View Full Version : Changes for Richmond

lamaros
18 May 2010, 17:55
In: Pears, Williams, NLM
Out: Hooker, Colyer, Atkinson

Williams will play better now the rest of the team is playing better, and will kick goals.
Pears I just think we need, so Fletch is free to play on Riewoldt.
NLM is a no brainer if he's fit.

Colyer is still a worry using the ball, and we don't want to give Richmond any chances.

Edit: Removed Zaka from here. I think he's in our best 22 and should stay. I just thought he might be tired and could do with a rest. I have changed my mind.

leng jai
18 May 2010, 18:04
Is Pears actually ready to play?

AS9
18 May 2010, 18:14
In: Williams, NLM
Out: Hooker (inj), Colyer (omit)

I think Colyer should spend more time developing in the VFL.

thebigboy
18 May 2010, 18:16
Give Pears and Reimers an extra week considering we have a short term around next week against a far better opponent (No disrespect to Richmond).

Agree with AS9's changes.

EssendonPride
18 May 2010, 18:21
In: Pears, Williams, NLM
Out: Hooker, Colyer, Zaka/Atkinson

Williams will play better now the rest of the team is playing better, and will kick goals.
Pears I just think we need, so Fletch is free to play on Riewoldt.
NLM is a no brainer if he's fit.

Colyer is still a worry using the ball, and we don't want to give Richmond any chances.
Zaka I just think has dropped off recently and could use a break, either that or drop Atkinson (who hasn't been bad, but isn't exactly good either) and keep Hurley down back still.

Zaharakis has a pretty quiet game last week, but had 5 assists against Port.
Unless by "Dropped off recently" you meant had a single quiet week, you're wrong.

Atkinson has done nothing wrong, he won't be dropped.

lamaros
18 May 2010, 18:24
Zaharakis has a pretty quiet game last week, but had 5 assists against Port.
Unless by "Dropped off recently" you meant had a single quiet week, you're wrong.

Atkinson has done nothing wrong, he won't be dropped.

I don't dispute either of those. But I would prefer to see Williams and NLM in the side, and someone has to go out.

BomberTime
18 May 2010, 18:26
Have a feeling they wont risk pears and reimers so..
In: Lovett-Murray, Williams
Out: Hooker, Colyer

It will be good for the dreamtime match to have dempsey atkinson williams lovett-murray davey and ryder to all play, but its not the only reason nlm and williams should be selected

EssendonPride
18 May 2010, 18:34
It will be good for the dreamtime match to have dempsey atkinson williams lovett-murray davey and ryder to all play, but its not the only reason nlm and williams should be selected

And Jetta :P.
Agree with your changes though. Colyer a little stiff (Did some good things), but NLM and Williams are required.

Kong
18 May 2010, 18:35
If NLM and Williams come in for say Hooker and Colyer, we'd have 7 aboriginals in our side. That's roughly 30%!

Sheedy would be proud.

Hirdman
18 May 2010, 18:38
I am going to assume that Pears and Reimers are not quite ready.

Out Hooker (inj) Colyer (omit)
In Williams NLM

NLM is a no brainer if ready.

Williams should be given another chance, I would give him as much space as possible in the first quarter if it doesnt work I would play him higher and use Hille.

Colyer will be better for his taste he is not at the stage where we need to pump 3 or 4 games into him in a row, still very raw.

Bombers by 60 points.

anf06
18 May 2010, 18:39
I've been a big critic of the decision to play Coyler this year. But against the Saints, he disposed of the ball far better. Give him another crack I say.

Out: Hooker
In: Pears

If Pears is not right;

Out: Hooker, Zaharakis
In: Williams, NatRat

Williams can take Hurley's role, Hurley to go back.
Williams is more suited to play that main forward role which means Zaha should move into the midfild, but as he probably wont, drop him for NatRat, and play a forward structure with Williams and a resting ruckman, davey and jetta at their feet and gumby roaming the wings.

JD11
18 May 2010, 19:11
If zaka gets dropped i will spew.

The Dustbin
18 May 2010, 19:38
Out: Hooker (inj), Colyer (omit)

This.

Towno78
18 May 2010, 19:55
Not only is Zaka our leading goalkicker so far this year, he has double the number of goal assists to any other Bomber. Yes, he had 1 quiet game last week (where he still kicked 1 goal, and gave 2 away) but he's hardly going off the boil!
Anyone who made this suggestion, should take a moment to reevaluate things.

I agree with giving Pears and Reimers the extra week, so:
Out: Hooker, ?

