View Full Version : Gold Coast v Box Hill Sat 3 July @ Southport 2pm

rdhopkins2
27 Jun 2010, 19:00
Well folks, Box Hill will be looking to avenge last weeks disappointing loss to Collingwood with a trip up to the sunshine state to play the Gold Coast on their home turf.

Rd 11 Sat 3 July
Gold Coast v Box Hill @
Southport 2pm

94.1FM 3WBC will be calling the game for those Mexicans who can't make it over the northern borders. Hopefully we have a few locals that can give us match reports too.

Could be an excuse for those left in Melbourne to have a few beers and put the radio on and reminisce about footy coverage in the 'olden days'.

matty_hawk
28 Jun 2010, 08:54
I will be at the game, and although my reporting is not up there with some of the pro's of this board, i will attempt to give a good post match write up.

If you have any questions, ask them now and i will try to answer them for you when i return.

The BIG X
28 Jun 2010, 09:43
Great stuff matty h.:thumbsu:

rdhopkins2
28 Jun 2010, 18:11
Thanks heaps matty_hawk. We look forward to your comments on the game!

BlackByrd
28 Jun 2010, 23:20
Good stuff Matty.

matty_hawk
29 Jun 2010, 09:35
Does anyone know if we are going to put gibson on the plane over here yet? i know there is talkk about him being ready in a fortnight for hawthorn selection but does that mean he will play this week, or rest?

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
29 Jun 2010, 10:39
I hope to get there.

Can someone tell me what numbers the Hawthorn listed players wear?

The BIG X
30 Jun 2010, 20:57
I hope to get there.

Can someone tell me what numbers the Hawthorn listed players wear?

Buy a record you old fart:thumbsu:;)

44 Stokes
45 Guerra
46 Johnston
47 Bruest
48 Peterson
62 Milne
68 Dowler
70 Muston
71 JKT
72 Morton
74 Savage
75 Tuck
77 Shiels
79 Moss

CrowdedHouse
1 Jul 2010, 18:17
Are many here heading up to join us Radio 3WBC boys at the game?

Maybe some of you should join us for drinks afterwards - as we party on the Gold Coast!!!!

For those who don't normally follow us and are stuck in Melbourne wanting coverage, just tune into 94.1 FM in Inner Melbourne...

OR the Internet Stream at www.3wbc.org.au (capped at around 600 listeners)

Pete @ 3WBC (getting up at 5am Saturday Morning to fly up on the 8.35am Jetstar)

rdhopkins2
1 Jul 2010, 19:55
I'd love to say I'm going up but unfortunately not so! I'm sure it will be a great game and that those venturing north will enjoy the warmer weather. Go Hawks!

CharlieMitchell
1 Jul 2010, 20:20
Gold Coast vs. Box Hill Hawks
Saturday 3rd July Southport at 2:10 PM
Gold Coast
B
Toy
Hunt
Ah Chee
HB
Shaw
Gugliotta
Hine
C
Daye
Jolly
McKenzie
HF
Patrick
Dixon
Weller
F
Russell*
Thompson
Magin
R
Smith
D. Stanley
Harris
Int
Harley
Iles
Flanagan

Liddy
Matera
Lock

Swallow
Nicholls

Box Hill Hawks
B
Whitecross
J. Gibson
Shiels
HB
Suckling
Pedersen
Kayler-Thomson
C
Moss
Tuck
Savage
HF
Morton
Dowler
Kenna
F
Milne
Lisle
Sierakowski
R
Renton
Stokes
Breust
Int
J. Hoegel
S. Gibson
Bello

Kiel
Neil
Williams

Fagan
Curnow

TheFourPillars
1 Jul 2010, 21:56
Both the vfl and development sides are here.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=12542158&sectionID=60264

Rudi Gilham
1 Jul 2010, 23:00
Hmmmm. No Carl Peterson. Late change in the seniors perhaps?

TheFourPillars
1 Jul 2010, 23:16
Hmmmm. No Carl Peterson. Late change in the seniors perhaps?

Sneaking suspicion he will be late inclusion for ladson who didn't train

moginie
2 Jul 2010, 09:34
No Grimley in either team. Is he injured?

TheFourPillars
2 Jul 2010, 13:44
No Grimley in either team. Is he injured?

Yes went off with foot injury late in last weeks game

grizzlym
2 Jul 2010, 14:36
Ankle injury sustained in the game I believe. Not serious.

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 13:29
I have a mate at the game so hopefully I can assist with the updates

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 13:30
Prematch discussion now on 94.1FM 3WBC so tune in!
Also broadcast through www.hawthornfc.com.au for those wanting the webcast.

Thanks shepp23 for offering to update those without access! Cheers mate!

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 14:31
BHH 1.2.8

GC 4.3.27

Almost quarter time

Roger Rogerson
3 Jul 2010, 14:33
BHH 1.2.8

GC 4.3.27

Almost quarter time

geez that aint a good start.

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 14:38
We just kicked two in a row. Dowler & Moss.

BH 3.2.20

GC 4.4.28

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 14:40
1/4 TIME

Gold Coast 5.4.34
Box Hill Hawks 3.2.20

Dowler 2gls. Box Hill's goals came late in the quarter. Sounds like GC have really started well.

