5. Warren Tredrea
4. Roger James
3. Byron Pickett
2. Darryl Wakelin
1. Jarrad Schofield

mic59
23 May 2003, 23:57
5 - W. Tredrea.
Is there anyone else I can choose? He wasn't just amazingly good, he looked good. When he was moving in to mark you knew he would take it or bring it to ground. And as well as kicking 7 he gave 1 to Lade. And probably others, his 16 kicks were all effective. But that one where he grabbed it out of Brogan's hands, I thought handing it off to a team mate was a throw?

4. - James.
Stood up for Stevens who was quiet with his corky. Should have got more frees than he did as he continually threw himself in at the centre and was grabbed around the neck. And what a goal! You could almost see him think, "I'll pick this up, no he'll grab me, what if I do this".

3 - Pickett
Back in a big way. Went missing in the 3rd quarter after a big 2nd quarter but kicked the final goal to have 4 on a night when he saw off 3 opponents.

2 - Wakelin
Has had some less than memorable games this year, particularly the Melbourne one. Didn't look all that impressive last week. Every time the Bombers sent it forward he was there to take the strong mark. Even had a shot at goal(off a pass from Paxman) but failed to fulfil the backmans' dream.

1 - Wilson
Is Cupido so bad? No, he just hasn't met someone like Michael Wilson. Mopped up everything that was sent that way and distributed it perfectly, usually to a running Gav.

Rats Tossbag
24 May 2003, 00:03
5. Warren Tredrea
4. Darryl Wakelin
3. Byron Pickett
2. Peter Burgoyne
1. Mark Williams (giving that smug Colli****er President a serve)

Bresh
24 May 2003, 00:07
Originally posted by Rats Tossbag
1. Mark Williams (giving that smug Colli****er President a serve)

Please elaborate...

mic59
24 May 2003, 00:11
Originally posted by Guey_34
Please elaborate...

I think you will find that the missing letters are "knaw" backwards.

Ray Nolan
24 May 2003, 00:12
Basically he told Eddie that Collingwood should go and change their jumper, Eddie whinged, did his usual routine about Collingwood never changing the guernsey. Choco said if it's good enough for major world sporting clubs like Arsenal & Man United then it was good enough for a club like Collingwood and that was his opinion as an ex-Collingwood captain. There wasn't much Eddie could say at this point so he started rabbiting on about our "traditional colours" of magenta & blue but by this stage he had been made to look like a total ass by a man of far superior intellect in Choco.:)

Bresh
24 May 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by Ray Nolan
Basically he told Eddie that Collingwood should go and change their jumper, Eddie whinged, did his usual routine about Collingwood never changing the guernsey. Choco said if it's good enough major world sporting clubs like Arsenal & Man United then it was good enough for a club like Collingwood and that was his opinion as an ex-Collingwood captain. There wasn't much Eddie could say at this point so he started rabbiting on about our "traditional colours" of magenta & blue but by this stage he had been made to look like a total ass by a man of far superior intellect in Choco.:)

When did this occur? Post-game?

If so I'm staying up for the Fox Footy replay!

blackdiamond
24 May 2003, 00:14
I was considering giving Darren Mead a couple of votes for the possessions Eddie gave him.

Get out of the commentating game Eddie and stick to doing what you do best.

Ray Nolan
24 May 2003, 00:16
Originally posted by Guey_34
When did this occur? Post-game?

If so I'm staying up for the Fox Footy replay!

Yeah, in the post-match interviews, Choco bought it up towards the end of the interview when the matter of next week came up.

mic59
24 May 2003, 00:17
Originally posted by Scott

He would but there's no money in being an absolute ****er.

koulagirl22
24 May 2003, 00:18
5 - Warren Tredrea
4 - Roger James
3 - Darryl Wakelin
2 - Gavin Wanganeen
1 - Che ****atoo-Collins

Ray Nolan
24 May 2003, 00:18
Originally posted by Scott
I was considering giving Darren Mead a couple of votes for the possessions Eddie gave him.

I know it was ridiculous wasn't it! The number of times he called us "Port Power" really began to grate as well, you know what our name is Eddie so call us by it!:mad:

Rats Tossbag
24 May 2003, 00:25
Choco is still ripping into that piece ***** pig headed Collimasturbater President in his post match conference as well now.
Gunna liven up next weeks match for sure now :D

rubberman
24 May 2003, 00:32
5 - Tredrea
4 - James
3 - Wanganeen
2 - Pickett
1 - Brogan

Pred
24 May 2003, 00:41
Geez it shirts me not being able to see the games live.

