View Full Version : 2nds Collingwood V Bendigo Bombers, Victoria Park, 2:00PM

HFF_07
23 Apr 2010, 20:45
This week sees Bendigo travel away to arch rival Collingwood's home ground Victoria Park for round 3s Anzac round match. Should be a good game with both sides sitting in the 8 (Bendigo 6th, Collingwood 8th) and both coming off commanding wins. This signals a new beginning at Queen Elizabeth oval, the once laughing stock of the competition are now sitting in the 8 and should notch another win this week against the old foe; Collingwood.

Sorry guys, game is Saturday 24th April, would be awesome to get some feeback from any one that does go today. thanks heaps if you could, keep an eye out for Trent Shinners and Bendigo rookie Serhat Tehmel who will be making his senior debut today.

FORM:

Round 1 saw Collingwood lose to a more fancied Williamstown 21.11.137 to 16.10.106, Collingwood listed players Luke Rounds and John Anthony amongst the goals with three each, whilst young key position prospect Chris Dawes booted two in a solid display. Luke Rounds, Chris Dawes, Ryan Cook and Jarryd Blair were amongst the best players for Collingwood. Round 1 saw Bendigo travel away to Visy Park and play last year's runners up the Northern Bullants. Was a solid encounter until half time until the more fancied Bullants ran away with a resounding 16.13.109 to 9.10.64 win. Key position prospect Michael Hurley was the best key forward on the ground with 4 majors whilst Jarrod Atkinson provided us with one for the highlights reel with a dashing run and carry goal from defence, one of two for the day. Hurley was the star on this day whilst Alwyn Davey Jarrod Atkinson, Jason Laycock, Trent Shinners and young Tyson Slattery were also named in the best.
Round 2 saw the return to form for a number of players at Collingwood, Chris Dawes was B.O.G with three majors and a number of assists, whilst he was ably supported by young Blight, Tyson Goldsack and key position prodigy Nathan Brown whilst veteran Shane O'Bree was also solid in the 13.12.90 to 13.22.100 win against the highly fancied Casey Scorpions.
At Queen Elizabeth oval, Bendigo saw the return to the winning list, the first time in 25 matches with a resounding 16.13.109 to 8.12.60 win against VFL powerhouse Port Melbourne. Jason Cloke was chief destroyer for Bendigo with 3 from CHF, while Jay Neagle chipped in with a cameo couple and Mark Mcveigh, coming back in after a blood infection also kicking two. Former Adelaide Crow and Bomber Hayden Skipworth was every and was clearly B.O.G, whilst David Myers was the best of the Essendon listed players closely followed by young Tyson Slattery and rookie Stuart Crameri playing out of defence.

TEAMS:

This week's game should be a cracker with a number of AFL listed players playing, and vying for a senior berth in both teams. (AFL Listed players in Bold)

B: Long - Flaherty - Houli
F: Buckley - Anthony - L.Brown
HB: Hardingham - Shinners - T. Slattery
HF: Cook - Dawes - Blair
C: Prismall - Marigliani - Skipworth
C: Lockyer - O'Bree - Toovey
HF: Lonergan - Still - Neagle
HB: Macaffer - N.Brown - Goldsack
F: McVeigh - Carlisle - Cloke
B: Blight - Carter - Hunter
R: Laycock - Myers - Atkinson
R: Wood - McCarthy - Barham
Int: Bellchambers - Jetta - Davey - Scanlon - Crameri - J. Williams - Howlett - Silverlock - Page - Bock - Temel*
Int: Mellington* - Keeffe - Reed - Colbert - Rusling - Young - Mahoney - McNamara - K. Pendlebury - Rounds - Sundberg - Frost - Hunt

NEW: Bendigo: Serhat Tehmel (Pascoe Vale)

KEY MATCH UPS:
Chris Dawes V Trent Shinners
Dawes is in good form, having kicked 5 goals in his two outings this season. He is starting to hit his straps, and at 21 (?) he is going to be hitting his best soon. On the other hand, Trent Shinners has been a revelation at CHB since crossing from VFL rival Frankston Dolphins to be named in the best in both games so far. Shinners ability to shut down the opposition, along with his ability to also provide some good rebound from the defensive 50. This will be a crucial match up that will determine the outcome of this highly anticipated match.

