View Full Version : Can Fremantle of 2003 really be the Baby Bombers of 1993 reincarnated ???

Freo Hitman
26 May 2003, 22:59
The way Freo has started this season has run eerily close to the way The Baby Bombers of 93 started theirs.
This is the way its run

Round 1- Ess 93 - L , Freo - L
Round 2- Ess 93 - D , Freo - W
Round 3- Ess 93 - L , Freo - L
Round 4- Ess 93 - W, Freo - W
Round 5- Ess 93 - L , Freo - L
Round 6- Ess 93 - W , Freo - W
Round 7- Ess 93 - W , Freo - W
Round 8- Ess 93 - W , Freo - W
Round 9- Ess 93 - W , Freo - W .

I am not saying lightning can strike twice but you never know ;)

BTW in the next 5 games Essendon played they got a W-L-W-W-L

Freo's next 5 games are V Carlton H , Port Adelaide A , Geelong H , Hawthorn A , Brisbane H .

Ripper
26 May 2003, 23:04
Interesting article in the age.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2003/05/24/1053585744480.html

Dockers dig deep to defeat Melbourne demons
By Rohan Connolly
May 25 2003

Fremantle's pitiful away form has generally been a consequence of its shocking starts, the reason Dockers' football manager Steven Icke was pretty happy at quarter-time yesterday, when Fremantle led Melbourne by 16 points. The visitors had focused, he said, on taking the MCG crowd out of the equation.

With just over 17,000 people turning up, that wasn't as difficult a task as Freo may have envisaged. But just eight minutes into the second term, the Dockers had all but taken the Melbourne players out of the equation as well. At that point, with the westerners 7.2 to 1.5, a slaughter was on the cards.

It didn't turn out that way. But the fact Fremantle then mentally checked out for 15 minutes to concede its near six-goal lead, undoing all its good work and giving Melbourne the momentum heading into the second half, perversely makes the Dockers' eventual 30-point win even better than it would have been.

Freo might have broken the ice in Melbourne against the Bulldogs a fortnight ago, but that was a canter. This ended up in a scrap, requiring the Dockers to dig much deeper. And they did.

Last year, perhaps even a month ago, the Dockers would never have survived the sort of charge Melbourne made in the second term yesterday, slamming on the last five goals in 15 minutes, three of them to its skipper, David Neitz, who was on the rampage. They weren't the only tell-tale signs of impending Docker doom.

advertisement

Trent Croad had made a hideous and morale-sapping error just before that fightback was launched. Jeff Farmer, who'd already kicked two goals, was carried off with an ankle injury. Then the third term began with a goal to the Demons and a sitter of a chest mark spilled by Freo midfielder Troy Cook on the wing. We'd seen this story unfold too many times before. But so, clearly, had the Dockers. And this time, they re-wrote the script.

Fremantle recovered to kick five of the last six goals of the third term. The Dockers looked shaky again after Russell Robertson broke a 10-minute stalemate in the last to reduce the margin to a couple of goals. Man-of-the-match Justin Longmuir simply responded with his fourth, fifth and sixth, and the Dockers had only its second win at the MCG from 16 attempts, a club-record fourth victory in succession and, as seems increasingly likely, a finals spot beckoning.

At 6-3, Fremantle is now probably only half-a-dozen wins away from its first finals campaign. It has 13 games in which to achieve them, seven of which are at Subiaco. With Carlton and Geelong there before the round-12 break, that win-loss record is more than likely going to be, at worst, 8-4.

If anyone still seriously doubts this is the year of the non-Victorian teams after what Port Adelaide did to Essendon on Friday night and the Dockers' performance yesterday, they are either deluded, or Steve Bracks.

Fremantle is clearly coming with a rush, the growing confidence obvious in the form of its exciting, flashy, yet disciplined defence, with Roger Hayden, Dion Woods and Antoni Grover in eyebrow-raising form yesterday. Graham Polak was outstanding at centre half-back, dropping back to help teammate Robert Haddrill cope with Neitz and copping an absolute battering for his troubles.

