View Full Version : Toast Anzac Day Football (1995- )

Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 14:38
Anzac Day is a special day to remember for a number of reasons. As a club, along with Collingwood, we've been extremely fortunate to be part of such a big day on the Australian calendar where we not only can play football but pay tribute to the many thousands who fought for the country we live in... I'm sure anybody who has been at the MCG for any of the last 15 Anzac Day clashes and had the privilege to witness the silence of over 90,000 people and the Last Post would agree that it is an amazing day to be involved with.

Obviously in terms of football, the initial drawn game of 1995 and the frantic finish in the wet in 2009 rank as some of the best games we've seen on the day... but what are your own personal feelings and thoughts about the day and your favourite memories? I'll get the ball rolling by posting up a few of these unforgettable memories...

zfCLQTJZzRc

RxHcndRvvQo

nMeXcmQRBts

hqK5-HlIIjM

kUfKboE6uSQ

FynUmIkGXZk

aWzZH9DnFfY

pueinMKykJo

Your thoughts and memories? :thumbsu:

Dkid
19 Apr 2010, 15:04
in the 2000 video from 2.20 onwards until morcroft gets the ball it reminds me of essendons gameplan now. difference is they can dispose of the ball without turning it over like we do now

beez
19 Apr 2010, 16:10
Why did you leave out highlights from 02, 06, 07 and 08...?

Macca18
19 Apr 2010, 16:12
Why did you leave out highlights from 02, 06, 07 and 08...?

Probably because this is the Essendon dedicated board on Bigfooty, Einstein.

Nobody is stopping you or anybody else posting Collingwood based highlights on their own board or anywhere else, FYI. kthxbai!

Kong
19 Apr 2010, 16:17
Why did you leave out highlights from 02, 06, 07 and 08...?Take a guess, mate.

beez
19 Apr 2010, 16:29
Probably because this is the Essendon dedicated board on Bigfooty, Einstein.

Nobody is stopping you or anybody else posting Collingwood based highlights on their own board or anywhere else, FYI. kthxbai!

Take a guess, mate.

I don't think a serious response was required. I was waiting for something along the lines of

"coz no one cares when Collingwood win"

or

"coz these are the best highlights"

Sorry, I will never frequent this board again.

Kong
19 Apr 2010, 16:30
Checks profile.

I see you're friends with Phone. I should've known.

JD11
19 Apr 2010, 19:06
in the 2000 video from 2.20 onwards until morcroft gets the ball it reminds me of essendons gameplan now. difference is they can dispose of the ball without turning it over like we do now

Apart from all the effective kicks. :p

brad
19 Apr 2010, 19:21
Anzac Day - extra tickets on sale
Apr 19, 2010

A limited number of full view, restricted view and standing room tickets to the Anzac Day match between Collingwood and Essendon on Sunday April 25 will be made available to the public on Tuesday April 20 at 12.00pm via Ticketek.

These additional tickets have become available as a result of unused AFL club or corporate allocations.

The match will commence at 2.40pm on Sunday and the pre-match commemorative activities will begin at 1.20pm.

Gate opening times:
Public/AFL members - 12.30pm
MCC members - 11.00am

Car park gates open:
Gate 3 – 6.00am
Gate 5 – 9.00am
Gate 6 – 11.00am
Gate 7 – 8.0am (media/corporate passes only)

Crowd estimate: 90,000

TAB outlets open: 12.30pm

National Sports Museum: Open for patrons with event tickets from 12.30pm until half-time.

I have a standing room ticket, how early do I need to arrive at the ground so I can see the match?
It is in your best interest to arrive as early as possible to guarantee a position in the front. Public gates open at 12.30pm.

How many other people will be in the Standing room bay as me?
Standing room bays vary in capacity. All bays have been measured according to building codes and standards.

Can I bring a stool/walking stool on wheels/cushion/portable chair to sit on while I am in the standing room bay?
No

What will my view of the ground be like with a Restricted view ticket?
Your view will depend on where your ticket is. However, most Restricted view tickets allow for a majority of the playing surface and a scoreboard to be seen.

