View Full Version : Hawthorn Vs Adelaide
Stiffy_18
1 Jun 2003, 21:32
We should win this game although Hawks are due for a win soon. Hopefully not for another week.
It was good to get the 4 points at Kardinia Park but the win came at a cost with Bode, Burns, Ricciuto, Biglands and Welsh sustaining injuries. Official line from the club is that Welshy has gor general soreness while Biglands has a corky. We all know its possibly a case of bruised/cracked ribs.:( Assuming that only Bode and Burns will miss next week and that Carey and Stenglein will be available. Here is my line up for the match against the Hawks
_ F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 2. Wayne Carey _ 32. Mark Ricciuto
HF: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 11. Michael Doughty
C: _ 28. James Begley _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 20. Tyson Stenglein
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 18. Graham Johncock
_B: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 23. Andrew McLeod
Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 3. Kris Massie _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 39. Martin Mattner
Massie would be stiff not to start. Gallagher got a bit of ball today but I tought he burned it a fair bit. Hart played one of the worst games I have seen him play in a long time.
Key Match-Ups
Tyson Stenglein Vs Shane Crawford (aka Hank Bulger)
Obvious choice. Crawford is by far their best onballer and will require close attention. Stenglein is the obvious choice. He has played well on Crawford before and did a good job.
Ken McGregor Vs Nathan Thompson
I really rate Thompson and I see him as a real danger player. I would expect Kenny to get the job as he has the size to go with Thompson.
Matthew Clarke Vs Spider Everitt
I think Clarke has been in teriffic form of late and I would certainly give him a first crack at taking on the Spider as he has been in good form. I would certainly back Clarkey in.;)
The rest should just sort themselves out.:)
Thompson's out for a month with a calf injury so we don't have to worry about that him.
Holland returned to some form today so he'll be a bit of a danger. Also read somewhere that Barker might be an inclusion after good form for Box Hill.
Crawf had a shocker today and I'd expect him to have a ripper next week and try and carry the Hawks to victory. For all his efforts though, you'd have to favour us having an ascendancy in the midfield and hopefully converting this up forward.
Stiffy_18
1 Jun 2003, 21:55
Originally posted by ant
Thompson's out for a month with a calf injury so we don't have to worry about that him.
Thats one less thing to worry about
Holland returned to some form today so he'll be a bit of a danger. Also read somewhere that Barker might be an inclusion after good form for Box Hill. Kenny will get Holland and I guess Smart will get Barker if he comes in
Crawf had a shocker today and I'd expect him to have a ripper next week and try and carry the Hawks to victory. For all his efforts though, you'd have to favour us having an ascendancy in the midfield and hopefully converting this up forward. I expect Crawf to be fired up but I would back Stinga in against him. At least he will break even.
If we can get a couple of players back for next week and not loose many others we should be comfortable winners.:)
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I expect Crawf to be fired up but I would back Stinga in against him. At least he will break even.
Doesn't really matter whether he breaks even or not because as good as one player can be, he's not going to win them the match on his own. As long as Stinger does his usual job to some effect, (even if he gets beaten on the day) we should still be alright.
I didn't see the whole match but from all reports the Hawks got collared in the midfield again.....they're a team COMPLETELY down on confidence....we should have the upper hand but beware the side with their backs to the wall.
Having said that, their backs have been firmly pressed again the proverbial wall for weeks now and they haven't been able to snap out of it.....I hope they don't start next week, and I wouldn't expect them to.
Nige_Bix
1 Jun 2003, 23:27
The last thing we should do is underestimate the opposition - whoever it is - especially a game in Melbourne when we played over there the week before!
Still, I hope the boys can make the most of one of their rare opportunities to play on the MCG.
Any rate, believe given all things are equal, we should be able to whip the glamour boys from Glenferrie. I reckon we will have excellent support at the "G" given a long weekend and Hawks poor form. Am looking forward to seeing the boys at their one and only appearance at the "G" this minor round.
