View Full Version : Round 10: Geelong vs Adelaide

ScouseCat
26 May 2003, 14:26
After a good win on the weekend against the Hawks to get off the bottom of the ladder, Geelong faces the Adelaide Crows at Skilled Stadium this Sunday.

Adelaide have been a bit inconsistent so far this season, winning 5 of their 9 games. Last week, the Crows came from behind in the last quarter to overrun the Bulldogs at home, and will want to continue that good form this week against Geelong. The Cats on the other hand will be keen to build on last week's win against Hawthorn with good performance against the Crows.

Adelaide has done reasonably well against Geelong in the last couple of seasons, winning the last 3 matches between the two sides. Last time they met, a Mark Ricciuto inspired Adelaide won a close game at Skilled Stadium by 3 points, 15.3.93 to 12.18.90.

Jarrad Rooke will be one player to watch on the weekend. Rooke has been in pretty good form of late, keeping Shane Crawford to under 20 possessions last week. Rooke could be given the important job of shutting down Andrew McLeod on Sunday.

Paul Chapman is also one to keep an eye on this weekend. Chapman was pretty good against Hawthorn, not only gathering some good possessions but also bumping into some of their players. We will definitely need some of that fight this week if we're to overcome the Crows.

Playing against Adelaide at home will be a great challenge for the young Cats on Sunday, especially after we gained some much needed confidence after our win last week. The key obviously will be whether we can shut down Adelaide's star midfield players, McLeod, Ricciuto, (if he plays) Bickley, Edwards, Goodwin, etc etc. Geelong are a chance to beat the Crows, it should be a great match.

Go Cats!!

Kane McGoodwin
26 May 2003, 14:50
Watchout for Ronnie Burns to return from injury & kick a bag of goals against his old side. ;)

Kane McGoodwin
26 May 2003, 14:52
Originally posted by ScouseCat

Rooke could be given the important job of shutting down Andrew McLeod on Sunday.
Geez, I hope Bomber is thinking along the same lines. Macca was nearly back to his best yesterday & I would love you guys to play Rooke on him...:D

you_idiot
26 May 2003, 16:20
McLeod was fantastic for the Crows yesterday, and especially in the fourth quarter, when the game was there for the taking.

Getting a body to stick on McLeod-- and on Mark Riciutto as well, provided that he doesn't go to the tribunal-- that's going to be a critical key to victory for Geelong on Sunday.

ScouseCat
26 May 2003, 16:36
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Geez, I hope Bomber is thinking along the same lines. Macca was nearly back to his best yesterday & I would love you guys to play Rooke on him...:D

Don't underestimate your opposition... Jarrad Rooke has been in good form all season, one of our more consistent performers.

Kane McGoodwin
26 May 2003, 17:02
Don't underestimate your opposition... Jarrad Rooke has been in good form all season, one of our more consistent performers. Not doubting Rooke has been one of your more consistent performers, but to think he has what it takes to match up on Macca is one of your funiest jokes in a long time Seiny! ;) :p :D

DaveW
26 May 2003, 17:07
Why wouldn't Ling get the job on McLeod?

you_idiot
26 May 2003, 17:09
Not doubting Rooke has been one of your more consistent performers, but to think he has what it takes to match up on Macca is one of your funiest jokes in a long time Seiny! ;) :p :D

If Rooke can hold Shane Crawford to under 20 possies-- and bear in mind that Crawford has been carrying that Hawthorn side during their rough stretch-- then Rooke is certainly good enough to try and give it a go against McLeod. Assuming that Crawford and McLeod are equal in ability and what they bring to their respective teams, of course...

McLeod will be a handful for Rooke, but I think Rooke will be able to hold his own.

Having said that, it's the other matchups around the ground that could have us concerned, as well.

snakebite01
26 May 2003, 17:16
Riccuito will play on Sunday. No way is he going to the tribunal. The elbow was as tucked in as it could have been and there was little damage done to Sam Power.

Now to more serious matters. This should be a good game but I think the Crows can win especially if we regain Carey, Burns, Smart and Burton this week. It will strengthen our forward line considerably and also strengthen our midfield (if it is possible) as Goodwin and Ricuito will be played in their usual positions, not in the makeshift forward line.

It will be interesting to see how this match turns out. Adelaide could have made thier season last week after coming from behind against the Bulldogs while Geelong may have also put their season on track after finally recording a win.

