View Full Version : review Match Report: Round 3
Cheeseman
24 Apr 2010, 12:08
This is where it all happens, and don't forget you can catch the game on the ABC and add to this thread even if you can't make it to the game. :thumbsu:
TheFourPillars
24 Apr 2010, 13:48
Qtr Time
BH 3 1 19
Cob 2 2 14
Both Beaus playing well
Roddy27
24 Apr 2010, 13:53
Qtr Time
BH 3 1 19
Cob 2 2 14
Both Beaus playing well
Excellent news TFP... hope B1 and B2 continue to rip it up...
grizzlym
24 Apr 2010, 14:18
Morton just walked into an anvil.
Went hard, courageous. Now being carried off on a stretcher.
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2010, 14:20
Box Hill not so good in the 2nd quarter, kicking with a 4-6 goal wind. Both Beaus have gone right out of it. Jarryd Morton off with concussion.
Roger Rogerson
24 Apr 2010, 14:29
Morton just walked into an anvil.
Went hard, courageous. Now being carried off on a stretcher.
Geez that looked bad. He had been very handy.
Moss' ball use has been excellent. Muston started well but gone out of it.
50m to Bruest you beauty. Has been brilliant Bruest. Cant be far from being seen in hawthorn colours. His kicking is the bit that lets him down but otherwise is a ripper.
Sav has been busy but not damaging.
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2010, 14:32
Better finish to the quarter from BH. 5 points down at halftime.
Garry Moss keeping us in it. Luke Breust looking promising, but missed an absolute sitter from about 20 meteres to finish off the half.
JKT not playing. Must be the emergency for tomorrow. Hopefully no late change.
TheFourPillars
24 Apr 2010, 14:38
Tryin to keep it "Live" for the TV audience, but I appreciate your efforts mate, I'm sue you understand.
Cheeseman
Cheeseman
24 Apr 2010, 14:39
Please don't post live updates at this point in time, plenty of us are watching it on delay.
The Cleaner
24 Apr 2010, 14:44
Umm, wouldn't it be easier if you just didn't read the thread?
Surely BF is all about real time updates.
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2010, 14:48
Tryin to keep it "Live" for the TV audience, but I appreciate your efforts mate, I'm sue you understand.
Cheeseman
Sorry mate! Had no idea it wasn't live on ABC. I'm watching it on AUSTAR.
TheFourPillars
Please don't post live updates at this point in time, plenty of us are watching it on delay.
No problems dude totally understand. I get the same thing from the wife she is trying to watch it on the tv and i have the radio on :)
Cheeseman
Yeah, I'd be cool with that, except I'm the Box Hill moderator.
If people wan't to post a spoiler for the TV audience, just give a heads up so people can skim over it, I won't be editing any further posts.
grizzlym
24 Apr 2010, 15:07
Muston (on telly) just kicked a goal that went 70 metres easy. Crikeys.
Henry Jr
24 Apr 2010, 15:19
Musto Musto Man!
sydney_hawka
24 Apr 2010, 15:20
Muston (on telly) just kicked a goal that went 70 metres easy. Crikeys.
He just kicked another one from about 65.
grizzlym
24 Apr 2010, 15:26
Breust is a ripper. Another goal. Agree RR, would love to see him debut this year.
LuvMyHawks
24 Apr 2010, 15:28
Another beauty from Muston. He has been very good today. We need him to kick those long bombs for us in the seniors....
I thought that the ABC was "Live"?? It started at 1pm.. Am I missing something?:(
PatientHawk
24 Apr 2010, 15:35
i'm here for the updates
thanks for all comments made:thumbsu:
sydney_hawka
24 Apr 2010, 16:01
Lost by a Goal. Dropped off in the last 10 mins.
Can someone please tell me why that last quarter went for 35 mins?
sydney_hawka
24 Apr 2010, 16:06
10 goals + shitloads of stoppages + a couple of Blood Rules.
grizzlym
24 Apr 2010, 16:07
Bewildering wasn't it?
The Cleaner
24 Apr 2010, 16:08
Our big guys went missing when it counted in the last 10. Really needed a Lisle, Pederson or Dowler to take a big grab and clear the ball but it was all Coburg.
