View Full Version : Matthew Knights On The Couch Tomorrow Night
kelvin_sheedy
18 Apr 2010, 20:53
He'll be on monday night with Gerard, Mike and Hirdy.
I doubt anyone will have the balls to ask him the hard questions but it should be interesting to see what he has to say.
Skeeta Olly
18 Apr 2010, 20:55
Awesome will tune in!
Wait?
****ing foxtel :(
Lance Uppercut
18 Apr 2010, 21:17
He'll be on monday night with Gerard, Mike and Hirdy.
I doubt anyone will have the balls to ask him the hard questions but it should be interesting to see what he has to say.
wtf? I guarantee they'll ask the hard questions. Why the **** wouldn't they?
Will be a very good watch
Ben the Gooner
18 Apr 2010, 21:25
Can't wait.:thumbsu:
Yep, would be good to have a few summaries of the segment.
Wahooti Fandango
18 Apr 2010, 22:12
The best footy show on tv. Should be good.
Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 13:49
This.
We'll get the usual chiche answers from Knights...
- "Oh we know we need to get better..."
- "Oh our travelling record isn't very good and it hasn't been for a while... most young sides usually struggle on the road..."
- "We have a really great opportunity to redeem ourselves on Anzac Day..."
- "*insert player name here* really does have an enormous amount of potential and improvement..."
- "I'm really bullish about our chances for the rest of 2010..."
Blah. Blah. Blah.
The only remotely interesting thing about the interview for me will be seeing the chemistry (or lack of it) between Knights and Hird. Can't remember any previous media appearences between the two or anything else they have been involved in. Whatever happens with Knights, I've got little doubt Hird will eventually coach the club...
The best footy show on tv. Should be good.
This.
Hope we don't get the typical cliches though.
Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Apr 2010, 13:57
I'll try to post some cliffs for those that can't watch it.
This.
- "Oh we know we need to get better..."
- "Oh our travelling record isn't very good and it hasn't been for a while... most young sides usually struggle on the road..."
- "We have a really great opportunity to redeem ourselves on Anzac Day..."
- "*insert player name here* really does have an enormous amount of potential and improvement..."
- "I'm really bullish about our chances for the rest of 2010..."
Blah. Blah. Blah.
The only remotely interesting thing about the interview for me will be seeing the chemistry (or lack of it) between Knights and Hird. Can't remember any previous media appearences between the two or anything else they have been involved in. Whatever happens with Knights, I've got little doubt Hird will eventually coach the club...
Absolute GOLD Macca...
I will be tuning in to see how many of these chiche's will be used...
Funny how coaches come up with the same rubbish...
I think he has dodged a bullet by being on the show this early in the year. If it was another week or two and another couple of losses, I don't think he would be attending...
Slattery_20
19 Apr 2010, 14:14
Absolute GOLD Macca...
I will be tuning in to see how many of these chiche's will be used...
Funny how coaches come up with the same rubbish...
I think he has dodged a bullet by being on the show this early in the year. If it was another week or two and another couple of losses, I don't think he would be attending...
He's completely slammed the side since we lost in the HS article. Can't think why he'd go back to that^^^ stuff.
oh and Carlton supporter... a week ago there were 3 threads on your board about sacking Ratten??? Boot on the other foot now?
Storyboy
19 Apr 2010, 14:16
Perhaps we could come up with a Matthew Knights drinking game for this evening. :D
Personally though, I am hoping that by the end I remain stone cold sober. God knows everyone at the club should be today.
He's completely slammed the side since we lost in the HS article. Can't think why he'd go back to that^^^ stuff.
oh and Carlton supporter... a week ago there were 3 threads on your board about sacking Ratten??? Boot on the other foot now?
Yep, exactly right...
If we had of lost to the crows he would have been in the gun for sure...
What a difference a week makes, oh and Judd....
mark1881
19 Apr 2010, 14:29
I hope Hirdy or Healy questions the game plan and his game day tactics!
Slattery_20
19 Apr 2010, 14:34
Yep, exactly right...
If we had of lost to the crows he would have been in the gun for sure...
What a difference a week makes, oh and Judd....
