View Full Version : Hawthorn: pissant minnows
Ben the Gooner
15 Jun 2010, 13:04
You know it's true. Last week I had Hawthorn fans telling me about the Sydney-Essendon result while their own game was in the balance. Us losing is more important than their own game in the eyes of these lightweights.
Let's face it, they're the most over-hyped team this side of Collingwood. Who have they beaten? The Carlton win was impressive, but anyone can beat Carlton if they turn up - look at North. They've beaten Sydney and Port Adelaide in the worst form of the season, Adelaide and Richmond (two of the three worst teams) without being convincing at all, and Melbourne before they remembered to stop tanking.
All they've had going for them under the dwarf is a shock gameplan - look how that's gone since. A less than 50/50 record in the past year and a half shows how much of a fluke their premiership was. That should have been Geelong's flag, but Hawthorn won the lottery and the pokies at the same time. Geelong will go on to win two flags in a row after losing that freak GF, and Hawthorn will go on to miss two finals series like the absolute minnows that they are.
Even their players are over-hyped. Hodge gets hyped up for playing a role that anyone with legs can play as a loose defender, their "superstar" key forward is a worse kick on his preferred foot than one of our second year players on his non-preferred, and Rioli is nothing but a highlight reel player who fades in and out of games - Leroy Jetta without the consistency.
Matthew "zonebuster" Knights will take us to another 40-something point flogging of these minnows, as we take our rightful place in the 8 back ahead of a nice run of games, and they resume their rightful place in bottom 8 mediocrity.
Does anyone know what pissant minnows eat? Is it pissants? :confused:
Well whatever it is, theirs is the role in the Thread Title's analogy that Essendon will be playing come Friday evening.
So there!:cool:
BomberTime
15 Jun 2010, 13:21
Agree with all of that. We will get up for this important game as we HAVE to win it, then we have games against adel melb west coast and north (not being cocky but if we play at our best we are a chance to win all of them) while they play bulldogs geelong brisbane and stkilda..oohhh ouch! Would love to see them slide right out of the 8 on the back of losing to us.
Just caught this bit on second scan...
"Leroy Jetta without the consistency."
Hahahaha!!!:D
Cheapies
15 Jun 2010, 13:44
Just caught this bit on second scan...
"Leroy Jetta without the consistency."
Hahahaha!!!:D
.....just leave
Nice writeup, Goonbag.
I feel the hatred rising :D
.....just leave
You realise I only came back to reply to this, right?
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 13:53
You realise I only came back to reply to this, right?
It'll be 4-in-a-row come Friday night and finally the commentators will say "well let's be honest, Hawthorn have beaten no one".
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 13:58
It'll be 4-in-a-row come Friday night and finally the commentators will say "well let's be honest, Hawthorn have beaten no one".
We would've beaten "no one" even if we beat you on Friday.
SodaPop
Agree with all of that. We will get up for this important game as we HAVE to win it.
As apposed to not having to get up for other 'important' games and not having to win those :rolleyes:
Shane Hird
I reckon we should let Hawforn posters have their say in a thread like this for once.
Encourage them to spew forth any ridiculous statements they wish, so after the game we can all laugh loudly together.
Make it the Bay13 thread of the week on the Essendon board.
:)
It'll be 6-in-a-row come Friday night and finally the commentators will say "well let's be honest, Hawthorn have beaten no one".
efa.
Robert Walls, of all people, tried saying this last night.
Quartermain got really defensive about it, and hinted that Hawks are top-4 material. :rolleyes:
From memory they have us, Bulldogs, Geelong, Brisbane, St Kilda.
They'll be lucky to win two of those games.
I reckon we should let Hawforn posters have their say in a thread like this for once.
Encourage them to spew forth any ridiculous statements they wish, so after the game we can all laugh loudly together.
Great. That's great.
:thumbsu::):thumbsu:
SodaPop
15 Jun 2010, 14:01
Might wanna update your sig :o
Shane Hird
Quartermain got really defensive about it, and hinted that Hawks are top-4 material. :rolleyes:
He's truly pathetic the way he gets all prickly when discussing HFC's fall from grace...
