View Full Version : I wholeheartedly support Matthew Knights
King Of The Hille
20 Apr 2010, 22:38
There was been a lot of conjecture in the media world as well as a lot on these boards about Knighter and our current situation regarding ladder position, game plan, fade outs and the team in general.
Threads and posts coming left right and centre about how Matthew Knights should be sacked as the coach of the Essendon football club and we are not going in the right direction under his guidance etc.
These people are wrong.
Matthew Knights promised the Essendon Football club that he would get us into the finals. He achieved this goal earlier than anticipated. The style in which he plays is the style to bring us forward. Fast, attacking, risk taking everything that is required to succeed in modern day football penetrating certain zones put in place to combat slow play. Knights has begun a trend for modern day coaches.
He has made the list his own, recruiting his own players as well as clearing out the players which he believes will not be there to take us forward. He has made tough decisions on senior members, and made a stand on his beliefs whether the leadership group and more importantly the playing geoup accept them or not. This has lef to the trust and belief of the playing group and they respect him and his ethics immensly.
Now I have ALWAYA been a fan of Matthew Knights, even through some of the stupidities which he has been a part of (EF etc) but I have faith that he, Matthew Knights is the main to take the Essendon football club to its next premiership.
Watching him on the couch last night re ignited the love that I have for him as the coach of out senior team.
He is the right man to make us a serious force again.
sL
lamaros
20 Apr 2010, 23:54
I was never against his appointment from the start, but I have reservations about the gameplan he has us playing and I'm not sure they're going to go away overnight.
If Paul Roos started coaching us tomorrow I think we'd perform much better than we have been, so I can't say I think Knights doesn't have a whole lot of room to improve.
Shane Hird
21 Apr 2010, 00:11
You're love for Knights is touching. But I'm afraid you are trapped in your own imagination and you just might be living in the land of pixies and fairy castles.
Say all you want about Knights and the progress of the squad.
Fundamentals are fundamentals!
We don't tackle and cover loose opponents enough, we don't chase and harass enough and half our team gets tackled like rag dolls because their too light atm.
Defensive pressure. You hear the term over and over again, but it's what makes a skillful, fast side (like Essendon) win games.
The fundamentals of putting pressure on the other mob while they have the ball is what this game is about. Saints do it, Geelong do it, Freo are finding a way to do it.
We have a few players who are not quick enough and players that can't execute an effective pass-by hand and foot- WHILE UNDER PRESSURE.
Simple as that.
essendon2008
21 Apr 2010, 01:06
You're love for Knights is touching. But I'm afraid you are trapped in your own imagination and you just might be living in the land of pixies and fairy castles.
We don't tackle and cover loose opponents enough, we don't chase and harass enough and half our team gets tackled like rag dolls because their too light atm.
Defensive pressure. You hear the term over and over again, but it's what makes a skillful, fast side (like Essendon) win games.
The fundamentals of putting pressure on the other mob while they have the ball is what this game is about. Saints do it, Geelong do it, Freo are finding a way to do it.
We have a few players who are not quick enough and players that can't execute an effective pass-by hand and foot- WHILE UNDER PRESSURE.
Simple as that.
This
Jonesy1987
21 Apr 2010, 06:29
Simple as that.
Do you think Knights wants the players running around looking lost, missing targets and not laying tackles? He clearly wants us to play like we did for 3 quarters against Geelong.
You say we're too light, what do you want him do, put all the players on roids. They are kids and it takes time. We need to have more patience.
We are not going to significantly improve until we have 7-8 quality mids who are physically prepared to carry out this proven game plan, atm our bodies aren't capable of completing the required work load.
Longy413
21 Apr 2010, 07:59
Do you think Knights wants the players running around looking lost, missing targets and not laying tackles?
Probably not.
But he did have our side playing attacking football with an edict to run forward of the play to create fast movement through the corridor, for a year and a half, before he decided to try and implement a defensive element to our game.
Now we seem to be chasing the defensive element and have lost the attacking element.
I actually like the game plan, or at least the concept of it, because we aren't seeing all elements of it together in any one match at the moment. But Knights does have a responsibility for the way we are playing and therefore is deserving of a level of critisism.
I think if he had his time again, he may have introduced the elements differently and perhaps picked different sides for different games and done different things at different stages of matches.
We probably have enough talent on the list to have won a few more matches than we have over the past few years. That said, I'd expect as a young coach, Knights too will develop as we see in young players.
Frothies Mcveigh
21 Apr 2010, 08:09
Do you think Knights wants the players running around looking lost, missing targets and not laying tackles? He clearly wants us to play like we did for 3 quarters against Geelong.
You say we're too light, what do you want him do, put all the players on roids. They are kids and it takes time. We need to have more patience.
We are not going to significantly improve until we have 7-8 quality mids who are physically prepared to carry out this proven game plan, atm our bodies aren't capable of completing the required work load.
This.
Slattery_20
21 Apr 2010, 08:15
I'll support him whole-heartedly while he's the coach of EFC.
I won't think everything he does is right, I will support him.
Jonesy1987
21 Apr 2010, 08:42
Probably not.
But he did have our side playing attacking football with an edict to run forward of the play to create fast movement through the corridor, for a year and a half, before he decided to try and implement a defensive element to our game.
Now we seem to be chasing the defensive element and have lost the attacking element.
I actually like the game plan, or at least the concept of it, because we aren't seeing all elements of it together in any one match at the moment. But Knights does have a responsibility for the way we are playing and therefore is deserving of a level of critisism.
I think if he had his time again, he may have introduced the elements differently and perhaps picked different sides for different games and done different things at different stages of matches.
We probably have enough talent on the list to have won a few more matches than we have over the past few years. That said, I'd expect as a young coach, Knights too will develop as we see in young players.
I agree.
Just getting sick of the reactionary shit after every game, there will be no quick fix for us. We need patience.
Towno78
21 Apr 2010, 08:50
Simple as that.
Not laying enough tackles? We are second only to Melbourne in number of tackles laid this year, plus we are pretty high in contested footy so far as well.