Dowler simply doesn't do enough. I'm sure every coach is telling him the same thing. He has the assets but his application is under par.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
24 Apr 2010, 16:08
Would really appreciate if someone had some player insights.
sydney_hawka
24 Apr 2010, 16:10
Would really appreciate if someone had some player insights.
Luke Breust looked to be our best.
Musto was pretty good in patches.
Curnow was good in the last Qtr.
Henry Jr
24 Apr 2010, 16:11
Kenna's kickout was a shocker in that final quarter.
Cheeseman
24 Apr 2010, 16:17
Kenna's kickout was a shocker in that final quarter.
Not as bad as the holding the ball decision against Breaust that started the run on for Coburg.
All in all though, our lack of composure cost us,and we didn't deserve to win it, that doesn't make me any less annoyed though.
A quick thanks to those folks that witheld the live scores, todays delay was an anomoly, and I'll be encouraging live updates in the future.
2Sewell4School
24 Apr 2010, 16:20
Breust is a ripper. Another goal. Agree RR, would love to see him debut this year.
Man this kid can play.
Defensively very good, can tackle, has pace and loves a goal.
Very impressed with his game today, backing u a ripper final last year.
Your wraps on him are justified Grizz, I too would love to see him get a game soon.
Baz_hawk
24 Apr 2010, 16:21
The last 15 minutes felt as though we were only trying to kill the clock. Wasted oppurtunities but i was impressed with Bruest. Dowler had his moments but as mentioned, he really needs to work on second and third efforts and play in front. They should throw him in with Roughy and Franklin at training and try and get him to learn to play in front and lead up to the ball. (although Buddy has forgotten how to do that of late)
The talent is certainly there, just needs to work on the second efforts and playing in front.
Bruest is a very smart player, read the play well and crumbed a nice couple of goals in the last quarter
hawkheart
24 Apr 2010, 16:35
Beau M is still a chance for a senior career. Beau D, I really don't think so.
TheFourPillars
24 Apr 2010, 16:38
Well it was game we should have won. Both beaus have a knack to just go missing a little disappointing especially since the seniors really need dowler to put his hand up. Breust looks great just holds his feet amazing balance and great nouse. I missed the last quarter on the radio and was in out of the broadcast in the last.
Another beauty from Muston. He has been very good today. We need him to kick those long bombs for us in the seniors....
I thought that the ABC was "Live"?? It started at 1pm.. Am I missing something?:(
cd_xYBE_-PU
Two rippers from Muston.
hawka187
24 Apr 2010, 16:41
Beau M was pretty good today. watched this game live as it was in craigieburn, just lost by a goal which sucked.
Arkadia
24 Apr 2010, 16:44
Dowler did ok in patches , but when he needs to stand up especially in the last qrt and make a presence he does go missing.
Lisle is not the Ruck option we are looking for in the seniors. We need Dowler to step up in the forward line so Roughie can pitch hit in the ruck while suzie rests.
TheFourPillars
24 Apr 2010, 16:47
Beau M was pretty good today. watched this game live as it was in craigieburn, just lost by a goal which sucked.
Just lapping up the love for Beau M at the moment :D
2Sewell4School
24 Apr 2010, 17:01
Lisle is not the Ruck option we are looking for in the seniors.
I agree Arkadia. When he was in the centre, he tended to body the opposition ruck rather than contesting and attempting to win a hit out.
He is still young and who knows, one day he might be a handy backup ruckman.
Currently he offers only a body to contest at bounces and would not create enough taps to advantage to justify selection in the senior side.
Had a quiet game around the ground also that might go some way in dimming the calls for his immediate inclusion for HFC
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2010, 17:19
I was a little disappointed with Matt Suckling's kick-ins late in the game when it was still there to be won. Most of them ended up coming straight back at him.
Was hoping to see more from Williams & Duryea too. Still, that will come.
spudmaster
24 Apr 2010, 17:51
Loved the two huge bombs from Musto today, what rippers!
Shame to fall short but they played over us quite convincingly in the last quarter i thought.
Interesting to see Dowler down back again, still finding it difficult to figure out whether he will be more suited to a KPD or KPF. Still has a while to go either way looking at todays game.