We will have to watch out for the likes of Chapman, Kelly and Corey in the midfield and will have to find a match-up for Ablett who impresses me more every week. The ruck duel will be crucial to this game with Clarke in outstanding form.

This will be a good game and I am making the journey over so I hope to see all you BF Cats at SS on Sunday.

Jars458
26 May 2003, 17:48
Should be a ripper of a game again.

Skilled Stadium is not our favourite ground and we don't play that well there.

I think we have turned the corner and if the Crows play to their best will run out easy winners. Easier said than done though.

Look for Carey Smart Burns and Burton to be back to add real strenght to our forward line

A smokey for you to worry about is James Begley who has played two ripping games in a row.

ScouseCat
26 May 2003, 17:52
Originally posted by DaveW
Why wouldn't Ling get the job on McLeod?

McLeod would be too quick for Ling I reckon... Ling would be more suited to playing on Ricciuto if he plays in the midfield.

Jim Boy
26 May 2003, 17:54
Geez, Burns better get a guernsey this weekend, as we do pay most of his wages, we'll be ripped off otherwise. It will be interesting to see what sport of reception he gets. I really hope the Geelong crowd give him a big warm welcome back. He did give us the prime years of his talented football career and was not afforded the chance of an appropriate send off when he left, despite the not altogether harmonious nature of his exit. I hope he leaves empty-handed though.

As for the match, while I don't really rate the Crows that much, players like Ricciuto, McLeod etc may have too much physical presence for our team, it's not something we match up very well against. My heart says Geelong, but my head says Adelaide, and Ayres to completely lose his and kick some supporter.

DaveW
26 May 2003, 18:26
Originally posted by Jim Boy
Geez, Burns better get a guernsey this weekend, as we do pay most of his wages, we'll be ripped off otherwise. It will be interesting to see what sport of reception he gets. I really hope the Geelong crowd give him a big warm welcome back. Can't see it happening myself. :p I recall Clint Bizzell getting some boos in round four even though it was Geelong who got rid of him.

Big Red
26 May 2003, 19:35
We'd have to be a chance against any side coached by Gary Ayres! Adelaide has more money than anyone and a strong list but I still can't see them going far with that dud in charge. He bloody near ruined us!

Catman
26 May 2003, 20:16
Not doubting Rooke has been one of your more consistent performers, but to think he has what it takes to match up on Macca is one of your funiest jokes in a long time Seiny! ;) :p :D

It isn't a joke.

He beat Shane Crawford yesterday, one of the fittest players in the competition. No one would have said he'd be able to match up with him either.

Underestimate him at your own peril.

macca23
26 May 2003, 21:42
Originally posted by Catman
It isn't a joke.

He beat Shane Crawford yesterday, one of the fittest players in the competition.

It's not a question of fitness - it's sheer speed. McLeod has the greatest acceleration of any AFL player which is why he'll always hurt teams even with a tagger on him.

How quick is Rooke??

Ling would never keep up with Macca and looks much more suited to either Ricciuto or Goodwin.

Love watching young Ablett play - an absolute pleasure. A genuine star of the future in his own right.

Catman
26 May 2003, 21:51
Originally posted by macca23
It's not a question of fitness - it's sheer speed. McLeod has the greatest acceleration of any AFL player which is why he'll always hurt teams even with a tagger on him.

How quick is Rooke??

Ling would never keep up with Macca and looks much more suited to either Ricciuto or Goodwin.

Love watching young Ablett play - an absolute pleasure. A genuine star of the future in his own right.

He's quick but not explosive off the mark like McLeod. The best way would be to negate the speed of McLeod by not allowing him any space, Rooke can do that and if we can dominate the ruck contests that will also go a long way to determining the outcome.

Ling, far too slow for McLeod. Your dead right with your assessment.

Little Gazz will be a star and it is a delight to watch the son of the great man making a name for himself, and even better for him to be doing completely differently to how his old man did.

ant
27 May 2003, 00:34
Originally posted by you_idiot
Assuming that Crawford and McLeod are equal in ability

Ah well there's where your argument falls down ;)

Seriously, I've seen Rooke play a bit and I think he might just be suited to take Macca.....he seems to have the concentration for it.....if he can stop Macca breaking the lines and carrying the ball like he did yesterday then he'll have done his job and Macca won't be quite so damaging.

Fall Out Boy
27 May 2003, 09:32
The best way would be to negate the speed of McLeod by not allowing him any space, Rooke can do that

Spot on.