This may have been a problem area for us in the past, but it is not our problem now.
As for the size of the players, you can't blame Knights because the kids aren't big enough. If they are still in a few years, then lets talk about the appointment of our conditioning staff. But I'm sure it won't be a problem, it's our new conditioning staff that have us so injury free at the moment, and I'm sure they'll be strong enough in time.
Your last point regarding the speed of players (making sure we have the right mix on the field), and our skills is what has let us down so far, and definitely needs to be addressed. But I'm also sure Knights will address it and our form will start to turn around.
HighettBomber
21 Apr 2010, 09:26
I agree.
It's no use making knee jerk reactions and sacking coaches because of a few poor performances. He has a contract, and the club should honour it, if we have not performed well enough at the end of the contract he shouldn't get a new one, simple as that. Stability has been a major reason for our continued success over a long period.
This certainly doesn't mean he shouldn't be criticised though.
Pocket_Pears
21 Apr 2010, 11:28
Knights should be dropped to the VFL for a couple of weeks until he can learn to implement a defensive game plan. Tends to work with players...
To quote Luke Darcy... "Since Matthew Knights took over at Essendon in 2008 the Bombers have conceded five or more goals in a row 30 times"
There is a massive problem. Whoever said Knights has the utmost respect from players regarding his ethics and game plan... you are kidding yourself. Yes the group is young, but you can't hide behind that forever. He is not the man to lead us to a flag, and the way he dodges questions is infuriating, and then when asked a question to show solidarity and faith is his group he stuffs up... he got asked 'how many a graders on your list' instead of saying the more positive things such as 'there are are a number of players on our list that are on the verge of this status, but i believe we are more concerned on a A grade performance as a team, similar to collingwood in the 2000's' he blurted out 'only one, one jobe our captain' sure that makes the playing group feel great Knights.
Plus, get a bloke who has participated in winning a flag! Last 10 premiership coaches... Thompson 2009, Clarkson (forward coach of 2004 premiers port), Thompson, Worsfold, Roos (loosing GF side and look at his 7 all australians), Williams, Matthews, Sheedy and Pagan 1999... Success comes from success
When we miss the finals this year... after finishing 8th last year, what do we call the last 3 years? Development... rebuilding... or just Rubbish?
Matty Knights is an excellent media performer, and I think his interview on Monday night, saved his bacon for a while. He is a hard man to dislike when you hear him interviewed.
The problem with Kinghts though, is that his game plan is flawed and we are now being found out by most clubs we play (except Carlton!).
Personally I think Knights would make a far better development coach rather than a head coach. All the younger players seem to really like him from what I have read (Bomber Magazine) and heard.
I would love nothing more than to have egg on my face in relation to the Knights issue, as I just want Essendon to be successful again!
But to be honest I just don't think he is the man for the job!
stander
21 Apr 2010, 13:10
The problem for Knighter is he was appointed coach of the Dons on the back of 3 shocking Sheedy years, so not only did he take on the most difficult role in AFL history, he had to resurrect a playing list that was negligently reduced to mediocrity by his predecessor. Full credit to P Jackson for being one of the few who realised an extension to his contract was necessary in spite of the growing impatience of the Dons supporters, who have previously feasted on the succcesses of Sheedy, and have been unaccustomed to protracted irrelevance, now entering its 6th year.
Shane Hird
21 Apr 2010, 13:27
I'm not anti Knights, I'm just not 'wholeheartedly' supporting him yet as coach of our club.
People who want to praise him and believe in him can go ahead and do so.
IMO he's still got a long way to go as a senior coach. Time will tell..
stugots
21 Apr 2010, 13:39
all anyone wants to see at this point in the development of a young group is improvement - are we seeing that?
no, if anything we are slipping, skills are off, structures fragmenting, players looking out of their depth out there.
so for me its simple - if Knights can get some consistency & 4 quarter competitiveness back into the group over next few rounds she'll be sweet, dont have to win every week, just front up ffs
if not, well rather not go down that road
centurion
21 Apr 2010, 13:50
Agree.
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Apr 2010, 15:39
My feelings exactly.
He is not the man to lead us to a flag, and the way he dodges questions is infuriating, and then when asked a question to show solidarity and faith is his group he stuffs up... he got asked 'how many a graders on your list' instead of saying the more positive things such as 'there are are a number of players on our list that are on the verge of this status, but i believe we are more concerned on a A grade performance as a team, similar to collingwood in the 2000's' he blurted out 'only one, one jobe our captain' sure that makes the playing group feel great Knights.He can't win though, can he?
People accuse him of dancing around questions (which I admit I notice) and often doing so by putting a positive spin on an average situation; i.e "Your midfield is struggling", his response "Look I just think that when you've got young guys like Melksham, Colyer, Zaharakis and Myers with a great amount of potential, it's just going to take time, but I have utmost faith in those players going forward". Note that's paraphrasing.
Yet when he does give a blunt, honest answer such as the A-grade example you've quoted, he's blasted for hurting the playing group's feelings.
If anything I'd say that question was one of his best; it was honest and realistic.
Skeeta Olly
21 Apr 2010, 17:51
Exactly my thoughts.
IM_REAL
21 Apr 2010, 18:17
HAHAHAHAHA.
How funny is this.
We have a guy who thinks Stanton is a legend, and that Stanton is better than ablett, starting a thread about how wonderful he thinks Matthew Knights is.
Might i remind you that when knights came to Essendon he had a 4 year plan.
Year 1: Play the kids.
Year 2: Play 1 final.
Year 3: Win a final and push top four.
Year 4: Top 4 and hopefully a premiership.
When asked how far away this list is the other night, he said we should be pushing for top four in 3 or 4 years time.
Seriously, the guy is a joke. The moves he hs made in respect to our list, where nothing out of the ordinary. Ur average Essendon supporter could have walked into the role as coach and know which players he needed to sack.
Do you really think he is THAT smart to devise this magnificent game plan that the world has never seen, which will bring us our 17th flag???
C'mon guys, theres one thing supporting ur team till the end, but it doesnt mean we have to support everything they do, and on this instnace they have stuufed up big time with Albino
HAHAHAHAHA.
How funny is this.
We have a guy who thinks Stanton is a legend, and that Stanton is better than ablett, starting a thread about how wonderful he thinks Matthew Knights is.
Might i remind you that when knights came to Essendon he had a 4 year plan.
Year 1: Play the kids.
Year 2: Play 1 final.
Year 3: Win a final and push top four.
Year 4: Top 4 and hopefully a premiership.
When asked how far away this list is the other night, he said we should be pushing for top four in 3 or 4 years time.
Seriously, the guy is a joke. The moves he hs made in respect to our list, where nothing out of the ordinary. Ur average Essendon supporter could have walked into the role as coach and know which players he needed to sack.
Do you really think he is THAT smart to devise this magnificent game plan that the world has never seen, which will bring us our 17th flag???
C'mon guys, theres one thing supporting ur team till the end, but it doesnt mean we have to support everything they do, and on this instnace they have stuufed up big time with Albino
Glad I wasn't the only one who picked up on that. The guys is a pretender and yet ppl will still go to the sword for him in the name of loyalty. I hate the fact that this is tearing our clubs supporters apart. What I find amusing also is the amount of people who tread the "well I don't think he is doing a great job but he is on a contract and as such I will support him" that is possibly the worst excuse ever.
A) he shouldn't have got the contract extension in the first place
B) we are going backwards and not forwards
C) He has already extended the "premiership deadline" for DOUBLE what he originally promised so either he has NFI or he has failed and realises he has to start again
D) in 3-4 years time, Gold Coast and WS will be unbeatable until the draft concessions and salary cap extensions are phased through so good luck trying to get a flag during this period..
E) I'm glad you support him SL.. that is your right and I do respect that.
When asked how far away this list is the other night, he said we should be pushing for top four in 3 or 4 years time.If you're referring to On the Couch, he said "hopefully we'll be moving up the ladder in the next 2 or 3 years".
exactly whomb... he doesn't seem so bullish now.
He said that he thinks that we might hopefully start to move up the ladder in 2-3 years time.. vagueness always prevails from knights but this was particularly vague.. and I don't see how it should take another 2-3 years to start moving up if he has already had 2-3 years..
So how long should a rebuild take?
What were the EFC expectations?
Did he lie to get the job ahead of hardwick who was more honest about our situation?
Where do you think our biggest improvement will come from?
IM_REAL
21 Apr 2010, 19:43
exactly whomb... he doesn't seem so bullish now.
He said that he thinks that we might hopefully start to move up the ladder in 2-3 years time.. vagueness always prevails from knights but this was particularly vague.. and I don't see how it should take another 2-3 years to start moving up if he has already had 2-3 years..
So how long should a rebuild take?
What were the EFC expectations?
Did he lie to get the job ahead of hardwick who was more honest about our situation?
Where do you think our biggest improvement will come from?
Spot on mate. It was said that Hardwick didnt rate our list and the head honchos (Peter Jackson) where not impressed in hearing that. So they hired Knights, and just to rub salt into the wounds, Jacko signs him up for a 2 year extension on his way out. He must be sitting on his couch smirking at the shit he has left us in.
Call me ignorant, but I just don't care for getting so worked up over this.
He has me doubting his direction right now, and there are elements of our game that infuriate me (contradiction etc), but why bother work yourself up over it now? Either call an EGM and vote him out, or suck it up and let the next two seasons unfold.
Skeeta Olly
21 Apr 2010, 20:08
What we haven't seen is Knight's game plan work.
If it comes together in the next few rounds, people will be surprised.
What we haven't seen is Knight's game plan work.
If it comes together in the next few rounds, people will be surprised.It came together for 2 and a half quarters against Geelong, but apparently that was more a reflection of Geelong playing poorly; they co-incidentally fumbled when we applied pressure, I swear.
centrelink1
21 Apr 2010, 20:14
I agree.
However, I think we have a better team than our performances have shown.
I have followed Essendon for many years and seen some great highs and some lows, I followed them before Sheedy was coach and although he was great for the club in winning premierships, improving the brand and generating memberships I believed his time was up but didn't think the parting was handled to well. I thought Hardwicke was the way to go as he was honest in his assessment, played in 2 premiership teams and was assistant coach in one as opposed to Knights who had never been involved with a successful team. I am sick of hearing how he got us in the finals last year with a negative win loss ratio and a % less than a 100 which wouldn't have got you in the finals the previous 12 years. Now after 2 full years and 3 drafts we are back where we were another 3 year plan(this sounds like Richmonds eternal 5 year plan). My view is the same as many others expressed here apart from beating Carlton(which is always a pleasure) I see little in the way of positives. If some of you rate the list so highly look at Geelong or StKilda and honestly say which of our players would get in ahead of their players. Jobe Watson but few others, when people such as Lloyd, Lucas, Shaw and Hird start to question our gameplan( if one exists apart from run and handpass) you should start to listen as they have bled for the club. If they held an AGM tomorrow I can assure you I would be there casting my vote to not only get rid of Knights but the morons who picked him and have caused us to waste the last 2 years.
stander
21 Apr 2010, 20:17
Spot on mate. It was said that Hardwick didnt rate our list and the head honchos (Peter Jackson) where not impressed in hearing that. So they hired Knights, and just to rub salt into the wounds, Jacko signs him up for a 2 year extension on his way out. He must be sitting on his couch smirking at the shit he has left us in.
If you believe Hardwick, then Knights was dealt an ordinary list courtesy of the Old Fox himself, and eeked out a final in his second year. P Jackson steps up and honourably hands Knights an extension on the back of his second year. What is your problem?
The only one smirking is K. Sheedy and all the riches GWS has to offer.
stander
21 Apr 2010, 20:23
I have followed Essendon for many years
The way you're carrying on, I'm surprised you made it through Johnny Birts year.
