View Full Version : What do you *honestly* think are the chances..
FreoGirl
1 Jun 2003, 00:23
of Fremantle beating Port Adelaide in Adelaide next week?
Freo Hitman
1 Jun 2003, 00:26
Originally posted by FreoGirl
of Fremantle beating Port Adelaide in Adelaide next week?
Not expecting a win. I'll take the win .
IMO all I want is not to be belted
FreoGirl
1 Jun 2003, 00:36
What an incredible bonus next week if they can pull it off? especially to their confidence
I think they will all take a hard look at today's game and see where they can improve. A few players could really lift..who knows?
Don't think we will win but we won't be on our todd losing to port in Adelaide. No disgrace there. win/win situation really because what a bonus if we do get the points.
I know one thing and that is port won't have the hitouts all their own way as they did against the pies.
Port1978
1 Jun 2003, 01:50
Don't give you guys much of a hope of beating us next week. Hopefully we'll beat the crap out of you! ;)
Good luck anyway....should be a good game. :)
FreoGirl
1 Jun 2003, 02:02
We just have to keep reminding ourselves that we are now a new team, we know what it's like to win out of WA, we are going in with 7 wins and 3 losses, when we are so used to it being the other way round :)
I am still getting used to this winning thing. :)
ACT exile
1 Jun 2003, 02:50
Its going to be a good game. Port score most of thier goals through the pace and flair of the Burgoins ****y and Pickett, thier only tall forward is Treadrae ( not sure if corns is back and dont know how tall the bugga is). Against most teams thats a real advantage - against the lads in purple that isnt the case, Splinter, the genius that is, Grover (doesnt need a nickname coz he already has one) Polly and out of Haines Parker and Ziggy the John Doe Deffence has pace and flair to burn.
In the mid field both teams will run into a problem - pace - they both have it - so the usual "advantage" that both teams normaly have is eukered.
Up forward for the Dockers there is one enormous problem and he isnt that big realy Wanganeen - that bloke can realy play.
So if the lads come with thier traveling boots on it will be a ball burster of a game, if they dont :(
My pick the Port Pansies but not by a lot.
Port1978
1 Jun 2003, 03:08
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I am still getting used to this winning thing. :)
Don't get too used to it, mate! ;)
Docker_Brat
1 Jun 2003, 05:14
Our chances aren't great. We were belted by the Crows there and Port Power are a better side.
If we pulled off a victory here, then we have truly arrived and I'd expect to be booking finals tickets.
|D_J^B_J|
1 Jun 2003, 05:45
Oh, how sweet would a win be against Port at Football Park? ;)
Originally posted by ACT exile
Its going to be a good game. Port score most of thier goals through the pace and flair of the Burgoins ****y and Pickett, thier only tall forward is Treadrae ( not sure if corns is back and dont know how tall the bugga is).
Cornes and Hardwick should return.
I'd expect Bishop, Cocky, Thurstans to miss through injury, but I'm not sure how bad the Cocky is. (along with the standard Primus, Dew, Francou)
I think Freo have a fair chance if they can hold up to the jump in physical intensity. I don't think they have played a team that exerts Ports pressure around the ball for some time. The 9 day break will do us good too.
Then again, we did get flogged by Melbourne.
I'm tipping Port by about 4 goals, with one of the Cornes or Burgoyne brothers doing something to piss off all Freo supporters.
After Freo we have St Kilda, Sydney at home, the bulldogs and Geelong, so a win here could really set up our season.
|D_J^B_J|
1 Jun 2003, 06:27
Originally posted by Port01
Cornes and Hardwick should return.
Hardwick gave Medhurst a bath last year and hopefully Medhurst won't get too complacent after his 7 goal hauling this week.
Hardwick exerted immense physical pressure on Medhurst last year which seemed to irritate him so it will be interesting to see how he responds to it next week.
I think Freo have a fair chance if they can hold up to the jump in physical intensity. I don't think they have played a team that exerts Ports pressure around the ball for some time. The 9 day break will do us good too.
