View Full Version : Jobe Watson On One Week at a Time
table tennis
5 Jul 2010, 11:50
It will be interesting to hear from the Essendon skipper on One week at a time tonight on channel ONE.
Im sure Wallsy will be licking his chops to tear shreds into an Essendononain, especially after the listless performance that we put in on the weekend.
As a Member, I believe that the football club has to get on the front foot, and offer us an apology of some sorts. Whether that is a direct sorry or pledge that they will not put in a performance like that again (and deliver on thier promise)
Twice this year we have had to watch our side get whalloped in the first quarter (Anzac Day & Saturday night). Both instances, we started the first few minutes alright.
It will be interesting to see whether or not Jobe has answers for this performance. I hope he does, because if he doesn't, then it means that they do not know how to fix it.
hopefull we get something, so this anger I have & im sure you all do, can be filtered somewhere, rather than just idleing.
It will be interesting to see whether or not Jobe has answers for this performance
Matthew Knights and the team selection panel should be the ones answering that really.
Jobe can't do much more than go out and play his best.
table tennis
5 Jul 2010, 12:15
Matthew Knights and the team selection panel should be the ones answering that really.
Jobe can't do much more than go out and play his best.
As captain and a leader of our football club, he will be asked the question.
Being the leader on the park, I hope he has some insight to what goes on, and goes wrong on the park.
Someone has to relay feedback to MK and the coaching panel from the field.
bipolarbeaR
5 Jul 2010, 12:55
When is he coming on?
table tennis
5 Jul 2010, 13:06
When is he coming on?
They usually bring on the guest after the first lot of Adverts, usually 10-15 mins after it starts. They give Wallsy a time to rant before they get into things.
Pretty sure its on at 9.30pm.
Beerfish
5 Jul 2010, 13:24
Jobe at the mercy of Walls and his sidekick Quarterbrain.. poor kid.
bipolarbeaR
5 Jul 2010, 13:55
Awesome, cheers :D
Beerfish
5 Jul 2010, 14:12
Hopefully he puts Wallsy on his arse and says "Okay Steve, pull his pants down and you're good to go!"
Jobe at the mercy of Walls and his sidekick Quarterbrain.. poor kid.
Haha :), that's gold! My mates love quarters, and don't like a bad word said about him. But he just looks stunned all the time.
Poor little Quarters probably was in the special class when he was in primary school. Now he's a sports reporter. Makes you think
Duckworth
5 Jul 2010, 22:18
Jobe speaks really well. Doing the club proud. :thumbsu:
Also good to see another side of Knights.
Hopefully StantonLegend can be released from bet...
qaurter brain said fletcher is our only a grader
Well..
He has a full brain tonight.
Johnny619
5 Jul 2010, 23:09
Quarters is worse than Walls now. He has no idea what he is talking about half the time.
Luke Darcy is the only decent person on that show.
Well..
He has a full brain tonight.
Watson is a ****ing a grader
Is he on this years form?
Honestly speaking, and agreeing with Yaco55 on this topic, but Watson has not dominated games like he did last year. He is setting up more from the pack, but he is not truly dominating games like he did against St.Kilda in round 20 last year.
Jonesy10
6 Jul 2010, 00:40
I know stats aren't the whole story, but:
He has the 6th most disposals and the most contested possessions in the league. He's disposal efficiency is greater than Judd's and the same as Montagna's so that's not really an issue in regards to it either.
The AFL site didn't have the stats for centre clearences, but I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that he was near top for that too.
I don't get along to games too much so I can't really comment on his domination, but I sort of agree with your reasoning - but although he may not have blown apart a lot of games he has been consistently great. I'd class him as an A grader, but each to their own...
Shane Hird
6 Jul 2010, 00:42
Quarterbrain is so ####ing pathetic it's not funny.
He winds up like he's been waiting to unleash a long overdue bagging of the EFC and introduces it with something like " This is just a list I've drawn up ranking Essendon's topline players".
"Sorry Jobe, no offence but Fletcher is your only A grader "
Walls chimes in with "...and he's 34!! "
Just as Qtr-a-brain gets ready to follow up with a probable 3minute ramble about how disppointing our players are, Darcy cuts him off and sticks up for Jobe and says " Sorry Quarters,(you ###wit)*, I think Jobe is an A grader..."
Qtrs didn't get to bag us as much as he liked.
#### he's knob.
*I put that in. He didn't really say it.
I know stats aren't the whole story, but:
He has the 6th most disposals and the most contested possessions in the league. He's disposal efficiency is greater than Judd's and the same as Montagna's so that's not really an issue in regards to it either.
The AFL site didn't have the stats for centre clearences, but I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that he was near top for that too.
I don't get along to games too much so I can't really comment on his domination, but I sort of agree with your reasoning - but although he may not have blown apart a lot of games he has been consistently great. I'd class him as an A grader, but each to their own...
Montagna has kicked nearly 20 goals this year - Big difference.
And Judd has been tagged 9 out of 11 games.
Watson has had a hard tag 3 times out of 14.
Is he on this years form?
Honestly speaking, and agreeing with Yaco55 on this topic, but Watson has not dominated games like he did last year. He is setting up more from the pack, but he is not truly dominating games like he did against St.Kilda in round 20 last year.
HFF
Dont expect watson to dominate like he did both times last year against StKilda but gee he doesnt cop a hard tag often.
He was tagged on Saturday and was close to awful.
BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
6 Jul 2010, 02:13
Quarterbrain is so ####ing pathetic it's not funny.
He winds up like he's been waiting to unleash a long overdue bagging of the EFC and introduces it with something like " This is just a list I've drawn up ranking Essendon's topline players".
"Sorry Jobe, no offence but Fletcher is your only A grader "
Walls chimes in with "...and he's 34!! "
Just as Qtr-a-brain gets ready to follow up with a probable 3minute ramble about how disppointing our players are, Darcy cuts him off and sticks up for Jobe and says " Sorry Quarters,(you ###wit)*, I think Jobe is an A grader..."
Qtrs didn't get to bag us as much as he liked.
#### he's knob.
*I put that in. He didn't really say it.
Agree,also Darcy is becoming one of my favourites to whatch not because he stuck up for Jobe but he is the only one worth listining to on that show and like Darcy said the list isnt that bad what people are making out to be.
Eleven 38
6 Jul 2010, 05:16
seriously guys if you want to watch a footy show with walls and quarters dont get upset with what they say, quarters definately doesnt have any credibility and he barracks for hawthorn, walls has a little bit because he played the game but hates us...
just dont watch it...dont even know why we would bother putting a player on that show.
I didn't see it, but can anyone tell me what they quizzed Watson about, other than what has been mentioned already regarding Quarterbrain and Walls being wankers at the outset?
For what it's worth, I reckon Hird gave a fair assessment last night on On The Couch when he said that middle of the road sides struggle when they lose key players, so when Essendon lose Monfries, Hille, Fletcher, Pears, we can't cover them in the manner of a team like Geelong. That was pretty spot on with where we are at, we are middle of the road at present.
The Donners
6 Jul 2010, 10:30
I've come to the point where I don't watch any football interviews etc. The players never say what they really think so what's the point? There are too many cliches and their answers are as guarded as a politician's.
DVD Player
6 Jul 2010, 10:32
What a joke, only two potential A graders? Quarterbrain has got to be kidding. They sit there having a wank over Dawes, but Gumby doesn't even qualify for a "potential" (not saying much) A grade status.
Patrick Smith this morning said we had no A, B or C graders. He actually said we have no good players at all.
Stock standard from Pat.
Patrick Smith this morning said we had no A, B or C graders. He actually said we have no good players at all.
Stock standard from Pat.
That's 100% delusional. Granted our current form is pretty ordinary, but he is saying we beat St Kilda, the Dogs and the Whoreks with nothing but D graders or less?
That either says we have a decent batch of crap footballers, or it says nothing for those top sides we have beaten.
Wanker.
That's 100% delusional. Granted our current form is pretty ordinary, but he is saying we beat St Kilda, the Dogs and the Whoreks with nothing but D graders or less?
That either says we have a decent batch of crap footballers, or it says nothing for those top sides we have beaten.
Wanker.
