View Full Version : Performance of our supporters
table tennis
8 Jun 2010, 09:57
There was a caller on SEN last night about 6.30 ring up and slam Prismall, which i got frustrated with, but about 15 mins later, another caller got on, an Essendon Member who got on and slammed the Bombers Faithful about eating thier own. Had a dig at Patrick Smith for leading the negative army and brought up about Prismall being traded for a high pick, and coming off a knee reco, so for some bomber fans to give him the time to develop after such surgery and inexperience in terms of games played.
I was knocked down by a feather listening to it, it was pretty much everything that I said on here yesterday.
What I hate, is sitting in the essendon memebers, and hearing the negative comments, even before a ball is bounced.
"are you going to get a kick tonight Prismall you hack", "how do you get a game Slattery", etc.
I have been going to the footy since 1992. In between that time and now, we have had much more happy times than bad. As a supporter base, we are easily one of the most fickle fan bases.
Of course this can sometimes be a minority group, of the section your in, however frustrating all the same, however, like a cancer, it spreads.
I was at the Bulldogs game two weeks ago. the amount of shit hurled at our players was a digrace. However these same supporters where hurling praise at Gumby after laying the boots into him minutes before. I took my Best mate who is a dogs supporter. He turned to me at the 3qtr time and said "jeez your supporters don't ask for much do they"?
We are forever demanding that Stanton become the next Hird overnight, Monfries to become the next Mark Mercuri, Prismall to be the next Caracella, Gumbleton to be the next Lucas, all overnight. These are unrealistic equations.
We have been blessed with some freakish players over the journey, probably where the harsh critism comes from, but I believe that we have improved immensly this season.
There is not enough positivity amongst the supporters to reflect the leaps and bounds our side, and our coach have brought on this season.
I Implore all of you, when next attending an Essendon game, to sit back, not hurl abuse at our much loved players of our beloved club, but instead, watch them continously grow into a damn good football side that they are on the verge of becoming.
Its easy to put things into perspective when your Fiance is a Richmond Supporter, Best mate a Bulldog supporter and family friends are Saints supporters. But c'mon Bombers fans, we are better than the fickle performance that we have put in, lets get right behind the dons and see us continue to fly up......
Original post: Roast: Prismall (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=18018967&postcount=92)
Slattery_20
8 Jun 2010, 10:03
I have been going to the footy since 1992. In between that time and now, we have had much more happy times than bad. As a supporter base, we are easily one of the most fickle fan bases.
Yep.
Eeeeasssily.
Far, far too many bandwagon jumpers.
Slattery_20
8 Jun 2010, 11:10
ah damn, was going to edit that with some smart-arse baiting trap.
Our supporters assuring everyone on the main board that we lost because of the umpires and only because of them is much worse tbh. Questioning their decisions is one thing, saying we lost because of them is another.
But hey I realised a long time ago that our fans are immature beings who believe we have a god given right to win everything and that any player who has a bad game is immediately a front-runner dud and that we should have picked player X with pick Z instead of him.
Didn't you post such a thread in the umpires board?
I questioned decisions - or the lack of. I didn't make any 'serious' posts hours after the game in which I declared that the Swans didn't deserve to win and only did because of the umpires. That's a mile worse than saying Primsall is a dud.
zacka123
8 Jun 2010, 11:31
I must admit i hate seating in the Essendon members. The number of bias comments and attack on our and opposition players is disgrace. I remember in 2004 some ****wit essendon supporter yelled out to voss," you only got a brownlow medal because of AFL assistance."
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Jun 2010, 11:33
I've never understood the point of abusing our players at games. More often than not they can't hear what you're saying and you just look like an idiot, or when they do hear those comments it isn't going to do their confidence a world of good.
I take most peoples opinions on footy with a grain of salt, unless I have heard or read enough of their comments to respect their thoughts.
SEN is home of the bandwagoners and they're not doing anyone any favours by calling up and abusing Knights, Stanton or whoever you deemed to not do their role well. They just make us all look like whinging idiots.
This is why I don't often stray outside of the Essendon board because most posters who do so I just cannot respect anything they say.
I questioned decisions - or the lack of. I didn't make any 'serious' posts hours after the game in which I declared that the Swans didn't deserve to win and only did because of the umpires. That's a mile worse than saying Primsall is a dud.:( Oh.
I'm still filthy on the umpires.
It's immature, but I'd rather that than constantly crucify our players. I don't owe the umpires anything, whereas every person associated with the Essendon Football Club should have my full support, or at the very least, silent content.
I've constantly defended players such as Watson, Stanton, Slattery, even Myers and Neagle in recent times; Prismall is the only player I've really spoken out against, but I don't have a vendetta against him.
When at the ground, I might comment to my brother "geez I'm sick of Prismall pulling out of contests like that", but I'd never yell any sort of abuse to our players.
In fact it's probably what I hate most about going to the footy; even more so than every single supporter screaming "baaallll!" once a hand's laid on a player.
I've never understood the point of abusing our players at games. More often than not they can't hear what you're saying and you just look like an idiot, or when they do hear those comments it isn't going to do their confidence a world of good.
I take most peoples opinions on footy with a grain of salt, unless I have heard or read enough of their comments to respect their thoughts.
SEN is home of the bandwagoners and they're not doing anyone any favours by calling up and abusing Knights, Stanton or whoever you deemed to not do their role well. They just make us all look like whinging idiots.
This is why I don't often stray outside of the Essendon board because most posters who do so I just cannot respect anything they say.Well said.
A person constantly criticising his own player and refusing to see any good in him just makes him an idiot. Blaming the umps for a loss makes that person a bad-sport. I'd rather our fans be seen as idiots than bad-sports tbh. Y'know?
Fair enough.
I wouldn't. Not in context, at least.
Many of us had only known the good times with a couple of down seasons in between (83 - 2004ish were good times to be Dons supporters) so we didn't know how to handle losing, let alone be patient with a developing a side.
I reckon many Dons supporters still expect it is our right to win and can't handle the process in place to get us back to the top. They want it to happen now, but players take time. Geelong took about 5 years of playing together as a team before their success came so we need to put our current position into perspective.
Very good post. I cannot stand "supporters" that go to the game and get stuck in to our players, often many of them. It is always these same supporters that never have anything positive to say about the rest of the players either... What the hell is the point of going to games if you're just going to abuse our players? I don't see how it is providing any support to our club, and as supporters, I don't see anything else we should be doing.
If you hate someone, keep it to yourself on gameday. I hated Ben Doolan, I think he's the only Essendon player to ever get me that riled up, but I never hurled abuse from the stands, and nor should anyone.
That said though, I don't see anything wrong with coming on a site such as this and discussing a players strengths and weaknesses. So long as it doesn't degrade simply to abusive comments without adding constructively to a discussion (which I'm sure there are many on here guilty of).
Bloody well said table tennis :thumbsu:
The one thing i cant stand is people calling for free kicks when there is nothing there, then flipping out because it is not called.
Also im not a fan of everyone expecting every player to be perfect. Its a bloody hard game to play, and if any of them had ever played it themselves, they would understand a mistake is not that hard to make from time to time. They are human, not robots!
Son of Whispy
8 Jun 2010, 14:56
I'm a member with a premium reserve seat at both the MCG and Etihad. The group of Essendon supporters that sit around us at Etihad are an absolute disgrace.
They have absolutely no idea what the game plan that Knights is trying to implement. They all think that footy is played the same way as it was back in the 80's, when you kick long to contests, where the game plan is far from it. Of course that is Knights's fault and he should be sacked.
I have been a critic of Knights in the past, but the game plan isn't the problem imo, it's been the execution of it.
On top of that, comments that i've heard from these so called supporters of ours are something like "Stanton your a spud, your a poor mans Hird". "Stanton, your a disgrace to the number 5 jumper". That's just from 1 bloke.
Another from a 60 year old woman is Bring back Lloyd, your an effen idiot Knights, bring back Sheedy, as well as abusing anyone else around her who doesn't agree with her. I've lost times how many times she's told me or my friends to eff off in the past.
There's been a couple of times this year that we've been relocated at half time because we have just gotten sick of it. We have also written a complaint to the footy club, but that's fallen on deaf ears.
I'm not one to bag players unless they deserve it. Imo Stanton doesn't deserve it. I'm a fan of Stants. He has got one of the biggest motors in the comp, and that is to his downfall at times.
If your going to barrack for your team and just abuse them constantly, go home and watch them on tv, because us Essendon supporters have a bad name for abusing our own.
I'm a member with a premium reserve seat at both the MCG and Etihad. The group of Essendon supporters that sit around us at Etihad are an absolute disgrace.
They have absolutely no idea what the game plan that Knights is trying to implement. They all think that footy is played the same way as it was back in the 80's, when you kick long to contests, where the game plan is far from it. Of course that is Knights's fault and he should be sacked.
I have been a critic of Knights in the past, but the game plan isn't the problem imo, it's been the execution of it.
On top of that, comments that i've heard from these so called supporters of ours are something like "Stanton your a spud, your a poor mans Hird". "Stanton, your a disgrace to the number 5 jumper". That's just from 1 bloke.
Another from a 60 year old woman is Bring back Lloyd, your an effen idiot Knights, bring back Sheedy, as well as abusing anyone else around her who doesn't agree with her. I've lost times how many times she's told me or my friends to eff off in the past.