Really struggling to find the out for NLM, but he must come in. Many are suggesting Colyer, and I've been a big critic of Colyer's disposal so far this year, but I didn't see any clangers on the weekend, so I'd like to see him again. But I can't think of anyone else. Maybe Melksham's due for another rest after playing 2 in a row again? But probably has to be Colyer.

Knight Ryders
18 May 2010, 20:11
Zaka out! You're off your tits!

Out: Hooker (inj), Myers

NLM and Myers basically play the same position. I don't want to see him out, but I don't want to drop either Colyer or Jetta because I like the pace andd dynamic they give the team. The eveness of our list is starting to really impress me!

Bring Williams into a pocket, push Hille/Ryder FF as the main target and leave Hurley down back.

It's going to be one tough selection meeting this week!

james_omahoney
18 May 2010, 20:50
Is he having a laugh? Are you having a laugh??

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sJmpiYbaE9E/SFZHnwgdh4I/AAAAAAAAAe8/M0hUl8kVA-A/s320/andy.jpg

Kong
18 May 2010, 20:54
Is he having a laugh? Are you having a laugh??

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sJmpiYbaE9E/SFZHnwgdh4I/AAAAAAAAAe8/M0hUl8kVA-A/s320/andy.jpgHaha.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 21:14
HAHA! Zaharakis is top 10 in the league for goal assists....

In: NLM
Out: Hooker (inj)

Will not risk Pears and McReimy
We need Pears to keep Barry Hall quiet the week after.

Daytripper
18 May 2010, 21:24
Zaka copped his first ever heavy tag at this level last week and played accordingly. He'll learn from that. Dropping him would be madness.

Pears must play if fit.
1. He is probably our best defender.
2. Do we really want him going into the Bulldogs game first up for a month.

In : Pears, NLM, Reimers/Lonergan
Out : Hooker, Colyer, Myers

Myers is an interesting one. Do we give him another game for continuity or do we pick the best available and slot Reimers/Lonergan/Williams straight back in.

Richmond are quite quick and the big ground may not suit Myers. I don't know what role he could play in the team this week.

I'm inclined to pick the best available. Our season is still quite perilous and its still not the time to be experimenting with players.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 21:46
Myers needs 10 games straight with no dropping.
Also, Myers is MUCH quicker than people are for some reason assuming.

silk
18 May 2010, 21:51
In. NLM, Williams (Or Neagle, despite not doing enough in VFL, just for a bigger prescence)
Out. Hooker, Colyer/Howlett/Myers

One of those 3 will have to be omitted, tough break, but NLM is currently a better player in better form.

Duckworth
18 May 2010, 21:54
Couldn't find a thread for this, and didn't want to make another so I thought I'd post it here.

With Hooker out and probably Pears as well we are (at least) 1 tall defender short. Last week Hurley was moved back as cover. With Hille and Ryder resting forward.

If we are trying to develop Hurley as a forward why wasn't Ryder (who has played defense before) moved back? Was wondering what other peoples thoughts were on this regarding team balance?

Good to have the options I guess, just curious.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 22:02
Why is everyone putting so many emissions after a good week? What do you think happens to the confidence of the young playing group if they are dropped despite giving their all?
Knights is smart enough, he won't drop anyone and he will add NLM.
Did you see our rebounds from St Kilda's mistakes via pressure? Imagine if we apply that same pressure to a team last on the ladder? If we rebound like we were vs St Kilda against Richmond we will THUMP them.
All comes down to the players confidence in Knights and themselves.

Towno78
18 May 2010, 22:05
Myers needs 10 games straight with no dropping.
Also, Myers is MUCH quicker than people are for some reason assuming.

No one has made any assumptions about Myers lack of pace, the evidence is there for all to see.
Reminds me of Paul Reiffel, looks like he's just loping, but he's actually at full pace and its kinda hard to believe.

Just hope he can cover for it in other areas as Jobe has.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 22:07
If we are trying to develop Hurley as a forward why wasn't Ryder (who has played defense before) moved back? Was wondering what other peoples thoughts were on this regarding team balance?

Good to have the options I guess, just curious.

I said the same thing in the gameday thread when Hooker went down, I assumed Knights would have Hille perma-ruck, move Ryder back to CHB as he is more likely to contain Kozi (he used to towel solid forwards like Brown as a backman)

I assume it's because they're trying to groom Ryder as a ruckman that rests forward and playing back would put him out of that rhythm?

The end result was good, I don't think Hurley could have kicked 3 goals in that match and it turns out that Ryder could.

