View Full Version : review Match Report: Round 2

caddyhawk
17 Apr 2010, 16:11
2010 VFL Reserves

Box Hill Hawks 4.4 9.10 16.13 20.17 (137)
Port Melbourne 5.3 8.9 10.11 13.13 (91)

Edit: Not getting any list of goal scorers or BOG at the moment.

dommat
18 Apr 2010, 10:51
Current score:

Geelong 2.4 . . .
Box Hill Hawks 5.4 . . .

Got scores from here https://reg.sportingpulse.com/olr_v3/rpt_progressive.cgi?aID=8&pg=1&a=MR_

buddylove_23
18 Apr 2010, 10:56
Just saw footage on game day Burger looked alright looked to kick a goal....

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 10:57
5.4.34 hawks to Geelong. 2.416

burger at back flank doing well not running much

muston at full back

dowler at full fwd not done much

Jordan Williams best by a mile classy left footer

jkt very good

lisle doing well

Posted in another thread by go hawks

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 11:07
Burger has been on bench 2nd qtr bit concerned

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 11:11
Burger has been on bench 2nd qtr bit concerned

They said he'd play a total of 3 quarters today over the 4, hopefully just resting him up for the second half.

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 11:21
They said he'd play a total of 3 quarters today over the 4, hopefully just resting him up for the second half.

Yep he's jogging ok thank god

8.5.53 hawks to 2.10.22

dowler yet to won a contest jkt best by a mile

Gary Shadforth
18 Apr 2010, 12:02

Box Hill Seniors and Reserves - our good news story for the weekend.

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:06

Box Hill Seniors and Reserves - our good news story for the weekend.

Add Brent Renouf's performance to that list I reckon.

Surely from all reports JKT must play next week, again dominating at Box Hill. Could have used a long penetrating kick last night amongst the ridiculous handball. Must be rewarded JKT.

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 12:18
89 to 47 hawks winning

good quarter by dowler and Jordan Williams is a gun

Burgoyne played the quarter however o believe he needs another week at box hill would be stupid to play him next week IMO

lisle must play next week

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:23
89 to 47 hawks winning

good quarter by dowler and Jordan Williams is a gun

Burgoyne played the quarter however o believe he needs another week at box hill would be stupid to play him next week IMO

lisle must play next week

Great news gh.

Best thing we could have hoped for after last night is that we have guys putting their hands up for a game in the seniors as they are today. Brilliant that a kid like Jordan Wiliams is putting his hand up so early on in the season.

IBleedBrownNGold
18 Apr 2010, 12:24
I've got a good feeling about Williams. I reckon he's in the mould of Lewis, and a great prospect for the coming years. Any word on Duryea's form today?

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 12:33
I've got a good feeling about Williams. I reckon he's in the mould of Lewis, and a great prospect for the coming years. Any word on Duryea's form today?

Just kicked another bring in Williams next week he is a star

Duryea not done much

DannyJ
18 Apr 2010, 12:37
Who cares if Burgoyne plays next week or not, we are not a chance of dooing anything this season get him right for 2011 and hope things change.

Top 4 my ****ing arse:thumbsd:

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 12:43
Who cares if Burgoyne plays next week or not, we are not a chance of dooing anything this season get him right for 2011 and hope things change.

Whatever we will win 4 of the next 5

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:44

If memory serves me right Collingwood was 1-3 at this time last year DJ and played in prelim. You're pissed, we're all pissed about last night, the game plan etc. But you 'd think we've all been around long enough to know 1 week doesn't make a season. If we can put our best 22 on the park and win enough games to make finals along the way we can beat anyone in September. 2008 proved that. Head up mate.

cma6
18 Apr 2010, 12:52
This will be controversial amongst Hawks supporters desperate to see Burgoyne in the seniors but I would be tempted to save him for the Richmond game in round 8 at the MCG.

He will be flying by then. If he is underdone then I don't want him playing at night first up (especially in tassie) and travelling to subiaco probably isn't ideal either.

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:54
Footy show reported Matthew Stokes stretchered off with a knee injury on return and Rooke has a shoulder problem. Welcome to our world pussy cats, sucks doesn't it.

aquila
18 Apr 2010, 12:56
Geelong 2.4 2.10 6.11 10.14 (74)
Box Hill Hawks 5.4 8.5 13.11 15.15 (105)

Good win by the boys

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:56
This will be controversial amongst Hawks supporters desperate to see Burgoyne in the seniors but I would be tempted to save him for the Richmond game in round 8 at the MCG.

He will be flying by then. If he is underdone then I don't want him playing at night first up (especially in tassie) and travelling to subiaco probably isn't ideal either.

I'm tempted to agree with you mate, I'd rather guys who are 100% fit play before anyone who's underdone. Especially guys who are performing at Box Hill.

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 12:57

Good win by the boys

Very good win against a quality opposition, looking forward to some match reports.

Cicatriz
18 Apr 2010, 13:00
Mate, we've been in that world for well over a year as well. Last year we had a shocking run with injury that luckily cleared for the finals.
As far as this year, I think there was 10 on the injury list before the weekend so we are well aware of its effects. We didn't have to use it as an excuse last year as made the finals and won the flag.

bigbol069
18 Apr 2010, 13:05
Mate, we've been in that world for well over a year as well. Last year we had a shocking run with injury that luckily cleared for the finals.
As far as this year, I think there was 10 on the injury list before the weekend so we are well aware of its effects. We didn't have to use it as an excuse last year as made the finals and won the flag.

Absolute horse droppings mate, we were lucky to have half of our premiership 22 available for any week last year. You guys had what 3 or 4 out at any one time. You lost to Fremantle chump, for the first time in 4 years you've had injuries. We can't even put a second ruckman on the field. Piss off back to the RSPCA.

DannyJ
18 Apr 2010, 13:12
Whatever we will win 4 of the next 5

Hope so

Roger Rogerson
18 Apr 2010, 13:18
Just kicked another bring in Williams next week he is a star

Duryea not done much

Williams gets a tick for his kicking - we have plenty of blokes who can kick the ball but not enough with the full package of kicking, pace and line breaking ability - does Williams have pace or line breaking ability - we just dont seem to draft these guys regularly enough? He sounds like he is the type of player that we already have plenty of or have I got it wrong?

Messenger
18 Apr 2010, 13:49
Are all of Burgoyne limbs attached and still functioning?

Collins-Langford-Ayres
18 Apr 2010, 13:52
If JKT has played well again, he has to come in. Has pace, kicks the ball well and seems to prefer to kick than handball.

blackheart
18 Apr 2010, 13:55
2010 VFL Seniors

GOALS:
Geelong: Simpkin 4 Menzel 3 West 2 Johnson
Box Hill Hawks: Duryea 3 Kayler-Thomson 3 Neil 2 Smithwick 2 Gibson 2 Burgoyne Curnow Dowler

BEST:
Geelong: Simpkin Firman Raidme Menzel Gillies Jull
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen Curnow Kenna Kayler-Thomson Muston Savage

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Geelong: Nil.
Box Hill Hawks: Nil.

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 14:05
I can tell you muston and savage were not in my best

mellowood_hawk
18 Apr 2010, 14:07

Who would have been in your best GH?

TheFourPillars
18 Apr 2010, 14:11

Waiting for your report mate

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 14:20
In my posts I referred to Jordan Williams it was actually Taylor duryea who was my best player sorry bout that

duryea ahould come in next week he will be a star and should replace Ellis

jkt faded out but was good

pedersen was solid Kenna was excellent

dowler had an ok 2 nd half but needs to work harder and show courage needs a few more weeks to build confidence

lisle was solid and missed 2 set shots

savage for me is struggling no body strength and lacking confidence

musto tried hard on back line got beaten one on one everytime but ran hard

suckers ok but struggled one on one in defence

burger played 2 and a half quarters hardly broke a sweat prefer to let him play one more game in the midfield note today he played HBF and HFF

not reAdy for me

sorry for the confusion re duryea but he is a star

Cicatriz
18 Apr 2010, 14:20
Absolute horse droppings mate, we were lucky to have half of our premiership 22 available for any week last year. You guys had what 3 or 4 out at any one time. You lost to Fremantle chump, for the first time in 4 years you've had injuries. We can't even put a second ruckman on the field. Piss off back to the RSPCA.

