View Full Version : Melbourne Vs Adelaide
maccas_no1
10 Jun 2003, 08:25
Just make it easy on yourselves and forfeit this weekend you will need the two weeks off to recover from your hammering yesterday:D :D :D Carn You Mighty Crows!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kane McGoodwin
10 Jun 2003, 14:29
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Just make it easy on yourselves and forfeit this weekend you will need the two weeks off to recover from your hammering yesterday:D :D :D Carn You Mighty Crows!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Marty, I wouldn't be feeling so confident as we just got beaten by supposedly the worse team in the competition! Our tall forwards won't worry the Dees backline as we don't have any (except Perrie). Could be a low standard game. Forget percentage, I would ne just happy with 4 points to regroup at the break.
PS Why does Russell Robertson always play well against us?
You can bet your bottom dollar all of the Dees' midfielders and forwards, so strangely out of form thus far, will snap out of it this week and go berserk.
Thank goodness it's at AAMI because at least we should be able to stay reasonably close to the Demons for 3 quarters and hopefully bring it home in the last. But only if our midfielders actually try hard to get the footy and maybe even run and chase and work to the contest. The boys might consider doing that on Sunday, you never know.....then we could have a game on our hands!
maccas_no1
10 Jun 2003, 18:03
I have to be confident,even though we arent playing that good footy at the moment supporters still have to be confident.For the AFC to get back on the right track we need to go out there Sunday and have a GOOD,SOLID four quarter effort and win by at least 30 points,go into the week off 7-5 and then come out all guns blazing against Carlton:D
lamby29
10 Jun 2003, 20:55
As strange as it seems, I think we may be a chance this week. For the first time this year we will be the centre of attention in the media, and because of this we will at least have a fair dinkum crack on Sunday. Expect the following players to have blinders:
Johnstone (remember the Semi Final?)
Heffernan (having a stellar season)
Neitz (surely he can't have 3 shockers in a row?)
Vardy (if he plays)
Still don't think we will win, but I give ourselves a fair chance.
Supermercado
10 Jun 2003, 21:17
We had the media frenzy before the Port game too, and somehow we won that.
Sadly I can't see it happening again this time *sob*.
Can't the bye week come any quicker?
topjars
10 Jun 2003, 22:29
The Crows are ripe for the picking. We are not playing flash footy and with Melbourne getting a pasting by the media anything can happen.
Stiffy_18
10 Jun 2003, 23:07
Originally posted by topjars
The Crows are ripe for the picking. We are not playing flash footy and with Melbourne getting a pasting by the media anything can happen. Spot on. Especially now that senior players got a pasting from the coach through media:(
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Spot on. Especially now that senior players got a pasting from the coach through media:(
.....while our coach went soft on our blokes......not looking good at all.
CowboyFromHell
11 Jun 2003, 00:54
I reckon we will get flogged this week. I'm sort of sick of being optimistic all the time. You could give us an 8 goal head start and we will probably still get flogged.
maccas_no1
11 Jun 2003, 09:25
Would you like to us to let you count the goals you kick in the warm up?????:D :D If that will help I will see what I can do;)
Originally posted by lamby29
Johnstone (remember the Semi Final?) Yep. He was out of puff by three quarter time if I remember correctly. ;)
Fireball
12 Jun 2003, 16:27
We will be flogged.:mad:
Leaping Lindner
12 Jun 2003, 19:39
Could you Melbourne guys do us a favour and let us know which one of your midfield has been down on form and struggling?
We'll see what we can do about reviving their season and giving them a BOG vote by getting Mattner to play on them:rolleyes:
lamby29
12 Jun 2003, 19:46
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Could you Melbourne guys do us a favour and let us know which one of your midfield has been down on form and struggling?
We'll see what we can do about reviving their season and giving them a BOG vote by getting Mattner to play on them:rolleyes:
He is the one who played Woewodin into form isn't he?
lamby29
12 Jun 2003, 19:47
Originally posted by DaveW
Yep. He was out of puff by three quarter time if I remember correctly. ;)
Very true, but his first three quarters were awesome, probably the best individual performance I've seen live.
lamby29
12 Jun 2003, 19:58
PLAYERS
Backs: M. Whelan A. Nicholson C. Bizzell
Half Backs: L. Williams C. Lamb P. Walsh
Centre: T. Johnstone S. Godfrey C. Heffernan
Half Forwards: B. Green B. Miller C. Bruce
Forwards: P. Vardy D. Neitz R. Robertson
Followers: A. Yze, M. Jamar, A. Leoncelli
Interchange: J. McDonald, G. Rigoni, S. Thompson, R. Ferguson, D. Jolly, S. Armstrong, J. Rivers
Emergency:
Leaping Lindner
12 Jun 2003, 23:35
Originally posted by lamby29
He is the one who played Woewodin into form isn't he?
