View Full Version : Nsw/act Rams U18 Side Topples South Australia

Phil Doyle
2 Jun 2003, 14:21
MEDIA RELEASE FROM THE AFL (NSW/ACT) COMMISSION
The NSW/ACT U18 RAMS had a thrilling 11 point win over South Australia at the Richmond Oval in Adelaide yesterday.

It was the first time that an underage NSW/ACT State team had played one of the "traditional" States since 1995.

The scheduled match was part of the revised program for the RAMS this year which includes a match against a division one team.

South Australia, along with Western Australia, Victoria Country and Victoria Metro are the `traditional’ teams that make up division one at the AFL National U18 Championships each year.

NSW/ACT, Tasmania, QLD and Northern Territory play in Division II at the Championships with NSW/ACT winning in 2000 and finishing runners up in 2001/2002.

Although physically smaller, the RAMS opened the game aggressively, punching the ball to ground and tackling strongly. To combat their taller opponents the RAMS players carried the ball when clear, in an effort to kick to a one-on-one contest and their foot skills were excellent.

The forwards worked hard to create space for one another and key forwards, David Trotter (4 goals) and Kyle Archibald (3), constantly presented themselves to their team-mates up the ground. Both lads are members of the AFL/AIS Academy that recently toured Ireland.

The defence, led by David Boers and Scott Faulkner, was strong all day and withstood great pressure from the South Australian side which had seven players over 190cms tall and several AIS/AFL Academy players.

Tim Holobowski provided plenty of run out of defence, and his goal in the dying minutes put the game beyond reach of the South Australians and sealed a historic victory for the RAMS.

17-year-old ruckman Earl Shaw and his back up Steve Gill, playing his first game for the RAMS, both worked tirelessly and provided their small mid-fielders with countless opportunities at all stoppages.

But it was the midfield that tipped the match in favour of the RAMS. Captain Nick Potter was inspirational in the centre, while David Love, Dale Perrett, Andrew Hodgson, Jared Kahlefeldt, Glenn Stevens and Chris Noordhof won plenty of possessions by putting their bodies on the line and applying constant pressure to South Australia’s fleet of midfielders.

The team was: Tim Addison (Bankstown), Kyle Archibald (Ungarie), Jared Kahlefeldt (Wagga), David Boers (Pennant Hills), Adam Leechman (Eastlake), Nick Potter (Pennant Hills), Scott Faulkner (Ainslie), Matt Leeds (East Coast Eagles), David Love (Belconnen), Rhys Cutifani (Wollongong Lions), Tim Holobowski (Deniliquin), Dale Perrett (St George), Earl Shaw (Penrith), Ed Clarke (North Shore), Brad Cross (Pennant Hills), Andrew Hodgson (Pennant Hills), David Trotter (Lockhart), Justin Barratt (Pennant Hills), Drew Dunscombe (Leeton), Steve Gill (Weston Creek), Chris Noordhof (Western Suburbs) and Glenn Stevens (Campbelltown).

Head Coach Rod Carter was ecstatic with the win.

"It was a great team effort. The players had a game plan and they rarely deviated from that plan," Carter said.

"This will assist the team in the preparation for the National Championship coming up in early July."

The RAMS U18 side travels to Melbourne later this week for two Challenge CUP matches over the Queens birthday long week-end.

They will play Queensland this Friday (June 6) from 11am at Optus Oval, and back up against the Northern Territory at 11am on Monday (June 9).

The team for this week-ends matches will be announced tomorrow.

The Challenge CUP consists of the division II teams and is programmed to prepare the States for the AFL National Championships held from July 3-12 in Melbourne.

FINAL SCORE
South Australia V NSW/ACT
NSW/ACT 5.1 8.3 12.5 14.10.94
Sth Australia 4.3 6.4 9.9 12.11.83
Best Players
NSW/ACT: David Trotter, David Love, Kyle Archibald, Jared Kahlefeldt, David Boers, Andrew Hodgson, Nick Potter
Sth Australia: Griffen, Wilson, Sumner, Pfitzner, Jordan, Dubieniecki
Goal Kickers
NSW/ACT: D. Trotter (4), K. Archibald (3), D. Perrett (2), A. Hodgson (2), G. Stevens (1), N. Potter (1), T. Holobowski (1).
Sth Australia: Pfitzner (4), Fraser (2), Block (1), Wilson (1), Boughen (1), Jordan (1), Reavill (1), Griffen (1).
At Richmond Oval, Adelaide.

tige19
2 Jun 2003, 14:54
Originally posted by Phil Doyle
MEDIA RELEASE FROM THE AFL (NSW/ACT) COMMISSION
The NSW/ACT U18 RAMS had a thrilling 11 point win over South Australia at the Richmond Oval in Adelaide yesterday.

It was the first time that an underage NSW/ACT State team had played one of the "traditional" States since 1995.

The scheduled match was part of the revised program for the RAMS this year which includes a match against a division one team.

South Australia, along with Western Australia, Victoria Country and Victoria Metro are the `traditional’ teams that make up division one at the AFL National U18 Championships each year.

NSW/ACT, Tasmania, QLD and Northern Territory play in Division II at the Championships with NSW/ACT winning in 2000 and finishing runners up in 2001/2002.

Although physically smaller, the RAMS opened the game aggressively, punching the ball to ground and tackling strongly. To combat their taller opponents the RAMS players carried the ball when clear, in an effort to kick to a one-on-one contest and their foot skills were excellent.

The forwards worked hard to create space for one another and key forwards, David Trotter (4 goals) and Kyle Archibald (3), constantly presented themselves to their team-mates up the ground. Both lads are members of the AFL/AIS Academy that recently toured Ireland.

The defence, led by David Boers and Scott Faulkner, was strong all day and withstood great pressure from the South Australian side which had seven players over 190cms tall and several AIS/AFL Academy players.

Tim Holobowski provided plenty of run out of defence, and his goal in the dying minutes put the game beyond reach of the South Australians and sealed a historic victory for the RAMS.

17-year-old ruckman Earl Shaw and his back up Steve Gill, playing his first game for the RAMS, both worked tirelessly and provided their small mid-fielders with countless opportunities at all stoppages.

But it was the midfield that tipped the match in favour of the RAMS. Captain Nick Potter was inspirational in the centre, while David Love, Dale Perrett, Andrew Hodgson, Jared Kahlefeldt, Glenn Stevens and Chris Noordhof won plenty of possessions by putting their bodies on the line and applying constant pressure to South Australia’s fleet of midfielders.

The team was: Tim Addison (Bankstown), Kyle Archibald (Ungarie), Jared Kahlefeldt (Wagga), David Boers (Pennant Hills), Adam Leechman (Eastlake), Nick Potter (Pennant Hills), Scott Faulkner (Ainslie), Matt Leeds (East Coast Eagles), David Love (Belconnen), Rhys Cutifani (Wollongong Lions), Tim Holobowski (Deniliquin), Dale Perrett (St George), Earl Shaw (Penrith), Ed Clarke (North Shore), Brad Cross (Pennant Hills), Andrew Hodgson (Pennant Hills), David Trotter (Lockhart), Justin Barratt (Pennant Hills), Drew Dunscombe (Leeton), Steve Gill (Weston Creek), Chris Noordhof (Western Suburbs) and Glenn Stevens (Campbelltown).

Head Coach Rod Carter was ecstatic with the win.

"It was a great team effort. The players had a game plan and they rarely deviated from that plan," Carter said.

"This will assist the team in the preparation for the National Championship coming up in early July."

The RAMS U18 side travels to Melbourne later this week for two Challenge CUP matches over the Queens birthday long week-end.

They will play Queensland this Friday (June 6) from 11am at Optus Oval, and back up against the Northern Territory at 11am on Monday (June 9).

The team for this week-ends matches will be announced tomorrow.

The Challenge CUP consists of the division II teams and is programmed to prepare the States for the AFL National Championships held from July 3-12 in Melbourne.

FINAL SCORE
South Australia V NSW/ACT
NSW/ACT 5.1 8.3 12.5 14.10.94
Sth Australia 4.3 6.4 9.9 12.11.83
Best Players
NSW/ACT: David Trotter, David Love, Kyle Archibald, Jared Kahlefeldt, David Boers, Andrew Hodgson, Nick Potter
Sth Australia: Griffen, Wilson, Sumner, Pfitzner, Jordan, Dubieniecki
Goal Kickers
NSW/ACT: D. Trotter (4), K. Archibald (3), D. Perrett (2), A. Hodgson (2), G. Stevens (1), N. Potter (1), T. Holobowski (1).
Sth Australia: Pfitzner (4), Fraser (2), Block (1), Wilson (1), Boughen (1), Jordan (1), Reavill (1), Griffen (1).
At Richmond Oval, Adelaide.

Just more proof of the ever growing talent being produced in South Australia
Well done boys done your state proud

naughty monkey
2 Jun 2003, 16:14
Originally posted by tige19
Just more proof of the ever growing talent being produced in South Australia
Well done boys done your state proud

:confused: ?????

please explain, what's your point?

Phil Doyle
2 Jun 2003, 16:47
Tige, are you suggesting that SA lost it rather than the NSW/ACT won it? Because if you are I think you're sadly mistaken.

Other reports I have of the game are of ther ACT/NSW midfield going in hard over the ball and playing with an "extremely open" forward line - i.e. they played only one or two in the forward fifty.

Considering that Jude Bolton and Lewis Roberts-Thompson's efforts against the Richmond on Saturday night - both of whom are players developed out of Sydney - what you are seeing is a combination of football development and the advantage of having the largest population in Australia coming together.

This was always going to be a matter of time. What you are seeing is the start of a surge of football talent coming out of NSW. Considering many of thesee players grew up playing league the style of small fellers going in hard in the midfield will be a feature. The NSW/ACT under 16's side is very strong, both physically and depth wise, depth being the thing that has held footy back in NSW for the last 80 years or so.

So don't be too ****y tige. I followed Coburg and watched them go down the tubes to the point where they're just the Richmond Reserve Grade side (nothing for me there). In a week when the Victorian government views the demise of grass roots footy so seriously as to have an inquiry into the state of football in the football state a win by NSW over SA should sound as an ominous warning.

Rob
2 Jun 2003, 18:15
The football boom in NSW started around 1996, so presumably we'd probably just start to see a small surge in talent coming out of NSW about now.

Just out of interest, is there still any form of promotion/relegation in the under 16's and 18's national championships? I know there was about 5 years ago, but I think it was scrapped. If NSW are in fact a better side than SA, how can they make the jump to Div 1?

Port01
2 Jun 2003, 19:17
Originally posted by Rob
If NSW are in fact a better side than SA, how can they make the jump to Div 1?

The SA Academy side will be strengthened with the return of a few players in league and reserves SANFL sides for the carnival. A few potential top 10 picks should make the side a bit stronger.

Although its good to see NSW doing well. If they can beat SA then maybe the AFL will rethink spending 50k on development in SA, while Victoria gets over 2 million.

If there was promotion/relegation, I believe it would be WA that would be dropping down after not winning a game last year ;)

tige19
2 Jun 2003, 21:23
Originally posted by Phil Doyle
Tige, are you suggesting that SA lost it rather than the NSW/ACT won it? Because if you are I think you're sadly mistaken.

Other reports I have of the game are of ther ACT/NSW midfield going in hard over the ball and playing with an "extremely open" forward line - i.e. they played only one or two in the forward fifty.

Considering that Jude Bolton and Lewis Roberts-Thompson's efforts against the Richmond on Saturday night - both of whom are players developed out of Sydney - what you are seeing is a combination of football development and the advantage of having the largest population in Australia coming together.

This was always going to be a matter of time. What you are seeing is the start of a surge of football talent coming out of NSW. Considering many of thesee players grew up playing league the style of small fellers going in hard in the midfield will be a feature. The NSW/ACT under 16's side is very strong, both physically and depth wise, depth being the thing that has held footy back in NSW for the last 80 years or so.

So don't be too ****y tige. I followed Coburg and watched them go down the tubes to the point where they're just the Richmond Reserve Grade side (nothing for me there). In a week when the Victorian government views the demise of grass roots footy so seriously as to have an inquiry into the state of football in the football state a win by NSW over SA should sound as an ominous warning.

Jude Bolton was actually developed in melbourne with the Calder Cannons.
Dont be mistaken by Coburg because there is alot of talent down at Proton Oval who are certaintly worthy of a game over some Richmond blokes.
Please stick with us mate we need all the support we can get.
cheers

Phil Doyle
2 Jun 2003, 21:49
Sorry tige,

It was stand alone or fold for me. I think the AFL is a disgrace and shouldn't have biuggered the VFA.

Good luck at City Oval. Proton isn't worthy of the name.

Rob
3 Jun 2003, 01:07
Originally posted by Port01
The SA Academy side will be strengthened with the return of a few players in league and reserves SANFL sides for the carnival. A few potential top 10 picks should make the side a bit stronger.

Although its good to see NSW doing well. If they can beat SA then maybe the AFL will rethink spending 50k on development in SA, while Victoria gets over 2 million.

If there was promotion/relegation, I believe it would be WA that would be dropping down after not winning a game last year ;)

Wouldn't the NSW side be strengthened by players from the Murray Bushrangers as well (presumably they didn't play)?

And it wouldn't be the first time WA was relegated, if memory serves WA won the Div 2 championships about 6 or 7 years ago. Maybe it's time to make Div 1 a 5 team comp and bring in NZ or PNG into Div 2.

Bomber12
3 Jun 2003, 10:35
Originally posted by Rob
Wouldn't the NSW side be strengthened by players from the Murray Bushrangers as well (presumably they didn't play)?

And it wouldn't be the first time WA was relegated, if memory serves WA won the Div 2 championships about 6 or 7 years ago. Maybe it's time to make Div 1 a 5 team comp and bring in NZ or PNG into Div 2.

Not this year, majority of the bushies are Vic country boys and are all very very good players

Weaver
3 Jun 2003, 13:42
Originally posted by Bomber12
Not this year, majority of the bushies are Vic country boys and are all very very good players

They will get Shaun Daly and Nick Braybon, and Xavier Leslie from Sandringham. A ruckman and 2 onballers will make them stronger.

Richoagain
3 Jun 2003, 15:33
Do boys from the Albury O and M clubs (Albury, North, Lavvy) play for Vic or NSW?

NZ and PNG are planning to enter for 2006 (I think).

the fly
3 Jun 2003, 16:09
Originally posted by Richoagain
Do boys from the Albury O and M clubs (Albury, North, Lavvy) play for Vic or NSW?

NZ and PNG are planning to enter for 2006 (I think).

I believe that it matters on where the boys are from rather than what clubs they have played for immediately before moving up to TAC Cup. Rob Forster-Knight played for Barooga in NSW, and I think for Vic country, being from Cobram (I know it's not O & M, but it's relevant to the qustion).

Then there are clubs like Corowa-Rutherglen which draw from both NSW and Vic and have had boys representing both, depending on what side of the river they come from.

Phil Doyle
3 Jun 2003, 16:09
NSW were in Div 1 at one stage. They won it outright in '74.

Players from Rutherglen have played for the RAMS before, so I guess anythings possible.

btw, how did Gippsland get tied up with Essendon?

footyman
4 Jun 2003, 20:35
Originally posted by Weaver
They will get Shaun Daly and Nick Braybon, and Xavier Leslie from Sandringham. Xavier Leslie was in the Vic Country squad last I heard. You might want to check that one out weaver.

Weaver
4 Jun 2003, 23:12
Originally posted by footyman
Xavier Leslie was in the Vic Country squad last I heard. You might want to check that one out weaver.

Yep, apologies. I confused myself, knew he was one of the 'weird' ones and sent him too far north. There are always a couple playing in Melbourne who play for other teams. Goddard, Davidson, Nixon and Crawford all come to mind from last year.

Will Harvey at Sandringham will probably make the Tassie team, think I have that one right :-)