I have followed Essendon for many years and seen some great highs and some lows, I followed them before Sheedy was coach and although he was great for the club in winning premierships, improving the brand and generating memberships I believed his time was up but didn't think the parting was handled to well. I thought Hardwicke was the way to go as he was honest in his assessment, played in 2 premiership teams and was assistant coach in one as opposed to Knights who had never been involved with a successful team. I am sick of hearing how he got us in the finals last year with a negative win loss ratio and a % less than a 100 which wouldn't have got you in the finals the previous 12 years. Now after 2 full years and 3 drafts we are back where we were another 3 year plan(this sounds like Richmonds eternal 5 year plan). My view is the same as many others expressed here apart from beating Carlton(which is always a pleasure) I see little in the way of positives. If some of you rate the list so highly look at Geelong or StKilda and honestly say which of our players would get in ahead of their players. Jobe Watson but few others, when people such as Lloyd, Lucas, Shaw and Hird start to question our gameplan( if one exists apart from run and handpass) you should start to listen as they have bled for the club. If they held an AGM tomorrow I can assure you I would be there casting my vote to not only get rid of Knights but the morons who picked him and have caused us to waste the last 2 years.
Yep voice of reason. I do think it was time for Sheedy to go.. I think he will do great at what GWS need.. the marketing etc etc but as a coach I think he had past his usefulness to the EFC.
That does not mean that knights has free range to do whatever he likes, Steve Bracks style, for the next 10 years because of the mistakes that were made in 2001-2004.
The recruitment in sheeds last year was actually ok but what is worrying is that a lot of our young blokes seem to be going backwards (ie houli, jetta, davey (not young but you know what I mean), myers (if he had anything to begin with)).
Our supporters, including me, probably do sound like richmond supporters and maybe that is because we have a coach taking us down the richmond path of mediocrity. The tigers have been rebuilding for 20 years.. let us not do the same.
Much ado about nothing.
- Limited experience in the Playing List.
- Average players in the 5 to 9 year age range
- Developing Coach
- Ad hoc recruiting until the last 4 years
- Little spent on the Footy Dept except for the last 2 years
Overall an average list with lots of potential at the bottom.
It is hardly a list that will win a premiership in the next 2 years.
There was been a lot of conjecture in the media world as well as a lot on these boards about Knighter and our current situation regarding ladder position, game plan, fade outs and the team in general.
Threads and posts coming left right and centre about how Matthew Knights should be sacked as the coach of the Essendon football club and we are not going in the right direction under his guidance etc.
These people are wrong.
Matthew Knights promised the Essendon Football club that he would get us into the finals. He achieved this goal earlier than anticipated. The style in which he plays is the style to bring us forward. Fast, attacking, risk taking everything that is required to succeed in modern day football penetrating certain zones put in place to combat slow play. Knights has begun a trend for modern day coaches.
He has made the list his own, recruiting his own players as well as clearing out the players which he believes will not be there to take us forward. He has made tough decisions on senior members, and made a stand on his beliefs whether the leadership group and more importantly the playing geoup accept them or not. This has lef to the trust and belief of the playing group and they respect him and his ethics immensly.
Now I have ALWAYA been a fan of Matthew Knights, even through some of the stupidities which he has been a part of (EF etc) but I have faith that he, Matthew Knights is the main to take the Essendon football club to its next premiership.
Watching him on the couch last night re ignited the love that I have for him as the coach of out senior team.
He is the right man to make us a serious force again.
sL
You raise some valid points, however please dont include us making the 8 as one of them. This was achieved purely by the surrounding teams (i.e, Hawthorn being decimated by injury and to a lesser extent Pt Adelaide choking. In a normal year you wont make the 8 by winning 10 and half games you would be lucky to finish 12th or 13th with that amount of wins. I want to know that we made the 8 by playing consistent football, not winning the odd game against the Saints, Hawks & Pies, then losing to Richmond West Coast & Freo.
People keep harping on about our 2009 finals appearance not being legitimate because we only won 10.5 games.
We were in the best 8 teams of the league, were we not?
End of story.
bipolarbeaR
22 Apr 2010, 00:06
If Carlton won their game in r22 we would have won a prelim too.
Adelaide were our worst match up out of everyone except Geelong.
sen entertainment bloke
22 Apr 2010, 07:12
I wish him well personally but he seems to lack a steely resolve.
Did not like his throw away line on Monday night when asked about possible changes to the structure of the game. 45 minute halves and all that.
He laughed and said he just wanted the chocolates on ANZAC day.
Should have kept his emotions about the next game a little closer to his chest. Malthouse would see that and just silently set his sights on reducing that laugh to a loss.
Somehow he has to get the players playing for each other. It could suddenly happen like it has for Melbourne over the last three weeks. Who knows?
Yes I support him while he is coach.
Longy413
22 Apr 2010, 08:00
- Ad hoc recruiting until the last 4 years
Do you think that's fair?
I know we made our fair share of recruiting mistakes and the likes of Cole, Campo and even Mal Michael could have been overlooked. But in National Drafts, we took a minimum of four kids in Sheedy's last five and took 24 over all (so nearly five in each draft).
As well as Hocking, Lovett, Lovett-Murray in Rookie Drafts.
There were mistakes in those, but where they drafting mistakes or hindsight mistakes?
1997 through to 2001 we didn't get a lot from the draft, but I think it's pretty steep to say that our recruiting has been ad hoc for all but four years.
Slattery_20
22 Apr 2010, 08:01
I wish him well personally but he seems to lack a steely resolve.
Did not like his throw away line on Monday night when asked about possible changes to the structure of the game. 45 minute halves and all that.
He laughed and said he just wanted the chocolates on ANZAC day.
Should have kept his emotions about the next game a little closer to his chest. Malthouse would see that and just silently set his sights on reducing that laugh to a loss.
Somehow he has to get the players playing for each other. It could suddenly happen like it has for Melbourne over the last three weeks. Who knows?
Yes I support him while he is coach.
You must be joking...???
He's no good cos he said he wanted to win???
I'm sure that'll really spark Malthouse up, our coach saying he wanted to win, that'll light a fire.
