View Full Version : Umpire Broadbridge
Unley Legend
21 May 2003, 23:44
Am I the only one who thinks this guy has a serious case of "small man syndrome?" On Monday he should have been at Morphettville riding a horse but there he was at The Parade, butchering a game of football.
Anyone else have any experiences they'd like to share?
timelord
22 May 2003, 00:05
Fair go, Unley Legend!
From what I hear, the Adelaide weather was shocking - and I can tell you through experience that umpiring in conditions like that is extremely difficult! OK granted - I didn't see the game. But when a game becomes a scramble (for whatever the reason) it makes the umpire's job that much harder - even at a high level like the SANFL.
Unley Legend
22 May 2003, 00:20
I never said the game was a scramble. Where did you pluck that from?
safooty
22 May 2003, 02:33
He is a very good umpire, especially since he is umpiring at that level, so don't complain.
I also officiated in the game, the wind was as they say, twirly whirly all day, sunshine, rain. As Sandy Roberts once quoted in a match St. Kilda v Brisbane at Waverley "You know we're not far from snow here" when it began to hail.
McAlmanac
22 May 2003, 10:35
Saw him at Eagles v Glenelg. Gave the worst holding the ball in front of goal that could have cost the Eagles the match, but that was a one-off.
timelord
22 May 2003, 11:36
Originally posted by Unley Legend
I never said the game was a scramble. Where did you pluck that from?
Whenever the weather is bad, a game is inevitably a scramble because of the slippery ground and the slippery ball. If it wasn't a scramble at least the majority of the time I would be very surprised. THAT is where I "plucked" it from. I never said you said it was scramble.
And the wind - as Steve said - would also have made things difficult.
McAlmanac
22 May 2003, 12:27
Norwood Oval + Rain = Champagne Football.... not
Rooster Demon
22 May 2003, 13:59
I agree with you UL, he is not much chop. Have experienced his work at Prospect a few times.:mad:
naughty monkey
22 May 2003, 18:52
If memory serves, there was a very short umpire that was pretty bad in the Glenelg-South game (maybe glenelg-west?) that copped a baking from Uncle Steve. He Had no idea at all on what holding the ball or in the back was. Carried on like an AFL wannabe.
... and yes i know US get's stuck into all the umps but this little man copped a real pasting.
We were wondering how someone that was meant to be playing in the mini-league got to umpire a match :D
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 19:01
This little fella is the worst umpire Ive ever seen, he's got a classic case of little mans syndrome and has no idea about the game, even makes Neville Thorpe, Richard Williams and Tim Pfeiffer look good!
Macca19
22 May 2003, 19:19
I wouldnt say hes the worst umpire ive ever seen...but hes definately one of the worst umpires in teh SANFL today. Consisntely makes poor decision after poor decision. His umpiring at Prospect for the Port v North game a few weeks back was a joke.
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Norwood Oval + Rain = Champagne Football.... not
You obviously havent seen Norwood Oval lately!!!!
In superb condition!!!!!!
It was a game of a pretty high standard on Monday given the conditions!!!!! Was still slippery..........
Uncle Steve
23 May 2003, 11:38
Originally posted by naughty monkey
If memory serves, there was a very short umpire that was pretty bad in the Glenelg-South game (maybe glenelg-west?) that copped a baking from Uncle Steve. He Had no idea at all on what holding the ball or in the back was. Carried on like an AFL wannabe.
... and yes i know US get's stuck into all the umps but this little man copped a real pasting.
We were wondering how someone that was meant to be playing in the mini-league got to umpire a match :D
'twas the West match. That little squib didn't know his bum from his toes. Was more concerned with bouncing the ball than paying the free. Heck, he was even practicing his bounces during the quarter breaks - he couldn't get enough of the ball. Surprising, since the ball was almost as big as him.
In fairness to the poor little bugger, he does stand out more than the other umps due to his incredible lack of height - so we probably remember his actions more so than those of his colleagues. In reality they're probably all as bad as each other, and each capable of costing the match through an ill-awarded free kick.
Really we should feel sorry for the tiny little bloke. After that Glenelg-West match, he probably cried himself to sleep after his mummy tucked him into his cot, his tiny little head pouring little baby tears from his little eyes into his tiny little pillow...
- that was bait for timelord ;)
timelord
23 May 2003, 12:43
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
In reality they're probably all as bad as each other, and each capable of costing the match through an ill-awarded free kick.