He's been pretty harsh this year. Put a lot of heat, publicly, on guys to play like men.
So far, they're not, it would be fair to say, but don't go the man based on cliche or what he was saying 2 years ago.
FandangoDingo
19 Apr 2010, 14:59
I will be tuning in to see how many of these chiche's will be used.
What is this "chiche" of which you speak?
Thought the first one was just a typo, but now I'm not so sure! :eek:
Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 15:07
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clich%C3%A9
"A cliché or cliche (pronounced klē-ˈshā) is a saying, expression, idea, or element of an artistic work which has been overused to the point of losing its original meaning or effect, rendering it a stereotype, especially when at some earlier time it was considered meaningful or novel..."
I can’t stand watching him do interviews, he is so full of shit, but I guess that’s how he got the job to begin with!
He has come from a shit club, with a shit culture and it is beginning to look like it is rubbing off on our club.
Sooner we get rid of him the better.
The thing that annoys me the most, is that we have a talented playing group, but he game plan is that ordinary, not even Geelong wouldn’t make it look good.
Wahooti Fandango
19 Apr 2010, 15:52
Maybe chito.
733Do3N3pPw
Not really, just an excuse to upload a McCormack track. :D
The Donners
19 Apr 2010, 16:36
He's been pretty harsh this year. Put a lot of heat, publicly, on guys to play like men.
So far, they're not, it would be fair to say, but don't go the man based on cliche or what he was saying 2 years ago.
You are 100% right Slats but for once I'd like Knights to say "the buck stops here" - for yet another cliche! :D
Ryder_Hooker
19 Apr 2010, 20:37
Has he been on yet?
Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Apr 2010, 20:40
Has he been on yet?
The show basically just started dude.
Ryder_Hooker
19 Apr 2010, 20:44
ahh ok, I dont have foxtel man. I wasnt sure what time it was on. Interested in what he has to say......
HyperAgressiveDonk
19 Apr 2010, 20:50
Will look forward to what he says tonight. He has always been a pretty good media performer even if he does use cliches a bit too often :)
Dr Moose
19 Apr 2010, 20:50
wtf? I guarantee they'll ask the hard questions. Why the **** wouldn't they?
Will be a very good watch
Don't know how hard they want to press him; I think Knights tends to get very defensive in direct confrontation, especially if he feels cornered.
Hird should be offering to take the job off him for 2011 (if Fletcher retires). Maybe it's the script-writers at work, but his genuine insight into the game on this show is incredible. Hopefully he wouldn't be too soft as a coach, and wouldn't mind offending guys he probably counts as mates
Dr Moose
19 Apr 2010, 21:00
5 cliches in the opening statement; 7 in the first answer
Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 21:04
Wow.
He is under the pump bigtime here.
Their questioning tonight is more aggressive than I anticipated, although Hirdy has been quiet so far...
5 cliches in the opening statement; 7 in the first answerReally, or?
We need a feed, people.
Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Apr 2010, 21:09
*Haven't struck any rhythm in our game. No upto the standard we should be playing at
*Feels like he has been embraced by Essendon fans. Hasn't been concerned by replacing Sheedy. Until we play consistently the acknowledgement isn't going to come
*Great character in the playing group, enthusiasm for training
*Thinks Gumby, Hurley, Pears, Hooker, Ryder should be playing senior footy
*Thinks Melksham and Colyer have shown a fair bit
*Keen to be seen as men, not young boys
*Pick players on form, if they deserve it
*Have got to get better executing defensively. Having periods in games were we're falling away
*Responds to Lloyd/Lucas comments by saying that as long as they're objective to all clubs he doesn't mind what they say
*Over the next three years really looking to push up the ladder
*Thought Jobe Watson on Friday night showed how he is going to be a great captain with his performance in the second half
*Thinks our contested ball and tackling has been great
*Jobe Watson is the only a-grader on our list
*Ryder can be an a-grader if he demands for the ball, requires more pushing and prodding to get there
*Ian Robson, David Evans give him a lot of support
*Would like Fletcher to play on next year
*Mike Sheahan asked about Hird replacing him as coach but both Hird and Knights avoided it
HyperAgressiveDonk
19 Apr 2010, 21:12
I thought he was pretty good and showed decent composure considering the tricky nature of some of the questions fired at him.