Rooke has the discipline to play McLeod tightly, but obviously McLeod is still going to have an impact.

The key with McLeod is hurting him going the other way. If Jarad can drift forward, it will make McLeod's 20 touches a little less damaging.

ScouseCat
27 May 2003, 13:58
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Rooke has the discipline to play McLeod tightly, but obviously McLeod is still going to have an impact.

If Rooke, (or whoever plays on McLeod) can stay on the defensive side and force him out wide to get a kick, I will be reasonably happy.

Catman
27 May 2003, 17:38
Even better would be for Cam Mooney to take him out at the first bounce then we wouldn't have to worry about him! :p

Murph
27 May 2003, 18:03
Even better would be for Cam Mooney to take him out at the first bounce then we wouldn't have to worry about him! :p

Nah, I propose one of 2 options:

a) Have David Clarke take him out at the first bounce, make sure it is hard, late, crude, and possibly career threatening, that way Clarke MAY get a 13 week ban, ending his career with the Cats.

b)Have David Clarke wrestle him all day. Failing this, revert to Plan A for every time he attempts to come back on the ground.

Hey, at least that way we might kill 2 birds with the one stone.

JUBJUB
27 May 2003, 21:11
Originally posted by Murph

a) Have David Clarke take him out at the first bounce, make sure it is hard, late, crude, and possibly career threatening, that way Clarke MAY get a 13 week ban, ending his career with the Cats.

Or have Clarke do his crash test dummy impersonation [like he does everyweek] and clash heads with McLeod,knocking both out. :D

topjars
27 May 2003, 21:15
Or have Clarke just win the game for us like he did last week.

Good luck Cats; I hope we flog you by 10 goals

you_idiot
27 May 2003, 21:18
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Or have Clarke do his crash test dummy impersonation [like he does everyweek] and clash heads with McLeod,knocking both out. :D

Except one needs to have a brain to suffer a brain injury.

I speak from experience here. :eek:

But in the case of Clarke and McLeod, such a collision may leave Clarke out of this equation (meaning, he'll survive)...

noddy
28 May 2003, 14:45

b)Have David Clarke wrestle him all day. Failing this, revert to Plan A for every time he attempts to come back on the ground.

Hey, at least that way we might kill 2 birds with the one stone.

Better men than David Clarke have tried to put Macca in orbit & been made to look silly, but don't let that stop you from trying, :D

have a fair game for the 1st half then just let nature run it's course & except the inevitable, a Crows win by 3 goals will do very nicely.

Fall Out Boy
28 May 2003, 15:09
Originally posted by noddy
a Crows win by 3 goals will do very nicely.

Sounds about right to me, sadly.

ScouseCat
28 May 2003, 15:57
Originally posted by noddy
have a fair game for the 1st half then just let nature run it's course & except the inevitable, a Crows win by 3 goals will do very nicely.

As long as Geelong give 100% at every contest and have pride in their performance, I have no doubt we will see a high quality game and it wouldn't surprise me if the margin is under 2 goals either way.

Fall Out Boy
29 May 2003, 20:10
gfc.com.au are running a poll on who should take McLeod.

Here's the results so far:

Rooke
43%
Ling
36%
Clarke
6%
Spriggs
9%
Harley
5%

Good to see some supporters possess common sense.

ScouseCat
29 May 2003, 22:13
GEELONG:
B: Harley, Scarlett, Sanderson
HB: D.Johnson, Rooke, Milburn
C: Riccardi, Enright, Slade
HF: Gardiner, Graham, Chapman
F: Ablett, McCarthy, Chambers
FOLL: King, Corey, Ling
I/C (from): Wojcinski, Kelly, Lord, Mooney, Clarke, Spriggs, Kingsley

IN: Kingsley, Lord, Wojcinski
OUT: -

ADELAIDE:
B: Johnc*ck, Bassett, Hart
HB: Smart, McGregor, Mattner
C: Massie, Ricciuto, Begley
HF: Edwards, Perrie, Bickley
F: Bode, Biglands, Burns
FOLL: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
I/C (from): Crowell, Doughty, Torney, Welsh, Stenglein, Gallagher, Marsh

IN: Burns, Smart, Welsh, Marsh
OUT: Ladhams

ScouseCat
29 May 2003, 22:20
Are the AFL website kidding themselves??? :eek:

From the AFL website:
GEELONG v ADELAIDE
Sunday, 1:10pm AEST, SCG

If only they had some half decent people running that site, stupid little mistakes like that wouldn't happen.

