View Full Version : Greg Inglis to bombers?
TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:25
Just heard on WIN news (Channel 9) That Ian Robson has approached Inglis to play for the bombers.
Inglis said that he wants to stay at storm.
Would you want him? He is one of the best players in the NRL.
Non-story if he said he wants to stay at the Storm, although I guess Judd said he was staying put, too.
TeamHurley
29 Apr 2010, 18:33
Pretty much what I thought. He seemed pretty certain about staying.
Interesting that Robson approached him.
Frothies Mcveigh
29 Apr 2010, 18:39
Interesting that Robson asked him to play. Dont really know if I'd want him running around in the Red and Black.
Skeeta Olly
29 Apr 2010, 18:40
He's a tricky one that Robson.
Minimum Chips
29 Apr 2010, 18:41
We definitely need more players at the club that can't kick
DVD Player
29 Apr 2010, 19:01
If we are willing to spend that kind of money I would much prefer we chased an established AFL star!!!!!!!!!!!
Bombers36
29 Apr 2010, 19:25
Sad that we would even think to chase an NRL player. We are not a new club like the Gold Coast. WTF> shocked. WE are struggling but when someone in power at the club does this you got to worry....
bipolarbeaR
29 Apr 2010, 19:35
Are you for real.....
How about we go for about three B Grader midfielders who kick accurately and apply pressure both ways? Instead of a 3 year 2 Million dollar deal with an NRL player who probably couldn't kick a footy to save his life?
damochandler
29 Apr 2010, 20:00
chase afl players. not a circus attraction and this is what it will be
The Donners
29 Apr 2010, 20:15
We're certainly not the family club.
Lance Uppercut
29 Apr 2010, 20:24
haha pay that.
Is Sheedy back?
This:
If we are willing to spend that kind of money I would much prefer we chased an established AFL star!!!!!!!!!!!
and this:
chase afl players. not a circus attraction and this is what it will be
Ben the Gooner
29 Apr 2010, 20:59
He'd be outside the cap, as he hasn't been attached to an Aussie Rules club for the past three years. We could pay him $10m if we wanted to, and it wouldn't affect the cap.
I reckon him or Slater would be amazing as taggers. Let their man lead them to the ball, let them tackle like madmen and get a bit of the ball when they're there.
He'd be outside the cap, as he hasn't been attached to an Aussie Rules club for the past three years. We could pay him $10m if we wanted to, and it wouldn't affect the cap.Is that true?
Wow. Get Bogut and put him in the goal square, now.I reckon him or Slater would be amazing as taggers. Let their man lead them to the ball, let them tackle like madmen and get a bit of the ball when they're there.Yep, Slater would destroy opponents on a weekly basis.
Because ... this club is already short of KP forwards who can't kick. righhhhhhht.
next
DonsRule
29 Apr 2010, 23:10
Well, we do play at Etihad he has that nice new boat, be could ancor it at the docks, and be right at the stadiums front door.
bombersno1
29 Apr 2010, 23:19
He'd be our best player going on teh display last weekend.
ps. It is well known that him and Folau can kick the ball well over 50m, they do AFL drill sessions to break up their routine and they kill it each time.
Yes - It is a big ask changing codes in your early 20's.
Please dont assume that Inglis cant kick !
MarkJohnson#1
30 Apr 2010, 00:08
Sign him up, he would be a lethal forward, besides terrible kicking hasn't stopped Buddy Franklin from becoming a superstar... :thumbsu:
Donakebab
30 Apr 2010, 02:00
I'd rather spend the money elsewhere.
Not interested. He's too fat and would need a lot of fitness work, I sense he lacks the desire to do anything else. Not wanted if its just about the money. :thumbsd:
Club came out this morning and said there was nothing to it. Personally I would love to see us have a play at him.
TeamHurley
30 Apr 2010, 09:39
Not interested. He's too fat and would need a lot of fitness work, I sense he lacks the desire to do anything else. Not wanted if its just about the money. :thumbsd:
When asked about it he actually said that he wants to stay with the storm because they have developed him and he feels he owes them something.
I would love to get him on board. If you watched any NRL you can see the guy has alot of talent. Get him lining up at full forward and he would be a very hard man to stop. Rather have him on the list than quinn.
Giggidy Giggidy
30 Apr 2010, 09:45
Are you for real.....