Whoops sorry, I got it wrong. We've never had an injury, never had a bad umpiring decision or any bad luck. I was thinking of the Hawks when I wrote that. I was completely wrong. Could you ever forgive me. I love you.

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 14:21
Waiting for your report mate

Just posted from my I phone see you all at coburg Anzac day

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2010, 14:27
Williams gets a tick for his kicking - we have plenty of blokes who can kick the ball but not enough with the full package of kicking, pace and line breaking ability - does Williams have pace or line breaking ability - we just dont seem to draft these guys regularly enough? He sounds like he is the type of player that we already have plenty of or have I got it wrong?

Sorry it was duryea I was referring to and he is the player who runs hard not super fast good accurate left foot and can play forward fit as a fiddle to so he has a tick over all of our midfield for me bring him in nexcweek to replace Ellis

CouchPotato
18 Apr 2010, 14:29
If JKT has played well again, he has to come in. Has pace, kicks the ball well and seems to prefer to kick than handball.

Won't matter one bit if handballing is the game plan (which it appears to be) and kicking - that was so 08

Good win to the boys and good to hear that Burgers got through okay. I'm with others, couple more at BH then give him a run against Richmond. Although I would love to see him at Subi on those beautiful wide open spaces.

Cheeseman
18 Apr 2010, 14:31
What role was Jordan Lisle used in today?

Simon_Nesbit
18 Apr 2010, 14:33
Bigbol, way too harsh on Cicatrizz.

Everyone outside of Hawks fans struggles to understand just how ridiculously bad our injury run has been the past few years (even in 08 we were below average) - but for the most part it's a result of the style of football we (try) to play and the inexperience we put out on the park. Putting under-developed kids into positions of responsibility - both actual contested footy and the sheer workrate required of them just leads to futher injuries.

In 3-4 years time when we are as "mature" as the Cats/Saints, then we should see our players much more resistent to injury. But that kind of "depth" can't be bought - it needs to be developed over time. We cut the deadwood out of the list....perhaps we cut a little deeper than necessary...but would any of our recent delistees have made a significant contribution to our form?

In the meantime, try not to confuse B13-esque trolls, with simply slightly misguided comments. The Cats in 09 were nearly as bad as our 08, and this year have a similar quantity again. The way the media (and us) under-play our injury woes it's not at all suprising. Hell, the newspaper's FSI reckons we're only missing Skipper and one other from our best 22 at the moment. If supposed media professionals and statistical analysers can't get it right, what hope does an opposition fan?

IBleedBrownNGold
18 Apr 2010, 14:39

Everyone outside of Hawks fans struggles to understand just how ridiculously bad our injury run has been the past few years (even in 08 we were below average) - but for the most part it's a result of the style of football we (try) to play and the inexperience we put out on the park. Putting under-developed kids into positions of responsibility - both actual contested footy and the sheer workrate required of them just leads to futher injuries.

In 3-4 years time when we are as "mature" as the Cats/Saints, then we should see our players much more resistent to injury. But that kind of "depth" can't be bought - it needs to be developed over time. We cut the deadwood out of the list....perhaps we cut a little deeper than necessary...but would any of our recent delistees have made a significant contribution to our form?

In the meantime, try not to confuse B13-esque trolls, with simply slightly misguided comments. The Cats in 09 were nearly as bad as our 08, and this year have a similar quantity again. The way the media (and us) under-play our injury woes it's not at all suprising. Hell, the newspaper's FSI reckons we're only missing Skipper and one other from our best 22 at the moment. If supposed media professionals and statistical analysers can't get it right, what hope does an opposition fan?
Well said SN! I can't understand why there's an automatic expectation that the new kids are going to slip in to key positions so seamlessly. Depth takes a number of years to develop, and if you're unlucky with injuries, then you're exposed... as we have been the last season and even now.

hawk for 37
18 Apr 2010, 14:41

In 3 - 4 years time the lynch pins of our midfield will be 30. Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman, Sewell and Burger. They ain't got 4 years so therefore neither has this current group of players.

Cheeseman
18 Apr 2010, 15:01
This is the Box Hill forum, and whilst a lot of what happens at Box Hill can have an impact on the Hawthorn side, I'd like to limit those conversations to the appropriate Hawthorn threads.

Talk to me about the roles people are playing for Box Hill, was Dowler playing out of FF all day?