More questions? Then please send us an email at communications@mcc.org.au

Darealrath
19 Apr 2010, 19:38
That 1995 crowd was incredible. I still remember watching everyone scrambling for seats when they opened up the top of the Ponsford. Never seen (or heard) anything like it.

Football God
20 Apr 2010, 00:55
hope you dont mind me posting here.. but medhursts 08 performance, hopefully he gets back to that status this sunday.

LzTxIhZL6nU

rines
20 Apr 2010, 01:06
In all fairness I'm glad that Anzac day, no matter who wins, has been a good occasion. I think both clubs and both teams supporters come out and really give the game meaning. Yes there have been some spankings but overall more highlights than lowlights and so many special performances.

Credit to both teams and hopefully they produce another ripper this year.

Through our memories and enjoyment of freedom we honour you.

YouIdiot
20 Apr 2010, 10:30
The Anzac day game is a credit to both clubs. They should never, and I suspect will never, take it away from us.

The game is as big as a final, every year, regardless of either sides season performances to date.

Good luck Bombers, and thanks for so many good memories (and some bad ones).

AS9
20 Apr 2010, 12:07
Just got my tickets now!

Happy enough with the seats too.

Zaka11
20 Apr 2010, 15:13
Finally getting back to an ANZAC Day game since 1999, hell I cant even remember the score back then.

Obviously getting a bit excited because of last years game. Im sure im not alone when saying i thought leroy jetta had let our last chance go when he fumbled across the goal line.

Interested to hear what makes this a special day for you. The game, the crowd, knowing collingwood always rate themselves and beating them, the soldiers, the memories...........

bacon buster
20 Apr 2010, 16:00
nothing will beat last year's game, just unbelieveable.

i love the games. i've been every 2nd year since 01, and we've only lost 1 of those.

01 - barnard kicked a bag
03 - hirdy's last quarter
05 - average game, but lovett announced himself
07 - loss, but davey's goal was a highlight
09 - ...

U Got Reimered
20 Apr 2010, 17:06
Nothing beats last year!!!

Watching the game I thought we played well, but was still guttered when there was 5 minutes to go and we were down by 3 goals. All of the Collingwood supporters chanting and doing their usual thing. Joffa puts his gold jacket on.

Then we kick another goal and I am still too devastated to be excited...

Then we kick another and A) I get a little more excited and B) Collingwood fans go a little quieter..

Then the Essendon fans start a frenzy trying to find out how much time is left.. With answers ranging from 2 minutes to 5 seconds..

Then a start was born... ZAHARAKISSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

I was hugging everyone I could get my hands on.. Joffa's gold jacket seemed to disappear quicker than you can say Colliwobbles..

But the walk back to Richmond station was even better.. The look of disbelief in the eyes of the Collingwood fans was priceless, and the happiness beaming from Bomber fans still puts a smile on my face...

This game will forever be my favourite!!!

Aside from the actual match, it's great to come in early and walk around the city to see what's going on, have lunch then wonder over to the G...

Frothies Mcveigh
20 Apr 2010, 17:21
I was sitting in the pouring rain right near Dyson when he kicked that goal. Last year was awesome.

toddy104
20 Apr 2010, 17:33
So where are we all sitting for Sundays game. I got my tickets today at 12 noon P6 GSS, think that is a Collingwood member area! Can anyone confirm this?

Either way I'm very happy to get those tickets the week of the game.

I think we are going to be fairly outnumbered considering its not own home game.

So where is everyone located?:thumbsu:

HollyLovesWCE
20 Apr 2010, 17:33
I teared up when Zarharakis kicked that goal, because of his story growing up and being an Essendon supporter and all that, then winning the game against your biggest rivals in the home and away seasons' biggest game... a fantastic footy moment!

