View Full Version : Which of our players would fit into Geelong's best 22?

EVERLAST
13 Jun 2010, 00:54
Something to ponder after witnessing the best team in the last 10 years.

I reckon our ruck division would replace theirs immediately, Ryder and Hille especially.

Noddy Holder
13 Jun 2010, 00:58
Fletcher, Ryder, Hille, Watson, Hurley, Gumbleton and Monfries.

lemon chicken
13 Jun 2010, 01:04
Ryder and Hurley.

EVERLAST
13 Jun 2010, 01:09

Not sure I agree with your last 2 and as much as I hate to say it but who could be dropped to make way for Jobe?

Ablett, Ling, Selwood, Bartel, Chapman, Varcoe?

Noddy Holder
13 Jun 2010, 01:11
Not sure I agree with your last 2 and as much as I hate to say it but who could be dropped to make way for Jobe?

Ablett, Ling, Selwood, Bartel, Chapman, Varcoe?

Watson is heaps better than Varcoe. Monfries would replace Byrnes and I would take Gumbleton over Hawkins anyday.

Brasil2007
13 Jun 2010, 01:14
Something to ponder after witnessing the best team in the last 10 years.

I reckon our ruck division would replace theirs immediately, Ryder and Hille especially.

Depends what you're talking about - best 22 at full fitness or team that played tonight?

Blake would be ahead of Ryder at stoppages and Ottens (when fit) is a star. Blake would be behind Hille (but having said that I don't think the gap is as big as might be suggested - for instance I recall Blake giving Hille a bath in 2008). I don't think it's as cut and dried as you might suggest.

Herne Hill Hammer
13 Jun 2010, 01:47

If both teams were at full fitness I'd take Hurley and maybe Ryder and Watson out of that lot. Hille and Ottens are similar and I'd take Ottens. Hurley as a tall defender. Nothing wrong with Geelong's tall forwards, jPod is getting plenty and kicking plenty, Mooney is very good, but much maligned by other club's supporters who should take the time to watch what he actually does. Hawkins since playing as a second ruckman has been doing well and kicking quite a few goals himself. Perhaps Ryder to replace him.

Watson on the bench rotating off and on with Selwood.

I wouldn't take Fletcher now, I'd take the youth and versatility of Hurley. (I've seen many great fullbacks since the early/mid 70s and Fletcher and Scarlett are the two best that I've seen)

Turbocat
13 Jun 2010, 09:37
Ryder and Hurley are the obvious ones but its not as clear cut as that. Most player look better in a better side.Fletcher is a champion of the game and had he always been a Geelong player he would be in our side. Stanton would play in our side , probably fit like a glove. Take Hawkins out put Gumbie in in.

Cat Attack08
13 Jun 2010, 10:24
Only two really spring to mind those being Hurley and Monfries.
Hurley for his abilitiy to play at both ends of the ground if needed and Angus would be very dangerous in our forwardline were he would get the fifth or six best defender.
As to the players they would replace Hurley for Lonergan and Angus for Stokes tough call but think he would give a bit more than Stokes as he is a bit better overhead

The Sim Dog
13 Jun 2010, 13:22
I'd take Houli over Mackie. Too bad you lot won't even play Houli in your side. Gotta cut the crap and play him it is getting beyond the joke.

OzBomber
13 Jun 2010, 13:44
Hurley without a doubt then maybe Paddy.

theboxmike
13 Jun 2010, 14:04
Ryder and Hurley? Maybe Hille if Ottens doesn't come back???

About it really

Kong
13 Jun 2010, 14:46
Jetta/Davey to replace either of Byrnes or Stokes.

Hille/Ryder to replace Blake/2nd Ruck.

Watson to replace Kelly.

Hurley to replace Lonergan.

Stanton to replace I/C rotation (Gamble/Hunt/Woj/Hogan/Rooke).

Fletcher to replace Milburn.

Pears to replace Mackie.

Monfries to replace the other of Byrnes/Stokes.

adii_7
13 Jun 2010, 15:10
I'd take Houli over Mackie. Too bad you lot won't even play Houli in your side. Gotta cut the crap and play him it is getting beyond the joke.

atkinson or wojinski ? :)

but seriously, HOULI NEEDS A GAME

lamaros
13 Jun 2010, 16:34

Watson to replace Kelly.

Pears to replace Mackie.

Yep. And in two years time we'll have a few more on the list for sure.

winty
13 Jun 2010, 16:43

Watson to replace Kelly.

Pears to replace Mackie.

And when they come back, I'd replace Hille with Ottens, Fletcher with Scarlett and Watson with Corey, or did you forget about those three?

Kong
13 Jun 2010, 16:49
And when they come back, I'd replace Hille with Ottens, Fletcher with Scarlett and Watson with Corey, or did you forget about those three?Hille was replacing Blake or your second ruck, meaning he'd keep his spot once Ottens came back.