Almost as significant for the Dockers is the fact they did it without all their best players at their optimum. Croad had a shocker, as did Paul Medhurst. Skipper Peter Bell was busy without being damaging, while Matthew Pavlich was quiet after getting kicked in the shin. Farmer missed the entire second half.

Before this past month, those factors would have proved terminal. But this Dockers' line-up is a substantially better team at the end of May than it was at the beginning. How good might it become by August and September?

No Mc pharlane & not much Parker.

Sandilands getting better & better.

Scary isn't it?

:) ;) ;)

Freo Hitman
26 May 2003, 23:19
There we go again !!! Getting ahead of ourselves.

Carlton is who we must concentrate on this week !!!!!!!!!

ACT exile
26 May 2003, 23:22
Originally posted by Freo Hitman

in the next five games I picked W L W W W/L(its against brissy at home as you said.

But nahhh they aint a vic team :-)

Freo Hitman
26 May 2003, 23:24
Here are the latest odds for us

for a finals birth we are paying $1.22
We have been removed from the Wooden Spoon betting
to win the premiership we are paying $26
a western derby GF is paying $80.

Ripper
26 May 2003, 23:25
There we go again !!! Getting ahead of ourselves.

Carlton is who we must concentrate on this week !!!!!!!!!

Yes one game at a time , keep alid on it FH.

There is plenty of time, this group will be together 6-8 years :)

Freo Hitman
26 May 2003, 23:27
Originally posted by ACT exile
in the next five games I picked W L W W W/L(its against brissy at home as you said.

But nahhh they aint a vic team :-)

scary isnt it !!!
But beleive it or not I reckon we can win all 5 !!!

Freo Hitman
26 May 2003, 23:28
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Yes one game at a time , keep alid on it FH.

:)

Sorry Guys , I let yous down.
It was just a moment of mental wekness.

Ripper
26 May 2003, 23:31
And round 15 should be another win & % :)

Kenny_01
26 May 2003, 23:54
The way Freo has started this season has run eerily close to the way The Baby Bombers of 93 started theirs.
This is the way its run

Freo's next 5 games are V Carlton H , Port Adelaide A , Geelong H , Hawthorn A , Brisbane H .

Hmmm, pretty interesting. But nah, can't see us winning a flag... not until atleast 2005.

Kenny_01
26 May 2003, 23:56
Here are the latest odds for us

for a finals birth we are paying $1.22
We have been removed from the Wooden Spoon betting
to win the premiership we are paying $26
a western derby GF is paying $80.

I thought to make the finals it was $1.28. Might have changed since this morning but I was thinking about putting a few dollars on.. don't know if it's worth it though.

Freo Hitman
27 May 2003, 00:10
Originally posted by Kenny_01
. But nah, can't see us winning a flag... not until atleast .

also said by Kevin Sheedy 1993

Tony_Clifton
27 May 2003, 00:17
While reading the post I was sceptical and didn't think much of it, then I got to having a look at the future games and was immediatedly taken aback. Nice work Hitman.

Ripper
27 May 2003, 00:41
The more you think about it the more it matches up

Polak = A young Dustin Fletcher
Haze = A young Mercuri
D.J. = Micheal Long
Rodger = A young Wanganeen
Woods = A taller young Wanganeen

Anyone else?

Ripper
27 May 2003, 00:41
Pavich - Hird :)

ACT exile
27 May 2003, 00:42
If the lads win 3 out of the next 4, and on form I think they should, that will make it 9 and 4 with nine rounds to go. That means to get the magic 12 wins that every one assumes means finals birth they will have to win 3 out of those 9.

Still to come are the Crows, the Tigers and the Dogs at home, three I recon are pretty good things. Brissy at home which is a possibility and I think we will win one out of the Dons, the Pies and the Roos away, I picked the Roos.

I dont think we will win the Derby this year and the Jury is out on the Swans after Sundays game at Manuka, I had it down as a loss but they were not very good at all.

That means 13 or 14 at the end of round 22.