Seemed personable as well
Good job overall
djrossie
19 Apr 2010, 21:12
That was a convincing interview and I think the attack dogs should hold off until midseason before calling for his head. As of now he has my support.
Dr Moose
19 Apr 2010, 21:14
Wow.
He is under the pump bigtime here.
Their questioning tonight is more aggressive than I anticipated, although Hirdy has been quiet so far...
You seriously think so? They only tough point has come from Lloyd in the soundbite from SEN the other day. Stating that our defensive pressure is no longer adeqate, Knight's response was that "can is entitled to his opinion, he has a role to play in the media" but he denies resenting the commentary.
Hird got a bit of momentum going, but looked a bit nervous at first.
And finally, like the encore of Highway to Hell we weren't sure was going to come, came from Sheehan directly asking what Knights thought about Hird post-2012. The reply? "his time will come":cool:
Well Knights believes in his tactics and he won't be changing them anytime soon. It is now up to the players to execute the tactics.
Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 21:25
I thought the questioning from Sheahan in particular was good value and pretty deep, but the answers were fairly predictable as expected from Knights and I don't think most viewers really would of got much of it... well nothing none of us already knew anyway...
Usually their 'guest' has about a 30 minute Q&A session on the show, but tonight it was probably only about 10 minutes (maximum), so got out of it pretty lightly I reckon...
Again didn't really address an important question regarding the run on teams have had against us (West Coast & Geelong kicking 9 straight goals, and Fremantle kicking 6 straight)... just went on about how we managed to control the tempo for a majority of the Carlton game and that there were good signs in that game that we could do it on a more regular basis...
Slattery_20
19 Apr 2010, 21:37
*snip*
Have I read that before??
Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Apr 2010, 21:41
I posted it on bomberblitz as well.
Skeeta Olly
19 Apr 2010, 21:41
RIG = Blueprint
/dons conspiracy helmet
Slattery_20
19 Apr 2010, 22:43
RIG = Blueprint
/dons conspiracy helmet
Didn't realise that before.
I worry for people who put *that* much weight on media interviews and the like. "He interviewed well, he's safe until mid-season now"... Knights is a boring bugger, gives them nothing, clearly sees the questions coming and dead-bats anything which could get spicy.
Honestly could not care if a bloke did not answer a question if he was winning games; likewise all the "Tuesdays with Terry" help no-one when you're 1-10 and kicked out on your arse on the Monday.
Mr Mojo Risin
20 Apr 2010, 10:53
He handled himself quite well (but like Slattery_20 said, doesn't matter without wins and improvement).
IMO supporters are becoming ever increasingly impatient and sensationalistic like the media.
We are 4 rounds in with a developing team where the forward line have not had any consistency in personnel or time to gel, especially with Hurley and Monfries being out. Essendon have played some good football and some shocking football.
They have won 1 game in 4 where I would have expected them to win 2 (now knowing how good Fremantle are playing), with the West Coast loss the most disappointing however not surprising with our record on the road (bad excuse really as we shouldn't accept that as a given).
This year to me is more about keeping a consistent approach from the coaching team and allowing the WHOLE side time to gel together as a group. Not collapsing the coaching panel or belief in the system over not playing finals THIS year just because we played them last year. Improvement doesn't mean finals this year simply because they played them last year, that is too simplistic. Especially given the forward line situation.
Finals would be great but to be realistic we would have fat chance in hell of winning a premiership if we made the finals so maybe not as big a deal as getting the team structure, strategies and group awareness right.
I have belief in where Essendon is heading and the patience and understanding to know that to groom a team for a Premiership rather than just finals takes longer than I would like in the draft and salary cap age of AFL.
Lance Uppercut
20 Apr 2010, 11:22
it was a reasonable performance. I don't know what people would expect from a coach under siege, but that was a pretty good effort.
I didn't like the "hopefully we'll get some rhythm soon" comment - but I know what he meant, it just came off a little too relaxed.
However, he made some good points. He was a bit skewered by still referring to us as "young", and Sheahan rightfully nailed him on it, but the fact of the matter is, most of our key players ARE young.