5. Tredrea
4. Tredrea's goalkicking coach
3. Chad, for making Tredders think he had to stand up
2. The tribunal for being w@nkers and keeping chad out
1. Moses, for playing a damn good game for Jerusalem

Almost had to put myself in for a point over Moses for
kicking a huge goal with a pretty young Japanese girl
over the weekend ;)

btw just listening to the replay of Rex Hunt yodelling his head off
(doing the fat-lady-warm-up when we were nearly home)
What a silly punt. But funny :)

Rats Tossbag
24 May 2003, 01:01
Originally posted by Pred
3. Chad, for making Tredders think he had to stand up

I think your 100% correct there Pred, that seems to be the difference tonight as Tredders seemed to give that impression all night that he had to really make a big impact tonight and to his credit he did very well.

Ray Nolan
24 May 2003, 01:07
Originally posted by Rats Tossbag
Choco is still ripping into that piece ***** pig headed Collimasturbater President in his post match conference as well now.
Gunna liven up next weeks match for sure now :D

What did he have to say at the press conference? I missed it.:(

Port01
24 May 2003, 02:27
5 - Tredders
Kicking straight is good.

4 - Wakelin
Gave the 4 to Wakes as he took a lot of saving marks, and kept the game settled a few times we were starting to fall behind.

3 - James
Roger was probably the cleanest and smoothest player out there.

2 - Wanganeen
Gav deserves votes, although he wasn't quite the dominant force he has been.

1 - Lade
I know its probably not cool to give votes to Lade, but I think he worked tirelessly both in the ruck and forward, missing a Tredders-esque sitter cost him a possible 2.

Sandola
24 May 2003, 11:08
5. Tredrea

4. Pickett
3. Wakelin
2. James
1. Carr

But, again, an all-round effort. Brogan, Che, Wilson, Schofield, the Burgoynes -- great game.

gbear
24 May 2003, 11:15
5. Tredrea
4. James
3. Wakelin
2. P. Burgoyne
1. Pickett

sog35
24 May 2003, 11:22
5 - Tredrea
4 - James
3 - P Burgoyne
2 - Wilson
1 - Pickett

Porthos
24 May 2003, 12:42
5. Warren G. Tredrea
4. Roger James
3. Jarrad Schofield - I love the new playmaker role he has.
2. Byron Pickett
1. Gavin Wanganeen

portly
24 May 2003, 12:58
5. Warren Tredrea
4. Peter Burgoyne
3. Darryl Wakelin
2. Roger James
1. Byron Pickett

Macca19
24 May 2003, 13:20
5 - Tredrea
4 - Wakelin
3 - Pickett
2 - Wanganeen
1 - James

mic59
24 May 2003, 13:50
Originally posted by Port01
1 - Lade
I know its probably not cool to give votes to Lade, but I think he worked tirelessly both in the ruck and forward, missing a Tredders-esque sitter cost him a possible 2.

It's true that does happen on fan websites', but the votes should always go to your considered best players, no matter what your or others opinion of that player. After all, Lade got 31 votes last week, including one 5 and two 4's. And if Kingsley had repeated his first quarter effort for the whole game I'm sure he'd have had votes from the Kangaroos game.

Nicski
24 May 2003, 15:18
5. Tredrea
4. James
3. Pickett
2. Wakelin
1. Wanganeen

Andre
24 May 2003, 17:27
5 - Tredrea. One off his best goal total, but the best game he's played. I was worried as usual for his first set shot and told my fiance (first game able to drag her along to this year) it could go anywhere. Damn glad I was made to eat my words repeatedly last night :) 4 games (2 home, 2 in Melb.) gotten to this year and all four wins. I'm good luck :D

A break for daylight

4 - James. Stevens was not his usual prolific ball getting self last night, but luckily Roger stepped up. And what a goal! If that's not goal of the week it's rigged.
3 - P. Burgoyne. Great to see the Pickett hardness rubbing off.
2 - Wanganeen. Did his best work when Essendon challenged, but with a better team effort wasn't forced to put on his cape and do too many heroics.
1 - Pickett. His second quarter certainly helped get the half time lead. And helped seal it at the end.

Appologies to Lade, another great game. Best thing about the last two weeks has been the return to form of both Pickett and Lade. The latter over shadowed by the former, but just as appreciated. Especially with Matty's absence.

Coaching : 8 out of 10. The match up's worked from the start except possibly midfield could have been rotated some more as our clearances out of the centre weren't that crash hot.

