View Full Version : TV Ok, so I'm finding Hey Hey it's saturday funny
Is anyone watching it? It's mildly entertaining. I would have thought it would be awful.
Its not to bad at all.
But you would be spewin giving up a great entertainment centre for some poxy golf clubs on pluck a duck
TheStinger
14 Apr 2010, 21:36
Turned over at the right time, Slava Gregorian and the other guy (missed who he was) going nuts on the acoustics. Now that's real music.
Its not to bad at all.
But you would be spewin giving up a great entertainment centre for some poxy golf clubs on pluck a duck
and she was...
(i wanted the old lady to win red faces)
Slava and Smokin' Joe were great.
Also great was the chick doing the Plucka-Duck segment. And i mean the good looking one who wasnt competing, for all parties concerned
I can't believe people actually watched this crap, it should have stayed dead & buried.
SunKing
15 Apr 2010, 01:31
Also great was the chick doing the Plucka-Duck segment. And i mean the good looking one who wasnt competing, for all parties concerned
IIRC she was a host on Quizmania a few years back.
Damon_3388
15 Apr 2010, 01:36
The two specials they did a couple of months back were nothing short of absolutely cringeworthy television. Hard to believe the proper return is any different. I'm not sure if I can bring myself to watch it and find out :p
Plugger35
15 Apr 2010, 01:50
I don't know why they brought this back.
It might have been OK back in the 80s or 90s but now it just feels dated. Also having it on Wednesday night doesn't really work either, it was better as a Saturday night show where it was kind of a warm up to going out for the night and you were having a few drinks. It's not the sort of show I would sit down on a Wednesday night and watch normally.
Bombers_Forever
15 Apr 2010, 07:57
I loved it - some of the jokes fell flat but all in all, I got a good laugh out of it and it is better than all the murder/cop/investigation shows that are on now. The guy who does the cartoons and the captions - now that is funny.
Slava and the other guy - amazing. At the moment, we don't have any show to showcase talent like that, or even have overseas guests perform. But please, no more Vanessa Amorossi please - she is awful!!!!!!!
Bombers_Forever
15 Apr 2010, 07:58
I don't know why it is not on Saturday either - 9 has absolute garbage on the timeslot. Are they scared about competiting against the football????
Ruddeger07
15 Apr 2010, 09:08
I don't know why it is not on Saturday either - 9 has absolute garbage on the timeslot. Are they scared about competiting against the football????
Is NRL on Nine on saturday night in Sydney and Brisbane ?
No doubt they would be.
It would be great as "Hey hey its Friday night" on from 7.30 - 9 that would help kill the better homes time slot and a chance to get a few coldies in ready for the footy.
I liked it, but 2 hours 10minutes was way to long, Same content jammed into 1 1/2 hours and make it a little more edgy. On a side note, the house band was brilliant. The Bounce should take note.
JimDocker
15 Apr 2010, 11:20
Is anyone watching it? It's mildly entertaining. I would have thought it would be awful.
Is this the same Nicky that has been slagging off Australian television compared to British ? It is so far below the standard of what should be a minimum requirement.
I did not watch it last night. My wife was flicking channels and I saw 2 minutes of Darryl Somers playing with his iphone. Great Television :rolleyes:
Slava Grigorian is a great talent and there is a showcase for him. I have seen him many times on Sunday Arts on the ABC.
I did watch a bit of Hungry Beast last night and that is one show that gets better and better.
I watched half of it...
1st) It has it's place in TV... we need more mindless shows and not clones of NCIS, CSI, etc... Crime dramas, Medical Dramas, Legal Dramas... surrounded by endless reality TV like Border Patrol, Biggest Loser (AUS, US, UK), SYTYCD (AUS and US) etc etc etc.
2nd) Wednesday is actually a good night for it IMO. I flicked over to see what other stations were offering... Channel 7 - Border Patrol (YAWN), Channel 10 - SYTYCD (YAWN), Channel 2 - Inventors (which is ok at times)... so yeah some mindless variety show on Wednesday is cool. Saturday nights has Before The Game and a live AFL match.