13bombers
18 May 2010, 22:08
Why is everyone putting so many emissions after a good week? What do you think happens to the confidence of the young playing group if they are dropped despite giving their all?
Knights is smart enough, he won't drop anyone and he will add NLM.
Did you see our rebounds from St Kilda's mistakes via pressure? Imagine if we apply that same pressure to a team last on the ladder? If we rebound like we were vs St Kilda against Richmond we will THUMP them.
All comes down to the players confidence in Knights and themselves.

gold long live the young boys,and whoever said neagle... is kidding themselves, hille is big enough presence and does more than neagle when hes resting up there

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 22:12
No one has made any assumptions about Myers lack of pace, the evidence is there for all to see.
Reminds me of Paul Reiffel, looks like he's just loping, but he's actually at full pace and its kinda hard to believe.

Just hope he can cover for it in other areas as Jobe has.

Yeah I get what you mean, he looks really stiff when he runs and the ball goes side to side a heap, sort of like Sonic the Hedgehog, 3.01sec for 20m at the draft camp seems pretty quick to me, especially for a 191cm well built bloke.

Myers is the sort of bloke I will stick up for until the cows come home, has tonnes of talent but people aren't showing faith in him, he wasn't picked at six because he is a complete hack, I also think he has great leadership qualities and he puts his head over the ball. Some of the passes I have seen in the U18 videos are those massive beaming 55m passes to the chest that Daniel Rich does, cannot wait for him to confidently unleash those to Gumby, Monfries and Hurley.

Duckworth
18 May 2010, 22:26
I said the same thing in the gameday thread when Hooker went down, I assumed Knights would have Hille perma-ruck, move Ryder back to CHB as he is more likely to contain Kozi (he used to towel solid forwards like Brown as a backman)

I assume it's because they're trying to groom Ryder as a ruckman that rests forward and playing back would put him out of that rhythm?

The end result was good, I don't think Hurley could have kicked 3 goals in that match and it turns out that Ryder could.

ah, sorry I didn't read the game day thread (as I was there to see for myself). Good to have the option of switching. Would like to see Hurley kick a bag at FF against Richmond though.

I agree with you on Myers too. Should be given some time to see how he goes. I posted something about Myers not being slow earlier. The general consensus (credit to Longy413) was that he is quick in a straight line, but less so with his agility.

Ben the Gooner
18 May 2010, 22:30
In: Williams, NLM, H Slattery
Out: Hooker, Myers, Atkinson

First change forced. The other two outs are unlucky, but someone has to make way for two certainties in the 22. Atkinson in particular is stiff, but Hocking, Spike and Dempsey are ahead of him as true small defenders and Prismall is playing the Dyson role at times. Not enough room in the team for 8 defenders.

Towno78
18 May 2010, 22:33
Yeah I get what you mean, he looks really stiff when he runs and the ball goes side to side a heap, sort of like Sonic the Hedgehog, 3.01sec for 20m at the draft camp seems pretty quick to me, especially for a 191cm well built bloke.

Myers is the sort of bloke I will stick up for until the cows come home, has tonnes of talent but people aren't showing faith in him, he wasn't picked at six because he is a complete hack, I also think he has great leadership qualities and he puts his head over the ball. Some of the passes I have seen in the U18 videos are those massive beaming 55m passes to the chest that Daniel Rich does, cannot wait for him to confidently unleash those to Gumby, Monfries and Hurley.

I have faith in him, just think he's slow. Would love him to play a heap of games this year. I think he has a lot of composure and agree can be damaging with his disposals, which I think he was on Sunday (after his first 2 shanks).

LB#16
18 May 2010, 22:34
In: Williams, NLM, H Slattery
Out: Hooker, Myers, Atkinson

First change forced. The other two outs are unlucky, but someone has to make way for two certainties in the 22. Atkinson in particular is stiff, but Hocking, Spike and Dempsey are ahead of him as true small defenders and Prismall is playing the Dyson role at times. Not enough room in the team for 8 defenders.

Did you mean Tyson? Henry will be out for this week minimum, the essendonfc website says.

Frothies Mcveigh
18 May 2010, 22:37
In: Williams, NLM.

Out: Hooker, Colyer.

Pretty straight forward. People saying Zaka should be dropped are nuts.

Ben the Gooner
18 May 2010, 22:43
Did you mean Tyson? Henry will be out for this week minimum, the essendonfc website says.

Haven't seen that :(

Atko keeps his spot then.

lamaros
18 May 2010, 22:43
In: Williams, NLM.

Pretty straight forward. People saying Zaka should be dropped are nuts.

I said he should be rested and everyone disagreed with me. I wouldn't get worked up about it. :)

I see no reason to drop Myers. I'd keep Myers in the midfield and rotate NLM off half-back and drop Atkinson instead.

Hard on Atkinson, but someone has to go out...

HFF_07
19 May 2010, 00:02
OK, so I am putting my head out on a limb here, but;

OUTS: Cale Hooker (Hamstring), David Myers (Omitted)

INS: Marcus Marigliani, Mark Williams

Do not think they will risk both of Lovett - Murray and Tayte Pears against lowly Richmond. Perfect game to bring in debutant Marigliani to play that inside role to help Watson at the expense of David Myers, whilst Hooker's injury means Hurley goes back and opens up a forward's position which is filled by traded player Mark Williams.

ghostdog
19 May 2010, 00:07
If zaka gets dropped i will spew.

That would make two lots of spew.

ghostdog
19 May 2010, 00:09

Do not think they will risk both of Lovett - Murray and Tayte Pears against lowly Richmond. Perfect game to bring in debutant Marigliani to play that inside role to help Watson at the expense of David Myers, whilst Hooker's injury means Hurley goes back and opens up a forward's position which is filled by traded player Mark Williams.

Can Marigliani be included that easily, I mean without any bureaucratic rubbish first?

Mecha
19 May 2010, 00:19
INS: Marcus Marigliani,

I thought we would have to put Laycock on the long term injury list for him to play.

Anyhoo.

Pears and Reimers to play 2's

OUT: Hooker (inj), Colyer (omi)
IN: Lonergan, NLM

bipolarbeaR
19 May 2010, 00:24
Out: Atkinson

Don't see him being dropped for the Dreamtime game Old Benno, as he is an indigenous boy, the game means to much for him, and he is likely to rise to the occasion.

EssendonPride
19 May 2010, 00:34

With Laycock listed as a 6 week injury, Marigliani has no place to fill on the list, thus can't play.
Also wouldn't be dropping Myers after one game again. Give him a chance to show something ffs.

chris2269
19 May 2010, 08:07
Willo won't play Lonergan will.

I thought Willo was a given in, obviously not - 2 weeks off footy now after missing last week's Bendigo match. Really disapointed he won't be playing in the Dreamtime match given what it would have meant to him.

Ricky
19 May 2010, 08:52
In: NLM, Williams
Out: Hooker (inj), Myers (omit)

NLM strong body into the midfield will be good against the small bodied Richmond and Williams with Hurley dropping back in Hooker's position.

Myers isn't up to AFL Level, simple as that. Too many times against St.Kilda he was hesistant to go for the footy and looked for the handball out the back of the pack instead of picking up the footy. Too many hospital kicks as well. Don't rate him, send him off to the GC or somewhere else.

Don't know what the recruiting staff was doing taking Myers over Rioli

Pweter
19 May 2010, 09:16
HAHA! Zaharakis is top 10 in the league for goal assists....

Out: Hooker (inj)

Will not risk Pears and McReimy
We need Pears to keep Barry Hall quiet the week after.

This.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

If Williams comes in, I reckon it has to be at the expense of Colyer but I don't think it will happen. If he does come in, play Williams and the resting ruckman out of the goal square and clear out the 50, the crumbers can swoop as the ball comes in.

Ben the Gooner
19 May 2010, 09:18
Don't see him being dropped for the Dreamtime game Old Benno, as he is an indigenous boy, the game means to much for him, and he is likely to rise to the occasion.

See my later post where Slatts isn't fit. If he was, though, sentiment shouldn't enter into it.

mark1881
19 May 2010, 09:19
Myers got better as the StKilda game got on. He started shaky but was solid in the 2nd half, it would be stupid to drop him.

INS: NLM
OUT: Hooker

AS9
19 May 2010, 09:23

I thought Willo was a given in, obviously not - 2 weeks off footy now after missing last week's Bendigo match. Really disapointed he won't be playing in the Dreamtime match given what it would have meant to him.
Do you know the reasoning behind this decision?

I'm guessing Knights' is scared that if Williams comes back in he might ruin the structure. I honestly can't say I agree with it.

beev
19 May 2010, 09:44
Myers got better as the StKilda game got on. He started shaky but was solid in the 2nd half, it would be stupid to drop him.

INS: NLM

This. :thumbsu:

No point in dropping Myers after 1 game. At least he ended up playing midfield. What everyone has wanted, right? Give him a chance to be the player we think he can be.

If Tayte is given the all clear I would bring him into the side, but at the expense of who is the question.

Ricky
19 May 2010, 09:47

No point in dropping Myers after 1 game. At least he ended up playing midfield. What everyone has wanted, right? Give him a chance to be the player we think he can be.

If Tayte is given the all clear I would bring him into the side, but at the expense of who is the question.

I never wanted him in the side in the first place..he is too slow, soft and decision making is horrible!

Not a number 6 draft pick!!

hank31
19 May 2010, 10:03
Here is one for you gentlemen talking about 3 or 4 changes... You dont unsettle a winning team and a winning formula. Only change that needs to be made is a forced one with Hooker out and NLM or pears to come in. You dont just make changes for the sake of it!
Myers played well last week. Get off his back lads calling for his head.

hank31
19 May 2010, 10:09
I never wanted him in the side in the first place..he is too slow, soft and decision making is horrible!

Not a number 6 draft pick!!

And what football credentials do you have to make this call, Ricky?

He hasn't starred in his first couple of seasons, not every player does.

So get off his back and support the guy you goose.

Ricky
19 May 2010, 10:13
And what football credentials do you have to make this call, Ricky?

He hasn't starred in his first couple of seasons, not every player does.

So get off his back and support the guy you flog.

Annoys me that he doesn't put his over the footy...It's just soft, trust me I'd know..7 KO'S from putting my head over the footy.

No he hasn't starred in his first couple of seasons but isn't showing any signs of improving. You can't have Hocking, Lonergan and Myers in the same side and most importantly in the midfield

He hasn't earnt his spot...His disposal is shithouse, he is a VFL player at best

hank31
19 May 2010, 10:34
Annoys me that he doesn't put his over the footy...It's just soft, trust me I'd know..7 KO'S from putting my head over the footy.

No he hasn't starred in his first couple of seasons but isn't showing any signs of improving. You can't have Hocking, Lonergan and Myers in the same side and most importantly in the midfield

He hasn't earnt his spot...His disposal is shithouse, he is a VFL player at best

Well 7 KO's is a good effort, i've only been KO'ed properly once but it was a good one lol.. Anyway, i thought on sunday he did put his head over it, i also thought he used his size a bit too to throw his weight around.
Must have been watching different games i guess...
Its funny how 2 supporters can have completely different oppinions of someone..

Ben the Gooner
19 May 2010, 11:09
Do you know the reasoning behind this decision?

I'm guessing Knights' is scared that if Williams comes back in he might ruin the structure. I honestly can't say I agree with it.

As much as I like Williams as a player, I agree with him. Having said that, with Hurley in defence, I think Willo should play as a true full forward.

lamaros
19 May 2010, 11:23
As much as I like Williams as a player, I agree with him. Having said that, with Hurley in defence, I think Willo should play as a true full forward.

Richmond doesn't really have players that require Hurley in defence.

Only Fletch can play on Riewoldt, and unless they've grown a quality tall overnight then Hurley can play forward.

If Pears comes in Hurley wont be down back for sure.

Kong
19 May 2010, 11:28

I thought Willo was a given in, obviously not - 2 weeks off footy now after missing last week's Bendigo match. Really disapointed he won't be playing in the Dreamtime match given what it would have meant to him.Are you able to shed any light on what Williams is being told at the moment?

EDIT: What AS9 said.As much as I like Williams as a player, I agree with him. Having said that, with Hurley in defence, I think Willo should play as a true full forward.Yeah my thoughts exactly.

Having said that, we could get away with Hille/Ryder playing 80%/20% of the game at FF for a few weeks, as long as we keep the likes of Jetta, Davey, Zaharakis and Colyer at their feet.

Smokin
19 May 2010, 12:07

Im sure Knights and co learnt last season losing to Richmond you dont play Hurley in defense unless you have the right matchup for him.

Against smaller, mobile types - it was nothing short of a disaster.

Agree on Williams, would be a good game to see where he was at this one, as the forwardline should be fairly open.

Smokin
19 May 2010, 12:13

this makes no sense - you cant categorically say Myers stays, then not know who to drop for clear best 22 players such as Pears and NLM.

Myers is only have the equation - the other half is the opportunity cost, ie who are we NOT playing by playing him.

I see it as this - NLM and Myers kinda like for like - allegedly Myers is a clearance player, or half back. NLM schools him in any position of the ground, any day of the week. He is in. NLM has actually been a revalation in the clearances of late.

Hooker is out, if we go like for like a Pears may come in.

The team struggled at the clearances, and we have to look ahead to our future month.

If Pears and NLM are right, they are in. No questions asked. You dont hold on to a player to be nice - this is AFL not under 12's ffs.

hird+lloyd=legends
19 May 2010, 12:18
INS - Neagle

OUTS - Hooksey

beev
19 May 2010, 13:07
this makes no sense - you cant categorically say Myers stays, then not know who to drop for clear best 22 players such as Pears and NLM.

Myers is only have the equation - the other half is the opportunity cost, ie who are we NOT playing by playing him.

I see it as this - NLM and Myers kinda like for like - allegedly Myers is a clearance player, or half back. NLM schools him in any position of the ground, any day of the week. He is in. NLM has actually been a revalation in the clearances of late.

Hooker is out, if we go like for like a Pears may come in.

The team struggled at the clearances, and we have to look ahead to our future month.

If Pears and NLM are right, they are in. No questions asked. You dont hold on to a player to be nice - this is AFL not under 12's ffs.

Ease up. I never said Myers should stay just to be nice. What would give you that impression?

I understand what your saying (about NLM compared to Myers) but the point i was trying to make was that everytime Myers comes into the team he isn't given an opportunity to cement himself in the team. Always in one week, out the next.

Smyth94
19 May 2010, 13:40
WTF is with the drop Zaka shit? Are people actually being serious? :o

Bombers36
19 May 2010, 15:03
I'd have;-

OUT: Myers Hooker Zahar
IN: NLM Pears M.Williams

Atkinson Pears McVeigh
Dempsey Flecth Winders
Colyer Watson Melksham
Hurley Gumby Monfries
Davey M.Williams Jetta

Hille Hocking Stanton

Ryder Howlett Prismal NLM

If NLM & Pears are fit they have both got to come straight in they have been 2 of our best players for 2010. M.Williams has to come in also - SURELY!!! Ive been saying this for weeks - they cant leave him languishing at bendigo forever.
Dont know who to drop for Willo though - I'd give Zaharakis a run back at Bendigo - but Jetta might be the unlucky one...

Ricky
19 May 2010, 15:35
I'd have;-

OUT: Myers Hooker Zahar
IN: NLM Pears M.Williams

Atkinson Pears McVeigh
Dempsey Flecth Winders
Colyer Watson Melksham
Hurley Gumby Monfries
Davey M.Williams Jetta

Hille Hocking Stanton

Ryder Howlett Prismal NLM

If NLM & Pears are fit they have both got to come straight in they have been 2 of our best players for 2010. M.Williams has to come in also - SURELY!!! Ive been saying this for weeks - they cant leave him languishing at bendigo forever.
Dont know who to drop for Willo though - I'd give Zaharakis a run back at Bendigo - but Jetta might be the unlucky one...

May I ask why you want to drop our leading goal kicker this year who has kicked a goal in every game this year? I'm absolutely shocked at the amount of people that want him out!

Slattery_20
19 May 2010, 15:42
People can't see the bleeding obvious sometimes. Zaha's starred. We've longed for skilful, damaging classy smalls for how many years? Now a couple comes along and we want one dropped every week.
Zaha may be rested - not dropped. Remember he tapered off last year. IIRC Bendigo have a bye this week.

lamaros
19 May 2010, 15:45
May I ask why you want to drop our leading goal kicker this year who has kicked a goal in every game this year? I'm absolutely shocked at the amount of people that want him out!

Honestly I just thought he looked tired and could do with a rest. I should have made that more clear.

Don't think he should be dropped at all. He's in my best 22 for sure.

If we're planning on playing Pears and Reimers next week and they're ok this week I'd bring them in. No point the first game back being against the Dogs.

I don't think Reimers should come straight in though. We're not missing him a whole lot that I can see and he should prove his form for Bendigo I think.

Jonesy1987
19 May 2010, 16:06
Honestly I just thought he looked tired and could do with a rest. I should have made that more clear.

With a minute or so to go in the game, went on 50 metre sprint, out running Leigh Montagna. Didn't look tired to me, I think he just had an average game and will bounce back this week.

Expect for Hooker we don't have to make changes.

Out: Hooker

Bombers36
19 May 2010, 16:19
People can't see the bleeding obvious sometimes. Zaha's starred. We've longed for skilful, damaging classy smalls for how many years? Now a couple comes along and we want one dropped every week.
Zaha may be rested - not dropped. Remember he tapered off last year. IIRC Bendigo have a bye this week.

I dont want Zahar to be dropped - just 'rotated'. yes hes made the most of his opportunities but I really think M.Williams deserves a go so a small to mid-sized forward would be the most obvious choice to make way for him. Jetta's just come in and Davey has spent some time at bendigo already so why not give Zaharakis a rest? Do you really think hes THAT much better than M.Williams???

Kong
19 May 2010, 16:54
With a minute or so to go in the game, went on 50 metre sprint, out running Leigh Montagna. Didn't look tired to me, I think he just had an average game and will bounce back this week.Beat me to it.

Jonesy10
19 May 2010, 17:43
why not give Zaharakis a rest?

What? You don't select a team on the basis of 'why not give them a rest', you select a team on who deserves to be dropped and who deserves to play.

Zaharakis has been our leading goal kicker and has been providing some good assists, how is that a case for him to be 'rotated'? He's done a hell of a lot more than Williams in the seniors this season, yes.

silk
19 May 2010, 18:46
Do you really think hes THAT much better than M.Williams???

Yes!

WinderliciouS
19 May 2010, 19:07
No Pears please. Would rather him rest up a week or get a run at Bendigo before slotting in to the senior side. Don't want to risk an injury, and we want him at peak fitness too. Think we should stay with a similar team to last week, see how it goes against the Tiges.

For me, only change would be OUT: Hooker IN: NLM, if fit.

AndyLesPaul
19 May 2010, 19:28
IN: NLM

Hurley to take over Hooker's spot, Fletcher to take his prized full-back, NLM to stick to his current midfield role, Hille and Ryder to alternate in FF and Ruck

lemon chicken
19 May 2010, 22:07
What? You don't select a team on the basis of 'why not give them a rest', you select a team on who deserves to be dropped and who deserves to play.

Zaharakis has been our leading goal kicker and has been providing some good assists, how is that a case for him to be 'rotated'? He's done a hell of a lot more than Williams in the seniors this season, yes.

He's a second year player, they're not robots. Williams deserves to play this week on his previous Bendigo form.

With a minute or so to go in the game, went on 50 metre sprint, out running Leigh Montagna. Didn't look tired to me, I think he just had an average game and will bounce back this week.

Expect for Hooker we don't have to make changes.

I remember this as well but i also remeber him really labouring in the first half. Things change when the adrenaline starts pumping. I posted in another thread that i think he needs a freshen up and am still sticking with it. Why is fine to rest Colyer and Melksham but not Zaharakis?

Jonesy1987
19 May 2010, 22:12
Why is fine to rest Colyer and Melksham but not Zaharakis?

It is fine to rest Zaharakis, I just don't think he needs it. I thought he just played an average game, it happens to everyone, Stanton was poor, should we rest him?

The Great Barry Besanko
19 May 2010, 22:38
In : Williams, NLM
Out: Hooker, Colyer

Not that Colyer was bad , just think we need another forward as unlikely ruckmen will kick half our goals again. NLM starred against Port and has been good this year.

Hope they don't drop Myers. I thought he wasn't too bad against Saints and dropping him so soon will not do anything for his confidence.

hird+lloyd=legends
19 May 2010, 22:39
Zaha doesn't need a rest, his playing great this year. His not a little boy palying EDFL, i think he can manage.

WeAreEssendon
19 May 2010, 22:58
Why are we bringing Williams back in?

In our past 3 games we've averaged 100 points. We just seem to be better balanced without him. I'd rather bring back a guy that can run through the middle like Lonergan or Reimers than someone who'll be stuck at FF or the FP.

Ins: Pears, NLM, (Reimers if ready)
Outs: Hooker, Colyer, (Prismall/Myers)

bombermick
19 May 2010, 22:58
In: Williams, NLM, Pears
Out: Colyer, Myers, Hooker

Colyer's disposal was much better last week but another forward target in Willo will be good to stretch their defence. Myers was not bad-but NLM was in sparkling touch before his injury. Pears in to replace Hooker if he's right to go.

AS9
19 May 2010, 23:55
People tend to be forgetting very quickly the flogging Jack Riewoldt gave both Hurley and Fletcher last year. I think he kicked 6 goals from memory. Maybe it is time for Pears to come back into the side.

Jonesy1987
20 May 2010, 01:07
People tend to be forgetting very quickly the flogging Jack Riewoldt gave both Hurley and Fletcher last year. I think he kicked 6 goals from memory. Maybe it is time for Pears to come back into the side.

While Riewoldt was very good last around, it was Jackson, Cousins, Deledio Nahas and Edwards doing the damage IIRC. Tore us up at our own game, forced the turn over and ran wide to the open wings, Riewoldt got a lot of one out contests based on the speed they moved the ball. Stop that and he we should be fine.

ghostdog
20 May 2010, 08:20
NatRat might be a good match up for Riewoldt if need be. Things being as they are I'd probably rather see NLM stay in the midfield, but he could tag out Riewoldt.

NLM: 190cm 86 kg
Riewoldt: 193cm 87kg

daffo
20 May 2010, 09:30
I want Pears or Fletch on Riewoldt. I can't see NLM holding him, plus he is playing career best footy in the mid, why would we move him back to defence where I think he struggled.

In : Pears, Houli
Out : Hooker, Coyler

Kaiser Powser
20 May 2010, 09:41
Keep it simple.

In: NLM, Lonergan

Smyth94
20 May 2010, 11:28

He also flogged Pears

antongrbac
20 May 2010, 13:27
agree min changes this week
riemers, pears underdone so wont be considered till next week

IN: NLM, Lonergan ( both if fit) Wilo first emergency
OUT: Hooker, Colyer

Mad Bomber Sean
20 May 2010, 14:21
In: N Dukes LM / Lonergan
Out: Hooker / Myers

After last weeks supreme efforts I don't want many changes to upset the chemistry & unsettle the team however NLM is approaching career best form & is a lock when fit. Hooker injured is out.

A fit Lonergan is prefered to the slow, oversized & questionable skills of Myers in another must win game for us. Perhaps if we were playing St Kevins seniors I would happily give Myers time to develop unfortunaterly for him we aren't.

Kong
20 May 2010, 14:57
I actually don't think Colyer should be out this week.

As Ben has said, he's one of the few in our side that know when to go and when not to, and more importantly, where to sit for the spills.

I don't want Lonergan back in, either; despite playing well against Port (apparently), I don't think we can afford to drop a quick player for another plodder. With NLM coming back in, we'd be set. If we were to bring Lonergan back in, it would have to be at the expense of Myers, IMO.

However I think Myers deserves at least another game.

The one player I haven't seen mentioned is Brent Prismall. He had something like 15 touches on the weekend, with little to no influence, for somebody that is supposed to not only get a lot of the ball as a receiver, but use it really well.

I think he's escaped a lot of attention because
a) we won
b) he was so quiet that he wasn't detrimental like he was against Fremantle

However my overall changes would be:

Out: Hooker, Prismall
In: Houli, NLM.

I say we keep the same structure as last week, with:
FB: Fletch
CHB: Hurley
CHF: Gumby
FF: Resting Ruckman

NLM is an automatic selection, and Prismall offers far less than NLM has been this year.

Hooker is an automatic out (inj), but I don't think we need an extra tall. I'd be more inclined to bring in another running player, and Houli apparently played really well for Bendigo (unlike other demoted players such as Neagle); he'd be another midfield rotation, and if we were desperate, could play on Nahas if McVeigh can't do the job.

anf06
20 May 2010, 16:05
You're not serious about Prismall, are you Whomb?
He played very well last week. Put his body on the line numerous occasions and was very very good in the packs.
Re watch the game, played in much closer than usual in the 2nd 3rd and 4th. Had a field day in the 1st quarter too.

Please, don't bring back the flavour of last week.

Jonesy1987
20 May 2010, 16:31
I actually don't think Colyer should be out this week.

As Ben has said, he's one of the few in our side that know when to go and when not to, and more importantly, where to sit for the spills.

I don't want Lonergan back in, either; despite playing well against Port (apparently), I don't think we can afford to drop a quick player for another plodder. With NLM coming back in, we'd be set. If we were to bring Lonergan back in, it would have to be at the expense of Myers, IMO.

Agreed, IMO Lonergan was quite poor against Port, fumbled at crucial moments on 3-4 occasions. Also I don't really know why we need to make changes to a winning side.

Deeksy
20 May 2010, 16:33
On the website, looks like it's

In: Pears, Lonergan
Out: Hooker (Inj), Colyer

No NLM, which means he must still be injured surely.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=9&sub_section=teams

Kong
20 May 2010, 21:00
You're not serious about Prismall, are you Whomb?
He played very well last week. Put his body on the line numerous occasions and was very very good in the packs.
Re watch the game, played in much closer than usual in the 2nd 3rd and 4th. Had a field day in the 1st quarter too.I'll admit that I haven't seen a replay; only what I saw at the game, and highlights since.

Agree to disagree, I guess.Please, don't bring back the flavour of last week.What?

You love Prismall, I think he's very overrated.

If he starts producing at least to the level of - and ideally above - a few of his games upon return from injury last year, I'm happy for him to have a spot. Until then, he's not earning his post for mine.