FF: Davey Hurley Lonergan
R: Ryder Welsh Winderlich
INT: Hille Lovett-Murray Dempsey Zaharakis

SirJimi05
29 Apr 2010, 16:40
prissa in before Basha! LMAO.

whats_at_stake
29 Apr 2010, 16:41
Annoyed Neagle is not in. Also think one of the two ruckman should have been dropped for Laycock.

Houli should have been in before Lonergan or Prismall. Not happy with that.

Kong
29 Apr 2010, 16:43
Howlett before Lonergan, thanks.

Hardingham, TSlatts before Aktinson, thanks.

AS9
29 Apr 2010, 16:44
Oh my LOL!

At least Knights' finally dropped Melksham and Colyer.

But the inclusion of Atkinson is laughable. At least adii will be happy.

rainman06
29 Apr 2010, 16:44
Im glad guys like Prismall and Lonergan are in before Houli. He doesnt deserve it.

Reasonably happy with the team - no point saying much until after Saturday night. They obviously have a fresh idea of how we are going to win the game with that team, lets see if this one works.:thumbsu:

*4 teenagers out....heres hoping the side plays like experienced footballers.

KaaN10
29 Apr 2010, 16:45
Prismall? Bullshit.

Deeksy
I think when Hurley came in, Stanton went out, so perhaps they're redressing the balance this week, which is why there's no one to replace Pears.

Like Prismall back in, though am surprised.

AS9
Looks like Fletch will be playing on one of Franklin or Roughead. Will be interesting to see how he copes.

beev
29 Apr 2010, 16:46
hmmmm...

Disappointed that Neagle isn't recalled.

Disappointed that Lonergan is preferred to Howlett.

Disappointed that Atkinson is playing.

Disappointed that no 'senior' player(s) got dropped after the Anzac day debacle.

facemaker
Colyer and Melksham out:eek:!!! You have got be kidding me. They are our future. Have preformed well since debuting and in a crucial game for the club they get dropped. FFS! Davey, meh he wont be in our next premiership side and either will Atkinson. How are the players supposed to get any confidence when Knights chops and changes this side like his Supercoach side. Knights started out all about the future and the next premiership side now he is teetering on the line of the future and naming a team to keep his job.

KaaN10
I don't mind most of the ins and outs but Prismall before Houli and Lonergan before Howlett is bullshit.

gO_bOmBeRz
29 Apr 2010, 16:47
PRISMALL instead of Bachar ?
LONERGAN instead of Bachar ?
ATKINSON instead of Bachar ?
DAVEY instead of Bachar ?

For days we've heard of how bad Prismall has been playing in the 2's and he gets called up instead of a player who got B.O.G.

How in the hell did Atkinson get selected ?

Davey hasn't done jack-shit in 2 years but he is still being picked based on "talent" or the hope of him returning to his good form

For the love of god ! our kicking has been ****ing appalling and Bachar has a great kick and he doesn't come into the side.

■ 15th for kicking efficiency (61.1%) Last is Richmond (60.3%)

■ 14th for effective long kicks (37.8 per game)

■ 13th for effective short kicks (77.4 per game)

■ 1st for ineffective kicks (60 per game)

FFS play him !!!!

He will leave guranteed at the end of the year when his contract expires, to a club that will use his talent to its very best.

Knights has lost the plot, No Howlett ? No Neagle ?

After losing Pears it would have been good to bring in a KPP who can play up forward which would allow Hurley to push back.

bomberstomake8
29 Apr 2010, 16:47
Oh my LOL!

At least Knights' finally dropped Melksham and Colyer.

But the inclusion of Atkinson is laughable. At least adii will be happy.

would have liked to see neagle houli or howlett before lonergan atkinson or prismall to be honest. Would have meant that vfl form actually meant something coming into the game. Neagle inclusion probably would have been structurally better as well, seeings we lost a KPP we should probably gain one but im guessing knights has fletcher in mind to take either roughhead or buddy.

Atkinson on Cyril?

KaaN10
29 Apr 2010, 16:49
Forget Houli coming in, he isn't even an emergancy!!

facemaker
29 Apr 2010, 16:54
For the love of god ! our kicking has been ****ing appalling and Bachar has a great kick and he doesn't come into the side.

Surely you jest. That is why he doesn't get a game. He can find the footy but does nothing with it.

Jonesy10
29 Apr 2010, 16:54
Im glad guys like Prismall and Lonergan are in before Houli. He doesnt deserve it.

Wait. Houli plays a ripper game for Bendigo whereas Prismall has played 3 games for them and still hasn't produced a great performance, yet you're saying Houli doesn't deserve it? I'm not saying Houli should or shouldn't get selected, but your reasoning is weird...

As beev said, I would have thought at least one senior player would have got a wake up call, but apparently they all played fine :rolleyes:

KaaN10
29 Apr 2010, 16:57
He can find the footy but does nothing with it.

What's he meant to do in the backline? Put him on the wing ffs.