Yep that's the one. And Crawford last week. Not entirely the kids fault as Ayres should have moved him on both occassions. And to be blunt he probably shouldn't have been picked in the first place.
Stiffy_18
13 Jun 2003, 13:49
Yep that's the one. And Crawford last week. Not entirely the kids fault as Ayres should have moved him on both occassions. And to be blunt he probably shouldn't have been picked in the first place. LL, You will be pleased to know that Mattner has been dropped
Fireball
13 Jun 2003, 20:17
Pity Rivers didn't get a run.
CowboyFromHell
14 Jun 2003, 01:45
Originally posted by Fireball
Pity Rivers didn't get a run.
Not really, his form over the last month hasn't been great. Should have been given a run a month ago, however.
Ms.Storm
14 Jun 2003, 03:58
How can you Dees supporters be so pessimistic.
You know this team by now.....get fired up by the press.....win next week:)
Dees in a close one.....say 9 points.
Fireball
14 Jun 2003, 11:29
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Not really, his form over the last month hasn't been great. Should have been given a run a month ago, however.
Any chance that Bell,Rivers,Smith,Hunter and Rogers make it to Senior level this year?
Where is Molan?Still injured?
CowboyFromHell
14 Jun 2003, 13:05
Any chance that Bell,Rivers,Smith,Hunter and Rogers make it to Senior level this year?
Daniel Bell - sustained a finger injury which will keep him out for a few weeks. He's been playing relatively well in the 1's. Has a show of playing for the Dees after the break if his form continues to improve.
Jared Rivers - He has been the pick of the draftees, but his form has been average over the last month, but that's expected. If he plays well this weekend, he might get a run after the break.
Nick Smith - Same as Rivers. After his senior debut, he hasn't really done anything at all. Still developing.
Cameron Hunter - Played the last 2 games in the seniors for Sandy and has done exceptionally well. Has absolutely no fear and goes hard at it, even though he is very small body wise. If he keeps it up, he MIGHT get a run, though it's probably unlikely.
Aaron Rogers - Not much of a chance really, been in the 2's for a bit of the year as well. Really needs to lift.
Luke Molan - Needs both a shoulder AND knee reconstruction. Won't see him again till very late next year, which is a damn shame. Was not far off playing in the Melbourne side.
Deestroy
14 Jun 2003, 13:39
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Nick Smith - Same as Rivers. After his senior debut, he hasn't really done anything at all. Still developing.
Would be partly because he's being used as a bits and pieces player at the moment, having to ruck with Jolly and Jamar at Melbourne. Will be better when he is left in one position.
lamby29
14 Jun 2003, 18:24
Daniel Bell: Will play senior football this year, possibly after the break if fit. He has something about him that makes me think he will be an absolute champ.
Rivers: Has been pretty good at Sandy, ready to play on a flank at senior level, but not big enough to play CHB yet.
Smith: Been disappointing at Sandy recently. As Deestroy said, he needs to settle at CHF and he will return to form. 2nd in line for the CHF position, behind Miller.
Hunter: If he was 75kg, not 65kg. then he would be a regular in the Demon line up. However, if he continues his current form at Sandy, ND has no choice but to promote him. Will be the best player out of our 2002 draftees IMO.
Rogers: I really rate him, but I can't see ND promoting him until 2004. Still a little bit soft but has unlimited potential.
I'd love to see Bell, Rivers & Hunter get some senior footy before the end of this season.
Well Johnno & Ooze would've been the prime candidates as they barely resemble last years model!
Stiffy_18
14 Jun 2003, 23:18
If you guys don't like Bell and Smith we would be really glad to have them along with Jamar back in Adelaide. We'd give you Smith, Schell, Marsh, Nelson, Shirley and even Mattner if you like;) :p :)
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
If you guys don't like Bell and Smith we would be really glad to have them along with Jamar back in Adelaide. We'd give you Smith, Schell, Marsh, Nelson, Shirley and even Mattner if you like;) :p :)
Hehehe, no chance!
Fireball
15 Jun 2003, 15:38
Thanks for the info on progress of the younger players.
maccas_no1
16 Jun 2003, 19:53
Why didnt you forfiet??????:D :D :D Oh well MFC is getting used to being slaughtered lately:rolleyes:
Kane McGoodwin
17 Jun 2003, 20:42
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Why didnt you forfiet??????:D :D :D Oh well MFC is getting used to being slaughtered lately:rolleyes: Hey Marty, keep it gracious in victory, particularly when we were give a ride by the umpires.