View Full Version : movement at the station.........

Pages : [1] 2

saladin
28 Apr 2010, 20:56
ok, i'm usually loathe to do this. yes, it's off "another" forum. but it may well have legs, and makes sense given how things currently are.

It has been awhile since I have posted any rumours or gossip in the hangar, for multiple reasons, but tonight do so, not to put my name in headlights, but to gauge the bomberblitz community on what could be a massive massive massive move.

I preface this gossip with a reminder to those that know me and advice to those who don't, I am not a Knights basher or hater. In my opinion I don't think Knights has done a lot wrong off the field, but I do think he has struggled on matchday and the results speak for themselves.

So......

Tonight I have learned from a quality insider that Knights will have to front board at the next board meeting and give a clear indication of where the team is at and where he thinks they'll be by the end of the season.

Knights will be asked to assess the season so far, break down certain aspects and compare the progress against KPIs outlayed in 2008 for a five year plan. I believe he will then be given an ultimatum.

Apparently after the dreamtime game of 2008 there were question marks over the defensive gameplan. Knights fronted the board where he told them the gameplan will be tweeked over three seasons and the third season would introduce the defensive aspects. Not happy with this, Knights was requested to fast track the defensive game. From memory I think we travelled to AAMI not long after and lost by less than a kick which bought some more credits.

Two and a bit years on, the shocking performances are becomming regular, the defensive efforts, which in the plan were supposed to be introduced in 2010, are few and far between.

The board, on the back of the Crows final last season and a few stinkers this season, have become restless.

I have it on good authority that if Knights doesn't meet particular targets this season then he will not see out his contract.

In fact, here's the big news:

I have heard ALL of Mark Williams (Chocko), James Hird, Matthew Lloyd, Scott Burns and Sean Wellman have been contacted to discuss a potential coaching panel in 2011.

Despite each of the names above all having various contracts, they all have get out clauses and are potentially available for the 2011 season.

So prepared is Essendon, my source tells that each of the names above have been told in no uncertain terms "don't make plans for 2011 until we've had a chance to talk further" after flagging the possibility with them.

So confident in the reliability of this news you will now here a different response in the media from Hird and Lloyd in relation to Knights after they were both privately requested to "tone down criticism of Knights." You can expect to hear both of them say things like 'back the coach' or 'got to get behind him till seasons end'.

You'll also find that if Hird is asked in the media does he want to or will he ever coach? Instead of giving a straight out NO like he previously has been saying, he may give a more trivial response like 'i am enjoying what I do now' or 'there's nothing on the agenda at this stage' or 'i'm too busy with my business'. Basically he won't rule it out.

So whilst this is not a thread to advocate the removal of Knights, it is interesting to think the board could be assembling some good coaching apprentices in Hird, Lloyd, Burns and Wellman who would serve under Chocko.

Please don't take this as gospel and I'm expecting a few to flame me. I say with all honesty that most rumours you hear have an element of truth to them. There is every intention of a rumour becomming a reality only for a piece of the puzzle to go missing. In this instance it's a massive puzzle that would require a lot to go right, or wrong, to be put together.

Skeeta Olly
28 Apr 2010, 20:58
A big post by fogdog. An interesting read.

Tailypo
28 Apr 2010, 21:00
Read it on BB. Massssssiivvvvvveeeeeee.

Can't wait to see how it unfolds.

Wanna B Hird
28 Apr 2010, 21:07
WOW, If true, thanks anyway :eek:

Phone
28 Apr 2010, 21:07
Of all the users to take a post from and then not credit, you had to pick Fogdog! ffs.

oh and have any of them apart from Williams and Sean Wellman coached?

BABYBOMBERS2007
28 Apr 2010, 21:08
This would be great. Those 5 would be awesome :D Could even get Lloyd playing maybe ;) or not

Skeeta Olly
28 Apr 2010, 21:11
The problem now, is that people will want us to lose.