DaveW
29 May 2003, 23:53
Like I said on the Adelaide board. I already live in Sydney so I needn't have bothered purchasing my ticket for the flight to Melbourne this weekend. :p

ScouseCat
30 May 2003, 11:40
Sam Newman was very confident last night on the footy show when he said he thought Geelong would win this game. He was right last week... hopefully he knows something and it will be 2 wins in a row for us. :)

Bakes
30 May 2003, 19:26
My thoughts
1.Rooke on macca might work, might hurt
2.Ling on Ricciuto will hurt. Not physically strong enough when he (roo) goes forward. Gets thrown around like a rag doll. I have no idea who they will play on him WHEN this happens, I would have liked to have seen Hunt play on him.
3. Is Mine and Phats, hatred of David Clarke catching?
Good to see.

My thoughts are

1. David Clarke would have to hit him from behind- Macca's vision is too good.

2. David Clark would have to hit him from behind....with a brick- Lets face it, Clarkes no tough man. I've seen my nanna through bigger hay makers. Relying on Clarke himself is not worth thinking about.

Maybe Mcleod will trip and knock himself out!?!

Even better, in the general area of Clarke, keeping the tough man image going.

phew, mans not a camel, fridge here i come!

Fall Out Boy
30 May 2003, 21:36
Originally posted by Bakes

3. Is Mine and Phats, hatred of David Clarke catching?
Good to see.

About freakin' time.

Besides being a shocking footballer, he's got a head on him that i'd never get tired of punching :o

Catman
30 May 2003, 21:52
News for Sunday. Clarke is out :) and Lord in. :)

Fall Out Boy
30 May 2003, 22:14
Don't forget the inevitable late change Joel.

Will it be King or Gardiner?

ScouseCat
30 May 2003, 23:48
Originally posted by Bakes
Ling on Ricciuto will hurt. Not physically strong enough when he (roo) goes forward. Gets thrown around like a rag doll. I have no idea who they will play on him WHEN this happens, I would have liked to have seen Hunt play on him.

I would consider playing Tom Harley on Mark Ricciuto when he pushes forward and let Cameron Ling take him while he is in the midfield. Harley could be a good match up especially when you consider Adelaide aren't taking a very tall forward line into the game.

Vaughan Pitt
31 May 2003, 00:21
Rag doll? Just checked stats - Ricciuto stands 183, Ling 190; Ricciuto weighs in at 90 kg as does Ling (making Ling about KP size). So, not sure about the rag doll theorem.

Fall Out Boy
31 May 2003, 08:50
Originally posted by Vaughan Pitt
Rag doll? Just checked stats - Ricciuto stands 183, Ling 190; Ricciuto weighs in at 90 kg as does Ling (making Ling about KP size). So, not sure about the rag doll theorem.

I thought the same thing. Whilst Ling now plays midfield, he once was a rather tough and strong full-forward.

Although one on one in the goalsquare Roo will be too strong, but he'd be too strong for everyone outside Glenn Archer.

Catman
31 May 2003, 15:18
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Don't forget the inevitable late change Joel.

Will it be King or Gardiner?

That's right. How many weeks is it that we have made a late change?

BTW, why Charlie? Is he under an injury cloud?

Fall Out Boy
31 May 2003, 20:33

We've done it for 8 of the nine weeks.

Charlie hurt his hip last week, apparently.

JUBJUB
1 Jun 2003, 01:20

Charlie didn't play any of the 2nd half last week after copping a knock on the hip.

macca23
1 Jun 2003, 13:58
Well guys, the late change has happened, but it's in the Crows team.

Stenglein our premier tagger is out and Gallagher is in.

Your chances have just risen. :(

Bakes
1 Jun 2003, 17:46
Originally posted by Vaughan Pitt

Yes the stats are the same but pound for pound roo is a lot stronger than ling. In a few one on one contests earlier in the year ling was pushed aside easily.
He may have been a strong full forward but that was VSFL.

ScouseCat
1 Jun 2003, 19:59
Many people will say Geelong did well to get within 17 points of Adelaide today... not me. We had a real chance to win today, especially after our 1st quarter. We attacked the football, we ran hard and created opportunities up forward, we put pressure on the Adelaide players and forced them to kick wide and we showed some heart.