Good to see moss pushing hard again for senior selection
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2010, 18:18
I feel sorry for Garry Moss. His obvious short comings are his lack of pace and one-sidedness, but you've got to love the bloke's footy nous. Just knows how to weight his kicks and to run to the right places.
Morton's loss could have ultimately cost BH the game.
Beau M is still a chance for a senior career. Beau D, I really don't think so.
Dowler is a classic case of a man in the middle. He is tall but plays like a medium, a bit like a Monfires. He cannot take pack marks, crash packs and his hands are OK when it should be his strength.
However, he has a great tank, is smart with his vision, skills are decent enough. The problem is we still don't know his best position and his been on the list since 2006.
His got this year to stamp his authority or his just taking up a spot on the list. I hope he comes good.
About the game, I thought it was over a qtr time but we wasted the breeze which dropped in the 2nd.
go hawks!!!
24 Apr 2010, 19:02
As the game was televised today, more of us had a chance to see the game and our developing players. a quick report is included below.
Musto - huge positive, had heaps of the ball, provided speed and long kicking, no need to describe those two goals, they were amazing. yes, musto made a couple of poor decisions but must have had over 20 possies from the back flank so that is a small percentage. he is definitely building in confidence, and a couple more games like this will be definitely pushing for senior selection...well done musto
Bruest (punky) - awesome game, great skills and is very opportunistic. when williams left last year, i saw it as an opportunity for punky and has has developed further over the pre-season, however, still needs to work on his defensive skills. kicked 5-2 and could have kicked 7. well done
Duryea and williams - both quiet, very quiet
savage - for me stuggling big time, definitely not the player from last year. unfortunately may go back to the development squad to gain confidence. believe shane.
moss - in and out of the game very classy but not dominant, needs to keep himself in the game, but stuggles due to lack of strength and speed
morton - was knocked out in 2nd quarter, did not show much
Dowler - 2nd game back and showed. still lacking the intensity required of a AFL forward, kicked 2-2, however, his workrate was not good enough, did not chase enough and did not work enough to demand the ball (as mentioned by rys-jones). needs more weeks and a bag of goals before he is considered for the seniors. again, work harder to demand the ball
Lisle - 2nd quiet game in a row, goalless and did not crash into the ruckman
suckling - was dissapointing today
VFL players - kenna was good as well as kernot. the biggest dissapointment for me was luke ablett, his game was poor in my opinion
overall, musto and bruest were the two highlights for me.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
24 Apr 2010, 19:07
Luke Breust looked to be our best.
Musto was pretty good in patches.
Curnow was good in the last Qtr.
Thanks s_h.
Glad Breust continues to show development.
grizzlym
24 Apr 2010, 19:19
HH, RR and myself have been sharing the man-love for Breust since he arrived at Hawthorn. He's always had that something about him. Great to see he's starting to put it together more often in a game. I reckon he's the 'permanent half forward' we've been crying out for. The way he can gather the ball cleanly at speed is the hallmark of a talented player.
Last year, HH mentioned to me that he thought Bruest might snag a couple of senior games by the end of the year. I reckon he's starting to make an irresistible case based on form and quality not just potential.
Also enjoyed seeing Muston playing with some dash and confidence.
burner1
24 Apr 2010, 20:28
Only watched 3q on tv but observations..
Reckon breust is by far the most natural half/small forward on our list. Looked very dangerous every time he was near the ball. Given hooper is out for a few more weeks i'd say give peterson a rest and give breust a couple of games to see how he handles the higher level. Seems to have that ability to cut teams apart (i.e. 7 shots on goal) that other than rioli, roughie and buddy none of our other fwds really do (maybe hooper?)
Musto was a big positive today - while he kicks for goal were great I was more impressed by how easily he took the players on and stepped around at speed - he appears to have got his agility back. Could really add something to our backline is he continues in this fashion. His ability to kick a 70m+ bomb also really opens up a range of options for us, would be able to kick over most zones coming out of the backline.
I doubt shoe or stratton will play all 22 games this year so he should get a look in.
I didnt think dowler was that bad - still needs more games to get his confidence up - but seemed to do well in getting the ball 60-80m at goal and finding space. While people want him to dominate games I dont think he needs to do that - at afl level will be a 3rd tall - he leads well and is great at finding space and is a great field kick. Agree with above posters that intensity still needs work.