How about we go for about three B Grader midfielders who kick accurately and apply pressure both ways? Instead of a 3 year 2 Million dollar deal with an NRL player who probably couldn't kick a footy to save his life?
Widely regarded as the biggest kick in the NRL with some towering torpedos that have put even the best fullbacks (well 2nd best behind Billy) under immense pressure. Showed some accuracy in his kicking too with that drop-goal in the GF, although obviously a very different skill to AFL field kicking.
I have no doubts that he could comfortably adapt his skill-set, and his speed and strong body would be huge assets. His endurance would be the major question mark.... and where to play him. At 6 ft 6 in and 110kg (which would obviously drop as training focus changes) he could be a devastating key-forward, or an unstoppable rebounding defender.
When asked about it he actually said that he wants to stay with the storm because they have developed him and he feels he owes them something.
I would love to get him on board. If you watched any NRL you can see the guy has alot of talent. Get him lining up at full forward and he would be a very hard man to stop. Rather have him on the list than quinn.
I'd rather the club just focus on winning on Saturday night.
Inglis is not interested in the game unlike Folau, stay at the Storm.
The Donners
30 Apr 2010, 13:36
Why worry about all these gimmicks. How about they recruit players who have elite disposal of the ball instead of a project player?
Anything to take the focus away from listless performances I suppose.
Bom Schiggidy
30 Apr 2010, 14:59
Widely regarded as the biggest kick in the NRL with some towering torpedos that have put even the best fullbacks (well 2nd best behind Billy) under immense pressure. .
Say what?! The bloke is a 4th string kick for the Storm at best, and I can think of at least 3 players since reading this drivel that are bigger kicks than Inglis. Campese kicks drop outs 65 on the fly with regularity.
All said though, Inglis has to be the most likely to leave the Storm. Cronk, Smith, and Slater play in crucial positions...centres are a dime-a-dozen. That said also, I don't think he'd have the skill, agility, or fitness with his new found paunch to play AFL.
Slater on the other hand...he's a different story.
Wish Wellingtons
30 Apr 2010, 19:58
I would love to see Inglis playing AFL, if only to piss off League fans.
Duckworth
30 Apr 2010, 20:31
He'd be our best player going on the display last weekend.
ps. It is well known that him and Folau can kick the ball well over 50m, they do AFL drill sessions to break up their routine and they kill it each time.
Maybe you could go to training and suss it out. I hear he treats girls pretty nice....
centrelink1
30 Apr 2010, 21:42
Id like to see him here, especially after reading what BtG said about the salary cap.
Let him murder Ballantyne.
Minimum Chips
1 May 2010, 02:13
Widely regarded as the biggest kick in the NRL with some towering torpedos that have put even the best fullbacks (well 2nd best behind Billy) under immense pressure. Showed some accuracy in his kicking too with that drop-goal in the GF, although obviously a very different skill to AFL field kicking.
I have no doubts that he could comfortably adapt his skill-set, and his speed and strong body would be huge assets. His endurance would be the major question mark.... and where to play him. At 6 ft 6 in and 110kg (which would obviously drop as training focus changes) he could be a devastating key-forward, or an unstoppable rebounding defender.
Widely regarded by who? Cronk and Smith are well ahead of him and that's just at the storm. That drop goal was ugly, that was a 50/50 chance at best and that was from 15-20 metres out directly in front.
I'd love to see him at the bombers! he is a star
Colin D'Cops
1 May 2010, 23:00
Forget Inglis...
...Think SLATER!
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/pictures/2009/5/8/1241788085584/Billy-Slater-Australia-Ne-001.jpg
I want someone with this ^ type of aggression and speed. MAKE IT HAPPEN.
Giggidy Giggidy
3 May 2010, 09:31
Widely regarded as the biggest kick in the NRL with some towering torpedos that have put even the best fullbacks (well 2nd best behind Billy) under immense pressure.
Widely regarded by who? Cronk and Smith are well ahead of him and that's just at the storm.
Biggest, not best. Never suggested he was the Storm's #1 kicker, but over the past 12 months when they've wanted to put in a high-bomb on the fullbacks head, GI has been the one they've looked to give it to.
Say what?! The bloke is a 4th string kick for the Storm at best, and I can think of at least 3 players since reading this drivel that are bigger kicks than Inglis. Campese kicks drop outs 65 on the fly with regularity.
Alright, make that one of the biggest.