The satisfaction of seeing my entire Collingwood-supporting family so dissapointed and speechless was pretty great too!

Good luck this weekend :thumbsu:

OzBomber
20 Apr 2010, 17:43
Way up in the bleaches of Row X bay 28. :o

Went and had a look at what my view would be a couple of weeks ago and I'll just be able to see the goals from where I'm sitting. It's about as close as you can go to restricted view without it actually being restriced view. If I had known I would've chosen differents seats but I'm there for the 3rd time and that's all that matters. :)

LB#16
20 Apr 2010, 18:01
Went to my first last year and will be going every single year from now on :thumbsu:
Would not miss this weekend for the world. Zaka to kick a bag on the anniversary of the kick of his career. Carn the Dons!!!

AndyLesPaul
20 Apr 2010, 18:02
How did you check that Sean?

donsman4eva
20 Apr 2010, 18:27
Q14, row A. Very happy, although I have a feeling it is a Collingwood members area, since I got the ticket through a Collingwood member. Still, it will be nice knowing all the supporters will have to look at an Essendon guernsey the whole time we are smashing them :D

stay true
20 Apr 2010, 18:38
Q32 here.

brad
20 Apr 2010, 18:53
im P18 Row A

Dad is Q15 Row A

got friends scattered around the ground on M level and Q

not one of us together.

I'll think we'll be outnumbered YES because we're the AWAY team BUT I think we'll be there in more numbers than any other away game.

OzBomber
20 Apr 2010, 18:53
How did you check that Sean?
After the Carlton game I went to my seat, and had a look at the view.

stay true
20 Apr 2010, 19:01
Been to 01, 02, 04, 05, 07, 09.

Things that make it special for me... The tradition, the soldiers, the crowd - everything really.

Worst experience would be 02 when we only kicked like 3 goals for the game in pretty terrible conditions.

Best experience definitely 09. Sitting behind the goals in the Southern out in the rain just watching in awe as Zaka's kick sails through the goals which was followed by absolute delirium. Hard to put it in words really.

Grey Smith Bar
20 Apr 2010, 20:01
Zaharakis was great, but the '95 draw tops it.

Johnson#26
20 Apr 2010, 21:34
G'day! Am looking to make this a regular little thing, starting a thread on the opposition's board weekly prior to Pies matches against each side this year. Just for memories and moments you recall from previous Magpies-Bombers matches over the years, or players who featured for both sides over the journey.

My football memory bank begins in 1997, so I'll go as follows:

R5 1997 - windy, sunny day not too dissimilar to the 1990 GF. Think we had 4-5 players all boot two majors for the day, but no one score more than two (again, similar to 1990 - Brown, Daicos, Crosisca, Barwick). We kicked more points than goals (I say this without looking at the stats, could be wrong, but think we were quite inaccurate). A.Rocca launched a 70m+ torpedo from just forward of the wing for a goal. Some interesting Magpie names to play included Paul Sharkey, Alex McDonald, Jason Wild, Richard Osbourne and Robbie Ahmat - who was embroiled in an altercation with Michael Prior (rated that guy pre-knee op, I think he might have had circa 1998?) which related to racial villification. Pies won by 11-points.

R20 1997 - was sitting in the Ponsford Stand, bottom deck. Mistook Brent Tuckey's surname for 'Turkey' during the reserves, with a guy behind me blurting out 'he plays like a bloody turkey!'. Sav snapped a goal in the opening minute IIRC, and did quite nicely until the Bombers surged in the final quarter. Gavin Brown kept us safe and sound across half back, and we won by 10-points. Lloyd, Caracella, Blumfield and Heffernan led the Dons fightback. Buckley was booked for kneeing Barry Young in a final term scuffle, but got off at the tribunal with some claiming Young faked an injury to milk the free kick.