3rd) Darryl is past it. He really struggles now to deliver clearly and timely lines. Struggles reading from the cards for crying out loud. Reason in runs over time is b/c he is stumbles through half the night. iPOD skit was just lame.
4th) Ossie Ostrich is past it too... the voice sounded like he was on his death bed.
5th) Red, Wilbur (& band), Russell, Blackman/Dicky-Knee, Cartoon Guy, female hosts and plucka ... all still have plenty to offer.
6th) I do think they need to "update" a few of their segments/sets... Red Faces and Plucka are fine... but Ad-Nuasiem (sp) was shocking.
In summary... all respects to Darryl for his long service, but he is past it as the main host. Perhaps hand the reigns to Russell or some fresh talent (just not Eddie).
Mr_Bojangles
15 Apr 2010, 11:56
Gong 'em red!!!! Rofllolomgwft!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek::cool::p;):confused::rolleyes::):D
legend166
15 Apr 2010, 12:04
Anytime the show isn't Dickie Knee, Blackman or the guys doing the cartoons, it's horrible. Just give me a show with those three.
I did not watch it last night. My wife was flicking channels and I saw 2 minutes of Darryl Somers playing with his iphone. Great Television :rolleyes:
That bit was woeful. Dragged on far too long, was not funny in the slightest.
I watched bits and pieces, was okay. Went to the reunion show last year thought that was better, but I guess time will tell from now if it can pick up.
Plugger35
15 Apr 2010, 13:55
In summary... all respects to Darryl for his long service, but he is past it as the main host. Perhaps hand the reigns to Russell or some fresh talent (just not Eddie).
It wouldn't be Hey Hey without Daryl. He has been there from the get go, I think they started back in the early 70s as a morning kids show.
I only saw bits of it last night but Daryl still seemed the same as he always is, I don't mind him as a host but I just think the whole show and format is tired and dated.
Should have just had the reunion shows and ended it for good. 20 episodes this year will be overkill.
I agree with the sentiment that its the supporting cast keeping this show entertaining.
While we are on topic about the supporting cast, bring back Trevor to The Footy Show ffs.
(Was watching dvd of old Footy Show last night. :o)
The only highlight I saw was the girl playing the violin in the band...
BAZONGAS!!!
HarryTiger
15 Apr 2010, 16:11
Anyone know of a bittorrent?
red+black
15 Apr 2010, 17:36
My only interest would be what chicks are on the show. Was Livinia on?
SunKing
15 Apr 2010, 17:54
My only interest would be what chicks are on the show. Was Livinia on?
She was and looking fine as ever IMHO.
windyhill
15 Apr 2010, 21:42
If you enjoy watching ch.9 people sitting around slapping each other on the back and telling each other how fantastic they are then this show is right up your alley.
Bombers_Forever
16 Apr 2010, 07:40
If you enjoy watching ch.9 people sitting around slapping each other on the back and telling each other how fantastic they are then this show is right up your alley.
7 and 10 have thier own shows that do that (Sunrise, 7pm Project, Rove). What's your point?
As per usual John Blackman was the only person on the show that was remotely funny... poor old Ernie Carroll must be having a hard time given he is approaching his 81st birthday.
As per usual Darryl was as funny as SIDS... sincerely hope the show is boned well before mid year.
I dont think I'll watch it every week but its good to see it back with some of the other shit thats on.
People who want it to fail need to get a life.
King Elvis
16 Apr 2010, 13:26
I watched it for five minutes, and it sucked.
Daryle is completely unfunny.
They should bring back Hey Dad! instead!
Contra Mundum
16 Apr 2010, 14:03
http://www.masonicinfo.com/images/beat_dead_horse.gif
They should bring back Hey Dad! instead!
I'm sure Robert Hughes would be up for that... they could call it Hey Grandad! and set him up with a whole new cast of little ones to "raise".
Freo Big Fella
16 Apr 2010, 15:57
I agree with the sentiment that its the supporting cast keeping this show entertaining.
It was pretty much always the supporting cast that kept the show funny.
windyhill
17 Apr 2010, 08:34
7 and 10 have thier own shows that do that (Sunrise, 7pm Project, Rove). What's your point?
