View Full Version : Neagle to be named this week says Knights
BomberTime
6 Jul 2010, 12:38
At least he is is trying something and giving the big fella a go, hope he does well.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/97604/default.aspx
Hopefully williams isnt too far away.
Gee, pick players on their performances. Jay has not done that much for Bendigo the last month or so. Another questionable decision by Knights IMO.
Gambelic
6 Jul 2010, 12:55
I'm not trolling here, but how could someone who was supposed to be the answer to your forward line worries not play since round 1 ? Young KPP take time, and it's something I'd like to see at Carlton with Henderson, is let them know you support them and give them extended game time. It must be hard knowing you are going out to play for your spot week by week, I think Neagle would perform better knowing he had the faith of the coach and he'd get a decent run to prove himself. You are 5-9 I think, why not let him play the year out and re assess after that.
Gee, pick players on their performances. Jay has not done that much for Bendigo the last month or so. Another questionable decision by Knights IMO.
Come off it, Knights and his crew should be commended for holding off this long in selecting Neagle. Most supporters have been crying out for the big lump to get a geurnsey, but Knights has been waiting for just a glimpse of some form for many weeks, and finally got some on the weekend. The ball is now squarely with Neaagle.
He kicked three and our forward line managed five goals over the weekend.
I say give him a crack.
I'm not trolling here, but how could someone who was supposed to be the answer to your forward line worries not play since round 1 ? Young KPP take time, and it's something I'd like to see at Carlton with Henderson, is let them know you support them and give them extended game time. It must be hard knowing you are going out to play for your spot week by week, I think Neagle would perform better knowing he had the faith of the coach and he'd get a decent run to prove himself. You are 5-9 I think, why not let him play the year out and re assess after that.
I mostly agree with that, but the difference between the Blue and Bombers was that Carlton had virtually no choice but to play Henderson (as you KPF stocks are/were razor thin). Whereas Essendon had several options to choose from.
Definetely give him a crack for the next two or three weeks at the least though.
bombermick
6 Jul 2010, 13:18
I'm happy to give him 2-3 weeks to show us what he's got. Does this mean Hurley is likely to go back? Would be pretty top heavy with Hurley, Gumby, Neagle and the resting ruck up forward.
WeAreEssendon
6 Jul 2010, 13:25
Last night on On The Couch Hird said Neagle wasn't up to it. Pretty strong stuff coming from Hirdy.
It might have been pre-planned knowing he'd be getting game this week.
BomberTime
6 Jul 2010, 13:30
Last night on On The Couch Hird said Neagle wasn't up to it. Pretty strong stuff coming from Hirdy.
It might have been pre-planned knowing he'd be getting game this week.
I saw that too and found it interesting as hirdy never really questions a players ability or future...so we will say what effect it has. Just hope the midfielders can give him something that he can pluck..he is a beautiful kick for goal..textbook.
We have had lots of media attention this week and its only tuesday so hopefully see a more committed essendon this weekened.
The Donners
6 Jul 2010, 13:32
Knights is the definition of delusional.
Shane Hird
6 Jul 2010, 13:36
Hirdy should remember what he was like in his first couple of seasons and how he struggled to adapt to AFL level...remember Ablett Snr kicking all those goals on you James?
But he's only saying what we all think about Neagle. Deep down we have grave doubts about his ability to make it as a top line forward...but we hope like hell we are all proved wrong and that he gets his footy brain switched on and starts taking mutiple marks and slotting through goals.
Son of Merv...good luck to you son:thumbsu:
Knights is the definition of delusional.
You're like the car with bad shockers- can't cope with a few bumps along the road.
The Donners
6 Jul 2010, 13:49
You're like the car with bad shockers- can't cope with a few bumps along the road.
You're like the guy that doesn't know me yet thinks he does.
If you don't like reading the bleeding obvious you do have an ignore button. Btw, there's been more than a few bumps over the past 2-3 years, maybe there's some sort of correlation? I'll let you work it out.
Mr Mojo Risin
6 Jul 2010, 13:56
Very happy if it happens provided he is given a number of weeks to get in the rhythm of AFL and shown the confidence that he will be persisted with as the full forward.