As for keeping a lid on it, thats the players job, we are the fans and our job is to jump up and down & shout our selves horse whilst waving blow up plastic anchors and silly flopy purple things, and I love it :-)

|D_J^B_J|
27 May 2003, 02:17
If the lads win 3 out of the next 4, and on form I think they should, that will make it 9 and 4 with nine rounds to go. That means to get the magic 12 wins that every one assumes means finals birth they will have to win 3 out of those 9.

Still to come are the Crows, the Tigers and the Dogs at home, three I recon are pretty good things. Brissy at home which is a possibility and I think we will win one out of the Dons, the Pies and the Roos away, I picked the Roos.

I dont think we will win the Derby this year and the Jury is out on the Swans after Sundays game at Manuka, I had it down as a loss but they were not very good at all.

That means 13 or 14 at the end of round 22.

As for keeping a lid on it, thats the players job, we are the fans and our job is to jump up and down & shout our selves horse whilst waving blow up plastic anchors and silly flopy purple things, and I love it :-)

I refuse to "pencil in" games for future rounds, from past experience it only leads to further disappointment.

On the topic, an interesting observation there Hitman. I still don't think we're a genuine chance to win a premiership for another one or two years, but stranger things have happened in footy :).

ACT exile
27 May 2003, 02:56
Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
I refuse to "pencil in" games for future rounds, from past experience it only leads to further disappointment.

No penceling in here just enjoying the ride. I fully expect to be so wrong it is silly - I just dont know if it will be more wins or less.

funky_monk
27 May 2003, 03:40

Hear! Hear! I'm having some fun being a Freo fan this year.

Lets be as extravagant as possible!

masai
27 May 2003, 11:45
The more you think about it the more it matches up

Polak = A young Dustin Fletcher
Haze = A young Mercuri
D.J. = Micheal Long
Rodger = A young Wanganeen
Woods = A taller young Wanganeen

Anyone else?

Interesting comparisons.

Polak is a very clean player, not like Dustbin.

DJ will have to gain mega attitude to be like longy.

Rodger and Splinter better take acting lessons.

We've still got along way to go, as we've been winning games but the skills are not silky smooth yet. At least we know we are on the right road this time, I think CC and Belly found a street directory.

Ripper
27 May 2003, 11:59
Originally posted by masai
Interesting comparisons.

Polak is a very clean player, not like Dustbin.

DJ will have to gain mega attitude to be like longy.

Rodger and Splinter better take acting lessons.

We've still got along way to go, as we've been winning games but the skills are not silky smooth yet. At least we know we are on the right road this time, I think CC and Belly found a street directory.

I was comparing the "good" bits. I should have qualified that.

Koopsie can do the acting. :)

funky_monk
27 May 2003, 12:17
I'd see McPharlin as more of the Fletcher type.

Be good to get him back!!

Rob
27 May 2003, 14:13
Originally posted by Kenny_01
I thought to make the finals it was $1.28. Might have changed since this morning but I was thinking about putting a few dollars on.. don't know if it's worth it though.

Amazing fall in odds after just one win - we were at $1.85 before the Melbourne game.

And for what it's worth - last time I had money on the Dockers was when I thought we were a certainty to beat Port Adelaide at Subi last year at $3.00. Never again. ;) I'll just ride the rollercoaster like most other people!

The Mission Man
29 May 2003, 15:50
If Pavlich is Hird, that makes Pavlich Pavlich's bitch.

Freo Hitman
29 May 2003, 17:41
Originally posted by The Mission Man
If Pavlich is Hird, that makes Pavlich Pavlich's bitch.

almost , It makes Pavlich the real father of Hirds kids , Hirds wife loves a bit of the ol' freo sausage ;)

Freo Hitman
1 Jun 2003, 11:24
Week 10............. another win to match Essendon of 93.

Next week We face Port @ Aami . Round 11 in 93 Essendon went down .

Freo Hitman
8 Jun 2003, 16:52
Week 10............. another win to match Essendon of 93.

Next week We face Port @ Aami . Round 11 in 93 Essendon went down .

11 out of 11

This week Geelong at home.
Round 12 in 93 , Essendon had a win

Ripper
27 Jun 2003, 14:10
Spot on so far FH. Good omen against the Hawks.

