View Full Version : TV Master Chef Season 2
Pages :
[
1]
richskee
19 Apr 2010, 18:30
Well it starts again, 7.30pm tonight.
TBH I'm pretty excited as I really enjoyed the last series. Also noticed a girl from the year above me is on the show (Fiona).
Looking forward to it!
Bob Vance
19 Apr 2010, 19:00
Last season was great imo, but I can't see this season living up to expectations. I'm still looking forward to it though.
Daytripper
19 Apr 2010, 20:17
Glad they've got rid of the auditions and basically jumped straight into it.
Exhale You
19 Apr 2010, 21:00
They need to spread out the vignettes and interviews amongst the contestants more evenly because like last year it seems that, for the most part, if you get some screen time early you're definitely going to be around for a while.
Early contenders for most annoying are Adele and Tina Arena's twin.
richskee
19 Apr 2010, 21:21
first thoughts
That guy who cut himself twice is a dumb-ass and should not be on the show.
People who cry on these shows give me the sh1ts.
And the guy who made the pancake pavlova on his 3rd attempt was hilarious.
Other than that, not a bad start. A few lookers as well.:thumbsu:
Daytripper
19 Apr 2010, 21:50
Thought it was a good start.
Producers do a great job of getting the audience emotionally invested in the participants. And the foods they choose are always spot on. Everyone has eaten a pavlova before so its interesting what slants different people choose when doing it.
Lol at the "pancake pav" that bloke served up. :D
Must say that I like the format they have gone with this year, that the top 50 has already been chosen, and the contestants are getting into it already.
Wahooti Fandango
19 Apr 2010, 22:57
first thoughts
That guy who cut himself twice is a dumb-ass and should not be on the show.
People who cry on these shows give me the sh1ts.
And the guy who made the pancake pavlova on his 3rd attempt was hilarious.
Other than that, not a bad start. A few lookers as well.:thumbsu:
pics please.
j2kboiz
19 Apr 2010, 23:05
Dissapointed the hottest girl I noticed was knocked out in the bottom 5.
SunKing
19 Apr 2010, 23:13
Yeh Nicolette was a stunner too bad she got the boot:(
That dudes pizza/pancake pav was gold!
Freo Big Fella
19 Apr 2010, 23:20
A good start I thought - felt sorry for them when it was a pav, have never been able to make meringues. Those were some ****ing monstrous bits of ribeye they were cooking with in the bbq challenge as well.
The cynic in me had Irmgaard picked to be the next Julie - suprised to see her get the arse so quickly.
Hodges 153!
20 Apr 2010, 08:38
They need to spread out the vignettes and interviews amongst the contestants more evenly because like last year it seems that, for the most part, if you get some screen time early you're definitely going to be around for a while.
I was thinking the same thing, but was surprised when Peter and Nicolette who got a fair bit of coverage were ones to go.
"Armguard" was a crack up!
Thinking Lamb was Pork, and then measuring out "200mls" of Sugar..... :D
SammyFish25
20 Apr 2010, 11:24
Dissapointed the hottest girl I noticed was knocked out in the bottom 5.
Yeh Nicolette was a stunner too bad she got the boot:(
That dudes pizza/pancake pav was gold!
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/7090/nicb.png (http://img690.imageshack.us/i/nicb.png/)
Her??
Was a bit of a shame.
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/7090/nicb.png (http://img690.imageshack.us/i/nicb.png/)
Her??
Was a bit of a shame.
Forgot to mention her in my original post. Very very cute. Would have like to have seen more of her.
j2kboiz
20 Apr 2010, 19:33
Her??
Was a bit of a shame.
That's the one! to be honest with all the airtime they were giving her I thought she would cruise through the first few rounds. A bit like Justine did last year. They always have a pretty girl, old mum etc in them but in this case they both have gone in the first ep:eek:
They haven't showed us enough of the others yet so hopefully there is another in the top 50.
Invigoration
20 Apr 2010, 19:47
Shattered, don't think I'll watch anymore. That chick was ****ing smoking.
Some of the girls need to htfu, they just cry at the drop of a hat, far out it's annoying.
SunKing
20 Apr 2010, 20:05
They haven't showed us enough of the others yet so hopefully there is another in the top 50.
Had a close look tonight and I spied cute blonde who we haven't seen much of yet but then Justine was pretty low key to start.
