View Full Version : North Adelaide Pokies Update
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 14:54
Decision by the courts today that the appeal wont be heard in the High Court.
This I assume means we have to stop trading immediately and have lost license to have any pokies.
We're relying soleley on the pollies now.
:(
roostersgal4eva
22 May 2003, 15:30
http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/sauer/angry-smiley-005.gifhttp://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/sauer/angry-smiley-005.gifhttp://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/sauer/angry-smiley-005.gifhttp://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/sauer/angry-smiley-005.gifhttp://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/sauer/angry-smiley-005.gif
whats going to happen now???
http://www.click-smilie.de/sammlung/traurig/sad-smiley-046.gif
http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung/fragend/confused-smiley-002.gif
dreamkillers
22 May 2003, 15:52
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Decision by the courts today that the appeal wont be heard in the High Court.
This I assume means we have to stop trading immediately and have lost license to have any pokies.
We're relying soleley on the pollies now.
:(
Not good to hear if that's the case.
As for relying solely on pollies now it is far from the case.
Now you really rely on supporters keeping up the campaign and ensuring it remains in the public eye. If it goes quiet the pollies will do the same but if you can keep it in the media and people's eyes they will at least want to look like they are helping.
You may even need to think about doing some more radical things like setting up a protest in front of the venue causing the problems, have someone go on a hunger strike (or alike although I'm not sure a grog strike would work) outside parliament house - basically anything that ensure there will be a media presence.
Sure the decision may have been made in the courts but now is also when the real battle begins.
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 15:57
yeah I agree Dreamkillers, I didnt mean it the way it sounded, I just meant that the only hope of North have of running poker machines again, or running them at Sefton Pk is through the pollies bill.
North supporters last Saturday showed how loyal and keen we are to rally to our club's need.
We will never give up the fight.
We're going to still mount a huge campaign with the petition and bothering the hell out of pollies.
As for a hunger strike.......hmmmm, at least with the groggies it would be easier to do that than enforce a beer strike! lol
It would have just been nice if we got to the High Court as it would have given us another ray of hope.
Ahh well, onward and upward.
Just a thought and Im not sure what the SANFLs laws or even the NAFCs constitution is but I wonder if Private Ownership would ever be considered in the SANFL? Im thinking of Robert Gerard here.
dreamkillers
22 May 2003, 16:52
yeah I agree Dreamkillers, I didnt mean it the way it sounded, I just meant that the only hope of North have of running poker machines again, or running them at Sefton Pk is through the pollies bill.
North supporters last Saturday showed how loyal and keen we are to rally to our club's need.
We will never give up the fight.
We're going to still mount a huge campaign with the petition and bothering the hell out of pollies.
As for a hunger strike.......hmmmm, at least with the groggies it would be easier to do that than enforce a beer strike! lol
It would have just been nice if we got to the High Court as it would have given us another ray of hope.
Ahh well, onward and upward.
Just a thought and Im not sure what the SANFLs laws or even the NAFCs constitution is but I wonder if Private Ownership would ever be considered in the SANFL? Im thinking of Robert Gerard here.
Last Saturday was a great effort and hopefully as you say all (or most) will never give up the fight. I'm just a little cynical at times of the apathy a lot of Australian's tend to show when the 'real' battles are on as it's very easy/conveniant to be in the spotlight at the beginning of a campaign and then fade away because it's 'too hard'. Not that I am accusing anyone here of that.
The petition and bothering pokies is good but as I said use the media to ensure it remains in the spotlight.
The hunger strike may have been a little unusual to mention but it's the extreme sort of activities that keep the media interested.
Whilst the high court may have helped it may have also resulted in some huge legal bills to the club.
I recall hearing something last week of the pollies mentioning that the club could be financially assisted to shift to another venue - is there another place closeby that could be suitable - given the article I read implied all costs of relocating would be covered by the govt if a high profile site is available that could be a good option.
Given that the SANFL still appear to be disgustingly silent on the issue it would be interesting to see if they had any rules or even an opinion on private ownership. Personally I don't see a problem with it as long as it is done correctly - ie like the Adelaide 36's not the Canberra Cannons.