Smyth94
28 Apr 2010, 21:15
Of all the users to take a post from and then not credit, you had to pick Fogdog! ffs.

Burns is an assistant at WCE

Tailypo
28 Apr 2010, 21:18
http://halfbackflanker.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/04gf.jpg http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2008/05/17/va1237308320989/Mark-Williams-6044398.jpg

Awkward..
In all seriousness, if anyone read ant555's excellent assessment on where we're at (also on BB), he certainly highlights the deficiencies of our current coaching panel as a whole. Should we continue to go downhill, a revamp with the names mentioned in the rumour would be much stronger IMO, especially re: defensive efforts, midfield structures with the likes of Wellman and Burns. Of course, should the rumour eventuate, the panel would most likely include only some of those names, but even then there would be an improvement. Interesting times.

If the rumour has legs, of course.

28 Apr 2010, 21:37
when is this next board meeting that apparently knights will have to face?

and does dean laidley have plans for 2011?!

Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Apr 2010, 21:43
Like I said on BB, I think I just came.

Skeeta Olly
28 Apr 2010, 21:44
Like I said on BB, I think I just came.

Heh.

redandblackbomba
28 Apr 2010, 22:01
ok, i'm usually loathe to do this. yes, it's off "another" forum. but it may well have legs, and makes sense given how things currently are.

Saladin you are spot on I can guarantee all EFC members both Lloyd and Hird have been spoken to but nothing will happen until at least midway through 2011

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
28 Apr 2010, 22:12
wont be long till caro,robbo and hutchy get there hands on this.interseting week coming up imo

The Great Barry Besanko
28 Apr 2010, 22:15
Not a chance he'll get the arse after this season. Not with 2 yrs left on his contract.

Funny how things can turn. Doubts were raised on Bailey after round 1 , Ratten after round 3, Ross Lyon in his first year, Kevin Sheedy after first 6 games, Malthouse a couple of seasons ago, Bomber Thompson a year before first premiership etc etc. Even Bomber never had to cope with losing 2 champion forwards and one of his best midfielders.

Knights was earning praise last year, how can he all of a sudden lose his ability? I'm not a fanatic Knights supporter, yes of course he has his deficiencies, but FFS give him this season before these bullshit rumours. It's not going to help the team.

DaSawx
28 Apr 2010, 22:18
This shit can't be good if the board is going behind his back, I think it's crap anyway.

Lol at everyone getting their hopes up already, has about 5% chance of being true, gotta love internet rumors.

Noddy Holder
28 Apr 2010, 22:20
God let this be true.

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
28 Apr 2010, 22:22
This shit can't be good if the board is going behind his back, I think it's crap anyway.

Lol at everyone getting their hopes up already, has about 5% chance of being true, gotta love internet rumors.

admit it you love it if it was true :p

Tambu
28 Apr 2010, 22:23
does dean laidley have plans for 2011?!
Will probably get the senior coaching job at Port when Choco comes to Essendon. :rolleyes:

DaSawx
28 Apr 2010, 22:24
admit it you love it if it was true :p

I'm hoping Knights makes it, and not really sold on Chocco

Where's Hodge2Franklin's optimism when we need it :D

WeAreEssendon
28 Apr 2010, 22:24
Sounds more like an anti Knights person within the club spreading some rumours to destabilise the situation.

The situation might become dire if we lose to Hawthorn. We then have Port at home and a loss to a spasmodic interstate team at home might just do it. Or we win both and we're all back on the Knights wagon.

Noddy Holder
28 Apr 2010, 22:26
I'm hoping Knights makes it, and not really sold on Chocco

Where's Hodge2Franklin's optimism when we need it :D

He saw Knights coming like he saw Clarkson coming. Hope he sees Knights leaving like he sees Clarkson leaving.

DaSawx
28 Apr 2010, 22:28
Sounds more like an anti Knights person within the club spreading some rumours to destabilise the situation.

P.Smith.......