Buddy Guy
3 Jul 2010, 14:56
I cant get the streaming of this game to work.
Is the streaming of this game working for everyone else or do I have a problem with my firewall settings?
If it is the firewall settings I am screwed becuase I would have absolutely no idea how to fix that, not ever:D

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:04
Goal to Milne.

BH 27

GC 34

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 15:20
1/2 TIME

Gold Coast 6.4.40
Box Hill Hawks 8.7.55

Box Hill hitting back. Dowler and K-T are the multiple goalkickers. Could well have kicked a few more but inaccuracy costing us.

Hodgepodge
3 Jul 2010, 15:27
C'mon Dowler, force your way into the senior squad son.

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:30
Just heard from my mate that Gibson, Dowler and Milne have all been great.

So BD plays well on the Gold Coast. Hmmm ;)

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:44
Dowler kicks his third.

BH 9.7.61

GC 6.4.40

Hodgepodge
3 Jul 2010, 15:45
Good news, shepp.

Where has Milne been playing?

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:46
Morton goal from outside 50m.

BH 10.7.67

GC 6.4.40

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:48
Good news, shepp.

Where has Milne been playing?

He's been playing in the forward line today.

Kayler-Thomson just kicked his third:thumbsu:

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 15:49

Box Hill by 34 points.

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 16:15
3/4 Time
Gold Coast 8.8.56
Box Hill Hawks 16.11.107

Box Hill hitting their straps now. GC are a strong finishing side so hopefully we can keep going on with it in the last. Can hear the breeze through the effects microphone- sounds like a cyclone.

shepp
3 Jul 2010, 16:19
Ed Curnow has been best on apparently.

I hope he gets drafted by a club next year.

Dowler 4 goals.

madhawkboy
3 Jul 2010, 16:22
haha, nice shout outs from the boys.

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 16:23
Good to hear Dowler growing in confidence and doing some good things.

Haha! Who had too many baked beans Rashy?

Heading off to my work ball so it's been good listening on the lounge before I get ready! Great call boys as usual. They should increase your pay to $10 a week each :D Keep up the efforts as it's much appreciated by all.

hardway
3 Jul 2010, 16:32
Sounds like Dowler is playing to impress the GC recruiters..

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 16:52
Full Time
Gold Coast 11.8.74
Box Hill Hawks 19.16.130

Great win after a slow start. Sounds like a pretty even contribution from our fellas. Well done boys. I'm sure the 3WBC post-match review will fill us in!

Goal Kickers: 4 KT& Dowler, 2 Fagan& Lisle, singles?

Best:

Thanks to the 3WBC gang for making the tough trip up- weather sounds unbearable. Enjoy Cavill Ave and a few bundys tonight. Another enjoyable call-well done.

Anyhow, I'm off to dress up as Prince Charming off to the ball. :D Have a good night all.

madhawkboy
3 Jul 2010, 16:53
Very enjoyable commentary from the boys! Good job.

rdhopkins2
3 Jul 2010, 17:09
BTW Steve Gilham on 94.1FM on Tuesday night doing special comments for the EJ Whitten game on 3WBC for those who may like to tune in.

Pessimistic
3 Jul 2010, 19:31
Sounds like Dowler is playing to impress the GC recruiters..

I wondered that. when does his contract expire ?

Prhss the climate suits him

Collins-Langford-Ayres
3 Jul 2010, 19:53
Great win by the boys. How did Gibbo go? Did he do enough, look fit enough to return vs the Cats?

Hawker08
3 Jul 2010, 20:22
Great win by the boys. How did Gibbo go? Did he do enough, look fit enough to return vs the Cats?

Gibbo has played his last game at BH. Was a class above today. Rested in the last.

Best of the hawks listed.

JKT by a mile. Very damaging left foot
WhiteX teamed well with Gibbo.
Shiels knocking on the door, found plenty of it.
Lisle must be close
Dowler showed good signs. Couple of good grabs. Kicked straight. Basically made the most of his opportunities.
Savage did some nice things but didn't see a lot of it. Has class.
Suckling a bit quiet as was Stokes.
Tuck rotated heavily but showed good aggression at the contest when called on.
Milne punches above his weight. I like this bloke.
Morton played back a lot...not his position. Kicked a ripper outside 50.

Happy to give a review of BH players tomorrow.

I'll finish by saying 80% of the crowd was there to see Karmichael Hunt.
They wasted their money

Mervyn Beasley
3 Jul 2010, 21:35
Who had the pleasure of playing on K Hunt?

go hawks!!!
3 Jul 2010, 22:11
11.8-74 Gold Coast (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=11678033&c=1-118-0-102874-0)
Selected Team (http://www.sportingpulse.com/rpt_teamselected.cgi?c=1-118-0-102874-0&f=89372854&t=11678033)
2:10 PM
Sat 3/Jul

Southport (http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?round=11&a=VENUE&venueid=13198358&c=1-118-0-102874-0&fID=89372854) (Map (http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?round=11&a=VENUE&venueid=13198358&c=1-118-0-102874-0&fID=89372854)) def. by19.16-130 Box Hill Hawks (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=9815587&c=1-118-0-102874-0)
Selected Team (http://www.sportingpulse.com/rpt_teamselected.cgi?c=1-118-0-102874-0&f=89372854&t=9815587)
Gold Coast Goal Kickers: L. Patrick 2, D. SWALLOW 2, S. Iles, L. Russell, R. Thompson, T. McKenzie, D. Harris, B. MATERA, C. Dixon
Best Players: Z. Smith, L. Russell, S. Iles, R. Ah Chee, D. SWALLOW, T. McKenzie
Box Hill Hawks Goal Kickers: B. Dowler 4, J. Kayler-Thomson 4, B. Fagan 2, J. Lisle 2, S. Gibson, R. Milne, G. Moss, E. Curnow, J. Morton, C. Pedersen, M. Suckling
Best Players: J. Kayler-Thomson, S. Gibson, E. Curnow, J. Morton, H. Kiel, M. Suckling

Speakeasy
3 Jul 2010, 23:40
Karmicheal Hunt will never make it as an AFL footballer, I was standing right on the fence by the forward pocket today and I dont believe what they say about him playing footy before. The bloke has no bloody Idea. Even took a mate to his first footy match ever and he noticed how rubbish hunt is.

You know who does have an idea? The Box Hill bloody Hawks, great game! Gave it to em and kept coming.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
4 Jul 2010, 02:52
Just a few words on the Box Hill Hawks Gold Coast VFL game today.

A typical glorious South East Queensland mid winter day with bright sunshine, a slight breeze, and the ground in excellent condition. Ideal for football.

Previous reports of Box Hill games indicate that they are undermanned in size and experience against most competition in the VFL. With this in mind, I thought that this could be one of the best chances to compare apples with apples because the Gold Coast team is extremely young and I naively believed that they would also be lacking in size. How wrong could I be (size that is)

To the casual observer who is completely ignorant of both sides, it would appear that the Gold Coast were the older and more experienced because of the patently obvious difference in size. For a bunch of kids who are yet to fire a shot in the AFL, they are incredibly advanced with their physical development. Indeed Box Hill looked like a mob of Rowan Atkinsons in comparison.

Gold Coast began by exploiting their youthful endeavour and excelled all across the ground. I doubt if Box Hill were prepared for this early onslaught. The young 205 cm giant, Zac Smith immediately took control of the ruck and gave his onballers (nay, rovers is the correct name)an armchair ride at centre bounces and around the field. This allowed complete domination, which quickly had the scoreboard moving in their favour. Only Josh Gibson across halfback (who was having a lark in the park), Sam Gibson, Ed Curnow, and Ben Smithwick offered any resistance to this surge. There was no rest for Box Hill when Smith was rested by Nicholls, and proved almost as effective.

Box Hill opened with Renton in the ruck, assisted by Pederson and Lisle and they were simply outclassed. Smith looked like a young Peter Everett and his palming was a delight to watch.

Two contested marks to Beau Dowler followed by accurate kicks for goal kept the visitors in the game.

The first half of the second quarter was a repeat of the first quarter from Gold Coast. The two Gibsons, Smithwick, and Curnow remained the most prominent for Box Hill. However, three changes were beginning to take effect that would ultimately turn the game in Box Hill’s favour.

An exhilarating Kaylor Thompson was everywhere using creative handball and run, finishing off his fine work with long kicking that resulted in two goals. Riley Milne became prominent, kicking a goal and immediately followed up with a poster.

In an effort to quell Smith - Dowler, Lisle, and Pedersen were thrown into the ruck. Gradually Smith and Nicholls weakened and Box Hill started to take control in this area and their onballers relished the better service from their big men. The more mature and experienced Box Hill players took control from their younger opponents and it now became clear that the young but highly talented Gold Coast were in deep trouble.

At the start of the second half Renton went back into the ruck and now exerted a dominance that continued for the rest of the game. The young Gold Coast team were succumbing to the greater experience of the older box hill players. Kaylor Thompson and the previous mentioned box Hill players maintained their brilliant form and the whole Box Hill side lifted.

The last quarter provided an opportunity for the Hawthorn listed players to have an increasing impact and Box Hill ran out easy winners.

Before I talk about individual Hawthorn and Box Hill players, I think that I need to discuss Gold Coast.

Much is made of their priority selections at the end of last year and their favourable draft picks this year.
They have a very young and talented side. To be successful in the AFL they need a huge influx of experienced AFL players. Areas that need immediate attention is the ruck (yeah Smith and Nicholls are talented but they are only kids), key position players, hardnosed defenders and midfielders and one or two marquee players to provide real talent and leadership.

Their “prized “draft picks must be used to gain the above; otherwise, they will be condemned to “promising non achievers” in the foreseeable future.

From a Hawthorn perspective, a typical player that they need is a Guerra type. Alternatively, maybe a fully fit Taylor and I doubt if they are going anywhere. Of course, the untouchables, in which I include Brown, would be very attractive to them. Once again, I doubt if any of them are going to the Coast. Young players are of absolutely no use to them; they have enough talent there. This means that our young talent should be safe.

I thought that the best players for Box Hill were

Kayler Thompson
Ed Curnow
Ben Smithwick and
Sam Gibson

I am very impressed with Curnow. He is very creative, knows where to go to maximise possessions and has that knack of being in position at scrimmages to receive a “panic” handball and then clear to a cleverly selected option. Smithwick is of a similar vein. Sam Gibson would still be of interest to AFL clubs during the years of the compromised drafts’

Regarding Hawthorn listed players,

Beau Dowler: Showed today that he can take a contested mark and a very accurate kick for goal. Was used in the ruck and indicates that he is very uncomfortable in this role. Now I said that he can take a contested mark. Let me explain a little more. Beau is very capable in a one on one situation where he has the prime position and or the “sit”. Under more pressure and in pack situations he is found wanting. He can go for the big fly and maybe pull down the rare speccy. His groundwork and overall play is not generally up to AFL standard. Before everybody jumps onto the bash Beau bandwagon. Please remember that because of a motor vehicle accident, he suffered very serious pelvic and hip injuries prior to being selected in the 2005 draft. No doubt, Hawthorn hoped that he could overcome those injuries. Knowing others who have had similar injuries, it is a credit to the young man that he has been able to muster the courage to even make the playing field. If he ever fully overcomes those injuries and the accompanying psychological damage, then I think that he may have a chance of being redrafted as a mature age player in future years.

Jordan Lisle: This reportedly slow, poor kick for goal was one of Box Hills best. He was Mr fix it today, whether in the ruck, down back or up forward. Can take a mark, is competitive, has an engine and can kick straight. And most of all Mr Clarkson, he can crash a pack. Is he slow? What big man (except one LF) has exceptional pace. Like how quick does one need to be to keep up with a Barry Hall. If a forward gets the break and receives a pinpoint pass then not even an Ursane Bolt is going to stop it. And as for needing pace to run off the backline. Well, that was yesterday. Clubs are now playing contested Footy.In my opinion a vital player in Hawthorn’s future.

Luke Bruest: Saw very little of him today so I cannot offer an opinion.

Shane Savage: Not normally a high possession player and from what I saw that is a true description of him. At this stage, he is a burst player who just may have the speed and skills to be a very valuable pickup.

Mathew Suckling: An enigma, who once again showed his good kicking skills. Normally one would expect that that would not be sufficient to warrant retention. Today, just as I was about to write him off he would bob up with some clever play. Probably not consistent enough to retain his place.

Riley Milne: A definite prospect; at 193 cm I was looking for him to show some aerial ability. Instead, I saw a player with a clear head who is unflappable in heavy traffic and has the knack of selecting the correct option under pressure. A good kick who quickly assessed the situation to take the correct option to kick his first goal.

Cameron Stokes: There is not much I can say. At 174 cm and 74 kg it is necessary for someone to display real class to play at AFL level. He has class but extremely spasmodic.

Jarrod Kayler Thompson: Best on ground today. Showed it all and all of it was good.

Will Sierakowski: This Scholarship player had the cheek to do a Hodge and tell players where to go. Pity that he is still learning where to go. Obviously a thinker.

Liam Shiels: A little terrier who has no fear. What we have seen in his Hawthorn matches is what he showed today.

Travis Tuck: Took a long time to get into the game. When he did he, like Shiels, mirrored what we have seen in his Hawthorn Games. His running style is ah let’s say unique. Was good in clearances but we have plenty of that type.

Brendon Whitecross: quiet game and I cannot offer anything further than what we have already seen.

Garry Moss: Seems to play in bursts. What we have already seen is what he was today.

Jarryd Morton: To quote a Jack Dyerism he “can’t learn to not get where the ball ain’t”. Not a bad game today but he just can’t seem to make any consistent impact. On the few occasions when he does get near the ball he can do some clever things.

Did I see any depth today? Most certainly but it is one to two pre seasons away.

go hawks!!!
4 Jul 2010, 03:48
Great write up LMG, thank you for your in depth analysis!

Roger Rogerson
4 Jul 2010, 07:27
You have raised the bar with the match reports Lord Mud. Greatly appreciated review of the game.

Gold Coast are a pretty weak side so expected us to win fairly comfortably. The output from our hawks listed players sounded pretty typical - there are obvious players who lack consistency week in week out and these are the ones that will be in trouble at season's end. Good to hear Sierakowski was in the seniors as don't mind him but he needs a strong finish to the season if he is to keep his afl dream alive.

grizzlym
4 Jul 2010, 11:03
Terrific write up, Lord Mud. Appreciate it.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
4 Jul 2010, 11:04
Gibbo has played his last game at BH. Was a class above today. Rested in the last.

Thanks Hawker08.

Match-up are going to be really interesting next week.

Hodgepodge
4 Jul 2010, 12:13
I was hoping Dowler with his 4 goals was a good player for us. Apparently he wasn't . . .?

Rudi Gilham
4 Jul 2010, 12:51
Great report Lord Mud.

I wonder how much the lack of a qulity ruckman has impacted on Box Hill this year. Andrew Renton is a trier, but lacks a little class. He's been asked to tackle some fine ruckmen this year.

It'll be interesting to see how the iminent return of Simon Taylor impacts on the Stanger's fortunes.

CrowdedHouse
4 Jul 2010, 14:03
G'day Gang.

Back from the Gold Coast trip (with very little sleep).

If you've got any questions about the game (or the GCFC) just ask.

Pete @ 3WBC (about to get some sleep!!)

