we are definately playing a better style of footy, one of which I haven't seen them play...like ever hehe (so far anyway)..

In defence of you guys, you were right there in it untill 3Q time then faded in the last, and that happened last week against Geelong as well..

I think it's just a bit of a lack of fitness that may be the issue which usually can be resolved after a few hard weeks at the training track.

There was one particular moment when David Mundy pretty much leisurely strolled down the wing and I was a bit astounded how the Bomber players were almost watching him looking a bit knackered as if he was running down to deliver an olympic flame to the cauldren, it seemed that easy....

So yeah to get back to my earlier point, it could be just a fitness thing..

Okay lets discuss Fremantle - They were good today, Sandilands dominated the ruck and was BOG. I was impressed by number 43 blonde guy who played across the half forward-line, and Ballantyne and Headland was good as were Mundy and even Tarrent was good.

I reckon Fremantle will be very happy to be finally putting it together and when i was being verbal about Essendon i was focusing on them.

Fremantle have threatened for a number of seasons to lift into the eight and over here in Victoria they have been generally dismissed as lightweight but Fremantle is a proud footy town that knows about success.

stay true
4 Apr 2010, 19:03
Yeah I agree with that. The first half was very scrappy from both sides but Freo straightened up in the 2nd half and started hitting targets and consequently hurt us on the scoreboard.

Another thing, the club should stop celebrating milestone games or putting on celebrations like todays because we NEVER win them lol.

canteencritic
4 Apr 2010, 19:03
the forward line needs to be settled, who leads first? gumby/hurley/neagle/hille....they wouldnt even know, then throw in the small fwds who think they play tall (trying to take hangers), leave a forward line to play out at least a half together to get some cohesion!

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 19:04
Freo are actually a pretty good side this year.

I don't think we'll be the only team crying into our beers after meeting Freo

stay true
4 Apr 2010, 19:07
Freo are actually a pretty good side this year.

I don't think we'll be the only team crying into our beers after meeting Freo
Yeah they've got a good look about them. They seem to have good pace around the ground. Made us look slow quite a lot.

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 19:08
Yeah they've got a good look about them. They seem to have good pace around the ground. Made us look slow quite a lot.

espically when they went long out of the backline. on several occasions they out ran us and out tackled us as well.

centrelink1
4 Apr 2010, 19:09
I hate to be cynical, as there were positives, and Fremantle were ****ing good. However, David Hille was absolutely pathetic, which highlighted how lucky we are to have Paddy. Won a couple of taps vs Sandilands, and it looks like hell be very important to our year.

kelvin_sheedy
4 Apr 2010, 19:10

Meh, your positive spin on today is sickening.

It's like falling in love with a woman, then finding out she was a man but having your love overcome that obstacle.

stay true
4 Apr 2010, 19:13
espically when they went long out of the backline. on several occasions they out ran us and out tackled us as well.
Yeah that was really noticeable. We seemed to play a high zone when they were kicking out and during the times when we didn't put enough pressure on them and they got 2 clean kicks out from the goalsquare then to the wing, their forwards just bolted forward on the counter and got an uncontested mark inside 50.

Haduken
4 Apr 2010, 19:14

It's like falling in love with a woman, then finding out she was a man but having your love overcome that obstacle.

It's match 2 of 22. It is not the end of the world. Can we please hold off on the self-loathing wrist-slashing until at least round 12.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 19:21

you're definitely the only poster I know who'd compare their team to a tranvestite. Nice work again.

Like I said, precious, there's plenty of other threads for your emo bullshit. Go suck a lemon there

Bombermania
4 Apr 2010, 19:23
you're definitely the only poster I know who'd compare their team to a tranvestite. Nice work again.

Like I said, precious, there's plenty of other threads for your emo bullshit. Go suck a lemon there

He has on the main board.

look i am dirty on todays effort but i am disappointed that an Essendon supporter has run to the main board and trashed this football club

lards
4 Apr 2010, 19:26
Very happy with Gumby today. Last week it was about not getting injured, today was about getting a goal or two and next week week is about taking Jamieson or whoever to the cleaners.

Was disappointed with Howlett's 2nd half but he was one of our best up until half time. Deserves to have a crack against the scum next week.

Hooker was sensational and Pears was alright at times considering he was agiant Pav.

