View Full Version : votes Vs the Scum

Mad Bomber Sean
10 Apr 2010, 22:10
1. Watson
2. Pears
3. Williams

Honorable mentions to Fletch/Reimers/ Dempsey

Awesome efforts from Gumby & youngens Zaha, Melk, Colyer

Oh Fart... I forgot Massive game by NLM - vastly superior than Mcphee for the last 5 years..

bipolarbeaR
10 Apr 2010, 22:20
1. Fletcher
Daylight
Night
Daylight
2. Watson
3. NLM

silk
10 Apr 2010, 22:21
3. Pears
2. Dyson
1. Williams/Fletcher/NLM

Hon Mentions: Watson, Dempsey, Hooker, Reimers

ceebs
10 Apr 2010, 22:22
3. Dyson
2. NLM
1. Reimers

Mentions to Fletcher, Pears, Williams, Watson

Bomber32
10 Apr 2010, 22:26
3. Fletcher
2. Pears
1. Reimers

Honourable mentions: Lovett-Murray, Watson, Dyson, Williams, Colyer

JD11
10 Apr 2010, 22:28
3. Fletch
2. Pears
1. NLM

TeamHurley
10 Apr 2010, 22:35
3. Fletch
Vintage fletcher tonight. Won so many contests.
2. Watson
Solid game.
1. Pears
BOG first half. Faded a bit in the second

Great debut from coyler and melksham. Wasnt really sold on either of them when we drated them but they showed something tonight.

Storyboy
10 Apr 2010, 22:42
3. Watson
2. Fletcher (surely we can convince him to go on another year right?)
1. Lovett-Murray

Honourables: Remiers, Melksham, Colyer, Pears, Williams*

*Said we should have patience. Gee he hasn't lost that straight kick has he? Yay!

Frothies Mcveigh
10 Apr 2010, 22:47
3. Fletcher
2. Dyson
1. NLM

Colyer and Melksham played well on debut.

threeleggedgoat
10 Apr 2010, 22:48
couldn't have been more pleased with pears' game (mainly the first 3 qtrs), absolutely took his opponents to the cleaners in every contest i saw and set up so much play running off them. fletch was ageless as usual and probably my BOG, and was very happy with watson and reimers (although he was a bit patchy at times).

3 - fletcher
2 & 1 - probably any of the above

ChelseaFC
10 Apr 2010, 22:50
3-Fletcher
2-Pears
1-Reimers

Good to see that our votes are predominantly given to our forwards and defenders and away from the middle.

EssendonPride
10 Apr 2010, 22:50
3. Fletch
2. Williams
1. Watson.

Quite a few others very very close.

Ruob
10 Apr 2010, 22:54
3. Fletcher
2. Reimers
1. Watson

Godzke
10 Apr 2010, 22:57
3. NLM - BRILLIANT
2. Pears
1. Reimers

Fletch, top effort mate but couldn't quite squeeze you in. Colyer was ****ing incredible!! So quick and his evasive skills in tight are something we've been crying out for since ... well forever.

Pleased with Watson, Gumby, Williams (well done, but keep working) and good to see Hille and Ryder putting the head down to try and find some form. More so Hille than Ryder but he's getting there.

rines
10 Apr 2010, 23:11
3. Fletch - puts the youth policy to shame! Awesome display from our one remaining champion.

2. Watson - Only clearance winner as usual

1. Reimers - Showed why dropping him was stupid, stupid, stupid. X-Factor and spark that we have been lacking. Made things happen up forward.

Hon. Men.: Colyer, Milky - Nice showing first up.. gives me hope our recruiting isn't all bad. Willo - against bottom sides who leave our F50 wide open this guy will carve them up. NLM - stood up and was a leader.

windyhill
10 Apr 2010, 23:15
3. Fletch
2. Willo (thanks hawks)
1. Colyer, what a ****ing debut.

Wahooti Fandango
10 Apr 2010, 23:22
3. Fletcher
2. Williams
1. Pears

un_eggs
10 Apr 2010, 23:24
3/ Fletch. Put simply; without him we would've lost comfortably. No other player would have made that difference if missing from the team.
2/ Watson. Without him would have gone close to losing
1/ NLM. Best game I've seen him play. First time I've felt that he's accepted a level of responsibility for leading our young team from the trenches.

HighettBomber
10 Apr 2010, 23:25
3. NLM - Fantastic game
2. Pears - Tore Waite a new one
1. Williams - 4 Goals in a low scoring game was a great effort.

Watson and Fletcher were also fantastic, as was Reimers. Special mention to Colyer, who may have got a vote if his kicking was a little better, fantastic debut, Melksham wasn't half bad either.

blitzer
10 Apr 2010, 23:26
Actually some serious competition for the spots this week.