The situation might become dire if we lose to Hawthorn. We then have Port at home and a loss to a spasmodic interstate team at home might just do it. Or we win both and we're all back on the Knights wagon.

Could very well happen, then it's Worsfold or Clarkson's turn to be under the gun.

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
28 Apr 2010, 22:28
He saw Knights coming like he saw Clarkson coming. Hope he sees Knights leaving like he sees Clarkson leaving.

yeah where is that bloke???

Tailypo
28 Apr 2010, 22:31
In simplistic terms it could be win-win, really.

The rumour (which is sure to hit the papers) could be the catalyst for our turnaround with Knights at the helm, coaching for his job. We love a bit of adversity. OR, if true and things progress as they are, we could get an adequate replacement.

Or so says the optimist* in me.

*The pessimist would fear the potential instability that could result from such rumours.

Lance Uppercut
28 Apr 2010, 22:39
the one thing that scuppers it in my mind is that why would anyone involved in such a momentous decision just gob off to any old joe public?

The one thing that would kill this, assuming it were in any way true, would be for it to be made public.

It would put Hird, Lloyd & particularly Williams in an untenable position

yaco55
28 Apr 2010, 22:41
I hope a psychiatrist comes with the proposed coaching team.

theboxmike
28 Apr 2010, 22:50
I hope not i rather like Knights...

I say at this rate give him till Mid next year and if nothing changes then start looking for him to move on...

table tennis
28 Apr 2010, 22:51
This board needs ant555 back!

Duckworth
28 Apr 2010, 23:01
This board needs ant555 back!

Agreed. At least Ant would have the 2nd or 3rd post in this thread, tell everyone what was going on and not to lose their heads.

Longy413
28 Apr 2010, 23:07
There are two parts to this -

1) Is it not normal for the coach to update the board a third of the way through the season? That would make perfect sense to me and in fact, as a member who voted that board into power, I'd expect no less.

Normal practice.

2) The names listed, grain of salt. If true, both Robson and Evans are better operators than that.

I do have one thought on the coaching panel though. I don't think Knights has enough confidence in his own coaching career at this stage to surround himself with ex-Essendon people or profile assistant coaches.

table tennis
28 Apr 2010, 23:37
Agreed. At least Ant would have the 2nd or 3rd post in this thread, tell everyone what was going on and not to lose their heads.

that and his piece on BB was brilliant.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 08:38
There are two parts to this -

1) Is it not normal for the coach to update the board a third of the way through the season? That would make perfect sense to me and in fact, as a member who voted that board into power, I'd expect no less.

Normal practice.

2) The names listed, grain of salt. If true, both Robson and Evans are better operators than that.

I do have one thought on the coaching panel though. I don't think Knights has enough confidence in his own coaching career at this stage to surround himself with ex-Essendon people or profile assistant coaches.
Fogdog - and I know some of you on here have a problem with him - doesn't normally post everything that comes across his desk. Maybe 20%. He'd be fairly confident in his sources to put this on the main board. He's also saying all the names listed have get-out clauses for 2011, and Knights may not meet his performance targets (thus making his 2011-12 contract an option for the board, not a binding agreement)

stander
29 Apr 2010, 09:01

You need to elaborate; MK has one at the moment who is ex EFC and a profile assistant, and the way he's going with the defensive aspects, no wonder Knights is lacking some confidence. Throw in Camporeale, dubious midfield coach if you ask me, and some of the liuetenants aren't stacking up.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 09:11
wholly agree stander, but I think Longy's point stands. I don't think Knights would want to work with Hird or Laidley as an assistant. And I think he might need a sharper mind in there to tighten the ship on game-day.

Daytripper
29 Apr 2010, 10:30
Williams is contracted until the end of 2011.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 12:05
Williams is contracted until the end of 2011.
didn't read it all, did you?
Bout half way down.

Ben the Gooner
29 Apr 2010, 12:19
I like Knights, and I still think we're on the right track long term.

But this thread has me more than a little excited.

Bomber-Blitz
29 Apr 2010, 12:38
i'd very much doubt hird will ever coach EFC, id reckon he'd be more into maybe a CEO or President role (nothing to prove this theory, but hes always seemed pretty smart and enjoys the business side of things). Lloyd would have massive coaching aspirations. Listening to Lloyd and Lucas in the media over the last few months, id say they have great footy minds and could be great match-day coaches, something knights is not.

But why do us essendon fans only want essendon boys coaching. there would be plenty of ex-players with good footy brains from other clubs. ideas anyone?? cos im not sold on recycling choko or laidley!

centurion
29 Apr 2010, 12:46
Wouldn't be surprised if it was half true. How long is the board and the fans willing to take mediocre performances?

Not for much longer i can assure you of that. We're too big of a club.

Valve Bounce
29 Apr 2010, 12:59

Neither had that young fellow at Brisbane Lions (can't remember his name) , but he seems to be doing quite well, isn't he?

stander
29 Apr 2010, 13:04
This little bit has me intrigued;

Quote:
It has been awhile since I have posted any rumours or gossip in the hangar, for multiple reasons, but tonight do so, not to put my name in headlights, but to gauge the bomberblitz community on what could be a massive massive massive move.

Why, when relaying a rumour, does the courier need to; "guage the bomberblitz community" ?

Daytripper
29 Apr 2010, 13:07
didn't read it all, did you?
Bout half way down.

I read it all.

It doesn't make sense. What coach has a get out clause to leave before a contract expires other than that of a family related matter ?

Its not called a 'contract' without a reason.

You can't just go and break them whenever you want without there being some price to pay.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 13:08

Burns is one of WCE's 17 midfield coaches. Got the job when Voss signed @Brisbane IIRC.
Was Lloyd doing some AIS U17 stuff? Was in seth efrikawww recently... seems to be more about fast-tracking coaches, than the kids themselves recently.

stugots
29 Apr 2010, 13:34
would consider lobbing off the left nut to get Choco down to Windy Hill in the off season

& Hirdy:eek:? me missus wants more kids but me, who needs em;)

while not inclined to read much into internet rumors, at least the quoted op makes sensible reading - the board would be derelict in their duty if not making plans for a worst case scenario.

gO_bOmBeRz
29 Apr 2010, 14:14
THE BEST THREAD EVER !!!! :D

im getting really excited ;)

If any of this is real, there should be something said by hutchy on the footy show tonight.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 14:24
I read it all.

It doesn't make sense. What coach has a get out clause to leave before a contract expires other than that of a family related matter ?

Its not called a 'contract' without a reason.

You can't just go and break them whenever you want without there being some price to pay.
Most assistants have a clause to leave if they get a head coach job. Not sure what sort of contract Burns and Wellman are on; but I suspect a lot of assistant's contracts are year-to-year jobbies.
Quite possibly the club's just flagging the intention that they are quite happy to pay out any release clauses.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 14:25

If any of this is real, there should be something said by hutchy on the footy show tonight.
I'd trust foggy over Hutchy personally.

gO_bOmBeRz
29 Apr 2010, 14:28
How long do you guys think it'll take to be in the papers ?

Shane Hird
29 Apr 2010, 14:29

And if Hutchie says it's true (real), then it must be hey?:rolleyes:

No way Hird will ever coach EFC. I'd bet my left testi on it.

gO_bOmBeRz
29 Apr 2010, 14:39
And if Hutchie says it's true (real), then it must be hey?:rolleyes:

haha i know you cant trust what hutchy says, but seriously you wouldn't think news like this would be leaked so easily and so early in the season, and be posted on a public forum :S

Lance Uppercut
29 Apr 2010, 14:40

jesus man, them's some high stakes. What on earth gives you that kind of confidence in your position?

I used to think he wouldn't. Over the last 6 months I've become less sure.