The lawyer is hot as well.
Exhale You
20 Apr 2010, 20:23
I'm really liking Skye, the Toni Collette lookalike.
She's certainly from left field but she's also very creative and interesting, and whilst such creative people tend to be hit and miss, i'm keen on seeing how she goes so hopefully she gets through to the final 24.
damochandler
20 Apr 2010, 22:33
i think the big tall old looking bloke will come out of the pack and surprise a few. he has already got a couple of good reviews from the judges. top 24 certainty
tonight jonno looked like a morral to get through but the end product didn't come up good enough
damochandler
20 Apr 2010, 22:36
i was hoping that nicolette would get through. it ws hard for her and she was stunning
ThePezDispenser
21 Apr 2010, 10:52
Is it just me or are the ****ing contestant commentaries the most annoying part of TV?
I absolutely can't stand it. What is the point of having them talk of their emotions and their troubles after the fact? They already know of the result.
It's an absolute waste of time. Either have them telling us about their troubles as they are having them or don't to it at all.
THRILLHO
21 Apr 2010, 12:37
Gotta stretch half-an-hour of footage into an hour-and-a-half I guess. I just cant see Masterchef 2 going the distance. It's going to be overkill with hour long episodes 3-4 times a week for 6 straight days.
Daytripper
21 Apr 2010, 13:13
Gotta stretch half-an-hour of footage into an hour-and-a-half I guess. I just cant see Masterchef 2 going the distance. It's going to be overkill with hour long episodes 3-4 times a week for 6 straight days.
Pretty sure this format is only for the first week then it will revert back to what it was last year.
Sundays, Wednesday, Fridays - 1 hour
Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays - 30 minutes.
Rating its socks off again - 1.5 million last night in a very competitive timeslot. Top Gear etc.
Exhale You
21 Apr 2010, 14:15
Is it just me or are the ****ing contestant commentaries the most annoying part of TV?
I absolutely can't stand it. What is the point of having them talk of their emotions and their troubles after the fact? They already know of the result.
It's simply a case of tv executives believing the greater viewing public are so dumb that they need everything spelled out to them.
The art of subtlety is dead.
Mind you, i'd rather them talk about their emotions than simply rehash what we've just freaking heard from the judges.
It usually goes something like this:
George: This is the signature dish challenge, yeah. Pick your favourite dish and make it for us.
Random Contestant: So, we're doing a signature dish challenge today. We have to make our favourite dish for the judges, which should be good.
I heard it the first time, dick.
damochandler
21 Apr 2010, 14:58
Pretty sure this format is only for the first week then it will revert back to what it was last year.
Sundays, Wednesday, Fridays - 1 hour
Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays - 30 minutes.
Rating its socks off again - 1.5 million last night in a very competitive timeslot. Top Gear etc.
australias got no talent is in that time slot as well and it 50k viewers last night
eddiesmith
21 Apr 2010, 20:38
Would have been very harsh if they had sent Phillip home
Missed the judging of most of the dishes, must have done it quickly, but the 2 teams who went home must have been poor, they didnt like the Chicken of 1 of the teams who survived
Rough_Edges
21 Apr 2010, 20:59
Couldn't believe they didn't like the chicken but still put them through.
Was very surprised.
Couldn't believe they didn't like the chicken but still put them through.
Was very surprised.
Me too, although It was only Matt not the other 2. I tend to think it may have been taken out of context.
SunKing
21 Apr 2010, 21:39
All Matt said was the chicken could have been more moist. Also the other dish was excellent.
So glad to see them let Phillip through considering he had to make 2 dishes and one was superb.
Rough_Edges
21 Apr 2010, 22:31
It's always hard to judge how good the dishes were based on usually 1 comment per dish.
I like the show, but can someone please kill that fat git Preston? His presence makes it hard to watch, I keep hoping he'll explode like the guy in The Meaning Of Life.
Rough_Edges
22 Apr 2010, 00:57
I like the show, but can someone please kill that fat git Preston? His presence makes it hard to watch, I keep hoping he'll explode like the guy in The Meaning Of Life.
He is fantastic IMO.
His speeches after he eats someone's food provides epic lols.
Always looks disgusted when he is eating, before the "upbeat" music comes on and you know he likes it.
