View Full Version : Should Bicks & Nigel play on next year ??

noddy
3 Jun 2003, 13:42
Although both players are ageing gracefully they are still playing the game with plenty of zest & skill,

Bicks is in great form & has been for most of the year much along the lines of last years effort & if the body is willing i hope he does go on in 2004,

Nigel has not been as consistent & has had a set back due to injury but again if his body is willing should he go on next year??

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 14:02
Originally posted by noddy
Although both players are ageing gracefully they are still playing the game with plenty of zest & skill,

Bicks is in great form & has been for most of the year much along the lines of last years effort & if the body is willing i hope he does go on in 2004,

Nigel has not been as consistent & has had a set back due to injury but again if his body is willing should he go on next year??
Both are still in our best-18(22), so as long as their form is OK & they are keen to play on, they should. Reckon Bicks is getting better with age & is enjoying the rotation off the bench to prolong his career. His leadership is still invaluable, typified by his encouraging of the younger players against the Cats.

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 14:25
Yes

Jars458
3 Jun 2003, 14:38
Bicks will not play on and so that is not an issue. His family and media and corporate interests will take priority.

Smart should play on in my view. He is still a versatile player and gives great quotes. One more year for Nigel.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 15:02
Originally posted by Jars458
Bicks will not play on and so that is not an issue. His family and media and corporate interests will take priority.
Are you sure Jars? Bicks wasn't originally going to play on this year either, but changed his mind. He appears to be enjoying his footy & you are a long-time retired.

Jars458
3 Jun 2003, 15:05
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Are you sure Jars? Bicks wasn't originally going to play on this year either, but changed his mind. He appears to be enjoying his footy & you are a long-time retired.

I am positve

He never said last year was definitley his last but this year he has.

Enjoy him whilst you can boys and girls.

Stiffy_18
3 Jun 2003, 16:14
Its better to retire a year earlier than it is to retire a year later. I think this should be Bickley's last year, not because he couldn't go on next year but because we have players coming through that need to be given a chance. I think its time that the likes of Massie, Schuback and Reilly are given a chance to cement their place in the side. Bickley is a midfielder which is always easier to replace.

Smart on the other hand should play on for one more season as there is noone that can play the same role as he does. Smart can play tall or small and I think we need to blood Rutten or Parker next year while Smart is still around and then by 2005 one of the mentioned can slot in Smart's place.

So yes to Smart, no to Bickley.:)

topjars
3 Jun 2003, 17:35
If you'd asked me that question towards the end of last season Id have said no to Smart and yes to Bickley.

If we can get a key defender to replace Nigel I reckon he should go. Weve already got Bickleys replacements around the midfield, so perhaps he should go too.

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 17:44
I reckon you guys underrate the value of Bickley's in and under work. If he retires at the end of this year, he could prove to be a real loss in 2004. Right now I'd say he's playing as well as he ever has. I don't see him being replaced so easily.

Jars458
3 Jun 2003, 18:05
Originally posted by DaveW
I reckon you guys underrate the value of Bickley's in and under work. If he retires at the end of this year, he could prove to be a real loss in 2004. Right now I'd say he's playing as well as he ever has. I don't see him being replaced so easily.

Jason Torney is his replacement.

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 18:11
Jason Torney is his replacement. Has he played a full game in the midfield yet?

maccas_no1
3 Jun 2003, 18:19
Both should play on both are champions and both are playing fantastic footy, Play On Bicks and Smarty!!!!!!!!

Adrian Shelton
3 Jun 2003, 18:26
I'd like them to play a year at South as their last year,just like a lot of SA guys used to play their last year at home after they came 'back' from the VFL.

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 18:28
Originally posted by Adrian Shelton
I'd like them to play a year at South as their last year,just like a lot of SA guys used to play their last year at home after they came 'back' from the VFL. As a South supporter, so would I! It might actually give us some chance of making the finals for a change. :)

Jars458
3 Jun 2003, 18:44
Has he played a full game in the midfield yet?

One game he did - R1 vs Freo - 28 possies

Bickley hasn't though in years!!!;)

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 18:54
Bickley hasn't though in years!!!;) Pffftt... leading ball winner on the weekend. But once again he escapes attention. ;)

Stiffy_18
3 Jun 2003, 22:22
I reckon you guys underrate the value of Bickley's in and under work. If he retires at the end of this year, he could prove to be a real loss in 2004. Right now I'd say he's playing as well as he ever has. I don't see him being replaced so easily. Bickley work and value is unquestionable but as I said earlier we have players that need to be groomed for that position. Bode will get more ground time and Schuback will have his crack. IMHO midfielders are just about the easiest types of players to find. Players like Nige are not.

Bickley has stated openly that this will definetly be his final year and he won't play next year while Nigel has said that he will look at his options at the end of the year. We need to groom some players fast. Hopefully Schuback will break into the Westies side this week and Parker will continue his good SANFL form.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 22:59
One game he did - R1 vs Freo - 28 possies

Bickley hasn't though in years!!!;) ... still manages to get around 30 possessions by only playing part of the game. Bicks has been in great form & I reckon he should change his mind & play on. We can fit both him & Torney in the side no problem. Can't have enough of their type in the team!

brucetiki
3 Jun 2003, 23:14
I think that Mark Bickley should retire now. He has disgraced the club after the incident with Wakelin, and should have been delisted as a result of this incident. How can people still have respect for the Crows version of Shane Crawford. Maybe these two could be matched on each other this weekend so they can share the same hairbrush and make-up.

Smart, on the other hand, has been one of the best players in the side, and his value has only increased over time. After all these years he can still go out there and put in a 100% effort. He has been an excellent player for the club. His effort against Geelong on the weekend is proof, when his crucial goal was a real matchwinner.

kirky
3 Jun 2003, 23:28
I think both players will know when to give it up. Bicks handover of the captaincy says it all - he knew his time was up and passed it over - I'm sure he will do the same with regard to playing. Perhaps his recent performances are an indication of a man who wants to go out at the top of his game.

Smart - not sure when he will give it up. On Sunday, he didn't seem to be interested at all (well thats my observation but may have been because of the knee brace).

Both stalwarts and should go out on their terms.

DaveW
3 Jun 2003, 23:31
Originally posted by brucetiki
I think that Mark Bickley should retire now. He has disgraced the club after the incident with Wakelin, and should have been delisted as a result of this incident. How can people still have respect for the Crows version of Shane Crawford. Maybe these two could be matched on each other this weekend so they can share the same hairbrush and make-up. Pathetic. Thirteen years of magnificent service and you and you want to get rid of him because of one crude incident - for which he's served his time. I don't know where you get off calling him a pretty boy either; he's certainly not that.

kirky
3 Jun 2003, 23:45
I think that Mark Bickley should retire now. He has disgraced the club after the incident with Wakelin, and should have been delisted as a result of this incident. How can people still have respect for the Crows version of Shane Crawford. Maybe these two could be matched on each other this weekend so they can share the same hairbrush and make-up.

Absolute crap.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jun 2003, 23:46
I think that Mark Bickley should retire now. He has disgraced the club after the incident with Wakelin, and should have been delisted as a result of this incident. How can people still have respect for the Crows version of Shane Crawford. Maybe these two could be matched on each other this weekend so they can share the same hairbrush and make-up.Are you from the Suzie Oslen or Zombie school of (not) thinking. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Stiffy_18
3 Jun 2003, 23:48

What a load of rubbish!!!!!!:rolleyes:

macca23
3 Jun 2003, 23:54

Pathetic stuff mate. On that one incident he did the crime and he did the time.

For the rest of his career he has been a role model for any player in the AFL to aspire too. One of the gutsiest, courageous players in the game who puts it all on the line for his team every time he goes out there.

Now wipe it, leave it alone and stop playing with it!! :(

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
4 Jun 2003, 22:09
NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

I can't face the day that either Bicks or Smarty retires.

I was shattered when Dr Liptak retired. I was devestated.

Bicks & Smarty are terrific players - still in our best 22

They will know when there time is up. Hopefully not this year!!!

I am stocking up on the tissues and anti-depressants already. It will be a very sad day when they retire. :( :(

The one thing I ask is this - tell us - I am still snakey with Darren Jarman - he didn't tell us it was his last game - we never got to give him the send of that a champion of his quality deserves.

k
xx

Nige_Bix
4 Jun 2003, 22:12
I hate the thought of Bicks and Smarty retiring. Its our last remaining link to the early years.

My feelings are that Bicks will not play on and will be missed. I have a feeling that Nige might go around one last time in'04 - hopefully it will be the right decision for him and the club [and us!]

Enough said about brucetiki's comment - probably a Power supporter in disguise!! - or maybe DW's mother!!

macca23
4 Jun 2003, 22:14
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

The one thing I ask is this - tell us - I am still snakey with Darren Jarman - he didn't tell us it was his last game - we never got to give him the send of that a champion of his quality deserves.

k
xx

I agree with these sentiments, MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl. These two guys have been such great servants for the club since it's first year that they deserve to go out in style, and also allow their fans to say goodbye publicly to them.

It will be a sad, sad day!! :(

Nige_Bix
4 Jun 2003, 22:57
Actually if they both go I might change my BF name to "Nigel McBickley" in honour of our two champs.

Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2003, 23:07
Originally posted by dezzmo
Actually if they both go I might change my BF name to "Nigel McBickley" in honour of our two champs. ... not Mark McSmart. Has an interesting ring to it. ;)

Nige_Bix
4 Jun 2003, 23:16
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
... not Mark McSmart. Has an interesting ring to it. ;)

maybe Mark O'Smart !!

marvin
5 Jun 2003, 10:12
Originally posted by kirky
Smart - not sure when he will give it up. On Sunday, he didn't seem to be interested at all (well thats my observation but may have been because of the knee brace).

Kirky - I recokon you're being a bit harsh on Smart from Sunday's game. It's awfully hard to look that interested when you spend the first half sitting on your backside stretching, and when he came on I thought he really attacked the ball and straightened the side up with strong running out of defence. And of course, his mark and goal when he went forward was a key in the match. All my opinion of course (maybe biased by the fact that he's my missus' favourite player, so I had her in my ear telling me how great he was!)