Kane McGoodwin
2 Jun 2003, 00:56
Assuming that only Bode and Burns will miss next week and that Carey and Stenglein will be available. Here is my line up for the match against the Hawks
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 18. Graham Johncock
Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 3. Kris Massie _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 39. Martin Mattner
[Stiffy, you also have Ladhams as an in with Stinger & Carey. I gather that you have dropped Gags for Ladhams. Would be a bit rough as I thought he was OK today. Gave us plenty of run & disposed of the ball well most of the time. I personally would pick them both & return Mattner to Sturt, but can't see AFC agreeing with me.
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Stiffy, you also have Ladhams as an in with Stinger & Carey. I gather that you have dropped Gags for Ladhams. Would be a bit rough as I thought he was OK today. Gave us plenty of run & disposed of the ball well most of the time. I personally would pick them both & return Mattner to Sturt, but can't see AFC agreeing with me.
If Stiffy's Ins are correct then one of Gags, Mattner and Ladhams will have to miss.
Gags was pretty good today but burnt the ball at times, Mattner did a pretty good job on Ablett, and ladhams burnt in the SANFL.
Whover misses will be stiff.
Stiffy_18
2 Jun 2003, 01:12
Yes guys I did drop Gallagher. Although Mattner should have gone back to Sturt a while ago, I can just about bet my bottom dollar that he will play against the hawks.
I tough Gags was OK but he burnt the ball on too many crutial occasions. He did kick a sort of a sealing goal but he wasted the ball more than I would have liked.
Ladhams is just about a certainty to come back in after his 40 possesion, 1 goal game in SANFL.
Burton is another possible inclusion.
Can anyone tell me why on earth was Begley dragged as I tought he was one of our better players in the 1st quarter??????:confused:
He started off well in the 1st quarter didn't he??
Made a couple of blues in the 2nd quarter and got replaced, destined to collect splinters in the backside until we ran out of players late in the last quarter.
I was surprised about that too Stiffy.
Stiffy_18
2 Jun 2003, 01:26
Originally posted by macca23
He started off well in the 1st quarter didn't he??
Made a couple of blues in the 2nd quarter and got replaced, destined to collect splinters in the backside until we ran out of players late in the last quarter.
I was surprised about that too Stiffy.
I was very surprised. He did make a couple of errors but so did the likes of Mattner and Gallagher. He should have had more time on the ground especially once Hart was benched.
How good was Torney?!?!?!?!?!?! I tell you what, that guy has won me over for life with his no bullsh*t attitude. He would die for AFC. He just goes into no mans land at times and I am amazed where go goes. He goes to hell teritory at times. God forbit if he gets hit, that could be it for him. I reckon if you look up the word 'courage' in the dictionary, you would get Torney. Fair Dinkum, this bloke is a true leader.:)
dyertribe
2 Jun 2003, 02:04
I reckon if you look up the word 'courage' in the dictionary, you would get Torney.
In my dictionary, "courage" has a picture of me with a bottle of Jack Daniel's in one hand and a kebab in the other while doing the Karate Kid crane-kick pose in front of two Hindley Street policemen ;)
Seriously though, I had my doubts on JT has well but he has turned out to be a weapon and a half :eek:
JT is the man
I told you all at the start of the year
Once again I have been proved correct!!!:D ;)
Kane McGoodwin
2 Jun 2003, 13:53
Originally posted by Jars458
JT is the man
I told you all at the start of the year
Once again I have been proved correct!!!:D ;) Your a good judge Jars (well most of the time)! ;)
If Biglands is out this week (perish the thought) would we use just the 1 ruckman (Clarke) or will we bring back "our" Ben to help carry the load ??
Mattner seems to be the flavour of the month in the coaches box & to be honest he didn't do a bad job against the Cats so i think he will be there this week at the MCG,
Gallagher had a few telling touches & kicked an important goal in the last quarter but will still come under the microscope on thursday along with Begley who looked a bit out of sorts as well as out of favour at Geelong,
so at this early stage i'm with Stiffy on the ins & outs
in = Ladhams, Carey, & Stenglein,
out = Burns, Bode & either Begley or Gallagher
I dont often give plaudits to Gallagher but I can actually say he did OK against Geelong. Some of his close in stuff was good and he should go again this week.