We were pretty physically intense against Carlton (particularly in the first half) today. It will be interesting to see whether Port try to gain a physical advantage over us after the events in the pre-season game. Our players seem to be flying the flag for each othre more often now. Port in the pre-season game and Mebourne a couple of weeks ago tried to exert a physical dominance on us but we still managed to win both games.
You'd think exerting physical pressure on a young squad would worry them though and with the addition of several tough nuts such as Pickett, Hardwick and Wilson in your side our players should be primed for a tough, physical encounter.
P.S. Docker_Brat, my last post was directed at you given your obvious hatred towards Port Adelaide ;).
Kenny_01
1 Jun 2003, 07:46
Unfortunately, I don't think we have much of a cahnce. We will get smashed in the clearances.
Freo Hitman
1 Jun 2003, 11:14
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Unfortunately, I don't think we have much of a cahnce. We will get smashed in the clearances.
In all honesty I think CC wil give our on ballers a thorough talking to about that. Peter Bell knows this will have to be his one big game of his life. The rest of the crew have to chip in & help & try & match Ports muscle.
FreoGirl
1 Jun 2003, 14:26
Let's be a little more optimistic and bathe in the afterglow a little longer :)
Medhurst's performance would have been a major confidence booster for him...I'm keen to see him come out firing next week!
In the words of that blockbuster movie Dumbo "You have to believe you can fly!"
If Clive Waterhouse can believe a banner that says "Clive is Cute", then any dream is possible! :)
Carr v Carr could be very interesting, chinese burns might be the order of the day.
We've got to go in positive and take our chances.
We've been a bit sluggish lately, so hopefully there's still a bit of juice in the tank to improve with.
Corrobundum Illigitimus.
Freo Hitman
1 Jun 2003, 18:30
In all honesty I think CC will be giving some players all rips during the week , some young kids starting playing like millionaires yesterday and I think alot of them are going to be reminded of the disciplines that have won us 5 straight..... You can say complacency crept into the game big time yesterday !!
Kenny_01
1 Jun 2003, 18:33
Yeah, we really have to focus this week if we want to have a chance.
Well with the players Port will have out (Primus, Francou, Dew, Bishop, Thurstans and possibly ****atoo-Collins and Hardwick) you are catching Port at the best possible time for the upset. Our clearances haven't been too crash hot the last couple of weeks either.
I expect Port to get over the line, but by how much depends on who Port can put out on the park. The return of Cornes will be a big help, we've done well to manufacture goals from a mostly small forward line the last two weeks, but having two genuine tall forwards will certainly help.
Fremantle have certainly plenty to be happy with over the last five weeks, but Essendon at home, plus bulldogs, st. kilda, melbourne and carlton aren't exactly the top 5 teams in the competition. None are in the top 8.
Port are only 4 from 5 over the same period, but wins over Essendon (away), Collingwood, Kangaroos and Richmond. 2 wins in the two matches against top eight sides.
A good test for both sides this week. Port to again test their depth, Fremantle to see if they can take advantage of an undermanned, yet quality opponent. May the best team win!
Originally posted by ACT exile
thier only tall forward is Treadrae ( not sure if corns is back and dont know how tall the bugga is). You made a few smelling pistakes ;)
(1) Tredrea is not our only tall forward
(2) Cornes will be back
(3) He is a genuine tall
(4) He will be hungry after a 2 week suspension
(5) He will play a blinder
(6) Have you heard of Brogan and Lade?
(7) Port will win by 50 points
Originally posted by Pred
(6) Have you heard of Brogan and Lade?
(7) Port will win by 50 points
Yep, Robbie Haddrill has heard of Mr Bogan, he's still got part of Bogan's knee cap in his back.
I think ACT was talking about tall forwards, Tredrea and Cornes, plus Brogan and Lade rotating through is how I would see it.
Port are a good side, but with Primus out, we may be able to exploit the ruck area, as Snake should be to good for Brogan and Lade, with Sandilands to blot out the sun.