There's been a couple of times this year that we've been relocated at half time because we have just gotten sick of it. We have also written a complaint to the footy club, but that's fallen on deaf ears.
I'm not one to bag players unless they deserve it. Imo Stanton doesn't deserve it. I'm a fan of Stants. He has got one of the biggest motors in the comp, and that is to his downfall at times.
If your going to barrack for your team and just abuse them constantly, go home and watch them on tv, because us Essendon supporters have a bad name for abusing our own.
I think the point the OP is trying to make is not to only bag our players if they deserve it. It is to not bag our players at all, regardless of what you think of them.
Personally when I am at the game I have two simple rules that make the footy much more enjoyable
1) Do not say anything about umpires or their decisions
2) Do not say anything bad about your own team
I have to admit sometimes these rules are hard to keep but for the most when I do it allows me to give a better opinion of how the team is going and I don't leave games filthy.
Also I have nothing against people saying bad things about their own players as long as they have some valid reasons behind it.
table tennis
9 Jun 2010, 13:21
I love the Essendon Football Club, just like all of you do.
I also love my fiance.
As much as both can frustrate you at times, I wouldn't say to either of them the things that some supporters say to the players.
Thats the way my mind works, Thats how i see it, I am passionate, and I dont like people slagging the things or people that I love, to me that is my human nature.
That is the short of the initial post, When i started writing it, it was only going to be a few words, but i couldnt stop typing. I wasn't going to start a thread about it, however, Im glad Whomb put it out there.
table tennis
9 Jun 2010, 13:24
I think the point the OP is trying to make is not to only bag our players if they deserve it. It is to not bag our players at all, regardless of what you think of them.
Mistakes are made by all people in all walks of life.
I can't see how someone who devotes thier lives to be the best they can be for the Essendon FC deserves to be bagged.
Just like if i make a mistake at work, my boss can discipline me, but i shouldn't be bagged by everyone walking past in the street.
I know they get paid well, etc. But that doesn't make them scapegoats.
Maybe Media Icons, but not scapegaots.
Essendon supporters: sinking to the level of Collingwood supporters in terms of annoyance factor?
Colin D'Cops
9 Jun 2010, 19:08
Was at the game on the weekend and the umpiring was consistantly bad. I felt it hurt us more not protecting the ball player because our mindset was primarily on getting the football, but it was below average both ways so we cannot use that as an excuse. Prismall was a cone out there on the weekend, provided little and turned a fair few over. I don't like bagging our players, but he has provided little now for a few weeks and should be given some time at Bendigo. Jetta played well, as did Hocking & McVeigh I thought. Unlucky not to take home the 4pts; you win some, you lose some.
Been going on for way too long.
I remember the absolute shit-canning Kevin Walsh got in the early '80s when I started going. Guess what - humble pie everywhere by the end of '84.
Then the hordes got stuck into Salmon, which in part, saw him wanting to leave and then leaving.
I've heard Scott Cummings say the same things about his time at the club. Hence he doesn't like the place at all now.
Then it was messrs Bolton, Henneman and McAllister. I've spoken to the former about the abuse he got and it hardened him up to stick it uop the muppets from the other side of the fence even more.,
So what people are talking about now has been there for 30 years now and it's really pathetic.
table tennis
10 Jun 2010, 16:21
Been going on for way too long.
I remember the absolute shit-canning Kevin Walsh got in the early '80s when I started going. Guess what - humble pie everywhere by the end of '84.
Then the hordes got stuck into Salmon, which in part, saw him wanting to leave and then leaving.
I've heard Scott Cummings say the same things about his time at the club. Hence he doesn't like the place at all now.
Then it was messrs Bolton, Henneman and McAllister. I've spoken to the former about the abuse he got and it hardened him up to stick it uop the muppets from the other side of the fence even more.,
So what people are talking about now has been there for 30 years now and it's really pathetic.
Maybe as a collective effort by Essendon posters on here, and maybe an effort from BB we can maybe start a revolution of peaceful yet passionate Bomber fan base. Hopefully it can spread just as easy as the negative stuff has.
However I know I am being very optimistic.....
Should be given a spot over Hackinson.Even this is the kind of thing that annoys me.
Now I know nearly all of bpb's posts are tongue-in-cheek, and a fair few of them I find amusing, but this kind of crap shouldn't be going on.
Most who've read my post-match posts would know that I don't rate Brent Prismall. I've called him soft, because it's a relevant trait that I feel is justified, but it should be left there.
Name-calling should be leave for opposition players; my personal favourite is "o'fAilpin".
Just my two cents.
You can guarantee that if a player had the opportunity to walk up to one of these "supporters" and ask them to repeat what they said, the "supporter" would probably go bright red, start fidgetting, look at the ground and say "nothing, I didn't say anything", that is if they didn't run in the opposite direction in the first place.
