View Full Version : Reviewing Our Best 22

lamaros
13 May 2010, 14:01
I thought it might be interesting to see how people's perceptions of our best 22 have changed since this last thread, http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=627803&page=18&highlight=best+22

Some things have become obvious to me over the past few weeks, and those players I feel are absolutely in our best 22 aren't the same ones as the start of the year. Here's who I think should get a game are at the moment when fit:

H. Slattery, Fletcher, McVeigh
Pears, Hooker, Dyson
Stanton, Dempsey, Winderlich
Monfries, Gumby, Zaka
Hurley, Reimers,

Ryder, Watson, NLM

Hille, Howlett, Hocking

The other 2 places I can't pick. I would say Davey is close, but with Jetta, Welsh, Melksham, Houli, Williams, and Prismall all capable on their day I can't call it at the moment.

The biggest changes, for me, are Dyson, Slattery, NLM, Reimers, Dempsey, Hocking and Howlett being starting players for me, moving out of that group of "yeah maybe" players.

Howlett has impressed me with his attack on the footy every time I have seen him, and I would rather see him than Lonergan, Welsh or Prismall every day of the week. NLM's recent form speaks for itself. Dyson and Slattery play their roles in the team better than anyone else can do and they get the nod for that reason. Players could go past them in the future but for me no one else is close enough at the moment. I've never been a huge Reimers fan either, and I think he has huge flaws in his game that he needs to fix. But I'd have him in our forward line ahead of Williams and Neagle every day of the week. He adds a bit of aggro and a bit of magic. Dempsey... I dont think he should be in the team if Knights plays him in the backline. But on the wing I think he is ideal and better than anyone else we have going.

Over the rest of the year I'd love to see Jetta and Davey fight it out for the forward role with some good form. I think Jetta can be better, but Devey is closer at the moment. If Melksham can get his fitness up then he is a lock for the bench too. And I think Prismall can come good too.

My ideal team, come round 16 or so, would be:

H. Slattery, Fletcher, McVeigh
Pears, Hooker, Dyson
Stanton, Dempsey, NLM
Monfries, Gumby, Zaka
Hurley, Reimers, Jetta

Ryder, Watson, Winderlich

Hille, Howlett, Melksham, Prismall

Slattery_20
13 May 2010, 14:15
How has Hocking possibly not locked himself in? Was superb v Hawks, and pretty good in every other outing. Easily, easily, easily better than Winderlich on form.
Slattery's been picked every week fit under Knights... whether people on here agree or not, he's recognised as our best small defender.

lamaros
13 May 2010, 14:18
How has Hocking possibly not locked himself in? Was superb v Hawks, and pretty good in every other outing. Easily, easily, easily better than Winderlich on form.
Slattery's been picked every week fit under Knights... whether people on here agree or not, he's recognised as our best small defender.

You're right. I was thinking about this and was just coming back to edit it in. You were too quick though!

(I hope he's not in our best 22 next year though. I think he's playing at his best and others can go past him.)

Howard Moon
13 May 2010, 15:34
firstly i reckon knights playing a few out of position is killing us.

I really like dempsey but on a wing has to be the best spot for him. He is like glen johnson at liverpool...great at bombing forward but cant defend to save himself.

Myers career is on the brink of ruin because he is being played at half back also. I hate this stupid idea that all attacks need to start with a half back quarter back! Why cant fletch just kick it to the wing and we can go from there.

anyhow as they say in the classics..from the back line..

B: Slattery - Pears - Fletcher

Slatts frustrates the hell out of me, hes too slow to play on the guys he needs to which endins up in scrags and jumper pulling just to keep up. and if he gives away another 50 ill spew. But seeing as we didnt recruit another player in that mould he will have to do

Pears is a gun, cant wait for him back..all Australian will come in the not too distant future

Fletch. nuff said. Third man up, mop up scraps, put a hand in when its needed, kick out, play on a tall or small, can we have another 2 years please?

HB: Dyson - Hooker - Lovett-Murray

Dyson has come of age, when he has the ball in hand streaming forward i feel at ease that he can hit someone 60 mt away.

Hooker, well my heart is in my mouth alot when he has the ball but he rarely lets us down. Another spine member to build a team around.

Lovett-murray is in rare form! now hes one that can give us drive off half back, but can also mind a man and actually punch from behind when needed! Also one of only a few players that can give a bit of physical cheek if we need to.

C: Stanton - Watson - Dempsey

Stantons a trooper. All his knockers bug me, give the guy some credit, he runs his guts out all day when everyone else has stopped. No wonder he cant kick after the 40th possession!

Watson the extration king. a little less handballing out infront of moving people would be nice though....relying on the oval ball bouncing our way is dangerous!

