View Full Version : Adelaide cheersquad you let us down
I'd just like to express my disgust at the absense of a mention on the banner of Smart and Hart gaining life membership on Sunday.
McAlmanac
2 Jun 2003, 18:49
I was standing behind them - it's a pretty average cheer squad all round.
Whilst on banners, it was a good laugh to see the back of the Geelong banner - a monumental advertisement for major sponsor Farmers Union Iced Coffee. A bloke in front of me was even drinking one out of a FUIC "stubby holder". :D
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Whilst on banners, it was a good laugh to see the back of the Geelong banner - a monumental advertisement for major sponsor Farmers Union Iced Coffee. A bloke in front of me was even drinking one out of a FUIC "stubby holder". :D Farmers Union was on both banners. I got handed a freebie FU cap on my way around the ground.
The Cheer Squad that don't cheer. They are pretty poor but so are most people that go to Footy Park.
I can't believe how little noise people make unless a goal is kicked.
Very strange.
A woman in front of me at the Pies game was reading a book in the last quarter. Fair dinkum.
maccas_no1
2 Jun 2003, 19:14
How can you bag the Cheer Squad the group here in Victoria does a fantasic job everytime we play in Melbourne, we go into games over here get the **** bag out of us,have **** thrown at us and we cheer all day you want to hear how my voice sounds today?????? I didnt see any of you clowns down cheering with us.Yesterday we had about only half our group there obviously due to the weather and also alot of people wont travel to Geelong, as for the banner that is not the Melbourne group's desicion, thats upto the group in Adelaide that makes it we just pole it and put it up!!!!!!! Before you critise have a look at your own support levels once we grabbed the lead in that last quarter we were cheering at every single ball up and throw in till the final siren went.
Originally posted by maccas_no1
How can you bag the Cheer Squad the group here in Victoria does a fantasic job everytime we play in Melbourne, we go into games over here get the **** bag out of us,have **** thrown at us and we cheer all day you want to hear how my voice sounds today?????? I didnt see any of you clowns down cheering with us.Yesterday we had about only half our group there obviously due to the weather and also alot of people wont travel to Geelong, as for the banner that is not the Melbourne group's desicion, thats upto the group in Adelaide that makes it we just pole it and put it up!!!!!!! Before you critise have a look at your own support levels once we grabbed the lead in that last quarter we were cheering at every single ball up and throw in till the final siren went.
I was talking about the Adeladie based cheer squad
No comment on the Vic people.
Though last game I went to in Melbourne teh Crows crowd support was fantastic and made a **** load of noise
I personally had a big inflatable finger and was brandishing it violently at umpire Shehan who did a terrible job
10 goal third quarter was fantstic
as for the banner that is not the Melbourne group's desicion, thats upto the group in Adelaide that makes it we just pole it and put it up!!!!!!! Fair enough. I never said I was referring to the Melbourne-based cheer squad, just whoever makes the decision.
One side of the banner was a Farmers Union ad - which I don't particularly like but if we have to sell the banner for advertising space well then so be it. But the other side just had some generic wishy-washy fluff about fur flying and feathers being unruffled. Surely a mention about Hart and Smart's achievement should take precedence?
Stiffy_18
2 Jun 2003, 20:20
Originally posted by Jars458
A woman in front of me at the Pies game was reading a book in the last quarter. Fair dinkum. You'vwe got to be kidding surely??????:(
RaDaR ReiLLy
2 Jun 2003, 23:30
I have to say, i've been sitting behind the Adelaide cheer squad for about 8 years and they are pretty quite. But there are two guys who always seem to rev up the crowd by giving 100 %.
Just wondering actually, there is a guy there who has a goodwin warm up t'shirt, is that by any chance you Kane McGoodwin?
Anyone explain why the Adelaide cheersquad leader [the one who starts the chant] chants "ZINGER.......ZANGER"
Is this South Aust language ?
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Anyone explain why the Adelaide cheersquad leader [the one who starts the chant] chants "ZINGER.......ZANGER"
Is this South Aust language ?
Sort of!!! :D
There may be other similar situations, but there's a footy club playing in the Amateur league in South Australia called Gepps Cross - a real drinking man's club!! The supporters like a good drink as well!!! ;)
The war cry of their supporters during games starts with
" Zinger Zanger Zinger Zanger oi oi oi!!"
Dunno, he might just be from the Rams (Gepps Cross).
maccas_no1
3 Jun 2003, 08:28
You looking for the 6ft 5in guy with the Goodwin warm up shirt??????
That is ME :D
It's a little hard to hide when you are sooooooo tall!!!!!!!
Leaping Lindner
3 Jun 2003, 09:23
Originally posted by macca23
Sort of!!! :D
There may be other similar situations, but there's a footy club playing in the Amateur league in South Australia called Gepps Cross - a real drinking man's club!! The supporters like a good drink as well!!! ;)
The war cry of their supporters during games starts with
" Zinger Zanger Zinger Zanger oi oi oi!!"
Dunno, he might just be from the Rams (Gepps Cross).
I always thought it was ......
"Zigger Zagger Zigger Zagger"??:confused:
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
I always thought it was ......
"Zigger Zagger Zigger Zagger"??:confused:
Oops, you're right of course. :o
Although with the drink in them god knows what some of the Gepps boys were actually chanting!! :D
Maybe the cheer squad leader was actually chanting "Zigger Zagger Zigger Zagger"??
I know this thread was not designed to attack the interstate supporter groups and I just thought I'd lend my support by saying that I've always been very impressed by the Crows support in Melbourne, in Sydney and even in Perth.
I don't mean this in a nasty way and it's not directed at anyone, but anyone who has never been to a Crows game outside of Football Park has no idea how nasty and hard it can be to wear the colours.
McAlmanac
3 Jun 2003, 15:10
Calling it as I see it. A bit of variety with the cheers would be a good start, although at least you don't do "Let's go Adelaide, let's go" - a netball song if ever there was one.
As for getting a bagging - I ran the Woodville cheer squad through four of the worst wooden spoon seasons you'd ever wish to see. Getting slagged off away from home ("Woodville Spastic Centre" was always a favourite) goes with the territory.
I know you were down on numbers on Sunday, but if people don't travel because of the weather - by definition, that's fair weather supporters. :eek: Travelling to Geelong is probably the most enjoyable game of the year; an old fashioned footy ground from years gone by.
RaDaR ReiLLy
3 Jun 2003, 18:23
You looking for the 6ft 5in guy with the Goodwin warm up shirt??????
That is ME :D
It's a little hard to hide when you are sooooooo tall!!!!!!!
lol!!! is that really you???!!! haha!!!
u've got brown hair, and your always cheering with that other dude???
lol...i see you every week when I'm there!!!
maccas_no1
3 Jun 2003, 19:53
Yeah that is me:) I cheer my guts out at every game.The other guys name is Mark he is the one who holds the huge Crows flag when the players come out onto Footy Park:D I will be at the Melbourne game come down and say G'Day;)
Blues_Girl
3 Jun 2003, 20:00
Hey Marty!
Where abouts are you guys sitting on Saturday with the Ponsford Stand not being there?
We look forward to sitting with you guys again!
RaDaR ReiLLy
3 Jun 2003, 20:04
Yeah that is me:) I cheer my guts out at every game.The other guys name is Mark he is the one who holds the huge Crows flag when the players come out onto Footy Park:D I will be at the Melbourne game come down and say G'Day;)
ahh sorry wont be at the melbourne game- only go to home games ( and i NEVER miss any)
might come down and say hi next home game :D
maccas_no1
3 Jun 2003, 22:14
Yeah the game at Footy Park Vs Melbourne is what I meant:D Blue Girl we are sitting in Bay M7 in the Great Southern Stand!!!!
Dont worry you will hear us!!!!
Blues_Girl
3 Jun 2003, 22:17
Yeah the game at Footy Park Vs Melbourne is what I meant:D Blue Girl we are sitting in Bay M7 in the Great Southern Stand!!!!
Dont worry you will hear us!!!!
Excellent! Thanks!
What??
We have a Cheer Squad??
RaDaR ReiLLy
4 Jun 2003, 23:16
Originally posted by Mong
What??
We have a Cheer Squad??
Yeah!!! of course we do!!!!!!!!!:p
Erm, I sit next to the cheer squad at footy park, and on television i've recognized some adelaide cheersquad members in the crowd at melbourne games...... i never knew there were 2 different squads?
maccas_no1
5 Jun 2003, 09:30
Yeah there is a group in Melbourne also run by myself I often come to Adelaide though for the games:) We have about 55 people in the Melbourne group.