All the Judges are good, although George seems ridiculously over the top this year so far.
He is fantastic IMO.
His speeches after he eats someone's food provides epic lols.
Always looks disgusted when he is eating, before the "upbeat" music comes on and you know he likes it.
All the Judges are good, although George seems ridiculously over the top this year so far.
Sorry I can't stand him, he has the most punchable head & he really makes me feel sick, I love George. :D
Rough_Edges
22 Apr 2010, 01:07
fair enough.
Yep, i Like George as well.
I like all 3 judges.
I just think George is getting all caught up so far and being a little over the top with his consistent yelling and his "This could be the last time you ever cook in a masterchef kitchen".
Not sure which Judge that was, I think it was George, and it annoyed me a bit. Seriously, you think they don't no that?
eddiesmith
22 Apr 2010, 01:44
Sounds like the bald headed one, he is always yelling out stuff like that
Daytripper
22 Apr 2010, 06:44
The reason George is always yealling is that the floor space is so huge, that he has to yell so that everyone can hear him.
He admitted that it does come across badly on television though.
THRILLHO
22 Apr 2010, 08:24
Matt Preston offers epic lulz.
SunKing
22 Apr 2010, 10:27
Best Matt Preston moment so far was when he entered for the first time like some kind of rock star.
damochandler
22 Apr 2010, 11:00
it was a good show last night and phillip did well sort of under pressure.
gee 7 and 9 especially 7 love to try and stick the knife inot other fta stations tv shows
Best Matt Preston moment so far was when he entered for the first time like some kind of rock star.
Wearing pink pants, if it was a female doing the same role, who was as fat & a terrible dresser as Preston, all the posters on BF would be calling for them to be taken off the show. :rolleyes:
Daytripper
22 Apr 2010, 15:22
Wearing pink pants, if it was a female doing the same role, who was as fat & a terrible dresser as Preston, all the posters on BF would be calling for them to be taken off the show. :rolleyes:
Thats very judgemental of you, mantis.
Yet it's true. Look at the women who host the reality shows, they are bagged non stop for their looks, even Caro who I don't like either is bagged for her looks & dress sense, yet the males don't suffer the same criticism.
As I said, if a female was as fat & had the same dress sense as Preston, there would be heaps of posts bagging her.
western wolf
22 Apr 2010, 16:14
Yet it's true. Look at the women who host the reality shows, they are bagged non stop for their looks
The only female host of a reality show that i can think of that got bagged was Aj Rochester from the biggest loser but that was mainly because she was a ****ing thief. Who else is there?
That woman from Big Brother, a show I never watched, but the posts on here bagging her for being ugly & annoyiing were constant.
It's typical double standards, look at the old guys still in the TV news media, but as soon as a woman gets older, she is replaced with a young good looking woman.
OH & the female from the first Master Chef got canned & she was also criticised constantly.
western wolf
22 Apr 2010, 18:30
That woman from Big Brother, a show I never watched, but the posts on here bagging her for being ugly & annoyiing were constant.
God only knows - i watched some of the 1st series & you might be talking about the girl with the Rabbit ears who did the bum dance? Can't remember her name so i guess she has dropped back to obscurity. She was overweight from memory.
It's typical double standards, look at the old guys still in the TV news media, but as soon as a woman gets older, she is replaced with a young good looking woman.
You are correct. Suzanah Carr is still hanging in there though in Perth ..
OH & the female from the first Master Chef got canned & she was also criticised constantly.
Julie & POH got bagged constantly - thats true - but the people bagging her weren't just basing it on their looks. Poh seemed to get more chances from the judges than Lazarus & Julie served up that puddle pie & was perceived by a large number of people as not being the best cook in the finals ..
But generally i see your point ..
Invigoration
22 Apr 2010, 18:52
That was awesome. How's the contestants gasping and looking all surprised though, like ****, did you really not expect to see him?
Yet it's true. Look at the women who host the reality shows, they are bagged non stop for their looks, even Caro who I don't like either is bagged for her looks & dress sense, yet the males don't suffer the same criticism.
As I said, if a female was as fat & had the same dress sense as Preston, there would be heaps of posts bagging her.
It's undeniably true, one of my favourite double standards though :thumbsu: If Donna Hay walked in looking like that I would have put my fist through the TV screen.
