View Full Version : Hawthorn, easiest match up for us
jade_00
15 Jun 2010, 11:27
Ok everyone, just take a chillax and have a look at our upcoming opponents.
Don't get sucked into Hawthorn's form line, they've had possibly the easiest draw of any club over the last five or six weeks and haven't looked particularly good.
They are continually hassled out of possession, and we are the number one tackling side in the league.
We should win this, and win it easy. Hawthorn are no good and just aren't up to it. Possibly the easiest match up we could have asked for this week.
I'd rather Richmond, but Hawthorn wouldn't be far off.
I'm expecting a win this week, for sure.
lamaros
15 Jun 2010, 11:39
And here I thought you were going to say player wise...
With Hooker back we do have the matchups in that regard, though.
Will be a better quality match than last time we played them, but I don't think we're as odd on to win. Will depend on the changes to the side. Knights and the selection committee seem to have odd ideas about what our best team is when they have a fuller selection of players to choose from.
bacon buster
15 Jun 2010, 11:41
bad thread.
bad thread.These things never end well, do they. :p
jade_00
15 Jun 2010, 11:55
bad thread.
Well if you wanted me to sing the Hawks praises, point out where they have strength and what we should do forget it.
Their top three or four players are very good, but the level of talent drops away considerably after that.
I don't rate Hawthorn, they aren't very good and thats exactly what i've said. This should be a walk over.
Oh Tayteridge
15 Jun 2010, 12:41
Jinx. Mother****ing jinx.
If we lose this I'm blaming it on you, jade.
jade_00
15 Jun 2010, 15:15
And if we win will you be thanking me for it?
jonesy86
15 Jun 2010, 15:32
should be a cracking game... this is one of those real 8 point games
win and you are equal with the hawks in 8th... lose and you're 2 games and percentage out and basically season over
hugorune
15 Jun 2010, 15:41
Actually, we need everything to go right for us, or we're going to get thumped. Some of our key experienced players have been woefully inconsistent this year, and we can't afford to have any passengers this weekend. Hawthorn are playing well, and they are going to be really fired-up.
centurion
15 Jun 2010, 15:51
I'd rather Richmond, but Hawthorn wouldn't be far off.
I'm expecting a win this week, for sure.
Love your confidence Whomb.
I don't know what to expect. We should come out fired up though hopefully.
I'm also the guy who tipped us to beat Geelong :o
rhysman
15 Jun 2010, 16:50
We smashed them last time with tackling and non stop pressure. It was our highest tackling game. They have improved and have Hodge and Rioli are in top form. Having said that, our forwards could blow them away and I have a feeling Hurls is ready for something massive. You could see the signs against Geelong. If we pressure and tackle like we did last time we will win.
DogMclaren
15 Jun 2010, 16:54
Yeh na, im pretty confident in thinking that the result of fridays game will have little to do with this thread :p
Vtorians
15 Jun 2010, 17:22
They will shit their pants just like last time :DThe one positive out of the geelong game, is we will be fired up for these maggots :mad:
Dons by 3 goals.
centurion
15 Jun 2010, 17:25
I'm also the guy who tipped us to beat Geelong :o
Hahaha, you can't win every week mate.;)
U Got Reimered
15 Jun 2010, 17:30
Haha I did think this thread was going to talk about the match-ups for the game..
On that note.. If Hurley plays in the forward line (which he should) and draws Gilham.. Prepared for Jack Riewoldt's effort against the Eagles to look like an effort from Ty Zantuck!!!
Jonesy1987
15 Jun 2010, 18:21
Monfries out hurts, he loves playing the Hawks, would be particularly handy against an inform Hodge.
Our key indicator to our form since round 5 has been tackling and pressure. I know we won the tackle count on Saturday night but the intensity towards it just wasn't the same. This all leads to more run and carry and space going forward.
Hawthorn have really struggled with contested footy this year and we need to smash them in this area.
If we tackle agressively and apply non-stop pressure, and win the contested footy we should win.
BudddddyLove
15 Jun 2010, 23:55
Burgoyne, Mitchell, Skipper into the side this time round. 3 handy ins.
We won't be smashed in the clearances this time round.
19 clearances in a game is simply horrible :o.
For this reason the game will be a lot tighter and the ball supply to our forward line will be a lot better allowing us to kick more than 9 for the game.