You're like the guy that doesn't know me yet thinks he does.
If you don't like reading the bleeding obvious you do have an ignore button. Btw, there's been more than a few bumps over the past 2-3 years, maybe there's some sort of correlation? I'll let you work it out.
I'm happy to have no idea who you are.
Don't have a problem reading your misery guts, just responding with my version.
Got a handle on Knights psychological condition have you? You must know him pretty well ?
HighettBomber
6 Jul 2010, 14:04
Come off it, Knights and his crew should be commended for holding off this long in selecting Neagle. Most supporters have been crying out for the big lump to get a geurnsey, but Knights has been waiting for just a glimpse of some form for many weeks, and finally got some on the weekend. The ball is now squarely with Neaagle.
The problem is that performance in the VFL seems to have very little impact on selection. Neagle played a number of very good games in the early rounds, but couldn't get his spot back. I remember seeing us play against Collingwood VFL, our best players were Neagle, Jetta, Howlett and Houli, the next week the ins were (from memory) Lonergan, Prismall Atkinson and Howlett. Only one of our better players earned a game and apart from Howlett the others were all pretty ordinary.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:06
He kicked three and our forward line managed five goals over the weekend.
I say give him a crack.
What? He kicked 3 out of 21.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7602
SCORES:
Bendigo Bombers: 3.3, 10.5, 15.8, 21.10 (136)
Frankston: 2.4, 3.6, 5.9, 5.10 (40)
GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: Liddle 3, Neagle 3, Duscher 3, Colyer 3, Page 2, Myers 2, Cloke, Carlisle, Howlett, Atkinson, Dyson
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7602
So I guess this means Hurley goes down back or Gumby gets dropped. I thought Hurls was being groomed as a full forward. This constant changing of position for Hurley must be hindering his development. If he is going to be the star forward that we all want and know he can be, he has to play there consistently. I hate how he is used as a swingman. If he is being groomed as an Adam Hunter type i'd be disappointed, and many others would as well.
Knights, get the back and forward structure sorted and settle Hurls down.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:19
You know you are struggling if Neagle gets a callup. I honestly would not be against using a Carlton-like forwardline and see how it goes. Go small with one KPP forward to create a contest.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:19
So I guess this means Hurley goes down back or Gumby gets dropped. I thought Hurls was being groomed as a full forward. This constant changing of position for Hurley must be hindering his development. If he is going to be the star forward that we all want and know he can be, he has to play there consistently. I hate how he is used as a swingman. If he is being groomed as an Adam Hunter type i'd be disappointed, and many others would as well.
No, the article says that Neagle and Gumby should play together the rest of the season.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:20
Hurley played down back last week for the last quarter- it was the best he had played all season. He is a natural full back, he is NOT a natural full forward. Play him in the backline, nothing wrong with leaving him there!
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:21
You know you are struggling if Neagle gets a callup. I honestly would not be against using a Carlton-like forwardline and see how it goes. Go small with one KPP forward to create a contest.
We have done that. It didn't work.
Ben the Gooner
6 Jul 2010, 14:23
Watching the Adelaide game, the thought than ran through my mind the most (apart from, "**** this" or "**** me, not again") was "we need a ****ing full forward". Hurley and Gumbleton are both CHFs, and could be a deadly combination leading up opposite sides of the ground.
Glad to see Knights agrees with me.
Is Williams in for surgery on his foot, or just resting?
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:25
We have done that. It didn't work.
Try Jetta as a marking forward he wasn't there when we went small, even Colyer would be worth a punt up forward. Lets see if it works with quicker players.
Only 8 games before Knights gets punted!:thumbsu:
Hurley played down back last week for the last quarter- it was the best he had played all season. He is a natural full back, he is NOT a natural full forward. Play him in the backline, nothing wrong with leaving him there!
I never said he was a natural full forward. The point I made was that he was meant to be groomed into a forward. How is he going to really excel in that position if he is constantly switching between back and forward? Hurls will never be a superstar if he isn't settled down.
I thought the structure going forward was Pears and Hooker down back and Hurls and Gumby up forward, we should stick with that. We have enough cover down back and forward to leave players at one end of the ground.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:35
I would much rather have Hurley in the backline with Pears and Hooker taking the 2nd/3rd best forwards. Plus I like the idea of Pears being groomed as a rebounding defender rather than a stay at home full back. I actually don't know what we will do up forward, Gumbleton is one at CHF, but we need a full forward, maybe Carlile is the answer there, maybe Still or possibly Neagle. All 3 are natural forwards. I don't like playing players out of position which is what we are doing with Hurley.
What? He kicked 3 out of 21.
And?
We were atrocious on the weekend, and he was the leading goal kicker (equal) in a big win in the seconds.
He's big and powerful, playing for his career and the teams hopes are basically dashed for the year.
So yes, I say again, give him a crack.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:38
Try Jetta as a marking forward he wasn't there when we went small, even Colyer would be worth a punt up forward. Lets see if it works with quicker players.
Only 8 games before Knights gets punted!:thumbsu:
Well, I guess Davey is capable of taking more marks in the forward line than I originally thought. To compare to Carlton like you did, Eddie Betts has been taking some marks too.
I don't think that this is a long term solution though. For starters we don't have the skills to hit large leading forwards, let alone small ones.
Knights will still be here this year, and next year too. Sacking Knights won't solve any problems. He is learning (as said by Jobe last night) and the players support him. Making the coach the scapegoat is more Richmonds style.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:43
Well taht is what I would do, have 2 or 3 crumbing forwards next to Gumbleton, and see what happens.
If Knights is here next year, I will be physically sick. They thought Hardwick was the wrong choice..well EFC how is that working out now? Fair dinkum they made a shocker of a call. Still maintain we need an experienced coach and Mark Williams or Leigh Matthews top my list, or Paul Roos but I doubt he'll come.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:47
And?
3 out of 5 is different to 3 out of 21. :confused:
We were atrocious on the weekend, and he was the leading goal kicker (equal) in a big win in the seconds.
He's big and powerful, playing for his career and the teams hopes are basically dashed for the year.
So yes, I say again, give him a crack.
Well Knights agrees, that he will be given a go for the remainder of the year to see what he can do.
I disagree that he is "being rewarded for the effort" (as the article says) on the weekend though. 3 goals playing at FF when your team kicks 21 is hardly demanding a recall.
He is coming in because... Meh why not.
Ben the Gooner
6 Jul 2010, 14:48
Well taht is what I would do, have 2 or 3 crumbing forwards next to Gumbleton, and see what happens.
If Knights is here next year, I will be physically sick. They thought Hardwick was the wrong choice..well EFC how is that working out now? Fair dinkum they made a shocker of a call. Still maintain we need an experienced coach and Mark Williams or Leigh Matthews top my list, or Paul Roos but I doubt he'll come.
Mark Williams? Really?
Port's shambolic last 5 years isn't ringing alarm bells about him?
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 14:52
Have a read on the Port board about what they think of chocco. IIRC they have an 'Official sack the coach' thread.
Remember too that Knights did improve our ladder position at the start too (like Hardwick). It's easier to get yourself off the bottom, than get yourself into the top 4. Jury is still out on Hardwick. Roos I'll give you :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
6 Jul 2010, 14:54
3 out of 5 is different to 3 out of 21.
I think he's saying that he kicked three, which is a decent return, and the seniors only kicked 5, so we need to try something.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:55
Mark Williams? Really?
Port's shambolic last 5 years isn't ringing alarm bells about him?
2 minor premierships plus a premiership say he can coach very well. We need an experienced guy to teach this team to DEFEND. I'd be happy with Williams or even the last North Melbourne coach (name is slipping my mind).
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 14:57
Have a read on the Port board about what they think of chocco. IIRC they have an 'Official sack the coach' thread.
Remember too that Knights did improve our ladder position at the start too (like Hardwick). It's easier to get yourself off the bottom, than get yourself into the top 4. Jury is still out on Hardwick. Roos I'll give you :thumbsu:
How has Knights improved our position? We are in the same position (if not worse) than when Sheedy left! Sometimes the worst thing to do is not make a decision. I would rather the club make a decision now. I would not be against Hardwick being an assistant with an experienced head coach though.