The House
29 Apr 2010, 16:57
would have liked to see neagle houli or howlett before lonergan atkinson or prismall to be honest. Would have meant that vfl form actually meant something coming into the game. Neagle inclusion probably would have been structurally better as well, seeings we lost a KPP we should probably gain one but im guessing knights has fletcher in mind to take either roughhead or buddy.

Atkinson on Cyril?

Davey on Cyril, Dempsey up forward....i wanna see it!

If it doesn't work, put Dempsey or spike back down there...but give it a crack.:cool:

Lance Uppercut
29 Apr 2010, 16:59
Jesus H Christ, how can Neagle not be in??!!

facemaker
29 Apr 2010, 17:01
What's he meant to do in the backline? Put him on the wing ffs.

Umm, kick effectively to a team mate instead of umm lets see... the oppositon or no one. Hello McFly anyone home.

IM_REAL
29 Apr 2010, 17:02
Surely you jest. That is why he doesn't get a game. He can find the footy but does nothing with itThats the game plan isnt it? Name me one backmen or essendon player playing anyhwere that finds the footy and does SOMETHING with it.So all Bachar is doing is following the coaches game plan. Get the ball and handball it to anyone.

centurion
29 Apr 2010, 17:06
Jesus H Christ, how can Neagle not be in??!!

Same reaction. Only reason i can think of is that Knights is making the kid wait.

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
29 Apr 2010, 17:08
PRISMALL instead of Bachar ?
LONERGAN instead of Bachar ?
ATKINSON instead of Bachar ?
DAVEY instead of Bachar ?

For days we've heard of how bad Prismall has been playing in the 2's and he gets called up instead of a player who got B.O.G.

How in the hell did Atkinson get selected ?

Davey hasn't done jack-shit in 2 years but he is still being picked based on "talent" or the hope of him returning to his good form

■ 15th for kicking efficiency (61.1%) Last is Richmond (60.3%)

■ 14th for effective long kicks (37.8 per game)

■ 13th for effective short kicks (77.4 per game)

■ 1st for ineffective kicks (60 per game)

FFS play him !!!!

He will leave guranteed at the end of the year when his contract expires, to a club that will use his talent to its very best.

Knights has lost the plot, No Howlett ? No Neagle ?

After losing Pears it would have been good to bring in a KPP who can play up forward which would allow Hurley to push back. bring in that rumored coaching panel to replace knights

russea
29 Apr 2010, 17:11
Hmm not sure wats going through knightas head

Lonergan>Howlett surely not
Davey>Colyer sorry again surely not both a shit kicks but cloyer is tough and has the confidence davey doesnt
Prizz>Melksham hmm mabye but prizz has done nothing in the twos he better step up this week
And No talls?
Would of had to thought atleast Neagle,Laycock or even Daniher would have to come in Neagle and Laycock to play forward in hurleys absence and Daniher to play back with Hooker and forward??

silk
29 Apr 2010, 17:12
Same reaction. Only reason i can think of is that Knights is making the kid wait.

X3.

I can kinda understand the selection of atkinson as we looked slow out of the backline and demspey looked good up forward. Atko isn't the most talented football, but at least he has some hunger.

I am very dissapointed that none of Winders, Dyson, Welsh, Mcveigh were droped.

hird+lloyd=legends
29 Apr 2010, 17:13
WHAT!!!!! NO NEAGLE!?!?!?!

what is knighta doing!

rainman06
29 Apr 2010, 17:14
Wait. Houli plays a ripper game for Bendigo whereas Prismall has played 3 games for them and still hasn't produced a great performance, yet you're saying Houli doesn't deserve it? I'm not saying Houli should or shouldn't get selected, but your reasoning is weird...

As beev said, I would have thought at least one senior player would have got a wake up call, but apparently they all played fine :rolleyes:

Some players arent the type of guys who get best on's in the VFL. The best in the VFL should not be a ranking system as to who comes back into the Essendon side.

What i mean by ''doesnt deserve it'' is that his decision making and his skills are not up to AFL standard. He does not deserve to be playing for Essendon. Prismall has had his problems with this area too but he is quite simply a better version of Houli at the moment. As for Lonergan, they are not playing for the same spot or anything close to the same spot so I wouldnt compare.

I dont know how Houli became such a favourite son by constantly going back into trouble, constantly missing targets and constantly stagnating our play.

marcuz
29 Apr 2010, 17:20
Apart from Gumby at CHF nothing much about that selected side excites me. A very conservative selection meeting this week.

silk
29 Apr 2010, 17:22
Hmm not sure wats going through knightas head

Lonergan>Howlett surely not Howlet is coming off an injury, but I too am surprised lonergan is in, specially with welsh, watson, hocking, prissmall also in the team.

Davey>Colyer sorry again surely not both a shit kicks but cloyer is tough and has the confidence davey doesnt Colyer can't stick a tackle at afl level, and looked to be batting well above his wait last week, it is a reasonable decision imo, Davey has performed well at vfl from all accounts for 3 weeks in a row. Colyer has had a taste, now back to vfl to improve his skills, he will be back I'm sure.

