View Full Version : Burns likely to be ruled out this week

RaDaR ReiLLy
11 Jun 2003, 18:43
Heard on 5AA that Ronnie Burns didnt get through the training session today and will not play this week.

Bad news :( we need him..

ant
11 Jun 2003, 18:51
And we need everyone else too.....Burnsy would have been handy, but with the inclusions of Stinger and Clarke, there's no reason why we can't beat the Dees, if we're in the right frame of mind. If we're serious, we just HAVE to get the 4 points here, by any means, in any way, shape or form.

Then we have the break to look forward to, the boys can have a rest, regroup, then attack the second half of the season with vigour and with only Goodwin out long-term (assuming we don't get any more injuries, which is an imprudent assumption at the best of times).

topjars
11 Jun 2003, 19:04
You hit the nail on the head Ant.
Frame of mind is what it will come down to.

I reckon Melbourne will fancy there chances but that can be quelled if we are desperate

Id like to think the crowd will be as vocal as theyve ever been because this could be a season defining game.

RaDaR ReiLLy
11 Jun 2003, 19:18
Originally posted by topjars
You hit the nail on the head Ant.
Frame of mind is what it will come down to.

I reckon Melbourne will fancy there chances but that can be quelled if we are desperate

Id like to think the crowd will be as vocal as theyve ever been because this could be a season defining game.
Yep i will certainly be VERY vocal on sunday. Im aiming to lose my voice by the end of the day :) :cool:

Kane McGoodwin
11 Jun 2003, 19:52
No point risking Burns if he is not right, given the break the following week. Clarke coming back will make hell of a difference replacing Marsh. Stinger is fit & will replace Goodwin. Reckon Stinger could play more of an offensive role than normal, with Shirley coming in for Mattner.

Stiffy_18
11 Jun 2003, 20:32
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
No point risking Burns if he is not right, given the break the following week. I guess you should never trust a club when they say that a player will miss only one week with ankle injuries. Always follow the golden rule, he either doesn't miss one or he misses 2+.

Reckon Stinger could play more of an offensive role than normal, with Shirley coming in for Mattner. I was thinking that very thing today but knowing how much Mattner is loved I doubt it would happen. I am hopeing that Shirley comes in for Mattner to play as a tagger and release Stenglein into more offensive role.:)

Kane McGoodwin
11 Jun 2003, 20:58
B: Johnc.ock, Bassett, Hart
HB: Massie, Smart, Torney
C: Gallagher, Stenglein, Doughty
HF: Edwards, McGregor, Ladhams
F: Welsh, Perrie, Ricciuto
R: Biglands, Bickley, McLeod
I: Clarke, Begley, Burton, Shirley

In: Clarke, Stenglein, Shirley
Out: Marsh, Goodwin, Mattner

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
11 Jun 2003, 21:48
No way we should risk anyone this week. If Stinger & Clarkey are fit - then fine they should play - but if in any doubt - nope leave them out.

I am sure that if we can get over our injuries and get our key players back in Stevens, Carey, Bode, Burns and in about 7 weeks :mad: Goodwin we can make a real go of the second half of the year. We have been "robbing Peter to pay Paul" for about the last 5 or 6 weeks. I pray for the day I see a forward line with Burton, Welsh, Burns, Carey & Stevens in it. With Roo and Andrew & Stinger back in the centre. Benny, Nathan, Kenny & Smarty holding up the backline. :) will be a happy chook then!

k
xx

PrideofSA
11 Jun 2003, 21:49
I will be there for my first game this year.....ANd everyone better be loud.....be prepared to lose your voice, if u don't, you won't be cheering loud enough. Very important match.

ant
11 Jun 2003, 22:03
Good of you to turn up PSA.

I'm sure the boys will acknowledge and reward your presence with a win ;)

Stiffy_18
11 Jun 2003, 23:04
B: Johnc.ock, Bassett, Hart
HB: Massie, Smart, Torney
C: Gallagher, Stenglein, Doughty
HF: Edwards, McGregor, Ladhams
F: Welsh, Perrie, Ricciuto
R: Biglands, Bickley, McLeod
I: Clarke, Begley, Burton, Shirley

In: Clarke, Stenglein, Shirley
Out: Marsh, Goodwin, Mattner

I agree with your ins and outs Kane but I would line them up somewhat differently:

F: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 17. Scott Welsh
HF: _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 24. Brett Burton
C: _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 28. James Begley
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 3. Kris Massie
B: _ 18. Graham Johncock _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 23. Andrew McLeod

Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 12. Robert Shirley _ 21. James Gallagher

Start Kenny at FF and Perrie at CHF and rotate them beetween those positions if they are not performing. Play Burton as a floating marking forward or out of a pocket if Bruce is giving him trouble as he has in the past. Hopefully Welsh decides to play this week (sorry guys he didn't impress me last week at all ;) )as does Burton adn they both kick a couple or more each.