- that was bait for timelord ;)
*looks at the bait and then goes away looking for better bait*
That one's been done to death, Uncle Steve - I ain't biting twice! :)
I will say this in general though. Everyone in here seems to be saying that this guy has a chip on his shoulder because he's short and expanding on that through a perceived attitude.
Now I'm not going to go into detail on that because I've never seen the guy umpire myself - but let's just say that basing a criticism of an umpire on that perception is the sort of criticism that no one who can do something about it will listen to.
I did see someone say that he had no idea about holding the ball or in the back. Any more detail on that?
Wanting the ball to practice bouncing is a good one - if that's what he was doing. At the same time he was doing that, was he hogging the play? (that is, not doing the bum tap when he should have or hanging onto the play for too long?)
See where I'm going with this? That's MY bait, Uncle Steve. Now the question is will YOU bite! ;)
naughty monkey
23 May 2003, 13:45
Originally posted by timelord
I did see someone say that he had no idea about holding the ball or in the back. Any more detail on that?
twas me, fine sir.
A defending player placed 2 hands squarely in the back of the ball carrier and pushed him over as he kicked (resulting in OOB), the ump waved play on when he was side on approximately 20 metres away with a clear view. Hard to imagine how much more blatant it could have been! There was another incident similar to this in the third quarter as well.
Not more than a few minutes later a Glenelg player received a free for in the back which was plumb holding it. He was standing still and the tackler wrapped him up and knocked him over.
As for holding the ball, It is a mystery as to how he arrives at the decisions he makes. He misses the obvious ones and will then pays ones for decapitating a player.
Normally I am pretty fair on the umpires, but this particular gentleman does stand out because of his 'overacting' on the field - v. similar to AFL umpires, IMO, and his level of incompetence
In the game mentioned above he was that bad that I actually borrowed Stevo's Budget to see who he was. Normally, I don't give two hoots who the umps are
timelord
23 May 2003, 17:33
A defending player placed 2 hands squarely in the back of the ball carrier and pushed him over as he kicked (resulting in OOB), the ump waved play on when he was side on approximately 20 metres away with a clear view. Hard to imagine how much more blatant it could have been! There was another incident similar to this in the third quarter as well.
Once can be counted to misfortune. Twice smacks of carelessness!
Not more than a few minutes later a Glenelg player received a free for in the back which was plumb holding it. He was standing still and the tackler wrapped him up and knocked him over.
From your description - I agree with the umpire on this one. It doesn't matter if the player was holding the footy if he gets knocked over (reading between the lines) from behind. That's in the back - because the protection free kick is the first priority.
As for holding the ball, It is a mystery as to how he arrives at the decisions he makes. He misses the obvious ones and will then pays ones for decapitating a player.
Yeah well that's one that the AFL players do too much for my liking, and local umpires also copy it - especially first year umpires. Forgetting exactly what I said just before - about paying the protection free kick first. Actually applying that to the umpire that is the subject of this thread, that is actually inconsistent - and that's something I have NO time for at the elite level!
Unley Legend
23 May 2003, 17:37
It's interesting isn't it. I yell at the umpires as much as the next bloke, but as I've said before, and will say again, "A good umpire is one you don't notice".
But on Monday I found myself thinking, "Come back Richard Williams, all is forgiven".
The other 2 umpires on Monday weren't that bad, one or two obvious mistakes between them, but Broadbridge was an absolute shocker, every time one found oneself yelling at a crap decision, who was the guy behind it? You guessed it, Broadbridge.
Sturt played crap for most of the game, don't get me wrong, but when we were getting back in the game and were actually playing the much better brand of footy in the 3rd. quarter, were closing in on Norwood and had a sniff, guess who snuffed it out with shocking decisions?
It just leaves a bitter taste, thanx for the support everybody, I was wondering if I was the only one who felt this way.
I feel much better now!
dreamkillers
23 May 2003, 17:41
Take a few paintball guns to the game next time........at least it would relieve some of the frustrations........;)
Blues_Girl
23 May 2003, 17:47
Sturt played crap for most of the game, don't get me wrong, but when we were getting back in the game and were actually playing the much better brand of footy in the 3rd. quarter, were closing in on Norwood and had a sniff, guess who snuffed it out with shocking decisions?
It just leaves a bitter taste, thanx for the support everybody, I was wondering if I was the only one who felt this way.
This was a hotly discussed topic on Monday night. Expecting the same old reaction of "you always blame the umpires", I was greeted with a "geez those umpires were harsh on you today".
I felt that as soon as we got things back on track and the momentum had swung our way, little midget man stepped in and swung it back Norwood's way!