9 have perfected the art since day one of broadcast.
andrew23
22 Apr 2010, 17:56
A few points from last night's show
3rd in its timeslot, which is disapointing but still drew 1.2 Million.
Russell Gilbert is hilarious, stole the show last night.
Livinia Nixon is just the stupidest dumbest blonde bimbo, there has to be somebody better.
Stupid Wolfmother cancelled.
The Plucka Duck girl - Suze Raymond from Quizmania, has no point in being in the show, but wow, what a stunner!
hirdy_is_champ
22 Apr 2010, 23:07
The reunion was a good idea, but bringing it back for a season was not. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that we're crying out for a decent comedy show in this country, Rove was "there" for a bit but was never actually any good. This needed to be left as it was, all they're doing is just damaging the reputation it had. I know it was for financial reasons but it was probably appropriate that it finished when it did.
Be very surprised if it gets all its 20 episodes this year.
Already a huge ratings drop, very soon it will be under 1m, and Nein will most likely move it back to Saturday night.
andrew23
23 Apr 2010, 16:54
Well they are doing it in 2 x 10 episode installments, so I agree with you there. It is just the die hards who are watching it.
JoondalupJ
25 Apr 2010, 00:01
It looks the same, but it doesn't feel the same .For me the cartoon man lightens up some dodgy segments, and, Plucka is bloody brilliant. BUT its gotta lift its game.
Daryl looks no different ,must have good genes, TV needs some avenue for live bands and NEW stuff, they should do more of that. James Reyne my hero, sounded crappy.
He is still brilliant ,stick to new material show us what you've got. Hey Hey is an icon,
lift your game, we still need this type of show, but you have to give us the same but different if you know what I mean.
JoondalupJ
25 Apr 2010, 00:10
I dont think I'll watch it every week but its good to see it back with some of the other shit thats on.
Your right . TV even with fox is pretty shitty. Repeats and ads and the fact that you already pay anyway and you still have to fork out for main event, we are being shagged folks, so Hey Hey is OK, it can improve, but there is a lot of crap on the air waves now.
I agree. Great post. Its just good to have on in the background as your doing stuff. People who want it to fail do need to get a life. If its canned, then what? Replace it with some other lame shit.
The people who whinge, seem to keep comming back week after week with the same whinge. If you dont like it, FFS turn the channel over.
johnnyhoward
28 Apr 2010, 20:57
It's not high-brow TV, if you want something interesting and serious watch Breaking Bad. But it's just good old-fashioned fun, how can you not like the atmosphere of having Hey Hey on in the background?
Bombers_Forever
29 Apr 2010, 13:22
I tell you what, Ricki Lee can't sing. She was awful live, the back up singers saved her from total embarassment.
Lol, I'm sorry I missed that...
Peter Ford on AW said Daryl needs to be "pulled into line".. some of the segments/ interviews he just goes on and on. I admit I didnt watch the show, but did see Plucka Duck and some of Red Faces. PD in particular was just dreadful. The "interaction" btw him and the contestant was pretty cringe worthy stuff.
I'll admit tho, overall, i am a fan of the show. Hell, I was at one of the Reunion shows. But I really do think they should have left it at that and not brought the show back.
The Great Barry Besanko
29 Apr 2010, 13:34
I agree. Great post. Its just good to have on in the background as your doing stuff. People who want it to fail do need to get a life. If its canned, then what? Replace it with some other lame shit.
The people who whinge, seem to keep comming back week after week with the same whinge. If you dont like it, FFS turn the channel over.
Crap. It's outdated garbage. Watched it when it was on in the 70s and 80s but it was flat at the end of its last run.
Somers has never been funny or witty, Jacqui and Livinia are just token females, John Blackman is a radio dinosaur, and the guy who does Ossie is 80+ FFS!!!!!
Cabaret/RSL performers like Reyne, Campbell and Ricky Lee Useless are not going to help.
Why not give the slot to a new live show with a fresh format and young up-and-coming talent?
The Old Dark Navy's
29 Apr 2010, 16:18
I like some of the humour for nostalia's sake but they are trying to recreate the good old days a little too much.