Prizz>Melksham hmm mabye but prizz has done nothing in the twos he better step up this week Not sure either should be in the team, but surely if anyone was to be replaces by prizz is would have been welsh or mcveigh.

And No talls?

Replies in bold

Daniher is injured, but surely neagle should have come in, yet he isn't even an emg.

What was the point of keeping laycock on the list too when you have two ruckmen well and truly out of form, and yet you still wont bring him in. Hawthorn have bad ruck stocks, woudl have given him a game to come in a dominate and gain early confidence.

With the decision to not bring in Neagle it makes it more baffling how either laycock or belly weren't selected.

I hate to be so negative, but I am expecting the hawks to run us off our feet this game.

Pocket_Pears
29 Apr 2010, 17:25
How the hell are Welsh, Slattery and Winderlich still in the side? They don't deserve to be there!!

Why drop Melksham and Colyer? At least they are having a crack unlike those three I mentioned.

No Houli? No Howlett? No Neagle?

Prismall? Lonergan? Atkinson? Davey? What the hell? Why do I feel like I am re-living 2006? Knights is obviously picking his favourites rather than those that deserve it. He's going to leave our list in the exact same state that Sheedy left it in - all the experienced plodders playing out their careers and providing nothing at the expense of our younger brigade who are rotting away in the 2nds!!

DaSawx
29 Apr 2010, 17:28
Please Mr. Atkinson, prove me wrong, was looking forward to seeing Tyson.

Why isn't Howlett playing, Lonergan doesn't do much for me as well.

Happy to see Prissa and Davey back.

Also not sure why Jay isn't playing, our backline looks quite suspect, thought we'd see Hur;;s back there.

HFF_07
29 Apr 2010, 17:33
T.Slattery anyone?

Forget Neagle who has been solid in the past few weeks, forget Bachar who has been solid in the past few weeks.

How can this kid who has been simply been "thumping on the door to be selected" still not be selected, even after we lose another defender?

Oh dear, Knights has lost the plot.

We are a local footy club in the big time, be a mate and you get a game in the senior team.

Howlett 4th best for Bendigo last week.

Neagle 3nd best for Bendigo last week.

T.Slattery best in all three games for Bendigo this season.

Knights will struggle to make it through his contract, this one I am calling early, but oh dear, he has well and truly lost the plot..

Frothies Mcveigh
29 Apr 2010, 17:44
hmmmm...

Disappointed that Neagle isn't recalled.

Disappointed that Lonergan is preferred to Howlett.

Disappointed that Atkinson is playing.

Disappointed that no 'senior' player(s) got dropped after the Anzac day debacle.

This. T Slatts >>> Atkinson.

LeeARM
29 Apr 2010, 17:49
I have a good feeling about this team. It reminds me of the team we won tough games with last year. You'd think this would be a "last chance" for some players though.

HFF_07
29 Apr 2010, 17:51
I have a good feeling about this team. It reminds me of the team we won tough games with last year. You'd think this would be a "last chance" for some players though.

Rebuilding already??

:cool:

stugots
29 Apr 2010, 17:55

yeh, waiting for a coach that might know how to play him

& if going to drop Melksham and/or Colyer (which is understandable) then surly must bring in Howlett?

luckily hawks are blowing as much as us...or are they...soon find out

LeeARM
29 Apr 2010, 17:55
Rebuilding already??

:cool:

You're going to have to be more specific than that.

TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:01
What if Hooker or Fletcher is having trouble with Roughead or Franklin?
Wonder what the thinking is there.

Kong
29 Apr 2010, 18:03
Knights will struggle to make it through his contract, this one I am calling early, but oh dear, he has well and truly lost the plot..We need to remember that there are 5(?) other guys selecting that team with Knights every week.

Having said that, it's easy to blame the face of the coaching staff, and I'm certainly downright pissed off at this week's selections.

For over two years now I've been surprised at a lot of team selections, but have played the "give him (Knights) the benefit of the doubt, he knows what he's doing" card. There were a lot of poor selections, such as the North game last year and then later in the year with a lot of underdone midfield plodders coming in at once, but I "gave it time". Third year, third strike.

If he/they haven't learnt by now, they never will. Pull your fingers out, guys. The fact that a bunch of keyboard warriors can point out your mistakes (and they are exactly that) shows you just how poorly you're doing your job.

If only that rumour were true.

Skeeta Olly
29 Apr 2010, 18:09
What if Hooker or Fletcher is having trouble with Roughead or Franklin?
Wonder what the thinking is there.

His Kevin Sheedy Move.

Hooker to full forward.

TheDon35
29 Apr 2010, 18:11
Well lets see...

The selection is hardly suprising. A last gasp effort to salvage their season. A few poor to average senior blokes come in for a group of promising youngsters. Obviously more certain of what they are going to get with the experienced Lonergan, Davey, Atkinson and Prismall.

And if they get them the win to salvage the season then that's achieved its purpose.