That was our worst game for the year last time, no doubt. Only 1 hawthorn player had over 20 touches - clinton young lol
The game is likely to be tight, but if our midfield gets some sort of run on I can see this being a massacre - 70+. Cannot see how you would stop a rampant midfield of Hodge, Rioli, Burgoyne, Sewell, Mitchell, Lewis, Bateman.
The pressure is also more on essendon this time as they are 1 game behind and basically season over if you lose.
jade_00
16 Jun 2010, 09:38
The game is likely to be tight, but if our midfield gets some sort of run on I can see this being a massacre - 70+. Cannot see how you would stop a rampant midfield of Hodge, Rioli, Burgoyne, Sewell, Mitchell, Lewis, Bateman.
Have you smashed any teams by 70pts lately? Let alone a side that clearly has the wood on you?
Rampant midfield..... please. You've struggled to beat some of the worst sides in the competition whilst we stopped two genuine top four midfields in the Dogs and Saints. Yours won't be much of a problem..... :rolleyes:
Slattery_20
16 Jun 2010, 10:01
I was really confident last time around, not so this time. We really got some good free run out of our backline because we were able to crash their mids out of the contest.
Neither side has a working forward- or back-line. IMHO will come down to whether they can hold Watson. If he gets his usual share of hard footy, and if our fringe dudes keep up the hard contests and tackling pressure, we win.
Burgoyne's a good player and will be able to find some good touches regardless, Mitchell will get his tough inside possessions, but if Skipper's a "handy" inclusion then Tom Bellchambers is a game-breaker for us. Brown out may leave the door open for a smaller forward or utility to have a bit more freedom.
I was really confident last time around, not so this time. We really got some good free run out of our backline because we were able to crash their mids out of the contest.
Neither side has a working forward- or back-line. IMHO will come down to whether they can hold Watson. If he gets his usual share of hard footy, and if our fringe dudes keep up the hard contests and tackling pressure, we win.
Burgoyne's a good player and will be able to find some good touches regardless, Mitchell will get his tough inside possessions, but if Skipper's a "handy" inclusion then Tom Bellchambers is a game-breaker for us. Brown out may leave the door open for a smaller forward or utility to have a bit more freedom.
I think you'll find most Hawks supporters united in the referral of Skipper as "a handy inclusion" is moreso a comment about the tactic of teams no longer being able to tag team Renouf, as they did in the first 6 or so weeks.
It was literally a battle of attrition, with Renouf tiring massively in the last quarter, week in and week out. For example, Renouf was beating Hudson and Minson in round three...something none of us expected...then trailed off due to exhaustion, and we were run over.
I for one, would be shocked if we lost to the Roos (for example) if we had at least ONE ruckman in that match. But obviously that's hindsight.
So with that in mind...Renouf and Skipper can swap the ruck duties, neither being particularly dominant, and most Hawks supportes are fine with that. Our ground level mids need to do the work, and we've definately got the cattle, but they need to be more consistent. Hints against Geelong, Bulldogs and Adelaide, and then dominant displays against Adelaide, Carlton and Melbourne have left us wanting more, but we've had some shockers in there (like against Richmond). So even with 5 in the bag, we don't know what to expect!!
Slattery_20
16 Jun 2010, 12:09
Hard to draw a formline on either team.
Tight win against Port and smashing Adelaide compared to a tight loss against Sydney and a smashing from Geelong.
I don't think you lot played any better for your win v Port than we did for a loss a fortnight before that.
Ellis08
16 Jun 2010, 12:15
You do not have the wood on us. I would not class 3 wins in a row as having the wood on someone.
The round 22 class last year was a good game... we were down 2 players for half the much and were missing half the team. Dowler was our Full Forward.
This year we probably played our worse game of the season (that and the Collingwood game) and it was still tight for 3 quarters.
We are finally getting our team back on the park and slowly finding some form. Hawthorn should win by about 5-6 goals. However Essendon have a lot riding on this game and I expect them to come out firing. So I will tip Hawthorn by 2 goals.
Slattery_20
16 Jun 2010, 12:23
This year we probably played our worse game of the season (that and the Collingwood game) and it was still tight for 3 quarters.
I must have watched a different game. Won in a canter.
If you want to spout, there are places for that, it's not here.
Still gutted by our effort last week - yes it was against the Cats but to many passengers. We MUST minimise the impact of Hodge, Rioli, Franklin to have any chance here. Yes we beat them last time but its a different and more confident hawthorn now. If those guys get their hands on it enough we are in trouble.