Zaka, Dempsey, Gus and Dyson were also good.

My favourite moment of the match was Fletch's goal saving effort in the goal square against mr size 21.

TeamHurley
4 Apr 2010, 19:38
good get! Probably the biggest positive of all today is that Nanny McPhee doesn't wear the colours.

That guy is a ****ing spud, & I've rarely laughed so hard as when he put it 6 rows back on the wing.

The amount of fumbles was incredible. The guy is a liability. An embarrassment.

I can't help but feel, even though Freo got him for free, that they got the rough end of the deal. Maybe we should send them a slab of Woodies and a meat tray as compensation :o

Loved mcphees first touch, fumbled a mark and fletcher came in and gave him a nice bump.

lards
4 Apr 2010, 19:41
Loved mcphees first touch, fumbled a mark and fletcher came in and gave him a nice bump.

And that miss from directly out in front. God he is useless. It hurts even more Freo still flogged us with him playing.

itsabomber
4 Apr 2010, 19:52
I think it's obvious but our foward line is letting us down at the moment. Against geelong and freo our backline was doing great until the floodgates opened. Our midfeild was doing ok imo. Gumbleton showed today that the hype was justified but apart from that we just don't have targets in the foward line. Most of our goals seem to be opportunistic snaps.

I definatly took alot of positives out of today and last week but I havn't been confident with our foward thrusts.

I honestly think we are a team that can improve massively if we can get some fowards that can take a grab.

Hurley coming back will hopefully improve things.

There were plenty of positives today. Gumbleton,Zaka and Hooker were great but I really loved Stantons game. I can see him becoming a very important player.

Noddy Holder
4 Apr 2010, 19:58
Freo are better than everyone thinks.

That doesn't excuse a weak effort.

Knight Ryders
4 Apr 2010, 20:00
Gumbleton lookiing like a different player out there today was great to see. He's still going to have some poor matches, but if we can get 16+ games into him this year, we'll going to be a lot better off for it next year.

Agree with all on Zaharakis - fast becoming one of my favourite players. The best part about Zaka is he has a genuine football brain. The moment when he out marked Duffield when he was out of position from a Gumby high ball was all class.

Hooker - he obviously still has some work to do, but one of his great positives is how clean he is below his knees = "one grab" comes to mind.

Monfries - strung two games together.

Pears - we judge him against an already high standard, but he is still growing every week. Played against a more mobile forward in Pavlich today and really held his own after quarter time. In time, we are going to love the ball in his hands, much like Fletch now.

teak
4 Apr 2010, 20:01
Main positive: Gumbleton. When he took the mark for his first goal I stood up and celebrated. I got strange looks, but I was so happy for him. Then he kicked the goal.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 20:08
gee I wish we had a gun key forward to come back into the side...

Skeeta Olly
4 Apr 2010, 20:08
- Gumbleton: Once he got a taste for it on the wing, the ball just kept coming to him. Definitely need to find him on the lead rather than one on one. Hopefully he can back up that performance with a similar one against Carlton

- Zaiherakias: Seriously commentators, it's not that hard. Za-ha-ra-kis. A great contested mark and could have ended up leading goal scorer if he kicked them through the two big sticks more accurately.

- Howlett: Good in and under clearance player. Why the hell was he playing forward in the last quarter?

- Hurley: That's one less week without him.

- Myers: We finally know he can't play defense. Hopefully Knights can see that.

Skeeta Olly
4 Apr 2010, 20:10

Jaychael Hurgle?

wait wut.

lards
4 Apr 2010, 20:12
http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2009/09/25/300_hurley,0.jpg

Round four fellas!!!:D:D:thumbsu:

Andrew_5
4 Apr 2010, 20:14
1. Gumbleton - will be a great player,
2. Howlett - I liked his game today, but not his second half, but only his second game
3. Zaka - this guy will be elite..
4. Myers - got some game time, not a great game, but not crap either.. What I saw today on a couple occasions was I think he'll be serviceable.. I just wish knights will choose a posi for him and leave him..
5. Most importantly.. The Spine, in the years to come we'll have the best spine in the business...