Ben the Gooner
That's the idea.;)
The rules will be a bit relaxed, but please keep personal insults and abuse out of it.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 14:02
We would've beaten "no one" even if we beat you on Friday.
Good one.
Bulldogs
Good luck over the next 3 weeks.
Dons 2 games clear of the Hawks after round 15! :thumbsu:
Which 2? The Bulldogs and Brisbane are down, we're always neck and neck with Geelong and St. Kilda haven't been nearly as impressive this year either.
I'd say with just a little bit of luck and continued improvement, we've got a pretty reasonable shot at extending our winning streak to 10.
First things first though...;)
http://rahim.zungumza.com/files/2009/06/afraid.jpg
He's truly pathetic the way he gets all prickly when discussing HFC's fall from grace...
That's not what they were discussing, bro.:rolleyes:
Ben the Gooner
15 Jun 2010, 14:05
Agree mess.
I'm glad we don't have to face us twice a year.
Agree mess.
I'm glad we don't have to face us twice a year.
Broken all your mirrors, Ben?
Ben the Gooner
15 Jun 2010, 14:10
Broken all your mirrors, Ben?
I'm lucky I don't have to look at myself everyday.;)
BomberTime
15 Jun 2010, 14:12
As apposed to not having to get up for other 'important' games and not having to win those :rolleyes:
Well i suppose the last time we played you it was more important for your team as it was meant to be "redemption" and all that other nonsense your pathetic team preached but we went ahead and won it and won it really well i believe...anyway so this time it is important as we are 5 & 7 and we have to win it and i suppose for your team it is important as you will probably preach about "getting one back" and sticking it up lloydy or something but it wont really matter..beating teams like sydney and port in melbourne and adelaide on your home ground and richmond by 3 points hardly puts fear into essendon....form team of the comp...rrrright:rolleyes:
Which 2? The Bulldogs and Brisbane are down, we're always neck and neck with Geelong and St. Kilda haven't been nearly as impressive this year either.
I'd say with just a little bit of luck and continued improvement, we've got a pretty reasonable shot at extending our winning streak to 10.http://i40.tinypic.com/10wv7mt.jpg
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 14:13
Good one.
Bulldogs
Good luck over the next 3 weeks.
Dons 2 games clear of the Hawks after round 15! :thumbsu:
2 top 8 sides and 1 bottom 8. I like our odds.
I'm lucky I don't have to look at myself everyday.;)
Same here. That's a treat I only grant myself when I've been especially good. :cool:
http://i40.tinypic.com/10wv7mt.jpg
Ouch, my feelings! :(
Ben the Gooner
15 Jun 2010, 14:17
Same here. That's a treat I only grant myself when I've been especially good. :cool:
Am I your guilty pleasure, hey?
no homo
Am I your guilty pleasure, hey?
no homo
Calm down tiger, you've excited yourself...
"I'm lucky I don't have to look at myself everyday" was the sentence I was responding to. The rest is probably down to a perfectly valid life choice you've made coupled with a vivid imagination prone to wishful thinking.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 14:24
2 top 8 sides and 1 bottom 8. I like our odds.
Hahaha you Hawthorn supporters crack me up, your boys are shit.
Nothing better than watching Hawk supporters getting their hopes up... only to be shot down... again.
stay true
15 Jun 2010, 14:24
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8031/campbellbrownslapper.gif
Probably a good time to get in reasonably early:
As Ben's said, we're going to relax the rule somewhat on this thread; whereas we wouldn't normally tolerate much more than a bit of insight to the Hawthorn side, a bit of tongue-in-cheek is fine here.
Remember though, do not take too much advantage of our outrageous generosity. Any really personal attacks are still pretty much off-limits, and the regular BigFooty rules still apply.
Cheers.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 14:27
Hahaha you Hawthorn supporters crack me up, your boys are shit.
Nothing better than watching Hawk supporters getting their hopes up... only to be shot down... again.
We're a game and percentage clear of your mob and we still haven't hit our straps this year. If that's being "shit", then how do you classify your own team's performance this year?