The BIG X
4 Jul 2010, 17:39
Superb write up LM.
Next time I will print a AFL/VFL record just for you.
Your analysis of 1 game is outstanding:thumbsu:

TAITA
4 Jul 2010, 18:07
I'll just add my thanks Lord Mud - you are a very gifted writer as well as analyst - thank you.

Whilst I've got your attention, do you think Gibson (Sam) could make it at AFL level?

I've got a bit of time for him and felt he would've been the logical 'insurance' for Young but he's never got a look in, despite being one of our most consistent performers when rookied.

Seems like the forgotten man.

Soaring Hawk
4 Jul 2010, 18:54
Great game yesterday by the boys. I had the fortunate pleasure of seeing both the ones on Friday night and Box hill on saturday on the goldie, what a weekend!

It was a perfect day for footy - sun was shining bright, but i was a bit suprised by how wet it was on the ground, which explains why the guys were slipping over a bit.

Outside of the hawks listed players, I was extremely impressed by renton's tap work. He also looked fairly agile around the field. He tapped down to our advantage regularly. I didn't see him do much around the field, but seemed to be a great tap-man.

I'm a bit perplexed why dowler wasn't named in the best. I thought he took a few good one-on-one leads. In the third quarter, he took a mark on the 50, and knowing he couldn't make the distance - speared the ball into a leading player. Seemed to be one that could roam the forward 50 and feel comfortable as that lead-up player. Pretty accurate within 35m, but kicks the ball too high to be able to make it 50m consistently.

I was also impressed with no 11 for the hawks, could take a strong mark and accurate kick for goal - not sure who that was though.

Lisle played a great game; better in defence but also a strong mark in the forward 50. I'm sure the listed stats detail he's the same height as Dowler, but he's definitely a couple of cm taller. Wouldn't be surprised if he's grown a bit, and is a great height for KPP.

Got to say, when Dowler and Lisle both played in the forward 50, we had a significant height advantage. I really felt for hunt, he's still getting used to the game. The crowd were really giving it to him, and he doesn't seem to have won them over. He just needs more time out there. Didn't have much luck. However, our forwards seemed really strong placed on their backs, which was a great sign!

Wanted to see more of pederson today, but played a lot in the ruck and didn't get to see his defensive game one-on-one. Shame. Despite other reports, didn't see anything to suggest he was a class above today. Don't get me wrong, he can certainly play the game and is great at that level, but didn't dominate in my eyes. But hey, that's just one game.

JKT was awesome. The old description of 'plays like young' is very apt.

I was somewhat impressed by WhiteX leadership during the breaks. Listening to the boys up close is an awesome experience, and he was certainly taking the lead for the back 6. He was also giving advice to the mid-fielders and seemed to be a natural leader.

The coach gave some real positive feedback at the third quarter time. Renton and Lisle were getting praise galore.

Happy to provide further feedback if requested. Still getting over the awesome friday night game though. Not sure if my life can get any better!

One thing I will add is that the gold coast ruckman is awesome! He will be dominating ruck work in the next few years. Knows where to go around the ground, is extremely agile, and is awesome at the tap work. He looks like a monster on the field too (yes, i realise he's 205cm) but he's got a great presence about him. I was really impressed by his agility and speed. Nonetheless, Renton did well against him, but the others got slaughtered - to be expected really.

go hawks!!!
4 Jul 2010, 19:13
Thx soaring hawk.

Can you provide some more detail on Josh Gibson, Travis Tuck, Shiels and Savage, i.e your opinion. thanks

Rudi Gilham
4 Jul 2010, 19:17
No 11 is Ben Fagan. I believe he is Chris Fagan's nephew. 22yo, and about 192cm.

rdhopkins2
4 Jul 2010, 19:39
Thanks for the fantastic match reports guys! Absolutely terrific.

Soaring Hawk
4 Jul 2010, 19:55
Thx soaring hawk.

Can you provide some more detail on Josh Gibson, Travis Tuck, Shiels and Savage, i.e your opinion. thanks

Gibson was playing extremely tight on his man in the first quarter, but was given freedom to play further up the ground in the second quarter + onwards. He's extremely calm under pressure, and able to hit his mark consistently. He's a fair bit smaller (height wise) compared to the forwards (particularly dowler and lisle), but uses his smarts and pace to advantage. Not sure he'll ever be that big-bodied defender we crave (have hopes for lisle though).

Tuck is somewhat bigger/taller than I thought he was - stood behind him in the huddle. Although I didn't see much of him throughout the game. Nor did I see much of Shiels, maybe it was just where I was sitting.

Savage played tight on their FF (forget his name - but the one who kicked two goals). I was initially concerned the gold coast player's speed and leap, but shane covered him like a glove. I was really impressed by his tight-marking game, and kept up with the other player. Could be a future back pocket. Didn't see him play through the middle, so can't talk to that. But I was impressed by his work in the back 50.

Rudi - thanks for the info on Fagan. Seems a great medium-like player (despite being physically taller), playing much like the porpus as Adelaide. Really great, strong mark in a pack, and accurate at goals.

halfback dasher
4 Jul 2010, 20:30
WOW....:eek: Never thought i would see the day that the Boxhill board would over shadow the other hawk boards....Some first rate post here.WD all.....top reads all around.....:thumbsu: Mr Hopkins and others ....be proud.....:)

Hawker08
4 Jul 2010, 20:40
I was hoping Dowler with his 4 goals was a good player for us. Apparently he wasn't . . .?

