View Full Version : Houli and Myers?
Hi Bombers Fans,
Just a quick question as to why Bachar Houli and David Myers aren't getting regular games?
I have always rated Houli and I know he had some injury concerns awhile back, but he's over them isn't he? So why is he not getting a game?
Re Myers, I know he has not played particualrly well in the couple of games I have seen him play, but for such a high pick that Emma Quayle really rated pre-draft as well, I was just wondering your thoughts on what's going on with him?
Cheers
Looking forward to dreamtime, try not to be too mean to us :)
1 - Knights plays them as defenders(when they are best suited to the wing)
2 - They play a bad game(out of position)
3 - They get dropped.
Ben the Gooner
12 May 2010, 19:49
Neither are good enough at this stage.
essendon
12 May 2010, 19:55
Both should be left in the team for lengthy periods of time to see what they can do then make a decision, they need the confidence to know they will be given games then we can decide, but, they play one game in then out, your never gonna know if they are any good...both players should be in line this week so it will be interesting on team selections as Dyson and now Slattery out both mid/def left footers.. both would be identical replacements i'd say..but who knows with them and what they'll do
bomberstomake8
12 May 2010, 20:54
Knights just needs to show a bit of confidence in them i think.
Neither Houli or Myers IMO have had bad games. They always seem to play just ok. Both have areas of their games they need to work on but they probably just havent taken their chances when they have been included. ok games arent enough to solidify your spot in the best 22
bipolarbeaR
12 May 2010, 21:02
Because Knights keeps putting a Pendlebury like player and a genuine outside mid as defenders, and wonders why they have bad games. They're played out of position. Myers is apparently bullet passing in the VFL and it's impressing a lot of fans and forwards.
Cool thanks for the replies.
For your sake I hope they get played in the right position otherwise they may want to move on for more opportunities.
Am I right in thinking they are both out of contract at the end of the season?
Jonesy1987
13 May 2010, 00:54
Am I right in thinking they are both out of contract at the end of the season?
Unfortunately yes.
TheDon35
13 May 2010, 05:50
Neither are good enough at this stage.
Same could be said about Dyson, Slattery, Lonergan, Atkinson, Davey, Welsh.
same could be said about dyson, slattery, lonergan, atkinson, davey, welsh.
efa.
Ben the Gooner
13 May 2010, 10:32
What AS9 said.
DapperDon
13 May 2010, 10:41
If Myers gets a game he needs to be put in the guts, I'm sick of him playing down back then being dropped.
For what it's worth, I'd rather Myers get a game before Houli.
Both should be left in the team for lengthy periods of time to see what they can do then make a decision, they need the confidence to know they will be given games then we can decide, but, they play one game in then out, your never gonna know if they are any good...both players should be in line this week so it will be interesting on team selections as Dyson and now Slattery out both mid/def left footers.. both would be identical replacements i'd say..but who knows with them and what they'll do
Totally agree with this. If they get a good run in the senior team I believe they could make it but both are struggeling for oppurtunities.
Hopefully at least one gets a chance on sunday. (I would prefer Houli as we need a bit more pace against the saints)
slattery gets a game before houli, what a joke.
myers should play up forward if not in the middle.
DapperDon
13 May 2010, 13:11
So you'd rather Houli play as a defedner than Slattery?
Glad you're not the coach.
jade_00
13 May 2010, 13:12
myers should play up forward if not in the middle.
I say stick him in the middle, alongside Watson for at least the two weeks and see how he goes.
The Donners
13 May 2010, 13:42
So you'd rather Houli play as a defedner than Slattery?
Glad you're not the coach.
No, I'd rather Welsh move back into defense and tag a small forward and McVeigh take the other small forward. I don't see either of them with much of a future in Essendon's midfield, as it is McVeigh has already gone to the backline, hoo-rah!
Duckworth
13 May 2010, 18:56
I say stick him in the middle, alongside Watson for at least the two weeks and see how he goes.
I'd like to see Myers played on the best opposition midfielder, for the experience. Sheedy used this trick in the past with some success. I think this week he should play on Lenny.
Daytripper
13 May 2010, 19:56
I'd like to see Myers played on the best opposition midfielder, for the experience. Sheedy used this trick in the past with some success. I think this week he should play on Lenny.
Would get absoloutly destroyed.
Myers isn't good enough at this stage and to be frank has never been good enough.
