View Full Version : James Gallagher
J.Gallagher #1
8 Jun 2003, 21:32
He was our best player in the first half and from wat i saw didnt even get on the ground in the second half is it just me or does Gary Ayres not like him or sumthin coz i dont think he gets as much of a run as he deserves??
I didn't think he stood out that much early on. I was surprised he was so high up on the disposal count when they showed the stats during the first and second quarters. He still isn't very damaging with his disposal.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 21:36
Originally posted by J.Gallagher #1
He was our best player in the first half and from wat i saw didnt even get on the ground in the second half is it just me or does Gary Ayres not like him or sumthin coz i dont think he gets as much of a run as he deserves?? He was too soft. He didn't got at the ball hard enought. Used it OK I thought.;)
I'm not a James Gallagher fan, but I did think he was having a reasonably good game. I was amazed with his lack of game time.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 21:43
Originally posted by macca23
I'm not a James Gallagher fan, but I did think he was having a reasonably good game. I was amazed with his lack of game time. He was probably a bit stiff not to get more game time. With Bickley retiring would he be a trade bait??????
I don't see any point trading Gallagher as I don't think we has much trade value at the moment. We might just be trading away a good player for not much in return.
Unless of course he plays some good games this season and his worth goes up in the eyes of other clubs. ;)
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 21:55
Originally posted by DaveW
I don't see any point trading Gallagher as I don't think we has much trade value at the moment. We might just be trading away a good player for not much in return.
Unless of course he plays some good games this season and his worth goes up in the eyes of other clubs. ;) He'll come good. Neil Craig seems to think there is something special about him.;) :)
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
He'll come good. Neil Craig seems to think there is something special about him.;) :) That's what I mean though. Right now he doesn't have much trade value. No point him coming good at another club! (Like say, Shannon Cochrane at the moment)
J.Gallagher #1
8 Jun 2003, 22:06
well i was thinkin not only in this last game but in most games when he gets a run he gets the ball but it seems that ayres doesnt give him enough game time and i think that he would probly take the role of Bickley when Bickley retires just my thought.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 22:06
That's what I mean though. Right now he doesn't have much trade value. No point him coming good at another club! (Like say, Shannon Cochrane at the moment) You mean Stuart Coachrane:p
Someone has to go in order to get some quality youngters onto our list and adress our needs at the same time:(
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 22:09
Originally posted by J.Gallagher #1
well i was thinkin not only in this last game but in most games when he gets a run he gets the ball but it seems that ayres doesnt give him enough game time and i think that he would probly take the role of Bickley when Bickley retires just my thought. No one is doubting his ball getting ability but so far this year he has burnt the ball beyond belief. If he had half the guts and courage that Bickley does, he would be one of Ayersy's favourites. Look at Mattner, he has bugger all skill and footy smarts but he has toughness and that why he is in the side. :(
Errr yeah, Stuart Cochrane. I guess I just had his Christian name confused with some of his former teammates... Grant, Watt, Motlop. ;)
maccas_no1
8 Jun 2003, 23:02
Well if he isnt successful at footy from what I seen on Saturday night he is a great dancer and know's how to pick up 'RED HOT' blonde chick's:D :D On a serious note he is a great bloke and very down to earth and knows how to relate with the supporter's all important in being a good footy player.He is developing into a very talented footy player now and will be an asset to the AFC in the future!!!!!!
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:05
Would you guys be happy if we got Lance Whitnall??????:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
maccas_no1
8 Jun 2003, 23:14
No to Lance Witnall but a 'big' yes to Camporale:D :D
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:18
Originally posted by maccas_no1
No to Lance Witnall but a 'big' yes to Camporale:D :D We need KPP and ruckman. Midfielders are not on out priority list. We have a few of those.;)
Would you guys be happy if we got Lance Whitnall??????:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: Yes. He can hold down CHB and CHF and is still young-ish.
To state the obvious though, we aint gonna get him in a direct swap for Gags.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:22
Yes. He can hold down CHB and CHF and is still young-ish. Wouldn't be a bad FB I think. Would he be worth more than latish 1st round pick??????
Wouldn't be a bad FB I think. Would he be worth more than latish 1st round pick?????? I think so. I reckon he's almost an untouchable as far as Carlton are concerned.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:26
What about Trent Croad??????:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
What about Trent Croad??????:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: Pass. If we were a Melbourne based club, maybe.
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:30
Pass. If we were a Melbourne based club, maybe. Thought so!!!!!! Is there any other good ypungish KPP capable of playing both ends that would possibly be up for trade??????
Thought so!!!!!! Is there any other good ypungish KPP capable of playing both ends that would possibly be up for trade?????? Justin Leppitsch signed a long term contract recently didn't he? :(
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:37
Justin Leppitsch signed a long term contract recently didn't he? :( When you go for it you really go for top notch don't ya??????
Yes Leppitsch signed a 5 year deal last year.
Thinking more... I think Essendon were once considering trading Scott Lucas but they wouldn't be now... are we still a chance of luring Ben Holland? (we've been trying to get him for a while)...
When you go for it you really go for top notch don't ya?????? Hey I can dream can't I? ;)
That's what I mean though. Right now he doesn't have much trade value. No point him coming good at another club! (Like say, Shannon Cochrane at the moment)
That would be the last thing we would need. I'm not even sure that he is tradeable at this stage of his career.
IMO we would get bugger-all for him so we might as well just hang on to him and hope he comes good with us.
We do need to get a young ruckman and a CHF for the future but Gag's won't be the medium that gets us those.
The AFC should lobby the AFL to apply the father/son rule in retrospect and let us pick up Chad Cornes. Port can have our third round draft pick as compensation. :D
Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:47
The AFC should lobby the AFL to apply the father/son rule in retrospect and let us pick up Chad Cornes. Port can have our third round draft pick as compensation. :D Hell I would give them 1st round pick.
On a serious not I would give them 3rd round pick for Damon White.:D
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
9 Jun 2003, 12:28
Well if he isnt successful at footy from what I seen on Saturday night he is a great dancer and know's how to pick up 'RED HOT' blonde chick's:D :D On a serious note he is a great bloke and very down to earth and knows how to relate with the supporter's all important in being a good footy player.He is developing into a very talented footy player now and will be an asset to the AFC in the future!!!!!!
wasn't he so funny on the dance floor??!! and your right Marty, he does mingle with the fans really well. He is certainly worth keeping I would have thought.
Lance Whittnall. no way. nope. not interested in the slightest.
Scott Camporeale. You could convince me, but what we would have to trade in order to get him would be too big.
Scott Lucas. Definately. But Essendon are unlikely to want to trade him.
Chad Cornes. He would need to be "cleansed" so many times to rid him of the Port stench. Port wouldn't trade. end of story.
Ben Holland. You must be joking. After what that little twerp did to us 2 years ago - no way. Plus he has had serious injurys since.
k
xx
Blues_Girl
9 Jun 2003, 21:36
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
wasn't he so funny on the dance floor??!! and your right Marty, he does mingle with the fans really well. He is certainly worth keeping I would have thought.
He's fantastic! He could do wonders for the club's PR! He's so natural with people and has a genuine love for being with the Crows!
Jars458
10 Jun 2003, 11:22
James GAllagher was our best player in the first half
His disposal in this game was excellent
I have no idea why he was on the bench in the second hafl
Mattner is not good enough at AFL level to me on Crawford.
Once Stenglein was out, why was our back up tagger in Shirley not slected,.
why is Shirley even on the list if he is not going to play instead of Stenglein.
Bemusing.
Originally posted by Jars458
why is Shirley even on the list if he is not going to play instead of Stenglein.
Bemusing.
Have to agree with you on these points Jars, One of the few times this year when i have rated Gallagher's effort highly if only it was in the first half & i could not work out for the life of me why Gallagher spent the second half on the bench, was he injured or did i miss some clanger he made or what ???
Mattner is ok on a half back flank or a back pocket but not to tag someone like Crawford & why the heck did we re-draft Shirley if not as a back up for Stenglein,
some strange decisions are being made with no reasons given as to why.
Kane McGoodwin
10 Jun 2003, 14:08
Originally posted by Jars458
Bemusing.
Excellent post Jars. Not sure if he was our best in the 1st half, but was close to. I was thinking in the 3rd quarter that Ayres must be giving him a break to use his fresh legs in the middle (like the Cats game) in the last quarter with the Goodwin injury ... but he didn't come back on. Mystified me.
Also, agree on Mattner. I can understand giving a youn player a go, but he has had far too long. Has only played a couple of decent games & been absolutely thrashed by his opponent in some games. His confidence & kicking skills are down, so he should return to Sturt. Shirley would have been a better tagging option.
just watch gags kick the ball
looks like poetry to me
Originally posted by bfg
just watch gags kick the ball
looks like poetry to me Surely you jest?
No to Lance Witnall but a 'big' yes to Camporale:D :D
There was a rumour a while ago that at his last 2 contract negotiations, Camporeale has burnt the Crows pretty badly by crying homesick but only ever intending to use interest from Adelaide to leverage more $$$ from the Blues. The rumour said that Reid let him know that crying wolf twice was too much, and the Crows would never talk to him again about trades.