Chook Lotto is a complete farce. Daryl's timing is way off and he seems almost humourless. Years ago, at least Daryl would go into hysterics a couple of times a night to at least add weight to the humour.
Wilbur is not the same, Russell a little bit off. Fortunately Red is still Red so that is a good thing.
The show's comeback is kinda on par with Tony Lockett's comeback to football.
Am I right or am I right? :D
Only if Plugger made his comeback in 2015.
FFS if Graham Kennedy wasn't dead Nein would try and revive In Melbourne Tonight... what a pathetic station Nein is.
Only if Plugger made his comeback in 2015.
FFS if Graham Kennedy wasn't dead Nein would try and revive In Melbourne Tonight... what a pathetic station Nein is.
Bloody hell, one of the few times I agree with you. :eek:
John Bonney
29 Apr 2010, 21:22
Unwatchable.:eek:
The Old Dark Navy's
29 Apr 2010, 23:43
The premise is sound. They just have to keep it current. David Campbell performing 3 times in a show isn't helping anybody. Where are the local bands? Surely someone has a song they want to flog off to a national audience?
Ossie should be retired before Ernie Carroll dies on air (literally this time).
I wanted to see it back but Wednesday night is a stupid idea. Put it back on Saturdays and ramp up the currency a little. Have Daryl only a walk on, walk off type of host, just blending in with the ensemble, as he is no longer ringmaster quality.
Blackman is still alright, Fife is good, Livinia is pleasant and cute, many of the old segments still relevant. Just use them sparingly and get heaps of guests in. HHIS block party every week.
There is bugger all else on, but I fear it will be canned very quickly if they don't get creative.
Well im really enjoying it tonight. Good mid week fun.:thumbsu:
Still wish it was on Friday night up againsed Better Homes and Gardens.
How was that last guy in the paper plane challenge. Thought that other guy had the Hawaiin trip in the bag.
And is it just me or has ONJ had some serious work done?
Underdog
6 May 2010, 01:06
The premise is sound. They just have to keep it current. David Campbell performing 3 times in a show isn't helping anybody. Where are the local bands? Surely someone has a song they want to flog off to a national audience?
Well, they had Gyroscope on tonight and the mix was absolutely awful. It's not worth having them if they can't get the sound right.
It's much easier for them to cater to a singer who's music is almost an afterthought, but with bands, the music plays just a big of a role as the vocals so it all needs to be spot on.
Gyroscope's lead vocals were loud but muffled, the backing vocals were barely audible and the band were turned down far too low.
Gyroscope came across as a shit band anyway. Probbably the low-lite of an otherwise good show.
Underdog
6 May 2010, 01:31
Gyroscope came across as a shit band anyway. Probbably the low-lite of an otherwise good show.
The problem is that they are one of the best live bands in the country. That didn't translate tonight because of the poor mix.
EDIT: Hang on, did you just say good show!? Hey Hey is appalling.
Bombers_Forever
6 May 2010, 07:56
I liked it last night. The music - well, I would be happy with one or two performances in the whole show, and focus more one or two performers.
As for the sound quality, at least they are not miming (hey Rove ;)). It is actually nice to see them all performing live (and actually live).
The guy who won the car on Plucka :thumbsu:
The paper plan challenge was pretty funny - good effort by the winner
how many times has that Suse chick banged Darryl to get on television?
grimlock
13 May 2010, 09:11
Caught a glimpse while flicking over channels. This show needs more of the violinist, less lame dad jokes.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs524.snc3/29822_118271481534881_118269408201755_205940_5794252_n.jpg
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-sjc1/hs524.snc3/29822_118272081534821_118269408201755_205950_6840599_n.jpg
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs504.ash1/29822_118271478201548_118269408201755_205939_3919916_n.jpg
Surprise, surprise... ratings have fallen to a dismal level quickly and the show is on the verge of being boned.
http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/television/hey-hey-its-saturday-under-ratings-pressure/story-e6frfmyi-1225886962540
Who would have thunk it?
Anyone with half a brain is the answer... obviously very few of them at Nein.
FootyJunkie
2 Jul 2010, 14:37
Surprise, surprise... ratings have fallen to a dismal level quickly and the show is on the verge of being boned.
http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/television/hey-hey-its-saturday-under-ratings-pressure/story-e6frfmyi-1225886962540
Who would have thunk it?