Of the rest, moss did a little bit but everyone else was quiet.
I would really like to see us attempt to try something a bit different for the seniors team and attempt to field the following afl team to finally get some height up fwd with geniune crumbers and get some pace coming out of the backline.
Ladson Gilham WhiteX
Muston Stratton Burgoyne
Birchall Mitch Bateman
Breust Buddy Ossie
Dowler Rough Rioli
Renouf sewell hodge
(bench)
FriarTuck
24 Apr 2010, 21:50
That was a filthy cross breeze howling across the ground. Players did really well in those conditions. The wind did swing around in the last but we still should have won it.
Bruester - Balance and zip. Wish they would play him more on the ball so he can develop his tank.
Lisle - Deep forward and ruck. Real concerns about his foot skills and speed, but the kid runs his guts out and battles as hard as the best of them. Did a couple of monster chases.
Musto - Ran very hard and very often. Even when he was not receiving the footy he was still running into space and trying to create. As usual every time he gets the footy it is an adventure.
Savage - Wing, then deep forward. Looks to panic when he does not have time. A spell in the magoos would not hurt him.
Morto does not work hard enough. Reckon Musto ran twice as far as Morton. With Morton's tank he should be unstoppable at this level.
Mossy, Duryea, Williams, Sirra, Suckers all OK but we need some size.
dogmatic
25 Apr 2010, 09:12
Anyone got a report on the early game: apparently the two's belted the top side.
HawkInFullFlight
25 Apr 2010, 10:27
So what do we think of Jake King's hit up on Morton? Looked bad on the telly... Can't believe he didn't go into the book for that whilst Ben Fagan got done for 2 weeks for basically standing the mark.
FairCall
25 Apr 2010, 12:10
I thought Curnow was BOG. Good 4 quarters and in the last did everything he could to get us over the line. Breust & Morton very good and then Gibson.
Watched Lisle the last 2 weeks and he is not ready to assist in the ruck as often called for on the Hawk board. I don't believe he is physically strong enough. Duryea looked heavy in the legs and as Rudi Gilham stated played the emergency role enough and needs to string a few games together for match fitness and his development. Moss did some really classy things and certainly was in the best half without starring like you think he would have wanted given he was omitted. Having said that the wind, playing in a different team doesn't always mean its as easier as it appears.
Coburg were fast, much faster than BHH. They have lost 2 close ones and now got up in a close one. Their intensity lifted in the last 15 minutes and I don't think ours did. May have wanted it a bit more.
grizzlym
25 Apr 2010, 12:19
I thought Curnow was BOG. Good 4 quarters and in the last did everything he could to get us over the line. Breust & Morton very good and then Gibson.
Watched Lisle the last 2 weeks and he is not ready to assist in the ruck as often called for on the Hawk board. I don't believe he is physically strong enough. Duryea looked heavy in the legs and as Rudi Gilham stated played the emergency role enough and needs to string a few games together for match fitness and his development. Moss did some really classy things and certainly was in the best half without starring like you think he would have wanted given he was omitted. Having said that the wind, playing in a different team doesn't always mean its as easier as it appears.
Coburg were fast, much faster than BHH. They have lost 2 close ones and now got up in a close one. Their intensity lifted in the last 15 minutes and I don't think ours did. May have wanted it a bit more.
Yeah, Lisle isn't up for playing that relief role yet. Just doesn't impose himself enough yet. Needs time.
Now, Faircall, you obviously see a bit of Box Hill, just wondering what you think about this observation about Breust: he seems to be able step up to the level he's asked to play relatively effortlessly. When he came to Hawthorn he had no pre-season, and was recovering from something like a busted leg off memory, he played a few games in the reserves, looked ok, then stepped up to Box Hill seniors easily. He just seems to have that natural talent. So, my question are: one, do you see Breust making that step up to AFL in the same way? And two: do you think we might see that sooner rather later?
Cheeseman
25 Apr 2010, 12:26
From round 11, every club will be able to elevate a rookie for the remainder of the year without needing to place someone else on the long term injury list, if we have a reasonable run with injuries between now and then, I think Breust will be a lock for promotion, the kid has got what it takes.
grizzlym
25 Apr 2010, 12:30
From round 11, every club will be able to elevate a rookie for the remainder of the year without needing to place someone else on the long term injury list, if we have a reasonable run with injuries between now and then, I think Breust will be a lock for promotion, the kid has got what it takes.