Begley didnt seem to have any urgency about him :confused:
We should do Hawthorn this week as long as the "wind tunnel" doesnt f*ck up our goalkicking.
Stinga should be well rested and ready to beat Crawford.
Incidentally, poor old Stinga was sporting a huge shiner the last time we played Geelong ( 2002 at the Cattery) as a result of a training mishap; perhaps next time he should be given the night off training.
Originally posted by topjars
I dont often give plaudits to Gallagher but I can actually say he did OK against Geelong. Some of his close in stuff was good and he should go again this week. He did okay in recieving and dishing off the quick handpass. He tried hard for the most part but his kicking continues to let him down.
Originally posted by topjars
I dont often give plaudits to Gallagher but I can actually say he did OK against Geelong. Some of his close in stuff was good and he should go again this week.
He's getting better I must admit. Still burns the ball a bit too much for a player of his natural skill level though. He and Mattner are two of the worst in our side for that.
Both of them will have to improve in this respect if they want to stay in the 22 if and when we ever put our best team on the ground.
Mattner is atrocious skill-wise. He has that kicking style where he brings the ball up from high and drops it on the boot, almost always unsuccessfully. There was the one where he was rebounding off half back, with no pressure, and somehow managed to kick it out of bounds on the full, and then when he was sprinting into goal from 50, he dragged it completely, just managing to scrape in a point. Gags looks like Darren Jarman compared to him.
Stiffy_18
3 Jun 2003, 22:14
Well, Roo is a certainty to play this week. If he can get through 18 holes of golf with his sore back then I am pretty sure he can get through a game of footy.:)
Carey also should play.
So ins and outs so far for me are
IN: Carey, Ladhams, Stenglein
OUT: Bode, Burns, Mattner or Gallagher.
Since Mattner appears to be a match comittee favourite then its bye bye Gags :(
Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 23:04
Since Mattner appears to be a match comittee favourite then its bye bye Gags :( Stupid, stupid, stupid!!! I agree with Ant in that Gags is a much better disposal of the ball than Marty. In fact Gags delivery into the forward line is generally better than Goodwins! Sure he burns some kicks, but he does attempt to use the ball well & usually to gets it right with his execution. Goodwin on the other hand has been bombing the ball making it very difficult for our forwards. His game needs to improve as he has been very disappointing.
Back to the Hawthorn forward line... Thompson injured is a big plus, he is easily their best forward. Holland is past it and Barker is just a dud. Dixon is okay on a good day. Our defence should really murder their attack unless Everitt breaks free. But if he's up forward our ruck dominance will mean the ball won't come down there much. :D
As for the midfield match-ups... I agree with Stenglein on Crawford. Do you think we should also tag Lekkas with say, Torney?
The funny thing is Mattner is the type of player I think we can replace in the team, or already have a replacement for in the team. We're trying to play him as a defender on a smallish type forward and I just don't think it's really working, plus we have a number of options in the side that can play a similar role with the same success.
On the other hand, I think we need a player of Gags pace and (usually) good foot skills through the midfield, to compliment the hard nuts we have in there. I think he generally gives us a better balance, but as Stiffy points out, he'll probably get the boot if the King, Ladhams and Stinger come back in, because Mattner seems to a very close relationship with Ayresy.
Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 23:20
Originally posted by DaveW
Back to the Hawthorn forward line... Thompson injured is a big plus, he is easily their best forward. Holland is past it and Barker is just a dud. Dixon is okay on a good day. Our defence should really murder their attack unless Everitt breaks free. But if he's up forward our ruck dominance will mean the ball won't come down there much. :D
As for the midfield match-ups... I agree with Stenglein on Crawford. Do you think we should also tag Lekkas with say, Torney? I agree Dave that our defence should easily account for their forward line. Also, we should dominate the midfield. Don't worry about the under-rated Lekkas as I'm pretty sure he is injured. Dixon on the otherhand is an over-rated hack.