Shane O'Bree V Marcus Marigliani
Two mature bodied players opposed against each other? What more could you ask for. 'Riggers' has been solid without being exceptional and this could be his match. O'Bree (pending if he plays) will go head to head with him. His ability to win the ball at ground level, or in the air is something that he will hold over most players at VFL level. Hope he dominates and begins to shout out at the selectors to "Pick me, Pick me".

PLAYERS TO WATCH:
Bendigo Bombers:
Tyson Slattery: Slattery has played some very good, solid football in the back half and is beginning to put pressure on guys like H.Slattery, Dempsey and even Dyson in the seniors. If he continues his impressive early season form, he could force his way into the defensive structure in the seniors.
David Myers: Will be given every chance to play on ball this week I have heard, despite playing in defence last week where he played quite well, he has played his best football in the midfield for Bendigo. Hopefully he can work on his decisionmaking and begin to hit up targets rather than slam it onto the boot.

Collingwood:

Tom Sundberg: Versatile mid - sized player who is able to play a variety of roles. He has been named in the best in both games this year. Has flown under the radar somewhat, despite this being his 3rd year with Collingwood.

SUMMARY:
Should be one hell of a contest, with the pies holding the upper edge with the more seasoned bodies, however the Bombers seem to have a number of capable avenues to goal.

Bendigo by 11 Points

Would love to be at this game, but going to the Mrs Best friends wedding, so got another gig to go to. Spewing, it's right near her place. Should be a good game though, is anyone able to provide a write up after the match? be really appreciated.

Go Bombers :thumbsu:

HFF_07
23 Apr 2010, 20:49
As this goes to print,

AFL Emergencies named;

Collingwood: Leigh Brown, Shane O'Bree, Tarkyn Lockyer

Essendon: Sam Lonergan, Alwyn Davey, Bachar Houli

The Dustbin
23 Apr 2010, 22:05
Great preview HFF. :thumbsu:

C'mon Bendigo, make it two in a row!

Frothies Mcveigh
23 Apr 2010, 23:56
Would be great to snag 2 in a row. Hopefully Prismall does well, coz if he keeps this up he wont get back in the side.

Strike Swiftly
24 Apr 2010, 09:30
Is the game on today? Did see a date in the above posts? Anyone going?

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 11:10
Is the game on today? Did see a date in the above posts? Anyone going?

I am thinking of going if it is on today.

edit: It is on today and I will probably go.

Kong
24 Apr 2010, 11:29
I also thought about going.

I'll get there, one day...

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 11:34
I also thought about going.

I'll get there, one day...

If you still lived in the McLeod area you could have gone (just jump on the train).

Kong
24 Apr 2010, 11:41
Yeah, unfortunately it's an hour (give or take 20 mins) trip from Geelong alone to Melbourne, plus the train to the 'burbs

Skeeta Olly
24 Apr 2010, 11:54
If you still lived in the McLeod area you could have gone (just jump on the train).

Bloody train never stops at Victoria Park. :p

Need to get off at Clifton Hill, then swap to the train coming from Epping.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 11:57
Bloody train never stops at Victoria Park. :p

Need to get off at Clifton Hill, then swap to the train coming from Epping.

Yeah, that is what I have to do today. Pain in the ass. It is always fun getting on a train that has come from Epping. ;) I think Dyson is from Epping.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 11:58
Yeah, unfortunately it's an hour (give or take 20 mins) trip from Geelong alone to Melbourne, plus the train to the 'burbs

I don't think anybody would bother traveling all that way to see Bendigo. :D

cAsEy_18
24 Apr 2010, 13:11
Any radio coverage of this game?

bombers007
24 Apr 2010, 13:14
Any chance this in on abc today?

Skeeta Olly
24 Apr 2010, 13:18
No. No.

The Dustbin
24 Apr 2010, 14:56
1/4 time:

Collingwood 4.7
Bendigo Bombers 3.0

CuriousObsession
24 Apr 2010, 15:23
Half Time

Collingwood 7.8 (50)
Bendigo 7.6 (48)

daisy is a spud
24 Apr 2010, 15:31
Is Howlett playing?, i was very surprised to see him named on the bench after the injury list claimed he was out for 1-2

Macca18
24 Apr 2010, 15:36
Laycock kicks another for Bendigo.

Collingwood 7.8.50
Bendigo 9.6.60

5 minutes, 3rd quarter

Nice recovery from Bendigo who were over 20 points behind in the 1st quarter. Still pretty close, so we'll see how this pans out...

Skipworth has 3 goals and Houli has been pretty impressive off half back. Davey was omitted from the Bendigo team so looks like he is first in line to come into the team tomorrow if we have a forced late withdrawal

dirtywhitepacker
24 Apr 2010, 15:39
Is the **** playing well enough to possibly earn a senior recall in the near future?

silk
24 Apr 2010, 15:41
Live updates here
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/round%20three/tabid/16105/default.aspx
If you can handle the collingwood bias :p

Still, it's a goog initiative by the pies, and something essendon should copy.

silk
24 Apr 2010, 16:02
According to the dude on the collingwood website.

Bendigo's best were Skipworth, Marigliani, Houli, Neagle and Howlett

David Myers was also prominent

Jonesy10
24 Apr 2010, 16:08
I think that was just for the 3rd quarter, silk.

Bendigo 84 to Collingwood 59 at the start of the 4th quarter. Bendigo with the wind.

silk
24 Apr 2010, 16:30
I think that was just for the 3rd quarter, silk.

Bendigo 84 to Collingwood 59 at the start of the 4th quarter. Bendigo with the wind.

It was the best players up to 3/4 time.

Skeeta Olly
24 Apr 2010, 16:34
30 point win.

Lance Uppercut
24 Apr 2010, 16:35
good stuff!!

Macca18
24 Apr 2010, 16:36
Full Time @ Victoria Park

Collingwood 9.14.68
Bendigo 14.14.98

30 point win in the end after being 20 points down in the middle stages of the 1st quarter - a pretty good display by Bendigo.

Early reports suggest that Skipworth, Houli, Neagle, Howlett, Myers, Marigliani were pretty prominent for us today. Jetta also kicked something like 1.4, so at least he is getting his hands on the ball.

After 25 straight losses, Bendigo have now won their past two games and sit comfortably in the VFL Top 8 with a healthy percentage and a 2-1 record. Certainly a promising turnaround.

The Dustbin
24 Apr 2010, 16:36
30 point win.

Wow wee. Can we assume our youngsters are better then the filth. :D

silk
24 Apr 2010, 16:37
Two in a row for Bendigo. Who would of thought?

Jonesy10
24 Apr 2010, 16:37
It was the best players up to 3/4 time.

I don't think it was, as the guy just did the goals for the quarter and he said "Bendigo's best were" instead of "Bendigo's best have been". But anyway.

:D Another good win. Bendigo doing pretty well so far this year, very pleasing to see. Sounded like they were reading the ball a lot better than Collingwood.

silk
24 Apr 2010, 16:40
I don't think it was, as the guy just did the goals for the quarter and he said "Bendigo's best were" instead of "Bendigo's best have been". But anyway.

:D Another good win. Bendigo doing pretty well so far this year, very pleasing to see. Sounded like they were reading the ball a lot better than Collingwood.

Yep, but he was responding the someone's question who asked, who are the best players for collingwood and bendigo so far. But you may still be right.

HFF_07
24 Apr 2010, 17:25
WOWEE :eek:

two in a row, the Essendon guys actually standing up!

Good to see this, hopefully we can push towards playing finals, and get a reserves team back up an running and show the VFL we are not a basket case. Injuries just take there toll on the lower teams (Coburg reserves were smashed by Box Hill today 121 20, although Frankston can hold the mantle as the Basket case of the VFl after again being humiliated by a star studded Geelong VFL side).

Forgot to mention, 24 year old Marcus Marigliani has notched his 100th VFL game today (98 with Frankston, 2 with Bendigo).. Congratulations to Marcus on this achievement. Hopefully not many more games are played in the VFL but in the seniors :D

Darealrath
24 Apr 2010, 17:28
Thanks for the updates guys. Would love to hear more on how Jetta went.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:28
Any questions as I just got back from the game? My votes would have been.

3. Houli
2. Cloke
1. Howlett

Also good: Jetta, Laycock, Slattery

AS9
24 Apr 2010, 17:31
Any questions as I just got back from the game? My votes would have been.

3. Houli
2. Cloke
1. Howlett

Also good: Jetta, Laycock, Slattery
How did Myers play?

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:32
Thanks for the updates guys. Would love to hear more on how Jetta went.

Kicked a few goals and had great attack on the footy. Very good hassling of the opposition when they had the ball.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:34
How did Myers play?

Was ordinary early on, but got better as the game progressed. Played mainly in defence and took a fair few kick ins. He kicked the ball well, but seems somewhat clumsy when over the ball when trying to pick it up under pressure.

Darealrath
24 Apr 2010, 17:38
Kicked a few goals and had great attack on the footy. Very good hassling of the opposition when they had the ball.

Thanks mate. Hopefully he can string a few together because I'd love to see him back in the seniors.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:39
Houli kicked a great goal whereby he ran from half back through the centre square and then passed it to Lonergan who passed it back and Bachar slotted it from about 35m out.

Cloke kicked 3 and was also good down back when he was down there. I am not sure who 16 was, but he impressed me a fair bit.

jonesy86
24 Apr 2010, 17:40
The big difference today was that the Pies had no structure. From last weeks team Dawes (CHF), Reid (CHB) and Brown (FB) all got promoted. We had no real football experienced talls apart from Wood and Anthony who had 2/3 defenders to cope with most of the day. Keefe (#44) is a soccer player from QLD in his 2nd season, McNamara (#50) is in his first season from the USA and as a result a lot of young midsized players were asked to play key roles and struggled.

The experienced Cloke, Skipworth, Houli and Jetta were good for you guys all day.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:41
Thanks mate. Hopefully he can string a few together because I'd love to see him back in the seniors.

Whenever the Pies had the ball around Jetta they normally fumbled because off the pressure he put them under. If he continues to play as he did today then he would be a worthy inclusion in the seniors. I reckon he plays better with the longer hair. :D

silk
24 Apr 2010, 17:46
From what I have read, Neagle ran hard, and played really well. If gumby fails to perform well this week, I would say he would have to come in for him. In saying that, I'm hoping Neagle doesn't make it into the seniors this week :D

Macca18
24 Apr 2010, 17:46
The big difference today was that the Pies had no structure. From last weeks team Dawes (CHF), Reid (CHB) and Brown (FB) all got promoted. We had no real football experienced talls apart from Wood and Anthony who had 2/3 defenders to cope with most of the day. Keefe (#44) is a soccer player from QLD in his 2nd season, McNamara (#50) is in his first season from the USA and as a result a lot of young midsized players were asked to play key roles and struggled.