Probably a good time to get in reasonably early:
As Ben's said, we're going to relax the rule somewhat on this thread; whereas we wouldn't normally tolerate much more than a bit of insight to the Hawthorn side, a bit of tongue-in-cheek is fine here.
Remember though, do not take too much advantage of our outrageous generosity. Any really personal attacks are still pretty much off-limits, and the regular BigFooty rules still apply.
Cheers.
Tit for tat is acceptable though, surely...
As we've been invited here I mean, we wouldn't be on any shorter a leash than are the Essendon aligned participants I would expect.
dirtywhitepacker
15 Jun 2010, 14:36
We're a game and percentage clear of your mob and we still haven't hit our straps this year. If that's being "shit", then how do you classify your own team's performance this year?
Inconsistent. Struggled with a hard early draw. Shown ability to defeat teams in the top 8 (4/8).
Good chance to play finals footy... Again... ;)
BuddyGlove
15 Jun 2010, 14:38
Seriously can't wait for Friday.
http://culturalpolicyreform.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/jet_crash_eject.jpg
:o
Tit for tat is acceptable though, surely...
As we've been invited here I mean, we wouldn't be on any shorter a leash than are the Essendon aligned participants I would expect.Our posters will be keeping within the BigFooty rules, as will your lot, yes.
However the normal team board rules apply; our posters are going to be extended more courtesy, as it's our "home ground".
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 14:42
Do yourself a favour and compare the teams Essendon and Hawthorn have played in the past month and then you might see why you are currently 1 game ahead.
Hawthorn have well and truly hit their 2010 straps. Hawthorn supporters still believe 2008 is their straps, however.
table tennis
15 Jun 2010, 14:44
I hate Hawthorn.
Even more than I hate my Mother in Law.......
And she stabbed me when i was sleeping......
Let's take a look at the opponents both sides have taken on this season (top 8 sides in bold)....
HAWKS vs
Dogs
North
Dons
WCE (Perth)
Swans
Port
DONS vs
WCE (Perth)
Hawks
Port
Saints
Bulldogs
Swans (Syd)
Bloody hell, you should be top 4 with that sort of fixture.
I fail to see how you couldn't have hit your straps with such a dream run, yet you are only 1 game ahead of us and soon to be exposed as the pretenders you are given you finally come up against some quality opponents over the next month.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 14:56
Let's take a look at the opponents both sides have taken on this season (top 8 sides in bold)....
HAWKS vs
Dogs
North
Dons
WCE (Perth)
Swans
Port
DONS vs
WCE (Perth)
Hawks
Port
Saints
Bulldogs
Swans (Syd)
Bloody hell, you should be top 4 with that sort of fixture.
I fail to see how you couldn't have hit your straps with such a dream run, yet you are only 1 game ahead of us and soon to be exposed as the pretenders you are given you finally come up against some quality opponents over the next month.
Must be really embarrassing for you to be sitting under us on the ladder, then?
Did you read what he wrote?
Well I'll be bitch slapped. That makes no sense at all.... are you Campbell Brown, mouthing off before what passes as your brain kicks in? :confused: :confused: :confused:
hugorune
15 Jun 2010, 15:08
Go easy on him... you have to keep things simple for Hawthorn supporters :)
HawkPatrol
15 Jun 2010, 15:10
http://i40.tinypic.com/10wv7mt.jpg
Haha at the only white guy
trueblue_91
15 Jun 2010, 15:11
meh.
BomberTime
15 Jun 2010, 15:14
haha oh my god...you just dont get it..do you?
BomberTime
15 Jun 2010, 15:17
Hawthorn will destroy you this week.
A much better side, and it will show.
Much better midfield much better forward line, much better defence and ofcourse better rucks Skipper>>>>>>>>Ryder (horrible excuse of a footballer) and Bellchambers is even worse than Laycock.
Hawthorn by over 100 points
Oh no! carlton supporters cant join in too...but you make some funny comments ohh and lindsay Thomas>>>>>>> Carlton:)
Must be really embarrassing for you to be sitting under us on the ladder, then?http://i44.tinypic.com/4j6r5u.jpg
HawkPatrol
15 Jun 2010, 15:32
Question: How do you stop Hodge?
Make him mind a player, tbh.
Anybody can run around unaccounted for all day.
stay true
15 Jun 2010, 15:37
Make him accountable. And a pie.
TeamHurley
15 Jun 2010, 15:40
Does anyone know what pissant minnows eat? Is it pissants? :confused:
Well whatever it is, theirs is the role in the Thread Title's analogy that Essendon will be playing come Friday evening.
So there!:cool:
Mess how are you feeling about the bet? A little better than 5 weeks ago one would think.
jade_00
15 Jun 2010, 15:40
Dunno, how have we managed it the last two or three times..... :rolleyes:
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 15:51
So Hawthorn are pissant minnows....
That's brilliant. The only problem is what that makes us.
Hawthorn:
Quality club that has won 6 flags in the last 30 years to our 4.
3 All Australians to our 1 (plus an all australian coach)
The only club that's been able to break Geelongs ownership of the competition over the past 3 years.
The only club with a current colman medalist
The only club with a current Norm Smith medalist
Booming membership and profitability - Both clubs
I'm assuming you've just created this thread to facilitate some argy bargy.
hugorune
15 Jun 2010, 15:57
The team that brings their over-inflated egos down to earth.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 15:57
Hawthorn:
The only club that's been able to break Geelongs ownership of the competition over the past 3 years.
Aside from the memberships, it seems you too are living in the past. Take away their Tasmanian sponsorship and their bottom line is rooted. "Oh but we'd get another sponsor"... then why didn't they?
Their members will jump off the wagon as quickly as they jumped on.
table tennis
15 Jun 2010, 15:58
so hawthorn are pissant minnows....
Hawthorn:
3 all australians to our 1 (plus an all australian coach)
the only club that's been able to break geelongs ownership of the competition over the past 3 years.
the only club with a current norm smith medalist
booming membership and profitability - both clubs
i'm assuming you've just created this thread to facilitate some argy bargy.
troll
lamaros
15 Jun 2010, 16:01
Hawthorn:
30 is a strange number to pick? Why not say the last 17? Then it's 2-1 our way...
George Washington
15 Jun 2010, 16:08
Hawthorn:
:confused:
OzBomber
15 Jun 2010, 16:10
I'd say with just a little bit of luck and continued improvement, we've got a pretty reasonable shot at extending our winning streak to 10.
First things first though...;)
Dunno if you've looked at the ladder but St Kilda have only lost 3 games this year and are 2nd on the ladder..
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:17
30 is a strange number to pick? Why not say the last 17? Then it's 2-1 our way...
Because that is prior to both clubs enjoying sustained success during the mid 80's.
I could have gone back 24 odd years and it would be 5 to them 2 to us.
I could have gone back 40 years and it's 9 to them 4 to us.
Hardly think i'm fudging the figures here.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 16:18
haha oh my god...you just dont get it..do you?
Love feeding the muppets. The obsession you guys have with our club is quite extraordinary.
So who's going to do the sniping on Friday night?
Love feeding the muppets.:o Nice try.So who's going to do the sniping on Friday night?Bitch Slap's broken down, and Bateman couldn't help himself for the third time in 12 weeks, so who knows.
Buddy might be due for another stint.
Catching the train across, mate?
danielgb123
15 Jun 2010, 16:22
Love feeding the muppets. The obsession you guys have with our club is quite extraordinary.
So who's going to do the sniping on Friday night?
Hmm, true - Campbell isn't playing is he..
Because that is prior to both clubs enjoying sustained success during the mid 80's.
I could have gone back 24 odd years and it would be 5 to them 2 to us.
I could have gone back 40 years and it's 9 to them 4 to us.
Hardly think i'm fudging the figures here.
And the last 30-40 years has what to do with this match?
Why don't we go back to the beginning of last year, till now:
Hawthorn Vs Essendon:
Essendon Wins - 3
Hawthorn Wins - 0
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:24
Aside from the memberships, it seems you too are living in the past. Take away their Tasmanian sponsorship and their bottom line is rooted. "Oh but we'd get another sponsor"... then why didn't they?