We've got to watch Lekkas (he's actually got more kicks than Crawf this year and nearly more total possessions), but other than that, we should just go all out and try and win the ball. Forget tags. We should murder their midfield if you look at it man for man. But stranger things have happened and I'd still like us to remain reasonably accountable when we don't have the footy.
Leigh Roy
3 Jun 2003, 23:43
Leave Marty alone.
It's just as well we're doing a bit of semi-blooding in the sense that a lot of younger players are kept in the side together. Playing a number of them together will get them to understand how to go with each other for years to come.
Get what I mean?
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 00:05
Originally posted by Leigh
Leave Marty alone.
It's just as well we're doing a bit of semi-blooding in the sense that a lot of younger players are kept in the side together. Playing a number of them together will get them to understand how to go with each other for years to come.
Get what I mean? Sorry Leigh, but I'll call it as I see it. Mattner will be a good player for the Crows but he has been in poor form for the majority of the games this year. Reckon he has been given a good crack by the coaching staff, but he needs to return to Sturt to get some form & improve his kicking. IMO, he was a better player last year.
This is a big game for the Crows. Skilled Stadium last week and MCG this week. Two road trips on end at a time when we aren't travelling overly well.
If we pinch the points, and I think we can, it's back to Footy Park the week after against Melbourne in the last game before the break, which I think can't come soon enough for our players. The hard pre-season and Wizard Wok matches, plus current injuries, are all taking their toll and we need the chance to regroup, freshen up and get players back.
Stenglein's done well on Crawford before, and if Stinga plays this is a sure match up. I agree with the other posters that apart from that we should attack with our mid-field and let them worry about us rather than the other way around.
IMO, he was a better player last year.
I'm not so sure that was the case Kane, as he never had high possessions last year either. What made him noticeable last year was more his tackling than anything else.
He's still a hard at it player, but not a clever one. As Cornesy has said a few times, he needs to learn how to get the easy ball not just the hard ones.
Ant's comments about his kicking technique are spot on and this is why he burns the ball a lot.
He'll make it though. You can teach them to be smarter but you can't teach them to be gutsy and he is that.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 10:42
I'm not so sure that was the case Kane, as he never had high possessions last year either. What made him noticeable last year was more his tackling than anything else.
He's still a hard at it player, but not a clever one. As Cornesy has said a few times, he needs to learn how to get the easy ball not just the hard ones.
Ant's comments about his kicking technique are spot on and this is why he burns the ball a lot.
He'll make it though. You can teach them to be smarter but you can't teach them to be gutsy and he is that.
Macca, last year Marty was more of negating player & whilst he didn't much of the ball, he kept the pressure on his opponent & also used the ball OK when he disposed of the ball. This year he has been destroyed by many of his opponents & has been far too loose at times. He is not the guy we should be using in a shootout (eg v Woey) as his disposal has been atrocious this year. Agree with Ant that he needs kicking practice with Jars. Also, I agree that he should be a good player for us, but he has had a good run this year & time to return to Sturt (& to think I was one of those who gave him a vote for the Cats game).
Stupid, stupid, stupid!!! I agree with Ant in that Gags is a much better disposal of the ball than Marty. In fact Gags delivery into the forward line is generally better than Goodwins! Sure he burns some kicks, but he does attempt to use the ball well & usually to gets it right with his execution. Goodwin on the other hand has been bombing the ball making it very difficult for our forwards. His game needs to improve as he has been very disappointing.
Mattner is used in a tagging role in defence
Gallagher is a wingman - half forwad and so comparisons of the two players are pointless
If Ladhams comes in he won't be replacing Mattner as its Gallagher who plays the same role.
Mattner will probably play the rest of the season now Crowell is injured. Who do we have that is similar to Mattner in our squad other than Robert Shirley?
Clearly Mattner is the younger player with more potential who is being groomed for the future and is perhaps one we can afford to "carry".