HFF_07
4 Apr 2010, 20:17
So todays positives were not all that bad:

- Scott Gumbleton got through another game unscathed, and showed a couple of good signs that he is going to become a very good player for the EFC. His mark in that first quarter was awesome, I had a big massive gleaming smile for him when he took the grab, and secondly kicked the goal. Give him time in the seniors and he will slowly show why he was the best tall forward taken in his draft class.

- Ben Howlett put in yet another tough uncompromising performance, people calling for him to be dropped should have another close look at todays game. He was keeping us in the game in the first half, really got us going. He was tough uncompromising and went in after the ball, used it well. Could not falter his endeavor. People saying he dropped off in the second half, well yeah. He has had one pre season and only a handful of senior games at AFL level (pre season and premiership season level). He is going to drop off, no doubt about this, he did show promise though.

- Tayte Pears screams Brian Lake about him. Continually takes the game on, not much has been said about him, but I thought he held Pavlich well (when playing forward) and burst through the lines whenever he could. Like I said, I can see him turning into a Brian Lake type defender.

- Cale Hooker is his partner in crime, a tall, athletic rebounding defender/ He shows dash and a willingness to take the game on. He looks so cool calm and collected when he has the ball in his hands, someone I would not be hesitant about when the ball is in his hands. With Pears, they are going to form a very, very good partnership for the future.

- David Zaharakis showed why I rate him as one of our better up and coming players. He showed with his work rate, sublime poise and polish with the ball. His overhead marking was really good, will become IMO a very good player in the future, Borderline A - Grade potential.

Heath Hocking had good patches, did drift in and out of games though.

Mark Mcveigh showed that he has lost none of his aggression abd hunger for the ball. At times looked a class above everyone else, but others looked an old man in a boys game.

NEGATIVES:

Mark Williams should not be in EFC colors, he is not and should not be in our plans for the future. PLAY NEAGLE, he gives us a hell of a lot more structure and presence than the little b**** that is Mark Williams. I posted something in the "Mark Williams" thread, that after trade week it was a mistake and we should be playing some of our own (Darcy Daniher, NLM) instead.

Skeeta Olly
4 Apr 2010, 20:19
Who played on Ballantyne?

HFF_07
4 Apr 2010, 20:29

Who do you think??

Hank

HFF_07
4 Apr 2010, 20:31
1. Gumbleton - will be a great player,
2. Howlett - I liked his game today, but not his second half, but only his second game
3. Zaka - this guy will be elite..
4. Myers - got some game time, not a great game, but not crap either.. What I saw today on a couple occasions was I think he'll be serviceable.. I just wish knights will choose a posi for him and leave him..
5. Most importantly.. The Spine, in the years to come we'll have the best spine in the business...

I thought he was one of our worst today, looked like a player playing out of his depth. I honestly do not think he will make it as an AFL player after seeing him today.

Andrew_5
4 Apr 2010, 20:44
I thought he was one of our worst today, looked like a player playing out of his depth. I honestly do not think he will make it as an AFL player after seeing him today.

You think?

Granted some decisions he made were horrible but a couple were good..
the good i saw were when he was under presure, which makes me think he has a little bit of ablility.. he's also got a great kick on him..
did anyone else see this, or do i need to get my eyes checked?

The Dustbin
Oh man, what a day. All of the + have already been mentioned... :thumbsu:

I'm rapt that Gumby has got through another game. :thumbsu:

edstar10

slattery did????

never seen a side butcher the ball so much, not a good effort, ill start with the better players.

howlett: i love him, he plays good footy, he makes quick decisions and wont get caught holding the ball alot, he plays like a player who is enjoying is football and is a great dt pick:thumbsu:

hooker: positives first, he is really calm and isnt affraid to take the game on, which is also a negative he ALWYS plays on, he has to be more compossed, and one thing he has 2 do is MAN UP, was caught meters away from his openent in the f50, he needs a bit more discipline but if he fixs these problems he will become one of the elite backman.

prismall: exellent skills, he can get a handpass out in-between 4 opponents and do it with ease, anyone thinking he should be droped are kidding themselves.

other notes, we should of played neagle, we missed him there, ryder has to show something, he did nothing all game, he is really starting to piss me off, lovin gumby, played a great game and has a good set of hands, needs to present more.

winderlich, show some damn heart, you were constantly walking or jogging in the middle while ur player was running down to the goals, he has the talent but he needs to make an impact and play harder footy.

midfeild is to slow, watson, stanton, welsh, wont win us games in the middle, we hav to play guys like reimers, zaharakis and winderlich in the middle.

we must play neagle and reimers next week, lonergan should be playing and our middle needs a spark, why not play colyer???, next week is do or die, the true essendon needs to show how good they are, they have the talent they just need to believe and play some tough footy.