Absolutely agree.
FairCall
25 Apr 2010, 13:23
Yeah, Lisle isn't up for playing that relief role yet. Just doesn't impose himself enough yet. Needs time.
Now, Faircall, you obviously see a bit of Box Hill, just wondering what you think about this observation about Breust: he seems to be able step up to the level he's asked to play relatively effortlessly. When he came to Hawthorn he had no pre-season, and was recovering from something like a busted leg off memory, he played a few games in the reserves, looked ok, then stepped up to Box Hill seniors easily. He just seems to have that natural talent. So, my question are: one, do you see Breust making that step up to AFL in the same way? And two: do you think we might see that sooner rather later?
I have seen Breust play 5 times this year. NAB Cup against Richmond just on TV was a descent opening game, NAB Cup against WB did some very good things - I do believe he reads the play well and clever around goals. Took his opportunities. Very attacking player appears confident and backs himself. Last week in Geelong I think he had an ok game and of course yesterday he was very good. This is going to sound really quite stupid or the very least contradictory but apart from his goals yesterday I didn't think it was a well rounded game. I would have Hooper ahead of him so if he is back from injury in the next week or 2 then I don't think Breust will be in the Seniors soon. I think we need to see the young players put a few very good games together before warranting AFL Senior selection. I'm just not one for dropping or elevating a player on 1 good or bad game. He is developing nicely though. Just my view without really knowing players roles, instructions, game plan etc
houdinihuddo
25 Apr 2010, 13:33
The Development Team beat Coburg by 101 points which was a truly sensational performance when you consider last week Coburg won by 130 points and an injury to Jimmy Orr meant our 3 tallest players were Gary Conyers & Tom Purcell 190 cms and John Delahunty 188 cms. Dela was terrific providing a contest against Dahl 201 cms and Bisetto 195 cms in the ruck and dropping back for some very good defensive spoils. Coburg also had 3 tall KPPs 198, 197 & 194 cms and our ability to get the ball to the ground and then control the ball with run and carry was great to watch. Our talented young team are exciting to watch and the highlight of the win was their work rate in the last quarter. Coburg were no doubt challenged to win the last quarter and threw everything at us for the first 10 minutes however we held our ground and then kicked 3.2. The quarter by quarter scores were:
BHH 7.7.49 11.9.75 15.11.101 18.13.121
Coburg 0.0.0 1.4.10 2.8.20 2.8.20
We had the advantage of a 4 to 6 goal breeze in the 1st quarter and our work rate in the 2nd quarter was great. The breeze dropped for the second half and was not really a factor.
Coburg TigersGoal Kickers: J. Kandilakis, N. Wood
Best Players: R. Hicks, H. Dahl, J. Kandilakis, F. Pope, T. Lucin, W. Smith
Box Hill HawksGoal Kickers: K. McShane 4, J. Delahunty 2, L. Kitchin 2, C. Hoegel 2, A. McGuinness 2, G. Conyers, B. Wallace, J. Cass, J. Hoegel, M. Johnston, Z. Ledin
Best Players: D. Walker, T. Warby, K. McShane, J. Hoegel, D. Mirra, L. Andrews
It is a tough call having to restrict the named best players to 6. I could easily name a dozen best players however I think the work rate of our senior players Kitchen, McGuiness and George and the example they set plus the support they gave to our first year players is worthy of mention.
grizzlym
25 Apr 2010, 13:56
I have seen Breust play 5 times this year. NAB Cup against Richmond just on TV was a descent opening game, NAB Cup against WB did some very good things - I do believe he reads the play well and clever around goals. Took his opportunities. Very attacking player appears confident and backs himself. Last week in Geelong I think he had an ok game and of course yesterday he was very good. This is going to sound really quite stupid or the very least contradictory but apart from his goals yesterday I didn't think it was a well rounded game. I would have Hooper ahead of him so if he is back from injury in the next week or 2 then I don't think Breust will be in the Seniors soon. I think we need to see the young players put a few very good games together before warranting AFL Senior selection. I'm just not one for dropping or elevating a player on 1 good or bad game. He is developing nicely though. Just my view without really knowing players roles, instructions, game plan etc
My perception is that Bresut has been able to step up to the next level each time. That augers well to me. It will be interesting to see when he plays - maybe we should open a book?!
randall boner
25 Apr 2010, 14:59
yeah breust has heaps of potential and looks the most likely at box hill, i would keep him at boxhill for the time being because i noticed in the bulldog match preseason,he was easily knocked of the ball after getting into the best position.needs to put on a few kg me thinks.