Dempsey could be a jet. could be a mcleod type. I hope we can let him attack for a while and not worry about a man just to see what happens.

HF: Monfries - Gumby - Zaka

Monfries plays the lead up small role well, but i still reckon he would be 30% better if he didnt go to ground at EVERY contest. Hes all courage and has goal smarts.

Gumby is doing what he needs to do. glides around effortlessly, never tires, we just need to put the ball out infront of him instead of hoping that he will pack mark because it wont happen..much.

Zaharakis has been a gun all year. you can tell that he has been a bomber all his life because he plays with passion! I can see him being our marc murphy...a bit of midfield time wouldnt go astray soon. He seems to always kick multiple goals which is great. Has forced his way into the 22.

F:Winderlich - Ryder - Hurley

Winders is fast on a lead and dosent miss set shots often, obviously he is best running up and down the wing but i like him resting forward.

Sometimes i think ryder is the only one that can take a contested mark for us when we are having one of those stinking days. He can be our x fator at ff, jump over a pack, NEVER misses a set shot. Leave him at FF please.

Hurley must be best used for us at the moment in the forward half. he has shown he can out body an oponent and is good on both sides. He should get the 3rd best defender which will suit.

R: Hille - Hocking - Prismall

Hille is and should be our number 1 ruckman.

Hocking is hard at it and runs all day, he has earnt his spot

Prismall is too good to be languishing in the 2's, he gets enough of the ball..its up to the forwards to give him an option rather than he having to invent some kind of little kick or sideways handball because thats where the bad decision making is happening.

Williams - Reimers - Howlett - Mcveigh

We need williams in the 1's. i cant see the point of him not being there. he is a dead eye dick and even tho he looks to be going at half pace the amounds of quality he does give are vital. Reimers gives us a bit of everything..pace..agro..class hes on the borderline in this best team though. Howlett has shown enough to be given a go.plus he is in my dream team so i need a few more games before a downtrade. Mcveigh is still able to do a job, whether it be a defensive tag or a running role. Ill give him a while longer before he is callsed as finished. Read welsh.

I could have myers in for prismall as long as he is playerd IN THE MIDDLE . I could also have lonegan for mcveigh. Or jetta for reimers.

WinderliciouS
13 May 2010, 16:45
Agree with all of the above, yet I'd like to see McVeigh in the midfield a bit more. His defensive skills are excellent, yet IMO I would rather have him hitting up Gumby and co. inside 50 rather than skulking down at half back on a small forward.

I personally think that Slattery is a solid player and should get a game over others.
Also, Heath Hocking is having a really good year, his defensive pressure and tackling is great and his kicing skills are exquisite. He deserves a spot.

Ultimately, my 22 come the middle of the year:

Fletcher Pears Slattery
Dyson Hooker Dempsey
Lovett-Murray Stanton McVeigh
Monfries Gumbleton Reimers
Williams Ryder Zaharakis
Hille Watson Hocking
Winderlich Prismall Hurley Marigliani (elevated rookie)

Thank you.

Frothies Mcveigh
13 May 2010, 17:01
Hurley off the bench?

pazza
13 May 2010, 18:39
H. Slattery, Pears, Fletcher
McVeigh, Hooker, Winderlich
Lovett-Murray, Hocking, Dyson
Monfries, Gumbleton, Davey
Zaharakis, Hurley, M. Williams
Hille, Watson, Stanton
Ryder, Prismall, Reimers, Dempsey

WinderliciouS
13 May 2010, 19:00
Hurley off the bench?

Yeah, couldn't find space for him in our already dominant forward line. :thumbsu:

centrelink1
13 May 2010, 19:08
We don't need a first 22, the team should rotate based on opponents etc.

ghostdog
13 May 2010, 20:38
We don't need a first 22, the team should rotate based on opponents etc.

Couldn't agree more! The game has evolved to centre more focus on gameplans and strategies, and the best means of countering those of the opposition. The concept of selecting the best 22 should be directly linked to the talents required to beat the gameplan of the opposition in question. The need for fleetfooted players this weekend speaks volumes in support of this conception of the game.

mick7
13 May 2010, 21:31
Great post OP! Everything I absolutely agree with, it's getting bloody frustrating though to see posters on Bigfooty, Bomberblitz then see the lads at Docklands/G talk about exactly what we say all the time (play Dempsey on the wing, play Myers in the middle, Houli needs to come) deadset I reckon Knights is either an idiot or is as stubborn as an ox!

I just hope that the excellent posts up above are brought into play come round 13-14ish. Pleaasssssse!

Ben the Gooner
13 May 2010, 22:49
Howlett has cemented himself in there along with Hocking from the pre-season. Ditto Hooker (as opposed to Hurley playing back).

I like the direction the team is heading.