Massive shame the panel didn't have the courage to make an example of the consistent poor performances of our senior blokes as it sends a horrible message to the young blokes.

I guess a case where the short term is more important.

A dissappointing selection regardless of the result in my view.

Kong
29 Apr 2010, 18:16
His Kevin Sheedy Move.

Hooker to full forward.Yep.Well lets see...

The selection is hardly suprising. A last gasp effort to salvage their season. A few poor to average senior blokes come in for a group of promising youngsters. Obviously more certain of what they are going to get with the experienced Lonergan, Davey, Atkinson and Prismall.

And if they get them the win to salvage the season then that's achieved its purpose.

Massive shame the panel didn't have the courage to make an example of the consistent poor performances of our senior blokes as it sends a horrible message to the young blokes.

I guess a case where the short term is more important.

A dissappointing selection regardless of the result in my view.Now that's a Sheedy-move! :p

TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:22
His Kevin Sheedy Move.

Hooker to full forward.

I dont mind hooker at full forward. But who takes his place down back?
We are going in short against one of the most potent tall duos in the comp.

Tambu
29 Apr 2010, 18:23
Could be curtains for Neagle and Houli at EFC.

With Prismall and Davey getting a game along with McVeigh, Welsh, Winderlich and Dyson instead of Myers, Melksham, Colyer, Houli and Howlett (if fit) we'd better bloody win this week.

If we're gonna get beaten, I'd rather see our youngsters getting more experience at AFL level. Let them play together as much as possible while we're crap so they can at least develop together, in time allowing them to play good consistent footy!

I guess the club know what they're doing though.... I hope... :footy:

George Washington
29 Apr 2010, 18:23
I dont mind hooker at full forward. But who takes his place down back?
We are going in short against one of the most potent tall duos in the comp.

Your namesake?

Kong
29 Apr 2010, 18:26
I dont mind hooker at full forward. But who takes his place down back?:confused:

Hurley.

FB/CHB: Fletcher/Hooker
CHF/FF: Gumby/Hurley

Rotate Hooker and Hurley.

Personally, although I'm gutted Neagle isn't playing - shouldn't have been dropped in the first place - I'm glad that it looks as though Hurley will be playing forward; Hawthorn have only gotten worse since Round 22, and Shoenmakers (who still isn't much chop) can only play on one of Hurley or Gumby.

Midfield will obviously need to be able to kick it within 10 metres of them, however.

Frothies Mcveigh
29 Apr 2010, 18:27
Whomb is spot on. Need open their eyes and pull their fingers out. If Welsh and Winders play like they have been they NEED to go back to Bendigo to ind some form.

Dkid
Arent we supposed to be a fast speedy team with quick ball movement. how do some of the older, ploddering senior players who have done crap all this season give us that.

TeamHurley
Your namesake?

Big ask for Hurley.

TheDon35
29 Apr 2010, 18:28
Yep.Now that's a Sheedy-move! :p

Very Sheedyesque. Particularly later day Sheedy

TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:30
This is about 15 changes in the last 3 weeks.
Knights (and cronies) Can just keep playing bingo until they get the team right.

TheDon35
29 Apr 2010, 18:31
Arent we supposed to be a fast speedy team with quick ball movement. how do some of the older, ploddering senior players who have done crap all this season give us that.

No that's our old game plan. The new one is to slow down. Check out the pace in the middle.

Welsh, Watson, Lonergan, Hocking, Prismall, Stanton, NLM.

Wow.

TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:34
No that's our old game plan. The new one is to slow down. Check out the pace in the middle.

Wow.

lol. Its phase 3 of the gameplan.

eth-dog
29 Apr 2010, 18:36

Welsh, Watson, Lonergan, Hocking, Prismall, Stanton, Winderlich, NLM.

Wow.
Winders is in there as well. but other than that, no-one's really that fast

reincarnated
29 Apr 2010, 18:42
So many others have said it before me...Knights and match committee must be playing "close your eyes and lets see who's name you can touch" game.

I just feel mad. :mad: It's school boy stuff.

He said in the interview before the Anzac day game that he needs to bring in as many senior experienced players as he can, so they can guide the rest of the team. He thinks by playing all these oldies and plodders he can save his job, even after what he saw happen vs Fremantle, West Coast and Collingwood.

They quite simply forgot that last year the players who won him all the games were our youngsters and not your Welsh, McVeigh, Hille, Lloyd, Lucas and co.

If they can't figure that out by now, they shouldn't be in the job.

We needed a lot of run and pace. Welsh, Hocking, Watson, Slattery. McVeigh, Prismall, Lonergan you are not going to get run out of these plodders. It's a disaster waiting to happen with Stanton and Winderlich also carrying injuries, and Remiers injured.

I don't care if we beat Hawthorn or not. If we beat them, then it's simply because they are crap. We don't have to put up with this sort of immature mistakes :(.

I'll have to read that Chairman's statement again...

George Washington
29 Apr 2010, 18:42
Big ask for Hurley.