Watching the Adelaide game, the thought than ran through my mind the most (apart from, "**** this" or "**** me, not again") was "we need a ****ing full forward". Hurley and Gumbleton are both CHFs, and could be a deadly combination leading up opposite sides of the ground
Well Hille usually plays as our full forward when he's in which works well.
Ben the Gooner
6 Jul 2010, 15:13
2 minor premierships plus a premiership say he can coach very well. We need an experienced guy to teach this team to DEFEND. I'd be happy with Williams or even the last North Melbourne coach (name is slipping my mind).
What about the hugely embarrassing chokes in the finals series with those teams. Let's face it, they're chronic underachievers.
Well Hille usually plays as our full forward when he's in which works well.
For about a third of the game. It worked very well when we could do it, but I don't think it's viable long term.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 15:13
How has Knights improved our position? We are in the same position (if not worse) than when Sheedy left! Sometimes the worst thing to do is not make a decision. I would rather the club make a decision now. I would not be against Hardwick being an assistant with an experienced head coach though.
I was meaning that Knights improved our ladder position last year.
I understand you don't like Knights, but if you're going to make a decision you've got to replace him with someone better. If you could convince Roos... go ahead. Otherwise I don't see many significantly better alternatives. Do you?
3 out of 5 is different to 3 out of 21. :confused:
Obviously....
The point being that our forward line was completely defunct, and Neagle was the best in our seconds the same week.
Well Knights agrees, that he will be given a go for the remainder of the year to see what he can do.
At least a month, if he isn't showing anything then its curtains.
I disagree that he is "being rewarded for the effort" (as the article says) on the weekend though. 3 goals playing at FF when your team kicks 21 is hardly demanding a recall.
I agree, I think it's a case of best of what we have at the moment.
He is coming in because... Meh why not.
Pretty much.
stay true
6 Jul 2010, 16:15
I'm glad that Neagle is getting another chance. Even if it's just because he's the only genuine full forward we have.
I can understand some peoples concerns about him only kicking 3 in a big win where the team kicked 21 but 3 is better than 0. I remember Leigh Matthews say a few months ago that picking players on from in the VFL isn't black and white. Some players who can cut it at AFL level just never dominate at VFL level yet some players who dominate VFL level can't cut it at AFL level. I'm not saying that Jay is AFL quality at the moment but there is no denying he has AFL quality talent. Hopefully we'll see it more often in the senior team.
Has anyone who reads the "in the mix" articles on the AFL website notice that a lot of the "spuds" from the Eagles and Dockers absolutely tear it up in the WAFL and do next to nothing in the AFL? McKinnley does this regularly... puts up 25 touches and 7 goals in the WAFL and does squat when he's picked. Just an observation.
Great grab and kick, shit fitness though
The Donners
6 Jul 2010, 17:05
I don't think it's viable long term.
+ 1 :thumbsu:
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 17:16
I'm glad that Neagle is getting another chance. Even if it's just because he's the only genuine full forward we have.
I can understand some peoples concerns about him only kicking 3 in a big win where the team kicked 21 but 3 is better than 0. I remember Leigh Matthews say a few months ago that picking players on from in the VFL isn't black and white. Some players who can cut it at AFL level just never dominate at VFL level yet some players who dominate VFL level can't cut it at AFL level. I'm not saying that Jay is AFL quality at the moment but there is no denying he has AFL quality talent. Hopefully we'll see it more often in the senior team.
Has anyone who reads the "in the mix" articles on the AFL website notice that a lot of the "spuds" from the Eagles and Dockers absolutely tear it up in the WAFL and do next to nothing in the AFL? McKinnley does this regularly... puts up 25 touches and 7 goals in the WAFL and does squat when he's picked. Just an observation.
You are too well reasoned for this board Stay True. Out of interest do you know what Hardinghams form in the WAFL was like?
stay true
6 Jul 2010, 17:33
You are too well reasoned for this board Stay True. Out of interest do you know what Hardinghams form in the WAFL was like?
No more than what you already know from the draft reports mate. He was pretty highly rated in the WAFL though from what I gather.
Rocky_Star_Pro
6 Jul 2010, 17:43
I'm happy Neagle is back in this week, I think his inclusion is a good one, as we can have Hurley going down back and providing additional support to our back men, this will also be Neagle and Gumby's third game playing together. Also, I would rather persist with Knights than sack him for Mark Williams, the man has ruined Port since the 2004 grand final.
Sheedy has 4 flags, 7 GF appearances, 9 prelim appearances, you want him back?
I like the Neagle inclusion, hopefully he shows us what he can do and hopefully it straightens us up a bit more.
DVD Player
6 Jul 2010, 18:37
This is the kind of stuff we need to see. Neagle, Hurley, Riemers, Melksham, Gumby, Hooker, T.Slattery, Zaka ect ect should all play out the year, regardless of form. The season is done and dusted, and we need to determine who will be something, and who wont
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 18:46
I was meaning that Knights improved our ladder position last year.
I understand you don't like Knights, but if you're going to make a decision you've got to replace him with someone better. If you could convince Roos... go ahead. Otherwise I don't see many significantly better alternatives. Do you?
Did we really improve even last year? 10 wins is what we got last year, in any other year we would have finished 10th at best. I don't hate Knights, I gave him a chance, in fact I have given him more than usual. I have cut him slack but he continues to play favourites and it has cost our team time and time again. We are better than the way we are playing.
One of Roos, Williams, Sumich, Dean Laidley, Leigh Matthews will do.
Ben the Gooner
6 Jul 2010, 18:48
Did we really improve even last year? 10 wins is what we got last year, in any other year we would have finished 10th at best.
We finished a game and a half clear in the finals.
I suggest that Neagle is probably in because Gumbleton is struggling and will probably be dropped to Bendigo.
Would like Hurley to play forward for 3 reasons
- can get by with T.Slattery and Hooker as tall defenders against melbourne
- Dont think that Neagle is a long term option
- Hurley needs to be settled in the forward line. We are asking a 21 game player to be a KP utility.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 19:06
Did we really improve even last year? 10 wins is what we got last year, in any other year we would have finished 10th at best. I don't hate Knights, I gave him a chance, in fact I have given him more than usual. I have cut him slack but he continues to play favourites and it has cost our team time and time again. We are better than the way we are playing.
One of Roos, Williams, Sumich, Dean Laidley, Leigh Matthews will do.
Agree our position was somewhat inflated... Using your example of Richmond though, don't you think there position is also inflated? Take an in form Jack Riewoldt out of that team and what have you got?
Apart from Roos, I don't believe the ones you listed would be significantly better. Especially when you consider the ramifications of sacking Knights.
I suggest that Neagle is probably in because Gumbleton is struggling and will probably be dropped to Bendigo.
Knights said that he was keen to get Neagle and Gumbelton playing the rest of the year together so he won;t be dropped - at least not this week.
Knight Ryders
6 Jul 2010, 21:12
I don't think Gumby is struggling, I think it is our midfield that is struggling. Given the chance (good crisp movement through the midfield), Gumby could do the job. Neagle is actually not a bad pick because we need a presence deep forward and he can provide this. As stated above, Hurley and Gumby both seem like CHF's, so better off leaving Gumby at CHF with Hurley going back where he played quite well towards the end last week.
Neagle is obviously a confidence player so if I was Jobe, I would be trying to put it down his throat early. He might not have been playing good, but this is probably the longest stint of repetitive games that he has played since being at Essendon.
I'm dearly, dearly hoping that he can make a go of it or at least click that he belongs sometime in the next 8 weeks. Another Laycock I do not want.
EVERLAST
6 Jul 2010, 21:35
I think Knighta is in damage control.
Hope I'm wrong. May as well leave him in there and see how his numbers stack up after Round 22.
Not sure why we recruited Williams then as a FF.
Knight Ryders
6 Jul 2010, 22:13
I think Knighta is in damage control.