He should stick to looking ugly in peoples gardens, not ruining football matches :(
Blues_Girl
23 May 2003, 17:48
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Take a few paintball guns to the game next time........at least it would relieve some of the frustrations........;)
That's a nice idea! I think I may have to try it tomorrow.
Although it maybe easier to drink myself into a coma before the match starts!
Unley Legend
23 May 2003, 18:07
Blues Girl, you'll notice I waited 2 days to start this thread. I was that angry after the game if I'd posted then, I would've been booted off the board.
Blues_Girl
23 May 2003, 18:19
Blues Girl, you'll notice I waited 2 days to start this thread. I was that angry after the game if I'd posted then, I would've been booted off the board.
Yes I did notice that! Judging from your reaction at qtr time i'm not at all surprised!
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
This was a hotly discussed topic on Monday night. Expecting the same old reaction of "you always blame the umpires", I was greeted with a "geez those umpires were harsh on you today".
I felt that as soon as we got things back on track and the momentum had swung our way, little midget man stepped in and swung it back Norwood's way!
He should stick to looking ugly in peoples gardens, not ruining football matches :(
You are a whinger mate!!!!!!
Umpiring wasnt the best Ive seen Monday, 23-18 the free kick tally was, hardly favouring either side, their were some dodgy ones given and missed each way!! I did notice Norwood guernseys a few times protruding from the players backs was that magic was it???????
Id suggest your precious side is on the decline rather than 1 of 3 umpires bringing on your demise!!!!!!!
Enjoy your reign at the top.............. only 4 months to go!!!!!
Macca19
23 May 2003, 20:05
Originally posted by Davo75
You obviously havent seen Norwood Oval lately!!!!
In superb condition!!!!!!
Thatd be a first wouldnt it.
Usually when it rains, half the oval ends up looking like a lake and the players are shin deep in water and one end of the ground.
Uncle Steve
23 May 2003, 22:26
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
I reckon I've got it worked out. He was just dirty 'coz he missed out on being selected to mount one of the starters at Morphettville that day :D
Hollypig
24 May 2003, 07:39
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
to mount one of the starters [/B]
I hope you meant that in the biblical sense.
timelord
24 May 2003, 11:53
Umpiring wasnt the best Ive seen Monday, 23-18 the free kick tally was, hardly favouring either side, their were some dodgy ones given and missed each way!! I did notice Norwood guernseys a few times protruding from the players backs was that magic was it???????
Id suggest your precious side is on the decline rather than 1 of 3 umpires bringing on your demise!!!!!!!
Two ways to look at this.
One - if it was Broadbridge putting Sturt off their comeback, one could argue that the Two Blues have a concentration problem, letting an umpire get to them. Having said that, see my previous post about inconsistency - and add to that the remark I made about the possibility of hogging the play (and he would have had to have a bit of it to stop a team's march per se)
Two - I'll tell you all something. If there's one thing I NEVER take notice of, it's the free kick count. That's because I never use it as a gauge on my performance. No umpire should. If a team is giving away more free kicks, doesn't it show something?
For instance, I remember a few years ago I was umpiring Under 18's down at Lara. The home side were winning, but they claimed the free kick count at half time was 0-8! I knew why, and it had nothing to do with me. Lara were doing the wrong thing in contested situations (the reason they were in front was because they were much better when they had the footy). I merely said to the critic "Look at why before having a go at me" (or words to that effect). For the record, the coach must have got the message because Lara started getting frees in the second half! And I didn't change a thing.
Just to finish, I think it's a little harsh to predict Sturt's demise just on the basis of Monday's loss.
Macca19
25 May 2003, 03:27
I had the displeasure of having the little sh*t come and stand next to me for about 10 minutes at the footy today.
Hes a lot shorter than you would actually think as well. Im just your normal 5'11 and made him look like a shrimp. He'd be no taller than 4'8.
Blues_Girl
25 May 2003, 20:51
Originally posted by Macca19
I had the displeasure of having the little sh*t come and stand next to me for about 10 minutes at the footy today.
Hes a lot shorter than you would actually think as well. Im just your normal 5'11 and made him look like a shrimp. He'd be no taller than 4'8.
He walked past us last week at Norwood Oval. He was talking to one of the boundary umpires who would have been a little over 5ft.
You'd be spot on there Macca, he'd be no taller than 4'8. My Nanna is just 5ft and she was clearly taller than him!
Unley Legend
26 May 2003, 13:43
You are a whinger mate!!!!!!