Riewoldt wasn't?

GayHawk
29 Apr 2010, 18:58
Good luck this weekend guys!

Pocket_Pears
29 Apr 2010, 19:02
lol. Its phase 3 of the gameplan.

Why did we get rid of Peverill and JJ then? They'd fit right in with our current gameplan.

Ludwig van Bertstare
29 Apr 2010, 19:04
Hasn't Prismall played a couple shockers in the VFL?

Bombers36
29 Apr 2010, 19:05
Not only does the side picked concern me, its the way & the positions Kinights names the players in- I know they wont line up like that but atleast make it look like a footy side....The guys named on the bench all had a crack last week unlike many others yet guys like Davey, Prismal, Lonergan & Atkinson named as starting???... why do this? Welsh, Winders need to lift. But I love this club. Lets hope we can do OK against the Hawks and Gumby & Hurley run amok

Skeeta Olly
29 Apr 2010, 19:10
Hasn't Prismall played a couple shockers in the VFL?

Was the word 'shockers' used? I guess it's more important in analyzing the role he played at Bendigo and if he fulfill that role.

Ludwig van Bertstare
29 Apr 2010, 19:12
Was the word 'shockers' used? I guess it's more important in analyzing the role he played at Bendigo and if he fulfill that role.

Shockers probably isn't the correct word, but I did read he had a sook in his first game for them.

Bombers36
29 Apr 2010, 19:19
Now atleast this LOOKS like a side!

H.Slat Hurley Atkinson
NLM Hooker Fletch
Dyson McVeigh Winders
Monfires Gumby Dempsey
Zahar Ryder Davey

Hille Watson Stanton

INT: Hocking Welsh Lonergan Prismal

EMERG: Hardingham Howlett T.Slat

anf06
29 Apr 2010, 19:23
I'm happy with the changes.
Except for bringing in Atkinson for Coyler.
1 for 1 in terms of disposal. Fitting I suppose.

Suprised there is no Howlett. 'Apparantly' Stanton left training early today. Perhaps precautionary, but we shall see.

Go dons.

Crimsons
29 Apr 2010, 19:45
Like many I am disapointed in that side.
-Neagle should have replaced Pears.
-Houli or Howlett instead of Lonergan.
-Many underperforming players retaining their spots too.

rines
29 Apr 2010, 19:49
Final (hopefully) straw in Knights coffin.

Unbelievable and mystifying selections.

How does T Slattery miss out and atkinson get a run?

and on atkinson.. just what we need.. another fast, outside HBF who can't kick to a target to save himself. Ouch turnover city.

Don't mind Davey getting a run.. thought he looked good last 2 weeks and could provide some forward pressure (if the ball every makes it down that and hits the deck long enough)

Longergan over Houli is bewildering but even more so is that Welsh and co kept their jobs.

What the hell did Howlett do to M Knights? Egg his car or something?! Just can not believe this guy can't crack back into the side.

Don't mind Prismall getting a run cause I rate him BUT not at the expense of younger kids OR pace. Prismall is solid pace so he CAN NOT be played in the same midfield as Hocking, stanton and watson. Need to have a MIXTURE Mr Knights!!

What about Neagle? You move on a champion full forward (he is 3 years younger than barry and bradshaw) so this kid can get games and then you let him sit in the 2's. Now I don't know if Neagle can/will make it. I am not sure but ffs we won't know until we try and if you didn't plan on playing him then I'll take M Lloyd out of the square thanks!!!

Please please please let me be wrong.. otherwise it could be ugly!

Does this indicate that form in VFL means nothing HFF07? Cause Atkinson and Pris have hardly been ripping it up.. and yet get the call.. i am still in shock.

Knighta admits its our senior core letting us down but NOT ONE senior player has been dropped. Jaw dropping.. absolutely NO BALLS! Only 2 players he sees fit to drop are the two young ones in their 3rd game. Oh man.. come on you knights supporters.. give me the logic behind this..

How many games are we going to let this clown lose for us before we even run out?!

lets just hope Renouf injures himself in the 'warm up' again. Go bombers.. show some heart this week. Must win game!

Jonesy1987
29 Apr 2010, 19:54
Very disappointed with the changes. It actually reminds me a bit of Sheedy in his latter days, pushing for the win to deflate pressure, when he should be focusing on whats best for the long term.

I've been a Knights supporter for awhile, and I'm not giving up hope just yet, but its quite clear many of our senior players aren't up to scratch and past the age of natural improvement, yet he persists. Chances are we are going to lose many more games this year, look long term, play the kids, fans enjoy watching them despite the results.

Dkid
29 Apr 2010, 20:04

Wow.
so handball into trouble to slow players. man and i thought our old gameplan was good. put us down for 2010 premiership boys!

Knight Ryders
29 Apr 2010, 20:13
I think that Knights has poured it on some of the players who have been disappointing as a last chance this week. I think Colyer and Melksham have gone out for Lonergan and Prismall because they are expecting a physical match. My feeling is that heads will roll if they don't stand up this week.

mark1881
29 Apr 2010, 20:23
What I find staggering is the way Knights talks so matter of fact about certain senior players getting a game, i.e. Winderlich, Welsh.

In his press conference on Tuesday when asked about Winderlich's form and if he'd be dropped he cut the journalist down and his tone was to the affect, his playing and his spot is guaranteed. I think that's poor coaching on his part. Atleast make guys like Welsh, Winderlich sweat a little.

BrunoV
29 Apr 2010, 20:40
**** Knighta. I spend all week defending you and you pull this rubbish at the selection table.

1. No seniors punished

2. How has Prismall learn't his lesson? Moping around underperforming in the twos.

3. What has Atkinson ever shown that Houli hasn't? If Houli is being dropped for what he is doing then 15 our the players walking out each week should be dropped.

4. Howlett would be pretty confused as he has shown more than all bar 3 mids on our list this year,

5. We cannot miss this opportunity to play Neagle with Pears being out. There have been some good points made by people (including Knights) that Jay should be left until he has the fitness and work ethic but we have an opportunity to play him and not upset the balance. Hurley can play back until he finds his mojo and Neagle can work his ass off at AFL level. I cam forgive the first 2 weeks of Pears' absence but if Neagle isn't playing by round 8...

The Ryder-Laycock doesn't bother me becaus I don't expect Ryder will play in the midfield, and you don't play what is effectively 3 ruckmen.

BomberAce7
29 Apr 2010, 20:50
T.Slattery anyone?

Forget Neagle who has been solid in the past few weeks, forget Bachar who has been solid in the past few weeks.

How can this kid who has been simply been "thumping on the door to be selected" still not be selected, even after we lose another defender?

Oh dear, Knights has lost the plot.

We are a local footy club in the big time, be a mate and you get a game in the senior team.

Howlett 4th best for Bendigo last week.

Neagle 3nd best for Bendigo last week.

T.Slattery best in all three games for Bendigo this season.

Knights will struggle to make it through his contract, this one I am calling early, but oh dear, he has well and truly lost the plot..

Couldnt agree more! T.Slattery cant get out of the best for Bendigo! Albino still selects H.Slattery, Welsh, McVeigh, Winderlich! Lost the plot? Never had it to begin with.

Mr Mojo Risin
29 Apr 2010, 21:05
I'm generally happy enough with selection, however would've either liked to see Laycock in so Ryder can go forward or back or Neagle in.

Nasty Penguin
29 Apr 2010, 21:11
Actually when you look at the match-ups on paper the team looks to really suite. Welsh on Hodge will be a lock down job and with no Mitchell should really beat them in the middle.

Slatts on Rioli is a worry would rather see Dempsey or even Winda on him. If Ryder can work over Renouf and drift forward it looks like a winning combination.

The turn-over king Houli aint playing either makes me happy :D

bomberfan101
29 Apr 2010, 21:15
Very happy to see Prismall back! I rate him very highly, still think he has his best to come! I think the omission from the side will fire him up and he will have a blinder!

Happy to see Davey back in the side - we have missed his defensive pressure, and also someone who can run and carry ala Lovett.

However I am disappointed that Howlett hasn't been named :( He is a good young talent, needs more games.

I also think Melksham is very stiff to be dropped, Colyer needs to work on his disposal (although so does the majority of the team).

Neagle will be back next week I think, I belive they are trying to get his confidence right up, so that when he comes back, he is READY to play some decent footy ;)

matty lloyd the champ
29 Apr 2010, 21:17
Not happy with Prismall selection considering his form for Bendigo. Sure Prismall is a good kick but his skills are useless unless he finds him self in damaging positions to use the ball. Getting marks backwards of centre or near the back pocket does not benefit anyone but his stats column. Prismall probably has the best 15-20m kick inside 50 in our team so he needs to find himself using the ball in attacking areas of the ground.

Ben the Gooner
29 Apr 2010, 21:22
What the ****?

I'm just astounded.

HighettBomber
29 Apr 2010, 21:37
B: Hocking Fletcher Dyson
HB: Atkinson Hooker H.Slattery
C: McVeigh Watson Stanton
HF: Monfries Gumbleton Prismall
FF: Davey Hurley Lonergan
Foll: Ryder Welsh Winderlich

Bench: Dempsey Zaharakis Lovett-Murray Hille
Emerg: Hardingham, Howlett, T. Slattery

In: Atkinson, Prismall, Lonergan, Davey
Out: Pears, Reimers, Melksham, Colyer

I can't see how we can win with so many slow players in our side, especially when you consider that most also have below average disposal skill, as do Atkinson, Hooker and Davey. I think this is a very poor starting 18, although it looks a little better if the IC players are substituted for some of the slugs.

I think it was the correct decisioin dropping Colyer, as he needs to work on his disposal under a bit less pressure. Melksham was a bit ordinary last week, but i probably would have preferred him to have retained his spot.