The 'Excuses Board' is over there... >>>

Bendigo have won what? 2 of our last 27 games... let us at least be happy with a victory, especially at Victoria Park! Doesn't matter how weak or not our opposition was, any win is a good win for them at the moment.

silk
24 Apr 2010, 17:49
2010 VFL Seniors
Collingwood 4.7 7.8 8.11 9.14 (68)
Bendigo Bombers 3.0 7.6 12.9 14.14 (98)

GOALS:
Collingwood: Rounds Blair McCarthy Mellington Buckley McNamara Anthony Wood Barham
Bendigo Bombers: Cloke 3 Skipworth 3 Jetta 2 Neagle 2 Bellchambers Williams Houli Laycock

BEST:
Collingwood: Pendlebury Barham McCarthy Goldsack Hunter Wood
Bendigo Bombers: Cloke Slattery Neagle Shinners Crameri Howlett

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 17:51

The experienced Cloke, Skipworth, Houli and Jetta were good for you guys all day.

You guys also used the handball way too much, like we did in the first quarter. I thought Wood was quite good.

From what I have read, Neagle ran hard, and played really well. If gumby fails to perform well this week, I would say he would have to come in for him. In saying that, I'm hoping Neagle doesn't make it into the seniors this week :D

Neagle was quite good. He has great hands and took some nice marks and balls below his knees. At one stage he was providing the target to move the ball out of our defensive 50. Still also took a very nice grab early on.

big col
24 Apr 2010, 17:57
how did still go

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 18:00
how did still go

Did not do a lot, but took a few nice grabs and definitely knows how to make a good lead.

I am pretty sure DaveTheMan from BF was sitting behind me and he was not too happy with the performance. :D His knowledge of the Pies team, however, is encyclopedic.

cAsEy_18
24 Apr 2010, 18:23
Saw Tyson Slattery a couple of times last year and really liked what i saw. Seems to be a good height, athletic, but able to keep up with the smaller forwards, hence my call to replace Henry with Tyson. Good to see him named in the bests yet again. How did he look today, and do you think he has to be going close to a 1sts call?

HFF_07
24 Apr 2010, 18:27
OK Pawtucket Parrot, couple of questions for you..

Trent Shinners (#16), how did he go? see he is in the best.. yet again :)

Shane Page (#12), only a kid but gee I feel he is going to be a good player.

Tom Bellchambers (#44), how was his ruckwork? better than Laycock's?

And one last one if you dont mind? How was Tyson Slattery? was he good"? what did you think of him? hope he gets a game very soon. definitely putting pressure on some players in the ones.. Thoughts on his game?

Thanks buddy, any feedback on these guys would be great.

Oh, and Howlett, feel he will come back in the seniors soon.

mattys123
24 Apr 2010, 19:07
Hey guys, was at the game today, and while I didn't have a record to know all your players, a few stood out.

I know the Shinners family by association, so to see Trent play well on Anthony was good to see, and he looks to be improving still.

Was very impressed with Atkinsons' run all day, he broke the lines well, and while at times his disposal was off (weather caused that) he ran all day.

Bellchambers looked fairly good too, although was beaten by Wood in the second half, which was strange considering you killed us in that 3rd quarter.

Jason Cloke and Skipworth really help your VFL side out now too, more experienced players then we had was really the difference in the end.

Laycock was bloody good in that vital period just after half time too, kicking a few vital goals against the wind, including one great goal from a set shot from 40 out into the wind.

You'll be playing finals this year with the Bendigo Bombers, although I can't say the same for Collingwood's VFL team, we lack experienced "top up" players and that showed today.

Loved Goldsack and Wood's game from a pies perspective.

Plenty of Essendon supporters at Vic Park today too, almost a 50/50 split in fans.

See you all tomorrow at the G, where I dare say the atmosphere between the 2 sets of fans might be a little more frayed then it was today.

Macca18
24 Apr 2010, 19:14
Hey guys, was at the game today, and while I didn't have a record to know all your players, a few stood out.

I know the Shinners family by association, so to see Trent play well on Anthony was good to see, and he looks to be improving still.

Was very impressed with Atkinsons' run all day, he broke the lines well, and while at times his disposal was off (weather caused that) he ran all day.

Bellchambers looked fairly good too, although was beaten by Wood in the second half, which was strange considering you killed us in that 3rd quarter.

Jason Cloke and Skipworth really help your VFL side out now too, more experienced players then we had was really the difference in the end.

Laycock was bloody good in that vital period just after half time too, kicking a few vital goals against the wind, including one great goal from a set shot from 40 out into the wind.

You'll be playing finals this year with the Bendigo Bombers, although I can't say the same for Collingwood's VFL team, we lack experienced "top up" players and that showed today.

Loved Goldsack and Wood's game from a pies perspective.

Plenty of Essendon supporters at Vic Park today too, almost a 50/50 split in fans.

See you all tomorrow at the G, where I dare say the atmosphere between the 2 sets of fans might be a little more frayed then it was today.

Thanks for that. Much appreciated. :thumbsu:

stay true
24 Apr 2010, 19:17
Ta for the reports guys. Great to see Bendigo win 2 in a row.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 19:30
Saw Tyson Slattery a couple of times last year and really liked what i saw. Seems to be a good height, athletic, but able to keep up with the smaller forwards, hence my call to replace Henry with Tyson. Good to see him named in the bests yet again. How did he look today, and do you think he has to be going close to a 1sts call?

Tyson played very well today. Made some sensational spoils and attacks the footy very hard. Should be well in contention for the seniors if the likes of Dempsey do not lift their game.

OK Pawtucket Parrot, couple of questions for you..

Trent Shinners (#16), how did he go? see he is in the best.. yet again :)

Shane Page (#12), only a kid but gee I feel he is going to be a good player.

Tom Bellchambers (#44), how was his ruckwork? better than Laycock's?

And one last one if you dont mind? How was Tyson Slattery? was he good"? what did you think of him? hope he gets a game very soon. definitely putting pressure on some players in the ones.. Thoughts on his game?

Thanks buddy, any feedback on these guys would be great.

Oh, and Howlett, feel he will come back in the seniors soon.

I did not know who number 16 was (I now know that it is Shinners), but I made a note that I was super impressed with him. He worked very well with Tyson in defense. He is quite quick for a guy his size and seems to have good endurance.

Page only had a few touches, but seemed to go alright.

I thought that Laycock actually had a better game than Belly. Laycock made some great taps and was present in both the forward line and back line. He has such good hands. Kicked a nice goal. Belly made some great chases and hit the packs hard, but did not influence the game as much as Laycock. I should mention that Laycock started slowly, but improved greatly as the game went on.

Slattery must be close to selection in the seniors. Very impressive player.

HFF_07
24 Apr 2010, 19:36
I did not know who number 16 was (I now know that it is Shinners), but I made a note that I was super impressed with him. He worked very well with Tyson in defense. He is quite quick for a guy his size and seems to have good endurance.

Page only had a few touches, but seemed to go alright.

I thought that Laycock actually had a better game than Belly. Laycock made some great taps and was present in both the forward line and back line. He has such good hands. Kicked a nice goal. Belly made some great chases and hit the packs hard, but did not influence the game as much as Laycock. I should mention that Laycock started slowly, but improved greatly as the game went on.

Slattery must be close to selection in the seniors. Very impressive player.

Shinners was asked to go to State Screening last year, so someone was interested in him. Would think he will get rookied at least with his sensational early season form.

I just like the way Page goes about his footy, runs hard, attacks the footy hard.

Howlett??

Honest opinion on Myers too?? me personally.. I don't think he will make it.

HighettBomber
24 Apr 2010, 20:00
I didn't recognise a lot of the players, as I don't often see Bendigo games and i was also looking after 2 young kids, so wasn't really concentrating but here are my thoughts on some of the Essendon players.