I don't believe this rumour just yet, but I actually think Hird will coach one day now. First he took some time out of footy, and yes he has some outside interests. But Hird is a smart guy, he knows that you only live once, and I reckon he'd love to take on your Voss' and Buckley's again

Daytripper
29 Apr 2010, 14:45
Most assistants have a clause to leave if they get a head coach job. Not sure what sort of contract Burns and Wellman are on; but I suspect a lot of assistant's contracts are year-to-year jobbies.
Quite possibly the club's just flagging the intention that they are quite happy to pay out any release clauses.

You are correct but I was talking about Mark Williams.

Head coaches don't break contracts to coach at another rival club.
Will not happen.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2010, 14:52
I dunno, honestly.
Foggie's going with it. I know who his source is, but necessarily not their motives. It's also been allegedly corroborated, 2nd hand from a board member, by another Blitz poster. So it's at least a "solid rumour".

Choc was fairly peeved they cut into his contract so bad. They wouldn't have been entirely unhappy if he walked, and perhaps there were some additional clauses put in there.

stugots
29 Apr 2010, 15:03
Choc was fairly peeved they cut into his contract so bad. They wouldn't have been entirely unhappy if he walked, and perhaps there were some additional clauses put in there.

exactly.

got shafted on choice of captain & the new contract, likely he would have had some 'benefits' of his own included as compensation & its not unthinkable that one of those would be the option to leave early if a better senior role was offered.

yaco55
30 Apr 2010, 00:05
I believe that if this is such exciting news - It should never have been released.

It would be exciting if it happened at the end of the year - Without there being any leaks.

Once the media runs with this story - You will probably find some of the ' Dream Team' get cold feet.

And it will lead to a prolonged period of destabilisation.

Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Apr 2010, 06:47
I believe that if this is such exciting news - It should never have been released.

It would be exciting if it happened at the end of the year - Without there being any leaks.

Once the media runs with this story - You will probably find some of the ' Dream Team' get cold feet.

And it will lead to a prolonged period of destabilisation.

Loose lips sink ships.

Longy413
30 Apr 2010, 08:26
You need to elaborate; MK has one at the moment who is ex EFC and a profile assistant, and the way he's going with the defensive aspects, no wonder Knights is lacking some confidence. Throw in Camporeale, dubious midfield coach if you ask me, and some of the liuetenants aren't stacking up.

G'OD has no real aspirations to take a senior job, whilst you wouldn't really consider Campo as an Essendon person.

There are two Essendon people on the coaching panel, G'OD and Simon Madden. We're not going to see either putting their hands up for a senior job.

I just don't think Knights has the confidence in the security of his own position to allow someone like those mentioned, except possibly Wellman, to join the coaching panel.

Under Knights tenure, at least in the short term, I don't think we'll see any of the real strong Essendon characters with full time coaching positions at the club.

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 11:35

Yea, in between flogging off about how much he knows about footy and how involved he is with everything that happens everywhere...

I'm sure we would all listen to him when he told us what was going on and not to loose our heads.

For what its worth, god help us if we've got a guy down there in the inner sanctum who then jumps on public internet forums and spills the beans all over the place...

Furthermore, i hardly see it as surprising that Knights would be asked to front the board regardless of where the season was at. I find the whole list of names mentioned to be an utter load of crap.

Valve Bounce
30 Apr 2010, 11:52

I don't believe this rumour just yet, but I actually think Hird will coach one day now. First he took some time out of footy, and yes he has some outside interests. But Hird is a smart guy, he knows that you only live once, and I reckon he'd love to take on your Voss' and Buckley's again

You're right!! I agree that the thought of coaching against his old on field rivals would be too great a temptation to miss out. Jimmy learnt a helluva lot when playing under Sheeds - he, of all people, knows what made a player really, really mad. Remember the time he kicked that goal then turned to gesticulate at Sheeds - bloody priceless. :p

Let's face it - we won't make the finals this year. The Board will have to move on Knights unless some sort of footballing miracles happen.