Needs to string together half a dozen good games at Bendigo before getting another chance.
The logic baffles me why people want him in the side. We saw Carlton beat them with speed yet here we have people wanting Myers in the side who is probably the slowest player on the list. Hell, Laycock is quicker than him....
Here_we_come
13 May 2010, 20:14
Until Myers can string together some decent games for Bendigo, he should be left out.
Having said that, I think he should be given a chance to prove himself in a variety of positions. Find out where he's best suited.
I'd love to be wrong, but I simply don't see Houli making it at AFL level. His deficiencies are very obvious whenever he plays seniors and his handball mistakes are costly. He doesn't seem to have improved in this area since he was drafted.
Duckworth
13 May 2010, 20:15
Would get absoloutly destroyed.
Myers isn't good enough at this stage and to be frank has never been good enough.
Needs to string together half a dozen good games at Bendigo before getting another chance.
The logic baffles me why people want him in the side. We saw Carlton beat them with speed yet here we have people wanting Myers in the side who is probably the slowest player on the list. Hell, Laycock is quicker than him....
My point wasn't for him to beat Hayes. It was about learning where to position himself at stoppages to improve his own game. Many kids have been played on Hird in the past as a learning experience and I think there is some merit in it.
He has done as much as any of the other potential ins to get a call up.
After the Fremantle game (I didn't get to watch it) everyone was saying Myers was extremely slow. Has this changed in his recent VFL games?
Daytripper
13 May 2010, 20:22
My point wasn't for him to beat Hayes. It was about learning where to position himself at stoppages to improve his own game. Many kids have been played on Hird in the past as a learning experience and I think there is some merit in it.
Mate, we're 2 & 5.
This match is vital if we even want a sniff of finals. Its not the time to be experimenting and basically playing one man short.
His form at Bendigo has been reasonable. Certainly nothing that stands out though.
ghostdog
13 May 2010, 20:32
I'd be more comfortable with an idea like this if we were at 2 and 15. Until then we should be playing our best side, which I'm not confident Myers is a part of yet, and certainly to beat the deficiencies of the opposing team.
Edit: just read Daytripper's comment and concur.
Duckworth
13 May 2010, 20:33
Mate, we're 2 & 5.
This match is vital if we even want a sniff of finals. Its not the time to be experimenting and basically playing one man short.
His form at Bendigo has been reasonable. Certainly nothing that stands out though.
Well I agree with most of that, but one of him, Colyer, Williams or Jetta is likely to come in.
If Myers is the one to come in, I don't want to see him playing on a half back flank. Rather see him in the middle where his best games for Bendigo have been.
The_Young_Gun
13 May 2010, 21:50
Houli and Myers are nowhere near AFL selection..
Both are playing soft footy. Neither like (or avoid) body contact, which is a big no no in the AFL at the moment, specially against St.Kilda.
Once either player finally gets the idea that they HAVE to put there body on the line, then they'll be ready for selection.
Daytripper
14 May 2010, 08:46
Houli and Myers are nowhere near AFL selection..
Both are playing soft footy. Neither like (or avoid) body contact, which is a big no no in the AFL at the moment, specially against St.Kilda.
Once either player finally gets the idea that they HAVE to put there body on the line, then they'll be ready for selection.
There is nothing wrong with the way that Myers goes about his footy. He's hard at it and doesn't put a foot wrong off the field at training as well. It's just more the lack of ability that keeps him out of the side.
I don't think Houli is necassarily soft either.
whats_at_stake
14 May 2010, 11:26
There is nothing wrong with the way that Myers goes about his footy. He's hard at it and doesn't put a foot wrong off the field at training as well. It's just more the lack of ability that keeps him out of the side.
I don't think Houli is necassarily soft either.
Agree with Houli not being soft. I think people are stuck with perceptions of how he used to be (was soft in some elements). However this year I thought he hit the packs hard and I can remember him going against the flight in the WCE game as well.
Exactly Houli is def hard enough for selection, I have really liked the way he has gone about his footy this yr, disapointed at the lack of selection
Apparently Knights thinks he is not defensive enough, which is bullshit espeically when he played deep against West Coast
Longy413
14 May 2010, 20:47
I can remember him going against the flight in the WCE game as well.
He did.
After he got taken off and sprayed for not going hard enough at the contest.
OK people so RE: Houli
Bachar in his junior days was aloud to run and do his own thing, right throughout his representative days he struggled with game plans and zones.
Then when he (Bachar) came to Essendon he 'apparently' really struggled initially with the whole game plan and zones.
Can you tell he is up too it? or is it just a wild stab in the dark people?
wba1977
14 May 2010, 22:08
Houli has shown a bit more at this stage I would have thought.
Myers should sit in the magoos until he dominates some games. Has done nothing at senior level to give the indication he belongs.
Melksham and Colyer already shown more than Myers has in his time at Essendon.
If you had to pick two out of the three would anyone not take Melksham and Colyer???
Myers should sit in the magoos until he dominates some games. Has done nothing at senior level to give the indication he belongs.
If you had to pick two out of the three would anyone not take Melksham and Colyer???
Has Houli shown anything more than Myers?
If so, what? when?
If Myers was a 3rd round draft pick, would you be saying to us "give him time, he will come good?"
Oh wait you already are, about another player (Houli - 3rd round/Pick 42)
You, along with everyone else are going by what draft position he was, not how he is exactly going.
You say for Myers to play consistent footy at Bendigo, but then proceed to mention that Houli should play seniors?
This is why people on here need to take there tainted glasses off and see the actual light..
What if Myers never makes it, will you be sitting there calling for Knights head if/when it happens? look at the bigger picture, get evidence to back up your accusations too.
OK, so i'm gonna stop talking s*** now, but yeah. Something to think about.
wba1977
14 May 2010, 22:52
Has Houli shown anything more than Myers?
Only an opinion mate bur I believe Houli has shown a heap more than Myers in his senior appearances. He has the physical attributes to run the lines and provide some dash. His kicking is generally ok but makes some poor decisions by hand. I believe he was unlucky to be dropped and has worked on the defensive side of his game. Myers has never looked too comfortable at senior level. Looks slow and hasn't been able to hold down a position in defence.
If so, what? when?
If Myers was a 3rd round draft pick, would you be saying to us "give him time, he will come good?"
Happy for Myers to be given time, I just don't buy into this garbage that he should be playing in the middle in the seniors when he can't dominate at Bendigo level.
Oh wait you already are, about another player (Houli - 3rd round/Pick 42)
You, along with everyone else are going by what draft position he was, not how he is exactly going.
You say for Myers to play consistent footy at Bendigo, but then proceed to mention that Houli should play seniors?
Never said Houli should be in the seniors. Borderline best 22, but clearly ahead of Myers.
This is why people on here need to take there tainted glasses off and see the actual light..
What if Myers never makes it, will you be sitting there calling for Knights head if/when it happens? look at the bigger picture, get evidence to back up your accusations too.
Don't think Myers will make it for what it's worth. Happy to give him this year and next to know for sure but at this stage has done zero to indicate he will be a 100 game player.
OK, so i'm gonna stop talking s*** now, but yeah. Something to think about.
Hope that helps, I am not a huge fan of either.
No worries, I wasnt having a crack buddy :thumbsu:
It's just funny listening to all these 'experts' RE: Myers and where he should play, so forth and so forth.
Myers is/was a defender in his junior days.. Was looking at some articles from the U18 Champsionships of '07. See Myers name a couple of times.. "in defence".
So yeah, I personally do not want either of them in the senior side. Myers with his size and shape should be dominating the VFL, but can't.
As for Houli, he is too much of a liability to play in defence, and does not offer more than a Winderlich, Zaharakis or even Alwyn Davey to play on a forward flank, whilst he does not work hard enough both ways to play through the midfield.
So yeah, I agree with you buddy :thumbsu:
Love the debate though
Duckworth
14 May 2010, 23:51
Well Myers is in the team and Colyer isn't.
WeAreEssendon
15 May 2010, 09:50
Both aren't doing enough to be in our best 22.
Myers for a half last week looked really good and was dominating the centre. He still made a few disposal errors but for the most part was clean.
Houli was just the same old. Flashed in and out and looked the same as always. I don't think he went hard enough at the contest and I guess it might be why he's not playing.
We need Myers to succeed and if he can reproduce some of the ball winning ability he showed in the VFL then we'll be laughing. I think we should all sit down and pray or sacrifice a chook or some voodoo for him to come good.
If he does it could be the catalyst for our midfield to become top 4 with Jobe and him monstering the contests, silky Melksham and then you have the runners being released in Winders, Zaka, Stanton