Dowler did enough for me to suggest he has plenty of ability and from what I saw could easily play a role like Morton did earlier in the year.

Like I have already posted ...he made the most of his opportunities, taking a couple of good grabs but he wasn't exactly up against Brian Lake or Ben Rutten.
He seems like a player who would benefit from playing with quality players around him as he relies so much on good supply from up the ground in his current role at BH.

On several occasions he was caught behind when the ball came in quickly
which is more of a mental thing than ability.

As Lord Mud said ...good lead up forward with great kick but once it hit the deck he struggled. I

In all honesty he'd be doing no worse than Rough in the 1's from what I saw.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
4 Jul 2010, 20:40

Beau had a good game.

He was wasted in the ruck and he just does not like that heavy body on body contact.

He was far more comfortable one on one in the forward line and whilst there was a major threat to the Gold Coast defence because of his leading and marking ability.

My critique is based on how I see him as an AFL player where he would be subjected to relentless physical pressure and would not have the space and time presented to him yesterday .

go hawks!!!
4 Jul 2010, 20:48
Beau had a good game.

He was wasted in the ruck and he just does not like that heavy body on body contact.

He was far more comfortable one on one in the forward line and whilst there was a major threat to the Gold Coast defence because of his leading and marking ability.

My critique is based on how I see him as an AFL player where he would be subjected to relentless physical pressure and would not have the space and time presented to him yesterday .

And thanks again.

HB Dasher - as box hill supporters, I am sure we really enjoy contributing to this board, the 'hawk-eye' for our future talent.

Re dowler, that is great to see, I just hope he can take the confidence from this game to Box Hill next week against the Bullants. Again to all, get down there and encourage him. It will be great if he turns it around in the next few weeks, and can push his way into the 1st as a third forward (which is the role the club saw him in during the pre-season).

Re Dowlers one on one, well, that is due to his poor development/ treatment by the club in previous years where he played on the wing, and did not do much one-on-one. You will find that dowler's weight is less than 90kg (correct me if i'm wrong), at 196cm, that is light! I can tell you its not his fault.

Why player dowler in the ruck, when there is renton, peddo and lisle? bemusing!

A couple of good games and dowler will be compared to Lazarus, as many of us on the board have written him off. Its in the clubs interest for Dowler to fulfil his potential and believe in himself immediately.

Good to see Lisle do well, he is getting the recognition by being named as an emergency.

rdhopkins2
4 Jul 2010, 20:54
Credit to all those posting throughout the Hawthorn Big Footy family of forums and the mods past and present who have put in a heap of work over the years. This week has shown how far we reach interstate and the committment of our interstate contributors to post such amazing reports. Fantastic effort!

Great to see a few more people reading the boards and hopefully some of these noobs will post a few thoughts too. If you have something to say; don't think, do! And keep getting along to as many games as possible, both Hawthorn and Box Hill!!

The past few weeks have been fantastic on the Hawthorn BF forums. Let's keep it up on the main Hawk board, Box Hill sub-board, Hawk Eye and the Mustard Pot!

Thanks to Pete and the 3WBC crew for their committment to Box Hill games. I'm sure those that have heard the calls appreciate their volunteering efforts and enjoy the call and match analysis they provide.

Anyhow....the Box Hill discussion must continue.....carry on folks!

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
4 Jul 2010, 20:55
You have raised the bar with the match reports Lord Mud. Greatly appreciated review of the game.

Gold Coast are a pretty weak side so expected us to win fairly comfortably. The output from our hawks listed players sounded pretty typical - there are obvious players who lack consistency week in week out and these are the ones that will be in trouble at season's end. Good to hear Sierakowski was in the seniors as don't mind him but he needs a strong finish to the season if he is to keep his afl dream alive.

Will appears to be an incremental player in that he will improve in bursts instead of steady development. Whether those bursts bring him to the standard required to stay on the list for the end of this season remains to be seen.

Scholarship players are identified and selected because they meet certain criteria demanded by all clubs. Leadership is one of them and the fact that he is willing to give orders to more senior players is a big positive. In racing parlance, worth watching.

grizzlym
4 Jul 2010, 21:03
And thanks again.

HB Dasher - as box hill supporters, I am sure we really enjoy contributing to this board, the 'hawk-eye' for our future talent.

Re dowler, that is great to see, I just hope he can take the confidence from this game to Box Hill next week against the Bullants. Again to all, get down there and encourage him. It will be great if he turns it around in the next few weeks, and can push his way into the 1st as a third forward (which is the role the club saw him in during the pre-season).

Re Dowlers one on one, well, that is due to his poor development/ treatment by the club in previous years where he played on the wing, and did not do much one-on-one. You will find that dowler's weight is less than 90kg (correct me if i'm wrong), at 196cm, that is light! I can tell you its not his fault.

A couple of good games and dowler will be compared to Lazarus, as many of us on the board have written him off. Its in the clubs interest for Dowler to fulfil his potential and believe in himself immediately.

Good to see Lisle do well, he is getting the recognition by being named as an emergency.

Dowler still has a role to play - the club hasn't written him off just yet.

Reading this thread is like the reserves of old; getting a feel for the players that are the future of our club. (Shame that it doesn't exactly eork out like that with the draft and all.)

halfback dasher
4 Jul 2010, 21:06
G'day Gang.

Back from the Gold Coast trip (with very little sleep).

If you've got any questions about the game (or the GCFC) just ask.

Pete @ 3WBC (about to get some sleep!!)
Pete....when ya going to get One of the Boxhill BF boys in during a game...:thumbsu:Will make more people aware of big footy and in turn your station......streanghen the alignment and unit both party's......RD , step up for mine.....:) :footy::heart:

Hawker08
4 Jul 2010, 21:08
fault.

Massive rotations went on for reasons only the coaching staff would be privy but agree Dowler looked lost in that spot. Had he been left at FF I'd say confidently he would have kicked 6+.

With 7 wins in a row and Gibbo and Brown due back against the Cats, Lisle looks like staying on the emergency list unfortunately.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
4 Jul 2010, 21:24
Whilst I've got your attention, do you think Gibson (Sam) could make it at AFL level?

I've got a bit of time for him and felt he would've been the logical 'insurance' for Young but he's never got a look in, despite being one of our most consistent performers when rookied.

Seems like the forgotten man.

I will be very surprised if Sam Gibson is not picked up in one of this years drafts.

In a 16 game competition he would be a fringe player. In an expanded 18 team competition where there is a bigger spread of talent he could well be a regular.

I do not see him as a reserve for Young instead I see Kaylor Thompson and a built up Savage in that role.

And

Soaring Hawk is spot on regarding Fagan. I would include him amongst Box Hills' best although I do not see him as a potential AFL player.

Hawker08
4 Jul 2010, 21:33
I will be very surprised if Sam Gibson is not picked up in one of this years drafts.

In a 16 game competition he would be a fringe player. In an expanded 18 team competition where there is a bigger spread of talent he could well be a regular.

I do not see him as a reserve for Young instead I see Kaylor Thompson and a built up Savage in that role.

And

Soaring Hawk is spot on regarding Fagan. I would include him amongst Box Hills' best although I do not see him as a potential AFL player.

On yesterday's performance I'd say Curnow or Pederson would be short listed for an AFL Club in 2011. Agree about Fagan. Solid but doesn't appear to be a game breaker. Savage + 5kg = 1's regular

medusala
5 Jul 2010, 00:07
If a forward gets the break and receives a pinpoint pass then not even an Ursane Bolt is going to stop it. And as for needing pace to run off the backline. Well, that was yesterday. Clubs are now playing contested Footy.In my opinion a vital player in Hawthorn’s future.

LM,

very informative and interesting point you make above. I keep hearing re forward line pressure, the need to play more than one position etc etc However, I am still yet to be convinced by the argument re the death of the "old fashioned" sort of forward (FF in particular). Think of Hudson, Lockett and even Dunstall.

Fashions change and it's worth keeping an open mind. I would have thought the club captain is a decent case in point. Ditto some of the mature age rookies of late.

matty_hawk
5 Jul 2010, 13:02
Well, you guys did a great write up. I guess ill do a small write up on what i thought about the game.

Q1. Started extremely slowly. Smashed out of the middle in the 1st 10 mins. I'm not one to complain about umpiring but there were a few that went against us early. Josh Gibson looked a cut above the rest, his closing speed a few times on the lead was 1st rate, didn’t look near it but got a fist in. The team got some run at the end of the quarter but too little too late. Dowler pushed up the ground and looked absolutely lost. IMO he need to be left inside 50 at all times. I was extremely impressed with our 1st ruck option (Renton) who i thought was the only option we used who held his own in the land of the giants. It was at the 15min mark of the 1st quarter that 2 girls came around and handed out those stupid GC inflatable chop sticks.

Quarter time break. My lovely fiancée went to the canteen and left me to look after her bag so i didn’t get out there to see the boys close up.

Q2. Threw just about anyone over 180cm into the ruck to negate their big fella. At about the half way mark of the 2nd i found myself watching a Gold Coast player more than the box hill boys. Some bloke with a rat tail, number 43. I think he brought real estate on the scoreboard wing (Liam Patrick). I'll steer away from talking about games from of JKT Gibbo etc as they have been named already, I thought Tuck stood up and had a big influence on moving the ball our way. At one point as i was trying to work out which number was who i found myself watching number 2 and number 7 (Kenna, Curnow). Kenna for a laugh (god he is short) and Cornow for his ability.
Ball movement was fairly average to this point of the game and you could really notice the AFL listed blokes. Once again Dowler lumbered about with no real influence in the middle, but pushed forwared well

Half Time. As my lovely fiancée was now more interested in a little baby girl who was sitting next to us i knew i had to get out of there. I took my Hawthorn footy out onto the ground to check the conditions. The boundary pretty much across the entire scoreboard wing was wet, but if you walked 10m in from there the ground was relatively dry.
Q 3 Goals to Morton, JKT early set up what was to be a walk over quarter, we pretty much controlled everything. Dowler set up our 3 (or 4th) goal for the quarter because he was lost in a 2 on 2 situation on the HFF which summed up his game for me. He found himself under the ball when he was in the best position initially, the ball was punched at him and he bombed it to the goal square where (i think) Lisle was running into an open goal. I thought this was Shiels’ best quarter. Just before the siren went one of the kids who was playing around us decided to entertain the crowd by landing flat on his back in about 4 inches of water, to the applause of about 50 people.
3 Quarter time. Went out to the huddle and noticed Whitecross very much acting like a captain(as mentioned earlier). Had a lot to say and was very positive. I wanted to stand next to Dowler to measure myself against him. IMO i thought he was about 192cm, as i am 190cm and he didn't look taller than me.
Q4 Gold coast kicked the 1st from memory, then box hill kicked the next 2 and thats when i decided to leave. As i was walking around the ground we kicked another. Then the crowd boo'ed Khunt off the ground and i left with a smile on my face.

houdinihuddo
5 Jul 2010, 13:20
Thank you all for the reports on the Gold Coast game.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie, Ben Smithwick did not play so I was wondering what number was the player you were impressed with wearing. Ben wears 5 and played in the BHH DS on Sunday.

This season I have made a decision not to post my thoughts on HFC and BHH players due to my role at BHH. However as a one-off I must share my excitement of the promising form of Luke "Sticks" Lowden in the last two games. Luke has very good skills for a 204cm player and his clean ball handling and disposal has been very encouraging particularly considering he has only played 4 games after missing 18 months of football due to injury. The highlights of his game yesterday were a great chase, run down and tackle and a sensational running goal from the boundary line. For the goal Luke was involved in the play from around the half back/wing area to half forward and kept running to receive a hand ball just outside the 50 metres line before splitting the middle of the goals from about 35 metres a la Buddy on the wrong side for a left footer. Luke does not turn 20 until 22nd February 2011 so no doubt the club will give him a number of years to build up his body and strength so I look forward to watching his development over the upcoming years.

FairCall
5 Jul 2010, 14:55
I agree both were absolute highlights! Luke's chase down of a fairly fleet footed small was super exciting even though he got done for too high on his opponent. Luke is a great shot at goal, very clean below the knees and as you say surprisingly agile for such a big man. He certainly has a way to go in building up his body but he has made significant progress. You look at Grimley and thats where Lowden was 12 months ago. They are the same age (both turned 19 in Jan & Feb respectively) I am looking forward to the "Sticks & Stones" combination in the future. Lowden is a very versatile player.

go hawks!!!
5 Jul 2010, 15:58
Thank you all for the reports on the Gold Coast game.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie, Ben Smithwick did not play so I was wondering what number was the player you were impressed with wearing. Ben wears 5 and played in the BHH DS on Sunday.

This season I have made a decision not to post my thoughts on HFC and BHH players due to my role at BHH. However as a one-off I must share my excitement of the promising form of Luke "Sticks" Lowden in the last two games. Luke has very good skills for a 204cm player and his clean ball handling and disposal has been very encouraging particularly considering he has only played 4 games after missing 18 months of football due to injury. The highlights of his game yesterday were a great chase, run down and tackle and a sensational running goal from the boundary line. For the goal Luke was involved in the play from around the half back/wing area to half forward and kept running to receive a hand ball just outside the 50 metres line before splitting the middle of the goals from about 35 metres a la Buddy on the wrong side for a left footer. Luke does not turn 20 until 22nd February 2011 so no doubt the club will give him a number of years to build up his body and strength so I look forward to watching his development over the upcoming years.

Agree, will be a star, as i've said for a while, he is 19, and not stix anymore. He is extremely agile. I watched him closely at training in the pre-season in the pre-season i was so impressed with his agility.

Lord Mud of Glenferrie
5 Jul 2010, 17:50
I noticed this morning that B Smithwick was mentioned amongst the best for the development squad.

So,

Who was wearing number 5 on Saturday?

The BIG X
5 Jul 2010, 21:10
I noticed this morning that B Smithwick was mentioned amongst the best for the development squad.

So,

Who was wearing number 5 on Saturday?

Sincerely hope you didn't spend $2 to buy an inaccurate Footy Record;)

Reckon HH will solve the matter when next at training:thumbsu:

CrowdedHouse
6 Jul 2010, 08:31
Maybe the person who thought Ben Smithwick was playing well was thing of Fagan?

No-one was wearing a number 5 on the weekend.

Carlyp asked what did I think of Morton's game?

A bit quiet for my liking. Normally gives more on the half-back line, usually helps set up the play, but that role seemed to be more for Milne and Suckling on Saturday.

Not saying he had a bad one, just the impact wasn't really noticed that much.

Pete @ 3WBC (Doing the Whitten game tonight from 7pm)

Ramma
6 Jul 2010, 11:32
Very enjoyable commentary from the boys and girls! Good job.

Edited for accuracy!

:)

rdhopkins2
6 Jul 2010, 19:34
HAWKS DEFEAT GOLD COAST

Flying to their fifth win, the Box Hill Hawks rose to the occasion against the Gold Coast to complete a comprehensive 56 point win away at Southport.

After the Gold Coast came out with intent in the opening term, the story changed for the rest of the match with Box Hill slamming on 16 goals to six, in the 19.16.(130) to 11.8.(74) victory............
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=645