In the last few weeks his opponents havn't dominated so I think its a match up strucutre thing
Ladhams should not come in for Gags. GAgs was preferred and his game was a good one. Ladhams getting 40 touches in a team where no-one else wants the ball should be kept in perspective.
I I'm pretty sure he is injured. Dixon on the otherhand is an over-rated hack.
Lekkas wil play
Dixon has been playing well
If the Hawks use Everitt Barker and Dixon in the forward line it creates problems
Smart cna take Barker and Hart can take Dixon but who gets Everitt.
Far too tall for Bassett. Perhaps McGregor but they odn't like taking him from CHB
I suggested on the Hawks board that the only way to beat us is for Everrit toplay the whole game forward nad for Campbell to ruck and the onballers to conceed the taps and rove off Clarke, just as the Saints and Collingwood did.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 12:23
Mattner is used in a tagging role in defence
Gallagher is a wingman - half forwad and so comparisons of the two players are pointless
If Ladhams comes in he won't be replacing Mattner as its Gallagher who plays the same role.
Mattner will probably play the rest of the season now Crowell is injured. Who do we have that is similar to Mattner in our squad other than Robert Shirley?
Clearly Mattner is the younger player with more potential who is being groomed for the future and is perhaps one we can afford to "carry".
In the last few weeks his opponents havn't dominated so I think its a match up strucutre thing
Ladhams should not come in for Gags. GAgs was preferred and his game was a good one. Ladhams getting 40 touches in a team where no-one else wants the ball should be kept in perspective.
Jars, not denying that Marty & Gags are very different types. I think the comparison came up with who we should drop. I don't see why we need to play Mattner this week when we have ample back flankers - Smart, Hart, Johnc.ock & Torney. IMO, better off attacking & bringing in Ladhams, even if it means playing Goody, Edwards or Macca off the HB line at times. I wouldn't mind seeing Goodwin return back to an attacking HB flanker to rediscover some good form. With Carey coming back in the side (along with Welsh last week) there is not as much need to use our midfielders as forwards, so why not give them a rotation through defence.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 12:26
Lekkas wil play
If the Hawks use Everitt Barker and Dixon in the forward line it creates problems
Far too tall for Bassett. Perhaps McGregor but they odn't like taking him from CHB
I suggested on the Hawks board that the only way to beat us is for Everrit toplay the whole game forward nad for Campbell to ruck and the onballers to conceed the taps and rove off Clarke, just as the Saints and Collingwood did.
I heard theat Lekkas was injutred & would miss a few weeks. Looks like I heard wrong. He is a very good player & needs to be watched along with Crawf. Apart from them it should be all out attack. We should dominate the midfield & not be worrying too much about their attack. They should be worrying more about our players (ie. our midfielders, Perrie, Welsh, Carey, etc). IMO, Hawks are the worst team in the comp at the moment & we should be confident.
Lekkas wil play
Not sure but i think Dixon still has a week to serve on his suspension,
Jars, not denying that Marty & Gags are very different types. I think the comparison came up with who we should drop. I don't see why we need to play Mattner this week when we have ample back flankers - Smart, Hart, Johnc.ock & Torney. IMO, better off attacking & bringing in Ladhams, even if it means playing Goody, Edwards or Macca off the HB line at times. I wouldn't mind seeing Goodwin return back to an attacking HB flanker to rediscover some good form. With Carey coming back in the side (along with Welsh last week) there is not as much need to use our midfielders as forwards, so why not give them a rotation through defence.
All good points Kane. Guess I was trying to see it from the Coaching panels perspective.
Would be very suprised if he was dropped but would not be unhappy if he was.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 12:38
Looks like Thompson, Barker & Hodge to miss, but Dixon & Lekkas to play.
Barker unlikely to replace Thompson
Paul Gough
afl.com.au
6:30:34 PM Mon 2 June, 2003
Star Hawthorn forward John Barker is unlikely to make his long-awaited comeback against Adelaide at the MCG this Saturday despite the injury to spearhead Nathan Thompson.