People keep harping on about our 2009 finals appearance not being legitimate because we only won 10.5 games.
We were in the best 8 teams of the league, were we not?
End of story.
Its briliant isn't it. "Oh but Hawthorn had injuries" they say. What do they say of some of the teams we were putting out last year? Bendigo couldn't win a game because there were no AFL listed players of any quality playing.
It is so easy to argue when you decide to blatently ignore the other side of the story.
The biggest problem we have this year is the stagnating of Dempsey and Winderlich. They are two guys who showed last year that with matches under their belts and full pre-seasons they could become the A grade running players we have not had. Couple the form of the abovementioned with the loss of Lovett and the most damaging running players on our list are not playing.
This does not mean that we cannot hold Knights accountable for failing to get the best out of the players. It just seems so naieve to ignore the lost output of Lovett, Winderlich and Dempsey and still ask why our stream forward has lacked substance this year. Both Winderlich and Dempsey are structurally as critical as any players on our list. They would be in the first few picked because they are the most capable runners and good users of the ball, they are Essendon's running game. It will take a joint effort between Knights, Dempsey and Winderlich to get our side up and running again.
stander
22 Apr 2010, 09:54
[quote=BrunoV;17503145]
This does not mean that we cannot hold Knights accountable for not getting the best out of the players. It just seems so naieve to ignore the lost output of Lovett, Winderlich and Dempsey and still ask why our stream forward has lacked substance this year. quote]
That's what Knights is paid to do, get the best out of players and win games. The worry is that Winder and Dempsey have both had Sheedy as coach in their early years (5 and 2 I believe) and have had Knights for 2, and they're still not performing. D-Day looms.
Ben the Gooner
22 Apr 2010, 10:13
If you believe Hardwick, then Knights was dealt an ordinary list courtesy of the Old Fox himself, and eeked out a final in his second year. P Jackson steps up and honourably hands Knights an extension on the back of his second year. What is your problem?
The only one smirking is K. Sheedy and all the riches GWS has to offer.
Nailed it.
That's what Knights is paid to do, get the best out of players and win games. The worry is that Winder and Dempsey have both had Sheedy as coach in their early years (5 and 2 I believe) and have had Knights for 2, and they're still not performing. D-Day looms.
If it is a Knights personality issue then they wouldn't have played well last year (they had year 1 to make up their minds). Not sure why year 2 is different to year 3.
sen entertainment bloke
22 Apr 2010, 12:25
You must be joking...???
He's no good cos he said he wanted to win???
I'm sure that'll really spark Malthouse up, our coach saying he wanted to win, that'll light a fire.
Would have liked the cards held a bit closer to his chest.
Slattery_20
22 Apr 2010, 12:28
I would have thought it was pretty obvious, tbh.
Some people are clutching at serious straws... Knights is struggling cos he said "i want a win". Hird wants to coach because he looked at Knights. Lloyd hates Knights cos he says we won't win a flag playing terrible footy.
Would have liked the cards held a bit closer to his chest.Hahaha.
What?!
You would rather him have held his "cards close to the chest" by not stating that he wants to coach our side to a win?
Bloody hell. As S20 said, clutching at straws.
What's next; being disappointed because he smiled when we beat Carlton?
Ben the Gooner
22 Apr 2010, 12:51
Wow, some of the comments in this thread are ****ing moronic.
sen entertainment bloke
22 Apr 2010, 13:01
Hahaha.
What?!
You would rather him have held his "cards close to the chest" by not stating that he wants to coach our side to a win?
?
Pretty much.
Your true desire is best left unspoken when it comes to communicating with your opponent. Actions on the day are what count.
Ben the Gooner
22 Apr 2010, 13:03
Your true desire is best left unspoken when it comes to communicating with your opponent.
I guarantee you I can name the "true desire" of every AFL coach for this weekend.
Win.
Yet Knighter is in trouble for saying that he wants to win? I hope you're on a windup, tbh.
Slattery_20
22 Apr 2010, 13:03
Pretty much.
Your true desire is best left unspoken when it comes to communicating with your opponent. Actions on the day are what count.
What, so he could spring a massive surprise on the day, jump out of a bush and come out and try and win???
Best Knights starts with 10 men on the field on Sunday, then.
We don't want him giving Collingwood the impression we're trying to win.
Leave Watson, Stanton, Gumby, Pears, Hooker, Hille, Ryder, Hurley, Monfries, Winderlich, Zaharakis, Dempsey on the bench until the final quarter. At that time, it should be safe for the coaching staff to unveil their top-secret desire of winning the game at hand.
Ben the Gooner
22 Apr 2010, 13:23
Maybe we should name Atkinson in every position on the ground...
http://i39.tinypic.com/dcue7b.jpg
???
Slattery_20
22 Apr 2010, 13:31
Nobody expects the spanish inquisition!
Anyone else concerned that Knights admits he doesn't really have a clue what our best 22 is?
I mean yes form comes into it etc but surely a whole 6 months of preseason and 2 years at the helm has given him an idea of who should be making up the core 22-26 players by now...
Seems like he is going for trial and error to find something that fits.. which is a valid method I suppose but hardly makes for a cohesive unit or team workrate...
Longy413
22 Apr 2010, 20:19
I don't think that's a concern, we've got a relatively even list with a large number of unproven players.
Anyone else concerned that Knights admits he doesn't really have a clue what our best 22 is?
I mean yes form comes into it etc but surely a whole 6 months of preseason and 2 years at the helm has given him an idea of who should be making up the core 22-26 players by now...
Seems like he is going for trial and error to find something that fits.. which is a valid method I suppose but hardly makes for a cohesive unit or team workrate...What would you rather; he makes up his mind during the pre-season-first 2 rounds, then sticks with that side (save for injury) regardless of the results?
What an odd comment.
If he did that you can be sure everybody would be (rightfully so) screaming at him for being stubborn, lacking in flexibility and a general clue.