Did Duryea have his impact through the middle? or as a HFF?

How much time did Lisle spend in the ruck, if any?

Did Beau Muston avoid contact where possible, or did he put his head over the ball and try to take the game on?

The answer to these questions are important to Box Hill supporters, as it gives us a read on the expectations of the players from the coaching staff at Box Hill.

I don't mean to sound harsh, but there are threads elsewhere for you to spend time discussing the where's why's and how's of Hawthorn going forward, lets keep the Box Hill forum positive, we haven't lost a game!

Rumblah#16
18 Apr 2010, 15:11
Was I right in hearing Richo say Burgoyne got knocked out yesterday?

bards
18 Apr 2010, 15:13
Couldnt agree more Cheesy.

Now, Channel 7 reckon that Burger got knocked out? Did anyone that went (gohawks?) actually see this happen, or has a channel 7 reporter miss-read information found in a gutter again?

TheFourPillars
18 Apr 2010, 16:06
In my posts I referred to Jordan Williams it was actually Taylor duryea who was my best player sorry bout that

duryea ahould come in next week he will be a star and should replace Ellis

jkt faded out but was good

pedersen was solid Kenna was excellent

dowler had an ok 2 nd half but needs to work harder and show courage needs a few more weeks to build confidence

lisle was solid and missed 2 set shots

savage for me is struggling no body strength and lacking confidence

musto tried hard on back line got beaten one on one everytime but ran hard

suckers ok but struggled one on one in defence

burger played 2 and a half quarters hardly broke a sweat prefer to let him play one more game in the midfield note today he played HBF and HFF

not reAdy for me

sorry for the confusion re duryea but he is a star

Thanks GH

Who did Musto play on? How did Breust go? did he play? Did Lisle play in the ruck? Did Duryea play up forward or in the middle how is his defensive side does he tackle i know he is only a small bloke.

Simon_Nesbit
18 Apr 2010, 17:01
Sorry Cheese.

I was told that Rooke 'did' his shoulder (dislocated?) in putting a bump on Burgoyne who went down hard, but got to his feet a few seconds later, and managed to lay a tackle as he was taking himself off.

Came back on in the 3rd.

Tassie next week - too soon for Burgoyne (too cold). WA the next (too far). I reckon he'll play the next Melbourne game. That gives him some serious midfield time next week, and a full game to really hit the ground running for the Hawks.

I think Dowler might come straight back in if he showed anything at all.

TheFourPillars
18 Apr 2010, 17:06
Sorry Cheese.

I was told that Rooke 'did' his shoulder (dislocated?) in putting a bump on Burgoyne who went down hard, but got to his feet a few seconds later, and managed to lay a tackle as he was taking himself off.

Came back on in the 3rd.

Tassie next week - too soon for Burgoyne (too cold). WA the next (too far). I reckon he'll play the next Melbourne game. That gives him some serious midfield time next week, and a full game to really hit the ground running for the Hawks.

I think Dowler might come straight back in if he showed anything at all.

Interesting comment played better in the second half apparantly i also like to have him in the team if he could hold FF we could send roghie to CHB or FB

Grooves
18 Apr 2010, 19:46
My 2 cents from this morning...

Duryea clearly a prospect, looks ready to go. Impressed me today.

Lisle played FF / Ruck in parts. Thought he did some good things, but didn't tear the game apart. I still believe he should be playing for Hawthorn as the #2 ruckman.

Not a huge Dowler fan, but to be fair, really came into the game in the second half. Could be an option for promotion, depending what setup theyre looking at.

Suckling struggled, which disappointed me.

JKT was ok.

Silk Burgoyne is at least a week away from Hawthorn. Probably two. Moved well, but didn't seem to try to get out of first gear. Which is better than trying to get out of first gear, but finding nothing. Seemed to just cruise through without busting too hard, hopefully that was the plan. But, not sure on what his "mini pre season" has involved, so for all I know he might have had a huge session on the Saturday.

Had one beer up on the standing terrace, a Carlton Draught poured out of a can, not out of a tap. Enjoyed it. Had a hot dog too, very nice.

Can't remember any other standouts, but if you want to jog my memory about anyone, I'll try to recall.

TheFourPillars
18 Apr 2010, 20:15
My 2 cents from this morning...