Barker, the Hawks’ leading goalkicker in 2001, has not played at AFL level in 2003 due to a bout of osteitis pubis but has played the past three games in the VFL for the Box Hill Hawks.
And he loomed as an obvious inclusion on Saturday after Thompson injured a calf in Sunday’s loss to St Kilda – which will sideline him for a month.
However Hawthorn football manager John Hook said Barker is still not quite ready for the demands of AFL level.
“He is not a walk-up start (to return) for this week,” Hook said. “We want to give him the chance to get his match fitness up.”
Hook said Barker had not been helped on the weekend by windy conditions in the match against Springvale which limited the opportunities for forwards.
But he still managed to kick one goal in the Box Hill Hawks’ 15-point win.
If Barker does not return for the round 11 match against Adelaide, the Hawks could be tempted to not bring him back until after the mid-season break – which comes after the club’s round 12 clash against Collingwood.
The Hawks however will welcome back another of their best forwards this week in Ben Dixon from suspension however No.1 draft choice Luke Hodge will miss at least another week with a broken thumb.
But prolific midfielder Angelo Lekkas will play against the Crows, despite the badly broken nose he sustained against the Saints on Sunday.
goaldrush
4 Jun 2003, 14:50
that article was written on Monday. I don't believe a single word of it. Yet on Friday the same person said that John Barker would be playing for Hawthorn against Adelaide.
:confused:
Ladhams should not come in for Gags. GAgs was preferred and his game was a good one. Ladhams getting 40 touches in a team where no-one else wants the ball should be kept in perspective. I tend to disagree. IMO Ladhams is a first choice player, he was dropped through lack of form. He's found that form and deserves to be back in the side.
As for Mattner, I tend to agree with Kane. We have an excess of defenders at the moment. There's no way he'd make a side with Carey, Stevens and Burton fit. Even if these guys play completely different roles to Mattner.
Angelo Lekkas will play
Ben Dixon was only given a week and he will return to the side this week.
Robert Campbell or John Barker will replace Thompson
Stiffy_18
4 Jun 2003, 18:26
Carey and Stenglein are definite selections.:) They got through the training today:D
Burton made it through as well Stiffy, so he could be a chance to come back as well. It's a question of how many half fit players you risk, I guess.
If we say that Bode and Burns do miss (although Burns is still a half chance), then Carey and Stinga take there palce with the net result being an extra tall up forward.
Doughty is in doubt according to Ch 9 tonight, and if he misses then Burton probably comes in. Presuming Doughty does play, Stiffy's starting 18 below would be pretty close to the mark.
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 18. Graham John****
My only question is more with the interchange. Do we bring back Ladhams for Gallagher or give him another game in the SANFL? Do we play Burton this week or wait one more week?
Whichever way we go, the presence of the extra tall up forward certainly makes the forward line look much more dangerous. :)
Nige_Bix
4 Jun 2003, 21:49
I'd keep Gallagher and give Mattner a rest - but doubt that GA will agree.
Stiffy_18
4 Jun 2003, 22:02
Do we play Burton this week or wait one more week? I wouldn't! He only played one game in last 8-9 weeks. I would give him another run with the Eagles and Bring him in next week against Melbourne. I doubt Burns will make it.
Personally I would keep Gags, recall Ladhams and send Mattner to SANFL. I doubt match comittee will agree with me.:(
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 22:50
I wouldn't! He only played one game in last 8-9 weeks. I would give him another run with the Eagles and Bring him in next week against Melbourne. I doubt Burns will make it.
Personally I would keep Gags, recall Ladhams and send Mattner to SANFL. I doubt match comittee will agree with me.:( I agree Stiffy, I would bring back the Birdman through the Eagles & rest Burns. We don't need to rosk them now that Carey & Welsh are back to help out Sarge.
You all know my thoughts on the Ladhams/Gags/Mattner debate, so won't bore you with it again.