Anyone with half a brain is the answer... obviously very few of them at Nein.
Nostalgic factor and outdated comedy was only going to last for so long.
Maybe it should be brought back as a 3 hour annual event, that's it... say on the evening of Australia Day or something.
"Hey, Hey, It's Australia Day"
Funkyzeit mit Matt
3 Jul 2010, 15:34
What is Livinia's role other than to giggle and be told how nice she looks?
Call me cynical, but it seems her meteorology phd is going to waste in this role.
red+black
3 Jul 2010, 16:33
If it was just two hours of Livinia Nixon, Jo Beth Taylor and Penne Dennison making out, I'd probably watch most weeks.
Funny you jest about Livinia. Just saw that Penne has a Masters degree (http://www.markmorrissey.com.au/profiles/DennisonPenne_cv.php)!
Coledinho
6 Jul 2010, 13:27
Its cringeworthingly bad at times. Anyone see the segment with a new game where Daryl would pull a ball out of a bowl and they would all have to name something starting with that letter. Car crash television at its finest and not in a good way either. Limbs were hanging off bodies etc. It was excruciating to watch. I was surprised they didnt just cut transmission it was that bad. Anyone who saw it would know what I mean
Gasometer
6 Jul 2010, 19:03
It's 'Saturday', not mid week 'Wednesday'....had they backed it onto Unfunniest HVideos and gone from 7.30-9.30 they would have had a chance perhaps...
The "peak" of HHS was the 2 years prior to it going from the morning to night and then from night 9.30-midnight on Saturday's. The 9.30-midnight was sensational IMO because they could be as risque as they wanted for mid 1980's...that is...
andrew23
7 Jul 2010, 17:52
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/entertainment/tv/hey-hey-its-saturday-axed/story-e6freeul-1225889076714
:-( Look I was enjoying it. You wouldn't think the other 5 episodes would happen. To be honest I rekon they're only going through til July 21, is because Kylie Minogue is coming on.
HarryTiger
7 Jul 2010, 18:46
They should bring it on once a year to coincide with White Heritage month.
Oh FFS, just put it out of its misery already...
http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t5/brendan13_photo/buckwheat/Sorry_Old_Yeller.jpg
Face_Plain
7 Jul 2010, 21:25
Caught a couple of episodes. Somers is awful. I am amazed that he has got so much time in the industry. Stumbling, bumbling, unfunny FIGJAM. Support cast outshine him all the time.
What is Livinia's role other than to giggle and be told how nice she looks?
Call me cynical, but it seems her meteorology phd is going to waste in this role.
Are you serious? She has a PHD?
HarryTiger
7 Jul 2010, 21:48
Are you serious? She has a PHD?
I believe she studied marketing and chinese which allowed her to move into the cartoon hosting role.
buck bundy
8 Jul 2010, 14:20
They should replace Darryl, move it to 9pm Saturday night, allow more spice and adult humour, and let Blackman do what he does best.
MaccaKnowsBest
21 Jul 2010, 21:19
Did anyone happen to capture the "funny photo" segment? What were they? I sent a pic in but missed the segment.
themightybloods
21 Jul 2010, 21:52
Did anyone happen to capture the "funny photo" segment? What were they? I sent a pic in but missed the segment.
i think the one that won was something about a sign outside a op shop
some others included a pre school sign, teeth of a baby, sorry i cant really remember anymore, if u tell me what photo u sent in, i'll be able to remember whether it was on
Has this been cancelled? Someone in SR&P was talking about last night being the last show.
Please say it's so.
treeman
22 Jul 2010, 10:48
It was the first Mid season break.
It will be back after the commonwealth games for 9 episodes i think? But will be on a Saturday.
I cant believe I got sucked in to watching it last night. :o
There are so many awkward silences its not funny- and I still think there is something really wrong with Dayrl- maybe early onset of Dementia??? Seriously...
Anyways, Red Faces was okay, was worth it seeing Abbott get booed and make a dick out of himself. And Lloyd from Entourage FTW!!! He was hilarious. :thumbsu: