View Full Version : 2nds Box Hill v Bendigo Sunday 2pm 13 June

rdhopkins2
7 Jun 2010, 18:51
ROUND NINE

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images_hawks/story_images/Boxhill_Hawks_462x260px.jpg
versus
http://www.aussiesportsinfo.com/aussie_rules/victorian-football-league/bendigo-bombers.jpg

Box Hill Hawks
Bendigo Bombers

Sunday 13 June
@ Box Hill City Oval

Seniors at 2:00pm
(Development
Team 11:00am)

Radio: 94.1FM 3WBC
TV: Nil

Getting There:
Public Transport: Train to Laburnum.
Driving: Cnr Middleborough/Whitehorse Rd, Box Hill

Teams should be named Thursday night.

Box Hill face another challenge this week at home against Bendigo. With Hawthorn playing in Tassie on Saturday, get down to Box Hill and support the boys in a family friendly environment and enjoy footy from the terraces and gain your weekly footy fix.

Weather Forecast: 32 degrees, sunny and perfect for crowds.

Hmmm.....long range forecast from the Bureau of Meteorology
@ 7/6/10 6.55pm:
Forecast for Sunday
Partly cloudy. Patches of light morning frost. Isolated showers. Winds south to southwesterly averaging 15 to 25 km/h.

CityShower or two.Min7Max16

Rudi Gilham
7 Jun 2010, 19:02
Box Hill really need a win in this game.

Bendigo gets their coach, Shannon Grant, back from suspension. They've lost both games he's been unavailable!

Tuck will probably come up from the twos. Hopefully Ablett, Kenna & Jackson too far away from resuming.

rdhopkins2
7 Jun 2010, 20:39
Who is attending this week? I'll be heading down, hopefully in time for the development squad too. Thoughts on this weeks game people? What are Box Hill currently lacking that is seeing them fall short of the 4pts? Let's start the discussion nice and early...thanks Rudi for your comments!

scout
7 Jun 2010, 21:47
Mark Williams likely to play for Bendigo, maybe put Muston on him.

go hawks!!!
7 Jun 2010, 22:44
Mark Williams likely to play for Bendigo, maybe put Muston on him.

You reckon? i think he will replace monfries in the 1st.

I am going to launceston from thursday and should be back late saturday night. if all goes well i will be there!!

Rudi Gilham
8 Jun 2010, 19:30
I'm a bit worried about Jay Neagle. Opposition full forwards are smashing us this year (Galea, Dunn etc). Shaun Pollard was recruited to take these blokes. Now we have to go with the likes of Dowler, Muston & Pederson, at FB, which leaves us at a distinct disadvantage.

At the other end of the ground, we lack a good, tall, marking/goalkicking forward. Luke Breust & Sam Gibson have contributed the bulk of our goals.

Beau Dowler & Jordan Lisle have been disappointing in contributing goals. Dowler has only 5 goals (admittedly with some time in defence), Lisle has 9.

For this reason, I was half hoping Justin Plapp would find some form and step up to the seniors at FF for the Stangers.

TheFourPillars
8 Jun 2010, 21:31
I think if schoey doesn't get a call up to the hawks. He should get Neagle

Billy Bob65
9 Jun 2010, 17:51
Wouldn't be that concerned about Neagle, he isn't a FF that kicks big bags - his best at VFL level is 3.

go hawks!!!
9 Jun 2010, 18:08
Wouldn't be that concerned about Neagle, he isn't a FF that kicks big bags - his best at VFL level is 3.

Yea we have a few of those

TheFourPillars
10 Jun 2010, 20:57
The teams are up

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=12349346&sectionID=60264

Tucky playing in the middle this week for the ones

Rudi Gilham
10 Jun 2010, 21:30
That's one small side.

rdhopkins2
10 Jun 2010, 21:35
Thanks for the link to the teams. Certainly going to be no easy task this week with Bendigo sitting in 6th. Let's all get behind the boys and get along and support the team and cheer them over the line! See you there!

It is certainly is a small side. On the plus side, if it stays wet it could prove advantag geous. Will be good to see Tucky back in the side too.

Side note: Mark Williams named for the Bombers so if he plays hopefully our supporters will show some respect for a Hawk player that was certainly serviceable.

Roger Rogerson
12 Jun 2010, 11:50
We are missing Kenna massively - any news on when he will be back? He takes the game on and gets us up and about.

Good to see Tucky back to add some grunt. One bloke we miss massively from last season is K3. Him and Tucky had it on a string for a period there. Iles is an enormous loss as well. Time for Savage to start pushing his name up.

We are light bodied as well and when we can't get our running game up and going really struggle with the contested footy. We were moving the ball beautifully early in the season but have lost our way a fair bit.

Hopefully get there tomorrow without kids to have a close look at a few of our young blokes.

CrowdedHouse
13 Jun 2010, 10:31
Yes Yes Yes - the radio call is back this week (3WBC 94.1 FM - 3wbc.org.au)

Also STEVE GILLHAM from Hawthorn will be doing special comments!!! Spread the word!

Pete.

shepp
13 Jun 2010, 12:32
Need a big win today

Roger Rogerson
13 Jun 2010, 16:13
Just got back after watching the first half. We were up 8.6 to 3.1 at half time. Dominant display. Definately very switched on and pretty much everyone contributing and up and about. Playing some good run and carry overlap footy.

The back 6 for most of the first half were Bello, Pederson, Morton, Kiel, Milne and Kaylor-Thomson. The backline was brilliant. Pederson was reading the game beautifully from the back half.

Kiel was very solid and won plenty of the ball and Kaylor-Thomson was winning it on the way out and pushing up to the wing. Not particularly penetrating with his kicking but hitting targets.

Morton was the surprise playing out of a back pocket minding Jay Neagle (how he is on an AFL list is an absolute joke). Morton was notable for a couple of very strong defensive spoils in the air where he cleared the contest by 20m. Won a bit of the ball and was playing ok. The query is on his decision-making and then the time he takes to execute once he has made his mind up and he put himself under unnecessary pressure a couple of times but was doing his job well and truly.

Milne was very good. Forgot how tall he is. Very smooth mover and has filled out a bit. Was blowing at bit during the 2nd quarter but to be expected. He showed his class at times today using the ball very well. He is going to be a handy player for us.

Moss wasn't as prolific as normal at VFL level. Sharked a goal but otherwise didnt have any influence. Stokes a bit the same - a great intercept and running goal late in the 2nd. Jordan Williams not involved a heap but didn't do anything wrong - just a tad off the pace of the game.

Savage was moving well and up and about. Looked the best I have seen him this year.

Curnow was best on by a mile. Was winning the ball at will and was working up and down the ground very hard.

Tucky was working himself into the game nicely. Started quietly but the muddy conditions allowed him to start using his size to win clearances in the 2nd. Was just throwing the ball on his boot as he does on most occasions but was starting to show some strength at the contest. He is a very solid type now and having both him and K3 missing from Box Hill for the best part of the season has hurt us.

Bruest was quiet early but competed fairly well. But then as he does he comes into the game like a whirlwind and in the space of a few minutes weaves his magic. He led to the far wing in the first quarter and the ball dropped short so he dropped to his knees over the ball and slipped the tackle of his opponent. Handballed to Gibbo running past and then I think Bruest got it back (he either had it 2 or 3 times in the chain of play) and kicked it forward where Fagan ended up with it and twisted and turned to shrug his opponent and looked up to see Bruest who had run from the wing who received and snapped a class goal. Then in the 2nd quarter he took a tricky one hander and slotted a goal from 35m. Very clever and constructive with everything he does.

Lisle was excellent early. Played in the ruck changing forward and took some strong marks up forward. Did all you could ask of him. Renton was also good in the ruck to half time.

Beau Dowler. Haven't seen too many players have dirtier days. It was laughable by the end. Started forward and caught behind several times before taking a ground ball and snapping over his shoulder for a nice goal. But that proved to be just a fluke as he played behind Jason Cloke on every other occasion when the ball came forward. Tried to wrestle a few times with no luck and then started to give away free kicks - not through frustration but being out positioned. At one stage he flew for a mark and put one hand in the back of his opponent but took a very good mark. Of course the umpire deemed it hands in the back and Beau handed the ball back. Drifted up the ground later in the half and had a couple of kicks but a dirty day for Beau.

Suckling was busy and did some nice things.

Looks like Box Hill had set themselves for the game so here's hoping we have a big 2nd half.

Also is it just me or do the Hawthorn listed blokes have more definition now than earlier in the season? They look stronger and leaner to me. Maybe they have a group solarium membership so it is just the winter tans creating an optical illusion but I was underwhelmed at the physical state of our players at the start of the season compared to other teams but we now look much better.

Mark Williams was not playing for Bendigo. Dont know why.

Roger Rogerson
13 Jun 2010, 16:18
2010 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 5.4 8.6 12.7 .
Bendigo Bombers 1.0 3.1 6.4 .

Killing em.

shepp
13 Jun 2010, 16:22
Thanks for the first half summary, RR.

Disappointing to hear about Dowler and Willo not doing much for them.

I really like Milne, good to hear he's playing well.

Moss, Stokes, Morton and Dowler need to have a big 2nd half of the season to remain on the list IMO.

How was Suckling?

deathevocation
13 Jun 2010, 16:28
Was all set for a big day. Got there at 1.15pm, had something to eat, watched the warm up and then my 14 month year old decided it was time to go home. Had to leave during the first quarter. Haha. The boys looked good though.

Roger Rogerson
13 Jun 2010, 16:39
Thanks for the first half summary, RR.

Disappointing to hear about Dowler and Willo not doing much for them.

I really like Milne, good to hear he's playing well.

Moss, Stokes, Morton and Dowler need to have a big 2nd half of the season to remain on the list IMO.

How was Suckling?

It was Jordan Williams I was referring to. Mark Williams wasnt playing for them (just added that into my post).

deathevocation that is v disappointing. I managed to get there without kids for the first time all year - makes a world of difference in being able to watch the game closely. Good crowd there today.

Roger Rogerson
13 Jun 2010, 16:49
2010 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 5.4 8.6 12.7 14.10 (94)
Bendigo Bombers 1.0 3.1 6.4 8.5 (53)

moginie
13 Jun 2010, 17:04
Thanks for the report & updates RR.

Good news about Milne. Steady development from him this year will put us in a better position next year.

Let's hope Tuck can push for senior selection in the second half of the year.

arupist
13 Jun 2010, 17:16
Milne and Breust are the two I am keen on. There are obvioulsy spots available in the Seniors next year. Hoping these two can keep up the good work and demand those spots.

Roger Rogerson
13 Jun 2010, 17:29
2010 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 5.4 8.6 12.7 14.10 (94)
Bendigo Bombers 1.0 3.1 6.4 8.5 (53)

GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Breust 3 Dowler 2 Moss Lisle Morton Fagan Curnow Stokes Gibson Andrews Savage
Bendigo Bombers: Neagle 2 Carlisle Cloke Crameri Quinn Scanlon Slattery

BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen Lisle Kayler-Thomson Savage Tuck Morton
Bendigo Bombers: Shinners Slattery Bock Quinn Long Williams

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil.
Bendigo Bombers: Nil.

FriarTuck
13 Jun 2010, 17:32
Saw a bit of the development team. Damn we are short. Grimley and Lowden played. Neither did a great deal but they were moving freely. Grimley is the better prospect but he is miles off it strength wise. Got a nice streak of SH!T in him. Johnston played off a wing. Not enough tricks for a short guy. Sirra goes well off a HBF. A nothing size but he controls the ball very well. Duryea probably cost us the game. Missed a shot he should have nailed, they score immediately, game over. Duryea was on ball and forward.

Ben Kennedy played FB. There is a bit there. Good kick, reads the play well and good hands. Lacks a yard but definitely one to watch. We were stiff to lose but it was a good game. Lack of size cost us.

In the ones we dominated. Not reflected on the score board but we had all the play.

Moose Lisle - just a great kid. Played ruck and FF. Always makes a contest and he continually presents. We just gotta get him a yard more pace.

Punky Bruest - Normal game. Too good for VFL level, appeared to show some nervousness under the footy. He needs to sort that out.

Milne, Morto and Pedersen played the key defensive posts. Against garbage they did very well. I like Milne. I like it when he has the footy. Calm and clean. Really happy we do not have Jay Neagle on our list. Pedo will go close to getting picked up next draft.

Savage did well. When he backs himself this kid can play. Kicked a great running goal. At times he was on Houli and Reimers and more than held his own. On the up.

Stoker was tagging and being tagged. He is clean. Belted one of the bombers in the third Q. Nice.

Growler was captain today and did a great job at the coin toss. Was really focussed.

Mossy, Sucko, JKT, Williams – would like to see all doing more. Mossy needs to do a lot more.

Tucky – mainly played on the ball. Good hit out and he looked unencumbered by injury.

spudmaster
13 Jun 2010, 17:49
Thanks for the write up, FT. I came on to do a quick version before i head out but you've taken care of that well and truly.

Was a good effort by the boys today. Looked as though Bendigo were coming back a bit in the second but they did well and kept extending their lead. A great win and good to get back onto the winners list after a number of disappointing weeks.

Great weather, managed to spot John Kennedy and Mathew Knights. Willow was supposed to be playing apparently but didn't, not quite sure why.

As FT mentioned, would have liked to have seen a bit more output from some of the more senior blokes that have played at afl level before.

Sir Jeffrey
13 Jun 2010, 17:55
Was at the game today, no doubt Curnow and JKT the best for me, JKT was really good around the stoppages in the second half, Curvow just a hard nut that goes at it all day.

Back half were solid, not that Bendigo had much... Neagle is about 10kg overweight to be listed as an AFL player.

Just my comments on Dowler, followed his end all day. Didn't have the best game, but my observation on him always playing from behind as follows:

What happened to FF's starting out of the goal square and leading into space and to the ball and not having to continuously play from behind because they are instructed to start at CHF?? Gives the forwards no space, and only the hope of tracking back with the flight of the ball. Its the bloody same thing with Rough/Buddy, always 1 on 1 contests... Cannot for the life of me work that out.

Good performance by Box Hill today, BB never in the game. Should have been more than the 41 points it was.

halfback dasher
13 Jun 2010, 18:02
Saw a bit of the development team. Damn we are short. Grimley and Lowden played. Neither did a great deal but they were moving freely. Grimley is the better prospect but he is miles off it strength wise. Got a nice streak of SH!T in him. Johnston played off a wing. Not enough tricks for a short guy. Sirra goes well off a HBF. A nothing size but he controls the ball very well. Duryea probably cost us the game. Missed a shot he should have nailed, they score immediately, game over. Duryea was on ball and forward.

Ben Kennedy played FB. There is a bit there. Good kick, reads the play well and good hands. Lacks a yard but definitely one to watch. We were stiff to lose but it was a good game. Lack of size cost us.

In the ones we dominated. Not reflected on the score board but we had all the play.

Moose Lisle - just a great kid. Played ruck and FF. Always makes a contest and he continually presents. We just gotta get him a yard more pace.

Punky Bruest - Normal game. Too good for VFL level, appeared to show some nervousness under the footy. He needs to sort that out.

Milne, Morto and Pedersen played the key defensive posts. Against garbage they did very well. I like Milne. I like it when he has the footy. Calm and clean. Really happy we do not have Jay Neagle on our list. Pedo will go close to getting picked up next draft.

Savage did well. When he backs himself this kid can play. Kicked a great running goal. At times he was on Houli and Reimers and more than held his own. On the up.

Stoker was tagging and being tagged. He is clean. Belted one of the bombers in the third Q. Nice.

Growler was captain today and did a great job at the coin toss. Was really focussed.

Mossy, Sucko, JKT, Williams – would like to see all doing more. Mossy needs to do a lot more.

Tucky – mainly played on the ball. Good hit out and he looked unencumbered by injury.
Lol......;) got say i was destracted most of the day as i had my 3 and 5 yr olds playing there first game today (watching)......We are start'n to build depth......Boys now knocking on the door for mine.
Lisle , Bruest , Suckers and when fit Tuck , Milne , Lowden...a good mix too...

BlackByrd
13 Jun 2010, 18:17
Got to watch the development squad game. Here are my thoughts on the some of the listed players.

Duryea - Works hard and gets a lot of uncontested ball, Had a number of chances to score goals from the pocket but couldn't hit one right all game. Has a sweet left boot on him. Good prospect.

Grimley - Poor day, has such a fantastic leap only to get so easily outbodied by the bigger ruckmen. As soon as he puts on some weight he will be a much better prospect. He has got some great quick hands though, loves to dish off a handball, unfortunatly doesnt have a good kick.

Lowden - Poor day, started like a house on fire but burned out. Very good tap ruckmen prospect, lots of hitouts but needs to do more around the ground. As soon as he gets his fitness up he wont burn out so easily. Although in fairness it looked like he had his finger dislocated at the start of Q3 and got little gametime after that.

Sierakowski - Thought he played well. Knows how to control a game and his kicking effieciency was a real highlight. Has a good tank on him but occasionaly goes missing.

rdhopkins2
13 Jun 2010, 18:31
Great win by the Box Hill Hawks today in cold conditions out at Box Hill though thankfully the rain stayed away. A very even solid contribution by the team today with not too many players having a bad game. Good to see Tucky back on the field and making an impact straight away. Curnow, Peders, Lisle and Breust were up there in the best, Stokes did some good things (though needs to learn to not get sucked in) and Dowler needs to play in front more.

Any comments from those listening on 3WBC as to how they thought the commentary and votes were and the special comments from Stephen Gilham?

Fantastic crowd today- let's see even more at the next game!!

grizzlym
13 Jun 2010, 18:33
Duryea - Works hard and gets a lot of uncontested ball, Had a number of chances to score goals from the pocket but couldn't hit one right all game. Has a sweet left boot on him. Good prospect.

Many thanks, all.

How was Duryea's handling around his knees etc? Odd question, I know.

Hodgepodge
13 Jun 2010, 18:35
Glad to see Milne in the 2nds.

From the reserves, to the seconds, to the seniors. It's all falling into place.

BlackByrd
13 Jun 2010, 18:42
Many thanks, all.

How was Duryea's handling around his knees etc? Odd question, I know.

Haha it is indeed an odd question, nevertheless i'll still answer it. He looked okay when the ball was at his knees. I thought he went to ground a little too often but then again other times he had clean hands from the deck and was able to keep top pace whilst picking the ball up from the ground and go for goals (unfortunaltey he either missed or hit the post!)

HAWKS HEROES
13 Jun 2010, 19:07
Great that Dowler was Captain today too he was in the middle of the circle getting drenched so i asked Riley after the game why as i did not know . great win

Hodgepodge
13 Jun 2010, 19:15
Did Dowler play well at all?

go hawks!!!
13 Jun 2010, 19:19
Great win by the Box Hill Hawks today in cold conditions out at Box Hill though thankfully the rain stayed away. A very even solid contribution by the team today with not too many players having a bad game. Good to see Tucky back on the field and making an impact straight away. Curnow, Peders, Lisle and Breust were up there in the best, Stokes did some good things (though needs to learn to not get sucked in) and Dowler needs to play in front more.

Any comments from those listening on 3WBC as to how they thought the commentary and votes were and the special comments from Stephen Gilham?

Fantastic crowd today- let's see even more at the next game!!

Great report thanks RR, FT and others.

I won't do a detailed recap.

Someone said dowler did a great job at the coin toss, i agree. Well growler was captain today, is this a message? for me, either peddo or kernot are the leaders and better suited.

I agree with RR write up.

So: 3 things I learned from today (or 4 or 5)

1. Kernot and Peddo are AFL prospects, GC and GWS both watching them today. I was critical of Ed last year but he has taken the next step. Peddo was BOG today by a mile.

2. Tuck will keep his spot on our list. Wore two numbers today, 75 and 85, great at stoppages, and getting better every week, will be a great depth player just in case Sewell gets injured, great signs

3. If I was GC I would target Moose Lisle. He will never get the opportunity at HFC as a FF. He is a 2008 no.50 draft pick who can run hard, mark well, and kick goals. Has been playing forward and ruck all year. Gaining in confidence and will be our 3rd forward next year (unless he leaves)

4. Box hill need kenna back as well as ablett. I saw ablett on crutches today after a foot injury 6 weeks back, not a good sign. No indication of a kenna return.

5. Stokes should be playing in the 11am game period

6. Neagle is a absolute hack.

Good signs with Savage. Played well, gained some confidence.

Morton played back still not good enough.

Some comments re dowler. He played forward all game and as abpove was captain. He had 4 free kicks paid against him due to him playing from behind. Yes a fwd playing from behind. This is unacceptable that he has not rectified this after we all see this as a weakness last year, who the hell is working with him to rectify this?

He kicked 2 goals, one snap and another set shot. Played mostly on jason cloke who is a big body.

Mark Williams did not play, a bit puzzling given they played last night.

timhawx
13 Jun 2010, 19:44
Did Dowler play well at all?

Dowler = Passenger

rdhopkins2
13 Jun 2010, 19:47
Think Mark Williams may line up against us on Friday night.

I believe whilst Kenna is out that Box Hill are rotating the captaincy to give the boys more leadership exposure.

Centre square was muddy (cricket pitches during summer) but the rest of the ground was pretty good (if a little slippy). It was certainly cold and those present were thankful for no rain or wind.

HAWKS HEROES
13 Jun 2010, 19:53
Think Mark Williams may line up against us on Friday night.

I believe whilst Kenna is out that Box Hill are rotating the captaincy to give the boys more leadership exposure.

Centre square was muddy (cricket pitches during summer) but the rest of the ground was pretty good (if a little slippy). It was certainly cold and those present were thankful for no rain or wind.
this is what Riley told me that they are rotating the captaincy

go hawks!!!
13 Jun 2010, 19:58
this is what Riley told me that they are rotating the captaincy

Did you see growler say a word at the 1st qtr and 3rd qtr huddles? A captain should.

I disagree with this policy of rotation. We need leaders who are the Bello, Peddo and Kernot types.

HAWKS HEROES
13 Jun 2010, 20:08
Did you see growler say a word at the 1st qtr and 3rd qtr huddles? A captain should.

I disagree with this policy of rotation. We need leaders who are the Bello, Peddo and Kernot types.
they are only doing it while Kenna is out i did not go down to the huddles i spoke to Riley only cause Dowler had left after the game in the social club room after the game i don't mind it probably cause i think i can see why they are doing it

FriarTuck
13 Jun 2010, 20:15
.........Some comments re dowler. He played forward all game and as abpove was captain. He had 4 free kicks paid against him due to him playing from behind. Yes a fwd playing from behind. This is unacceptable that he has not rectified this after we all see this as a weakness last year, who the hell is working with him to rectify this?

He kicked 2 goals, one snap and another set shot....

His one snap was pure class. This is what frustrates the crap out of me. Growler can do it all.

Growler being chosen as captain was an interesting choice. Worth a try.

Time Machine
13 Jun 2010, 21:26
there were plenty of positives out of todays game but for me of the Hawks listed players:
Savage played his best game for the season
Lisle must be very close to getting a game in the seniors as he has suddenly realised he has versatility
Milne is coming along just nicely given he has missed a fare amount of footy this season
Bruest he is a very interesting prospect, reads the play well, uses the ball well, players taller than he is, very good kick....gee he seems the type of player that if he gets a chance at senior level he would adapt to the pace quickly and be a very good player...looking forward to the day he gets that chance.