Hank and Welsh are very lucky to retain their spots and Davey, Atkinson, Lonergan and Prismall are even more lucky to have been called back. The best three players in the VFL last week were Houli, Howlett and Neagle. We are definately not picking the team based on performance.

SDR223
29 Apr 2010, 21:40
Alot of posters complaining about Neagle and Houli not getting a game.

Not wrapped with some of the selctions myself, but it we're pinning our hopes of a victory on Neagle and Houli - we're in more trouble than I thought. :eek:

Boucks09
29 Apr 2010, 21:45
Can you put money on for leading goal assists in a game?

If so I'm backing Atkinson to win......for Hawthorn goals.

I'll need restraining in Welsh doesn't have a fair dinkum dip on Saturday night.

Smyth94
29 Apr 2010, 21:48
Can you put money on for leading goal assists in a game?

If so I'm backing Atkinson to win......for Hawthorn goals.

I'll need restraining in Welsh doesn't have a fair dinkum dip on Saturday night.

Awww I was waiting for a Boucks roast on these selections, just about every change that you said should happen, didn't.

Macca18
29 Apr 2010, 21:51
I wish I knew why, but I've got a funny feeling we are going to win this game...

Our home game at the MCG, the ground where it wasn't evident last week but I believe we play our best football at, a return to the scene of the crime of our humilation last week, an opponent we defeated twice last year...

One of the teams is just going to explode and go nuts this week, we've had the heat on us in a big way for the past 5 days and the Hawks have escaped some deserved criticism going their way at the same time considering 99% of the general public tipped Hawthorn to finish well in front of Essendon this year. The team has the confidence that they can match and beat the Hawks after their two wins last year and people have forgotten very quickly that Collingwood were equally destructive against Hawthorn two weeks ago as they were against us on Anzac Day.

We'll see.

Godzke
29 Apr 2010, 22:32
Glad I tipped Hawthorn this week before seeing the changes.

The fact that Winderlich didn't get dropped says a LOT about our list right now.

OutsideEdge
29 Apr 2010, 22:45
I don't post on here very often but spend a fair bit of time reading the dribble all you come out with. It's actually quite funny reading some of the thoughts on here & how far off the mark they are when you actually know the truth.

Prismall had the ball 28 times against Freo before he got dropped. Do you think he was sent back to Bendigo because he wasn't getting it enough, and they wanted to see him in the best at Bendigo for the next 2 weeks before he would come back in? None of you have any idea why he was dropped but he's obviously done what was required because he is back.

Agree that Houli is a good kick.....when he is not under any pressure but he's like a deer in headlights when there is pressure on him. He won't get a consistent game until he improves that aspect of his game at Bendigo.

Plenty of teams are resting their first year players around this time of year so don't worry about the two that got dropped. Geelong rested Duncan last week, Hawthorn are resting Peterson, they will be back soon enough.

Godzke
29 Apr 2010, 22:53
It's drivel, not dribble. Learn the ****ing word already. So embarrassing and once again from another supporter who hops on his high horse to give others a serve of his spit.

yaco55
29 Apr 2010, 23:42
Lets look at this weeks selection

Out - KP, 2 midfielders, flanker

In - 2midfielders, small defender, small forward.

I am not sure that the selectors got the mix right and disagree with the like to like replacements.

Very worried about the non-selection of Neagle. Means that Hurley will play forward and we are relying on Hooker and Fletcher holding Franklin and Roughhead. This is a big risk !

Secondly if they didnt want to select neagle - I would have wanted Hardingham or T.slattery selected to be the third tall providing assistance to Fletcher and Hooker. Don't see who can provide this role in the selected team.

An interesting team selection - The proof will be in the pudding.

nipst@r
29 Apr 2010, 23:49
Pretty obvious with the selections. Knights has picked the team he trusts the most i.e the players who over his coaching career he has given the most games to.

Although i don't agree with the changes, you still have to give games 2 kids who are performing, but in fairness to knights he's chosen what he knows. Lose and our year is a write off. Last chance for the team and last opportunity for knights to trust those who have delivered most for him over time.

Think if we lose t.slatts, houli, and all the youngsters will start getting games and easy rides as our season is gone anyway.

Last chance for all the welsh's, prismal, davey, slatts, winders and co to perform. If any of these players dont perform, we lose and yet continue to get a game then im totally wrong and knights has no idea at all.

Duckworth
30 Apr 2010, 01:36
Glad I tipped Hawthorn this week before seeing the changes.

The fact that Winderlich didn't get dropped says a LOT about our list right now.

He's named on the ball. Not even on the bench.

Eleven 38
30 Apr 2010, 03:33
glad to see prismall back, hes easily in our best 22....he wasnt sent back to bendigo to get form he was sent back as punishment obviously!

wouldnt be surprised if howlett in for stanton....

dont mind that colyer and melksham got dropped,,,i like the way the pies managed sidebottom and beams last season...missing a few games here and there seemed to do them good coming into this season!!!

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 11:26
Winders is in there as well. but other than that, no-one's really that fast

Well that's terrific. Winderlich. The most frustrating player at EFC for the past 10 years who occasionally filters through the middle (when he should be our most prolific midfielder).