3. Fletcher - Was terrific, was the reason blues struggled so much getting past CHF area. Won contest after contest against a range of opponents. I think he owes it to the bombers to keep playing until his son is old enough to take over :D

2. Pears - Really liked his game. Won just about every 1 on 1 contest he was involved in and showed terrific body positioning, reading of the play and composure throughout. Also gave great rebound, particularly in the first half.

1. NLM - There was a couple of guys in contention for this spot, but NLM was terrific first game back. Lets just hope that he can keep this form up and it wasn't just for his 100th.

Unlucky: Reimers, Watson, Williams

Tony Delaney
10 Apr 2010, 23:28
3 Fletcher - What can you say - just the usual

2 Watson - Clean, slick and creative

1 Williams - 4 Goals at good times

Darealrath
10 Apr 2010, 23:33
3. Pears
2. Fletcher
1. Reimers

Valve Bounce
10 Apr 2010, 23:37
Fletcher played his heart out. Did anyone notice Fletch directing traffic from the backline?

Wahooti Fandango
10 Apr 2010, 23:39
Fletcher played his heart out. Did anyone notice Fletch directing traffic from the backline?

The guy is a freak. He is the best player, along with Hird, that I have seen play for the Bombers (admittedly I am only 25). Absolute gun and easily better than Scarlett. :D

Valve Bounce
10 Apr 2010, 23:41
The guy is a freak. He is the best player, along with Hird, that I have seen play for the Bombers (admittedly I am only 25). Absolute gun and easily better than Scarlett. :D

Maybe ypu're too young to know, but he is Plastic Man in disguise. :D

YouveBeenReimered
10 Apr 2010, 23:41
3. Reimers
2. Watson
1. Fletcher

Apologies to Stanton, Pears, Williams, Ryder, Dyson, Houli and I thought Hille was pretty good too.

Donakebab
10 Apr 2010, 23:42
3. Fletcher (Age, pfft, means nothing!)
2. Pears (Continues to command respect. Fletch 2.0)
1. NLM (Great 100th, slotted straight into our midfield and gave it pace and grunt that was desperately needed. GTFO Lovett, this guy actually plays 4 quarters!)

Would have loved to give Reimers one, he seemed to be invovled in just about every score we had. Ripper of a game.

Huge props to Watson (time stands still when the ball is in his hands), Willo (not only goals, but pressure too, earned his spot and showed why we've been chasing him for years), Depmsey (ordinary disposal at times, but great game), Slatts (gave chop outs and held Betts real well, who only looked dangerous when Slatts had a breather), Milky and Colyer (Milks composure and attack at the ball was fantastic and Colyer's run and willingness to attack the game was just what we all wanted to see).

Solid game from just about everyone, our tall backs absolutely slaughtered their hacks.

I ****ING LOVE THIS CLUB!!!!!!!!

kelvin_sheedy
10 Apr 2010, 23:44
3. Fletch.

Can't decide the others but 2 of NLM, Dempsey, Pears, Reimers, Watson

SirJimi05
10 Apr 2010, 23:52
3. Dyson
2. Pears
1. Riemers

SirJimi05
10 Apr 2010, 23:54
3. Fletch.

Can't decide the others but 2 of NLM, Dempsey, Pears, Reimers, Watson

Dempsey's disposal kept Carlton in the game.

Wahooti Fandango
10 Apr 2010, 23:56

His spoiling and ability to weave through traffic in the defensive 50 kept them out of the game.

kelvin_sheedy
11 Apr 2010, 00:04

See Patriots post.

Which ones in particular? I only recall him kicking on the man on the mark and a grubber kick when the helter skelter play was on.

The rest of his kicking was pretty good.

Ludwig van Bertstare
11 Apr 2010, 00:05
3. NLM
2. Reimers
1. Fletch

Dan26
11 Apr 2010, 00:15
3. Fletcher
2. Dyson
1. Williams

Rocky_Star_Pro
11 Apr 2010, 00:23
1. Fletcher
2. Reimers
3. Pears :)

sikmoe
11 Apr 2010, 00:29
3.Fletch
2.NLM
1.Hocking( cant believe he hasnt been mentioned:S)

Rhombus
11 Apr 2010, 00:49
I went as a neutral supporter tonight (Hope you don't mind)

My votes:

3 Fletcher - Did everything right. Still moves as if he's 20. The chase on Betts in the 3rd qtr shows he hasn't lost his pace.

2 Lovett-Murray - Looked really focused, clean, sharp and precise. His opponent led him to the ball a few times but he was very good.

