View Full Version : Are football supporters masochists?
I was pondering this question yesterday while watching the game.
I haven't enjoyed watching the Crows play recently, but have watched each and every game to the bitter end.
They seem to be playing with little spirit or passion, even though they did win against the Bulldogs and Geelong.
I know it must be a lot worse for Bulldogs and Geelong supporters, but when I see the Power playing so well, I really have to grit my teeth.
I also know we have a lot of injuries.
I just can't imagine getting to the finals and actually winning any!
dyertribe
8 Jun 2003, 16:21
I know exactly what you mean, though 2003 isn't as bad as the bad old days of 1994, 1995 and 1996 when I genuinely believed our heroes could win every time they crossed the white line and was heartbroken when they inevitably didn't.
Luckily there is a forum called bigfooty.com where you can discuss the situation with the sane and rational, and also set the odd moron alight ;)
PrideofSA
10 Jun 2003, 02:19
haven't seen the last 3 games, but did see a little bit of the Hawtorn match (half a quarter)....and it was boring and just insinpiring footy.....kinda like a bottom side with no confidence.
Originally posted by PrideofSA
haven't seen the last 3 games I gotta ask, why not?
Jars458
10 Jun 2003, 12:07
Originally posted by Crow54
I haven't enjoyed watching the Crows play recently, but have watched each and every game to the bitter end.
They seem to be playing with little spirit or passion, even though they did win against the Bulldogs and Geelong.
I know it must be a lot worse for Bulldogs and Geelong supporters, but when I see the Power playing so well, I really have to grit my teeth.
Ermmmm
Win over Geelong was one of the best wins by the Club in recent history. Showed lots of spirit and passion.
AGainst Hakws we just played dumb footy but we certainly tried
Bulldogs game was ordinary for three quarters I agree
You just have to make sure there is more in your life than Football.
Originally posted by Crow54
I think we expected so much this year & are being made to suffer by the footy gods before our just desserts are delivered,
Gotta admit it the Port Power are looking awesome at the moment & would have to be favorites for the flag, can't get over the depth of their list & how they are able to cover class players without even breaking stride,:(
McAlmanac
10 Jun 2003, 13:34
In the 8 with almost the entire forward line missing for the majority of the time. I would say that's excellent progress.
Jars458
10 Jun 2003, 14:46
Originally posted by McAlmanac
In the 8 with almost the entire forward line missing for the majority of the time. I would say that's excellent progress.
To an extent that's true.
Our season is in the balance though.
We do have four winnable games coming up though against Melbourne, Carlton Richmond and Essendon. Three of which are at home. If we win them all we should be ok.
We need our players back and quickly.
Matt Clarke could possibly be our most valuable player.
PAfolwr
10 Jun 2003, 17:34
Originally posted by noddy
I think we expected so much this year & are being made to suffer by the footy gods before our just desserts are delivered,
Gotta admit it the Port Power are looking awesome at the moment & would have to be favorites for the flag, can't get over the depth of their list & how they are able to cover class players without even breaking stride,:(
For a moment I thought you were going to say wind. :D
Your MVP's are your rucks. They complement each other very well, but unfortunately you don't have any backup for them. Bad recruiting.
As far as the season goes, you will make the eight, perhaps even top 4 with a lot of luck, but it won't be the cakewalk that a lot of you were predicting.
It's fine to say that your list is one of the best if you only consider 22 players, but nowadays one should look down to about 30 or more, and make sure all positions are covered.
If you don't try and recruit a young ruckman at the end of the year, then Ayres has rocks in his head.
Originally posted by PAfolwr
If you don't try and recruit a young ruckman at the end of the year, then Ayres has rocks in his head.
Any chance of Darcy to the Crows for Brett Reilly and a draft pick happening? Although he is 28 this year the Crows aren't afraid to pick up older recruits if they believe they are worth it.
Darcy, pass. He's about the same age as Clarke and as a tap ruckman is somewhat inferior.
The ruck isn't our problem. We can afford to draft a young ruckman or two and wait for them to develop.
Our problem right now is our midfield (ruckmen aside). We have one of the most highly regarded midfields in the comp and they were so good for us last year but in the last few weeks they keep getting beaten. We have a makeshift forward line and a trying but not brilliant defense and so we rely so much on our talent laden midfield.
Until the midfield can start to find form and start beating their opponents we are going to continue to struggle.
Mong
PAfolwr
10 Jun 2003, 18:18
Originally posted by Mong
The ruck isn't our problem. We can afford to draft a young ruckman or two and wait for them to develop.
Our problem right now is our midfield (ruckmen aside). We have one of the most highly regarded midfields in the comp and they were so good for us last year but in the last few weeks they keep getting beaten. We have a makeshift forward line and a trying but not brilliant defense and so we rely so much on our talent laden midfield.
Until the midfield can start to find form and start beating their opponents we are going to continue to struggle.
Mong
Considering who is on your injury list, your midfield is doing OK wrt depth. You could almost say that your forward line is no worse than last year.
Your Talls in the backline and ruck not so sure about.
For a moment I thought you were going to say wind. :D
Noooo, not unless Pred or someone of his ilk is close by, ;)
oops, didn't notice Zombie had posted on this thread,
ahh well can't win them all.
Stiffy_18
11 Jun 2003, 11:57
Your MVP's are your rucks. They complement each other very well, but unfortunately you don't have any backup for them. Bad recruiting.
As far as the season goes, you will make the eight, perhaps even top 4 with a lot of luck, but it won't be the cakewalk that a lot of you were predicting.
It's fine to say that your list is one of the best if you only consider 22 players, but nowadays one should look down to about 30 or more, and make sure all positions are covered.
Spot on. Ruckman is major priority and a KPP capable of playing both ends. Midfield is good and there are the likes of Reilly and Schuback coming through. Could do with another quality youngster in the midfield but I and 100% with you when it comes to rucking stocks. Marsh is not up to it and we don't have anyone else as a back up.
Stiffy_18
11 Jun 2003, 11:58
Originally posted by Zombie
Any chance of Darcy to the Crows for Brett Reilly and a draft pick happening? Although he is 28 this year the Crows aren't afraid to pick up older recruits if they believe they are worth it. No way. Ever since the new rucking rules came in, Darcy has been ineffective.;) ;)
Kane McGoodwin
11 Jun 2003, 20:04
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Spot on. Ruckman is major priority and a KPP capable of playing both ends. Midfield is good and there are the likes of Reilly and Schuback coming through. Could do with another quality youngster in the midfield but I and 100% with you when it comes to rucking stocks. Marsh is not up to it and we don't have anyone else as a back up. Agree 100%. We need another ruckman for sure as it showed on the weekend we are going to struggle if either Clarke or Biglands are injured. Next priority is for a KPP. We still have plenty of midfield depth. It's just they have been lacking forwards to give the ball to or have been playing up forward themselves due to our injuries.
macca23
11 Jun 2003, 23:20
Spot on. Ruckman is major priority and a KPP capable of playing both ends. Midfield is good and there are the likes of Reilly and Schuback coming through. Could do with another quality youngster in the midfield but I and 100% with you when it comes to rucking stocks. Marsh is not up to it and we don't have anyone else as a back up.
I reckon we all agree with the priorities. Let's hope the AFC does.
A young ruckman and a KPP, preferably or perhaps even definitely a CHF.
Not so sure about Jamar as a target after his performance on Monday. He got caned and was totally unaccountable in the field play.
Stiffy_18
11 Jun 2003, 23:46
Originally posted by macca23
Not so sure about Jamar as a target after his performance on Monday. He got caned and was totally unaccountable in the field play. So did the rest of Melbourne team;)
There is no question that Jamar is a RAW talent and he has a LONG way to go. It doesn't have to be Jamar but I think we need a couple of ruckman and we need them fast.
I agree our KPP must be a CHF. Usually if you are a good forward you are a good backman so if a player is primarily CHF chances are he can also play as a defender.
Its funny how we are lacking the types of players that are hardest to find:(
macca23
12 Jun 2003, 00:03
Its funny how we are lacking the types of players that are hardest to find:(
What is more interesting Stiffy is our first choice ruckmen and KPP's that we do have and how we got them.
Clarke (trade)
Biglands (draft after delisting by Port)
Carey (trade)
Stevens (trade)
Bassett (trade)
McGregor (draft)
As the only first time draftee, McGregor must feel the odd man out. :D
I won't bore you with the list of draft failures for both types by mentioning names such as Angwin, Handby, Smith, Balrajh Singh, Beinke, Herbert, Marsh, Golding, Downsborough, Gilligan, Hodges, Fernee etc etc. That's without mentioning trades such as Aaron Keating, Standfield etc.
It reads more like a "Who's who at the zoo" rather than a success story in drafting big men, doesn't it?? :D
Bryan Beinke was servicable, I couldn't understand why he retired. He could have been very useful this year with our forward line injuries.
Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 00:15
What is more interesting Stiffy is our first choice ruckmen and KPP's that we do have and how we got them.
Clarke (trade)
Biglands (draft after delisting by Port)
Carey (trade)
Stevens (trade)
Bassett (trade)
McGregor (draft)
As the only first time draftee, McGregor must feel the odd man out. :D
I won't bore you with the list of draft failures for both types by mentioning names such as Angwin, Handby, Smith, Balrajh Singh, Beinke, Herbert, Marsh, Golding, Downsborough, Gilligan, Hodges, Fernee etc etc. That's without mentioning trades such as Aaron Keating, Standfield etc.
It reads more like a "Who's who at the zoo" rather than a success story in drafting big men, doesn't it?? :D And thats why I was hopeing that the rumour that Alan Stewart was crossing over to us from Port was the truth. Got a bit of pastig from a mate who is James Fantasia's 1st cousin for that. Nothing against James who is a good recruiting manager but Stewy is one of the best. He seems to find these kids who all turn out to be good players. I just hope we recruit well this year. We just cannot afford any more failures when it comes to drafting big man.:(
macca23
12 Jun 2003, 00:22
And thats why I was hopeing that the rumour that Alan Stewart was crossing over to us from Port was the truth. Got a bit of pastig from a mate who is James Fantasia's 1st cousin for that. Nothing against James who is a good recruiting manager but Stewy is one of the best. He seems to find these kids who all turn out to be good players. I just hope we recruit well this year. We just cannot afford any more failures when it comes to drafting big man.:(
IMO Stewart has a much better strike rate than Fantasia, so I would love that rumour to be true. Stewart is up there with the very best in his field.
Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 00:25
IMO Stewart has a much better strike rate than Fantasia, so I would love that rumour to be true. Stewart is up there with the very best in his field. That rumour was doing rounds sometime around draft period I think but since then Stewy has signed with Port for 3 years:( There is no doubt he is in top 3 recruiters in the country.
Mind you Port have had better picks than us in the past.
crowsfan
12 Jun 2003, 00:27
Originally posted by DaveW
Bryan Beinke was servicable, I couldn't understand why he retired. He could have been very useful this year with our forward line injuries. I think it was b/c he kept on getting injuries that set him back everytime he got a foothold in the side. It seems like that frustrated him and in the end couldn't take it anymore then went on to pursue business interests and the like. Which is understandable I guess.
He did play a few good, solid matches (think he kicked 5 or 6 in one match), but couldn't do this consistently b/c of the bad luck with injuries.