View Full Version : Bombers considering a move from Windy Hill

Pages : [1] 2

Godzke
5 May 2010, 05:00
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bombers-consider-move-from-windy-hill-20100504-u76s.html
ESSENDON chief executive Ian Robson last night confirmed that the Bombers were considering alternative homes to Windy Hill.
With the club embroiled in a dispute with its neighbouring bowls club and yet to finally resolve the future of the Essendon Cricket Club, Robson said that Essendon would be forced to leave its long-time home if those stakeholders refused to budge.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bombers-consider-move-from-windy-hill-20100504-u76s.html

hmmm ... I know this is not a new issue but an ongoing one that Ant had a few interesting points last time this was debated but I query the government's willingness to consider our redevelopment funding proposal if we're now considering a move away from the Hill.

The Dustbin
5 May 2010, 08:16
That bloody bowls club.

Towno78
5 May 2010, 08:56
Seriously, how hard could it be to set up a bowls club elsewhere in the area?

daffo
5 May 2010, 09:01
S**t, I thought you meant players that were considering leaving to go to the new teams.
This isn't as bad.

Personally on this matter, I can't see the Bombers moving from Windy Hill. It's a great ground.

DapperDon
5 May 2010, 09:46
Bluff from Robson, Bowls club would fold without Essendon around.

Towno78
5 May 2010, 11:16
Bluff from Robson, Bowls club would fold without Essendon around.
Yeh, this is what I thought too. Hope this is the case.

Bomber Bears
5 May 2010, 11:28
Whats happening with the cricket club?

LeeARM
5 May 2010, 11:33
I hope it's a bluff. I'd hate for Essendon to move to the city like Collingwood have, especially as someone living in Essendon.

Jaymin
5 May 2010, 11:35
I reckon they should move to the Eastern Suburbs! :thumbsu:;)

Godzke
5 May 2010, 11:41
I would not stand in the way of this. :D

Kong
5 May 2010, 11:49
Look they may as well shift over to Kardinia Park.

I would provide thorough training reports each session.

theboxmike
5 May 2010, 14:33

Agreed :thumbsu::D

Towno78
5 May 2010, 14:33
Look they may as well shift over to Kardinia Park.

I would provide thorough training reports each session.
I can see Windy Hill out my bedroom window, wouldn't have it any other way

LeeARM
5 May 2010, 14:43
I can see Windy Hill out my bedroom window, wouldn't have it any other way

You still would. Just Essendon wouldn't train there.

bombre-boy
5 May 2010, 15:35

Yup...i'll vote for that...

Frothies Mcveigh
5 May 2010, 15:59
Hope it is a bluff. Just wouldnt be the same if we moved away from Winidy Hill.

OzBomber
5 May 2010, 16:05

Agree with this. :D They can come to Frankston instead of St Kilda.

theboxmike
5 May 2010, 16:07
Agree with this. :D They can come to Frankston instead of St Kilda.

Jesus we don't want them going out that far :thumbsd:

lards
5 May 2010, 16:13

If you mean the Eastern Suburbs of Adelaide, then I fully endorse your post. I could actually use my membership for once.:D:thumbsu:

Kong
5 May 2010, 16:38
I can see Windy Hill out my bedroom window, wouldn't have it any other waySo we can expect a training report on Friday? ;)

Skeeta Olly
5 May 2010, 17:48

North Eastern. :p You've already got the Hawks, need a team North of the Yarra.

LB#16
5 May 2010, 17:56
Has become Essendon's spiritual home ground with so many memories there. I hope it is a bluff like others have said, because if it's not :thumbsd:

Skeeta Olly
5 May 2010, 18:07
I doubt they'll move. I can't see a bowls club forcing an AFL club from it's home ground. It wouldn't survive without EFC anyway.

Call Me Cake
5 May 2010, 19:13
SUE THE MOTHER****ERS

http://x6.no/images/upload/phoenix_wright_news.jpg

Skeeta Olly
5 May 2010, 19:15
SUE THE MOTHER****ERS

http://x6.no/images/upload/phoenix_wright_news.jpg

But..

http://static.episode39.it/character/718.jpg

Call Me Cake
5 May 2010, 19:25
But..

http://static.episode39.it/character/718.jpg

We're ****ed.

Call Me Cake
5 May 2010, 19:33
In that case...

I reckon they should move to the Western Suburbs! :thumbsu:;)

Fix'd.

:D

Skeeta Olly
5 May 2010, 19:39
How about..

The Bacchus Marsh Bombers? Too far West maybs..

Phone
5 May 2010, 19:41
I have some spare room in my place.

Call Me Cake
5 May 2010, 19:45
How about..

The Bacchus Marsh Bombers? Too far West maybs..

http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/attachments/5/1/0/6/a1967586-186-tumbleweed.jpg

:p

Skeeta Olly
5 May 2010, 19:48
http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/attachments/5/1/0/6/a1967586-186-tumbleweed.jpg

:p

Looks like a good tagger. Possible replacement for Welsh?

adii_7
5 May 2010, 21:36

lolllll :thumbsu:

Godzke
5 May 2010, 22:16
gold! :thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
5 May 2010, 22:27
I reckon they should stay right where they are.

Or move a k west. Not fussed.

GuzzLG
5 May 2010, 23:08
Move the Bowls club here:

http://southparkstudios.mtvnimages.com/media/images/710/710_image_04.jpg

yaco55
5 May 2010, 23:14
Do you think Robson is bluffing ?

This has been an ongoing issue for the last 5 years and I believe Essendon is one of only 2 victorian AFL clubs that dont have 12 month access to their training venue.

Hawthorn and Collingwood have moved their training base in the last few years and Melbourne, StKilda and Richmond will be moving in the next 12 months.

It is strange that the wealthiest club in Victoria doesn't have a full time training base.

FandangoDingo
6 May 2010, 02:12
Whats happening with the cricket club?

I believe they've already agreed to a relocation.

smcateer
6 May 2010, 08:49
My solution would involve buying a couple of properties and bulldozing those houses.

My solution:
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_aPYiqThaPgc/S-H1oYfISwI/AAAAAAAAAR4/dPBY3nCBaXw/Windy%20Hill%202.jpg

Godzke
6 May 2010, 09:07
Nice SMC. I was thinking something similar since Nicholson street is already blocked up, meaning the council shouldn't mind us building across it.

http://images.theage.com.au/ftage/ffximage/2008/10/11/majshennan_wideweb__470x317,0.jpg

mark1881
6 May 2010, 09:14
The Cricket Club has agreed to move out, the bowls club will be pushed out. They will feel some almighty heat from disgruntled Bomber fans if they don't budge. Robson has thrown fuel on the fire, I like this guy! I understand its unfair on the bowls club and community but the Essendon FC affects far more people than the bowls club.

Godzke
6 May 2010, 09:27
The Cricket Club has agreed to move out, the bowls club will be pushed out. They will feel some almighty heat from disgruntled Bomber fans if they don't budge. Robson has thrown fuel on the fire, I like this guy! I understand its unfair on the bowls club and community but the Essendon FC affects far more people than the bowls club.
Not necessarily. The fact Robson and co have gone hat in hand to the federal government for grants was to help fund the existing facilities to be used as a community centre.

It's just the bowls club.

Redb#
6 May 2010, 16:00
Agree it sounds like a bluff to go public and bring some pressure on them.

My first thoughts where Robson?? , been there 5 mins ready to just piss off our tradition. :thumbsd:

Longy413
6 May 2010, 21:25
I believe they've already agreed to a relocation.

They have, but the locals in the area (Fairbairn Park) are trying to stop it happening.

My solution would involve buying a couple of properties and bulldozing those houses.

Those properties are worth a million plus each, I would reckon.