1 Watson - Watched him very, very closely as he's in my Dream Team. Won just about every possession at stoppages. He's probably the best stoppage player I've seen and has super quick hands.

When the ball is in general play though he cannot run through the lines or get off his man to get an easy kick. Carlton played McLean on him in qtr 2 and then Carrazzo after that and Carrazzo was too quick and got away from him a lot and was able to run with him easily.

Other observations -

Colyer looked very, very impressive. I think he's going to be a long term prospect. Quick, good skills and decisions.

Stanton spent most of his night trying to get an easy possession in space. He really struggled though when he was under pressure and has suspect foot skills. Not sure if his style of game will suit a tough, physical final.

Ok, Well done Bombers and hope your boys make the 8.

Noddy Holder
11 Apr 2010, 01:01
3. Reimers - If Triple M can give him three votes so can I.:p
2. Watson
1. Fletcher

Colyer, Melksham:thumbsu:

Kong
11 Apr 2010, 01:08
3) Lovett-Murray. Wow.

2) Pears. What a kid.

1) Fletcher. Vintage.

Shane Hird
11 Apr 2010, 01:19
Fletcher
Pears
NLM

Welsh-for doing his job.:thumbsu:

Melkman and Colyer had sensational debuts. There's light at the end...!

Gumbles for finally showing Essendon supporters how you used to play at Rushton Park. Confidence is growing. Showed at last, the wonderful spring in his legs. Can't believe I traded him out after rd1..

Willams-absolute rubbish 1st half- great 2nd half.

Son of Tim, Dyson, Hooker, Hocking, Zaka, Dempsey all played well.

Houli's best game imo. He's getting there.

AS9
11 Apr 2010, 01:58
My votes, although i haven't watched the replay yet so they may change:

3. Fletcher - super game tonight just so reliable if defence
2. Dyson - mauled Yarren tonight and provided plenty of drive off he half back line. Very underated performance by him tonight.
1. Reimers - why he was dropped last week we'll never know.

Honourable mentions to:
NLM - love the way he goes about his footy. Provides the hardness that we are lacking of.
Williams - had his first, second, third and fourth scoring shots tonight in Essendon colours =D
Watson - so good in and under.
And last but not least great debuts by both Melksham and Colyer. Melksham looked composed in possession and used the ball really well. Colyer has really good pace and was not afraid to use it. Took the game on!

citizen-erased
11 Apr 2010, 02:45
first up apologies to NLM. great game.

3-Reimers. just played quality all night.
2-Fletcher. i wish he could go around another 10 years.
1-Welsh. shut down a potentially dangerous murphy. cant be underestimated

could also give votes to williams, melksham and hooker.

yaco55
11 Apr 2010, 05:43
Fletcher
Watson
NLM

caboose
11 Apr 2010, 05:57
3 - Fletcher (what an unbelievable player)
2 - Watson
1 - Reimers

SDR223
11 Apr 2010, 08:08
3. Pears - Brilliant first half and destroyed Waite (the Carlon Palyer I was most concerned about)

2. Fletcher - Best game from Fletch in a while and I was starting to have doubts

1. Melksham and Colyer - For their poise and hardness. I thought both were way off being ready for seniors but both proved me wrong. Well done.

1. Welsh - Loves playing aginst Carlton - Kept Murphy out of the game.

beev
11 Apr 2010, 09:24
3. Lovett-Murray
2. Fletcher
1. Reimers

SirJimi05
11 Apr 2010, 09:48
See Patriots post.

Which ones in particular? I only recall him kicking on the man on the mark and a grubber kick when the helter skelter play was on.

The rest of his kicking was pretty good.

When i watch the replay i will tell you exactly how many. I know for a fact he butchered the ball atleast 5 times. I'm beginning to think he is the worst kick in the AFL which is a real shame because he would be a very very good player if he could kick.

Ben the Gooner
11 Apr 2010, 09:53
My replay-less votes.

5. Thornton
4. Pears
3. Reimers
2. NLM
1. Williams

Lance Uppercut
11 Apr 2010, 12:48
3. NLM
2. Fletch
1. Reimers

A number of others very stiff to miss out.

****ing great effort Dons!

sen entertainment bloke
11 Apr 2010, 13:25
3/ Fletcher

2/ Watson

1/ Pears

Jonesy1987
11 Apr 2010, 16:15
3. Fletcher
2. Reimers
1. Williams

Unlucky: Dempsey, Pears, Hooker, Watson, Welsh, Colyer, Melksham, NLM, Dyson.