God only knows - i watched some of the 1st series & you might be talking about the girl with the Rabbit ears who did the bum dance? Can't remember her name so i guess she has dropped back to obscurity. She was overweight from memory.
No I was talking about the female host of the show, I can't remember her name as I didn't watch the show, just read all the negative posts on her.
You are correct. Suzanah Carr is still hanging in there though in Perth ..
I give her another year tops. ;)
Julie & POH got bagged constantly - thats true - but the people bagging her weren't just basing it on their looks. Poh seemed to get more chances from the judges than Lazarus & Julie served up that puddle pie & was perceived by a large number of people as not being the best cook in the finals ..
Again, I was talking about one of the hosts, she is the only one who didn't get her contract renewed.
But generally i see your point ..
Thankyou, I'm not bagging the men on these shows just Preston, he really makes me want to punch him in the face. :D
That was awesome. How's the contestants gasping and looking all surprised though, like ****, did you really not expect to see him?
It's undeniably true, one of my favourite double standards though :thumbsu: If Donna Hay walked in looking like that I would have put my fist through the TV screen.
Thankyou for being honest, that's how I feel everytime Preston appears on the TV. :eek:
Exhale You
22 Apr 2010, 19:40
Another 90 minutes tonight? Bloody hell, they're milking it and milking it hard.
Anyone who can find the time to watch every minute of even the first week of shows deserves a medal.
I'll stick with it for a while yet in the hope that it captures my imagination like last years series did but there's no way i can justify watching an hour and a half of Masterchef 4-5 nights a week.
lifelike_
22 Apr 2010, 20:21
Had to laugh when George stressed the importance of not wasting food, five minutes after countless eggs and carrots were pretty much wasted.
j2kboiz
22 Apr 2010, 22:57
Had to laugh when George stressed the importance of not wasting food, five minutes after countless eggs and carrots were pretty much wasted.
I was thinking about this tonight. Imagine how much food they go through every episode. I wonder if it is just eaten by the crew and contestants after or if it is all thrown out.
Stone in sock
22 Apr 2010, 23:07
let me try to understand. tonight, 1.5 million australians or thereabouts spent a good 20 minutes of their evening watching fillets of fish getting weighed.
i weep for the future.
Rough_Edges
23 Apr 2010, 00:40
A good episode but George's over enthusiasm is doing my head in.
I really liked Phillip before we found out he was a god boy. A quote doesn't annoy me more than "Well he has led me well so far". GTFO. I still quite like him but if he starts going on about god, i will not like him.
wce_all_da_way
23 Apr 2010, 00:48
I ****ing hate that Adele already.
western wolf
23 Apr 2010, 09:58
A good episode but George's over enthusiasm is doing my head in.
I really liked Phillip before we found out he was a god boy. A quote doesn't annoy me more than "Well he has led me well so far". GTFO. I still quite like him but if he starts going on about god, i will not like him.
I'm not 100% convinced those tears he choked back when he gave george that sob story were genuine .. Might have done it for the sympathy angle ..
SunKing
23 Apr 2010, 10:12
Haven't seen last nights ep yet but that would be annoying. I don't mind if people are spiritual but just keep it to yourself.
Every body knows that once a woman is no longer desirable to look at they should slink off quietly and just get on with child rearing, cooking, cleaning etc. In general, apart from the Lessies and mature woman desperately trying to hold onto their relevance out there, no man or desirable younger women likes a fat old ugly opinionated tart. It's just the way us humans are designed. I grant you there is a segment out there that do like these types, that's why Oprah is famous, but if you are looking at a broad based television show that wants to appeal to everyone, putting a fat old ugly opinionated tart on it is not the way you go about it.
Daytripper
23 Apr 2010, 10:30
I'm not 100% convinced those tears he choked back when he gave george that sob story were genuine .. Might have done it for the sympathy angle ..
Yes, because he has had secret acting skills whilst working as an auditor. :rolleyes:
FFS.
western wolf
23 Apr 2010, 12:43
Yes, because he has had secret acting skills whilst working as an auditor. :rolleyes:
FFS.
Johnny Fairplay says hello.
lifelike_
23 Apr 2010, 12:44
I ****ing hate that Adele already.
Everybody hates Adele.
lol.