Fletcher would be replacing Milburn; Milburn is in your best 22 last time I checked.

Kelly's also in your best 22, meaning Corey wouldn't be pushing out Watson.

Cat Attack08
13 Jun 2010, 17:02
Hille was replacing Blake or your second ruck, meaning he'd keep his spot once Ottens came back.

Fletcher would be replacing Milburn; Milburn is in your best 22 last time I checked.

Kelly's also in your best 22, meaning Corey wouldn't be pushing out Watson.

Surely you jest sir.

Kelly a multi positional player with silky smooth skills and hard as Tasmanian teak pushed out by Watson a clearance speacilist (of which our best 22 has plenty of) that can't really deliver by foot all that well one of the most important skills for anyone in the cats best 22

Noddy Holder
13 Jun 2010, 17:16
Surely you jest sir.

Kelly a multi positional player with silky smooth skills and hard as Tasmanian teak pushed out by Watson a clearance speacilist (of which our best 22 has plenty of) that can't really deliver by foot all that well one of the most important skills for anyone in the cats best 22

Watson is much better than Kelly. Fringe players often look much better in a superior team. Look at Heffernan, Moorcroft, Blumfield and Caracella. Looked great when Essendon were at their best. Nowhere to be seen after that. Watson has been carrying the Essendon midfield for the last three years. Just because you are the best team in the comp doesn't mean every player in your side is automatically better than anyone in any other side.

Got to love the arrogance of Cats supporters.:rolleyes:

Cat Attack08
13 Jun 2010, 17:27
Watson is much better than Kelly. Fringe players often look much better in a superior team. Look at Heffernan, Moorcroft, Blumfield and Caracella. Looked great when Essendon were at their best. Nowhere to be seen after that. Watson has been carrying the Essendon midfield for the last three years. Just because you are the best team in the comp doesn't mean every player in your side is automatically better than anyone in any other side.

What I'm saying is in our best 22 Kelly offers more to our team than Watson could hope to.
Kelly can play back mid or forward whereas Watson is only able to play midfield.
So for our best 22 Kelly is a better fit than Watson not saying Jobe isn't a good player just saying on team balance Kelly offers more flexability

lamaros
13 Jun 2010, 17:52

Caracella was nowhere to be seen after he left Essendon? :rolleyes:

And I agree that Watson can't replace Kelly in his role, but he'd still get into the Geelong team. They'd just free up someone else who currently plays Watson's role to play Kelly's, and be a better side.

The Sim Dog
13 Jun 2010, 20:09

Got to love the ignorance of yourself too labelling Kelly as a 'fringe' player. Garbage. That said I personally might take Watson in our 'best' side over Corey who whilst still pretty good might be past his best.

Darealrath
13 Jun 2010, 22:25
As much as I hate to admit I think the cats fans are right re Watson, he's a bit surplus to what they need. FFS Bartel hardly gets a chance on the ball these days and Jobe aint as versatile or good as him.

I reckon Bomber would take Ryder as 2nd ruck/forward, Hurley ahead of Lonergan, his old mate Fletch ahead of Milburn, while Monfries, Jetta and Davey would be 50/50 to replace Stokes, Varcoe and Byrnes.

Stanton ahead of the other Bomber too. He'd look a million $ at Geelong.

To put it in perspective though, Prismall had just about cemented a spot in Geelong's 22 before he did his knee and now he can't even get a game for us, so there could be room for a few more.

Kong
14 Jun 2010, 00:44
I heard one or two people yelling out the name "Bomber" last night; who is this?

I was looking around for Thompson, but it was clearly directed towards a player, and it wasn't one of our players.

LifeSpan-Void
14 Jun 2010, 01:51
I heard one or two people yelling out the name "Bomber" last night; who is this?

I was looking around for Thompson, but it was clearly directed towards a player, and it wasn't one of our players.

Bomber Wojcinski

HyperAgressiveDonk
14 Jun 2010, 11:39
I personally think Ryder and Hurley would be walk up starts. I think young blokes like Hooker and Pears would get a game in a year or two

The Big JPOD
14 Jun 2010, 12:44
Watson is heaps better than Varcoe. Monfries would replace Byrnes and I would take Gumbleton over Hawkins anyday.

Gumbleton over hawkins....... dont know who u are trying to kid....

DeanoT
14 Jun 2010, 16:47
Gumbleton over hawkins....... dont know who u are trying to kid....

Hawkins may have improved lately, but Gumbleton is well ahead at the same stage of experience.

Out of Sat nights' squad, I'd happily have Hurley, Fletcher, Gumbleton and Ryder (on his good days), but not all could fit in given they are all talls. Pass on Monfries and Watson.

FRITS
20 Jun 2010, 15:37
heathy hocking

SouthSwans
20 Jun 2010, 15:46
Fletcher, Ryder, Hille.