Howlett - was fantastic in the clearances, either gettin gthe ball or tackling hard. He is smart, skillful, knows where the ball is and seems to have reasonable pace. Should be in the senior team.

Houli - Really liked his game. He ran hard and won his own ball when required. Kickling was generally very good and even did a few creative handballs. BOG for me.

Neagle - Kept presenting all day and took a lot of very good marks. Looked to be creative with his kicking and was pretty effective. Second efforts were also pretty good. I was very happy with what i saw.

Jetta - Attacked the ball very hard and his tackling was outstanding. Ball handling and field kicking was pretty good. Goal kicking was terrible, he should have had a bag. He played well enough to get a spot in the senior team as a small forward unless Davey plays tomorrow and has a big turn around in his form.

T Slattery - I like him a lot more than his namesake. Attacked the ball hard and is veryt athletic. Took some great marks and had a really spectacular attempt in the last quarter, which he unfortunately dropped. I didn't see any shanked kicks, but I also didn't recognise him until the second half.

Lonergan - Typical game, some good clearance work but didn't do enough. Should get 30+ touches per game at this level. We behind Houli, Howlett and Jetta for a senior spot, on that form.

Laycock and BellChambers - Both were ok, took some good marks, dropped others. Laycock did one extremely good pass, in the third quarter I think, where he dropped it into a pretty confined space to give one of our forwards a set shot at goal. I think Laycock is still a fair bity ahead of Bellchambers.

Myers - Didn't get a heap of it, but disposal seemed very good, as did his decision making. There was one bit of play where he won a contested ball, spun around and hit up Neagle with a short pass. He had very little time and when he won the ball he was looking the opposite direction. I thought it was pretty good that he spotted him in the first place. Not good enough to force a recall though.

Still - Didn't seem to do much, but attacks the ball pretty hard in the marking contests. He was another I had a bit of trouble recognising.

Atkinson - Ran hard, but didn't stand out as being particularly good or bad.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Apr 2010, 20:07
Shinners was asked to go to State Screening last year, so someone was interested in him. Would think he will get rookied at least with his sensational early season form.

I just like the way Page goes about his footy, runs hard, attacks the footy hard.

Howlett??

Honest opinion on Myers too?? me personally.. I don't think he will make it.

Howlett was very, very good in heavy traffic. On a number of occasions he did a 1-2 to clear the ball out of our defensive 50.

I tend to agree that Myers may not make it. I would prefer T. Slattery in the team than Myers.

dirtywhitepacker
24 Apr 2010, 23:29
Not one mention of Prismall, did the bloke even play? It must be concerning that he can't make an impact at VFL level for 3 weeks after being sent a pretty big rocket...

Knight Ryders
25 Apr 2010, 09:07
Not one mention of Prismall, did the bloke even play? It must be concerning that he can't make an impact at VFL level for 3 weeks after being sent a pretty big rocket...

On BB they've said he played ok and got a bit of ball. I don't think he's done enough to come back in according to reports though. Interestingly, he used to tear it up at VFL for Geelong, so he must be lacking a bit of confidence.

mattyboy_666
25 Apr 2010, 10:51
Prismall yesterday.. not impressive at all unfortunately. Might be making the No.73 for Bendigo his own soon. still racking up the clangers even when he has more time to make a decision in the 2nds.

Disappointing that we have Lonergan, Houli, Prismall, Myers running around in the VFL, all players who have so much potential.. but still none of them are putting pressure on the selectors at the moment. All playing 'ok', but nothing that stands out to warrant selection.

In short:
Lonergan - not enough of it
Houli - loves the loopy handballs, very costly at times
Prismall - taking over McPhee's roll as clanger king at the club
Myers - ????? Gun or spud, nothing in between... still waiting for that "break though moment".. still waiting.. still waiting..

Wahooti Fandango
25 Apr 2010, 10:51
Prismall did a few nice things, but did not really assert himself on the game.