View Full Version : Who is the fastest bomber?
djrossie
17 May 2010, 16:30
I ask this question because in the 3rd quarter I think I saw Jones get in front of the pack and was free running into 50 and out of nowhere i see this blur from the corner of my eye and I think it was Colyer who must have made up about 20-30 metres and nearly caught him it was unbelievable speed. Is he the fastest player we have? For me that was the highlight of the game!
Duckworth
17 May 2010, 16:34
Atkinson is the fastest over 20m. Well he was at one stage of testing.
DapperDon
17 May 2010, 16:37
Your highlight of the game was someone running fast?:D
He has got pace to burn this kid, though i'm not sure if he's our fastest. I guess it depends on over which distance, as I think Ricky is the fastest over 100m and Alwyn was fastest over 20m. (This was from last year though so most likely changed)
djrossie
17 May 2010, 16:40
He has got pace to burn this kid, though i'm not sure if he's our fastest. I guess it depends on over which distance, as I think Ricky is the fastest over 100m and Alwyn was fastest over 20m. (This was from last year though so most likely changed)
True I get excited over silly things when Essendon do well. It's just that from my vantage point on the other side of the ground it was incredible.:eek:
Al right i've come back to earth now that Melksham goal where he ran from half back was pretty good:):thumbsu:
Kaiser Powser
17 May 2010, 16:41
20m is a far more important distance than 100m. Most chases/runs/leads would be lucky to last 20m.
Bombers36
depends on distance for sure:
contenders:
20m - Davey, Colyer, Jetta
100m - J.Williams, Dyson, Atkinson, Quinn
400m - J.Williams, Dyson, Atkinson
800m - Gumby, winderlich, Melksham
Frothies Mcveigh
Depends over which distance. Monfries is actually quite fast over 20m, saw him Davey and a few other guys doing 20m sprints and Gus was leading the others.
djrossie
17 May 2010, 16:48
depends on distance for sure:
contenders:
20m - Davey, Colyer, Jetta
100m - J.Williams, Dyson, Atkinson, Quinn
400m - J.Williams, Dyson, Atkinson
800m - Gumby, winderlich, Melksham
Yes those guys Davey and Colyer ( Who remind me of Centors) leave scorched earth behind them when they run a bit like the road runner.
Jetta's is more of a dust cloud like the Tasmanian Devil. With that Blonde hair he looks a bit devish lol.:p
DapperDon
17 May 2010, 16:48
20m is a far more important distance than 100m. Most chases/runs/leads would be lucky to last 20m.
For sure, I may be wrong but wasn't Neagle one of our fastest over 20m also?
DapperDon
17 May 2010, 16:50
True I get excited over silly things when Essendon do well. It's just that from my vantage point on the other side of the ground it was incredible.:eek:
Al right i've come back to earth now that Melksham goal where he ran from half back was pretty good:):thumbsu:
All good, nothing I love more than a good run down. Gets the crowd pumped.
TeamHurley
17 May 2010, 16:50
There was play in the last quarter where zahsouvlakis looked pretty quick.
DogMclaren
17 May 2010, 17:01
Im pretty sure (pre colyer) that both Davey and Atkinson shared the club record over 20m- being about 2.73 seconds i believe???
But would have to think colyer this year would push that.
djrossie
17 May 2010, 17:01
Our recruiting nowdays is based on the motto "when in doubt go with speed" i'm backing Colyer in this guy reminds me of that guy from one of The Mighty Ducks movies who skated too fast and couldn't slow down to shoot lol.
StealthBomber
17 May 2010, 17:17
Saw it. He was running off half back towards the wing contesting with Montagna. They both sprinted about 50 metres for the ball, with Souvlaki leading and creating more space between him and Montagna over the distance travelled :thumbsu:
Looked super quick.....shame Montagna easily pushed him off the ball though for an easy possie. The kid needs some solid time in the gym :)
Smyth94
17 May 2010, 17:22
Ryder would be our fastest over 100m
Giggidy Giggidy
17 May 2010, 17:32
Saw it. He was running off half back towards the wing contesting with Montagna. They both sprinted about 50 metres for the ball, with Souvlaki leading and creating more space between him and Montagna over the distance travelled :thumbsu:
Looked super quick.....shame Montagna easily pushed him off the ball though for an easy possie. The kid needs some solid time in the gym :)
Zaka went straight past him at a rate of knots, but couldn't get the ball to sit up, and couldn't reach down far enough at that speed. Should have kicked it off the ground, as he would have had 5-10 metres on his opponent by then and could just about have run into an open 50 for a shot.
Ryder would be our fastest over 100m
Paddy was our representative in the GF day sprint and went alright IIRC.
Ben the Gooner
17 May 2010, 17:43
Ryder would be my pick.
blitzer
17 May 2010, 17:49
I don't know who would be the fastest in terms of time trials for various distances etc but on the footy field i would say Colyer. He just burns people off him with pure acceleration and speed.
Tailypo
17 May 2010, 17:51
Dempsey would go well over 100m I reckon.
Smyth94
17 May 2010, 17:52
Zaka went straight past him at a rate of knots, but couldn't get the ball to sit up, and couldn't reach down far enough at that speed. Should have kicked it off the ground, as he would have had 5-10 metres on his opponent by then and could just about have run into an open 50 for a shot.
Paddy was our representative in the GF day sprint and went alright IIRC.
Paddy actually won it a few years back (IIRC)
He would smash the little blokes like Davey, Dempsey et al over 100m
I've always thought it was Atkinson, I read he was the quickest over 20m somewhere.
Fastest at the club IMO.
He's a bit like wanganeen in that he cruises most of the time but has that extra gear he uses when he really needs it. When he really unwinds there is no quicker at the club.
Where would Fletcher rank?
james_omahoney
17 May 2010, 18:29
Watson.
nickh32
17 May 2010, 18:37
A couple of years ago somebody said with a year or 2 of training Mark Williams could of been an onlympic sprinter.
George Washington
17 May 2010, 18:57
A couple of years ago somebody said with a year or 2 of training Mark Williams could of been an onlympic sprinter.
I read somewhere that Dempsey had to choose between AFL and becoming a 400m sprinter.
FandangoDingo
17 May 2010, 19:27
^^ I also read in this week's footy record that Milney "could have played cricket for Australia but chose footy".... in his own humble opinion! :rolleyes:
For sure, I may be wrong but wasn't Neagle one of our fastest over 20m also?
lol. Maybe if you dropped him off a 20m high building!
Caught the last quarter of the Bendigo match on the weekend and he looked completely disinterested. I tried to give him a rev up from over the fence and he did actually put in one pretty good chase, but mostly was just getting himself into the wrong positions. Very sad to see such talent rotting away without the necessary desire or application.
Towno78
17 May 2010, 21:11
Fastest at the club IMO.
He's a bit like wanganeen in that he cruises most of the time but has that extra gear he uses when he really needs it. When he really unwinds there is no quicker at the club.
Agree. Only ever needs to cruise because that's faster than most anyway.
Shame we don't get to see that extra gear more often.
windyhill
17 May 2010, 21:31
Dempsey can get on his bike at times.
Knight Ryders
17 May 2010, 21:40
What's the point of being quick if you don't utilise it on the field. Colyer, Davey, Jetta and Atkinson all utilise their pace really well in a match situation. Dempsey and Winderlich also show it, but not as much as the others.
If Ryder is so quick, it should be a no-brainer next time we play against NicNat about who should be in the centre square. It also helps that Ryder tackles like a mo-fo (I hope that is not against the festival rules).
Smyth94
17 May 2010, 22:07
What's the point of being quick if you don't utilise it on the field. Colyer, Davey, Jetta and Atkinson all utilise their pace really well in a match situation. Dempsey and Winderlich also show it, but not as much as the others.
If Ryder is so quick, it should be a no-brainer next time we play against NicNat about who should be in the centre square. It also helps that Ryder tackles like a mo-fo (I hope that is not against the festival rules).
What do you mean "if"?
Ryder isn't as quick as a Davey, Dempsey, Atko in an AFL situation (20m), but over a 100m he would smash them.
As of 2008 - Atkinson with 2.78 had the fastest 20m time at Essendon.
threeleggedgoat
18 May 2010, 00:06
^^ I also read in this week's footy record that Milney "could have played cricket for Australia but chose footy".... in his own humble opinion! :rolleyes:
LOL! he plays a few games at a club in my local league every summer (actually along with j. gwilt and possibly another hawthorn bloke), he's rubbish. and even more of an arrogant tiprat than you'd imagine.
Atkinson has the 20m sprint record at 2.73. Jetta and Dempsey have run 2.75, not sure on Davey.
It was Quinn (John) who said that Dempsey could have easily represented Australia in the 400m.
Atkinson has the 20m sprint record at 2.73. Jetta and Dempsey have run 2.75, not sure on Davey.
It was Quinn (John) who said that Dempsey could have easily represented Australia in the 400m.
This is correct as I recall. It was published in the club magazine that 3 players held the record equally on 2.75. I can't recall who the third was but I remember that Lovett, Davey and Dyson had also all run in the 2.7's so it was on of those.
Atkinson broke it (early last year?) and as few of the others said they did not want to have a crack at getting it back and risk there hammies.
Valve Bounce
18 May 2010, 08:52
I think it is also important where a player is quick off the mark, quick in turning or change of pace, quick in mind (some guys are really, really slow in this department), quick to figure out what to do, rather than just being fast when running 20 to 50 metres. That film clip we keep getting of Alwyn shows he is impressive and quick.
90% of the time, it is about acceleration - how quickly the player gets to top speed.
In the NFL, they test over distances such as 5m. This is probably the most important distance for our game.
Davey and Colyer seem to get to their top speed incredibly quickly, hence they gain separation or catch someone very quickly.
Dempsey, for example, probably has a faster top speed than both, but doesnt seem to explode and get to that speed as quickly - perhaps its the hammies, but thats my gut feel without testing figures.
Ryder may be the best over 100m - but takes 10m to get to his top speed and then can hold it for 90m, where as Davey takes 3-4m to accelerate to his top speed which may still be faster than Ryder's, but he can only maintain it for 25m.
Towno78
18 May 2010, 20:14
90% of the time, it is about acceleration - how quickly the player gets to top speed.
In the NFL, they test over distances such as 5m. This is probably the most important distance for our game.
Davey and Colyer seem to get to their top speed incredibly quickly, hence they gain separation or catch someone very quickly.
Dempsey, for example, probably has a faster top speed than both, but doesnt seem to explode and get to that speed as quickly - perhaps its the hammies, but thats my gut feel without testing figures.
Ryder may be the best over 100m - but takes 10m to get to his top speed and then can hold it for 90m, where as Davey takes 3-4m to accelerate to his top speed which may still be faster than Ryder's, but he can only maintain it for 25m.
Ryder gets to his top speed at 10m, and Davey 3-4m? :confused:
lol, your numbers are a bit off there mate. But disregarding the exact figures, the logic is reasonable.
bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 20:46
Sorry mate, I used to be a sprinter and it takes 40-65m for a 100m sprinter to reach "top" speed and then it declines from there, impossible to maintain top speed with the way the human upper legs are built.
If Davey made top speed at 3-4m his hamstrings would tear at 10m.
This is correct as I recall. It was published in the club magazine that 3 players held the record equally on 2.75. I can't recall who the third was but I remember that Lovett, Davey and Dyson had also all run in the 2.7's so it was on of those.
Atkinson broke it (early last year?) and as few of the others said they did not want to have a crack at getting it back and risk there hammies.
I forgot about Davey, he also ran 2.75.
Wahooti Fandango
18 May 2010, 22:42
Would also do well over 400m. Stanton would dominate the 800m.
Zahasouvlakis
18 May 2010, 23:18
....I'm not that quick:cool: