View Full Version : Hawthorn v Fremantle

Kenny_01
15 Jun 2003, 18:30
This is a huge game for us after the bye.

I am pretty confident about winning but the Hawks are in top form. Must have gained a lot of confidence from the Collingwood game.

For us, Headland, Hayden, Parker and Farmer should return.... while McPharlin will be out and Carr might have a week on the sidelines as well depending on how he goes at the tribunal.

For the Hawks, Hodge will probably return and I think Everitt did his hamstring today so would be in doubt for the game. I don't know how serious it is but I think Schwab said he is a good chance to play against us.

I can't see who would come out of the side though except McPharlin and Cunningham. Thornton was good and so was Siegert. There will be a couple of unlucky fellas I think.

Anyway, should be a top contest.

Ripper
15 Jun 2003, 18:39
Looking forward to it. Does anyone know how did Parker go on the weekend?

Shortmuir is in good form and might get a run but I think we will be OK.

|D_J^B_J|
15 Jun 2003, 18:43
McPharlin and Cunningham will definately be left out I'd think.

T Lo looks to have missed his opportunity with Headland coming back as well.

With Parker and Hayden coming back into the side, I think Thornton may also be a little unlucky.

I can't seem to find anyone to replace Farmer with. Siegert would have the right to be disappointed if he was left out.

Parker is playing in the WAFL next week but what about Hayden, Headland and Farmer? Will they be coming into the side without any match fitness? Farmer would be the biggest worry of these three as he has already missed four games.

ozzult
15 Jun 2003, 21:29
Posting under the guise of Freo_Hitman.

"I really hope that Hawthorn can win this game so that the Eagles can get a bigger gap between them and the Dockers."

That is all.

sabre_ac
15 Jun 2003, 21:41
**** must u push it everytime ozzult
Stay on topic

FreoGirl
15 Jun 2003, 22:25
must get pretty boring over at the WCE Board? ;)

I am glad we have the bye this week so that we can have a rest, re-group etc

What are we supposed to do while we are waiting???? :)

Ripper
15 Jun 2003, 22:27
Originally posted by ozzult

"I really hope that Hawthorn can win this game so that the Eagles can get a bigger gap between them and the Dockers."

That is all.

Must have had a big scare Ozzult, :) It didn't happen this week but it will happen. :)

FreoGirl
15 Jun 2003, 22:30
I'm still laughing at ozzult's belief that the rumor about McCartney retiring was bs :rolleyes: you got that wrong, so I hope that's an indicator for the rest of the season :D

Scal
16 Jun 2003, 00:22
Ozzult can post whatever he wants as long as he keeps that avatar :)

The break has come at a good time for us. Our last 4 games have been only OK at best. We beat Melbourne, but I don't think we were that great on that day. the game against Carlton was so-so, we got shown up by Port, and Geelong took us to the limit.

The biggest positive to come out of the wins was that when the other teams came at us, we always seemed to be able to answer.

We need to beat Hawthorn. They are playing pretty well at the moment, and the travel to Tassie won't be good for us. The guys we have coming back in will certainly help, but I for one am worried.

If we don't beat Hawthorn it could be a bad month or so...

ozzult
16 Jun 2003, 00:29
Originally posted by FreoGirl
I'm still laughing at ozzult's belief that the rumor about McCartney retiring was bs :rolleyes: you got that wrong, so I hope that's an indicator for the rest of the season :D

I must have been the only one.

ozzult
16 Jun 2003, 00:30
Originally posted by sabre_ac
**** must u push it everytime ozzult
Stay on topic

I am just reacting to Freo Hitmans unbelievable thread which was about Sundays excellent game between two powerhouses of WCE and Brisbane Lions.

Kenny_01
16 Jun 2003, 00:30
I'm confident of beating Hawthorn, especially if Everitt doesn't play and Mitchell gets called up and suspended. That would certainly even things up around stoppages.

Mr Q
16 Jun 2003, 02:50
A couple of weeks ago I would have confidently tipped you guys in this one, but the Hawks have shown a fair bit of improvement over the last couple of weeks.

I'd still put my money on the Dockers, but I think it will be a closer thing than before. Depends I suppose on how you go with getting players back.

Ripper
16 Jun 2003, 11:55
Originally posted by Scal

The break has come at a good time for us. Our last 4 games have been only OK at best.

I wouldn't worry, I would bet my left nut that the training has been heavy for the last few weeks before the break to prepare for the next 5 or 6 games which will be harder than the last 5 or 6 (Port excepted).

They will fresher after the break and will have a red hot go at the next few.

goaldrush
16 Jun 2003, 13:28
Hawthorn should win it and it will be a close game.

I remember last time we played at York Park the hawks won by 10 points.

KiNgCliVe26
16 Jun 2003, 16:15
With Headland, Farmer and Parker coming back into the side and the possiblility of CLIVE freo should anihalate the whoreks from whorethorn.

noodle
16 Jun 2003, 17:21
freo will kill the hawks. they're as soft as.

Freo Hitman
16 Jun 2003, 22:50
Originally posted by ozzult

That is all.

Your a real comic:rolleyes:

Freo Hitman
16 Jun 2003, 22:52
Listening to CC on PR tonite , Connolly said McPharlin is an outside chance to play V Hawthorn . All he got in his hammy was a spasm and there was no tear or strain .

Ripper
16 Jun 2003, 23:36
Originally posted by Freo Hitman
Listening to CC on PR tonite , Connolly said McPharlin is an outside chance to play V Hawthorn . All he got in his hammy was a spasm and there was no tear or strain .

I heard that too FH. with all their outs (if picone & Mitchell go) it will make it a bit easier for us. :)

Freo Hitman
16 Jun 2003, 23:37
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I heard that too FH. with all their outs (if picone & Mitchell go) it will make it a bit easier for us. :)

No such thing as an easy game Ripper !!! Freo will be up for this one but !!

Kenny_01
17 Jun 2003, 00:14
Yeah, heard McPharlin might play as well. At the very latest, he should be back by the Collingwood game.

masai
17 Jun 2003, 10:53
I was told by a mate that on CH 10 news they reckoned that Luke wasn't injured with a hammy, but didn't elaborate. Maybe he just suffered from the cold (his muscles went on strike).

Hopefully all is well with his body and maybe he will not miss a game, because he was just starting to get in the groove of it when his body went on strike.

If Carr goes, please CC look at TLo before Ritchie.

Freo Hitman
18 Jun 2003, 00:29
Originally posted by masai
I was told by a mate that on CH 10 news they reckoned that Luke wasn't injured with a hammy, but didn't elaborate. Maybe he just suffered from the cold (his muscles went on strike).

Hopefully all is well with his body and maybe he will not miss a game, because he was just starting to get in the groove of it when his body went on strike.

If Carr goes, please CC look at TLo before Ritchie.

T lo's big chance !!

DJ Headland should be back.