R5 1998 - Matthew Banks was back again to take on Sav Rocca in what turned out to be his final game. The match was played as a twilight fixture as part of the AFL's new idea for the season, where Sat arvos from Rs1-11 in 1998 were started at 3pm. Pies kicked away in the 2nd half, Sav with seven, Bucks in top form, and Stephen Patterson the best player on the ground. There's a great image of a speccy taken by Bucks over Mark Fraser in the final quarter. The win was our third for the season. We only won four more between then and round seven, 1999 vs Brisbane at the Gabba.

R20 1998 - Never saw this game, remember tuning in late in the day for 3AW's call. Recall Jamie Tape getting named as the Magpies best, and Sav and Anthony missing a number of gettable goals. Dons to the good by 10 or so points. Think we had our chances to pull off the win late, but couldn't convert.

R5 1999 - One of the more underrated Anzac Day games. Essendon screamed to a 38-point lead at quarter time, but with Paul Williams dominant the Pies whittled that back to eight when the final siren went. Williams kicked five, Craig Jacotine debuted for the Pies, and weeks later had Buckley labelling him a potential future captain. He was delisted at the end of 2000, and at last check was playing for Noble Park a few years back after hamstring troubles. Collingwood was sans Buckley, Essendon sans Hird. Think Mercuri was BOG. Was KO'd that day in local footy, and remember watching the highlights on Seven after the Crows win over the Swans at Football Park.

R20 1999 - Freezing cold night, heavy rain, so much so that Richard Osborne had to take over from Dipper on the boundary for Friday night footy. Don't recall much of the game save for G.Brown and B.Young getting booked for wrestling, and Essendon holding off a persistent Pies outfit for the duration in the heavy conditions.

R7 2000 - Pies got off to a ripper start. Stage was set for a great game. Essendon 6-0, Pies 5-1. We led by two goals at the half, but then it was all one-way traffic (aka James Hird and Lucas - six goals) for Essendon to run out 40-pt winners. O'Bree, Buckley and Steve McKee at CHB the best for the Pies. Hird the inaugural Anzac Medallist. Game was played on the Easter weekend (the Tuesday), and as such both sides played on the Monday night the following week (Essendon belted Brisbane at the Gabba in the wet, Moorcroft with six, and Freo didn't give the Pies a sniff all night, Bucks well held by Shane Parker, and Daniel Bandy in fine form). Game was played in R7 due to the early start for the Sydney Olympics.

R22 2000 - Sat in the AFL Members on level 2A. Gavin Brown and Gavin Crosisca's final games for the Pies. Essendon up at the end of the day by four goals, but the Pies weren't disgraced. Tyson Lane best for the Woods. Essendon showed true grace by waiting to leave the field while applauding Brown and Crosisca off the ground.

R5 2001 - Another underrated Anzac Day game. Essendon won by nine (?) points. Tarrant the Anzac Medallist. Chad Rintoul's bright start to the year nipped in the bud by a broken leg. Josh Fraser made two horrible blunders in the 1st qtr which conceded goals (not touching McVeigh's dribble on the line and miscuing a kick over Freeborn's head into the lap of Blumfield).

R20 2001 - Pre-game fireworks in a literal sense. A pretty close game throughout. A.Rocca with five for the Pies, Nick Davis good, too, but Essendon pulled away with ease in the last qtr en route to top spot on the ladder.

I'll post some more recollections from matches from 2002-2009 a bit later. Admit that these are from a Pies perspective, hopefully you Dons fans have some good memories to share from these games and of course the many others. Cheers.

beev
20 Apr 2010, 21:35
M52, row H

SirJimi05
20 Apr 2010, 21:37
Going out on an all night bender the night before and heading straight to the footy without any sleep. Caught about the first 5 minutes and then slept for the rest of the game. :o

Johnson#26
20 Apr 2010, 21:39
Love Anzac Day, and really respect the way the two clubs handle it.

Two annoyances of recent times, though:

a) The game is now an 'event'. Too corporate for such a day.

b) All the hangers-on from non-Pies/Ess clubs who get tickets to the game. Dilutes the atmosphere, and takes away another seat from a Pies/Dons fan.

