View Full Version : Good News, Bad News
Hollypig
30 May 2003, 19:46
Good news for the Eagles in the SANFL, The Halfway Hotel has withdrawn it`s objection to the Eag`s moving their pokies to the old Handrihans on Port Rd. AHA spent all their quids on the Northern Tavern?
Bad news for the Redlegs, the council have vetoed the move to Norwood Parade, after stating their full support.
Legs fans could do worse than finding the connection between the council & the Norwood Hotel on the corner.
RoosterWedgie
30 May 2003, 20:01
You've got to wonder if our show of public opposition to the Northern Tavern might have put the Halfway Hotel off?
I think the Eagles fans might owe us some thanks.
timelord
30 May 2003, 23:00
I agree with Hollypig. The Norwood problem certainly looks suspect in that regard - especially on the heels of WWT's back down (on which I agree with Wedgie - the rally caused that for sure!).
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Norwood is the Toorak of Adelaide is it not? If so, then that might explain that council going a different way to the Eagle's home council - assuming again that Hollypig is right and as I said I think he may well be.
Something's rotten in Denmark! :D
DoggyBase
31 May 2003, 02:16
Originally posted by timelord
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Norwood is the Toorak of Adelaide is it not?Toorak means nothing to most folks in Adelaide. You might need to explain that one.
Originally posted by DoggyBase
Toorak means nothing to most folks in Adelaide. You might need to explain that one.
I found Balwyn to be a lot like Norwood in its characteristics rather than Toorak except Norwood isnt a dry area!!!!!!
Hollypig
31 May 2003, 08:23
Originally posted by Davo75
I found Balwyn to be a lot like Norwood in its characteristics rather than Toorak except Norwood isnt a dry area!!!!!!
I find Greece to be a lot like Norwood :D
(sorry Dave could`nt help that)
The WWT council had nothing to do with it, the Halfway withdrew it`s appeal. Strange that the AHA & cronies (half the board of the SANFL, Xenophile, ) have`nt thrown their support behind them.
As Wedgie stated, I think the support the Roosters were shown by some state pollies, all SANFL supporters (bar a couple :Christine 17) & the community in general is putting them on their back feet. Can`t see X jumping up in his favourite personal free publicity sheet (Advertiser, Sunday Mail) to attack the evil community clubs. Again the deafening silence from the SANFL over one of it`s members in strife is astounding. Must be too busy trying to find a new age spa to help cure ingrown toenails for it`s AFL superstars.
The Norwood supporters should bombard their council with e-mails, phone calls, faxes ect. Call any neighbors/friends/rellies who live in the area to do the same. Find the councillers who backflipped on the issue & really put the pressure on, their home addresses are readily available, post them directly. Dont lower it to personal insults or threats as they, like Xenophon, love the martyr status. Get stuck into your state & federal members, ours came to the party after countless reminders of how much our club means to our supporters, junior footy, & the general community.
It just needs someone to start the ball rolling, as Wedgie did, through his site for us. You`d be surprised how it snowballs when it gets going.
Good luck to Norwood, as said before, without them it`s not the SANFL. Any support needed is only a request away.
EagleBlue
31 May 2003, 09:01
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
You've got to wonder if our show of public opposition to the Northern Tavern might have put the Halfway Hotel off?
I think the Eagles fans might owe us some thanks.
Absolutely, no doubt about that
I thought at the time the sucess of the Rooster rally would go a long way towards helping the other clubs there were considering moving. Obviously not enough to sway the Norwood council though. That could be a tougher fight unfortunately.
RoosterWedgie
31 May 2003, 10:08
Actually I might point out its not a one way street either, a couple of Eagles fans were involved in the rally, I went and personally thanked them for attending (they were a lovely couple) and they were stoked that their attendance was appreciated.
If the rally did help change the Halfway Hotel's mind Im even more stoked as it already seems to have helped our cause and if we helped another SANFL club eek out an existence in the pokies state then Im even more stoked.
LONG LIVE THE SANFL!!!!
THE LEAGUE FOR GRASS ROOTS FANS!!!!
timelord
31 May 2003, 10:14
Originally posted by DoggyBase
Toorak means nothing to most folks in Adelaide. You might need to explain that one.
Toorak is where all the rich snobs usually reside - yeah it's a stereotype I admit it! I wasn't referring to the look of the place - to respond to Davo's comparison with Balwyn which I think is probably right from what I've seen of the Parade (the road not the ground!)
timelord
31 May 2003, 10:20
Originally posted by Hollypig
The WWT council had nothing to do with it, the Halfway withdrew it`s appeal.
Sorry, Hollypig, I got the WWT and Norwood councils mixed up to make that mistake. I applied the Norwood council line of thinking (that is their involvement) to the WWT council when I shouldn't have!
Anyway, it doesn't alter the fact that it was the rally that made them back down!
Originally posted by timelord
Toorak is where all the rich snobs usually reside - yeah it's a stereotype I admit it! I wasn't referring to the look of the place - to respond to Davo's comparison with Balwyn which I think is probably right from what I've seen of the Parade (the road not the ground!)
No worries Timelord............
Balwyn is a nice area, just no bloody pubs within cooee of the place!!!!
I think Norwood supporters, and there are a lot of us albeit silent a lot of the time, need to stand up and be counted on this one, the future of our great club is in the balance, Im getting really sick and tired of Local Council, maybe we should close off Woods St completely then they might allow it all to happen!!!!
Hollypig
31 May 2003, 11:27
Originally posted by Davo75
No worries Timelord............
Balwyn is a nice area, just no bloody pubs within cooee of the place!!!!
I think Norwood supporters, and there are a lot of us albeit silent a lot of the time, need to stand up and be counted on this one, the future of our great club is in the balance, Im getting really sick and tired of Local Council, maybe we should close off Woods St completely then they might allow it all to happen!!!!
Get cracking Davo, get the e-mails of the council members, your mp`s ect. Post them here, & we can get a start.
Do the Legs have a website, if so, alert them.
Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge.
(stop studying the form)