Lance Uppercut
4 Apr 2010, 20:58
oh wow... having earlier girded the loins & gritted the teeth & watched the replay, I had no idea how much Macavaney, Schwartz and Commetti were jizzing in their pants over Gumby's first half.

At the ground it was clear how classy he was, & what an impact he made in the first half, but it's nice to hear the commentators were as excited as I was at the ground! :cool:

Hurlstein
4 Apr 2010, 21:47

Hahaha.. man i was loving the out on the full and miss from right in front

Storyboy
4 Apr 2010, 22:49
Thanks for the post Lance. Just finished watching the game up here in Brisbane as the AFL seems to think we would prefer to watch Sydney over the regularly scheduled game ...

Anyway ...

You are right. the commentators were in love with Gumby from his first touch - and not without cause.

Someone has already mentioned Prismall; and Pears; and Hooker; and Zaharakis.

The other thing, and the one that may have slipped under the radar a little is Howlett and Barlow.

Now hear me out. I think that the games that both these guys have had in the last two weeks is a plus for us (though possibly for everyone else too) in that it shows just what skillfull, thoughtful players are out there in the minors just waiting to be discovered. I wonder about the number of players who perhaps were late starters or were just a little slow or who had flawed techniques but who have worked on their games with grit and determination. With GC and GWS coming in, these late-blooming non-quitters might just be the gems waiting to be unearthed in the system.

Don't get me wrong, Gumby is the shining light of the day - not just because of the fact that he got through the day, but also because of the sheer star-power he lest us glimse - but in mouth-drying conditions, it is good to see posibilities in the coming lean years.

Storyboy
4 Apr 2010, 22:53
Oh, and the other positive for me is getting to see once and for all who on this site have backbones of jelly and whose are chiselled in stone.

Thanks Lance.:thumbsu:

Spikey
4 Apr 2010, 22:56
Thanks for the post Lance. Just finished watching the game up here in Brisbane as the AFL seems to think we would prefer to watch Sydney over the regularly scheduled game ...

Brisbane and Sydney use the seem feed for some ****ed up reason. Same thing happens in Sydney when Brisbane have the 1pm game. Very annoying :(

Storyboy
4 Apr 2010, 23:28
Thanks for the info Spikey. I did not realise. We could never figure out what was going on. I am planning to write to the AFL prior to their next TV rights contract negotiation. It is a forlorn hope of course. But every bit counts.

I guess that piece of info is another positive from today then!

cooper6
4 Apr 2010, 23:45
Cale Hooker!

Compare this guy to the guy who had to place out of position in the ruck last year! He has been nothing short of brilliant so far this year. He has been arguably more impressive than Pears (which is no mean feat) this year. Hooker is looking more like Fletcher each game. Pears and Hooker are building a partnership that could rival Wellman and Fletcher's in their hay day.

banta
5 Apr 2010, 00:02
i think that each game this group plays together is a positive.
the reality is we have a young and inexperienced team that has not played much footy together. it will take time for them to develop as a team and start playing more structured and fluent football.

today was a bad day, but it's round two and fremantle are a much better side than people give them credit for (maybe not so much after this week). so there's no need to be cutting up the membership just yet.

i think we have enough talent on the list to become a top side, but it will take a bit of patience. hooker and pears look better and better each game i watch them, so hopefully we can build a back six around them that can do the same thing the geelong back six have done for the past few years.

yaco55
5 Apr 2010, 00:40
- Gumbleton was more in tune with the pace of the game and will continue to improve in the next few weeks.
- Zaharakis continues to improve and impresses me with his ability to take overhead marks
- Dempsey was defensively sound this week and was the only player who could regularly win his own ball
- Howlett has a good skills set and will end up being a key member of our midfield. A good get in the rookie draft.

rines
5 Apr 2010, 00:48
only 20 more games to go before we can start rebuilding again?