BACCS
20 Apr 2010, 21:40
Well not exactly an Essendon or Collingwood supporter.... But I'm over in Melbourne for the weekend, and got my tickets to the game today.:thumbsu: They are only standing room in the Olympic Stand, does anyone know what the view is like from there? Cheers.

Phone
20 Apr 2010, 21:41
Right cushion of my couch.

OzBomber
20 Apr 2010, 21:44
Well not exactly an Essendon or Collingwood supporter.... But I'm over in Melbourne for the weekend, and got my tickets to the game today.:thumbsu: They are only standing room in the Olympic Stand, does anyone know what the view is like from there? Cheers.
Not sure, mate. Sorry. But it is advised you get there super early to get the best spot.

http://www.mcg.org.au/News%20and%20Media/News/2010/April/Anzac%20Day%20ticket%20update.aspx

Hope you have a blast mate, if it's anything like last year it'll be awesome. Oh, and make sure you're supporting the Bombers! :thumbsu;

BACCS
20 Apr 2010, 21:53
Not sure, mate. Sorry. But it is advised you get there super early to get the best spot.

http://www.mcg.org.au/News%20and%20Media/News/2010/April/Anzac%20Day%20ticket%20update.aspx

Hope you have a blast mate, if it's anything like last year it'll be awesome. Oh, and make sure you're supporting the Bombers! :thumbsu;
Haha cheers mate.:thumbsu: I support any side against Collingwood, so don't worry about that.;) Just another thing. does much go on outside the ground before the match that is worth going too?

footycool
20 Apr 2010, 22:14
Haha cheers mate.:thumbsu: I support any side against Collingwood, so don't worry about that.;) Just another thing. does much go on outside the ground before the match that is worth going too?
No, not really. But the pre-match stuff starts at 1.30pm inside the ground, you would want to be there for that :thumbsu:

lloyd136
20 Apr 2010, 22:28
http://www.velocitysports.com.au/images/Athletes/Dayne%20Beams/AnzacDay5.jpg

Just being there.

S1ncla1r
20 Apr 2010, 22:32
Cant remember the year, but just before half time siren, scores level as i believe, and Jimmy Hird marks on the bondary bout 35 out. He turns and passes inboard where the ball is punched away from the Essendon forward and siren sounds. Umpires blows wistle and claims he didn't put hird behind his mark, so Hird gets the kick again. And bang he kicks it straight through the middle after the siren.

I was shattered, and after than Essendon had all the momentum and went on to win.

BACCS
20 Apr 2010, 22:58
No, not really. But the pre-match stuff starts at 1.30pm inside the ground, you would want to be there for that :thumbsu:
Cheers mate.:thumbsu: Have a sneaky feeling your boys will get up this week, will be my smokey tip, so hopefully they don't let me down!:p

Jonesy1987
21 Apr 2010, 06:06
2nd level behind the Collingwood members. 4th row from the back. The belly of the beast.

dave_27
21 Apr 2010, 06:20
2nd level behind the collingwood members. 4th row from the back. The belly of the beast.

Lol.

OzBomber
21 Apr 2010, 07:48
2nd level behind the Collingwood members. 4th row from the back. The belly of the beast.
That must've set you back over $100 surely?

Jonesy1987
21 Apr 2010, 08:46
That must've set you back over $100 surely?

Free... my best mate is a Pies supporter and every year he buys two Collingwood memberships and I buy two Essendon ones, we both go to both games every weekend. Just sitting in his because his seats are better. I've done it a couple of years in a row, and boy was last year fun :D:thumbsu:

daffo
21 Apr 2010, 08:58
I'm sitting on the wing in the Southern Stand. BOTTOM TIER, FIRST ROW!!!! wow.. I don't know what I did to be that lucky.

mark1881
21 Apr 2010, 13:12
Would love to see a sign out there on the weekend with Zaharakis ZAHARAKIS!!! I know it's living in the past a little but it would be nice to stick the boot in one more time!

bomberfan101
21 Apr 2010, 14:03
M9 Row P :D

Right on the 50m arc

LB#16
21 Apr 2010, 14:03
No doubt that someone will make one before Sunday.