Lance Uppercut
30 Apr 2010, 12:16
You're right!! I agree that the thought of coaching against his old on field rivals would be too great a temptation to miss out. Jimmy learnt a helluva lot when playing under Sheeds - he, of all people, knows what made a player really, really mad. Remember the time he kicked that goal then turned to gesticulate at Sheeds - bloody priceless. :p

Let's face it - we won't make the finals this year. The Board will have to move on Knights unless some sort of footballing miracles happen.

Hird is too smart a guy not to IMO. He knows that, whatever happens with a coaching career, life goes on. He won't be a career coach, he'll just coach Essendon a la Roos. Do a 5 year stint, & then move back into his business career.

He knows that he can live the dream if he wants, and then continue on with his life afterwards

The Great Barry Besanko
30 Apr 2010, 13:43
sounds all like a croc of shit. Papers not really saying much or stating that Evans didn't say much at all, if taken in context.

Why are people getting excited FFS, are you hoping we have a crap season?

rusty14
30 Apr 2010, 14:14
sounds all like a croc of shit. Papers not really saying much or stating that Evans didn't say much at all, if taken in context.

Why are people getting excited FFS, are you hoping we have a crap season?

Short term Pain = Long term Gain IMO

so hope this rumour is true!

The Great Barry Besanko
30 Apr 2010, 14:21

Did you bag him last year when against all odds we made the 8 ??

stander
30 Apr 2010, 14:23
G'OD has no real aspirations to take a senior job, whilst you wouldn't really consider Campo as an Essendon person.

O'Donnell is sitting back in the comfort zone, two years under Sheedy, and now three under MK, very avearge results. Time to fast track his pursuit of administrative glory.

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 15:22
O'Donnell is sitting back in the comfort zone, two years under Sheedy, and now three under MK, very avearge results. Time to fast track his pursuit of administrative glory.

I get it... You are Matthew Knights.

How else would you explain the inference that he's in some way being hardly done by his assistant coaches in O'Donnell and Campo???

News flash Einstein.

Knights is the coach. He appointed his assistant coaches, you'd hope on the basis that they were the best for the job. To infer that he's being let down by them:

a) is just a blatant blame shift.
b) can only be based on assumption and hope because it couldn't be Knights fault.
c) is a disgrace that he's persisted with them for 3 years if they're so bad
d) is irrelevant because the buck stops with the senior coach when assessing how the coaching panel is going.

Their will always be an excuse though. You are an expert in finding them...

Gooooooo Knights.

DaSawx
30 Apr 2010, 17:46

Because you know Choco or whoever takes over is 100%, un-conditionally going to be successfull?

Recruiting an actual midfield, especially someone to help Jobe in clearances is more important.

For **** sake, get behind the coach and the team. I'm as sick as anyone being shit, but we can start moving back up THIS WEEK.

Lance Uppercut
30 Apr 2010, 18:18
Because you know Choco or whoever takes over is 100%, un-conditionally going to be successfull?

Recruiting an actual midfield, especially someone to help Jobe in clearances is more important.

For **** sake, get behind the coach and the team. I'm as sick as anyone being shit, but we can start moving back up THIS WEEK.

:thumbsu:

HUNDREDS of rep

stander
30 Apr 2010, 19:50
I get it... You are Matthew Knights.

How else would you explain the inference that he's in some way being hardly done by his assistant coaches in O'Donnell and Campo???

News flash Einstein.

Knights is the coach. He appointed his assistant coaches, you'd hope on the basis that they were the best for the job. To infer that he's being let down by them:

a) is just a blatant blame shift.
b) can only be based on assumption and hope because it couldn't be Knights fault.
c) is a disgrace that he's persisted with them for 3 years if they're so bad
d) is irrelevant because the buck stops with the senior coach when assessing how the coaching panel is going.

Their will always be an excuse though. You are an expert in finding them...

Gooooooo Knights.

I get it, in your world down at Frankston, the head coach is precluded from removing non peforming assistants. Go and find someone to check the history books for you; it happens.