Duryea clearly a prospect, looks ready to go. Impressed me today.

Lisle played FF / Ruck in parts. Thought he did some good things, but didn't tear the game apart. I still believe he should be playing for Hawthorn as the #2 ruckman.

Not a huge Dowler fan, but to be fair, really came into the game in the second half. Could be an option for promotion, depending what setup theyre looking at.

Suckling struggled, which disappointed me.

JKT was ok.

Silk Burgoyne is at least a week away from Hawthorn. Probably two. Moved well, but didn't seem to try to get out of first gear. Which is better than trying to get out of first gear, but finding nothing. Seemed to just cruise through without busting too hard, hopefully that was the plan. But, not sure on what his "mini pre season" has involved, so for all I know he might have had a huge session on the Saturday.

Had one beer up on the standing terrace, a Carlton Draught poured out of a can, not out of a tap. Enjoyed it. Had a hot dog too, very nice.

Can't remember any other standouts, but if you want to jog my memory about anyone, I'll try to recall.

What about Punky (Breust) how did he go did he play? Muston who did he play on i know he played full back but a bit more detail how was he in one on ones

lethalselbow
18 Apr 2010, 21:16
If Dowler showed anything it's time for him to come back in. We need the three talls up forward with Franklin back next week. I'm guessing that Lisle won't be picked for Tas.

We've got a mosquito fleet side

HawkXNtric
18 Apr 2010, 22:07

Firstly, thank you to all the Box Hill posters who get to the games and then take considerable time and effort to post match reports. These reports are really informative for the likes of me that can't get to any games and only sees 1 or 2 Box Hill games on ABC TV during the season.

This is even more so when our beloved HFC puts in a shocker like they did against the Pies last night, so Box Hill is definitely the in-form combo at the moment.

A couple of specific questions for anyone who was at the game (well, Grooves, you did offer......):

Development Squad - any info from the earlier game? Did any Hawks-listed players or rookies play for the DS?

Duryea - OK, it sounds like this young lad may get a call up for Tassie next week. Tell us all about his playing style - especially the positives - 'cos we need cheering up!

Muston - does he look like a defender, or is he a graduate from the "don't play one-on-one accountable defence at any cost" school?

Dowler - what was good about his second half? Did he play with any real confidence or authority?

Savage - named amongst the best, but was he?

JKT - will he play next week, or does he need to improve his disposal efficiency?

Of the Box Hill listed players, who is tearing it up this year?

Where did Cam Pedersen play? How did he go?

Cheers, and thanks for all the Box Hill reports - keep them coming!

FairCall
18 Apr 2010, 22:17
Of course it was a great win today with lots of good passages and efforts but there were many skill and decision making errors which made it hard to pick best players. Consistency was probably what put the 3 BHH players Pederson, Curnow & Kenna in the best.
JKT deserved to be in the best but a number of errors supports the decision for him to play at Box Hill again today as did Lisles game. He is not up to AFL level ruck at this point. To be fair the Geelong ruckman- forget his name, blonde hair - a big, big man! Lisle performed better up forward for mine. Renton was just ok. Maybe I was expecting more due to comments in another thread but didn't notice him do much good or bad except that he too is a big boy.
Dowler presented well and if he had of held onto a few more marks I would have been happier with his game.
Muston is fast!! His abilty to break the line was fantastic but then he often stopped and hand balled sideways or backwards turning the ball over and I couldn't understand why! Maybe there wasn't a good option ahead. I'll admit I'm starting to need glasses.
I actually thought Savage was pretty good. What he did I thought he did well. Competed well.
Duryea kicked out of bounds on the full shooting for his first goal. To his credit, his next opportunity, another set shot from a similar distance, close to 50m out, slotted it. I actually thought he presented pretty well put himself in the right spots, good pace and layed a number of tackles. Whilst a promising first game I think he and Jordan Williams do look similar out on the field, both left footers and some possesions between the 2 could have been confused. 3 good goals though.
Breust a mixed bag today. Overall ok.
Burgoyne appeared to get through the game ok. In my opinion he had a bit of it, but no great impact. Requires another game at BHH. As far as getting knocked out, far from it however he may have got a whack in the nose or mouth (which is when he went off) as he kept putting his hand to that area and then looking at it - maybe expecting blood? Just a guess I really don't know.
Anyway - great win, 2 from 2 can't ask much more.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
18 Apr 2010, 22:55
Based on what people have typed, can't see anyone coming back in the Hawks team. Shiels and Buddy will step in immediately.