Unfortunately though, we didn't fully capitalize on our chances and paid dearly for it in the end. Our 2nd quarter was shocking, we came back in the 3rd and hit the front in the final quarter, but we weren't able to sustain it.

Ling, Corey, Ablett, Rooke, Lord and Scarlett were good for us today, but we just weren't good enough to come away with a win.

This season can't end soon enough for me. :(

ScouseCat
1 Jun 2003, 20:17
I will say another thing as well which I've said a few times already this season... it is not our young kids who make the costly mistakes at critical stages during the game.

If anyone can tell me what was going through Tom Harley's head in the last quarter when we were 2 points down and he got the ball inside our defensive 50 metre zone, please let me know. :confused:

you_idiot
2 Jun 2003, 19:08
I will say another thing as well which I've said a few times already this season... it is not our young kids who make the costly mistakes at critical stages during the game.

If anyone can tell me what was going through Tom Harley's head in the last quarter when we were 2 points down and he got the ball inside our defensive 50 metre zone, please let me know. :confused:

I'm puzzled, too, my friend. :mad:

I've said it on a couple of other threads, but it bears repeating about the end of the game, after the Crows took the lead...

What the hell is up with the match fitness, or the apparent lack of it? It seems that in the latter part of the final term, a lot of players' legs just gave out. Some weren't running anywhere nearly as hard in the last quarter as they were in the beginning, and that shouldn't be an issue at this point in the season. The four-quarter fitness should be there, no ifs, ands or buts about it.

The enduring image I have of the game, from where I was sitting, was Andrew McLeod running unabated through the middle of the ground, with what looked like no one chasing him nor anyone appearing like they're going to pursue him. And this was in the fourth quarter, with the game very much hanging in the balance.

After what we were talking about on this thread all week about how to contain McLeod, someone should have had a body on him, and at that point in the match especially!

As for others, Scarlett, Graham, Lord, Chapman, Ablett Jr., and Rooke, to name a few, played particularly well.

Sanderson and Corey, they didn't. In fact, I wish they could be dropped. They looked hopeless and pathetic out there, at times not going hard at either the ball or their men.

Anyway, here's to better luck against Carlton at Docklands on Sunday...

Big Red
2 Jun 2003, 21:04
So Norm Dare is still in charge of the forward line!? Barely a lead offered all day on Sunday. Must be soul destroying for the mid field working their guts out to get the footy and then having to kick to a contest all the time. How about some system. Any system! Or are all the forwards too slow to get a break on their opponent?

ScouseCat
2 Jun 2003, 21:24
Sanderson and Corey, they didn't. In fact, I wish they could be dropped. They looked hopeless and pathetic out there, at times not going hard at either the ball or their men.

I thought Joel Corey was ok on the weekend, especially in the second half. I thought he did enough to be amoungst our better players.

Kicks 15, Marks 3, Handballs 5.

JUBJUB
3 Jun 2003, 00:00

Sanderson and Corey, they didn't. In fact, I wish they could be dropped.

WHAT THE ...... ?????

Corey has been our best player all year and wasn't bad yesterday.He was better than at least 15 others.

Fall Out Boy
3 Jun 2003, 09:15
What Jubs said.

you_idiot
3 Jun 2003, 09:48
OK, maybe I'm seeing things differently on Corey. Even if he was one of the better Geelong players, I still think he could have played a lot harder than he appeared to, at times (and especially in the first half, indeed).

He had a lot of touches, yes, but his overall intensity was lacking, especially when he had to defend. That's one of those things that doesn't show up in the statistics. I still think that there were a lot of moments when he wasn't going hard at the ball or at his opponents.

Maybe Corey just had an off game, which can happen even to the best players...

I'm not wavering my opinion on Sanderson, though. He was downright terrible on Sunday, and deserves to be dropped on merit, or lack thereof.

Maybe Corey doesn't deserve to be dropped, on total season form to date, but Sanderson certainly does.

JUBJUB
3 Jun 2003, 11:58
OK, maybe I'm seeing things differently on Corey. Even if he was one of the better Geelong players, I still think he could have played a lot harder than he appeared to, at times (and especially in the first half, indeed).

He had a lot of touches, yes, but his overall intensity was lacking, especially when he had to defend. That's one of those things that doesn't show up in the statistics. I still think that there were a lot of moments when he wasn't going hard at the ball or at his opponents.

If you were talking about Corey Enright [#44],I'd agree,but not Joel Corey [#11].