Our midfield needs to get more ball out of the packs.
We'll give it our best shot, and as long as they all give 100%, we can't ask for anymore.
sabre_ac
2 Jun 2003, 17:25
I dont have much confidence for this coming game.
Port have a history of belting us and I hate to say it but I think history will repeat itself.
Kenny_01
2 Jun 2003, 17:53
We play a much different style of game to previous seasons. Being realisitic, I don't think we can win but it wouldn't be a 12 goal + blowout like previous seasons.
Originally posted by sabre_ac
I dont have much confidence for this coming game.
Port have a history of belting us and I hate to say it but I think history will repeat itself.
If we had Primus, Dew, Bishop and Francou available (and maybe Hardwick out) then I'd have Port down for a big win. We've done well to cover injuries all year, but for the first time Freo. is going to be a hard ask at home and I for one am expecting a tough hard fought contest. More of a free flowing game then the Port v. Collingwood match and higher scoring, but just as interesting.
Good luck to Fremantle... I have hardly seen any of them this season but apparently they are playing good free-flowing footy.
Some people are saying they play uncontested footy and this can be good (getting the spare player free) or bad (waiting for the easy ball). However Port are very good attackling and applying pressure, so it will be interesting to see how Freo handle it.
Cornes will come back and give Port 2 tall forwards again... I think he and Tredrea will be too mobile and strong for Freo.
Where has Pavlich been playing lately?
I think Josh Carr will tag Bell and Kane Cornes will run with Haselby. Who do you think will tag Nick Stevens??? M. Carr? And who do you think will match up next to James and Schofield?
Paxman will take Croad and I think Wilson will shut down Medhurst.
Brogan is very different to Primus in the ruck and I think will just give Port the edgein the taps.
Port to win by about 8 goals.
SKC
If Bishop and Thurstans were in, I'd expect Freo's forward line to crumble as their marking targets suddenly couldn't mark well due to rushed midfield delivery and close defence in the contest. With only Wakelin and Paxman as proven tall defenders available this week, this may not be the case now.
It'll also be interesting how our new multiple tagging options go against the Freo midfield - I expect a physical game around the ball-ups, definitely.
I'd still expect a win. A loss would be unacceptable.
KiNgCliVe26
2 Jun 2003, 22:02
Grover (doesnt need a nickname coz he already has one)
Has the Nickname: MUPPET!!!
Originally posted by kaysee
Good luck to Fremantle... I have hardly seen any of them this season but apparently they are playing good free-flowing footy.
Also right up there in "contested" possesions.
Some people are saying they play uncontested footy and this can be good (getting the spare player free) or bad (waiting for the easy ball). However Port are very good attackling and applying pressure, so it will be interesting to see how Freo handle it.
Right up there with "uncontested " possesions once we have won the ball with a "contested" possesion.
Freo are also the top tackling side in the league this year.
Cornes will come back and give Port 2 tall forwards again... I think he and Tredrea will be too mobile and strong for Freo. .
Only 2 ? they will be easily negated by Polak and/or Woods, Mcpharlan, Parker, Haddrill
Where has Pavlich been playing lately?.
Where he be of most benefit, be it midfield, shoring up the defense (as needed) or kicking goals.
I think Josh Carr will tag Bell and Kane Cornes will run with Haselby. Who do you think will tag Nick Stevens??? M. Carr? And who do you think will match up next to James and Schofield?.
Who will match up on Headland, Macca, Grover & Walker?
Paxman will take Croad and I think Wilson will shut down Medhurst.
If they do their job that will only leave Longmuir, Clive , Koopsie ,and the resting midfielder (haze, Bellie ,Headland) to kick goals
Brogan is very different to Primus in the ruck and I think will just give Port the edgein the taps.
He will have his work cut out against "Snake" and "the ogre"
Port to win by about 8 goals.
SKC
It will be a lot closer than that.
Freo by 12 pts
Let's be honest here, if we win this game, we go from finals probables is premiership material. Port at home is probably the 2nd toughest trip in the league, and given we avoid the toughest trip this year, this is the game we are least likely to win.
As long as we don't get massacred, our finals chances still remain pretty good. But if we win, finals are a certainty and suddenly we talk realistically about top 4.
One of those 'nothing to lose' sort of games.
We play a much different style of game to previous seasons. Being realisitic, I don't think we can win but it wouldn't be a 12 goal + blowout like previous seasons.
Oh Kenny did you have to go and say that!
I agree Rob. I really don't think we are at that level yet (where we can beat Port away) but i am still estactic with the level we are at. It is all very well for people to point out that we have not beaten any top eight sides away but when you could beat no-one away last year and just noone the year before,it is hard to get sad about the situation.
Having said all this I would be more than happy to be wrong. Go Dockers!
Look on the face of it, Port have a strong lineup.
One factor to think of, will this game be a let down after the hype of the Collingwood game. Can we exploit this?.
Only 2 ? they will be easily negated by Polak and/or Woods, Mcpharlan, Parker, Haddrill
Who will match up on Headland, Macca, Grover & Walker?
If they do their job that will only leave Longmuir, Clive , Koopsie ,and the resting midfielder (haze, Bellie ,Headland) to kick goals
It will be a lot closer than that.
Freo by 12 pts
The last two times weve played you Sabre and a few others have come out and said 'Oh who would you match up on so-&-so...how about these three players...you cant match up on them' and weve ended up by thrashing you by 15 goals each time.
It wouldnt surprise me much if Freo got up. Missing 6 of our best 22 will hurt us again...but we keep on winning so who knows.
It certainly will be a close game. Im tipping it will go down to the last 10 minutes of the last quarter.
Freo are also the top tackling side in the league this year.
Actually Hawthorn lead tackles by a long way, Freo are third. west Coast are 15th. Collingwood are 4th.
Really its a pretty useless stat.
The other stats you quote are 'invisible', ie there are no sources to look and compare them.
Fremantles games are obviously more free-flowing than ours, having scored 110 more points and conceded 140 more. We have had a couple in pouring rain and most at night however, so that might explain it.
Kenny_01
3 Jun 2003, 20:40
Nothing like our game against Richmond.
Err, did you see the Port v Hawthorn game?
Was on the same weekend and Melbourne on the Sunday (when your game was on) recieved the rain that we had on the Saturday night (when our game was on). The last half was shocking.
Kenny_01
4 Jun 2003, 00:34
Originally posted by Macca19
Err, did you see the Port v Hawthorn game?
Was on the same weekend and Melbourne on the Sunday (when your game was on) recieved the rain that we had on the Saturday night (when our game was on). The last half was shocking.
Yeah I did see it. I was just pointing out we had to play in the rain as well.
Freo Hitman
4 Jun 2003, 01:16
Good to see some Port supportters showin a little apprehension about this game !!
Maybe we are getting respect now :eek: The guys have to go in with a never say die /nothing to lose attitude !!
FreoGirl
4 Jun 2003, 03:25
as we get closer I am really beginning to believe we can have a good crack at this!
Did I say you hadnt?
Can't see freo kicking a winning score against Wakelin, Paxman, Wilson, Wanganeen, Kingsley, Bishop and Hardwick. Freo have couple of ok'ish talls, but none of them apart from Pavlich are in the class of Tarrant and Rocca..who were both kept goaless by Port last week. Port could probably concede 15 goals and still win by 10 this week. Freo's best chance would be a couple of their guys having huge games, like Medhurst and Longmuir kicking 10-12 betwen them or something. Aint gonna happen against Ports defense though.
Answer me this. Who have Freo got that could possibly negate the brilliance of GAVIN WANGANEEN, all over the ground?
As he has done to all comers this season, he will tear your team a new exit-hole.
Don't you worry about that.
Who are the unlucky 4 or 5 opponents that will attempt to stop D.J. if he has a game like he did for Brisbane in the P.F.? :)