I don't think people realise what Hurley will do to this team when he finds some touch; what Gumby will add when he starts to attack the ball harder.
Anyway, Knights is our coach for the rest of this year and all of next, at a minimum. I've been a believer in his vision, & I hope we can turn it around & start to show that we have made progress, despite some big personnel changes
Ben the Gooner
20 Apr 2010, 11:29
However, he made some good points. He was a bit skewered by still referring to us as "young", and Sheahan rightfully nailed him on it, but the fact of the matter is, most of our key players ARE young.
I think he missed a very good answer there.
I'd have said that while Pears, Hurley, Ryder, Hooker and Gumby are young, the majority of the rest of the team isn't. Guys like Hille, Stanton, Williams, Welsh, McVeigh, Slattery, Dyson, Monfries and of course Fletcher are older, bigger bodied, and should be the core of our team. Any significant performances from the younger guys, such as Pears' form, should be considered a bonus at this stage of our development.
lamaros
20 Apr 2010, 12:25
Nice to see his comments about Ryder. I know everyone knows it, but knowing that they're trying to find some way to get through to him and make him get an aggressive arrogance into his game - which is what will make him a great player - is nice to hear.
I was saying to my mate against WCE. Ryder has gone from half-back to ruck to forward/ruck in the last three years. He's just turned 22 and if he can get the self-confidence to demand the ball more consistently over this season then he'll become a great player sooner rather than later.
bacon buster
20 Apr 2010, 16:47
Nice to see his comments about Ryder. I know everyone knows it, but knowing that they're trying to find some way to get through to him and make him get an aggressive arrogance into his game - which is what will make him a great player - is nice to hear.
I was saying to my mate against WCE. Ryder has gone from half-back to ruck to forward/ruck in the last three years. He's just turned 22 and if he can get the self-confidence to demand the ball more consistently over this season then he'll become a great player sooner rather than later.
he needs to. ryder was embarrassed by naitanui on friday night. it was a pretty weak effort, and he needs to realise that he has the talent to be an a-grader, but he needs to work hard to get there. i've got faith he will, but i wish it were sooner rather than later. i'm tipping a good performance from him on anzac day.
i wasn't convinced with Knights' performance either. he didn't really answer the question about the 9, 6, 9 goal runs we have copped this year, other than to say that commentators are entitled to their opinion.
he did also seem to use the 'young team' crutch a bit too much for my liking.
as others have said though, i don't really care how he performs in the media, i just want him to win games. i just think when the hard questions are put out there, they need to be answered.
gPhonque
20 Apr 2010, 17:48
God I find it almost impossible to listen to Knights when he talks.
"You know.... umm yeah, you know, you know... blah blah blah, cos, you know you know, execution has to get better you know, and.... you know, maybe Ryder can, you know, become an A-grader you know, and you know you know you know you know you know..."
Argh.
It actually distracted me from what he was saying for the first couple of minutes.... I had to rewind it and watch it again.
If that's how he talks to the players, then it's no wonder they can't execute his gameplan. Probably hard to pick up what the game plan IS in between all the "you knows"....
SirJimi05
20 Apr 2010, 18:25
That was a convincing interview and I think the attack dogs should hold off until midseason before calling for his head. As of now he has my support.
There were 2-3 times where he didn't answer the question directly and instead chose to tippy toe around the subject. He is lucky they didn't pursue the line of questioning any further.
I'm a fan of Matty's but i reckon his responses were bread and butter, same old rehearsed stuff that we are all used to.
I'd give him a 6/10 for that.
According to Channel 10 Knights put the players through a gruelling training sessions consisting of running alone.
My thought: Why?
Our skills are what are letting us down (even more than our fitness), why would we abandon them for a session?
Not a massive deal, but it baffles me.
stay true
20 Apr 2010, 19:51
Punishment maybe? Maybe they feel lack of fitness is contributing to the players not executing due to fatigue. Interesting point though.
Punishment maybe? Maybe they feel lack of fitness is contributing to the players not executing due to fatigue. Interesting point though.Oh yeah, definitely.