Wish Hille was in - he really did well against the Hawks last time. Hopefully T.Bell can step up.
Watson, Stanton need to get busy, Hurley needs to kick 4 + and Davey & Jetta 4 between them and we can get up.
Dons by 2 points
Buddy and the Hawk
16 Jun 2010, 17:32
The key is pace. Essendon can be quite a quick team with quick ball movement going forward. Hawthorn are a slower moving team who try and hit up targets with precision (something we've been lacking for a few years now, thus the slip in form). As much as Jobe is a key for you, if Burgs gets 25 touches we'll be well on our way (still can't believe the way this guys moves). Also, as far as the dig at Wayde, his skills for a big man (well a little-bigman) are actually pretty good, and we're a better team with him than Twister by himself.
The other issue for us is Hurley. Is is of a size and type that we don't seem to be able to deal with, but hopefully the world's newest superhero Stratton can do a better job that who ever has played on him the last few times.
Murphy has been good for the last couple of weeks, but is a player who just doesn't seem to have a match up against Essendon, and given how he played last time, I wouldn't be against him missing.
So in summary, for Hawthorn to win - Burgs to get the ball, Rougie to be better than last time (couldn't be worse), Buddy to run, lots, Hodge to do what he does, preferably not in the backline too much, Sewell/Mitchell to get us a few clearances, Strats to hold together the backline.
X factor - Cyril, plays like last week, we'll probably win.
Essendon to win - feed to runners, tackling pressure, give no space to the hawks. Jobe to dominate the middle, Hurley run rampant, Fletcher to pants Roughie again.
X factor - Gumby, we just don't have a real match up against a 197cm forward, used Hodge last time, can't do that again.
Not exactly shattered that Hille isn't playing, he was getting into some bloody good form, Renouf/Skipper partnership may struggle if Patty gets going, but will dominate Bellchambers moving around the ground.
I reckon our forwardline will be interesting. As you mention, Gumby and Hurley will be difficult for you guys to line up on- but if you guys drop Shoey, I don't know who you're going to put on the resting-forward Ryder when Belly goes into the ruck.
Buddy and the Hawk
16 Jun 2010, 19:34
I reckon our forwardline will be interesting. As you mention, Gumby and Hurley will be difficult for you guys to line up on- but if you guys drop Shoey, I don't know who you're going to put on the resting-forward Ryder when Belly goes into the ruck.
Well the backline consists of Strats (189cms), Murph (189), Gilham (192), Shoey (193) (assuming they all play, which they probably will). Up against Gumby (197), Hurley (193) and Ryder (197) if he heads down there to rest.
Strats to Hurley is probably the easy one to pick. Gilham can struggle against bigger opponents, but will probably goto Gumby. That leaves Shoey to Ryder or the other option is Skipper(194) follows him down. Skip has suprised me with his mobility and attack on the ball. It will definately be interesting, and the key will be limiting the supply.
Shoey to the resting ruck is what I would have thought- I've just read a lot of calls for shoey -> out, in the changes thread over on the hawks board.
It'll be interesting to see how our defence lines up, one match-up i'm really pumped to watch is Hurley on Stratts, Hurley a standout against geelong and stratts continuing his form since beating goodes.
Someone mentioned the tackling pressure from last game, and it's actually been that way the last 3 times we've played and you've spanked us as a result. Although we haven't claimed a big scalp in our last 5 games hawks supporters are optimistic due to the increased tackling and pressure around the ground, which has seen us beat 3 of our bogey teams.
The midfield is going to be great to watch with stanton and watson recently dominating us, but now with hodge burgoyne and rioli running into form it's going to make for a great battle
HyperAgressiveDonk
16 Jun 2010, 22:29
It'll be interesting to see how our defence lines up, one match-up i'm really pumped to watch is Hurley on Stratts, Hurley a standout against geelong and stratts continuing his form since beating goodes.
Someone mentioned the tackling pressure from last game, and it's actually been that way the last 3 times we've played and you've spanked us as a result. Although we haven't claimed a big scalp in our last 5 games hawks supporters are optimistic due to the increased tackling and pressure around the ground, which has seen us beat 3 of our bogey teams.