Murph_S13
22 Apr 2010, 21:46
I watched Chooseday Night Football on Foxtel the other night. 15th-placed Geelong playing first-placed Port in 2005. Astonishing how many of those players in that 15th-placed team, with the coach being scheduled for weekly decapitation, stood on a dais, with that same coach, just two years later to accept the premiership cup after an astonishing run of wins. Who would have thought, in 2005, that that 15th-placed Geelong team would become so dominant in less than two years and dominate the competition for the next three years (and counting)?
I wasn't pleased with the decision to appoint Knights, but he has won me over completely. I thought we'd be a joke, like Richmond have been, and we've been a whole lot better than that, even at our worst.
sen entertainment bloke
22 Apr 2010, 23:11
What, so he could spring a massive surprise on the day, jump out of a bush and come out and try and win???
Nah that would be a Sheedy tactic.
Like the sigs.
Slattery_20
23 Apr 2010, 08:15
I watched Chooseday Night Football on Foxtel the other night. 15th-placed Geelong playing first-placed Port in 2005. Astonishing how many of those players in that 15th-placed team, with the coach being scheduled for weekly decapitation, stood on a dais, with that same coach, just two years later to accept the premiership cup after an astonishing run of wins. Who would have thought, in 2005, that that 15th-placed Geelong team would become so dominant in less than two years and dominate the competition for the next three years (and counting)?
I wasn't pleased with the decision to appoint Knights, but he has won me over completely. I thought we'd be a joke, like Richmond have been, and we've been a whole lot better than that, even at our worst.
Geelong played a prelim in 05.
I think you mean 03.
Longy413
23 Apr 2010, 12:37
I think you mean 03.
It was 03, I saw the game and actually thought the same myself.
They had the following from their 2007 Premiership side playing -
Ablett, Gary
Bartel, Jimmy
Chapman, Paul
Corey, Joel
Enright, Corey
Harley, Tom
Johnson, Steve
King, Steven
Ling, Cameron
Milburn, Darren
Scarlett, Matthew
Wojcinski, David
Plus Brett Moloney playing this first game.
Slattery_20
23 Apr 2010, 12:55
No Kelly?
Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Enright just did not look like 4 dominating guns of the competition at that stage. No way known.
Longy413
23 Apr 2010, 13:57
No Kelly?
Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Enright just did not look like 4 dominating guns of the competition at that stage. No way known.
James Kelly played 18 games for the season, didn't play in the game though.
Geelong were really good at rotating their young players through.
Max Rooke and Josh Hunt also played games that season.
First... it was 03. And its not odd to see sides within 4 years improve a lot, depending on who is at the helm and the crop of players. Sheedy 97-2000, Matthews 98-2001 and Thompson 03-2007... but knights doesn't hold a candle to any of those guys.
Second... that joke of a team called richmond beat us last year... so wouldn't that mean that at our worst... richmond beat us? then again, the dockers, eagles and kangas all beat us...
Third... flick knights out immediately and appoint hird, lloyd and co. success and appreciation of essendon's culture, not a... at best 'good player' who captained a shocking side. knights was a front runner himself, no surprise there is a lack of defensive elements throughout the midfield
Murph_S13
23 Apr 2010, 14:47
I think you mean 03.
Thanks for the correction. I glanced at the program details only briefly. Glad that some others took the same message out of it.
First... it was 03. And its not odd to see sides within 4 years improve a lot, depending on who is at the helm and the crop of players. Sheedy 97-2000, Matthews 98-2001 and Thompson 03-2007... but knights doesn't hold a candle to any of those guys.
There is no way a semi intelligent person being objective in this thread is going to say that the Knights of 2010 cannot hold a candle to the Thompson of 2003. A coach is invariably nothing before he wins his first premiership.
stay true
23 Apr 2010, 17:27
I keep seeing comments every now and then along the lines of "sack Knights and appoint Hird". This is not going to happen, not now anyway. Rewind about 8 months...
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/i-wont-coach-james-hird/story-0-1225757605604
James Hird
August 04, 2009 12:00AM
EXCLUSIVE: I WILL not be assistant coach at Port Adelaide or any other club next year.
Not because I am against coaching Port, but because I am not ready to be a coach.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/i-wont-coach-james-hird/story-0-1225757605604
IMO, if Hirdy does decide he wants to coach, he'll be an assistant coach for a year or 2 then take on a head coaching position. Just sayin...
How many non top-4 teams got a couple of wins against the top 4 last year?
strategy
24 Apr 2010, 12:15
good on you
however we have no consistent and talented forwards and our run at all costs game plan sucks
That doesn't read as "no talented forwards" does it?
It was 03, I saw the game and actually thought the same myself.
They had the following from their 2007 Premiership side playing -
Ablett, Gary
Bartel, Jimmy
Chapman, Paul
Corey, Joel
Enright, Corey
Harley, Tom
Johnson, Steve
King, Steven
Ling, Cameron
Milburn, Darren
Scarlett, Matthew
Wojcinski, David
Plus Brett Moloney playing this first game.
These guys arn't premiership players they are the core of the premiership side and in 2007 of the 11 names only Wojcinski and maybe King would not be the 10 firts picked.
Whomb: It may appear an odd comment but I stand by it. I think you should have an "idea" at least of your preferred starting 22. By all means be flexible and adjust for form etc.. but hopefully you are starting (by the 3rd year of a rebuild) to start forming the spine or core group of guys that will win the next flag.
For example Geelong pumped games into a lot of guys and pretty much knew who they wanted.
They have had some come up they didn't originally have and some go out that weren't up to expectations. But by and large the team that bomber listed in the geelong addy about 2 years before their first flag had about 18 out of the 22 that went on to win the flag. He knew what he wanted and he built it together.
How the hell can our guys learn to play together and become a team if they are in and out like a yo yo?? Nothing kills confidence and deflates a youngster than knowing (like Houli) that even if you get 100 supercoach points and touch in 25 times you are going to be dropped after 2 games because the coach doesn't like you?? Doesn't inspire a "die for each other" mentality. In fact it creates a "do it for yourself" one.... and THAT is A BIG PROBLEM.