Freo Hitman
27 Jun 2003, 22:56
Spot on so far FH. Good omen against the Hawks.

I hope this run continues !!!! But in reality history is always hard to repeat !!

Ripper
27 Jun 2003, 22:59
I hope this run continues !!!! But in reality history is always hard to repeat !!

12 out of 12 is OK. And it was 1993 and it is 2003 ;)

Freo Hitman
27 Jun 2003, 23:14
12 out of 12 is OK. And it was 1993 and it is 2003 ;)

Funny enough 93 was Tim Watsons comeback season & in 2003 his son debuts !!

Freo Hitman
23 Aug 2003, 00:11
So what do you reckon fella's were not exactly 100% , but the win loss ratio I think is the same .

ImperialPurple
23 Aug 2003, 01:23
So what do you reckon fella's were not exactly 100% , but the win loss ratio I think is the same .

Realistically, it's fairly obvious that we're not the best side this year... but neither were Adelaide in '98.
Anything's possible if we keep winning and then a few other games fall our way.:D
Port is the outright favourite, but I reckon you could throw a blanket over the rest of the 8 (even the Weavils given they've got Gardiner back now).

Go Freo!!

Docker_Brat
23 Aug 2003, 04:56
Originally posted by ImperialPurple
Realistically, it's fairly obvious that we're not the best side this year... but neither were Adelaide in '98.
Anything's possible if we keep winning and then a few other games fall our way.:D
Port is the outright favourite, but I reckon you could throw a blanket over the rest of the 8 (even the Weavils given they've got Gardiner back now).

Go Freo!!

Anything is possible, however a premiership is unlikely. I know Port are the faves but they still have to shake off their chokers tag. IMO it is anyone's ball game.

Realistically we can get to a Preliminary Final, if we did that we could be very satisfied with the teams progress.

Where would people rather see us finish? Personally I'd rather see 5th as it guarantees a home final first up. 4th means a double chance but a trip to Adelaide in the qualifying.

Freo Hitman
1 Sep 2003, 01:10
OK Fella's the rub of the green is come our way now all the boys have to do is win and keep winning , not turning back now

I reckon IF we do knock off Essendon on Friday we will more than likely get Sydney minus OLoughlin and hopefully Port give them a good bruising , the week after that if were still running I'd actually fancy a trip to the GABBA to face the wobbly Lions who are picking up injuries left right & centre now , but they have to knock off Collingwood this week !!!!!

Milkman
1 Sep 2003, 01:19
OK Fella's the rub of the green is come our way now all the boys have to do is win and keep winning , not turning back now

I reckon IF we do knock off Essendon on Friday we will more than likely get Sydney minus OLoughlin and hopefully Port give them a good bruising , the week after that if were still running I'd actually fancy a trip to the GABBA to face the wobbly Lions who are picking up injuries left right & centre now , but they have to knock off Collingwood this week !!!!! :D :D

Freo Hitman
1 Sep 2003, 01:20
Originally posted by Milkman
:D :D

No laughing now mate , my brain is in overdrive !!!

scmods
1 Sep 2003, 20:00

I reckon IF we do knock off Essendon on Friday we will more than likely get Sydney minus OLoughlin and hopefully Port give them a good bruising , the week after that if were still running I'd actually fancy a trip to the GABBA to face the wobbly Lions who are picking up injuries left right & centre now , but they have to knock off Collingwood this week !!!!!
It's even better than that... in your scenario you'd be playing the Lions at the MCG rather than the Gabba.

KiNgCliVe26
1 Sep 2003, 20:22
I thought the AFL was using the banking thing?

scmods
1 Sep 2003, 20:34
Originally posted by KiNgCliVe26
I thought the AFL was using the banking thing? They will only "bank" in week one or week two (but not both). At least one Preliminary Final will be at the MCG no matter who is playing.

As it turns out, no banking is necessary in week one, and when the Lions kick the Magpies arses it won't be necessary in week two either!

The Chemist
2 Sep 2003, 21:27
This is the way its run

In a word, no.