Valve Bounce
30 Apr 2010, 19:55

You have no idea how much I wish you were correct and everyone else here is wrong. I would even go to Fr Bob's church in South Melbourne and go on my knees and than God if we made the finals this year; because to make the finals, there would have to be a tectonic shift in the way the Bombers play and they will have to win nearly every game from now on. I would be the happiest guy in Port Melbourne if that happened.

The Dustbin
30 Apr 2010, 20:11
I like Knights for what he has done off field... On field, it is fair to say he has struggled at times (excluding Carlton).
Calling H2F...

Longy413
30 Apr 2010, 21:19

I thought he tried and your mate PJ knocked him back.

OzBomber
30 Apr 2010, 21:39
Would be great if we could get Chocco. Premiership coach, not too old. Would be perfect. We'll see how everything pans out.

stander
30 Apr 2010, 21:57
I thought he tried and your mate PJ knocked him back.

He didn't make the cut at CBA either, PJ was on the money again. Evans may take a punt.

Longy413
30 Apr 2010, 22:06
He didn't make the cut at CBA either

Probably focusing too much of his time on being a very good leader at EFC.

PJ was on the money again.

So he hired someone who resembles a queer version of Humphrey instead?
Masterstroke.

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 22:12
I get it, in your world down at Frankston, the head coach is precluded from removing non peforming assistants. Go and find someone to check the history books for you; it happens.

Hillarious...

You actually blame the assistant coaches for the poor coaching performance....

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

Coach appoints assistant coach's....

Assistant coach's aren't going well (according to you)

Coach doesn't have the ability to over rule / correct the poor decision making by the assistant coaches (clearly this must be the case as it's obviously O'donnell and Campo that make all the wrong decisions. Nights wouldn't be that silly).

Coach doesn't have the ability / courage to sack the poor performing assistant coaches. A coaches duty if this were the case.

Coach gets to hide behind poor performing assistants. Ahh now i'm getting it.

Just a little substance would be nice.

stander
30 Apr 2010, 22:24
Hillarious...

You actually blame the assistant coaches for the poor coaching performance....

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

Coach appoints assistant coach's....

Assistant coach's aren't going well (according to you)

Coach doesn't have the ability to over rule / correct the poor decision making by the assistant coaches (clearly this must be the case as it's obviously O'donnell and Campo that make all the wrong decisions. Nights wouldn't be that silly).

Coach doesn't have the ability / courage to sack the poor performing assistant coaches. A coaches duty if this were the case.

Coach gets to hide behind poor performing assistants. Ahh now i'm getting it.

Just a little substance would be nice.

No one's hiding, just not performing to the standard required. If Knights goes on, I'm sure he'll assess himself and his liuetenants critically.

Shane Hird
30 Apr 2010, 22:34
jesus man, them's some high stakes. What on earth gives you that kind of confidence in your position?

I just can't see him as an AFL coach.

Too 'nice' a bloke.

Family man...

But who knows..

stander
30 Apr 2010, 22:36
Probably focusing too much of his time on being a very good leader at EFC.

So he hired someone who resembles a queer version of Humphrey instead?
Masterstroke.

He was a very good leader, not much of a bean counter, unlike myself.

I thought he was going OK.

WeAreEssendon
30 Apr 2010, 22:44
It looks like most people are stuck between two choices because lets be honest finals are a no go for 2010.

Do we show some fight and eek out 8 wins somehow?

Or do we capitulate and get 4-5 wins.

The 8 win scenario might save his bacon but then we'll miss out on a pick in the top 10 and another really good chance to fix the hole in the midfield.

If we capitulate then we get our prized pick, a new coach, a fresh start and some hope for 2011.

I'm dead against losing anytime, anywhere but it's very very tempting to look at option 2 as the better long term solution.

bombersno1
30 Apr 2010, 23:17
Take option 2 and run. Shrt term pain for long term gain. We need a tougher coach.

rines
1 May 2010, 00:23
Thats a horrible path to go down.

There is a 3rd option:
Do a "sydney"

Sack Knights now. Put Hird/Lloyd whoever in as a caretaker..

start winning some games of footy, fairy tale style..

Get this club back to the top!!

Valve Bounce
1 May 2010, 10:02
Or do we capitulate and get 4-5 wins.

At this juncture, 4-5 wins is sounding good. :(

DaSawx
1 May 2010, 11:23
**** me, now we've turned into a tanking club, this is embarrasing :(

Duckworth
1 May 2010, 11:42

I agree. If you want to go down that path go support Carlton!

Skeeta Olly
1 May 2010, 11:50

This.

Much better conversation on BB about it.

This thread is pathetic, people wanting to lose games and we're only 6 games into the season.

Valve Bounce
1 May 2010, 12:34
This.

Much better conversation on BB about it.

This thread is pathetic, people wanting to lose games and we're only 6 games into the season.

What is BB?:confused:

The Dustbin
1 May 2010, 16:08
What is BB?:confused:

Bomber Blitz

Pevers-Legend
1 May 2010, 16:39

No posters who are emotional, pessemistic and those with a chip on their shoulder have gone down the tanking path.

The list is not terrible. It needs improvement, but the core of the squad is their due to our drafting strategy.

We need to start finding out who should go at seasons end. Yes it is early, but the way to assess a players worth is when the season is on the line, not meaningless matches when you can't make finals.

Pevers-Legend
1 May 2010, 16:45

There is a 3rd option:
Do a "sydney"

Yes we can dream Hird will take over and win the flag. Geez how many times were we hoping for the fairy tale finish to our clubs greats.

Ain't gunna happen.

The Dustbin
2 May 2010, 12:35
David Evans coming up on the TFS, after the add break...

TheDon35
2 May 2010, 13:42
No one's hiding, just not performing to the standard required. If Knights goes on, I'm sure he'll assess himself and his liuetenants critically.

I think the point of the thread is that it's not up to Knights to assess himself.

Ultimately he is employed by the club to perform a roll. If the powers that be decide that he's not doing it properly and the club requires a different direction, THEY make the decision to move him on.

And yes, by making the inference that knights has been let down by poor assistant coach's, you give Knights a place to hide. You also create one of the more presumptuose, rediculous and hipocritical arguements i've heard. If the assistants are no good, Knights has to wear that as a mistake on his part fo apponting them in the first place, let alone have them hang around for 3 years...

Rediculous.

lethal73
3 May 2010, 15:51

There is a 3rd option:
Do a "sydney"

Well said, sounds to easy but it would work as it has done in the past :thumbsu:

Slattery_20
3 May 2010, 15:53
Well said, sounds to easy but it would work as it has done in the past :thumbsu:
For a start, Roos was already an assistant (and a pretty highly rated one at that) IIRC.

lethal73
3 May 2010, 15:59
For a start, Roos was already an assistant (and a pretty highly rated one at that) IIRC.

True, but it would be worth a go with Hird. All I know is that we need some stability at the top so the next choice needs to be a goodin. Hird or Chocco would be good...

Valve Bounce
3 May 2010, 22:47
True, but it would be worth a go with Hird. All I know is that we need some stability at the top so the next choice needs to be a goodin. Hird or Chocco would be good...

...................or Bomber!

Slattery_20
30 Aug 2010, 11:49
...bumped like ya mum.

Mr Mojo Risin
30 Aug 2010, 13:06
I was thinking about this thread the other day. Interesting to see that a large part of it if not all is falling into place.

Time will tell I guess.

I would be pretty happy if it did.

Redb#
30 Aug 2010, 13:16
The Hird part still looks unlikely given he has put up a "do not disturb" sign. it will take some serious negotiation to get Hird on board IMO.

Slattery_20
30 Aug 2010, 13:29
The Hird part we know was correct, happened about 2 weeks back.