I've also seen that our favourite pollie has also been involved in a dispute that could have seen one of Adelaide's last great live music venues shut down - The Governor Hindmarsh Hotel or as everyone knows it "The Gov".
It was pleasing to see that they appear to have won round 1 but the fight is far from over as some other pubs are facing the same problems or have just scrapped live music altogether.
Have a look at the following article and the website as you may get some ideas to help your club's situation as well as see some familiarities....
The Gov Saved (http://www.thegov.com.au/gov_saved.htm)
Save The Gov Website (http://www.savethegov.com/)
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 17:17
That latest deal you're talking about was actually proposed by the AHA President Peter Hurley (also Crows board member).
Ideally we'd like to stay where we are but the next best thing would be still hanging onto the pokies and moving somewhere else.
Mind you we do own the building at Sefton Park and its not a popular piece of real estate so we're still going to be left with paying off the loan for that.
Hopefully John Rau's bill allowing us to stay where we are goes through and in a best case scenario we could be up and trading again in 2 months time (worst case 6-8 months).
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 17:18
PS Dont praise Basketball SA or the 36ers management too much, with the fans and sponsors they get in they should be in a lot better position they currently are, still struggling to make repayments on the Powerhouse (formerly known as the Clipsal Powerhouse).
dreamkillers
22 May 2003, 17:39
PS Dont praise Basketball SA or the 36ers management too much, with the fans and sponsors they get in they should be in a lot better position they currently are, still struggling to make repayments on the Powerhouse (formerly known as the Clipsal Powerhouse).
Not too much no but they are a long way off being in the same circumstances as Canberra, many former Melbourne clubs and a lot of others in the comp.
No longer the Clipsal Powerhouse???
dreamkillers
22 May 2003, 17:46
That latest deal you're talking about was actually proposed by the AHA President Peter Hurley (also Crows board member).
Ideally we'd like to stay where we are but the next best thing would be still hanging onto the pokies and moving somewhere else.
Mind you we do own the building at Sefton Park and its not a popular piece of real estate so we're still going to be left with paying off the loan for that.
Hopefully John Rau's bill allowing us to stay where we are goes through and in a best case scenario we could be up and trading again in 2 months time (worst case 6-8 months).
Being in a shopping centre on a main road would be appealing to some sort of take away restaurant - although I have no idea how close others are.........
Has it been confirmed the doors are shut now??
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 17:49
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Not too much no but they are a long way off being in the same circumstances as Canberra, many former Melbourne clubs and a lot of others in the comp.
No longer the Clipsal Powerhouse???
Actually I'd probably disagree with you, dont get me wrong, Im a big 36er fan but BASA have been very ordinary with the resources they have. Canberra and other Melbourne Clubs had nothing to work with, Canberra did well to hold on as long as they did, if BASA was in charge of them they wouldn't have made it past 1990!
And Clipsal have pulled their sponsorship so its no longer the Clipsal Powerhouse, I think Mr Gerard agrees with my opinion hence him pulling his sponsorship.
For BASA to still be dogged with 10 million dollars debt with the results they've had in the last 5 years, and coporate boxes full and usually the 7500 public seats full is a disgrace.
Hmmm, I think we've got off track.
roostersgal4eva
22 May 2003, 18:16
we should find who gave us the licence in the first place and sue the pants off them
also isn't there a restraint of trade issue :?:
naughty monkey
22 May 2003, 18:42
RW, can you clarify please...
Norfs actually have two problems here
1) since the court decision you must surrender your pokie license, and with the current cap in place on the total number of pokies in the state you'll never get your license back. If this is correct then this is the most serious problem as it's a loss of income, regardless of if/where you could re-locate.
2). You own the real estate that you were going to use as your 'club', but now have lost your best source of income to pay off the place.
What was Rau's bill proposing to do?
- just allowing you to keep the pokie license (i.e exempting 'community' groups from the cap). At least you could put the pokies back in the clubrooms until a suitable location could be found?
- just changing the ridiculous laws that got you kicked out of Sefton Plaza in the first place. (This seems useless if you don't get your license back! Horse has bolted)
- both, or something else?