I get stressed just watching her.
damochandler
23 Apr 2010, 16:01
adele looks like she is going to cry at the sight of a carrot
Rough_Edges
23 Apr 2010, 16:49
Agree on Adele, she is terrible - when they were weighing her last bit of fish - "It's alright, It's fine, don't worry about it." Seriously, wtf is the point of that.
btw - Fiona - the one who destroyed her Gnocchi is quite looker. Hopefully she gets another look in.
Yes I've got my suspicions as well. The timing was 100% perfect as well.
What a great show yesterday, no fatso. :thumbsu:
eddiesmith
25 Apr 2010, 20:12
With so many contestants in the challenge its obviously impossible to do everyones judgements and stuff, but i did like last week that when calling out names of people at the end of a challenge the TV also showed a shot of what they had made, not doing it tonight which sucks as it can be hard to follow and remember what dishes were made that got people through or kicked out
Exhale You
25 Apr 2010, 22:08
It was no surprise to see that, almost to a man, all those who we'd not seen much of missed the final cut whilst those who'd had plenty of screentime, got through, often regardless of performance (Sharnee is the perfect example of that).
I know it's hard with 50 people and such little time but it'd be nice if we were genuinely able to be introduced to everyone early on so it makes the final cull less predictable.
western wolf
25 Apr 2010, 23:14
That chick can't make noodles yet she gets through? What a load of bullshit.
eddiesmith
25 Apr 2010, 23:19
Did she make the cut? Thats funny :D
Missed the graphics reminding you of who did what
.Shotties.
26 Apr 2010, 21:01
Lines I hate hearing:
I cook from the heart
That's me / my heart on a plate
I'm cooking for my grandma / cousin / dog
SunKing
26 Apr 2010, 22:57
Lines I hate hearing:
I cook from the heart
One and two I agree with but the third was valid with tonights challenge but otherwise it's annoying.
Would have been nice to see all the contestants dishes too.
western wolf
26 Apr 2010, 23:00
So many tears, recapping, contestants stating the bleeding obvious, and extra padding that we only saw about 1/3 of the contestants dishes. Why do they think we want to see people crying instead of food being cooked ffs.
kenny712
27 Apr 2010, 01:10
Is it only me that thinks that IT dude is a complete douche?
Oh and Fiona ain't too bad ;) :thumbsu:
Hodges 153!
27 Apr 2010, 08:45
Lines I hate hearing:
I cook from the heart
You can add "This dish is a story, I have so many stories to tell".
\cringe
Apparently tall blonde Kate left on Sunday? What was the story behind that?
Daytripper
27 Apr 2010, 10:44
It was no surprise to see that, almost to a man, all those who we'd not seen much of missed the final cut whilst those who'd had plenty of screentime, got through, often regardless of performance (Sharnee is the perfect example of that).
I know it's hard with 50 people and such little time but it'd be nice if we were genuinely able to be introduced to everyone early on so it makes the final cull less predictable.
Devon, Callum, Matthew, Carrie, Fiona, Kate all got little to no time at all last week.
Whacker
27 Apr 2010, 10:45
That chick can't make noodles yet she gets through? What a load of bullshit.
And yet they got into the bloke last night for not having his rice, wtf?
Exhale You
27 Apr 2010, 13:23
And yet they got into the bloke last night for not having his rice, wtf?
It is a bit weird, but as happened in the first series, some contestants are given significant leeway if they're seen as good characters or potential ratings draws.
Pardon the pun but it's the reality for such shows.
Devon, Callum, Matthew, Carrie, Fiona, Kate all got little to no time at all last week.
I can't place Matthew or Carrie but the other four you mentioned all got some screentime, not as much as people like Adele and Sharnee granted, but they were shown and did get to speak.
The vast majority of those who got cut were barely even shown in long shots let alone given the opportunity to do some one-on-one commentary.
There are always exceptions but generally those who got the screentime were the ones to get through which makes the first week a little too predictable.
Again, i know why it happens but they really either cut the ridiculously high number of contestants in the first week or find a way to give everyone some screentime, if only to at least make it seem like the top 24 isn't a foregone conclusion from the start of the week.
catgal 006
27 Apr 2010, 14:00
Oh and Fiona ain't too bad ;) :thumbsu:
I agree with you about the IT guy-?Jonathan I think his name is. I reckon he could get quite nasty too!