Be cheaper just to build a complete new facility out behind DFO.

AJ_2000
6 May 2010, 21:29
When the MCC bowls club were moved from their old location outside the ponsford stand (on the eve of their 100 years from memory), they got given a couple of million dollars for their trouble.

Should we be able to sump up that kind of cash I am sure the bowls club will pack up and relocate....

brad
6 May 2010, 21:36

All we need is 171 Essendon fans to join the Essendon Bowling Club and vote for them to relocate. Surely it's not that hard.

I'll join if it means we're staying PUT!

Kong
6 May 2010, 21:40
All we need is 171 Essendon fans to join the Essendon Bowling Club and vote for them to relocate. Surely it's not that hard.

I'll join if it means we're staying PUT!I don't know if you were being facetious, but I'd do it, and seriously encourage 169 others to do the same if it meant we could go ahead as planned.

AJ_2000
6 May 2010, 21:51

I'll join if it means we're staying PUT!

Not as easy as you might think. Bowls clubs operate with private membership, they don't have to accept anyone with the cash (like an AFL club). No 3 game membership packs here :D

Mind you, in a reverse way East Malvern bowls clubs were able to survive. Cabrini hospital wanted to take over land, and the club was out of cash, so the local residents all bought memberships to keep the club afloat and stop Cabrini for expanding even more.

yaco55
7 May 2010, 00:08
I have no issue with moving as long, as the EFC has 12 month access to a training venue.

It is a major failing that such a wealthy club, doesn't have full access to their training base.

stay true
7 May 2010, 00:19
I honestly can't see us relocating because of a bowls club. It probably doesn't mean much to some, but I love the fact we're still based at Windy Hill. I'd hate to see us lose a spiritual home thanks to some codgers at the shitty bowls club (I've been inside and it's nothing special at all).

It's about time we got full time access to Windy Hill.

Ludwig van Bertstare
29 May 2010, 22:12
Garry Lyon was pretty adamant that if we were to move it would be to the Showgrounds on MMM today.

Godzke
29 May 2010, 22:21
Showgrounds? Wow. That would be a massive move but one that seems the most logical.

Meanwhile my buttered toast, cottage cheese, chive, tomato sandwhich has finished. :( Probably needed some gourmet salt but otherwise the perfect late night snack.

Longy413
29 May 2010, 22:22
Garry Lyon was pretty adamant that if we were to move it would be to the Showgrounds on MMM today.

I've heard Essendon Airport.

Ludwig van Bertstare
29 May 2010, 22:28
I've heard Essendon Airport.

That's what Damien Barrett was suggesting.

Ben the Gooner
29 May 2010, 22:31
Meanwhile my buttered toast, cottage cheese, chive, tomato sandwhich has finished. :( Probably needed some gourmet salt but otherwise the perfect late night snack.

Butter and cottage cheese in the same sandwich? Not a huge fan.

Chives was an inspired choice.

stay true
29 May 2010, 22:33
I heard the president/chairman whatever of the bowls club who is the one who is being a stubborn prick is the same bloke who was the president/chairman of the cricket club. He was carrying on with the same shit but they told him to get stuffed and they booted him off the board and relocated. He then joined the bowls club board and is being a pest again.

Got a feeling the club are slowly pulling all support for the bowls club. They've recently stopped running the bar and organising functions for them.

Longy413
29 May 2010, 22:39
I heard the president/chairman whatever of the bowls club who is the one who is being a stubborn prick is the same bloke who was the president/chairman of the cricket club. They told him to get stuffed and they booted him off the board and relocated and he joined the bowls club board.

Got a feeling the club are slowly pulling all support for the bowls club. They've recently stopped running the bar and organising functions for them.

The bloke who is the president of the bowls club, was formally the president of the cricket club and I'm pretty sure he's also a life member of the footy club.

He has done more for the Essendon sporting community than most others.

He isn't stubborn and he isn't a prick.