Hope I'm wrong. May as well leave him in there and see how his numbers stack up after Round 22.
Not sure why we recruited Williams then as a FF.
Pretty sure Jobe said last night that he is suffering from an achilles injury. Club doing no favours by not making this very public.
bombersno1
6 Jul 2010, 23:02
Agree our position was somewhat inflated... Using your example of Richmond though, don't you think there position is also inflated? Take an in form Jack Riewoldt out of that team and what have you got?
Apart from Roos, I don't believe the ones you listed would be significantly better. Especially when you consider the ramifications of sacking Knights.
Both teams are inflated somewhat. But at least Richmond have stuck to their guns and played the kids..and heaven behold they are getting the benefits. We keep playing duds like Welsh and H.Slattery who are not getting us to our next flag. Who knows delist them and draft some new guys, you may get that gen like a Nason, like a Barlow, etc.
I believe Laidley and Roos are damn good fits for our side, and I would not be against the others. The EFC should just admit they made a blunder with Knights and get on with it.
Duckworth
6 Jul 2010, 23:14
Both teams are inflated somewhat. But at least Richmond have stuck to their guns and played the kids..and heaven behold they are getting the benefits. We keep playing duds like Welsh and H.Slattery who are not getting us to our next flag. Who knows delist them and draft some new guys, you may get that gen like a Nason, like a Barlow, etc.
I believe Laidley and Roos are damn good fits for our side, and I would not be against the others. The EFC should just admit they made a blunder with Knights and get on with it.
I think we'll see more of the kids for the remainder of the year. Remember Richmonds chances of making the finals disappeared a long time ago.
I don't think Gumby is struggling, I think it is our midfield that is struggling. Given the chance (good crisp movement through the midfield), Gumby could do the job. Neagle is actually not a bad pick because we need a presence deep forward and he can provide this. As stated above, Hurley and Gumby both seem like CHF's, so better off leaving Gumby at CHF with Hurley going back where he played quite well towards the end last week.
Neagle is obviously a confidence player so if I was Jobe, I would be trying to put it down his throat early. He might not have been playing good, but this is probably the longest stint of repetitive games that he has played since being at Essendon.
I'm dearly, dearly hoping that he can make a go of it or at least click that he belongs sometime in the next 8 weeks. Another Laycock I do not want.
Doubt that we can kick enough goals with neagle and gumbleton as the tall targets in the forward line.
bombersno1
7 Jul 2010, 00:46
I think we'll see more of the kids for the remainder of the year. Remember Richmonds chances of making the finals disappeared a long time ago.
So did ours..didn't stop Knights dropping Myers and recalling Welsh!:thumbsd:
Beerfish
7 Jul 2010, 01:49
Finally.
Here's hoping he can get some decent delivery.
Ben the Gooner
7 Jul 2010, 08:18
Funny how Welsh has been our best player over the past month.
The Donners
7 Jul 2010, 10:06
Knights to finish out his 4th year on his contract and then we make another play for Bomber?
IAmAJedi
7 Jul 2010, 10:13
This is good news guys.
Neagle has been working himself up ever since the 'Rnd 1 Blunder' which he copped a lot of flack for.
I heard he's even lost some weight?
He was a good inclusion last year to our team at full forward, easily beating his opponents, which is something Hurley hasn't flourished in. I am quite certain that Neagle will play a very pleasing game.
FFS, must you transform every single thread into one in which you air your grievances about our coach and/or half our bloody list. How about we keep our conversation to Neagle being named this week.
Great work Jay, great to have you back.
FWIW I thought the primary reason Jay has been at Bendigo until now was to trim down and work on his fitness as he missed most of the pre-season, moreso than form. By reports he appears to have done that, so I am intrigued how that will impact his game at senior level. I certainly think he'll straighten us up a bit going inside 50.
I also think we need Hurley down back for the rest of the year, so I hope Jay plays the year out at full-forward. We may not need Hurley down back desperately against Melbourne, but we will most weeks (even with Fletcher back) because I just don't think T. Slattery is a true KPD.
It wasn't the goals in isolation on Sunday that were the impressive thing about Neagle's game.