He said the only reason we beat them was because all those teams were traveling poorly at the time... :confused:
Knight Ryders
6 Jul 2010, 12:43
This is typical media bullshit. Sticking the boots in when a team is down. They show hardly any fortitude or foresight in their predictions (except for may be Sheeds with Freo being closer to a premiership window than Essendon which appears fairly reasonable given this year and we howled and laughed at him).
Eight weeks ago, Richmond were the worst side to ever play AFL. Flick forward 2 months and Jack Riewoldt and Dustin Martin are the best kids to ever lace up boots. Get where I'm going with this?
If we win the next 4 we will all of a sudden be finals bound and they'll be crowing about Zaharakis development (how does he always fly under the radar?), Houli's inclusion (pre-emptive), Ryder close to AA selection....It's just the way the media goes.
Shane Hird
6 Jul 2010, 14:05
I didn't see it, but can anyone tell me what they quizzed Watson about, other than what has been mentioned already regarding Quarterbrain and Walls being wankers at the outset?
For what it's worth, I reckon Hird gave a fair assessment last night on On The Couch when he said that middle of the road sides struggle when they lose key players, so when Essendon lose Monfries, Hille, Fletcher, Pears, we can't cover them in the manner of a team like Geelong. That was pretty spot on with where we are at, we are middle of the road at present.
Qtrs asked him which young players at EFC have the potential to be an A grader and Jobe said "Dempsey". That was a surprise.
I was pretty impressed with how Watson spoke. He has come along way since that classic donut first game he played. When you hear other captains like Maxwell speak and compare that to how Jobe comes across-he's a very impressive young man and a great role model for young Bomber supporters...he did well trying to not get pissed off with Qtrbrain's negative attitude. That famous Watson smirk was out and showing he can't be rattled by a moron like Qrters.
Darcy basically ruined Qtrbrain's momemt to get stuck into us by cutting him off and talking for a few minutes about more positive things and before you knew it, they had to move on to something else.
Qrters also has that rude, annoying habit of getting his pen and jotting something down on his pad while someone is speaking to him about something.
Thinks his #### don't stink.
Beerfish
6 Jul 2010, 17:03
Luke Darcy is the only decent person on that show.
True that.
The players never say what they really think so what's the point? There are too many cliches and their answers are as guarded as a politician's.
Also that.. I guess I was just hoping for something.
Pretty clever the way they tried to ambush Jobe by starting the interview off talking about Tim Watson's tea towel scarf. That's right, get him laughing it's all fun and games and then BANG.. Jobe, the Bombers were awful on Saturday night etc, etc, etc. Oh shit.. I have to stop laughing now and I better not still have a smile on my face.
Wouldn't expect anything less from those two peanuts.
Also liked how Darcy had a go at Quarterbrain for being up and about about the Hawks all of a sudden by mentioning it was a stark contrast to round fourish when he was saying it was "season over" and had "completely dropped his bundle".
BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
6 Jul 2010, 18:57
Stock standard from Pat.
He is a dead set ****wit that bloke.only comes out to saying something when Essendon is going through a rough patch kick them while there down.I dont think he has ever wrote a positive article about Esssendon,even during the 3 game wining streak and when Essendon was starting to play some consistant football during that 8 week period.How about start surporting the club and stop being a Sheedy lover and MOVE ON the last thing EFC needs ****wits like him bringing the club down lower to where they are atm.
james_omahoney
6 Jul 2010, 20:33
And according to quarters, McVeigh is a B+ player. Since when: 2008? He's C+ to B since he was injured. Good, but nothing more. Quarters, pull your socks up mate.
Beerfish
6 Jul 2010, 21:00
That's a really good point. I'm glad you said that because it jogged my memory. I remember thinking exactly the same thing.
His rating of our list was conceived either by:
a) someone who has no idea about our club
b) someone who doesn't watch us much
c) someone who hates our club and has an axe to grind/would get personal pleasure from kicking us while we're down
d) a "journalist" who was just hoping for some kind of headline worthy reaction
OR
e) all of the above
bipolarbeaR
6 Jul 2010, 21:01
McVeigh is an amazing player... for some reason he is played in the backline though NEED HIM IN THE MIDDLE!
I'd definately give McVeigh a run in the midfield, at least he has a half decent delivery inside 50.
B: Hardingham Hurley Hocking
HB: Dempsey T.Slattery Hooker