He was the President of the cricket club a long time ago, he wasn't booted, he started playing bowls and as a result couldn't commit to the cricket club. The cricket club committee that agreed to the move, had nothing to do with the current bowls president (Ron Hare) because he hasn't been involved with the CC for years. The cricket club agreed to relocate because a new home was found for them.

The bowls club haven't said they wouldn't move, they just want a new home to be found for them. All fair and reasonable.

stay true
29 May 2010, 22:46
Fair enough Longy, was just saying what I've heard but I stand corrected.:thumbsu:

Godzke
30 May 2010, 10:13
Butter and cottage cheese in the same sandwich? Not a huge fan.

Chives was an inspired choice.
Only enough butter to soften the toast. Don't really notice any clash with the cheese.

Ben the Gooner
30 May 2010, 11:59
It's an unlikely combination to pay off, so well played sir.:thumbsu:

Mecha
30 May 2010, 14:43
The bowls club haven't said they wouldn't move, they just want a new home to be found for them. All fair and reasonable.

Incorrect. On the news they clearly said they weren't going to move. Reason being, they were there first.

Godzke
30 May 2010, 15:01
That bowls club is more irritating than a pimple on the ballsack.

LeeARM
30 May 2010, 16:25
Why aren't we trying to move that croquet club instead? There seems to be more room on that end of the ground.

Longy413
30 May 2010, 16:56
Incorrect. On the news they clearly said they weren't going to move. Reason being, they were there first.

Okay, let me rephrase that.
Originally the bowls club were happy to move.

A new home was found for them, they had their bags packed, but the council said no.

So now, they won't move because there are no other options within the shire.

It hasn't been their position from the outset.

If the council changed their mind tomorrow, the bowls club would move.

Why aren't we trying to move that croquet club instead? There seems to be more room on that end of the ground.

They want to make the ground wider, there is already enough space to make it longer. The croquet is up in the forward pocket, doesn't help them to achieve in widening ground.

morebeer
30 May 2010, 17:22
That precinct would be an absolute dive if the bombers left. Laughable really that the old pricks are digging their heals in. If the footy club leave, in 5 years time the council would rip it up and re zone it. Plus most of the 170 members would have carked it.

Longy413
30 May 2010, 17:28
Play sport morebeer?

Bomber Bears
30 May 2010, 18:50
So is the cricket club permenantly moved? Bit sad, considering it's the Essendon Cricket Ground and they'd use it for actual games, not just training.

Daytripper
2 Jun 2010, 10:33
I believe a media conference is being called by EFC this morning to announce that they are officiallly seeking a new home base. :(:(:(

DapperDon
2 Jun 2010, 10:41
This saddens me, but if it means we gain far better facilities then so be it.

I assume our funding to the bowls club also finds a new home? I'll be even more angry if we continue to supporting those pricks.

bombre-boy
2 Jun 2010, 11:05
Essendon to officially announce they are looking for a new home....
Press conference to be held this arvo....

It sux, but better facilities and total access for the whole year will hopefully make the team better..

Kaiser Powser
2 Jun 2010, 11:08
Whoa whoa whoa, wait a minute, can we get back on topic?....Was the cheese, tomato and chive sandwich toasted, or was it a sandwich made with toast?

And was it as good as it sounded?

Eleven 38
2 Jun 2010, 11:25
as long as we dont move 40kms away like the saints demons and tigers!!

itd be a shame if bomberland turned into melton instead of bring essendon as they already own the country club up there i think!

beev
2 Jun 2010, 11:57
f*** the council f*** the bowls club. Essendon isn't Essendon without the footy club. Windy Hill is so historic for our club. It is our ground, our home. Anything else just wouldn't feel like a home.

tubbis
2 Jun 2010, 12:06
Bye Bye Windy Hill.. you'll be sorely missed.
Stupid senile old codgers.. I bet they think they're all very proud of themselves for "sticking it up to the man".
I hope that Bowls club collapses.

Slattery_20
2 Jun 2010, 12:14
James Hird for Mayor!!!
Re-zone a bit of land, sign the contracts, turn the first sod, resign.

Walesy
2 Jun 2010, 12:17
This news is sad. :( It's a real shame that it couldn't be worked out.

Stupid council- can't we send some kind of petition to get that land re-zoned? :) Maybe drop a dump truck load of Richmond supporters on their front door?

Slattery_20
2 Jun 2010, 12:27
This news is sad. :( It's a real shame that it couldn't be worked out.

Stupid council- can't we send some kind of petition to get that land re-zoned? :) Maybe drop a dump truck load of Richmond supporters on their front door?
Other clubs have threatened to go to a different council. Most of the councils have stared down the bluff.

TeamHurley
2 Jun 2010, 12:38
FFS is Darryl Kerrigan a member down at the bowls club or something.
Sounds like it is more the fault of the council than the bowls club.

Also sounds like we could us a bigger playing field anyway so wouldnt be to concerned if we moved.

Their loss.

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 12:40
Really disappointed we're leaving Windy Hill if this is true.Whoa whoa whoa, wait a minute, can we get back on topic?....Was the cheese, tomato and chive sandwich toasted, or was it a sandwich made with toast?

And was it as good as it sounded?
hahaha

Nah just made with toast. If I toasted the whole sandwich I think the cottage cheese and tomato would've made a royal mess.

And yes, ****ing tastes brilliant. But as I said, needs a bit of salt ... preferably the gourmet stuff if you've got it.

ps: this was an open one-slice sandwhich, not a closed sandwich with two pieces of bread.

edit*: Are we sure this press conference is about Windy Hill or that certain Bomber we know coming out??

morebeer
2 Jun 2010, 12:48
Its a pity they can't stay at their spiritual home especially since they have ploughed so much cash into it over the years.

Not sure if its all worth it just to make the dimensions the same as the G, but anyway, not too fussed either way.

Eleven 38
2 Jun 2010, 12:53
Its a pity they can't stay at their spiritual home especially since they have ploughed so much cash into it over the years.

Not sure if its all worth it just to make the dimensions the same as the G, but anyway, not too fussed either way.

i agree we play alright at the G, IMO they should be trying to get a subiaco size ground! better still make it as wide as the G and as long as subiaco...

Slattery_20
2 Jun 2010, 13:10
And yes, ****ing tastes brilliant. But as I said, needs a bit of salt ... preferably the gourmet stuff if you've got it.

Given you made this sandwich on or around May 29th, I am amazed at both it's continued presence & indeed quality.
I'd say what a 4 day old sandwich needs is not salt, probably a bin.

whats_at_stake
2 Jun 2010, 13:20
Part of this has been brought about by the previous inaction of the board. What the club SHOULD have been doing over the past 5 years is negotiating with the Bowls club and looking up for more viable alternatives. Change takes time and you cannot simply suddenly force a change.

They also should have stopped funding the Bowls club 5 years ago as a tactic and eventually the Bowls Club would have realised they needed the money and agreed to a move. Now, then can only realise this once Essendon move which will be too late for us.

Robson and Evans is doing well and seems to be at the forefront of ensuring our on field success occurs. Not happy with the older board, president and CEO not doing anything about a facility for years.

bomberfan84
2 Jun 2010, 13:45
didn't they just resurface the ground? no way they are going to move, it is the home of the essendon football club.

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 13:47
Given you made this sandwich on or around May 29th, I am amazed at both it's continued presence & indeed quality.
I'd say what a 4 day old sandwich needs is not salt, probably a bin.
I've pumped it full of preservatives. Secret recipe. It's the same stuff that Gumby gets injections for so he doesn't get stale and get injured. :D

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 14:44
Judging by the twitter feed...