RaDaR ReiLLy
4 Jun 2003, 23:08
I think we should certainly recall Lads, considering he had a 40 possession game playing in the sanfl on the weekend :eek:
but im not sure who will be omitted for him....maybe Doughty through injury, because he was sore today and didnt train. But whether or not its a worry is another question.....
I don't know if Burnsy is likely to miss guys.....going on various reports and what Goody said on 5AA, seems like he's in with a big show of being named and playing. Makes selection even harder if he comes up!
I'm really looking forward to this week's game at the G, it's not exactly breaking news but the boys love playing there, we seem to lift a cog (just thinking of our recent record there, think we played Richmond & Melbourne in 2001 for wins? and beat the Dees again last year, along with a loss to the Pies. Am I missing any recent MCG games?). We hardly ever play there during the home and away season :mad:
And I'm sure the King can't wait to return to his castle, the home of football, where he made his name :D
tony_woods_fan
5 Jun 2003, 11:34
It would be good if Burns does miss.
Carn the hawks.
Kane McGoodwin
5 Jun 2003, 11:39
Originally posted by tony_woods_fan
It would be good if Burns does miss.
Carn the hawks. Crows ins this week are likely to much better than their outs! Carey, Stenglein, Burton, Ladhams are all possibilities to come in. Only Bode has been ruled out at this stage.
GOALden Hawk
6 Jun 2003, 11:05
It's good to see you guys rate Lekkas so highly - the guy is a great player, doesn't get the recognition he deserves. But reports from training last night suggest he won't play.
We've included a whole heap of talls, very sensible given it's going to be 14 and hail. :rolleyes:
This match will be won in the midfield, and you should slaughter us even without Clarke. We haven't had a player get over 20 possessions for 2 weeks straight now! Don't listen to the media, Crawf has been awful this year, no where near our best player.
Vandenberg and Tallis will be given tagging jobs, but both are in shocking form at the moment. My hope is Joel Smith is thrown into the midfield given our taller backline, I can't see an obvious matchup for him.
We have only kicked over 100 points once this year - we just don't have goal kickers. Rawlings is now out of form and will go back, leaving Dixon, Holland and Barlow to find the goals.
The Hawk HQ preview has us losing by 47 points. I think the weather might make it a bit closer, but I can't see us getting within 4 goals.
Jars - like your idea in theory, but our players couldn't even ruck to Everitt when he was winning the taps last week. Apart from Sam Mitchell we don't have a single player who can read the ball at a stoppage situation.
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
It's good to see you guys rate Lekkas so highly - the guy is a great player, doesn't get the recognition he deserves. But reports from training last night suggest he won't play.
We've included a whole heap of talls, very sensible given it's going to be 14 and hail. :rolleyes:
This match will be won in the midfield, and you should slaughter us even without Clarke. We haven't had a player get over 20 possessions for 2 weeks straight now! Don't listen to the media, Crawf has been awful this year, no where near our best player.
Vandenberg and Tallis will be given tagging jobs, but both are in shocking form at the moment. My hope is Joel Smith is thrown into the midfield given our taller backline, I can't see an obvious matchup for him.
We have only kicked over 100 points once this year - we just don't have goal kickers. Rawlings is now out of form and will go back, leaving Dixon, Holland and Barlow to find the goals.
The Hawk HQ preview has us losing by 47 points. I think the weather might make it a bit closer, but I can't see us getting within 4 goals.
Jars - like your idea in theory, but our players couldn't even ruck to Everitt when he was winning the taps last week. Apart from Sam Mitchell we don't have a single player who can read the ball at a stoppage situation.
GH
I am worried because I see Hawks as a much better team than their ladder position suggests. They have showed a lot of fight against Geelong and the Saints in my view and think if things go right they could cause an upset
Clarke is a massive loss for us. If Biglands got hurt I would give the Hakws the game.
Midfield is our strenght but on cold wet days some of our flashier players go missing and with Roo carrying a bit of an injury we are definitley vulnerable.
Mitchell, Brown Lekkas and Vandeberg are the types who sould go well on a wet and windy day
Smith should definitley be in the midield in my view as he is wasted in defence.
Perhaps use Crawford up forward to take one our midfielders out of it.
I won't see the game as I will be at soccer but I will have all my fingers and toes crossed
Crows by 11 points.
Let us just hope the result is close and doesnt end up being the blow-out that a few are expecting. we are due for win and to beat one of the big guns would be wonderful for our badly depleted confidence.
Cmon Hawks
This has to be our week!!!
Carey and Stenglein are definite selections.:) You were saying? :(
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
That's a great preview, not just because we're tipped to win by 47, but it's actually bloody funny.
"Marquee Midfield Match Up: Andrew McLeod vs. Mark Ricciuto vs. Simon Goodwin vs. Tyson Edwards
This will be the most interesting contest in the midfield. On current form, the Crows will not have an easier day in the guts, ever. I predict bedlam. "
If only this was true.....very good read though :)
Stiffy_18
6 Jun 2003, 20:07
Originally posted by DaveW
You were saying? :( Lesson to be learned: Never trust channel 10.;)
Stiffy_18
6 Jun 2003, 20:42
Here is take 2
_ F: _9. Tyson Edwards _ 24. Brett Burton _ 32. Mark Ricciuto
HF: _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 11. Michael Doughty
C: _ 28. James Begley _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 3. Kris Massie
1R: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 23. Andrew McLeod
Int: _ 31. Ben Marsh _ 21. James Gallagher _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 39. Martin Mattner
I have said before why Welsh should start on the bench. He should be brought on 5-10 minutes into the 1st quarter and stay on for the rest of the game.
Thoughts??????;)
Here is take 2
_ F: _9. Tyson Edwards _ 24. Brett Burton _ 32. Mark Ricciuto
HF: _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 11. Michael Doughty
C: _ 28. James Begley _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 3. Kris Massie
1R: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 23. Andrew McLeod
Int: _ 31. Ben Marsh _ 21. James Gallagher _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 39. Martin Mattner
I have said before why Welsh should start on the bench. He should be brought on 5-10 minutes into the 1st quarter and stay on for the rest of the game.
Thoughts??????;)
Interestingly enough I'm one of those who think that we actually look better without a partially fit Carey if the conditions are going to be as bad as anticipated.
I'd definitely start Welsh on the ground so that Roo can start in the midfield, which is where we have to crush the Hawks if we are going to win the game.
The weather forecast is a real worry - see below.
"Forecast for Melbourne Issued at 1625 on Friday the 6th of June 2003
Tonight and Saturday
Showers with the chance of a thunderstorm and hail. Dust clearing overnight.
Mostly cloudy with strong to gale force northwest to westerly winds shifting
southwesterly during Saturday and easing."
Those shifting gale force winds could play a big role in deciding the winner of this match. I hope not!!
Stiffy_18
6 Jun 2003, 21:59
Interestingly enough I'm one of those who think that we actually look better without a partially fit Carey if the conditions are going to be as bad as anticipated.
I'd definitely start Welsh on the ground so that Roo can start in the midfield, which is where we have to crush the Hawks if we are going to win the game.
The weather forecast is a real worry - see below.
"Forecast for Melbourne Issued at 1625 on Friday the 6th of June 2003
Tonight and Saturday
Showers with the chance of a thunderstorm and hail. Dust clearing overnight.
Mostly cloudy with strong to gale force northwest to westerly winds shifting
southwesterly during Saturday and easing."
Those shifting gale force winds could play a big role in deciding the winner of this match. I hope not!! Weather forcast will certainly make this match closer, hell I think it will be the lowest scoring game of the round.
I agree re Carey missing. It dies make as a bit better especially in the wet. Since its going to be wet our tall forwards MUST wear gloves. Burton is the one that can be a real bonus if played at FF. He can mark but will provide contest and bring the ball to our crumbers. I think Roo, Bickley, Torney and Masie will relish in wet conditions.
Tho Marsh is a worry.:(