Valve Bounce
25 Apr 2010, 19:03
These people are wrong.
sL
Tim Watson: "It was like Flinders Lane - one way traffic, all Collingwood!"
Ok, I told myself when he was appointed, that whilst i didn't agree with it, he deserves time and respect, but I am seriously struggling to keep the faith.
Bomber32
25 Apr 2010, 20:13
I was never a supporter of Matthew Knights appointment as coach, but, I was also willing to give him some time to develop a team and devise a gameplan which would eventually take us to our 17th premiership.
My patience and confidence in him is near rock bottom.
Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2010, 20:17
Remember, just as one good win isn't evidence for a coach, one bad win isn't evidence against one.
Skeeta Olly
25 Apr 2010, 20:20
Remember, just as one good win isn't evidence for a coach, one bad win isn't evidence against one.
loss you mean?
We've had 4 bad losses.
BTG: its not just one loss. I don't think supporters are "losing faith" because of a loss.
It is to do with attitude, the way other teams like melbourne and freo are moving ahead of us, its the same pattern of play in every game that is woeful. It is the constant hand balling under pressure and trying to play this crap style.. Its about kids going backwards and not forwards. Its about pushing club champions out the door to make room for a kid that can't even get a game in the seniors..
Its about the fact that eventually even the kings of spin come undone. Terry Wallace did and now Knights follows him.
Whomb: It may appear an odd comment but I stand by it. I think you should have an "idea" at least of your preferred starting 22. By all means be flexible and adjust for form etc.. but hopefully you are starting (by the 3rd year of a rebuild) to start forming the spine or core group of guys that will win the next flag.
For example Geelong pumped games into a lot of guys and pretty much knew who they wanted.
They have had some come up they didn't originally have and some go out that weren't up to expectations. But by and large the team that bomber listed in the geelong addy about 2 years before their first flag had about 18 out of the 22 that went on to win the flag. He knew what he wanted and he built it together.
How the hell can our guys learn to play together and become a team if they are in and out like a yo yo?? Nothing kills confidence and deflates a youngster than knowing (like Houli) that even if you get 100 supercoach points and touch in 25 times you are going to be dropped after 2 games because the coach doesn't like you?? Doesn't inspire a "die for each other" mentality. In fact it creates a "do it for yourself" one.... and THAT is A BIG PROBLEM.Fair enough.
I was never a supporter of Matthew Knights appointment as coach, but, I was also willing to give him some time to develop a team and devise a gameplan which would eventually take us to our 17th premiership.
My patience and confidence in him is near rock bottom.Unfortunately, I agree nearly 100% with that.
I'm really gutted after today's loss, however, so I'm going to wait a few days until I post anything 'final'.
Darealrath
25 Apr 2010, 22:16
Something isn't right.
It's not just the poor performances, it's the way past greats (Lloyd, Hird) are talking that has me seriously worried too. They aren't the types just to run their mouths off.
I was a Knights backer but he's lost me at the moment, and would have to do a lot right to win me back.
Valve Bounce
25 Apr 2010, 22:20
HEY!! who said that win against Carlton was a bad win?
Valve Bounce
25 Apr 2010, 22:28
OK! I posted this in the other thread, but my better half, who knows nothing about footy said: The Essendon players just passed the ball around like a bunch of girls playing netball until they passed the ball to Collingwood, and Collingwood then scored a goal.
I don't know what else I can say. She asked me if I was disappointed and I said "No!", then she asked :"Pissed Off"? I said yes. :(
I have watched the Bombers while standing in the outer in the rain and cold at Windy Hill, I watched Carlton beat us in the Grand Final in 68, but today's display in the backline defies ..................
I can't think of what to say. :(
Unfortunately I think we have to accept that we have a very complicated and risky game plan where success may be possible, maybe, with a highly skilled, strong and experienced list such as Geelong's.
Unfortunately, again, we do not have such a list. In fact a major proportion of our list have average to poor skills and a major proportion are young, small bodied and inexperienced.
The combination of these two factors is contributing to some very uncompetitive performances.
As I see it we are in for a year or three of pain. If we get some injuries, which we havent really yet, things could get real ugly.
Would a different coach and a different game plan change this much?
YOu bet a different coach and different game plan would change things.
Look at our strengths: CLEARANCES
We have a team FULL of steady, in and under midfielders with poor skills.
You do not then get them to play kamikaze style footy. If we played more a Sydney style of contested footy I think we improve out of sight!
No point playing high risk footy when our skills clearly aren't up to it.. just causing too many guys to lose confidence.
Also why keep recruiting KPP if you want to play a bulldogs style running game?? It just makes no sense all round..
Also a different coach might start our best defender, pears, on cloke rather than dawes.. rather than letting cloke play himself into form for the first time this seaon with 3 goals in the first quarter. The move was made.. after half time.. fat lot of good it was going to do then!!
TheDon35
26 Apr 2010, 09:32
I delayed my decision on Knights for the first couple of years and have come to the conclusion now that he's not the guy to take us forward.
Having said that and more importantly, our players collectively ought to be disgusted in themselves.
That is the worst i've ever seen a bombers team play.
Never thought i'd say it but Jobe Watson was playing like a big head and should be ashamed of that effort. It filtered through the whole team.
So whilst I don't support Knights as being the man for the job, I think more focus should be on the players for that performance as if they can't get themselves up for Anzac day, they don't deserve to wear the jumper.
Murph_S13
26 Apr 2010, 09:40
After round one, I'll chance a bet that the Melbourne board was full of "sack Bailey" posts. Four weeks later, I suspect that tone will have softened somewhat.
Yesterday the Bombers played like Melbourne did in round one, and received a similar result. Saturday night, Melbourne played EXACTLY THE SAME GAMESTYLE AS KNIGHTS WANTS and thumped the unbeaten Lions. The difference? Confidence! You could see the confidence in the Melbourne players' faces this week. They take risks and they come off because the CONFIDENT teammates up the field provide viable options.
Knights' biggest issue right now is to find a way to inject some confidence into his team. The gameplan is not the problem. Confidence and then belief! That's what's needed.
And a prediction: when it clicks, it'll click big time!