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 18:53
Originally posted by naughty monkey
RW, can you clarify please...
Norfs actually have two problems here
1) since the court decision you must surrender your pokie license, and with the current cap in place on the total number of pokies in the state you'll never get your license back. If this is correct then this is the most serious problem as it's a loss of income, regardless of if/where you could re-locate.
Correct
2). You own the real estate that you were going to use as your 'club', but now have lost your best source of income to pay off the place.
Correct
What was Rau's bill proposing to do?
- just allowing you to keep the pokie license (i.e exempting 'community' groups from the cap). At least you could put the pokies back in the clubrooms until a suitable location could be found?
- just changing the ridiculous laws that got you kicked out of Sefton Plaza in the first place. (This seems useless if you don't get your license back! Horse has bolted)
- both, or something else?
The 2nd one, but the AHA President Peter Hurley has requested the govt look at the 1st one.
None of this was unexpected hence why I organised the rally for last Saturday, the rally was never to sway a judge's decision (would have been a waste of time) it was to get publicity to the plight so John Rau's bill had a better chance of getting through.
For a full discussion on the topic with all the issues covered goto the forum at The Roost! (http://members.lycos.co.uk/wedgieouch/phpBB2/index.php)
naughty monkey
22 May 2003, 19:01
ta
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 19:04
Just through on the news, the Government is going to support John Rau's bill to save us and let us trade at Sefton Park!
Ive just turned into a Labour voter (only at State level).
You little bewdy, it seems our emails and rally have made a difference.
WELL DONE NORTH SUPPORTERS!
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 19:08
We were almost closed down today but thanks to Greg Griffen our solicitor, we're still trading.
Bohdan met with the premier Mike Rann today.
Rann said they'll introduce the legislation next week to let us trade until May 31 next year.
I'll get those email addresses up tonight!!!!!
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 19:43
Guys and Gals,
It is imperative that you contact all these pollies so they'll back Labor's bill to help save the NAFC.
The appropriate MPs are:
Mr Mark Brindal unley@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Robert Brokenshire mawson@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Dean Brown finniss@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Malcolm Buckby light@parliament.sa.gov.au
Ms Vickie Chapman bragg@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Iain Evans davenport@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Mark Goldsworthy kavel@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Graham Gunn stuart@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mrs Joan Hall morialta@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Martin Hamilton-Smith waite@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Kris Hanna mitchell@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Rob Kerin frome@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Dorothy Kotz newland@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Peter Lewis hammond@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Wayne Matthew bright@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mrs Karlene Maywald chaffey@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Rory McEwen mtgambier@parliament.sa.gov.au
Dr Duncan McFetridge morphett@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr John Meier goyder@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mrs Liz Penfold flinders@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mrs Isobel Redmond heysen@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Joe Scalzi hartley@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Bob Such fisher@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Ivan Venning schubert@parliament.sa.gov.au
Mr Mitch Williams macKillop@parliament.sa.gov.au
The appropriate senators are:
john.dawkins@parliament.sa.gov.au
Andrew.Evans@parliament.sa.gov.au
ian.gilfillan@democrats.org.au
sandra.kanck@parliament.sa.gov.au
diana.laidlaw@parliament.sa.gov.au
robert.lawson@parliament.sa.gov.au
rob.lucas@parliament.sa.gov.au
angus.redford@parliament.sa.gov.au
Kate.Reynolds@parliament.sa.gov.au
david.ridgway@parliament.sa.gov.au
caroline.schaefer@parliament.sa.gov.au
terry.stephens@parliament.sa.gov.au
julian.stephani@parliament.sa.gov.au
terry.cameron@parliament.sa.gov.au
I dont think there's much use for this one though:
nx@xen.net.au
Still Crowing
22 May 2003, 22:23
Well done RoosterWedgie!
Lets just hope petty politics doesn't scuttle this. I don't live in SA anymore, does the ALP have the numbers in the upper house to force it through? Is there a balance of power issue and so will they have to rely on Ind votes/Libs crossing the floor?
Again, well done.