Also, when he kicks a goal everyone should yell ZAHAKARIS!!!!
That would be sweet as.

daffo
21 Apr 2010, 14:20
Zakarakis, be a HERO, be a HERO!!! GOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLL can you believe it, at the 30 min mark ESSENDON HIT THE FRONT!!!!!!!!

bipolarbeaR
21 Apr 2010, 17:06
Apparently he is quite sore, and a chance not to play.

JD11
21 Apr 2010, 17:08
Apparently he is quite sore, and a chance not to play.

Party pooper.
:p

Slappery
21 Apr 2010, 17:19
Q51...no idea what seat..16 of us coming over.....

Nose Bleed...my first ANZAC......jizz in my pants

topdon
21 Apr 2010, 20:30
Hope has another enjoyable day in the box ...

IxekfrXg0s0

topdon
21 Apr 2010, 20:35
Remember a game in the early to mid 90s (preceeding the ANZAC Day games), David Flood marking the ball about 70-80 metres out on the HFF (Southern Stand side) just prior to the siren blowing for half time. All the Collingwood players started to make their way off the ground forgetting that Floody had the ball in his hand. Noticing this, he unleased a torp that would have landed 20 metres out and bounced through for a goal.

It was one of the most extraordinary things i've seen on a football field. I remember Tony Shaw being absolutely ropable!! :D

Jonesy1987
21 Apr 2010, 21:28
Should play him the centre, he would traumatize their midfielders just by calling for the ball. "Zaharakis, ZAHARAKIS"

HirdyTheLegend
21 Apr 2010, 21:47
I gotta go with Anzac Day Round 5 2003.
One word

HIRD

What a dominate performance by a true legend, 5 goals and an Anzac medal to go with it.
The game was still in the ballance at 3Q time with the Bombers holding a 3-4 goal lead and the Pies were playing well, but the legend stepped up to the plate in the last and we ran away with a 60+ point win.
I'm pretty sure cupido kicked 5 and Lloydy kicked a bag of 6-7 but it was all about Hirdy.
I'm sure thats the day that i first found out what true love was lol :eek:

FandangoDingo
22 Apr 2010, 12:31
Should play him the centre, he would traumatize their midfielders just by calling for the ball. "Zaharakis, ZAHARAKIS"

:confused:

He calls the ball "Zaharakis" or refers to himself in the third person? ;)

adii_7
24 Apr 2010, 15:04
shoot me a pm, might be able to get a ticket.

MAX 2, and standing room.

AsIfYouCare
24 Apr 2010, 20:28
http://www.velocitysports.com.au/images/Athletes/Dayne%20Beams/AnzacDay5.jpg

Just being there.

Agreed. The light rain and sun made the light almost magical, and it was such a sweet feeling having watched gloating Collingwood supporters leave the ground a couple of minutes earlier. I've never sung the song that loud.

Going tomorrow too.

centrelink1
24 Apr 2010, 20:36
http://i982.photobucket.com/albums/ae309/centrelink1/ZAHARAKIS.gif

windyhill
24 Apr 2010, 23:00
Going to Vic park numerous times and just being aware of my surroundings if you get my drift.

jade_00
24 Apr 2010, 23:32
Is almost upon us.

The two football clubs have done a massive, fantastic job in honouring this day.

But here's to the real reason we honour Anzac Day :thumbsu:

Lest We Forget.

footycool
24 Apr 2010, 23:51
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r05-gsp-45.jpg

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2009/04/25/Anzacess_gallery__470x387.jpg

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r05-gsp-64.jpg

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r05-gsp-60.jpg

BRING IT ON!

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
25 Apr 2010, 01:01
cant ****n wait CRAN THE DONS!!!!!