TheDon35
26 Apr 2010, 10:03
After round one, I'll chance a bet that the Melbourne board was full of "sack Bailey" posts. Four weeks later, I suspect that tone will have softened somewhat.
Yesterday the Bombers played like Melbourne did in round one, and received a similar result. Saturday night, Melbourne played EXACTLY THE SAME GAMESTYLE AS KNIGHTS WANTS and thumped the unbeaten Lions. The difference? Confidence! You could see the confidence in the Melbourne players' faces this week. They take risks and they come off because the CONFIDENT teammates up the field provide viable options.
Knights' biggest issue right now is to find a way to inject some confidence into his team. The gameplan is not the problem. Confidence and then belief! That's what's needed.
And a prediction: when it clicks, it'll click big time!
You can only talk to the results on the board and his coaching tenuire to date has been average at best. Yes if we start winning games then the sentiment will no doubt soften but until we do start winning or at least playing competitively, as the coach of one of the biggest clubs in the league, what can he expect?
I agree that we have a nucleus of solid young talent though i've probabably had a higher expectation of them than what I should have. Yes if they get some confidence and the correct insutructions then it could click big. They would also need some help from their insipid senior players who are the worst of any + 26yo player group in the league. A disgusting legacy of the worst extended recruiting period of any club during the late 90's through to 2004.
Murph_S13
26 Apr 2010, 10:10
They would also need some help from their insipid senior players...
Even senior players can be down on confidence!
Fletcher backs Knights following Pies' victory
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7390
“We are not overly comfortable with the coach copping all of the blame because when we are out there, there are 22 guys out there and you need most guys playing alright in the team and we haven’t had that,” Fletcher said.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7390
ghostdog
26 Apr 2010, 10:38
Re: thread, I did, now I don't.
I'm getting the sense that Knights has run out of ideas, and that the rapport with the playing group has been diminished by some ill conceived decisions.
I agree with some of the other posters as well that Knights doesn't react quickly enough tactically during the game.
The most disappointing thing for me was Knights' reaction to the players at 1/4 time. I watched him for the whole break and it took until half way through the break until he looked at any of the players then he eventually addressed them.
In a quarter that we seriously lacked passion and commitment you would think the players would cop a spray from the coach as soon as he got out there. But no, Matthew Knights' is too spineless to show any sort of emotion. If ever the players needed some sort of rev up it was at quarter time.
Remember the ANZAC Day game where Malthouse sat all his players down because they were performing poorly. He gave them the spray they deserved.
Matthew Kinghts, I am losing patience with you very quickly. You can no longer hide behind the players, IT IS TIME FOR YOU TO TAKE SOME RESPOSIBILITY!!!!
Re: thread, I did, now I don't.
I'm getting the sense that Knights has run out of ideas, and that the rapport with the playing group has been diminished by some ill conceived decisions.
I agree with some of the other posters as well that Knights doesn't react quickly enough tactically during the game.
The most disappointing thing for me was Knights' reaction to the players at 1/4 time. I watched him for the whole break and it took until half way through the break until he looked at any of the players then he eventually addressed them.
In a quarter that we seriously lacked passion and commitment you would think the players would cop a spray from the coach as soon as he got out there. But no, Matthew Knights' is too spineless to show any sort of emotion. If ever the players needed some sort of rev up it was at quarter time.
Remember the ANZAC Day game where Malthouse sat all his players down because they were performing poorly. He gave them the spray they deserved.
Matthew Kinghts, I am losing patience with you very quickly. You can no longer hide behind the players, IT IS TIME FOR YOU TO TAKE SOME RESPOSIBILITY!!!!
This.
Ben the Gooner
26 Apr 2010, 11:22
loss you mean?
We've had 4 bad losses.
Geelong wasn't a bad loss. See below though
BTG: its not just one loss. I don't think supporters are "losing faith" because of a loss.
It is to do with attitude, the way other teams like melbourne and freo are moving ahead of us, its the same pattern of play in every game that is woeful. It is the constant hand balling under pressure and trying to play this crap style.. Its about kids going backwards and not forwards. Its about pushing club champions out the door to make room for a kid that can't even get a game in the seniors..
Its about the fact that eventually even the kings of spin come undone. Terry Wallace did and now Knights follows him.
I'm not saying that we've been anything but abject this year, but referring to yesterday specifically as evidence that Knights has to go is bullshit. Referring to his 50-odd games as a collective? Absolutely.
HEY!! who said that win against Carlton was a bad win?
:D:thumbsu:
I delayed my decision on Knights for the first couple of years and have come to the conclusion now that he's not the guy to take us forward.
Having said that and more importantly, our players collectively ought to be disgusted in themselves.
That is the worst i've ever seen a bombers team play.
Never thought i'd say it but Jobe Watson was playing like a big head and should be ashamed of that effort. It filtered through the whole team.
So whilst I don't support Knights as being the man for the job, I think more focus should be on the players for that performance as if they can't get themselves up for Anzac day, they don't deserve to wear the jumper.
I agree with this (apart from the Jobe thing - didn't notice it myself, but will keep an eye out for it next week). The players are getting off very lightly. Dare I say it, if Knights was out there, we'd be hitting more targets. It's not his fault we can't ****ing handball 5m and hit a target.
King Of The Hille
2 May 2010, 21:50
BUMP
Thoughts after the game v the hawks?
I noticed there was much less handball and more long kicking with leading up the ground. Much more effective and easier to defend turnovers. As much as I hate to say it, I think that Pears is a major contributor to the 'Handball effect'.
Hopefully the boys continue to kick next weekend.
Shane Hird
2 May 2010, 22:14
Yes Matty, glad you read my letters. It was a good idea putting Hille forward more wasn't it? Let's see it happen every week..
King Of The Hille
2 May 2010, 22:50
Yes Matty, glad you read my letters. It was a good idea putting Hille forward more wasn't it? Let's see it happen every week..
Yeah I still dont understand why Hille doesnt start at CHF everyweek and have stints in the ruck with Gumby on a HFF...