HAWKS HEROES
13 Jun 2010, 21:40
i know in after match ben kennedy got i think it was best player i think they called it and another guy did too

hawksome
13 Jun 2010, 22:02
[quote=FriarTuck;18069164]Saw a bit of the development team. Damn we are short. Grimley and Lowden played. Neither did a great deal but they were moving freely. Grimley is the better prospect but he is miles off it strength wise. Got a nice streak of SH!T in him. Johnston played off a wing. Not enough tricks for a short guy. Sirra goes well off a HBF. A nothing size but he controls the ball very well. Duryea probably cost us the game. Missed a shot he should have nailed, they score immediately, game over. Duryea was on ball and forward.

Ben Kennedy played FB. There is a bit there. Good kick, reads the play well and good hands. Lacks a yard but definitely one to watch. We were stiff to lose but it was a good game. Lack of size cost us.[Quote]

Very harsh call that one. Everyone who kicked a behind is just as culpable as Duryea. I've got to agree with the coaches that none of the listed players deserved to be named in the 6 "best on". The Coburg team looked a lot more mature in body and were stronger in the contests. Plapps mature body up forward would have helped but that's not what it's all about. He was in the box getting a different perspective which will include getting a look at opposition set ups etc, and for finals also.

I did notice Sirra had a big knock to his eyebrow area and had a nasty gash which probably would need stitches. Young Lowden also had a near concussive bump when his melon made contact with the ground when his legs were taken from under him and missed a fair bit of game time and wasn't the same after that. From memory both those incidents were in the first quarter. Ben Kennedy was great down back and it wasn't his fault the team went down today

Collins-Langford-Ayres
13 Jun 2010, 22:06
Poor Dowler seems to be getting worse.

Not great reads lately about him.

Baz_hawk
13 Jun 2010, 23:44
Looking forward to when Milne gets himself 100% with a full preseason. Could easily slot into our defense with Stratton, Gibbo, Birch Gilham and Goo

SS JP
14 Jun 2010, 08:51
Looks like Willo was injured - man in the know and perennial defender Chris2269 reckons he's got a foot injury at the moment - sounds like he's unlikely to play seniors against us this Friday night.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=18055576&postcount=585

Pessimistic
14 Jun 2010, 11:25
What have we learned ?

Always trade away pick 6. Its cursed.

Lord_Espos
14 Jun 2010, 13:44
To all the doom and gloomers I would like to paint an entirely different picture of Beau Dowler.

Saw my first Box Hill Hawks game yesterday and loved it. Real community feal about it.

Got to listen to the quarter time speaches. And I loved it.

Beau got quite a few compliments from the coaching staff for his efforts.

Yes he did give away quite a few free kicks but he was in there. Laying tackles and getting involved.

Things to remember about Beau is he has a good tank (always does consistently well in the time trials) and has a beautiful kick.

The coaching staff (some of the assistants or supporters) were encouraging him to lead at the right time. When he did he marked and goaled. That is really his key weakness, reading the play and leading.

No way the Hawks will delist him given the work they are putting into him. His game against Essendon last year showed his true potential.

He seemed committed and focused.

Remember he is only 22.

Go Beau!

grizzlym
14 Jun 2010, 15:28
To all the doom and gloomers I would like to paint an entirely different picture of Beau Dowler.

Saw my first Box Hill Hawks game yesterday and loved it. Real community feal about it.

Yes he did give away quite a few free kicks but he was in there. Laying tackles and getting involved.

Things to remember about Beau is he has a good tank (always does consistently well in the time trials) and has a beautiful kick.

The coaching staff (some of the assistants or supporters) were encouraging him to lead at the right time. When he did he marked and goaled. That is really his key weakness, reading the play and leading.

No way the Hawks will delist him given the work they are putting into him. His game against Essendon last year showed his true potential.

Remember he is only 22.

Go Beau!

Good to hear an alternate view on Beau. I believe that the coaching staff are doing a lot of work with him at the moment.