PrideofSA
12 Jun 2003, 01:22
Originally posted by ant

Well it's the first match I could get to this year apart from the COllingwood match which when i found out i was avaiable it was sold out.

Well I haven't been to a match that we have lost to other than Port since 1998.

lozstar
12 Jun 2003, 01:29
something i'm curious about.. today at training some of the players wore the normal playing guernseys and others wore the training ones... but kris massie and matthew clarke were running around in white guernseys.

like would they be injured and we don't know about it to be wearing white guernseys and standing out from the other players?

DaveW
12 Jun 2003, 01:55
Originally posted by lozstar
something i'm curious about.. today at training some of the players wore the normal playing guernseys and others wore the training ones... but kris massie and matthew clarke were running around in white guernseys.

like would they be injured and we don't know about it to be wearing white guernseys and standing out from the other players? I think that means they would have a lighter training run. Although its a bit worrying if Massie has some sort of injury, he was one of our best last week. :(

Jars458
12 Jun 2003, 11:20
Originally posted by ant

Yeah, he's a real trooper.

Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 19:58
Originally posted by DaveW
I think that means they would have a lighter training run. Although its a bit worrying if Massie has some sort of injury, he was one of our best last week. :( I think the thing with Massie is that he is on a lighter training program because of his CFS. Clarkey is out which means we are in BIG trouble.

Kane McGoodwin
12 Jun 2003, 20:01
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I think the thing with Massie is that he is on a lighter training program because of his CFS. Clarkey is out which means we are in BIG trouble.
Clarke out is no excuse Stiffy, Biglands should beat the Jamar / Jolly combination.

Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 20:49
Clarke out is no excuse Stiffy, Biglands should beat the Jamar / Jolly combination. He can't do it himslef and I would back either of Jolly or Jamar against McGregor:(

Kane McGoodwin
12 Jun 2003, 20:57
He can't do it himslef and I would back either of Jolly or Jamar against McGregor:(
Why can't Biglands ruck for 85% of the game, as he is fit enough. Just need McGregor/Perrie rucking in the forward line & Biglands can cover the rest. He just needs a 5 minute rest at the end of the quarters.

Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 21:04
Why can't Biglands ruck for 85% of the game, as he is fit enough. Just need McGregor/Perrie rucking in the forward line & Biglands can cover the rest. He just needs a 5 minute rest at the end of the quarters. I don't rate fitness Biglands' aerobic capacity that much Kane. I agree he will have to ruck 80 -85% of the time if we are any chance to win. Playing in ruck takes so much out of a player physically, he will feel the effects from it in the 4th quarter. McGregor should ruck 5-10 minutes at the end of each quarter and that means the centre bounces as well.

I guess we will have to get clearences from their taps as well.:(

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
12 Jun 2003, 21:23
A bonus that White is out injured. I think we would have stuggled with Biggles alone against White. I am confident that Biggles can handle Jolly & Jamar.

this is a HUGE game. we must come out firing. we need to get this win on the board. I am a bit nervous but I know if we do our best then we will win.

k
xx

macca23
12 Jun 2003, 21:35
I don't rate fitness Biglands' aerobic capacity that much Kane. I agree he will have to ruck 80 -85% of the time if we are any chance to win. Playing in ruck takes so much out of a player physically, he will feel the effects from it in the 4th quarter. McGregor should ruck 5-10 minutes at the end of each quarter and that means the centre bounces as well.

Once again our young Stiffmeister is on the ball!! ;)

Biglands has nowhere the areobic capacity of Clarke and is most unlikely to last all of each quarter for all 4 quarters.

Biglands could only ruck the whole game IMO by playing the centre third of the oval, and leaving the forward rucking to Perrie and the back work to McGregor.

That's too risky, so the most likely scenario is the one that Stiffy has painted, with McGregor taking the latter part of each quarter and Hentschel taking the CHB position in Kenny's spot for that time.

Stiffy_18
12 Jun 2003, 22:14
Originally posted by macca23
Once again our young Stiffmeister is on the ball!! ;)

Biglands has nowhere the areobic capacity of Clarke and is most unlikely to last all of each quarter for all 4 quarters.

Biglands could only ruck the whole game IMO by playing the centre third of the oval, and leaving the forward rucking to Perrie and the back work to McGregor.