I've said as much in another thread, but surely they'd incorporate ball skills somewhere; perhaps even after they're exhausted, as to simulate match conditions.
stay true
20 Apr 2010, 20:06
Yeah I agree, which to me probably means there is a bit of punishment about it. Intense skills session on Friday you'd think.
yep skills session to me sounds like a ripper of an idea.
un_eggs
20 Apr 2010, 22:46
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clich%C3%A9
"A cliché or cliche (pronounced klē-ˈshā) is a saying, expression, idea, or element of an artistic work which has been overused to the point of losing its original meaning or effect, rendering it a stereotype, especially when at some earlier time it was considered meaningful or novel..."
..to 'love' is cliche
George Washington
20 Apr 2010, 23:18
According to Channel 10 Knights put the players through a gruelling training sessions consisting of running alone.
Our skills are what are letting us down (even more than our fitness), why would we abandon them for a session?
From Jobe's twitter;
http://twitter.com/JobeWatson
back at training, a tough session but is probably the best way to turn around last weeks performance. all looking forward to anzac day clash
http://twitter.com/JobeWatson
I think he missed a very good answer there.
I'd have said that while Pears, Hurley, Ryder, Hooker and Gumby are young, the majority of the rest of the team isn't. Guys like Hille, Stanton, Williams, Welsh, McVeigh, Slattery, Dyson, Monfries and of course Fletcher are older, bigger bodied, and should be the core of our team. Any significant performances from the younger guys, such as Pears' form, should be considered a bonus at this stage of our development.
Half the team that took the field against WC had less than 40 games experience.
We are young !
Do we expect Knights to say he is a Crap Coach and the playing list is crap.
Call Me Cake
21 Apr 2010, 01:06
For anyone who missed it...
TwcbMqMWtdQ
Credit to bomberstillidie for the upload.
bipolarbeaR
21 Apr 2010, 16:26
Uhhh, that's really bad.
Yeah that interview doesn't instil a great deal of confidence in me. Danced around nearly every question.
Having said that, I don't really care if he shirks every hard-ball (so to speak) in the media if we're winning games.
centurion
21 Apr 2010, 16:46
Oh yeah, definitely.
I've said as much in another thread, but surely they'd incorporate ball skills somewhere; perhaps even after they're exhausted, as to simulate match conditions.
I reckon he wanted to go back to the good old days of punishing the team after bad performance(s). As already stated though, might be a variety of reasons including fitness.
Mate, I was at Windy Hill from about 12 until 4 having a kick. Many of the boys came out, mostly in separate groups. The training was anything but 'hard'.
Hickmont took the younger fellows (about half the team) for about half an hour. They literally were standing around, no sprinting, just walking, practicing chain handballs. Really intense stuff.
The hardest thing that the boys did was jump up the stairs of the grandstand (on one foot). I was very worried for Hille in particular. I don't know, but I thought that sort of strain on his knee wouldn't have been too comfortable.
For those 4 hours, whenever the boys came outside, they didn't look very tired at all.
Half the reason for our turnovers is because nobody is presenting and the player with the ball has no options except kicking to a 50/50 or worse. They second guess themselves and invariably stuff it up.
Other teams look like they're skills are that much better because they gut-run harder. They spot up teammates in acres of space with none of our unaccountable players anywhere near and have an easy decision to make with plenty of room for error. Doesn't require great skills.
Lack of run causes poor skill execution. We missed Monfries and Stanton in that regard who provide good leads or get into space. McPhee was also very handy last year with his 100m leads up to the wing to give us an option when coming out of defence.
Yep, it ain't all about skills, work hard for your teammates and we'll look 50% better already.
Gumby needs to lead and re-lead harder, Paddy needs to demand the ball, he's that good.
400m running would be a similar experience to running hard both ways during a game. Realisticaly you wont put in two many 400m efforts but a player should be putting in many 1 minute efforts in a game. Sprinting for a minute ten times in the space of 20 - 30 minutes or less is a fair similation. What he can do now is say "Well Jason, Courtney, you seem to be able to maintin your running power according to this" [he hands them the results of the training sessions] "what is your excuse for being lazy pricks?"