View Full Version : AFQL: So just how good are Morningside FC and AFLQ?
Lionel Lyon
16 Jun 2003, 04:54
They absolutely murdered the Lions Reserves last Sat., 20.12 (132) to 3.8 (26). With the Lions Reserves sitting only in 4th spot, (http://qfl.aflq.com.au/Default.asp?pg=ladder) would it be a stretch to suggest that QLD footy is of a comparable standard to the other, more established regional leagues?
Navy Master
16 Jun 2003, 13:39
After 9 games with a % of 242 and not losing a game, seem head and shoulder above the rest on the surface
Lionel Lyon
16 Jun 2003, 14:14
So how well do you think they'd do against a Werribee, or a Sturt, or a Claremont? I mean, they just caned an AFL reserves team...
timelord
16 Jun 2003, 20:48
AFLQ isn't at the same level as the VFL, SANFL or WAFL. I think you'll find that the injury count at Brisbane has gone up to a level that made that result on the weekend possible. If the Lions had a full list to pick from I think you'll find Morningside would have lost - in my opinion.
mud n blood
16 Jun 2003, 23:01
I can tell you for a fact that the AFLQ is not up to the standard of VFL, SANFL or WAFL. We will also find out on Saturday if it is up to ACTAFL standard as well - I will be there for that one, as you mob will be at the South v West game. (I suppose you lot didn't even know Qld v ACT was on :( )
However, in saying this, the current Morningside team is running teams off their feet. They are nowhere near as big all over the park as they were in their flag years of the early 90's, but are much much faster. I would rate this side perhaps a little better than those others overall.
Now ....
As for beating the Lion Cubs, the Lions side was less than a half strength side. At full strength, they would match the Panthers, but not necessarily beat them. The flag will be fought out between Morningside, Lions and Southport - FOR SURE !!!
My tip ... Southport to roll Morningside in the final (choke!), with the Lions missing out because they don't get the same team on the park each week.
IMHO ......... :)
Lionel Lyon
17 Jun 2003, 13:39
Thank you for that, fellows. Very informative (esp. M&B's report). I am assuming that the Lions are about the same standard as, say, a VFL club, and so will assume that Morningside would probably lose, but at least be competitive, against a run of the mill VFL club.
From what I saw of the QAFL in the state game last year in WA, they were a reasonably competitive unit (without being at the same standard as the WAFL) up until 3/4 time when WA piled on something like 11 goals to 0 and blew the margin out past 100 points. The travel wouldn't have helped, I wouldn't have thought too many Qld boys had experience playing in another state.
Keep in mind also that I wouldn't have thought the Lions reserves had too many Lions players actually playing for them - take out the 22 that played seniors and the 15 or so on the injury list, you're left with a couple of seniors and the rookies, maybe 1/3rd of the side. Where do the remaining players come from? Wouldn't surprise me if they were topped up by the state under 18's or something like that.
Originally posted by Lionel Lyon
Thank you for that, fellows. Very informative (esp. M&B's report). I am assuming that the Lions are about the same standard as, say, a VFL club, and so will assume that Morningside would probably lose, but at least be competitive, against a run of the mill VFL club.
Comparing a QAFL side and VFL side is laughable, i have a mate up there playing for oh i forgot the team some of you QAFL followers might know his name is Jeff Heath his a ruckman and there woul dbe no way known he could get a game in the seniors at any VFL side, ive been told that the descent sides up there are at the Level of the best 2s sides in the VFL.I dont think tha would be to far of the mark considering blokes like Andrew Merrington was playing Northern Bullants 2s and Matther collins former Mlebourne player was also playing 2s at the same club.
cheers
keatings_gal
18 Jun 2003, 21:53
Morningside are a damn good team this year with some great players... they would have to be the strongest team in the AFLQ this season & i dont just mean on the scoreboard.. they have a great bunch of players who vary in AFL experience from 1st timers in the state league or have just come from the U18s like Hayden Wilson & Matty Pardew who both played for the U18 QLD scorpions team last year in the national championships & have adjusted to senior footy well, especially Matty who has been a starter in the best 18 everyweek so far this season. To the likes of Tommy Tarrant & Sean Mugavain (browny's cousin) who have both played in Victoria..... AFLQ is different but Tommy was from the siders originally & then went to the lions reserves & then moved to box hill but he is back where he belongs....
Mapo is another one who was on the lions rookie list who is now back @ the siders....& who is carving them up...
Their ruckman Sterling Collier also trained with the lions during the preseason....
justin wilson(hayden, mentioned aboves brother) is another great player who is really firing down there, especially in the Redlands game, he gets beat around the lil fella but just keep on going... like lukey power... but hes even shorter.. LOL...
i reakcon that they can beat southport in the finals but at this stage i rekon that it woould have to be eagles V siders GF
southport are a lil down on their usual i reckon.. but they are always very pumped when it gets to the finals..
& i do hate the eagles but that will just make it so much better when the siders flog them............
(the siders are my local team!!!!!!)
im a very big lions ressies fan but we dont have too much of a chance because:
**we have so many injuries in both the seniors & reserves so we have hardly any players
** we have so many fill in players, they do a great job for us but its hard coz most of them only play 18s football & U18 is alot different from state league no matter where you are.... & we just grab players from whereever we can
& as was mentioned before
** our players never get to play together more than a week in a row coz of the number of different players from different clubs each week stops us from having any team stability at all... we get the odd player for a couple of weeks in a row, but not enough of them play a handful of games for us....
Here is a breakdown of some of the siders experience
Dave Lillico- three years of senior footy with central districts in the sanfl All Australian under 18s
Kristian Pearson- two years in and out of the VFL seniors All Australian under 18s
David Maplestone- Lions Rookie listed player for two years
Tom Tarrant- Lions Rookie listed player one year, Box Hill seniors player last year
Matt Pardew- State 18s
Hayden Wilson- State 18s vice captain
Ash Rodrigues- Runner up East perth reserves Best and Fairest 2001 (east perth have won the last four years of premierships, he would of played A grade at any other WAFL CLUB)
Sean Mugavin- Hampden League representative and lions summer trialist
Robert Green - Qld player last year
Jacob Gough -State under 18s player 1998
Sterling Collier - Summer trialist Lions
Dean Edwards- Premiership player, state player, grogan medalist
Plus there are many more state reps
and ex under 18 qld players
this is an excellent team with much experience at higher levels of footy.