That's too risky, so the most likely scenario is the one that Stiffy has painted, with McGregor taking the latter part of each quarter and Hentschel taking the CHB position in Kenny's spot for that time. Thanks mate.;)

We only need to look at last weeks game against Hawthorn to see how ineffective an tired Biglands was in the 4th quarter even tho Marsh spent a fair bit of time on the ground before getting injured. We have to rotate him and McGregor to have any chance and our midfielders also have to learn to turn opposition taps into our clearences.;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
13 Jun 2003, 18:13

like would they be injured and we don't know about it to be wearing white guernseys and standing out from the other players?
Your lucky, at least you GOT to watch them train. I went to watch on blo0dy public holiday Monday and they all took off in their cars like they were fleeing the fricken crime scene.

I later found out they headed indoors at blo0dy City Bum Cleaners in the city for a different training program.

They just had to do it on Monday, didn't they!

They all got in there cars in such a hurry, like they were scared of their supporters, and lots did turn up to watch them.

Lol, some girls even followed Massie and Reilly out of the carpark :rolleyes:

lozstar
13 Jun 2003, 19:44
Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Your lucky, at least you GOT to watch them train. I went to watch on blo0dy public holiday Monday and they all took off in their cars like they were fleeing the fricken crime scene.

I later found out they headed indoors at blo0dy City Bum Cleaners in the city for a different training program.

They just had to do it on Monday, didn't they!

They all got in there cars in such a hurry, like they were scared of their supporters, and lots did turn up to watch them.

Lol, some girls even followed Massie and Reilly out of the carpark :rolleyes:
:( :( that sucks when they train somewhere else without saying anything about it. cant think of anything more annoying!
but don't worry you didn't miss all that much at training this week... was actually quite boring.... brent training pretty well though! looked like he'll be pushing for selection soon :) (got him to sign my badge too! :D) yay hehe
that guy was there again the one that yells stuff at them.. haha god he was the funniest he's ever been, a couple of the players even couldnt stop laughing..

Kane McGoodwin
13 Jun 2003, 20:20
I don't rate fitness Biglands' aerobic capacity that much Kane. I agree he will have to ruck 80 -85% of the time if we are any chance to win. Playing in ruck takes so much out of a player physically, he will feel the effects from it in the 4th quarter. McGregor should ruck 5-10 minutes at the end of each quarter and that means the centre bounces as well.

Stiffy, I think you under-rate Bigalnds aerobic fitness, particularly as he is going up against inexperienced ruckman - not Jeff White! As I mentioned earlier, Biglands should be capable of rucking all but the last 5 minutes of each quarter (ie. aprox 85%), as long as the other talls help out around the ground. I would be disappointed if Biglands doesn't dominate the taps & give us effective 1st use of the ball.

Stiffy_18
13 Jun 2003, 23:15
Stiffy, I think you under-rate Bigalnds aerobic fitness, particularly as he is going up against inexperienced ruckman - not Jeff White! As I mentioned earlier, Biglands should be capable of rucking all but the last 5 minutes of each quarter (ie. aprox 85%), as long as the other talls help out around the ground. I would be disappointed if Biglands doesn't dominate the taps & give us effective 1st use of the ball. You are expecting too much from him. His aerobic capacity is not his strong point. Ever since round 5 he has played less than half a game as Clarke has been very good in the ruck and has had majority of the time on the ground. We have seen it last week. Marsh played a fair bit before getting injured, so I think it would be far to say that Biglands only played about a quarter in the first half.

In 4th quarte he was stuffed. Playing against a rookie doesn't mean that he doesn't need to cover ground or bang into bodies. Believe me if Biglands rucks all day he will be finished by the 4th quarter. I think you will find that Biglands' aerobic capacity is one of the worse at the club. Do you know how much work is needed to carry a 105 kg frame all day long??????:p

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
14 Jun 2003, 11:20
sorry, don't agree with you guys who are bagging Biglands.

Rhett's eyes light up on Thursday night. HE wants to play a full game, he is itching to get out there and do his best. HE has been waiting to get his chance. HE will not let us down.

WE would all love Clarkey out on the ground every week, but he is injured. I don't want him risked. If he misses this week he gets another break next week and will come back 100% (if such a thing in AFL footy). Marsh is a useless piece of c@#p anyway and I personally think we are better off without him.

Kenny will assist him if the need be. Give the boy some encouragement rather than get on his back before the game has even started.

k
xx

macca23
14 Jun 2003, 13:03
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
sorry, don't agree with you guys who are bagging Biglands.

I don't think any of us are bagging Biglands. On the contrary, expressing my personal opinion, which I think is shared by all of the other posters, is that he is one of our most valuable players.

Nobody would even contemplate questioning his desire, effort, enthusiasm or courage.