So really the positives list for me boils down to:
Gumby survived and did nice things
Howlett is the new Skipworth who looks serviceable in patches (hopefully kicks on to be much much much better than skipworth)
Monfries/Zaka made sure we didn't get flogged as badly as North
Pears/Hooker/Fletch form a pretty good spine defence individually (but worrying that big scores are being kicked on us still)
We can now understand why letting Mark Harvey slip through our fingers was stupid
Having to hear that stupid Dockers theme song will surely lift the boys to victory next game.. I reckon I would run harder and faster to avoid it..

FandangoDingo
5 Apr 2010, 01:48
We can now understand why letting Mark Harvey slip through our fingers was stupid

Oh please!!! :rolleyes:. I was a huge fan of both Harvey the player and Harvey the assistant coach but I don't think he has the composure to be a successful head coach in the modern game.

Are you drunk? You've dished up some absolute dribble over the last few hours. Don't come and stink up this thread with your hysterical, Knights-hating garbage. :thumbsd: It's round 2, FFS!

rines
5 Apr 2010, 02:05
Oh please!!! :rolleyes:. I was a huge fan of both Harvey the player and Harvey the assistant coach but I don't think he has the composure to be a successful head coach in the modern game.

Are you drunk? You've dished up some absolute dribble over the last few hours. Don't come and stink up this thread with your hysterical, Knights-hating garbage. :thumbsd: It's round 2, FFS!

I am probably drunk.. so you think Knights has got it but not Harvey? Thats cool, each to their own. I think the decision to get McPhee was a dud one that definitely lowered my esteem of Harvey so maybe you are right...

I don't know but I've watched the last 2 weeks of Freo and they have looked like a brand new unit.. hard at the ball, heaps of defensive pressure and really committed. These are all things I never thought I would see out of Freo side.. so something has happened over there... having said that I still don't think they will win a flag.. ever! If only so I don't have to listen to that song and have PURPLE on the footy field!

BeinPurplenGreen
5 Apr 2010, 02:22
From an outsider's (Freo) perspective, I was very impressed with Gumby (for the reasons set out earlier in the thread by your posters) and also Pears - he really will be something special I think.

Hooker was great, and most of all I was very pleased with the fact you had 8 WA boys on the field - really good to see a Vic side getting out to find the talent outside the traditional areas.

Sorry for the intrusion, hope you don't mind my comments, smash the CardboardKings next week.

BpG

TheDon35
5 Apr 2010, 08:41
Gumleton... thank god. Really promising effort.

Dempsey... Incredible ability to find and cleanly handle the ball in congestion. A little let down by both his disposal and lack of a plan moving forward from defence - nobody to give it to.
The first point on him lends itself to think he'd be pretty handy on the ball.

Howlett. Doesn't look like a star but looks good enough. good game.

Hooker, a bit like Dempsey, really good reader of the play but let down by some sloppy disposal and lack of understanding / options of where / who to give it to.

Pears, not brilliant but good enough.

Zaka, reminding me more and more of Mercuri.
Hocking

marcuz
5 Apr 2010, 08:51
Dempsey... Incredible ability to find and cleanly handle the ball in congestion. A little let down by both his disposal and lack of a plan moving forward from defence - nobody to give it to.

Dempsey's best highlight was dropping that little shit ballantyne with a short right jab to the guts.

Beerfish
5 Apr 2010, 09:20
Great thread.

I feel a bit better after having read.

Ben the Gooner
5 Apr 2010, 09:21
Ease up on the abuse guys.

Bombers36
5 Apr 2010, 09:35
Played poorly yet only 9 points down against the dockers at 3 quater time, and 6 points up against the Cats at 3 quater time last week. Both will be top 4 sides this year. Thats a positive isn't it?
Neagle, Hurley, NLM, Reimers to come back into the side all who can play forward where we really need them - another positive
Great spine
Dempsey, Hocking, Monfires all good players & really like the looks of Howlett & Zaharakis.
Comon guys - there were positives and we WILL beat the blues this week and be back on track before you know it :)

Wahooti Fandango
5 Apr 2010, 10:06
Gumleton... thank god. Really promising effort.

Howlett. Doesn't look like a star but looks good enough. good game.