# David has completed his press conference. There will be a full news story on the site shortly. 5 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"My first interest is in the long term sustainability of this football club." 6 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"There is no pressure (on the bowls club) from us. They have their own decision to make." 7 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"Hopefully we are talking about a decision before the end of the year." 8 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"We may still stay... We love Windy Hill, but we love our footy club more and we need to give our club the best." 9 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"We need to secure the best options for the future of the football club." - David Evans 11 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

"We're not saying we're going, but we are exploring the options to (move)." 12 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

David Evans is talking to the media now about the issues surrounding the club's need to find a long term home ground facility. 13 minutes ago via Twitter for iPhone

... I don't see what the point of the press conference was about. Just rehashing that we are looking for a new venue but we may stay.

zacka123
2 Jun 2010, 14:49
I'll all for the move. It has effected Collingwood or Hawthorn.

Son of Whispy
2 Jun 2010, 14:58
The bowls club could make an absolute fortune from their swear jar from the irate Essendon supporters out there.

It'll be a sad day for Essendon if they end up leaving Windy Hill.

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 14:59
EFC (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7520)The Essendon Football Club today announced it will call for expressions of interest from local land-holders interested in having the club relocate there and build a new training and community facility.EFC (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7520)

EFC (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7520)
Club chairman David Evans said the board had given approval for the club to seriously begin exploring other location options for a $28 million facility.
EFC (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7520)

$28m? Jesus.

UpTheGuts
2 Jun 2010, 15:16
$28m? Jesus.

Not that much, $28m.

We are spending $30m+ on Punt Road and Craigieburn.

Correction, we are spending $1.5m. Your taxes pay the rest!!!:D

Runknisse
2 Jun 2010, 15:18
So many memories at Windy Hill. Wonderful ones.

That being said I'm realist and I know that the Essendon Bowls club aren't going to go anywhere. The EFC has to move if it truly wants a first class facility. Sadly that location is no longer Windy Hill. I'm all for a move to the Showgrounds or Essendon Airport area.

Keep in mind too that the Bowls club was there first and invited the EFC to come top the ground. If I was a hardcore Bowls member I wouldn't move either.

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 15:36
Not that much, $28m.

Under the existing plans, the federal government would contribute as well as part of developing a community centre in the region. I imagine a similar plan for the proposed move would occur as well.

Slattery_20
2 Jun 2010, 15:39
Not that much, $28m.

Well, the Tiggies have always been a good guide of what to do off-field.

Now... why are you here?

Ludwig van Bertstare
2 Jun 2010, 15:40
Good news.

Lance Uppercut
2 Jun 2010, 16:04
ps: this was an open one-slice sandwhich, not a closed sandwich with two pieces of bread.

mmm open face club sandwich

http://scrapetv.com/News/News%20Pages/Science/Images/drooling-homer-simpson.jpg

Godzke
2 Jun 2010, 16:06
Just ate 6 of em! But with leek instead of chives. Good, but I prefer chives.

Bomber Bears
2 Jun 2010, 17:32
So what are they going to do to Windy Hill if we are gone? Leave it for 'community use.' Do something similar to Victoria Park?

KaaN10
2 Jun 2010, 17:47
I don't mind moving out of Windy Hill if the new training area is going to be top notch.

Darealrath
2 Jun 2010, 20:43
I really hope we're bluffing. Windy Hill is such a special place to go to, it just feels like Essendon.

Daytripper
2 Jun 2010, 22:15
I really hope we're bluffing. Windy Hill is such a special place to go to, it just feels like Essendon.

^^^^
This.

It holds so many great memories and is a major part of the community.

Dr Moose
2 Jun 2010, 22:20
FFS is Darryl Kerrigan a member down at the bowls club or something.
Sounds like it is more the fault of the council than the bowls club.

Also sounds like we could us a bigger playing field anyway so wouldnt be to concerned if we moved.

Their loss.
Don't you mean Mick Molloy? I thought wars between licensed clubs always came down to "he with the most pokies wins"