He's got serial killer eyes.
Lines I hate hearing:
I cook from the heart
Lmfao.
I must admit I dont watch the shows from "beginning to end"- usually just watch maybe half an hour here- go back for the end. You can usually get the gist from doing that.
But yes!!!!!! Omg "I cook from the heart" and blah blah omfg get the **** over it. And crying.... oh the sobbing.
Yeah my Grandma cooks pretty good Greek food and I love her.. but ffs wouldnt cry over it. :D
kenny712
27 Apr 2010, 19:34
He's got serial killer eyes.
I agree with you about the IT guy-?Jonathan I think his name is. I reckon he could get quite nasty too!
He's got one of those faces you just want to smash in because is so douche-y. Just my opinion :p
Blue Red and Gold
28 Apr 2010, 20:15
No I would of left Fiona until last, I would of picked her and the hippy milf looking bird and left it at that.
grimlock
28 Apr 2010, 20:17
Lol rocket pizza
j2kboiz
28 Apr 2010, 20:57
I knew there would be another hotty after they got rid of the first girl. Thank god for Fiona. Fionaaaaaaa :D
Edit: Adele 'it was just the bestest feeling bestest, the bestest'
Rough_Edges
28 Apr 2010, 21:12
Few thoughts on the last 3 or 4 shows.
Adele - please speak proper english. Doing my head in. Also, stop making me nervous while you cook.
Joanne - If you tell me you are cooking from the heart, or it's your heart on the plate one more time i'm going to have to rip your heart out. Stop playing up your life as if it is interesting, because it isn't. Telling me that you 'really want to get in, because i have so many stories to tell' really gets on my nerves. Talking about the maze that led to your food and trying to force out tears, please.
Kate - LOL at those noodles she tried to hang up the other day. I thought right then, surely she doesn't get in...but nope she is in. Then she puts up this chicken and potato spew that looked TERRIBLE. The worst cook in masterchef history? Maybe. Stop telling me how proud you are of yourself, or how proud your mum and dad will be.
Alvin - Seems like the cliche'd gay bitch IMO. "I don't want him in my team". Seems like a decent cook but don't like the attitude tbh.
Jonathon - Feel sorry for him, because obviously isn't a natural leader and I thought he did OK. Fair play to him for owning up for the mistakes.
Devon - Terrible decision for mine to put him into the Elimination Challenge for one mistake that he straight away tried to fix.
Claire - Why does she keep crying? Looking for sympathy? Or a really weak person, that told us she is "often quite reserved with her emotions". GTFO. Obviously you didn't let the team down so stop crying you big idiot.
People leaving once they are in the top 24 is perhaps one of the most selfish things you could possibly do. Leave in the top 50 FFS, even that is terrible form. Surely pre-show you would have known, 'hey I might be in this for a while, should I risk it, or should I let someone else maybe have their shot at the dream".
Oh and.....I want to have sex with Fiona.
p.s Channel Ten and their episodes online, have 2 ads. One for Good News Week, One with that annoying little girl dancing around. **** that.
SunKing
28 Apr 2010, 21:21
Gotta agree about Claire FFS stop blubbering!!
And Alvin..i liked the guy but didn't like his remark to Jonathon,a tad nasty.
Nothing against Devon but I'm hoping Jonathon stays.
Rough_Edges
28 Apr 2010, 21:25
Gotta agree about Claire FFS stop blubbering!!
And Alvin..i liked the guy but didn't like his remark to Jonathon,a tad nasty.
Nothing against Devon but I'm hoping Jonathon stays.
Also hoping Jonathon stays, i think he probably adds something to the show where as Devon is a little bland.
Jonathon does have one of those heads tho..
NiceCunnington
28 Apr 2010, 21:27
This show is almost unwatchable for me with all the sob stories and crying.
That Jonathon bloke is creepy.
Daytripper
28 Apr 2010, 21:39
This show is almost unwatchable for me with all the sob stories and crying.
It wa exactly the same last year. They try and get the emotions out of the contestants.
That why it was a ratings blockbuster.