Hooker, a bit like Dempsey, really good reader of the play but let down by some sloppy disposal and lack of understanding / options of where / who to give it to.

Pears, not brilliant but good enough.

Zaka, reminding me more and more of Mercuri.
Hocking

Dempsey's best highlight was dropping that little shit ballantyne with a short right jab to the guts.

Now clearly my favourite player. I have serious man love for Dempsey. Insane skills and vision and now he has shown he won't take crap from the opposition. Gun.

Charliebrow 16
5 Apr 2010, 10:23

NLM would've just went straight for the jaw.

Wahooti Fandango
5 Apr 2010, 10:26

Can't wait for his comeback. :thumbsu:

ghostdog
5 Apr 2010, 10:51
I posted something in the "Mark Williams" thread, that after trade week it was a mistake and we should be playing some of our own (Darcy Daniher, NLM) instead.

Agree with your sentiment re: Daniher. At the very least he should get a squad spot to scare Williams into playing. IIRC Darcy's form towards the end of last season was very good. He finds the goals and gets his own ball. Give him a crack.

Kong
5 Apr 2010, 15:44
gee I wish we had a gun key forward to come back into the side...I'll go one better than the photo.

http://i43.tinypic.com/jh92xu.jpg

DVD Player
5 Apr 2010, 15:50
Howlett's first half. Gumbys first half. Pears was decent.

marcuz
5 Apr 2010, 16:24

Marking the face leaves evidence of assault, any good cop(or bad one) will tell you to aim for the gut.

horj89
5 Apr 2010, 19:10
Gumbleton: Seeing him take that big mark amongst the pack and go back and put it through from outside 50 during the 2nd quarter has been 3-4 years in the making. Also his movement around the ground and his clean hands looked very good.

Zaharakis: Very good start to the year playing across half forward and and through the middle. Looks to get better every week.

Hooker/Pears/Dempsey: These three just keep getting the job done. There rebounding from defence in particular Dempsey is very good. They certaintly provide a solid foundation down back for the next 5-10 years.

Slattery_20
6 Apr 2010, 08:50
Howlett's first half. Gumbys first half. Pears was decent.
Yep.
In general, the first half was OK.

HighettBomber
6 Apr 2010, 09:32
We clearly have the makings of a good team. Pears, Hooker and Dempsey down back, Hill, Ryder, Watson and Stanton on ball, Gumby, Hurley, Monfries and Zaharakis up forward. These guys are obviously going to be around long term. There are plenty of other players that may or may not fill the other spaces, we just have to sort out which ones will come through.

daffo
6 Apr 2010, 09:39
I felt so horrible after the game. We were just so flat. I don't think our skills were that bad on game day. We just didn't chase, and weren't too confident going into our forward line.
My positives
- Gumby getting his hands on the ball. He looked great running up the wings. His kicking was a lot better then the week before
- Pears shut down Pavlich, that's a great effort
- Watson/Stanton in the mid worked hard and look set for a big year.
- We have Carlton next week, can't wait for the game.

Beerfish
6 Apr 2010, 09:43
Dempsey cleared to play this week with a reprimand. :thumbsu:

centurion
6 Apr 2010, 10:51
Gumbyyyyy!!!

Thats about it for me.

ghostdog
6 Apr 2010, 11:16
I felt so horrible after the game. We were just so flat. I don't think our skills were that bad on game day. We just didn't chase, and weren't too confident going into our forward line.
My positives
- Gumby getting his hands on the ball. He looked great running up the wings. His kicking was a lot better then the week before
- Pears shut down Pavlich, that's a great effort
- Watson/Stanton in the mid worked hard and look set for a big year.
- We have Carlton next week, can't wait for the game.

I would add that our delivery was crap, not all the time, but enough to turn the ball over. We didn't run hard enough back to defend either. Dempsey tried hard but I think we need him back at hb.

I'd prefer Houli on the wing at this stage. At least his kicks penetrate and hit the target. Put Neagle back in the square and let him lead out to Houli's delivery.

Really enjoying watching Zaharakis make this most of his opportunities. I think a spot is his to claim atm. I was arguing after the departure of Lovett that i thought Zak would fill in nicely, so I'm glad he is. His delivery by foot is terrific, and I actually think his awareness seems to have improved, perhaps a result of increased game time?? Confidence goes a long way as well.