Enjoy your reign at the top.............. only 4 months to go!!!!!
The quote that you were replying to with "you are a whinger mate " was actually posted by Blues Girl! I don't think think "mate" is appropriate when addressing a lady, "mate"!
Also the free kick count doesn't truly reflect the nature of umpiring on the day. It doesn't take into account marks that one team gets paid that the other team doesn't, what gets called play on etc, etc.
Added to this, the usual soft ones paid in the last 5 minutes to "even" it up.
On the positive side, Norwood Oval was in surprisingly good condition considering the amount of rain over the previous 2 days. In past years, the south western flank would have been 4 inches under water.
timelord
26 May 2003, 17:28
Also the free kick count doesn't truly reflect the nature of umpiring on the day. It doesn't take into account marks that one team gets paid that the other team doesn't, what gets called play on etc, etc.
Added to this, the usual soft ones paid in the last 5 minutes to "even" it up.
The first part of that is actually quite right - and it reminded me of the perfect example, the performance that got me so hot under the collar that I started umpiring! It was the 1982 Eastern Districts GF between Vermont and Mitcham. I couldn't believe the marks that were being paid to Vermont and not to Mitcham - and I said the words "I could do better than THAT!" In May 1983 I started umpiring!!
As far as evening things up with soft free kicks late - any umpire that does that is doing the wrong thing IMO. You only pay soft free kicks in certain circumstances, and that ain't one of them!
goaldrush
27 May 2003, 10:05
Where's the respect gone?
timelord
27 May 2003, 11:38
Poor performances and low morale at the elite level, Suzi. That's where it's gone. And it reflects everywhere down the proverbial tree to the grass roots.
There are problems all over the place, and I don't think anyone has identified ALL of them yet. They're concentrating on the obvious one - umpires not coming up because there aren't enough at the grass roots level because too many are giving up because of crowd abuse. Crowd abuse has got worse over the last decade or so - especially at the grass roots level. All the attention is being placed on that, and I'm still not sure if enough is being done to protect the umpires at the grass roots level - especially the first year umpires.
Once we fix ALL the problems, we'll get good umpires - and happy ones at that - resulting in better performances and consequently more respect.
goaldrush
27 May 2003, 12:02
Originally posted by timelord
Poor performances and low morale at the elite level, Suzi. That's where it's gone. And it reflects everywhere down the proverbial tree to the grass roots.
There are problems all over the place, and I don't think anyone has identified ALL of them yet. They're concentrating on the obvious one - umpires not coming up because there aren't enough at the grass roots level because too many are giving up because of crowd abuse. Crowd abuse has got worse over the last decade or so - especially at the grass roots level. All the attention is being placed on that, and I'm still not sure if enough is being done to protect the umpires at the grass roots level - especially the first year umpires.
Once we fix ALL the problems, we'll get good umpires - and happy ones at that - resulting in better performances and consequently more respect.
that will be a hard task, Phil.
naughty monkey
27 May 2003, 12:14
Originally posted by goaldrush
Where's the respect gone?
You earn Respect - The umpire in question here certainly hasn't.
timelord
27 May 2003, 17:04
Originally posted by goaldrush
that will be a hard task, Phil.
It HAS to be done, Suzi. It's the only way to go if we want more umpires and better umpires.
You earn Respect - The umpire in question here certainly hasn't.
No, NM - although this particular umpire isn't helping. Umpires are to football as the police is to society. Respect should be automatic. Of course, there should also be accountability.
Umpires have a job to do. And as I've always said - if you don't like an umpire, you can always move to replace them yourself! After all, that's what got me into umpiring to start with as I said earlier!
I used to play footy with the little fellow about 10 years ago and as such have always taken a bit of an interested when i've seen him umpire. It was probably only 5-6 years ago he was doing mini-league (yes the players were still much bigger than him!) and it's good to see that he has gone on with it.
I know the last game i saw him umpire was the Port-North game and as Macca said he made a few "interesting" decisions that day. And from the roasting he is getting here i gather he wasn't great last weekend.
To be honest i had been impresed with some of his displays earlier in his career, i remember one Port-West game (i think) where he performed very well even though Port went down it wasn't anything to do with the umpiring.
He's better than a lot at SANFL level and probably better than many at AFL level, although his more recent performances may have been less than brilliant. One problem is his obvious lack of height which surely must be some disadvantage, it also makes him stand out more than most which is something that a good umpire shouldn't be doing, but it's hardly his fault. Probably needs to polish his performance a bit from recent weeks.