Their members will jump off the wagon as quickly as they jumped on.
Hardly living in the past. Stating that they have more All Australians, Coleman and norm smith medalists playing in their current team is a reflection of the existing teams.
The membership was a statement of both clubs being strong financially. Like it or not, Hawthorn have a strong revenue stream from their Tasmanian deal. That's like suggesting that if we took away 10,000 Essendon members and our major sponsor and we'd be less well off.
Takes a genius...
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:31
Hmm, true - Campbell isn't playing is he..
And the last 30-40 years has what to do with this match?
Why don't we go back to the beginning of last year, till now:
Hawthorn Vs Essendon:
Essendon Wins - 3
Hawthorn Wins - 0
That's great. So because we've beaten Hawthorn the last 3 times we've played them, they are piss weak minnows???
So because Geelong have beaten us the last 7 times are we a piss weak minnor club? Get a clue. It's pathetic and makes us all look like idiots.
So don't post in the thread.
danielgb123
15 Jun 2010, 16:37
That's great. So because we've beaten Hawthorn the last 3 times we've played them, they are piss weak minnows???
So because Geelong have beaten us the last 7 times are we a piss weak minnor club? Get a clue. It's pathetic and makes us all look like idiots.
If it annoys your so much, why take part in the conversation?
I'm not the one that suggested they're piss weak minnows, the fact that you're defending them more than the club you support is what's annoying me.
I'd definitely refer to them as cocky and a few other things, however.
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:37
So don't post in the thread.
True...
I should have realised it was the primary school thread.
True...
I should have realised it was the primary school thread.At least you've posted accordingly. ;)
robjude
15 Jun 2010, 16:45
i just hope both teams have fun.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 16:46
Hardly living in the past. Stating that they have more All Australians, Coleman and norm smith medalists playing in their current team is a reflection of the existing teams.
The membership was a statement of both clubs being strong financially. Like it or not, Hawthorn have a strong revenue stream from their Tasmanian deal. That's like suggesting that if we took away 10,000 Essendon members and our major sponsor and we'd be less well off.
Takes a genius...
The Tasmanian Government aren't exactly competing with a made-for-profit organisation such as Samsung vs Panasonic or Puma vs Reebok. If Hawthorn could gain more sponsors I'm sure they would've, particularly after a fairly recent premiership - strike while the iron is hot. I'd also suggest that if Samsung was offering the same as the Tassie Government we'd continue to be playing all our home games in Melbourne. The facts are we don't know if Hawthorn's revenue stream is sustainable, Essendon has greater net assets which leads me to believe that we're more financially stable. Crowd numbers also suggest Hawthorn's memberships are over-inflated. There's also rumours abound that a Victorian club will be relocated to the island within 5 years - I strongly doubt this will be Hawthorn. Essendon do have 10k less members and we haven't won a premiership for 10 years, how many times have Hawthorn had a greater number of members than Essendon during that period? I'd guess only since Hawthorn won a premiership?
By the way, you can count by what ever arbitrary figure you or your Hawthorn friends want, I'll count by this 16 > 10
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:47
At least you've posted accordingly. ;)
Yea, I know it's probably a bit simple to point out that a club is hardly a pissant minnow having averaged over 2 flags per decade over a 4 decade period.
robjude
15 Jun 2010, 16:49
If it annoys your so much, why take part in the conversation?
I'm not the one that suggested they're piss weak minnows, the fact that you're defending them more than the club you support is what's annoying me.
I'd definitely refer to them as cocky and a few other things, however.
arhh, now here'syour normal arrogant bomber supporter.
Yea, I know it's probably a bit simple to point out that a club is hardly a pissant minnow having averaged over 2 flags per decade over a 4 decade period.lol mate, the entire thread's a bit of fun.
Lighten up.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 16:50
:o Nice try.Bitch Slap's broken down, and Bateman couldn't help himself for the third time in 12 weeks, so who knows.
Buddy might be due for another stint.
Catching the train across, mate?
Bateman will play, and add nicely to our outside run. But I was referring to your team. Who's going to pick up from where the diver left off? Not sure there's anyone game enough.
TheDon35
15 Jun 2010, 16:51
The Tasmanian Government aren't exactly competing with a made-for-profit organisation such as Samsung vs Panasonic or Puma vs Reebok. If Hawthorn could gain more sponsors I'm sure they would've, particularly after a fairly recent premiership - strike while the iron is hot. I'd also suggest that if Samsung was offering the same as the Tassie Government we'd continue to be playing all our home games in Melbourne. The facts are we don't know if Hawthorn's revenue stream is sustainable, Essendon has greater net assets which leads me to believe that we're more financially stable. Crowd numbers also suggest Hawthorn's memberships are over-inflated. There's also rumours abound that a Victorian club will be relocated to the island within 5 years - I strongly doubt this will be Hawthorn. Essendon do have 10k less members and we haven't won a premiership for 10 years, how many times have Hawthorn had a greater number of members than Essendon during that period? I'd guess only since Hawthorn won a premiership?
By the way, you can count by what ever arbitrary figure you or your Hawthorn friends want, I'll count by this 16 > 10
Thanks for the confused ramble and for the last stat. Yes, Essendon is also a powerhouse. But recent history suggests that if you want to call Essendon a powerhouse, it's pretty baseless to consider Hawthorn a pissant minnow.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 16:57
Thanks for the confused ramble and for the last stat. Yes, Essendon is also a powerhouse. But recent history suggests that if you want to call Essendon a powerhouse, it's pretty baseless to consider Hawthorn a pissant minnow.
Yep, granted it was slightly confusing, I was in a rush... still makes sense.
Ok, we'll call them a whore by selling themselves interstate?
Bateman will play, and add nicely to our outside run. But I was referring to your team. Who's going to pick up from where the diver left off? Not sure there's anyone game enough.Quit trolling. Your coach broke someones jaw from behind in an exhibition match.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 17:05
Quit trolling. Your coach broke someones jaw from behind in an exhibition match.
Not trolling mate. Your colleagues have celebrated the fact that Lloyd smashed Brad Sewell's head, for a good 6 months now. I was just asking for an opinion. I have a genuine interest in the answer.
Our posters will be keeping within the BigFooty rules, as will your lot, yes.
However the normal team board rules apply; our posters are going to be extended more courtesy, as it's our "home ground".
And you're obviously McLaren and Goldspink all rolled into one super Essendon umpire.
George Washington
15 Jun 2010, 17:09
And you're obviously McLaren and Goldspink all rolled into one super Essendon umpire.
I'm not liking your demeanour there. Quite demonstrative. Worthy of a red tbh.
Not trolling mate. Your colleagues have celebrated the fact that Lloyd smashed Brad Sewell's head, for a good 6 months now. I was just asking for an opinion. I have a genuine interest in the answer.I personally don't think it was celebrated at all. There was a duty of car involved but Lloyd did not intend to knock Sewell out.
For Clarkson to fire up on field and off towards Lloyd was a stupid and hypocritical reaction. And when Brown swore revenge just proved how much of hot-head club yours is.
So in conclusion; no one will pick-up where Lloyd left off because he wasn't a sniper and left nowhere to pick up from.
stillGOTmyBEANIE
15 Jun 2010, 17:12
Robert Walls on Friday night will say:
"Franklin hasnt seen the footy tonight, I think Clarkson should throw the big fella in the ruck".
Island Bomber
15 Jun 2010, 17:13
I wish Campbell was playing, it was the funniest thing ever last year seeing him cry.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 17:14
I personally don't think it was celebrated at all. There was a duty of car involved but Lloyd did not intend to knock Sewell out.
For Clarkson to fire up on field and off towards Lloyd was a stupid and hypocritical reaction. And when Brown swore revenge just proved how much of hot-head club yours is.
So in conclusion; no one will pick-up where Lloyd left off because he wasn't a sniper and left nowhere to pick up from.
LOL. Yeah right. :rolleyes: :o
TeamHurley
15 Jun 2010, 17:15
Not trolling mate. Your colleagues have celebrated the fact that Lloyd smashed Brad Sewell's head, for a good 6 months now. I was just asking for an opinion. I have a genuine interest in the answer.