Cheers,
Kasey
RoosterWedgie
22 May 2003, 23:04
Labour dont have the balance of power in the senate but we are madly sending out emails to the libs and others.
Indications are that the Libs will back it so we're looking home and hosed (Im not getting ****y though).
Rob Kerin was in our club rooms when we beat Port and its well known he and the Attorney General are behind the push too.
Shouldn't be a prob.
Adrian Shelton
22 May 2003, 23:54
Bite on that lot then X!!! Go ROOSTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Leaping Lindner
23 May 2003, 08:55
Labour dont have the balance of power in the senate but we are madly sending out emails to the libs and others.
Indications are that the Libs will back it so we're looking home and hosed (Im not getting ****y though).
Rob Kerin was in our club rooms when we beat Port and its well known he and the Attorney General are behind the push too.
Shouldn't be a prob.
Ian Gilfilan is a MAD roosters man Wedgie so that's one vote(indy/democrat) I reckon we can count on.
God bless Greg Griffen:D
Hit Rob Lucas with some emails, he is at Richmond every week for West Adelaide games. He would surely appreciate the situation.
Uncle Steve
23 May 2003, 12:00
I dont think there's much use for this one though:
nx@xen.net.au
Oh, I don't know about that... I've had a few spam emails hawking penis extensions. I'm sure those spammers would get some custom from the above address ;) :D
roostersgal4eva
23 May 2003, 16:56
OMG :D
I cant count my chickens BUT it looks like we are saved
BIG thanks to wedgie for keeping us up-to-date
DoggyBase
23 May 2003, 17:08
I noticed on Nick Xenophon's website they have removed all reference to the Roosters Pokies situation. Gone is the announcement that Xenophon has triumphed over the Roosters' plans to put more pokies in shopping centres. He's obviously now realised that trying to bury the Roosters was not such a vote winner after all! Just goes to show he's just another politician with self-interest at heart.
dreamkillers
23 May 2003, 17:22
Originally posted by DoggyBase
I noticed on Nick Xenophon's website they have removed all reference to the Roosters Pokies situation. Gone is the announcement that Xenophon has triumphed over the Roosters' plans to put more pokies in shopping centres. He's obviously now realised that trying to bury the Roosters was not such a vote winner after all! Just goes to show he's just another politician with self-interest at heart.
Now that's got to be worth an email to the loser by everyone who supports footy clubs............
Might even be worth prompting the media to investigate why he's done such a backflip considering how passionate he has been in putting forward his pathetic arguments.
Port Adelaide 1870
23 May 2003, 22:00
Originally posted by DoggyBase
What is his website address ?
DoggyBase
24 May 2003, 01:49
Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
What is his website address ?
xen.net.au (http://www.xen.net.au)
Port Adelaide 1870
24 May 2003, 06:59
Thanks Doggybase.
PA1870
RoosterWedgie
24 May 2003, 09:14
I just had a bit of a looksy at his site.
You'd think if he was going to address concerns of absestos tiles at Ascot Park Primary School that he'd at least learn how to spell "Ascot".
What a ****. Obviously does his research.
Port Adelaide 1870
24 May 2003, 11:45
Obviously No headlines about how he is saving the community from the Evils the NAFC Poker Machines, the very same machines that were being used by the club, to buy overseas Golfing trips for the directors, new Mercedes, 3 story mansions at Springfield and Stoney fell and Power and influence in the community..yeah right :rolleyes:
Doing this denying the NAFC...on behalf of one of the biggest Pokie Barons in SA and their vermin solicitors ( as seen on TV ).
Denying one of Adelaides greatest and longserving sporting institutions, the club that perhaps 90% of the taverns patrons support.....all for...
GREED ...get a social conscience, get a grip , get a life..
Well done North Adelaide Football Club
PA1870
timelord
24 May 2003, 11:59
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Might even be worth prompting the media to investigate why he's done such a backflip considering how passionate he has been in putting forward his pathetic arguments.
What, the Advertiser getting into their "golden boy"? OK, DK, and while we're about it, I heard pigs fly as well! :D :D
Just ribbing your comment, mate! :cool: