View Full Version : Wayne Carey At The Crown Casino!!!!!!

maccas_no1
8 Jun 2003, 22:58
Was at the Crown Casino at 3am Sunday morning and bumped into a very drunk Wayne Carey and 'HIS' wife. How bad is his injury?????? Did he travel over with the team??????What's the go????? He was quite friendly and said G'day but what is his commitment to the AFC.We need him on the feild not drunk as a skunk at the Crown Casino:rolleyes:

Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 23:01
He won't play until after the break. He went over to Melbourne on saturday.

DaveW
8 Jun 2003, 23:02
That's a pretty frivolous reason to question his commitment to playing.

maccas_no1
8 Jun 2003, 23:06
To me if you can dance you can play footy;)

crowsfan
9 Jun 2003, 02:19
Ah, its not that bad. Everyone's entitled to a little bit of a booze up now and then. He's probably not going to be playing for a while, and even if he's next week, its not going to affect his play. I'm sure lots of footy players, including ours, drink. As long as its moderation its all good.

Marty, did you also mean that he was with someone else apart from his wife?

maccas_no1
9 Jun 2003, 09:53
Yeah he was with his wife not sure if he was with anyone else,I agree the players can let their hair down but isnt he injured?????I would have prefered him back in Adelaide preparing for this week.We need some sort of structure in our forwardline,we are really being let down in this area at the moment:(

ajmart
9 Jun 2003, 11:26
I heard at Gary Ayres' post-match conference that Carey would not be playing this week.

My advice, Marty, is to give the guy some space and not be so critical all the time. Who knows the circumstances of him being in Melbourne and, as he was with his wife, why even put this up as a thread?

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
9 Jun 2003, 12:17
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Was at the Crown Casino at 3am Sunday morning and bumped into a very drunk Wayne Carey and 'HIS' wife. How bad is his injury?????? Did he travel over with the team??????What's the go????? He was quite friendly and said G'day but what is his commitment to the AFC.We need him on the feild not drunk as a skunk at the Crown Casino:rolleyes:

Martin!!! why didn't you call me!!! :D :D - I think Wayne is allowed to have a night out with his dear wife.

He wasn't the only Crows player blowing the limit on Saturday night. I bet James Gallagher was ticking over pretty well, and when I was dancing with James Begley, I think he might have had a few. I hardly saw Kris Massie put down his glass of red and Kenny was sharing his beer with an unknown female!

next time, no matter what time of the day/night it is, call me you have my number!!!!

k
xx

maccas_no1
9 Jun 2003, 13:09
No worries Kristie I will:D We were pretty surprised he was very friendly though especially when he found out we were Crows supporters:D As I said dont mind players letting their hair down but yeah just a little concerned when it is an injured player.He is a champion player no doubt and if the AFC win a premiership while he is with the club then he has served his purpose.

blackdiamond
9 Jun 2003, 16:42
Was at the Crown Casino at 3am Sunday morning and bumped into a very drunk Wayne Carey and 'HIS' wife.

I think this is the key point of maccas_no1 quote.

There is no problems drinking in moderation but being very drunk really isn't good for your footy club. Considering some earlier events this year and some other issues before this its probably best for him to be out of the lime light as much as possible.

He might not mean to do anything wrong but there are always others like that girl with the camera who are out there to cause some trouble. Being very drunk as stated could cause many a problem which I am sure Wayne Carey and the Adelaide Football Club don't need right now.

DaveW
9 Jun 2003, 16:49
Some people need to get off their high horse. :o

blackdiamond
9 Jun 2003, 17:00
Originally posted by DaveW
Some people need to get off their high horse. :o

You might say that Dave but it has happened before with the likes of Carey and Modra and it will happen again. I agree they should be able to let their hairdown but it only takes one ******** in a crowd.

I haven't said anymore than maccas_no1, what you guys need to do at the moment is put the score on the board and and get Carey on the park. I don't think Reidy would be too happy if another situation arose.

topjars
9 Jun 2003, 18:42
To me if you can dance you can play footy;)

I rest your case...:rolleyes:

Kane McGoodwin
9 Jun 2003, 18:49
So Marty what was Wayne drinking? Was he wearing a suit? What was his wife wearing? .... :rolleyes: Heck, just leave the guy alone! He was not picked to play on the WE, so who gives a toss if he has a few drinks at a bar. If he was doing the night before a game, then it would be news worthy.

maccas_no1
9 Jun 2003, 20:27
As I have already said I agree that players should be able to let their hair down:D My concern is this is an injured player,to me if you play footy at the highest level and you are injured and you are also a key member of the team like Wayne is then you should be doing everything to get back into the side,he is a great guy and a champion player but we need him standing at FF we need our club to be performing at 100 % we have injuries and we need toget our best side on the park and that should be every players focus;)

crowsfan
9 Jun 2003, 20:49
As I have already said I agree that players should be able to let their hair down:D My concern is this is an injured player,to me if you play footy at the highest level and you are injured and you are also a key member of the team like Wayne is then you should be doing everything to get back into the side,he is a great guy and a champion player but we need him standing at FF we need our club to be performing at 100 % we have injuries and we need toget our best side on the park and that should be every players focus;) That's fair enough, but I don't think it should be forgotten that Carey doesn't have a serious injury, its just a calf strain (right?) and I doubt a few drinks would significantly impair his recovery. I don't think the fact that alot of our other top players have injuries worse than Carey's means he or other players can't drink.

Also, Marty, no offence intented, but were you a little drunk yourself at the time? Because, its easy to miscontrue things, sightwise and hearing wise, when you have a few drinks yourself, speaking from experience, in which I'm sure many would agree with me too.

Blues_Girl
9 Jun 2003, 21:08
I think it's fabulous!!!!

About time a few players are seen letting their hair done!

It can only be all good for him! Unless he pulled a muscle on the dance floor! :D

DaveW
9 Jun 2003, 21:13
Originally posted by crowsfan
That's fair enough, but I don't think it should be forgotten that Carey doesn't have a serious injury, its just a calf strain (right?) and I doubt a few drinks would significantly impair his recovery. I don't think the fact that alot of our other top players have injuries worse than Carey's means he or other players can't drink.Spot on.
Also, Marty, no offence intented, but were you a little drunk yourself at the time? Because, its easy to miscontrue things, sightwise and hearing wise, when you have a few drinks yourself, speaking from experience, in which I'm sure many would agree with me too. :D

Stiffy_18
9 Jun 2003, 21:40
Originally posted by crowsfan
... but were you a little drunk yourself at the time? Because, its easy to miscontrue things, sightwise and hearing wise, when you have a few drinks yourself, speaking from experience, in which I'm sure many would agree with me too. I am as guilty as charged with this one:( :( :( :( :( :(

maccas_no1
9 Jun 2003, 21:44
No I wasnt drunk,I had only six drinks all night,as I said he was very friendly great bloke.Im not trying to blow things out of proportion here just conrened thats it.I have never and never ever will be a high profile athlete Im sure they not what they are doing,just want success for the AFC as a passionate supporter.

crowsfan
9 Jun 2003, 23:05
No I wasnt drunk,I had only six drinks all night,as I said he was very friendly great bloke.Im not trying to blow things out of proportion here just conrened thats it.I have never and never ever will be a high profile athlete Im sure they not what they are doing,just want success for the AFC as a passionate supporter. No worries mate. It's all good. I don't think you blew things out of proportion, but as you said, just showed strong concern, which is good.

It's actually good to hear that Carey and the other boys are out having a good time, as it makes you realise that their lives are not 100% footy all the time. Sure its important to them, but you have to strike a balance and relax now and then.

I'm sure the situation with Carey is all good. Since the start of the season, there has been no off-field dramas in the media -- just footy. And thats the way I think it should be.

maccas_no1
10 Jun 2003, 07:41
Yes finally someone understands what I am saying:D Crowfan you are a legend;)

Jars458
10 Jun 2003, 11:19
Originally posted by Scott
I think this is the key point of maccas_no1 quote.

There is no problems drinking in moderation but being very drunk really isn't good for your footy club. Considering some earlier events this year and some other issues before this its probably best for him to be out of the lime light as much as possible.

He might not mean to do anything wrong but there are always others like that girl with the camera who are out there to cause some trouble. Being very drunk as stated could cause many a problem which I am sure Wayne Carey and the Adelaide Football Club don't need right now.

Don't be naive

Players from ALL clubs get very drunk a lot during the season.

I have seen it many times myself.

I have seen as many Port players as Crows, out on the town and off their faces.

PAfolwr
10 Jun 2003, 11:22
It all depends on how much ANY footballer drinks.
With the amount of money they get paid nowadays, then professionalism should follow.
They can let their hair down once the season is over.

McAlmanac
10 Jun 2003, 13:31
The bloke's out with his wife having a good time. More important than footy.

blackdiamond
10 Jun 2003, 20:40
Originally posted by Jars458
Don't be naive

Players from ALL clubs get very drunk a lot during the season.

I have seen it many times myself.

I have seen as many Port players as Crows, out on the town and off their faces.

Im not being naive at all, the naive ones are those that think another incident won't happen again.

macca23
11 Jun 2003, 00:31
Im not being naive at all, the naive ones are those that think another incident won't happen again.

Are you trying to tell us that one of your indigineous players is likely to be involved in a rape incident again???

blackdiamond
11 Jun 2003, 00:54
Originally posted by macca23
Are you trying to tell us that one of your indigineous players is likely to be involved in a rape incident again???

One would hope that the certain player you are talking about has learnt his lesson.

All Im saying is that Wayne Carey drunk in a bar leaves himself open to be accused of things that he may not necessarily do, such is the problem with being a high profile footballer.

macca23
11 Jun 2003, 01:00

All Im saying is that Wayne Carey drunk in a bar leaves himself open to be accused of things that he may not necessarily do, such is the problem with being a high profile footballer.

In normal circumstances I would agree with you Scott. However in this case he was with his wife, and I think it's a really sad state of affairs that people think that this is not acceptable. Hell, if we'd done it we'd say it was one hell of a good night.

On his own or with the boys - then it's a different story!!

Malibu#27
11 Jun 2003, 15:30
Originally posted by macca23

I think you will find that the case you are talking about was not as cut and dry as your remark may suggest.

Tas
12 Jun 2003, 02:47
I am surprised AFL clubs in this day and age allow players to drink alcohol during the season. Why bother putting players on those abusrd diets when you can **** it up against a wall drinking?

All the AFL players I have ever seen have been drinking non-alcoholic drinks, injured or not. I believe the word for it is professionalism, god knows he has done alot of stupid things after 'a few drinks'. Lucky the little lady tagged along. ;)