Roger Rogerson
14 Jun 2010, 16:00

Remember he is only 22.

Go Beau!

Will be interested in your view if you roll down there in a month or two and see the same thing from Beau.

The greatest frustration for Beau is that he does not appear to be given the same opportunities to play seniors that a number of other players get. Yet arguably he has done ok when given the chance in some peoples eyes. This suggests that he does not have the support of the coaching staff. It speaks volumes that he hasn't been given the call up when one of Buddy or Rough has been missing.

As a supporter, it would be great to see Beau play 10 games in a row as a leading forward in the seniors to see if he can cut it. It must be tough for him to see a 2nd year player in Schoey be ahead of him and I think Milne is only a few games from being ahead of Beau in the selection stakes once his fitness is at a better level. Skipper's form and versatility also pushes Beau down the pecking order. It will be a bitter pill if he is traded or delisted without given any meaningful opportunity but looks very likely.

HAWKS HEROES
14 Jun 2010, 16:12

Remember he is only 22.

Go Beau!
thank you for your well written post wish i had gone and listened to the speeches too now :thumbsu:

Lord_Espos
14 Jun 2010, 18:28
Will be interested in your view if you roll down there in a month or two and see the same thing from Beau.

The greatest frustration for Beau is that he does not appear to be given the same opportunities to play seniors that a number of other players get. Yet arguably he has done ok when given the chance in some peoples eyes. This suggests that he does not have the support of the coaching staff. It speaks volumes that he hasn't been given the call up when one of Buddy or Rough has been missing.

As a supporter, it would be great to see Beau play 10 games in a row as a leading forward in the seniors to see if he can cut it. It must be tough for him to see a 2nd year player in Schoey be ahead of him and I think Milne is only a few games from being ahead of Beau in the selection stakes once his fitness is at a better level. Skipper's form and versatility also pushes Beau down the pecking order. It will be a bitter pill if he is traded or delisted without given any meaningful opportunity but looks very likely.

Roger agree completely in relation to not getting the opportunities.

I guess what frustrates me is the number of Hawks supporters who want to trade Beau if he's not performing immediately.

I'd much rather see Beau playing at Box Hill for a season or two while he learns his trade than playing for another Melbourne team or the Gold Coast.

From watching the game on Sunday I'd much rather Beau than someone like Neagle. Neagle was in the huddle abusing one of his own players. His team mate had to tell him to let it go.

Maybe giving Beau the captancy is about giving him the confidence to lead and realise the coaches have faith in him.

Roger I agree with you that it would be sad for Beau to be traded to another team without giving him a shot in the seniors. But at the same time he has to earn his place in the team.

If he can focus more on leading (a la Mark Williams game) rather than trying to do bodywork then he should be more successful.

After having watched the game I'm certainly keen to go down and watch Box Hill some more and give Beau my support! :thumbsu::D

go hawks!!!
14 Jun 2010, 20:40
After having watched the game I'm certainly keen to go down and watch Box Hill some more and give Beau my support! :thumbsu::D

Like that!

scout
14 Jun 2010, 22:19
It's a shame Mark Williams didn't play, bad luck about with his ankle.

Satisfying win by BH and good to see the Hawthorn players contributing.

Savage - his running goal was a beauty. Had an opponent chasing him, but Savage switched up a gear and burned him off, then slotted a long bomb. Good to see him back himself, and showed excellent pace.

Morton - did well in defense. Good move to play him there, can drift out of a game when played up forward.

Nice to see the players push Dowler to the front when they were walking off the ground, got him to lead them off the field.

Roddy27
15 Jun 2010, 16:45
Great to see Savage and Lisle named in the best... Particularly interested in Lisles return of 22 touches and 17 hit outs... development is always incremental, and i always have to remind myself that theres a reason this kid was named all australian centre half back in the u18 team in 08.

Really looking forward to seeing both these guys at points in the seniors... I think savage could be a pacey gem...

Thanks for the reports everyone!

p.s oh, breust kicks a lazy 3... would love to see him get a game also...