The midfield is going to be great to watch with stanton and watson recently dominating us, but now with hodge burgoyne and rioli running into form it's going to make for a great battle
Will be a very good match up. Stratton and Hurley are both guns in the making
Slattery_20
17 Jun 2010, 07:56
Essendon to win - feed to runners, tackling pressure, give no space to the hawks. Jobe to dominate the middle, Hurley run rampant, Fletcher to pants Roughie again.
I thought Pears took Roughie last time. Either way, he's never really got going against us.
Buddy and the Hawk
17 Jun 2010, 08:24
I thought Pears took Roughie last time. Either way, he's never really got going against us.
Roughie didn't get out of a jog last time, and it was definately the lanky one who stood closest to him for most of the night. Last time had its reasons and hopefully he can offer a bit more. Pears has to goto Franko, as Fletcher will be eaten alive if he attempts it.
Slattery_20
17 Jun 2010, 08:29
Hooker took him last few times. He'd pretty much manage to kick 4 with a leg sawn off anyway.
Coaches really want Fletcher 3rd up & as an insurance option if someone really gets out of control.
Ben the Gooner
17 Jun 2010, 09:00
Pears missed a few weeks after ANZAC Day.
Fletch took Roughead and Hooker Franklin.
The House
17 Jun 2010, 15:02
I love how short term the afl world's opinions are....
....teams gain positive and negative reputations with a lot more attention given to short term results than the actual substance of the play, and then like sheep the majority just run with it.
Essendon have played significantly better footy than Hawthorn over the past 5 weeks. Hawthorn's supposed announcement of "we're back" has seen them play some very ordinary football against some very ordinary sides.
We are in serious need of a win, and i'm pretty happy we're playing Hawthorn...even with our most important player Hille being out, Essendon by 8 goals.
jade_00
17 Jun 2010, 15:21
....teams gain positive and negative reputations with a lot more attention given to short term results than the actual substance of the play, and then like sheep the majority just run with it.
Essendon have played significantly better footy than Hawthorn over the past 5 weeks. Hawthorn's supposed announcement of "we're back" has seen them play some very ordinary football against some very ordinary sides.
We are in serious need of a win, and i'm pretty happy we're playing Hawthorn...even with our most important player Hille being out, Essendon by 8 goals.
This is absolutely spot on and exactly what I've been getting at.
Essendon have been and are FAR superior to anything the Hawks have offered, and then add to that the fact that structurally we match up on them about as well as any side in the league.
They do not cope with pressure. We are the number one tackling side in the league.
They attempt to hold possession and spot up tall targets in the forward 50. We have a PROVEN method of preventing that in Hooker, Pears and Fletcher.
They don't cope with rebound pace very well. When it works, we do it better then anyone except the Cats.
This should be a wide margin victory, and I will be taking advantage of the naivety of most and taking the $2.50 odds.
The House
17 Jun 2010, 15:57
Essendon have been and are FAR superior to anything the Hawks have offered, and then add to that the fact that structurally we match up on them about as well as any side in the league.
They do not cope with pressure. We are the number one tackling side in the league.
They attempt to hold possession and spot up tall targets in the forward 50. We have a PROVEN method of preventing that in Hooker, Pears and Fletcher.
They don't cope with rebound pace very well. When it works, we do it better then anyone except the Cats.
This should be a wide margin victory, and I will be taking advantage of the naivety of most and taking the $2.50 odds.
So will i.
Have been offered evens by a couple of Hawks fans this week but said no dice....will go with the $2.50 thanks!!!
Already have 3 bets of $50 with Hawthorn mates that Ess will finish higher, 1 bet of $100 that Hawthorn won't make the 4, and another of $50 that Essendon will finish 10th or higher...all from Hawthorn supporters and made before round one....they're too easy!:D
Ben the Gooner
17 Jun 2010, 16:04
It's because people don't watch every game closely, but still get paid 6 figures to spout their shite about them.:rolleyes:
We're 2.55 on Sportingbet. PM me for a referral if you're keen.;)
Big Kris
17 Jun 2010, 16:13
Agree with the pace issue;
however its going to be wet; if the game slows down its our easily.
The Donners
17 Jun 2010, 16:15
So will i.
Have been offered evens by a couple of Hawks fans this week but said no dice....will go with the $2.50 thanks!!!
Already have 3 bets of $50 with Hawthorn mates that Ess will finish higher, 1 bet of $100 that Hawthorn won't make the 4, and another of $50 that Essendon will finish 10th or higher...all from Hawthorn supporters and made before round one....they're too easy!:D
I've got $50 x 2 that the Dons will make the 8 and the Hawks won't. They have a very tough ride home and they have yet to be a high quality opponent.
Ben the Gooner
17 Jun 2010, 16:17
Because a slow game doesn't suit the best tackling team in the comp one bit.
jade_00
17 Jun 2010, 16:23
You would think if its wet it'll favour the top tackling side. Thats us.
Also maintaining possession (your general game plan) in a wet game is harder.
As I said in the OP, easiest match up for us - I don't see a way for Hawthorn to win this game.
Eleven 38
17 Jun 2010, 16:34
Because a slow game doesn't suit the best tackling team in the comp one bit.
wet does suit best tackling team in the comp, however we would want to improve on how we went in the ruck against the swans! hawks may have worse rucks but have a better midfield waiting for belly and ryder to hit it to them...
i dont think it will change the game!
jade_00
17 Jun 2010, 16:40
wet does suit best tackling team in the comp, however we would want to improve on how we went in the ruck against the swans! hawks may have worse rucks but have a better midfield waiting for belly and ryder to hit it to them...
i dont think it will change the game!
Also consider that against the Swans we lost Hille and Monfries in the game.
easy win already pencilled it in
rickydysonforbl
17 Jun 2010, 17:37
it's all you delusional people that are driving up the odds on hawthorn. thank you very much, will be eating up the $1.55 as well as the $2.75 for hawks wire to wire.
HyperAgressiveDonk
17 Jun 2010, 20:37
Goldfishes
jade_00
17 Jun 2010, 20:46
Goldfishes
Hawks fans? Yeah I know, they seem to have forgotten how easily we've kicked your asses. :p
The House
18 Jun 2010, 10:41
Goldfishes
You haven't troubled us for over 2 years now, and you think that will change because you've scraped home against richmond and a couple of interstate sides playing poorly in melbourne?
Not even your coach has been blind enough to suggest you're playing anything other than scratchy footy.
Go back to the heard with the rest of your mates.....;)
Ben the Gooner
18 Jun 2010, 10:52
I'm going to have a nibble at the $10 for over 39.5 :)
HyperAgressiveDonk
18 Jun 2010, 13:44
I'm going to have a nibble at the $10 for over 39.5 :)
Yeah mate, go down the TAB and put everything you own it :thumbsu:
The Donners
18 Jun 2010, 13:48
Yeah mate, go down the TAB and put everything you own it :thumbsu:
He'd be a millionaire if he'd done that the last 3 times! :thumbsu:
Buddy and the Hawk
18 Jun 2010, 13:55
He'd be a millionaire if he'd done that the last 3 times! :thumbsu:
Well, round 22 2009 would have sent him broke (going on over 39.5)
The Donners
18 Jun 2010, 14:10
Well, round 22 2009 would have sent him broke (going on over 39.5)
Haha touche!
I thought I was on the Essendon board.
Leather Poisoning
18 Jun 2010, 22:48
Dear Essendon, commiserations for tonight. Was a thoroughly entertaining game and unfortunately for you guys you didn't get the chocolates. Great stuff to come back from a slow start.
Dear fellow hawks: if you want to trash talk and sling mud at Essendon fans, do so on Bay 13. If you want to celebrate with hawk folk come back to our board. Let's give these guys the space we'd want if we lost the match.
Ben the Gooner
18 Jun 2010, 22:51
I thought I was on the Essendon board.
You are, and some people would be well served to remember that.
Well, when Essendon fans stay off the Hawthorn board after a win, you might see more of the same around here.
What ever is good for the goose is good for the gander :)
No.
I don't give a flying **** what happens on your board - that's for your mods to decide. Trolling is against the rules here, and the more people come on to troll, the grumpier we get and the longer your ban is.
Listen to LP.
grizzlym
18 Jun 2010, 22:53
I echo LP's thoughts.
Great game, guys. You always push us and I respect the history and competitiveness our clubs have.
If you're a Hawker, leave these guys alone and come back to your own board for drinks and nibbles.
Ben and Whomb, thanks for the hospitality this week.
wolvesjr34
18 Jun 2010, 22:57
Apologies, I didn't consider my efforts trolling... I don't actually troll... I was just quoting a few posts to point out that it's always up in the air when our two teams meet, some times a team gets thumped and some times its close, but you can never really call it.