It was the number of goals he set up by crashing packs, deft little taps or intelligent passes to players in better positions. It was like he commanded the forward line.
IAmAJedi
7 Jul 2010, 12:16
It wasn't the goals in isolation on Sunday that were the impressive thing about Neagle's game.
It was the number of goals he set up by crashing packs, deft little taps or intelligent passes to players in better positions. It was like he commanded the forward line.
jizzinpants.gif
The Donners
7 Jul 2010, 12:46
I so hope the penny has dropped.
Jonesy1987
7 Jul 2010, 12:47
Good stuff, heres hoping Myers and Houli get a similar stay in the seniors. :thumbsu:
Knights to finish out his 4th year on his contract and then we make another play for Bomber?
I get the feeling he couldn't give a stuff about us anymore and that he'll be done with coaching once he finishes up with the Cats.
You mean he finally realised he's a big **** that can take command of the 50m arc if he wants? :eek:
Here's bloody hoping. :thumbsu:
I get the feeling he couldn't give a stuff about us anymore and that he'll be done with coaching once he finishes up with the Cats.
The job was handed to him on a platter before we signed Knights - he doesn't have any interest in coaching the Bombers.
Ben the Gooner
7 Jul 2010, 19:56
You mean he finally realised he's a big **** that can take command of the 50m arc if he wants? :eek:
Here's bloody hoping. :thumbsu:
****, I hope so.
Whomb would be shattered to miss this thread.
Longy413
7 Jul 2010, 21:06
I so hope the penny has dropped.
He's lost 6-7kg's over the last couple of months.
The kid can play.
Knight Ryders
7 Jul 2010, 21:34
Funny how Welsh has been our best player over the past month.
Just like Hodge, Moloney is the perfect match up for Welsh. Adelaide seemed to really get stuck into Welsh last week and I know he is big enough to look after himself, but I'd like to see a bit more spirit if it occurs again.
****, I hope so.
Whomb would be shattered to miss this thread.
He is quite simply the most frustrating Bomber I've ever seen.
You can clearly see he doesn't work hard enough and that is the MAJOR problem he has.
But everything else is fine. He can kick, he can mark. More importantly, he is able to impose himself physically in the forward line, which I swear is an under appreciated art (Let's face it, Brown, Hall, Tredrea and the like knew this).
If the kid can just figure out if he busts his ass to get his fitness up, and decides to man handle the opposition, he's got the goods.
Come on son of Merv, we recruited you early because you wanted on the list.
To BtG
I to agree (even though I suggested) that we have to may CHF's on our list, not just Gumbleton and now Hurley but also in the magoo's we have Carlisle (who looks better roaming around 50 (forward or back) and Michael Still who is very hit and miss in front of goal.
Any ways, Jay is a good inclusion IMO. May not be the amount of goals he kicks or the amount of packs he crashes, but it should be on how hard he works, on how many tackles he lays, how much he straightens us up.
The get out to kick it long to a big forward making target is very much under rated on these parts..
To BtG
I to agree (even though I suggested) that we have to may CHF's on our list, not just Gumbleton and now Hurley but also in the magoo's we have Carlisle (who looks better roaming around 50 (forward or back) and Michael Still who is very hit and miss in front of goal.
Any ways, Jay is a good inclusion IMO. May not be the amount of goals he kicks or the amount of packs he crashes, but it should be on how hard he works, on how many tackles he lays, how much he straightens us up.
The get out to kick it long to a big forward making target is very much under rated on these parts..
IMO, all he has to do is impose himself. Opposition needs to be aware of his prescence and concerned about it. Whether through kicking goals, crashing packs or presenting.
Call Me Cake
8 Jul 2010, 11:54
Let's hope he brings some more of this to the table...
T6UWnfhhU9U
ghostdog
8 Jul 2010, 12:03
I thought Welsh actually did a decent job on both Sewell and Vince.
Ben the Gooner
8 Jul 2010, 12:14
*Hodge
@ HFF_07, I agree completely. That's why I feel Mark Williams is in our best 22.
jade, spot on.