Umpiring : 8 out of 10. The usual week to week inconsistency. This week they remembered there is a holding the ball rule. It was applied fairly consistently though so no complaints. In fact prefer seeing tackler rewarded even if we are on the end of it. No effect on the game.

PAfolwr
24 May 2003, 18:14
Tredrea- Few games in a row, and the form returns. BOG great game.
Wanganeen-He really did everything required with minimum fuss.
P. Burgoyne- With Francou missing he is really turning into a top class midfielder. Being in the midfield seems to have curbed his heroics.
James-Just keeps on keeping on.
Wakelin-Even though he got a lot of votes against the Crows, I thought this was his best game yet.

Apologies heaps again, including Pickett, Brogan and Lade.

Coaching- 8/10 Clearances weren't the best, but we were one step ahead of Essendon for most of the match.

Umpiring- 8/10 Much the same as last week in so far as it didn't influence the outcome.

dreamkillers
24 May 2003, 19:13
5 - Tredrea

4/3/2/1 - the other 21 players.....

Great effort last night which right from the start we looked completely switched on - even though Essendon came back at us a couple of times the final result never looked in doubt as we were always going to break away at some stage.

I guess I better do the rest of the votes though......

4 - James
3 - Senior Burger
2 - Wakelin
1 - Wilbur - remember the commentators saying Cupido is running hot with 3 kicks and 2 goals early in the game........well he certainly went ice cold once Wilbur moved onto him.

Coaching 9/10......it would have only been 8 but I gave Choco a bonus point for putting Eddie to shame in the post match interview.

Umpiring 7/10.........as others have said they were at their usual inconsistent best but didn't have any impact on the result.

hans moleman
24 May 2003, 19:25
5 - Tredrea (chad who?)
4 - James
3 - Wakelin
2 - Pickett
1 - Wanganeen

Schofield unlucky to miss out...

JuniorBurger
25 May 2003, 01:16
5 Tredders
4 Senior Burger
3 Gav!!!!
2 Wakes
1 Jamesy

Unlucky- Che, Choppy, Wilbur, Junior, Ladey and Schoey (in no particular order!)

Eago77
26 May 2003, 22:26
Better late than never (just got back), haven't seen a replay so i'll go on my gut feelings from seeing it live:

5- Tredders- new do, better kicking. Now we can add what 4-5 goals each match to his usual 20+ touches and a dozen marks. If he plays like that week in week out (or infact just kicks with the same accuracy) then he will make Carey (even at the height of his powers) look second rate.

4- Senior Burger - another good solid game from Senior, showing that it isn'rt just Stevens who has stepped up to cover Francou in the midfield.

3- Pickett - maximum impact. Kicked 4 goals and was directly responsible for two others, one from a great tackle and a great kick to Senior who converted and one other from a pinpoint pass to tredders (i think). Outstanding 2nd quarter and the main reason for our good half time lead.

2- Super Gav - from watching the game live he played another belter, maybe not in his best few games this season and was down a little on touches but they were all quality.

1- James - sheer weight of numbers in the time he spent on the ground was enough, that goal helped and the fact he never wastes the ball should give him more than one but i couldn't give him anymore. He did spend a fair bit of time on the pine.

Very Unlucky: Lade - another good preformance, something like 30 hitouts, not bad for our number 3 ruckman behind Brogan and that other fellow.

Unlucky: Che, Schoey & Wakes.

Not voting on the coaching & umpiring as without a replay to view as yet it is a little hard to give a vote.

Will vote on the Colonila Stadium food:
Value - 0/10. $4 bucks seems to be the prices of everything hot (well attempted hot anyway), a coke or a beer (bloody Carlton midstrength) is $4, a chocolate bar is $3.
Served at correct temp: Hot coke, cold pies & chips is the cry from the vendors. 3/10 atleast the beer was semi cold much better than at Subiaco.
Presentation: 2/10, the attempted "chicken & hot chips" is especially pleasing to the eye, not.
Staff: 3/10, apparently 4 beers (F*cking midstrength) is the maximum that ONE can order, even if there are two carrying it, so you have to order 4 then make the other bloke pay & order for two, eventually after a few rounds this practise ceased, although even then it was a challenge for them to workout how much 6 beers would cost. The 3 goes to the food staff as they are nice enough, Zero to the bar people.

One last observation of the match, i thought it was cow supporters who left early but hell, half the stadium had left 5 minutes before the end, it was an embarrassing show of "support" from the Essendon crowd.