houdinihuddo
18 Apr 2010, 23:46
The Mustang Hawkers played very accountable footy to restrict the Cats running game and the named best players all played very good games and were key contributors in our 31 points win. I did not watch the game from an elevated position so my ability to provide a good summary of the HFC player is restricted.
JKT (Jadd or Jadda in his Geelong Falcon years) worked hard, won a lot of possessions and generally used the ball well. I would like to see him play the next three games for the Hawks.
Musto - played deep in the back line, ran hard and competed very strongly. He played a good defensive game in the first half and provided some run in the second half. With all the rotations he like most players had some taller and shorter opponents and none really hurt him offensively. He had a couple of clangers and needs to build his confidence.
Sav - played a solid game around half back to wing, positioned himself well and restricted the Cats run.
Growler - played deep forward for the first three quarters and went deep back towards the end of the last quarter. He took a couple of good marks and generally kicked the ball cleanly however sometimes he had trouble with kicking the right length to advantage. It was his first game for the year and he pulled up OK and should benefit from the run. He needs to work on his attack at the ball and his physicality.
Duryea - played forward and showed some good signs particularly with his ball use. The game will help build up his confidence.
Siera - played half back and was solid without being spectacular.
Suckers - played half back and whilst he did not have a major impact his decision making and ball use were exceptional as per usual.
Burger - played half back on Rooke until he head butted Rooke's shoulder early in the second quarter and both players left the ground. Burger returned to the ground whereas Rooke didn't so that was a top effort. He is a class player and has time to burn which can incorrectly be seen as a lack of intensity. He seemed to pull up OK so given his class I would pick him next week.
Punky - played half forward and continued to show his ability to meet the ball at pace and use the ball well. He is a strong tackler and helps to keep the ball in our forward 50.
Moose - Played more in the ruck than in round one and competed well. He took a couple of strong one grab marks however his kicking for goal was "Rough".
Willo - Played mainly forward and although relatively quiet he showed some good skills particularly in the second half.
The BHH players were again very good. Peddo was rock solid deep back and Ed Curnow's offensive and defensive running were first class. Stevie Kenna led from the front with good run and pressure and Gibbo followed up his BOG game with a solid game. Rents was very good in the ruck contests against Simpson, West and Vardy and Marco Bello was very good in the one on one contests. Dylan Van Unen's defensive body work particularly against taller opponents was terrific and Kitch provided a lot of hard running to receive the ball or support the ball carrier. Ben Smithwick presented well and he, Brad Neil and Jayden Hoegel all provided good defensive pressure in the forward 50. Finally Luke Ablett ran hard and provided a very strong contest and a good option.

Two wins from two games for the Senior Team and Development Team is a positive way to start the season with the most pleasing factor being the even contribution from all players.

The Development Team had a very good 46 points win on Saturday. It was a gutsy performance given the fact that we only had two players on the bench from late in the second quarter and one player on the bench from late in the third quarter. Winning the last two quarters by 31 and 8 points says a lot about the work rate of our young players. Hawk Mouse Johnston displayed some good skills and has improved with each game. He has shown good pace, reads the play well and generally picks the best option. Our named best six players were Kieran McShane [6 goals], Dale Walker [very good run and carry], Aaron Johns [2 goals], Lachlan George [3 goals], Andrew McGuiness and Mouse.

grizzlym
19 Apr 2010, 00:13
Cheers, HH. I was waiting for your Box Hill report as I knew it would provide a rare highlight for the weekend.

Was Growler leading, or just playing the deep option?

bigbol069
19 Apr 2010, 09:12
Thanks for all the efforts from everyone in giving us some great info on the game. Much appreciated. :thumbsu:

houdinihuddo
19 Apr 2010, 09:58
Grizz, Growler and Moose`started the game as our tall deep forward options and even though Moose spent a fair bit of time in the ruck I thought he led more effectively than Growler in the first half. Growler increased his work rate in the second half and took some good marks on the lead. Kitty Litter Park is a long and narrow oval so it is not the easiest ground to find forward space to lead into.

