View Full Version : Fan gets banned for life
Most will be aware of an 18 year old umpire being attacked at an Under 10's match in the Diamond Valley Football League over the weekend.
Well, the upshot of it is that fan, a father of a boy in the side (and the team's runner on the day), has been banned for life.
Bomber Spirit
29 May 2003, 20:04
And so he should. That's disgaceful - ugly parents are a curse on junior sport and this parent got what he deserved.
timelord
29 May 2003, 23:30
I just hope that the DVFL are reasonable with the club over the $5000 fine they copped. I read that Lalor Stars (who are solely a junior club) might have to fold just because of the fine as there's no way they could pay it. The fact is that Lalor Stars have not backed the moron (good move IMO!) so there should be some consideration there at least.
But the dad got his right whack - and the DVFL has encouraged the umpire to press assault charges, and I believe he is going to do just that.
Originally posted by timelord
But the dad got his right whack - and the DVFL has encouraged the umpire to press assault charges, and I believe he is going to do just that.
He should be charged with assualt and false imprisonment.
Wayde Petersen
30 May 2003, 22:12
Bugger 'em Phil, Lalor Stars don't deserve any sympathy after the way they treated my auntie Christine and uncle Kevin, (both Lalor Stars life members), they did evrything around the club and they were thrown out like yesterday's garbage.
And anyway, Lalor Stars links to Mernda were severed 4 years ago, (because of my uncle and auntie), Mernda put in heaps of money and time into the club and helped get them up into first division not long after they joined the DVFL, then after Mernda did everything asked of them (and then some), they ****ed us of and joined those brown bogans at Thomastown.
Anyway, i'm glad that the DVFL's thrown the book at this clown, I hope the umpire takes him to the cleaners and I hope that his son/daughter gets some therapy real quick, because I reckon they'll need it after seeing that.
Hollypig
31 May 2003, 08:41
Won`t be long before we see another thread on this same subject with a couple of underage clubs competing in the NEMJFA.
but when the kids are coached to headhunt ball players from the opposition, with the parents cheering them on what do you expect.