You hawks fans are always crying about how the bump is dead and the game is turning into netball. So when there finally is a big collision you are still crying about it 10 months later.
Countless times on the mainboard I have seen hawks arguing about buddy that how can he not bump when he has a split second to make a decision.
Doesnt this also apply to lloyd?
Get your double standards sorted out before you come here crying like a baby.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 17:16
Where? I think it's more the fact that a week earlier Hawks fans were in a rage that the game was coming to an end after Franklin gave Cousins a hip-and-shoulder and Essendon supporters were comparing the incidents - for which Franklin has been suspended a further 2 or 3 times.
Facts are Hawthorn haven't beaten Essendon with or without Lloyd since 2008.
The Donners
15 Jun 2010, 17:20
LOL. Yeah right. :rolleyes: :o
It wasn't. Sewell is one of my favourites and I wouldn't wish an injury upon any player even if they wear the piss and poo.
As I just posted, the double standards of Hawthorn supporters/posters and president was the most alarming of all with regards to this matter.
macdaddio
15 Jun 2010, 17:22
I just want to say thank you to the Mods for letting me back on the Essendon Boards, and thank you for inviting us Hawks fans in here to discuss the game this Friday night.
I am going this Friday night and i do actually have some confidence, the last 3 games i have been to i took my Wife and the Bombers have beaten us and i did not talk to her the entire drive home on all 3 occasions and every time i told her she ain't coming back, but this time i have stood my ground she is staying home this time round I'm going with the Boys only..
It gives me some reason to be confidant that we can finally break the losing streak and get back our dominance over the Bombers...
TeamHurley
15 Jun 2010, 17:24
I just want to say thank you to the Mods for letting me back on the Essendon Boards, and thank you for inviting us Hawks fans in here to discuss the game this Friday night.
I am going this Friday night and i do actually have some confidence, the last 3 games i have been to i took my Wife and the Bombers have beaten us and i did not talk to her the entire drive home on all 3 occasions and every time i told her she ain't coming back, but this time i have stood my ground she is staying home this time round I'm going with the Boys only..
It gives me some reason to be confidant that we can finally break the losing streak and get back our dominance over the Bombers...
I have banned the girlfriend from coming into the room where I am watching it on TV for the last 3 matches and will to continue to do so. This should counteract your hoodoo.
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 17:24
Where? I think it's more the fact that a week earlier Hawks fans were in a rage that the game was coming to an end after Franklin gave Cousins a hip-and-shoulder and Essendon supporters were comparing the incidents - for which Franklin has been suspended a further 2 or 3 times.
Facts are Hawthorn haven't beaten Essendon with or without Lloyd since 2008.
Big difference between Cousins falling into Franklin's shoulder and Lloyd cannoning into Sewell's head with his shoulder from a 10 metre run up.
I'm not whinging about it. I was just asking. I guess I got my answer.
TeamHurley
15 Jun 2010, 17:25
Here is a book every hawthorn supporter needs to read.
http://drdapo.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/hassas.jpg
Ben the Gooner
15 Jun 2010, 17:27
Big difference between Cousins falling into Franklin's shoulder and Lloyd cannoning into Sewell's head with his shoulder from a 10 metre run up.
Yeah, massive difference between the two. I'm not sure why anyone's bothering to compare them tbh.
One helped get his team a finals berth, one helped cost his team a finals berth. :)
TeamHurley
15 Jun 2010, 17:28
lol. Want to put any more spin on that?
Are you sure it wasn't buddy providing his shoulder for cousins to fall onto as a soft landing and lloyd taking a 2km run up to cannon into sewells head?
George Washington
15 Jun 2010, 17:29
Are you sure it wasn't buddy providing his shoulder for cousins to fall onto as a soft landing and lloyd taking a 2km run up to cannon into sewells head?
Word is that Lloyd actually taped up his shoulders with lead under the tape at half-time, for the sole purpose of going out and hitting Sewell...
IBleedBrownNGold
15 Jun 2010, 17:30
Nahhh. That would be an exaggeration. :)