Roger Rogerson
25 Apr 2010, 17:00
It is an interesting one with Bruest. He is in the Hawthorn side in 2011 without doubt but it will depend on where we are at at round 11 this year whether he is the one tapped on the shoulder or not and promoted. If we are all guns blazing then I reckon he stays at Box Hill to complete a development year, otherwise if we are in the doldrums and have decided we need to introduce some new blood then you would turn straight to him. He just makes us more dangerous immediately if he is in the side.
I reckon if Bruest's and Hooper's form before injury continues Moss' will struggle to stay on our list. He was very constructive with the ball yesterday but just runs out of raw talent. Bruest is the opposite - something happens everytime he is near the ball. His kicking needs to improve as he shanks every 4th one and he will need a much bigger tank for AFL but has the raw talent.
I would hope Riley Milne will be pushing for permanent spot on the list in round 11 - anyone know when he will be back playing?
I thought both Beaus physically look the best they have since their time at the club. Dowler is starting to look like a man and Mustons legs are catching up to his upper body. Seems to have got some power back which is great. THey both look well prepared so here's hoping they can play some consistent AFL in the next month.
Sierakowski continues to fly under the radar but continues to impress me. Just goes about his business and is an ok size and balanced. Stitched up Morton a treat with no blocking of Jake King but otherwise looks solid.
Morton was very solid and was going well until cleaned up.
Wasn't impressed by Williams and Duryea very quiet.
Savage got his hands on the ball plenty - certainly has no trouble winning it at all which is great but made bad decisions with the ball in hand. Just wonder after last year if he expected to be in the hawthorn side this year and has dropped his bundle a bit. Definately has talent and speed so am sure he will come good.
powermax
25 Apr 2010, 20:52
Williams had 6 possessions in 1st qtr, benched for 20 min of 2nd qtr, had 5 possessions 3 qtr, and like most players, was quite in last qtr, don't know how he gets confused with Duryea, he is No 40, whereas Duryea is no. 41. Even last match report against Geelong the reporting was totally confusing between the 2. Williams hit Bruest for a goal, and hit Moss amongst 3 Coburg players from the wing,which resulted in a goal. Duryea was very quite.Williams is still just 18 and a little known fact, went to the same school as Coburg's Daniel Connors.
He played just 80minutes against Geelong last week , but had 17 possessions
powermax
25 Apr 2010, 21:03
Why when we were 16 points up in last qtr did we start chipping the ball around the back line when Muston showed the best way was to kick the ball long, especially through the goals
Simon_Nesbit
25 Apr 2010, 23:18
Williams...., don't know how he gets confused with Duryea, he is No 40, whereas Duryea is no. 40.
Right. It's pretty bloody obvious then. Don't know how anyone could ever make that mistake. :D
Cheeseman
26 Apr 2010, 14:57
Time to read about the game from the club's perspective, you know the routine.
HAWKS FALL SHORT
The Box Hill Hawks lost a nail biter against the Coburg Tigers on Saturday in the first official VFL game at Highgate Recreation Reserve beaten 14.10.94 to 13.10.88, by six points.
Box Hill after leading by 10 points at three quarter time, were all but overrun by a fast finishing Coburg side that were able to find deep marking targets late in the dying stages.
Gibbs-Lines Medallist, Richmond’s Dean Polo was the difference kicking truly when scores were drawn at the 34th minute, seeing Coburg hold on and escape with victory.
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=
Actually, for a first year kid who I wasn't expecting much out of, Williams did a few things that did impress me, despite having a relatively quiet game.
Loved the way he took on his opponents in the first quarter - showed some run and dash.