These "supporters" are gutless wankers IMO. If you support a side, bloody support it.
davey429
10 Jun 2010, 17:13
I hate bandwagon supporters. Believe me, Essendon supporters are lucky, if you've ever been to skilled stadium when Geelong loose you would know what I'm talking about. It's bandwagon central around there.
Towno78
10 Jun 2010, 17:51
Even this is the kind of thing that annoys me.
Now I know nearly all of bpb's posts are tongue-in-cheek, and a fair few of them I find amusing, but this kind of crap shouldn't be going on.
Most who've read my post-match posts would know that I don't rate Brent Prismall. I've called him soft, because it's a relevant trait that I feel is justified, but it should be left there.
Name-calling should be leave for opposition players; my personal favourite is "o'fAilpin".
Just my two cents.
Nice. Bryce Squibbs is mine
davey429
10 Jun 2010, 19:47
And I will tell you what is worse than bagging our players.... Bagging our coach.
I think it is because we expect success and when we haven't had any for awhile we start to get restless. I'd rather have fans who care too much about the club than fans like North Melbourne who really don't give a rats and don't even go to the games.
Slattery_20
11 Jun 2010, 10:44
You can guarantee that if a player had the opportunity to walk up to one of these "supporters" and ask them to repeat what they said, the "supporter" would probably go bright red, start fidgetting, look at the ground and say "nothing, I didn't say anything", that is if they didn't run in the opposite direction in the first place.
These "supporters" are gutless wankers IMO. If you support a side, bloody support it.
Good rule of thumb - if you wouldn't say it to their face, don't say it at all.
And I will tell you what is worse than bagging our players.... Bagging our coach.
I wouldn't say it's worse, but it's just as bad. It really shits me up the wall that there are people who still go on about sacking Knights, and the only justification they can muster is that they're "sick of the handballing thing".
George Washington
12 Jun 2010, 23:28
3 minutes into q1.. "Stanton you are useless! Had more turnovers in the last two weeks then Hird had in his entire career!"
hugorune
13 Jun 2010, 09:18
A lot of time criticism is over the top, but we're also passionate and sometimes I have to exclain aloud 'What are you doing?' when one of our guys turns the ball over with a clanger disposal, or spills an easy mark, to clear my own frustration more than anything else.
Bomberman86
13 Jun 2010, 13:14
What I hate, is sitting in the essendon memebers, and hearing the negative comments, even before a ball is bounced.
"are you going to get a kick tonight Prismall you hack", "how do you get a game Slattery", etc.Its a fair question..
While I disagree, I understand people view players and the game differently.
However why would you yell that out to one of your own players?
Piss weak.
hugorune
13 Jun 2010, 14:26
While I disagree, I understand people view players and the game differently.
However why would you yell that out to one of your own players?
Piss weak.
I think its okay - indeed, necessary for my sanity - to sometimes voice displeasure at something a player does, or doesn't, do on the field - but I draw the line at personal abuse.
Wahooti Fandango
13 Jun 2010, 14:40
I questioned decisions - or the lack of. I didn't make any 'serious' posts hours after the game in which I declared that the Swans didn't deserve to win and only did because of the umpires. That's a mile worse than saying Primsall is a dud.
I have never seen you post a 'serious' post. :p
I think its okay - indeed, necessary for my sanity - to sometimes voice displeasure at something a player does, or doesn't, do on the field - but I draw the line at personal abuse.Agree completely.
I go to a game with the intention of not really doing anything more than yelling out support, but I often find myself saying "oh **** off!" when a rubbish decision is paid, or "bloody hell" when somebody does something terrible.
I've also developed a bit of a habit of saying something to the person in front of/behind me, both times against Geelong. Don't generally like confrontation, but the blood level rises somewhat.
But I never yell out personal abuse. I saw Dempsey perform countless pathetic acts last night, and never did anything more than curse to myself or my brother, or put my head in my hands.
Personal abuse towards our own players is off limits for me.
table tennis
13 Jun 2010, 15:07
I'm with ya whomb
Had two Geelong teenagers behind me in the members area last night on L1, calling our player a sucker when he was injured, laughing like school girls when we hit the post, calling players duds and saying Fletcher is only good for punching the ball over the boundary, amongst other things.
Told him to shut the **** up when Pods had his mark overturned, pointing out the Myers decision on the wing.
Old Bomber fan in front of me goes on and on about the umpires, all night every night, annoys the shit out of me.
windyhill
14 Jun 2010, 09:49
Does anyone remember the shit canning Scotty Lucas got a few years ago ? It was most evident at Dome games when we were the home team. He copped some terrible abuse. I had a whole row in front of me who just turned it into a sport and of course I couldn`t shut up about it so every time he stuffed up, in their eyes, half of them would turn around to me and start giving it to me.
Then he won a best and fairest.