Roger Rogerson
19 Apr 2010, 12:54
Great report HH. What is your opinion of Duryea's footspeed? Does he have any toe? Also has he been kicking goals as a leading forward (rumoured to be strong overhead) or is he more of the opportunist type?

grizzlym
19 Apr 2010, 13:28
Grizz, Growler and Moose`started the game as our tall deep forward options and even though Moose spent a fair bit of time in the ruck I thought he led more effectively than Growler in the first half. Growler increased his work rate in the second half and took some good marks on the lead. Kitty Litter Park is a long and narrow oval so it is not the easiest ground to find forward space to lead into.

Cheers, HH. I know we disagree slightly in regards to Dowler, but the more this year's panning out the more I think his presence is important. But to pick up your point, 'he's got to believe it first!'

How was the other Beau moving?

TheFourPillars
19 Apr 2010, 16:13
Cheers, HH. I know we disagree slightly in regards to Dowler, but the more this year's panning out the more I think his presence is important. But to pick up your point, 'he's got to believe it first!'

How was the other Beau moving?

I Think Beau to Full Back in gaining momentum. I really think he will be as good as some of our current defenders he has more pace and to a large degree more strength.

Grooves
19 Apr 2010, 19:42
Firstly, thank you to all the Box Hill posters who get to the games and then take considerable time and effort to post match reports. These reports are really informative for the likes of me that can't get to any games and only sees 1 or 2 Box Hill games on ABC TV during the season.

This is even more so when our beloved HFC puts in a shocker like they did against the Pies last night, so Box Hill is definitely the in-form combo at the moment.

A couple of specific questions for anyone who was at the game (well, Grooves, you did offer......):

Development Squad - any info from the earlier game? Did any Hawks-listed players or rookies play for the DS?

Duryea - OK, it sounds like this young lad may get a call up for Tassie next week. Tell us all about his playing style - especially the positives - 'cos we need cheering up!

Muston - does he look like a defender, or is he a graduate from the "don't play one-on-one accountable defence at any cost" school?

Dowler - what was good about his second half? Did he play with any real confidence or authority?

Savage - named amongst the best, but was he?

JKT - will he play next week, or does he need to improve his disposal efficiency?

Of the Box Hill listed players, who is tearing it up this year?

Where did Cam Pedersen play? How did he go?

Cheers, and thanks for all the Box Hill reports - keep them coming!

Most seems to have been covered in later posts, but because I was asked, would be rude not to reply...

Development Squad - think they played Saturday, not down at Geelong.

Duryea - impressive, however not sure where he'd fit in for us. Assume he'd play as a half forward goalkicker, but is he any better than Moss at this stage? Dunno.

Muston - thought he actually looked OK as a defender, and provided some run to go with it. Just seems to be an awkward in-between height.

Dowler - really attacked some balls hard in the second half, and when he did, he looked really good (and I've never really been a fan).

Savage - didn't think he was amongst our best personally, so was surprised to see that.

JKT - looks a capable player... guess I still query whether State League football is just "his level" or not... but we won't know that until he gets a good AFL run.

Pederson - played down back, seemed to do a good job (although not sure on stats of opponent).

Ben Smithwick did some decent things, whilst Luke Ablett wasn't exactly racking up the touches. Steve Kenna did his usual running around.

Next time, I'll make sure I've got a BH teamlist with me, so I can help further.

Grooves
19 Apr 2010, 20:05
Also, we didn't wear the new BH guernsey, which I thought we were wearing against non "old VFA" teams - anyone know why?

thetwoblues
20 Apr 2010, 07:35
how is plappy going over there?

The BIG X
20 Apr 2010, 09:58
how is plappy going over there?

Coach of the development team and doing a great job:thumbsu:

houdinihuddo
20 Apr 2010, 10:13
RR, it's too early to fairly judge any of our first year players however Duryea appears to have good foot speed. His goals were opportunistic from good footy smarts so I look forward to watching his development.

Grizz, I agree the more this year's panning out Growler's presence is important. If Growler believed in his ability like we believe in his ability he could be a star. I would like to challenge him to assert his authority on games in the VFL before he is rewarded with a game in the AFL. Musto is down on confidence however he has been good defensively and playing good team footy. He is working very hard at training and in games so hopefully everything will fall into place soon and he will regain his clean ball handling and use.

TheFourPillars
20 Apr 2010, 12:20
RR, it's too early to fairly judge any of our first year players however Duryea appears to have good foot speed. His goals were opportunistic from good footy smarts so I look forward to watching his development.

Grizz, I agree the more this year's panning out Growler's presence is important. If Growler believed in his ability like we believe in his ability he could be a star. I would like to challenge him to assert his authority on games in the VFL before he is rewarded with a game in the AFL. Musto is down on confidence however he has been good defensively and playing good team footy. He is working very hard at training and in games so hopefully everything will fall into place soon and he will regain his clean ball handling and use.

This what i would love to see. He could carve a niche for himself in our current backline in next 4 weeks if he is consistent and improves his decision making.

go hawks!!!
20 Apr 2010, 12:44
This what i would love to see. He could carve a niche for himself in our current backline in next 4 weeks if he is consistent and improves his decision making.

TFP i can see you're a huge fan of musto....get down to coburg this sunday and give him some enclouragement.

as a backman, at the moment he provides great run, but one on one is very weak. but he is a great 50+ metre kick on the switch.

i would like to see him fulfil his potential....he has tried so hard to get to where he is now

GNCLongJack
20 Apr 2010, 17:11
I lobbied for the recruitment of Pederson last year by Hawthorn.
Now, he answers his coach's challenge and plugs the hole left by the departure of Markovic and M&M.
Hopefully the BH coach is closely developing Peddo for a Hawthorn callup next season, because he is also a great contested mark, and a mean set shot for goal. Oh, he is also alright in the Ruck!
Might we need that type of player?!!!!!!!:cool:

Cheeseman
20 Apr 2010, 18:35
Now for a look at how the club saw round 2, as per usual, all the good stuff is at the link.
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=586
HAWKS TAKE DOWN CATS
Tuesday, 20 April 2010
By Daniel Dufty

The Box Hill Hawks notched up their second consecutive win for the season against a strengthened Geelong outfit.

Box Hill stunned the Cats with three second-quarter goals to zero, to set up a 31-point half-time lead and, while briefly challenged, motored away to win 15.15 (105) to 10.14 (74).

Geelong continued to make in-roads in the final term kicking the first two goals which cut the margin back to 30 points, but still couldn’t match it with the Hawks.

TheFourPillars
20 Apr 2010, 18:38
TFP i can see you're a huge fan of musto....get down to coburg this sunday and give him some enclouragement.

as a backman, at the moment he provides great run, but one on one is very weak. but he is a great 50+ metre kick on the switch.

i would like to see him fulfil his potential....he has tried so hard to get to where he is now

The guy looks like Chris Langford at the same age (4cms shorter) i think him being out of the game for so long especially at the start of his afl career has seen him struggle the way he has. This guy was a jet when he was playing junior footy i just hope we see the real Beau Muston this year.

Was there at box hill a couple of weeks ago will try to get down to Coburg ut it all depends on the Mrs and kids. Box Hill is easy as it hop step and jump away for me. Will make every Box hill home game barring birthdays and anniversaries

Rudi Gilham
20 Apr 2010, 19:46
The game between BH & Coburg is on ABC tv at 1.00pm this Saturday for those of us who A) Are interstate and unable to attend the game &
B) Have AUSTAR.

FriarTuck
21 Apr 2010, 08:31
I lobbied for the recruitment of Pederson last year by Hawthorn.....Might we need that type of player?!!!!!!!:cool:

Fullback is the perfect spot for Pedo if he wants a run with HFC. I hope we are grooming him as this makes the pathway more obvious for those guys who miss out as juniors.

HawkInFullFlight
21 Apr 2010, 10:06
The game between BH & Coburg is on ABC tv at 1.00pm this Saturday for those of us who A) Are interstate and unable to attend the game &
B) Have AUSTAR.

Also to note... The club let me know in my membership letter that the game has been changed and starts at 12:30pm on Saturday.

Coathanger
22 Apr 2010, 09:50
B) Have AUSTAR.

Unfortunately both your options do not happen north of the Vic border.
Would love to see a Box Hill game on TV.