The point of discussion has centred on whether areobically he can ruck effectively for a full game, not whether he is any good or not. Clarke can do it because of his lighter, leaner frame, but there is some doubt whether Biglands can because of his heavier frame.

Used sensibly, and only patrolling a limited area, I think he can do it, particularly if he concentrates his activities to the centre and back play, which means that Perrie and Hentschel will have to give support, by taling on the forward duties.

Go Rhett!!

Stiffy_18
14 Jun 2003, 18:00
Originally posted by macca23
I don't think any of us are bagging Biglands. On the contrary, expressing my personal opinion, which I think is shared by all of the other posters, is that he is one of our most valuable players.

Nobody would even contemplate questioning his desire, effort, enthusiasm or courage.

The point of discussion has centred on whether areobically he can ruck effectively for a full game, not whether he is any good or not. Clarke can do it because of his lighter, leaner frame, but there is some doubt whether Biglands can because of his heavier frame.

Go Rhett!! Exactly right macca23.

I am not bagging Biglands at all. All I am saying is that I doubt he has the aerobic capacity needed to play in the ruck effectively for the entire match. No one is questionong his endevour, courage or comitment. I just pointed out that as far as the aerobic capacity goes he is one of the lesser lights at the club which is not at all surprising considering his big frame. ;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
14 Jun 2003, 20:30
:( :( that sucks when they train somewhere else without saying anything about it. cant think of anything more annoying!
but don't worry you didn't miss all that much at training this week... was actually quite boring.... brent training pretty well though! looked like he'll be pushing for selection soon :) (got him to sign my badge too! :D) yay hehe
that guy was there again the one that yells stuff at them.. haha god he was the funniest he's ever been, a couple of the players even couldnt stop laughing..
Hehehe..that Bloke is a classic. I can remember last time when i went, Bodey was paying him out!!

Wt u talkin bout BORING?!?! its only boring when Brent isnt trainingl!!! Not long now and he will be playing, hopefully. :D

lozstar
14 Jun 2003, 22:09
Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Hehehe..that Bloke is a classic. I can remember last time when i went, Bodey was paying him out!!

Wt u talkin bout BORING?!?! its only boring when Brent isnt trainingl!!! Not long now and he will be playing, hopefully. :D
hehe, yeah classic and a half.. i was trying to talk to begley, but all i could hear was that guy saying "stinger!! stinger!! you're so beautiful! 17 million people love you because you're beatiful and good looking.. very handsome young man, i love you, everyone loves you" :eek: lol

was boring a little, cuz the players i wanted to see either werent there or over the other side of the oval... better than nothing though :)

RaDaR ReiLLy
14 Jun 2003, 22:40
[B]hehe, yeah classic and a half.. i was trying to talk to begley, but all i could hear was that guy saying "stinger!! stinger!! you're so beautiful! 17 million people love you because you're beatiful and good looking.. very handsome young man, i love you, everyone loves you" :eek: lol

LOL!!!! was he really saying that.....eeew is he wat i THINK he is??????? lol, 'ur so beautiful' -OMG!!!! (i suppose he is tho)
He said the same thing to Brent a while back and called him handsome :eek: (well he blo 0dy well is)

Kane McGoodwin
15 Jun 2003, 19:40
Exactly right macca23.

I am not bagging Biglands at all. All I am saying is that I doubt he has the aerobic capacity needed to play in the ruck effectively for the entire match. No one is questionong his endevour, courage or comitment. I just pointed out that as far as the aerobic capacity goes he is one of the lesser lights at the club which is not at all surprising considering his big frame. ;) So Stiffy & Macca, have you changed your mind on Biglands aerobic capacity... ;) He was always going to dominate against 2 lesser ruckman - gotta have faith! :D

Stiffy_18
15 Jun 2003, 20:59
So Stiffy & Macca, have you changed your mind on Biglands aerobic capacity... ;) He was always going to dominate against 2 lesser ruckman - gotta have faith! :D I am eating a humble pies as we speak. Listening to him on 5AA after the match he said that the reason he was able to ruck all day was because of he was asked to just worry about getting to ruck contests and not be too concerned with around the ground stuff.;)

macca23
16 Jun 2003, 00:44
So Stiffy & Macca, have you changed your mind on Biglands aerobic capacity... ;) He was always going to dominate against 2 lesser ruckman - gotta have faith! :D

I agree that he was always going to be better than the opposition - and he was. Our doubts were only whether he could ruck all day.

I gave him BTM because he did manage to do it all day. One of those rare cases you love being proven wrong. :) but I bet he sleeps well tonight!! :D

Well done Rhett!!