The Velvet Lion
14 May 2010, 14:03
After this weekend and in the coming weeks we will finally see the last piece in the puzzle- small, quick defensive back pocket come into play - Leroy Jetta will move into Slattery's position and make it his own, hopefully play a similar style to Jarrod Harbrow.

By about round 16 this is what i would like to see our team look like:

B: Jetta Pears Fletcher
HB: Dyson Hooker Hocking
C: Stanton Watson Dempsey
HF: Monfries Gumbelton Riemers
F: Zaharakis Hurley Ryder
R: Hillie Winderlich Prismall
Bench: Lovett-Murray, Howlett, Houli and Melksham
Emeg: McVeigh, Myers, Lonergan, Davey

GoDons
14 May 2010, 14:07
Howlett has cemented himself in there along with Hocking from the pre-season. Ditto Hooker (as opposed to Hurley playing back).

Not sure about Howlett yet to be honest.

I think he's started games really well, but struggled in the second half. Against Freo he only had it about 3 times and his numbers weren't much better against Port.

He needs to be more of a consistent four quarter contributor before he's 'cemented'. Furthermore, I think he's got a bit to learn playing in the middle, but that'll come with time.

I love his endeavour, and I think he's a decent user of the ball, so he's got a bit going for him, but he's a way off being a lock.

keepzitreal
14 May 2010, 14:23
B - Fletcher - Pears - McVeigh

HB - Reimers - Hooker - Atkinson

C - Stanton - Myers - Dempsey

HF - Monfries - Gumbleton - Zaharakis

F - Davey - Hurley - Jetta

R - Ryder - Watson - NLM

I - Daniher - T Slattery - Lonergan - Melksham

- Gumby providing relief ruck

Bombers36
14 May 2010, 15:51
If all fit my best 22 would be;-

Backline: H.Slat Pears Fletcher

H.Slat best small defender, Pears in good form b4 injury, Flecth is Fletch

Half backs: Hocking Hooker Dempsey

Hocking - strong body, good engine consistant 2010, Hooker has claimed CHB as his own, Dempsey - his best is great needs to be more consistant

Centres: Dyson NLM Melksham

Dyson - great kick, consistant b4 injury, NLM has a strong body is racking up possies on the ball this year, melksham - pacy & skilled looks a player

Half Forwards: Monfries Gumby Reimers

Monfries - consistant goal kicker, Gumby - had Neagle in front of him at start of year but clearly our best CHF option now, Reimers - adds the X factor to our team

Forwads: M.Williams Hurley Zahar

M.Williams - classy proven goal kicker, Hurley - done well with limited game time, Zahar - just gets the nodd in front of Davey

Onballers: Ryder Watson Stanton

All great players, Ryder starting to come good after a slow start

Bench: Hille (been pretty good) McVeigh (his experience valuable) Davey (last couple of games good) Winders (stays in on back of good Hawthorn game but needs to lift)

Emergencies: Howlett Colyer Jetta

Not convinced about any other players including Welsh, Neagle, Prismal, Lonergan, Atkinson, Houli, Myers

The House
14 May 2010, 16:39

And Lyon picks Raph Clarke every week...and Sheedy picked Bradley and Bolton. Doesn't mean they weren't crap for afl standard.

Slatts is recognised by Knights as our best small defender....but that doesn't mean he is.

eth-dog
14 May 2010, 17:09
BP: Henry Slattery- Hank is our best BP, despite people like "The House" saying that he's no good. We have won games on the back of Henry, any fool could see that, but people like the fore-mentioned can't admit it. Oh and for the record: Slattery 3, Cyril 0.

FB: Tayte Pears- Scarlett jr. Consistently beats quality key forwards, like Fev and Brown. Gun.

BP: Dustin Fletcher- 'nuff said.

HBF: Courtney Dempsey- Need his run off HB. needs to mark harder though.

CHB: Cale Hooker- Developed heaps over pre-season. Gonna consistently beat high quality opponents when fully developed.

HBF: Mark McVeigh- Quality kicker and can be accountable as well. takes #2 SF.

W: Jason Winderlich- Winders is a gut running mid who is all quality. Needs to take the next step IMO

C: Jobe Watson(C)- Inside mid who extracts the ball from the pack like a miner extracts oil from the ground. Kicking skills have improved, now to start being a superstar.

W: Ricky Dyson- That raking left boot is a weapon. found his place.

HFF: David Zaharakis- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VWhUEt5ZJc&playnext_from=TL&videos=zkttXPOOXL8&feature=grec 'nuff said

I ceebs doing the rest, so I'll just name it:

Slattery, Pears, Fletcher
Dempsey, Hooker, McVeigh
Winderlich, Watson(c), Dyson
Zaharakis, Gumbleton, Reimers
Davey, Hurley, Jetta
Ryder, Hocking, Stanton
Hille, NLM, Monfries, Howlett

Williams, Melksham, Prismall

all emergencies unlucky, awa Welsh, T Slattery, Lonergan, Atkinson, Muscles

Frothies Mcveigh
14 May 2010, 17:26
B: H.Slattery - T.Pears - D.Fletcher
HB: M.McVeigh - C.Hooker - R.Dyson
C: J.Winderlich - J.Watson - D.Zaharakis
HF: A.Monfries - S.Gumbleton - K.Reimers
F: P.Ryder - M.Hurley - M.Williams
R: D.Hille - B.Stanton - NLM
INT: B.Howlett - C.Dempsey - L.Jetta - J.Melksham - A.Davey - H.Hocking
Emg: T.Slattery - B.Prismall - M.Marigliani

EDIT: Left out Ryder and NLM :eek:

Dempsey on the bench for lack of a cemented position. Couldnt split the bench, any of those players could be in and out of the side at any given time.

flyin'high
14 May 2010, 18:41
bewilders me how houli isnt in our best 22 , i have most likely mist a few threads on him in the past few weeks but when he plays in the 1's he seems to have a ball on a magnet ,he is better than a lot of our players that reguarly get a game ,and i hope he leaves the club at the end of the year because knights is wrecking his career

pazza
14 May 2010, 19:24
bewilders me how houli isnt in our best 22 , i have most likely mist a few threads on him in the past few weeks but when he plays in the 1's he seems to have a ball on a magnet ,he is better than a lot of our players that reguarly get a game ,and i hope he leaves the club at the end of the year because knights is wrecking his career

That he might..but, he turns the ball over more than anyone with hospital kicks and hospital handballs.

Houli can go.

HFF_07
14 May 2010, 19:52
Looking back over that thread has made a few people get egg on there face :p

Any ways, here is my best 22, complete with descriptions.

BACKLINE:

Back Pocket: Henry Slattery is our best small defender, despite what people think, he has been duly recognized by the people that matter as our best small defender and is most likely one of the first picked each week. A solid player who never gives in, his efforts this year have sometimes been ordinary, but overall been fairly good.

Full Back: I, along with most people in the league could not argue that Tayte Pears at some stage will become the premier full back in the competition at stage in his career. His ability to read the play and help team mates out is second to none from a player of his age. Remembering he is only 20 proves there is still alot more scope for improvement from this man mountain of a kid.

Back Pocket: 'Age shall not weary them' is often heard during the ANZAC day celebrations, Dustin Fletcher is the new age ANZAC hero. Continuing on from his impressive 2009 campaign where he narrowly missed out on All Australian selection. Fletcher is a rock in defence and taken some of the premier forwards to the cleaners this year, most notably, the horribly out ouf form Jarryd Roughead. Age is fast becoming a problem for him, but he could play on till he is 40 the way he is currently carrying himself.

Summary: Henry Slattery - Tayte Pears - Dustin Fletcher

Slattery is out best small defender (despite what people think). He is good enough if people watched his games closely enough. Finished in the top 10 in the Chricton medal last year, which must mean something. Tayte Pears is going to be an out and out superstar one day, do not think his time has quite arrived.. Just yet, whilst Dustin Fletcher continues on his merry way as playing top notch football at the ripe old age of 35.

HALF BACK LINE:

Half Back Flank: Despite spending some periods in the midfield, Mark Mcveigh is best suited to playing on the quicker, smarter more creative forwards that Henry Slattery cannot contain. He has done an apt job since returning to where his AFL career all began.

Centre Half Back: CALE HOOKER has been somewhat of a revelation since starring in the NAB cup in early april. Has showed some really mature signs, despite still having those brain explosions. As I keep saying, him and Pears at FB and CHB respectively and we have a potentially very destructive KPD in tact.

Half Back Flank: As sad as it is to say, the over rated Courtenay Dempsey is a lock at half back you would imagine. When on song, he is reverred by all, when he is not, he is kicked from here to kakadu by all. If only he found some consistency and some willingness to defend would we have a premier running back flanker.

SUMMARY: Mark Mcveigh - Cale Hooker - Courtenay Dempsey

A good solid half back line, with Dempsey possibly being the only weak link here. Mcveigh would potentially play close to goal as Steve Johnson, Jason Porplyzia and Leon Davis do. Cale hooker as mentioned has proven to be a revelation whilst Dempsey despite all his 'ability' is virtually a lock at HB.

CENTRE LINE:

Wing: If gut running were in the olympics Jason Winderlich would win godl. His ability to puch through that pain barrier to keep running is first rate. He is very good overhead for someone his size, and has the ability to push forward and kick a goal. I personally feel, he is a potential A - Grade player.

Centre: The best player in the team, and one of the best at his craft. Jobe Watson leads from the front and, despite the slow start to the season is fast coming into his own as an AFL player. Has really stood up in the past few weeks. Second to none as an inside player and has really stood up to everything that life has thrown at him.

Wing: Last years most improved player by a long way, Ricky Dyson gets a starting jersey. Has been good this year averaging 17.5 disposals a game before injury cut him down. With his damaging left foot, and his run and carry, Dyson is starting to play some really consistent footy.

Summary: Jason Winderlich - Jobe Watson - Ricky Dyson

A very good centre that has the potential to be so much more. Winderlich adds the polish to the hard workings of Watson and Dyson. A good spread of ball winners to run and carry players, our run late in the middle of the season was set up by the good form of these three last year. If they can all return to playing some good football, our midfield will improve drastically.

HALF FORWARD LINE:

Half Forward Flank: Is being played out of position and kept out of the action too much, but David Zaharakis is close to our best kick entering the forward 50 meter arc. Has been played as another hitup target inside 50, I would like to see his composure with the ball and ability to sum up the situation quickly used to more effect on a forward flank.

Centre Half Forward: Do I even need to type anything here? Scott Gumbleton has been playing with our hearts all this time and is finally showing the tell tale signs of a potential star. Ths big grabs have been a highlight to date with his best on ground (for Essendon) in the round 3 loss to Fremantle a highlight, whilst an individual highlight has to surely be 'that grab' versus the old enemy, Carlton.

Half Forward Flank: I have often criticised this former first round draft pick, but Angus Monfries has shown that he is able to play some consistenly good football for the Essendon Football Club. With Gumbleton coming into the side, and the additions of Hurley and Mark Williams forward at times has seen Monfries play with some more freedom that we have not seen before. Having played as "an undersized key position" for so long, 'Gus' is finally revelling in his role as hit up target across the 50m arc.

Summary: David Zaharakis - Scott Gumbleton - Angus Monfries

A good youthful line here. All three have shown some very good signs in the initial parts of there careers to date. With some more matches played together, you would imagine they will only get better.

FORWARD LINE:

Forward Pocket: I think it is fair to say now that we have missed Alwyn Davey's speed and tackling pressure. He has returned to the senior side after a stint back at Bendigo a changed player. He is chasing harder, tackling more ( 8 in first two rounds compared to 11 in past two round) and seems to be more enthusiastic whilst his endeavor in the game in the game looks to have improved also.

Full Forward: As much as I do not like seeing this (and before you rip into me, I do think he will become a very good player, if not a star) right at the moment, Michael Hurley has the runs on the board. After serving out his 4 weeks club imposed supsension for off season altercations, he has come back into the seniors and kicked 4 (versus Hawthorn) and 2 (versus West Coast) and a solitary major (versus Collingwood) to show that he has the ability to play forward.

Forward Pocket: Another player I am not a fan of at the moment (especially for what we gave up for him), Mark Williams would be sitting next to Hurley inside 50 when in form. Since coming across to the Bombers, Williams has struggled to assert himself on any games (bar the Carlton win). A player whom you give up pick 16 for is surely going to play, right? I could have had a number of players here but went for what would suit us the best and that is M.Williams.

Summary: A.Davey - M.Hurley - M.Williams

A very good blend of youth and experience on this line. I would expect more goals out of them than the current output, but you cant win them all I guess. I feel Mark Williams is only a game away from a big bag, and when he is, we (myself included) will be singing his praises. M.Hurley at Full Forward is the jey though. He could be a superstar, or just a very good player, all the tell tale signs are there though for the former.

RUCKS:

Ruck: David Hille has started the year off slowly, but has grown with each game and is starting to put his body on the line more often now. With him slowly returning to full fitness again, I would like to see him and Ryder used more aggressively from the coaching staff, perhaps as a forward, maybe another midfielder.

Ruck Rover: A whipping boy to most around here, last year was the 5th time in his 6 years at the club Brent Stanton has finished in the top 5 in the Chricton Medal. His gut running also has seen him take his game to another level, averaging 29.2 possessions a game, up from 24.9 possessions per game in 2009. A big difference there. He has been good both offensively (3 goals 5 behinds), whilst also being more defensive (laying 5.5 tackles per game this year). A lock in our starting midfield... somewhere.

Rover: 'The Mooroolbark Kid' Heath Hocking has taken his spot by the scruff of the neck and has since featured in 26 of the past 29 games. Since rising from the rookie list, Hocking has shown his willingness to work and be the consumate team player, laying blocks and tackles for his team mates and a real tough nut. He is not the most gifted player, but certainly a trier.

Summary: David Hille - Brent Stanton Heath Hocking

Not the greatest following division, but certainly not the worst. Hocking has improved in leaps and bounds since coming into the seniors more regularly (in early 2009) whilst Stanton and Hille both pick themselves being senior players and our best midfield players.

INTERCHANGE:

#1: With his ability to play in a range of positions, from forward to defence, to his reinvigoration as a midfielder in '10, Nathan Lovett - Murray starts on the bench. I was not sure where to slot him into.

# 2: Jake Melksham has certainly come out and gone 'BANG' at me, after saying he may want time to bulk up, 'Milky' has stepped straight into life as an AFL player with virtualy ease, on his way to recording a team high 14 contested possesions in his debut versus Carlton proved that he was not going any where, any time soon.

#3: Ben Howlett has been somewhat of another revelation. Since being drafted as a mature aged rookie, he has been elevated off the rookie list and was thrust into the limelight, making his debut in our round 1 loss to Geelong, despite playing a solid (without being outstanding) game in the round 2 loss to Fremantle, Howlett was sent back to Bendigo and told the selectors to "pick me" on the back of three very impressive performaces for Bendigo. A player who has impressed me imensely, someone who does the team things, is not flash, and will be in the trenches when you need him to be. A real find in '10.

# 4: Paddy Ryder has probably been our biggest disapointment this year. After coming out of no where in 2009, our high hopes must have placed such a burden on his young shoulders and has since, not lived with this huge hype about him. Has shown glimpses of tearing apart a game of football without actually doing it this year, I was looking forward to seeing him and Hille interchanging regularly this season to be a real threat at the ruck contest.

SUMMARY: Nathan Lovett-Murray - Jake Melksham - Ben Howlett - Paddy Ryder
What a unique group of players we have here. From the tough in and under Nathan Lovett Murray to the high flying theatrics of Paddy ryder to the young exuberance of first year player Jake Melksham, I think this (our depth) is where we are slowly finding some pace. With players such as Brent Prismall, David Myers, Leroy Jetta and Tyson Slattery missing out on spots in the seniors.

EMERGENCIES:

# 1: Since coming across from Geelong, Brent Prismall has had an up and down ride in the black and red. Showing some form that saw him so highly rated at Geelong to then being ommited to go back to Bendigo to 'work on things'. He is a clean ball user and another whipping boy at the EFC. A far cry from everyone when he first came to the club as our 'midfield saviours'.

# 2: A very talented youngster, who West Adelaide coach Andy Collins said "a potential 200 game league player". Tyson Slattery has been playing some super footy with Bendigo in defence. A player who is not far away from a senior debut.

# 3: One of the biggest extraverts in the league now, Kyle Reimers has it all there, the heart, the passion, the talent to succeed at the highest level, we just need to see him apply it more regularly. When he does, he will surely become a lock in our best 22.

TEAM:

B: Henry Slattery - Tayte Pears - Dustin Fletcher

HB: Mark Mcveigh - Cale Hooker - Courtenay Dempsey

C: Jason Winderlich - Jobe Watson - Ricky Dyson

HF: David Zaharakis - Scott Gumbleton - Angus Monfries

F: Alwyn Davey - Michael Hurley - Mark Williams

R: David Hille - Brent Stanton - Heath Hocking

I/C: Nathan Lovett-Murray - Jake Melksham - Ben Howlett - Paddy Ryder

E:- Tyson Slattery - Andrew Welsh - Kyle Reimers

There we are people. My take on 'Reviewing Our Best 22".

I would just like to remind people I have taken into account form as well recent history when writing this. Thus Andrew Welsh has been left out of the starting 22 line up. Some players unlucky to miss out and this is a good thing, Essendon Football Club starting to build some depth. Just need to hope that some of the kids can kick on.

Thanks guys, enjoy reading.

Go Bombers :thumbsu:

eth-dog
14 May 2010, 20:22
great post. I love it whenever I see your name at the start of a post, because I know it'll be quality :thumbsu:.

Bombers36
14 May 2010, 20:28
Good to see someone else who obviously knows the players and the side has left Welsh out. Has been a great servant, but there is no place for him in this side going forward. I really hope to be proven wrong (as I was with Gumby) - time will tell....

HFF_07
15 May 2010, 10:02
Good to see someone else who obviously knows the players and the side has left Welsh out. Has been a great servant, but there is no place for him in this side going forward. I really hope to be proven wrong (as I was with Gumby) - time will tell....

In terms of Welsh, we still need strong bodied midfielders (Welsh) but he does not give us anything else of service other than perhaps, his run with role.

Did a bit of research on the side, so overall, looks good.

You would expect Dustin Fletcher to play close to goal no matter who he plays on, whilst Mcveigh would play close to goal if his direct opponent moved into a permanent forward role..

Ben the Gooner
19 May 2010, 09:41
I think we're starting to see our best 22 come together. There's been some positional changes for a few guys and changes are being forced rather than almost trial and error.

The 7 defenders are now apparent. We're missing Pears, Hooker, Slattery and Dyson from that, but their places have been taken by Atkinson (indirectly), Hurley, Dempsey and Prismall respectively. I genuinely believe that Dempsey's move up the ground on ANZAC Day will be more permanent when Fletch is no longer required to take a key forward. We should be seeing our proper back 7 by about the mid season break, assuming no further injuries.

B: H. Slattery - Pears - McVeigh
HB: Hocking - Hooker - Fletcher

I: Dyson

The forward line is also becoming settled. With the two talls starting to hit their straps, Hilley playing forward and relief ruck rather than Ryder, and a good balance of smalls (two crumbers and two markers) we're going to see a marked improvement over the next 4-6 weeks IMO.

HF: Davey - Gumbleton - Monfries
F: Zaharakis - Hurley - Hille

I: Jetta

The midfield is interesting. The rise of Lovett-Murray and Howlett as inside midfielders has given the team more balance, and the likes of Stanton and Winderlich are being complemented by new blood in Melksham, and Dempsey's move to the wing.

C: Winderlich - Watson - Melksham
R: Ryder - Stanton - NLM

I: Howlett - Dempsey

Giving us a 22 of

B: H Slattery - Pears - McVeigh
HB: Hocking - Hooker - Fletcher
C: Winderlich - Watson - Melksham
R: Ryder - Stanton - NLM
I: Dyson - Dempsey - Howlett - Jetta

E (from): Reimers - Welsh - Prismall - Williams - Colyer - Houli - Myers

I'd say that Dyson, Howlett and Jetta are the most vulnerable, plus Melksham will be managed at times.

There's plenty of flexibility in that team. As it stands, Howlett is getting the run with jobs, but Dempsey could easily switch back, and Slattery into the middle as another tagger. Of course, Welsh could easily come back in as a tagger.

**** me, I'm bullish.

Slattery_20
19 May 2010, 09:48
And Lyon picks Raph Clarke every week...and Sheedy picked Bradley and Bolton. Doesn't mean they weren't crap for afl standard.

Slatts is recognised by Knights as our best small defender....but that doesn't mean he is.
You don't think Hocking is in our best 22 based on the first 8 rounds???
Why not?

I'd have him in our best 10.

Slattery_20
19 May 2010, 09:51

Don't agree. Rock and a hard place with that tagging spot, Welsh or Howlett. Howlett offers a bit more going forward, Welsh a bit better at shutting out.

The Donners
19 May 2010, 10:43
BP: Henry Slattery- Hank is our best BP, despite people like "The House" saying that he's no good. We have won games on the back of Henry, any fool could see that, but people like the fore-mentioned can't admit it. Oh and for the record: Slattery 3, Cyril 0. Bullshit.

I'm happy to concede then that I'm a fool. Imho Hank is the least skilled player on our senior list - Quinn being our least skilled on our entire list.

The Donners
19 May 2010, 10:45
Why not?

He's played OK, with the Saints game very good, I'd say over the journey he'll be fringe at best. He's slow and tries to do too much for his moderate ability.

At the moment, he warrants his position.

Jono B
19 May 2010, 10:57
He's played OK, with the Saints game very good, I'd say over the journey he'll be fringe at best. He's slow and tries to do too much for his moderate ability.

He has been very good in the Geelong, Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn and St.Killda games, the rest were not bad either. Hardly OK. Would be easily in the top 5 this year.

The lines slow and tries too much don't really cut it this season either. He has rarely been caught out this year as his comparitively high disposal efficiency shows. He has also had no trouble keeping up with players of reasonable pace such as Motlop, Ebert and Duncan.

How long is it going to take until every one realises that Hocking is not Steven Baker and has more than enough talent to play AFL and is one of our better players going forward.

The Donners
19 May 2010, 11:32
He has been very good in the Geelong, Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn and St.Killda games, the rest were not bad either. Hardly OK. Would be easily in the top 5 this year.

The lines slow and tries too much don't really cut it this season either. He has rarely been caught out this year as his comparitively high disposal efficiency shows. He has also had no trouble keeping up with players of reasonable pace such as Motlop, Ebert and Duncan.

How long is it going to take until every one realises that Hocking is not Steven Baker and has more than enough talent to play AFL and is one of our better players going forward.

We'll have to agree to disagree.

lamaros
19 May 2010, 11:37
Since I started this thread I've become convinced Melksham is in our best 22, fitness permitting, and that we don't need Reimers forward if Hille can show the form forward he has been. Davey is also in as his pressure gets the whole team up and chasing.

B: H Slattery - Pears - McVeigh
HB: Dyson - Hooker - Fletcher
C: Winderlich - Stanton - Dempsey
R: Ryder - Watson - NLM

I: Hocking - Melksham - Howlett - Jetta

EMG: Reimers, Lonergan, Prismall, Williams, Myers, Welsh, Colyer, Atkinson, Houli, Laycock, Bellchambers, T. Slattery.

Pretty good emergency list I would think. :thumbsu:

On the downside we're currently missing 4 from our backline, but we still beat the Saints...

Slattery_20
19 May 2010, 11:40

He was caught fairly regularly last year trying to run around blokes. Can't remember him being caught more than once or twice this year.

Kong
19 May 2010, 11:55
B: Henry Slattery, Tayte Pears, Mark McVeigh
HB: Dustin Fletcher, Cale Hooker , Courtenay Dempsey
C: Andrew Lovett, Jobe Watson, Ricky Dyson
HF: Angus Monfries, Michael Hurley, Jason Winderlich
F: Alwyn Davey, Jay Neagle, Kyle Reimers
R: David Hille, Brent Prismall, Brent Stanton

Int: Patrick Ryder, Heath Hocking, David Myers, Adam McPhee

Emg: Scott Gumbleton, Sam Lonergan, Bachar Houli

Res: Andrew Welsh, David Zaharakis, Jason LaycockAndrew Welsh:confused: your obviously a bit worried about him recapturing his 08 form as I am. If he cant hold down the tagging role I think he may go back to the backline after that:confused:.Told you all so.

Ben the Gooner
19 May 2010, 13:16
Zaharakis a reserve Whomb?:o

Kong
19 May 2010, 14:10
Zaharakis a reserve Whomb?:o:p

To clarify, I overrated our list. By a lot. I've always been a massive fan of Zaharakis, but I thought the likes of Lonergan, Myers, Prismall, Neagle, Houli and Davey would have better seasons than they have. On top of that McPhee and Lovett were still around.

Captainfletch
19 May 2010, 21:35
B: H.Slattery - D.Fletcher - M.Mcveigh
HB: T.Pears - C.Hooker - C.Dempsey
C: J.Winderlich - B.Stanton - NLM
HF: A.Monfries - S.Gumbleton - D.Zaharakis
FF:A.Davey - M.Hurley - P.Ryder
R: D.Hille - J.Watson - H.Hocking
INT: K.Reimers - J.Atkinson - S.Lonergan - J.Melksham
EMG : B.Prismall - A.Welsh - L.Jetta - T.Slattery

Hurley and Gumby will be unstoppable in three or four years.
If Winderlich Progresses he can be anything.
I think Reimers also looks the likey type.

TheDon35
20 May 2010, 14:35
Come round 16, here's who I hope is playing. I'm not overly fussed who our absolute best current 22 are as it's clear to most that with a majority of our current 25 y/o plus players playing in the same side, we are not good enough.

McVeigh, Pears, Fletcher
T Slat Hooker, Reimers
Prismall Watson Dempsey
Melksham Gumby, Monfries
Winderlich Hurley, Jetta

Ryder, Zaharakis, Stanton

Colyer, Hocking, Myers, Hille

I'd like to see Reimers game develop across half back similar to how Harbrow's has.

Fletcher though he won't play in the next gf, gets a game for being a legend of the club that all can learn from

Hopefully Jetta pushes past Davey

McVeigh is a better lock down defender and has more strings to his bow than Slattery.

Bad luck Dyson.

Start playing Dempsey around the ball. It is so clear that's what needs to happen.

The House
21 May 2010, 10:00
Why not?

Where did i say Hocking isn't in our best 22?
He is definitely in mine as part of the mid rotation.

b:McVeigh Pears Fletcher
hb: Atkinson Hooker Welsh
c:Melksham Watson Dempsey
hf: Monfries Gumby Davey
f: Williams Hurley Ryder
R: Hille, NLM, Winders
I: Hocking, Lonergan, Stanton, Riemers

Had to leave out a few i like as players....getting harder to squeeze em in which is good news!

Slattery_20
21 May 2010, 10:32
Where did i say Hocking isn't in our best 22?
He is definitely in mine as part of the mid rotation.

b:McVeigh Pears Fletcher
hb: Atkinson Hooker Welsh
c:Melksham Watson Dempsey
hf: Monfries Gumby Davey
f: Williams Hurley Ryder
R: Hille, NLM, Winders
I: Hocking, Lonergan, Stanton, Riemers

Had to leave out a few i like as players....getting harder to squeeze em in which is good news!
You replied to me asking how he wasn't in. I took that to mean you disagreed. Silly me.

The House
21 May 2010, 13:54
You replied to me asking how he wasn't in. I took that to mean you disagreed. Silly me.

i think you're confusing me for someone else.