LGS89
11 Apr 2010, 18:16
3. Fletch
2. NLM
1. Watson

bacon buster
11 Apr 2010, 18:23
i found it hard to pick 3, because i think about 10-12 players all contributed.

i noticed noone really mentioned hille, but i felt that he dominated the ruck when he was there. outmuscled kreuzer nearly every time, and he had been 'best ruckman in comp' for the first 2 weeks.

3. fletch. that goal save on betts was bloody awesome
2. watson
1. NLM

mentions to reimers, williams, dempsey, pears (he destroyed any carlton forward he was on), colyer, welsh (great lock down job) and i actually thought dyson played well all night and used the ball well when most were butchering it.

bacon buster
11 Apr 2010, 18:27
When i watch the replay i will tell you exactly how many. I know for a fact he butchered the ball atleast 5 times. I'm beginning to think he is the worst kick in the AFL which is a real shame because he would be a very very good player if he could kick.

73% efficiency last night. he wasn't the only player to bucher it last night, but i thought he played quite well,

Ben the Gooner
11 Apr 2010, 19:38
Watched the replay:

5. Thornton Fletcher
4. Pears
3. Reimers
2. NLM
1. Williams

twarby
11 Apr 2010, 20:54
3. Fletcher
2. Watson
1. NLM
1. Reimers

rusman
11 Apr 2010, 20:58
Purely from watching live at the game

Reimers
Fletch
Pears

keepzitreal
11 Apr 2010, 21:10
1. Fletcher
Daylight
Night
Daylight
2. Watson
3. NLM

ditto

Itsmyshow
12 Apr 2010, 09:05
Gee he is good... I hope he plays till he is 40

3 - Dustin Fletcher
2 - Nathan Lovett-Murray
1 - Tayte Pears.

It was good to get on the board with a win, overall we still have a long long way to go, Carlton were terribly inefficient with the ball and that could possibly have been our saving grace, when inaccuracy and inefficiency was so prevelant it was good to have someone as accurate as Williams finding enough of the ball to kick a score (finally). I was a little sceptical about Collier, but he was impressive with his ability to break the lines. Melksham was impressive also. With Hurley returning (hopefully) this week, Gumby will be able to improve more rapidly, but he is getting better with every game.. A tough road trip this week and we have been terrible travelling in recent times, we really need to back up with a win this week though for momentum.

Towno78
12 Apr 2010, 12:22
3. Pears (The next Brian Lake)
2. NLM (Welcome back)
1. Watson (The ball was safe when it was in this man's hands)

Also, Fletch (prob missed only cos its what I expect from him)
Reimers (Gotta love 18 kicks, 0 handpasses)
Dyson (One of his better in terms of contested footy I thought)

eth-dog
12 Apr 2010, 12:37
3: Pears- awesome game by the next Matty Scarlett
2: NLM- Him>>>>>>>>>Betts in 100th game(s) respectively
1: Fletch- Awesome

daffo
12 Apr 2010, 13:10
3. Fletch
2. Williams
1. Reimers

Boucks09
12 Apr 2010, 16:28
Watched the replay last night which altered things a little...

3/ Dustin Fletcher

It wasn't just his disposal efficiency, but the amount of contests that he killed or goals that he saved was incredible. There were so many times in pack contest where Fletcher would belt the ball away or get a hand in the way. He completely smashed Henderson and was the best player on the ground. Back to his absolute best.

2/ Kyle Reimers

Everytime he got the ball something good happened. He was by far and away our most dangerous option forward of the centre. Hopefully he is left up forward because he could end up as a similar type to Akermanis.

1/ Jobe Watson

Was massive in the first quarter and got the key possessions when the team needed him. He hasn't hit his straps yet but is building nicely into his season.

Mentions

On the night I thought Houli was attrocious. I still stand by the fact that a Houli mistake is normally equal to 2 of anyboby elses (e.g. when he mucks up it is REALLY bad), but he wasn't as bad as I thought. There weren't too many of the loopy handballs, and he did go hard when he needed to. He looks a better HBF than Reimers and Myers and should be left there at this stage.

I thought Lonergan struggled and will find it hard to keep his spot.

Ryder is getting there and showed some signs.

Pears was very good but just gave away a few unnecessary free kicks.

Welsh did a good job on Murphy but needs to win more of his own ball.

Winderlich is struggling and looks half the player he was last year.

NLM is a must in our midfield.

We need to improve considerably to beat West Coast next week.

gothedons18
12 Apr 2010, 17:09
Fletcher definitely deserves 3 votes imo.

james_omahoney
12 Apr 2010, 17:51
3. Pears
2. Fletcher
1. Reimers

Last: Houli :p