And to point out that we can play contested footy too, so I am sorry if that offended. I'd expect the same thing if the result had been reversed.
Hedgehodgy
18 Jun 2010, 23:50
Wow great game, you guys should be pretty proud about how your team was able to fight back and even hit the front. It would of really made a difference if you had Hille and Dempsey in. They add a lot to your structure.
I guess a few people on here might try to forget what they wrote on this thread. Although some comments were on the money, such as we have won six in a row but you rightly pointed out that we havent beaten any quality opposition, hopefully we can start beating quality opposition soon.
Good luck for the rest of the year, im pretty sure you can mathematically make the 8, just need to string a few wins together.
Good game by both teams. You guys are going somewhere. And thats why I dont like playing you. Till the next time we play. Good Luck :thumbsu:
I echo LP's thoughts.
Great game, guys. You always push us and I respect the history and competitiveness our clubs have.
If you're a Hawker, leave these guys alone and come back to your own board for drinks and nibbles.
Ben and Whomb, thanks for the hospitality this week.
Agreed. Bloody fantastic game, and the build up was fun too.
And if it's any consolation, I missed the first quarter looking for a park and so spent the majority of the game not having a good time.:thumbsu:
I echo LP's thoughts.
Ben and Whomb, thanks for the hospitality this week.Cheers, mate. To both you and LP.
Hopefully next time we can get a thread on both boards. :thumbsu:
boozeDragon
19 Jun 2010, 03:44
Great call :thumbsu:
How was Hurley tonight ey? What a spectacular performance
You sure are the team we wish we were. Good times being 5 and 8, oh wait.....:D
^^
Tossbag, please diregard.
Good game, lots of young talen, wish u luck for rest of 2010. :thumbsu:
macdaddio
19 Jun 2010, 11:22
Great game guys, i always knew you were never going to lay down but glad we finaly got 1 back, and thanks again to the Mods for letting me back on your Boards...:thumbsu:
Zahasouvlakis
19 Jun 2010, 13:53
I'm the tossbag ey?
Did you even bother to read the thread title or are you illiterate.
Oh that's right you probably can't spell or read judging by what you just wrote.
The guy made a stupid prediction and I let him know about it.
Oh and apparently we're Hurley's bitch. :confused:
Are you even a hawthorn supporter? Shame on you :thumbsd::thumbsd:
Yep, I think he's just one of the good ones, unlike yourself.
rickydysonforbl
19 Jun 2010, 13:57
it's all you delusional people that are driving up the odds on hawthorn. thank you very much, will be eating up the $1.55 as well as the $2.75 for hawks wire to wire.
Thanks bombers for inflating these odds for me with your unfounded optimism. Makes for a great weekend.
I'm the tossbag ey?
Did you even bother to read the thread title or are you illiterate.
Oh that's right you probably can't spell or read judging by what you just wrote.
The guy made a stupid prediction and I let him know about it.
Oh and apparently we're Hurley's bitch. :confused:
Are you even a hawthorn supporter? Shame on you :thumbsd::thumbsd:I think I speak for every other Essendon supporter here in saying I couldn't care less for your argument with another Hawthorn supporter.
Take it up with him by PM, or on your board.
You've already been given a yellow card; take it and leave this board.
Hawkamania!
19 Jun 2010, 14:21
Great game. Essendon pushed us hard and could have won.
I've always said Froggy was great for you guys and he is getting better by the season. Watson will be a good leader for you guys for the next few years which will help your player development.
I can't wait for the next match between our sides. :thumbsu:
evers0r
19 Jun 2010, 14:34
Awesome and exciting game to watch guys,
Ryder is fast becoming the best ruckman in the league IMO.
His tap and clearance work when the game is in the balance is outstanding. I think you guys just need one more good kick in your midfield, Melksham could very well become that man.
Good luck till we meet next time
jade_00
21 Jun 2010, 13:10
Obviously the mods pounced on a goose or two before I had a chance to read the comments after the weekend. Even if we had won don't think I'd be stupid enough to try that on the Hawks board - always one or two that'll try it though....
Nice to see Hawks that have a bit of humility here though.
The banter leading up to the game was good, had a bit of spice.
We lost. Was a good game but we lost. Meh, I'll live.
Sucks that Pears injured himself though, looks like we'll be without him for the remainder of the year.
Hopefully we can snag five or six wins to see out the year, though I think finals would be gone.