Every bit of ability but doesn't try hard enough so consistently performs below his capabilities.

He's the guy I most wanted to see made an example of for his horendous opening 5 games. If not him then Dyson, or McVeigh, or Slattery, or NLM, or Hille. Instead Melk's and Colyer, a couple of 18 yo's copped the bullet.

Couragous selection.

AS9
30 Apr 2010, 12:09
Well that's terrific. Winderlich. The most frustrating player at EFC for the past 10 years who occasionally filters through the middle (when he should be our most prolific midfielder).

Every bit of ability but doesn't try hard enough so consistently performs below his capabilities.

He's the guy I most wanted to see made an example of for his horendous opening 5 games. If not him then Dyson, or McVeigh, or Slattery, or NLM, or Hille. Instead Melk's and Colyer, a couple of 18 yo's copped the bullet.

Couragous selection.
Welsh is the one that should have been made an example of.

He will be on his last chance this weekend. I honestly thought they would drop him after the rubbish he gave us against Collingwood and West Coast.

As a previous poster has said he is the exact reason why the leadership group should not be picked by the players.

westking101
30 Apr 2010, 14:06
phh

NLM,
Slattery,
Welsh,
McVeigh,
Lonegan,
Winderlich,
Dyson,
Davey........

The selection panel can juggle as much as they want, the reality is the EFC is a fair way off September success :(

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 14:37
phh

NLM,
Slattery,
Welsh,
McVeigh,
Lonegan,
Winderlich,
Dyson,
Davey........

The selection panel can juggle as much as they want, the reality is the EFC is a fair way off September success :(

Exactly, and most of the players you've mentioned won't be a part of the next premiership because they're crap or will be well and truly on the wrong side of their best footy.

Play a few of them and develop the other youngsters instead of trying to save your bacon Knights.

T Slattery not getting a game while doing everything right.
Myers, Neagle, Houli, Jetta, Howlett, Colyer, Melksham all with age and ability on their sit idle so knights can hedge his bets with slightly more experienced but ordinary players who he can be more certain of what they'll produce.

This is a selfish selection and reeks of a guy interested primarily in saving his bacon before building the list.

For a guy who preaches the faith he has in his players, he's shown very little in the ones who are his only chance of grabbing a premiership as his senior players are the worst group of senior players in the comp.

stander
30 Apr 2010, 14:59
Exactly, and most of the players you've mentioned won't be a part of the next premiership because they're crap or will be well and truly on the wrong side of their best footy.

Play a few of them and develop the other youngsters instead of trying to save your bacon Knights.

T Slattery not getting a game while doing everything right.
Myers, Neagle, Houli, Jetta, Howlett, Colyer, Melksham all with age and ability on their sit idle so knights can hedge his bets with slightly more experienced but ordinary players who he can be more certain of what they'll produce.

This is a selfish selection and reeks of a guy interested primarily in saving his bacon before building the list.

For a guy who preaches the faith he has in his players, he's shown very little in the ones who are his only chance of grabbing a premiership as his senior players are the worst group of senior players in the comp.

What you fail to comprehend, and it's not surprising, is that Knights is showing some loyalty to the legacy of players he's inherited from the previous coach. Faith in the new crop is exemplified by the continued selection of Gumbleton; Melksham and Colyer had their crack for a couple of games, and now need relief. Howlett and Slattery are knocking on the door (see emergency list), Jetta is close but returning from injury. Neagle and Houli need more work, and Myers needs more refinement.

TheDon35
30 Apr 2010, 15:12
What you fail to comprehend, and it's not surprising, is that Knights is showing some loyalty to the legacy of players he's inherited from the previous coach. Faith in the new crop is exemplified by the continued selection of Gumbleton; Melksham and Colyer had their crack for a couple of games, and now need relief. Howlett and Slattery are knocking on the door (see emergency list), Jetta is close but returning from injury. Neagle and Houli need more work, and Myers needs more refinement.

At least you didn't make up a story this time... You're gradually getting there little man.

Pitty about your complete inability to look at the EFC objectively. Happy cheer leading.

SDR223
30 Apr 2010, 18:33

Not sure what you are trying to say here Don35.

Are critising Knights for not picking players who will win us a game on Sat night or are you having a go about him not picking players for our future?

Because if Knights is being selfish and trying to save his bacon as you have suggested then he's going to pick the side that he thinks can win not only Sat night but alot of other games for the rest of the season.

Which is what the majority of supporters wants to happen.

Surely most supporters want him to get the best out of our list rather than start rebuilding half way through his contract and put us another 2 years behind again.

stander
30 Apr 2010, 19:57
Not sure what you are trying to say here Don35Are

Don't worry about it, he's all over the shop with his convuluted phony support of the Dons. He's like the old wind sock at Windy Hill too, changing direction all the time.

Kong
30 Apr 2010, 21:59
Final warning, guys.

Attack the argument, not the man.