I reckon Jonothan is a serial killer and is just getting some practice in for when he starts cooking with human meat. As long as it's not Fiona then im happy.
eddiesmith
28 Apr 2010, 22:44
Shit result tonight, cant believe the Red team actually won, what a joke, would have been funny to see someone go from Cooking off to gain a get out of elimination chance to being in an Elimination challenge 2 nights later :D
kenny712
28 Apr 2010, 23:12
I lol'ed when Alvin actually said he didn't want Jonathon on his team :) but agreed, very harsh.
I swear I heard Alvin introducing his "partner" during his little introduction cutscene thing and it was a dude. Only me that heard it? :confused: Haha.
western wolf
28 Apr 2010, 23:18
Alvin - Seems like the cliche'd gay bitch IMO. "I don't want him in my team". Seems like a decent cook but don't like the attitude tbh.
He is an absolute wanker for saying that. Even if he hates the guy he should have shown a bit of class. Jonathan came over a lot nicer than him during the epsiode & i was pisssed off the blue team lost.
People leaving once they are in the top 24 is perhaps one of the most selfish things you could possibly do. Leave in the top 50 FFS, even that is terrible form. Surely pre-show you would have known, 'hey I might be in this for a while, should I risk it, or should I let someone else maybe have their shot at the dream".
Damn straight. Lot of emotional basket cases on this show.
Exhale You
29 Apr 2010, 08:09
I turned it on last night at 8pm and they still hadn't even started taking customers, how could they possibly stretch out team selection for 30 minutes?
I didn't bother after that.
I'm hoping it draws me in but at this stage they've still got way too many contestants, which makes it difficult to connect with any of them (aside from connecting in a bad way with the incredibly annoying Adele and Kate).
JimDocker
29 Apr 2010, 09:22
I lol'ed when Alvin actually said he didn't want Jonathon on his team :) but agreed, very harsh.
I swear I heard Alvin introducing his "partner" during his little introduction cutscene thing and it was a dude. Only me that heard it? :confused: Haha.
I imagine everyone watching heard it, but in 2010 it probably is not that big a deal. Or at least it shouldn't be.
It's interesting. I thought Jonathon seemed like a nice bloke, then yesterday on here people were talking about him being a douche bag. Not sure what I missed. Was there anything in particular that he did? Then last night, Alvin says he picked him as the other captain because he did not want him in his team as he rubs people up the wrong way. I reckon Alvin came out of that looking a bit petty and mean spirited.
There was an interview with Chris 'the hat man' from the first series in a magazine a couple of weeks ago and he said he spent a large amount of time in the house smiling and joking with the other contestants, but the producers wanted to portray him in a certain light and only showed his brooding side.
It is pretty easy to judge people when we see edited footage of a few minutes that is lifted from hours of filming.
As for Rough Edges criticising Adele's English. She is a migrant and English is not her first language. Don't be so petty. You just called Alvin a gay bitch for less.
Hodges 153!
29 Apr 2010, 09:31
I imagine everyone watching heard it, but in 2010 it probably is not that big a deal. Or at least it shouldn't be.
No biggie, and no secret either.
There is a blurb on all the contestants in one of the women's mags, and Alvin openly refers to his partner by name.
I was surprised that the one to completely go to pieces when put in an unfamiliar pressure situation was a police officer.
I assumed she would have done psych testing/training that would have got her through what was a pretty inncouous task....
And yeah, Im aware of the 6 month old baby at home etc...
Arrrgh I cant believe I am getting hooked into this show.
And just the other month I was bagging out all cooking shows on the "What shits me" thread on GA board. :D
Completely 100% agree with the judges on that guys mistake who let the customers in an hour early. Should have been way more forceful and told them to **** off. (maybe not quite like that tho :D). If it were me I would have firmly said "sorry I should not have seated you we are not open for another hour, but there is -insert name- bar down the road where you could get a drink". Something along those lines.
And Lol at the menu mistakes.
Not really, they are in there to win & he was right, Jonathon does rub people up the wrong way, look which team won, seems Alvin was right.
Whacker
29 Apr 2010, 19:56
More of this crying bullshit!
WakeUpTaz
30 Apr 2010, 00:40
Only started watching this week, so far every episode consists of:
* Judge describes challenge
* Contestants repeats what the judge just said
* Cry
* Cry
* Adele looks like she is about to cry
* Some bitch makes a dumb comment
* Some bitch makes an obvious observation "They wrote different answers, so one of them is right, and the other is wrong."
* Cry
* Food
Quality. Watching every night now :D