Hurley and NLM to come back as well and I think we'll win some.
My concern now is the confidence of the players.:confused:

Valve Bounce
6 Apr 2010, 19:23
It's a long season & I have no time for pea-hearted chicken littles who think it's armageddon because we didn't win a game.

OK, my friend. Apart from what you mentioned above, the most important positive I can see coming out of this game is if Knights will watch the second half again, figure out where our defenses are down, and come with a decent plan on how to shore up that defense. This is of paramount importance if we are to win games this year.

Lance Uppercut
6 Apr 2010, 19:44
OK, my friend. Apart from what you mentioned above, the most important positive I can see coming out of this game is if Knights will watch the second half again, figure out where our defenses are down, and come with a decent plan on how to shore up that defense. This is of paramount importance if we are to win games this year.

I can't imagine there's an overwhelming focus on goal-kicking at this week's private training sessions! :cool:

nipst@r
6 Apr 2010, 21:47
To add one in the positive category, apart from the weekend.
How good is our team to watch. Might not have been there against freo but my non bomber mates agree, win or lose in most instances our game style is extremely entertaining.

mick7
7 Apr 2010, 20:13
I've been a bomber for 24 (I am 24 years old) and I'll be damned if one loss to Fremantle is going to change that.

To all those newer supporters who haven't seen a game before 2000 I can tell you now that we have lost worse games than this and we still got finals bound and premierships.

Grow up to those people that continually slag this great club, we will win soon mark my words.

Now let's concentrate on beating those bloody blue baggers!

Duckworth
17 Apr 2010, 23:36
Thought I'd revisit this thread.

Gumbleton and Hurley with huge expectations on them continue to work hard and improve. Doing well for a couple kids with only a handfull of games to their name. They are now forced to shoulder all the responsibility.

Melksham learnt what senior footy was all about. WC were a lot more physical than Carlton. He took a few hard bumps, to his credit he got up though.

Hooker looked ok when switched forward and Hurley back. Good to see that Knights is experimenting and developing some flexibility in the game. Also good to get Hurley into the game.

The Defence in general seems solid as far as players go. The development of a settled backline is a vital step in putting together a premiership contender.

Slattery_20
18 Apr 2010, 07:48
* I liked when Melksham held his nerve and got his kick away while being bumped.
* Held up the clearances in the 2nd half. With Henry in there.
(Funny how throwing a body on the ball slows it down???)
* The players seemed to respond after Knights giving them a huge spray at half-time. WHY DON'T THEY EVER COME OUT OF THE BLOCKS???

HFF_07
18 Apr 2010, 09:28
** Jake Melksham: I think we may have found that blue chip midfielder we have been screaming out for. His attack on the ball is sensational, he uses it well and has good decision making and stays calm under pressure. See how this boy goes when he has added a bit of bulk to his lightly built frame.

** Tayte Pears: He is going to be a star. He is doing a man's job as a mere boy. Takes the number one opposition forward each week and does a solid job on them. Add Cale Hooker to the defense and we have got ourselves KPD set for the next decade. Just need to fill the spots around them with some quality.

** Scott Gumbleton: Still being on the park. His pack mark last week, the strong contested mark the week before. I really enjoy watching him out there. The expectation on the kid though is a bit much, but give him a full year, hopefully he can come on in leaps and bounds.

** Dustin Fletcher: Continuing to display the same form since 2000. Inspector gadget just keeps going, and going, and going. Hopefully he can finish on top when he does decide to call it a day.

** Kyle Reimers: Am rapt to see Kyle play on a continuing basis these days. He is our X - Factor, our barometer up forward. He is the perfect blend of small/tall forward with his ability on the ground just as adept in the air. Hopefully he can continue to improve in the coming years.

** David Zaharakis: 'Zaka' continues to improve beyond all expectations. He is another one who could become that blue chip midfielder we have been looking for. He just needs to find consistency, but that will come from a second year player.

I know it is a bit premature, but; Tyson Slattery and Jake Carlisle are both going to be something. Slattery in particular is going to be a very very good player. Just hope he stays injury free and gets a go in the seniors very soon.

Cannot see much else as really outstanding positives at the moment. Wished there was more, but sadly there is nothing else that springs to mind.